May 09, 2024, 07:30:08 PM

Author Topic: Trinidad and Tobago Bobsleigh Team  (Read 8469 times)

Offline doublesandsolo

Trinidad and Tobago Bobsleigh Team
« on: January 11, 2006, 01:22:07 PM »
Any info on the Trinidad and Tobago bobsleigh team will be appreciated. Is this the first time we are participating ion the Winter Olympics. I got this off the internet.

TRI - TRINIDAD & TOBAGO
Trinidad & Tobago Bobsleigh Federation
2 Melbourne Street
PORT-OF-SPAIN
Tel.: (+1.208) 625-1444
Correspondence: 
Mr. Gregory Sun 
P.O. Box 3863 
MOSCOW, Idaho 83843 
USA 
Tel.: (+1.208) 885-9749 
Fax: (+1.208) 885-2340 
e-mail: sun8739@uidaho.edu

FROM NBC:
One of the most prosperous nations in the Caribbean, Trinidad and Tobago was sighted by Christopher Columbus in 1498. It became a British possession in 1802, and won its independence in 1962.

Olympic Tradition
Trinidad and Tobago will be making its Winter Games debut in Torino. At the Summer Games, it has earned 12 total medals, most of them in men's sprinting.

Torino Outlook
Trinidad and Tobago is not expected to contend for a medal at the 2006 Winter Games.

:beermug: Go TNT
« Last Edit: January 11, 2006, 02:39:42 PM by Tallman »

Re: Trinidad and Tobago Bobsleigh Team
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2006, 01:44:16 PM »
For the Salt Lake City winter olympics in 2002 we had a bobsleigh team for the two man race. I vaguely remember it was two brothers and another guy (one sub I suppose). Out of a field of 36 or 37 we came last with Jamaica and Mexico placing higher than us.

« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2006, 02:02:21 PM »
we have had bobsleigh teams represent us as far back as the 94 winter games in Lillehammer.
« Last Edit: January 11, 2006, 02:03:58 PM by daryn »

Offline trinibug

« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2006, 02:07:40 PM »
Yeah, The bobosled ;D team had inspire me to enter the olypics myself.
So I look around to see what it is I could do. Because Bobsled and thing like ski-jumping and racing look real dangerous, I finally settle on Curling.

I was all set to form the 1st T&T Olympic Curling Team.  I was sure we'd be in the medals. After all, curling take 2 skills that I have in abundance - pelting stone and sweeping. I was already looking to line up my rossi sponsorship, when i find out from the World Curling federation that I miss the qualification rounds  >:(

But there is always next time. So anybody who want to join up, send me your dues and I will sign you up to the T&T Curling Assn.  :beermug:
Must rhyme with an O

Offline cm103

« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2006, 02:12:57 PM »
Curling...dat is one sport ah never understood.

Ah mean where yuh does buy yuh equipment? Hi-Lo or Sports and Games? All yuh really need is a broom and a big stone.

Who does really follow dat?

bug if yuh in it we go try ah ting, we bong to win someting...meh moms had meh training with coceyea broom since ah could walk. Used to get beat with it too.

« Reply #5 on: January 11, 2006, 02:46:27 PM »
Vibes it up boxcart...ah mean bobsleders ;D  Go TNT!!!! ;D ;D :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #6 on: January 11, 2006, 02:47:48 PM »
Yeah, The bobosled ;D team had inspire me to enter the olypics myself.
So I look around to see what it is I could do. Because Bobsled and thing like ski-jumping and racing look real dangerous, I finally settle on Curling.

I was all set to form the 1st T&T Olympic Curling Team.  I was sure we'd be in the medals. After all, curling take 2 skills that I have in abundance - pelting stone and sweeping. I was already looking to line up my rossi sponsorship, when i find out from the World Curling federation that I miss the qualification rounds  >:(

But there is always next time. So anybody who want to join up, send me your dues and I will sign you up to the T&T Curling Assn.  :beermug:

« Reply #7 on: January 11, 2006, 04:32:22 PM »
Sanka yuh dead?

TnT we have a bobsled team   dey is d one dey call JR 

« Reply #8 on: January 11, 2006, 05:04:29 PM »
come on tnt...we go beat jamaica ass.....

Offline dotless007

« Reply #9 on: April 19, 2006, 09:29:11 AM »
wat we go call d trini bobsled team though

« Reply #10 on: April 19, 2006, 05:26:18 PM »
snow warriors, or snow chutneywarriors.. :rotfl: :rotfl:

ah doh beleive this one resurface..

Offline dotless007

« Reply #11 on: April 20, 2006, 06:30:40 PM »
dey hav a junior bobsled team i go try out
wait till jack warner get involved in bobsled lol

« Reply #12 on: April 24, 2010, 12:16:16 PM »

« Reply #13 on: April 24, 2010, 12:36:32 PM »
Trinidad & Tobago competed in the '94, '98 and '02 games in 2 man bobsleigh.

In Lillehammer there was also a Puerto Rican and USVI team along with Jamaica. The T&T team finished almost 10 seconds behind the gold medalist Swiss. The Caribbean rankings went:

37th T&T 3:40.24 (Gregory Sun, Curtis Harry)
38th USVI 1st team 3:40.78
39th American Samoa 3:41.04 (not caribbean, but islanders anyway)
40th Puerto Rico 3:41.21
42nd USVI 2nd team 3:45.01
DNF Jamaica  :devil:

In Nagano the Caribbean ranking was:

29th Jamaica 3:45.74
32nd T&T (Gregory Sun, Curtis Harry) 3:46.65
33rd USVI 1st team 3:47.20
36th USVI 2nd team 3:48.31
DNF Puerto Rico

In Salt Lake

28th Jamaica 3:14.94
36th USVI 3:19.44