May 15, 2024, 05:31:26 PM

Author Topic: BATTLE OF THE 'CENTURY'  (Read 4454 times)

Offline fLaSh

BATTLE OF THE 'CENTURY'
« on: August 13, 2008, 08:58:14 PM »
BATTLE OF THE 'CENTURY'
T&T sprinters enter Beijing action
Kwame Laurence
Thursday, August 14th 2008

Richard Thompson will "open the batting" for the Trinidad and Tobago track and field team at the 2008 Olympic Games, here in Beijing, China, tonight (TT time). The 23-year-old sprinter faces the starter at 10.01 p.m., in the third of ten men's 100 metres first round heats. He will run in lane eight.

Thompson, who clocked a personal best 9.93 seconds in May, should have little difficulty advancing to the quarters, which take place from 7.45 tomorrow morning (TT time). The top three in each heat qualify automatically.

Frenchman Martial Mbandjock, Barbadian Andrew Hinds, experienced Ghanaian Aziz Zakari and Italy's Simone Collio will also run in heat three.

Shortly after Thompson makes his Olympic debut, his T&T teammate Darrel Brown will compete for the first time in an individual event at the quadrennial Games. The 2003 World Championship silver medallist has been drawn in lane six in the fourth heat. Brown's chief rival in that race is likely to be his Jamaican training partner Michael Frater.

The third T&T athlete competing in the century is Marc Burns. Four years ago, at the Athens Olympics, the US-based sprinter was disqualified in the opening round for a false start. He's hoping for a change in fortunes here in Beijing, and begins his quest for Olympic glory in lane five in the ninth heat.

Burns has been in fine form this season, and in his final pre-Olympic 100m outing, at the Aviva London Grand Prix late last month, clocked a fast 9.97 seconds to finish second to former world record holder Asafa Powell (9.94) of Jamaica.

But though he has been regularly in winners' row this year, Burns has struggled with his start.

"Yes, it's a problem, but then again I'm not trying to focus on it too much. My coach (Henry Rolle) and I dealt with it, we did some ironing out, so I think I'm ready to compete."

Jamaican world record holder Usain Bolt (9.72), Powell and reigning world double sprint champion Tyson Gay are expected to feature in a three-way battle for the Olympic century title. Brown, Burns and Thompson, however, are all keen to upstage the "Big Three".

The biggest of the three, six-foot-five inch Bolt will see action first at the Bird's Nest stadium. He will run in heat one, while Powell faces the starter in the second heat and Gay in the fifth.

Offline Marlon

• Who the cap fit, let them wear it.
Re: BATTLE OF THE 'CENTURY'
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2008, 09:26:41 PM »
Go T&T!!!!

Go Tyson Gay!!! ;D

« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2008, 10:03:35 PM »
Marlon,
            At this moment is either or!!!. TT or Gay!!!!

« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2008, 10:39:00 PM »
Thompson go do yuh thing and rep de red white and black to de fullest

Offline Marlon

« Reply #4 on: August 13, 2008, 11:26:33 PM »
Marlon,

TT fuss, then Tyson :D

« Reply #5 on: August 14, 2008, 10:29:08 AM »
Marlon,

Allyuh men cyar be serious. T&T eh featuring in the medals at all. :-[

« Reply #6 on: August 15, 2008, 06:21:27 AM »
Marlon,

Eh heh ??

Trinidad v Jamrock!!! It's On

Offline Lionpaw

• Highest Grade.
  • Smoke Weeeeed, under the Jamaican Sky Light.
« Reply #7 on: August 15, 2008, 07:21:47 AM »
Marlon,

Eh heh ??

U must be kiddin.

Bout Trini vs Jamrock  :rotfl:

More like

Usain vs Asafa.

Sit in yuh corner boss.
Smoke and Fly

Offline Marlon

« Reply #8 on: August 15, 2008, 07:23:14 AM »
Marlon,

Eh heh ??

U must be kiddin.

More like

Usain vs Asafa.

Sit in yuh corner boss.

Dey keeping de blood samples for years eh....

Offline willi

« Reply #9 on: August 15, 2008, 07:25:25 AM »
Marlon,

Eh heh ??

U must be kiddin.

More like

Usain vs Asafa.

Sit in yuh corner boss.

So??

That should worry the yanks.

Afu yam and dasheen still legal.

Hahahahahahahahahaa

Offline Lionpaw

• Highest Grade.
« Reply #10 on: August 15, 2008, 07:28:59 AM »
Marlon,

Eh heh ??

U must be kiddin.

More like

Usain vs Asafa.

Sit in yuh corner boss.

Yup, keep wishing. It's funny how you question our athletes who have been doing well for a long time (Bolt, youth 200m record holder. Asafa, wont even go there.) and not Tyson Gay who just came up out of the blue. Jealousy I suppose. However, if they are drug cheats for real, I do hope they get caught.
Smoke and Fly

Offline Marlon

« Reply #11 on: August 15, 2008, 07:31:59 AM »
Tyson Gay now come? WTF you been?

Tyson went tru the ranks bro.

« Reply #12 on: August 15, 2008, 07:33:28 AM »
give jamrock they props nah

dem negroes could run

simple as that

Offline Lionpaw

• Highest Grade.
« Reply #13 on: August 15, 2008, 07:35:37 AM »

What ranks? U know how long Asafa been running sub-10? U know how long Bolt been running Sub-20 in 200m? U remember how Bolt treated the Caribbean in the Carifta games back when he was in high school. Swallow your pride boss. Respect greatness.
Smoke and Fly

Offline Marlon

« Reply #14 on: August 15, 2008, 07:48:11 AM »

What ranks? U know how long Asafa been running sub-10? U know how long Bolt been running Sub-20 in 200m? U remember how Bolt treated the Caribbean in the Carifta games back when he was in high school. Swallow your pride boss. Respect greatness.

Like how allyuh respect Brian Lara. Yuh get respect when yuh give.

Offline willi

« Reply #15 on: August 15, 2008, 08:49:00 AM »

Idiot!!

Nuff man was pro-Lara in Jamaica...at least 50%. You need to get out more. It was a raging battle in Jamaica between pro and anti-Lara factions. I recall the 177 he made in Sydney  way back in the 1990s. My own Mom was in tears of joy.

Steeeuuuppps.

People had issues with Lara's behaviour like they did with Onandi Lowe, Chris Gayle, etc. Like Trinis, Jamaicans are hard to please. We do the same to our won.

However, everyone knows that Lara was pure cricket gold.

Latapy, Everyone loves him to death in Jamaica, for example. My brother actually met him in Scotland on the street and they went out partying all night. He was just happy to find other Caribbean people way up North there. Dem is real Caribbean salt of the earth people there.

STOP THE HATING.

We are blood.

« Reply #16 on: August 15, 2008, 09:04:38 AM »

Idiot!!

Nuff man was pro-Lara in Jamaica...at least 50%. You need to get out more. It was a raging battle in Jamaica between pro and anti-Lara factions. I recall the 177 he made in Sydney  way back in the 1990s. My own Mom was in tears of joy.

Steeeuuuppps.

People had issues with Lara's behaviour like they did with Onandi Lowe, Chris Gayle, etc. Like Trinis, Jamaicans are hard to please. We do the same to our won.

Latapy, Everyone loves him to death in Jamaica, for example. My brother actually met him in Scotland on the street and they went out partying all night. He was just happy to find other Caribbean people way up North there. Dem is real Caribbean salt of the earth people there.

STOP THE HATING.

We are blood.

Yeh yeh we blood cause some trinis and jamaicans ancestors come from africa....listen we not ignoring all de badmind jamaicans and unite cause we ancestors come from africa..so doh talk dat shit around here....anyway i agree that Bolt and Powell are the two best 100m track stras as of right now..but I wont be surprise if Thompson medal..

Offline willi

« Reply #17 on: August 15, 2008, 09:11:14 AM »
I am not asking for Kumbaya...just a cessation of the idle drug accusations.
Of course there are tons of badmind Jakans too and I dont fraid to call them out either.

Yes, I agree that RT looking good.

BTW, what shit yuh see me talking. Steeuupps

« Reply #18 on: August 15, 2008, 09:13:33 AM »
I recall the 177 he made in Sydney  way back in the 1990s. My own Mom was in tears of joy.

277.  not to be picky or anything
« Last Edit: August 15, 2008, 09:15:17 AM by daryn »

Offline Marlon

« Reply #19 on: August 15, 2008, 09:17:49 AM »
I recall the 177 he made in Sydney  way back in the 1990s. My own Mom was in tears of joy.

277.  not to be picky or anything

Ah was leavin dat dey. Look, Jamaicans cry dong Lara more than anything else. Dey even plot to get rid ah he.

« Reply #20 on: August 16, 2008, 02:21:04 PM »
Marlon,

I stand corrected :beermug:

« Reply #21 on: August 16, 2008, 02:23:48 PM »

Idiot!!

Steeeuuuppps.

STOP THE HATING.

We are blood.

:applause:

« Reply #22 on: August 16, 2008, 02:35:58 PM »
Yeh yeh we blood cause some trinis and jamaicans ancestors come from africa....listen we not ignoring all de badmind jamaicans and unite cause we ancestors come from africa..so doh talk dat shit around here....anyway i agree that Bolt and Powell are the two best 100m track stras as of right now..but I wont be surprise if Thompson medal..

what yuh P's and Q's

Some come from India, some come from Portugal, some come from China, some was dey before de odders came......

« Reply #23 on: August 16, 2008, 02:52:23 PM »

what yuh P's and Q's

Some come from India, some come from Portugal, some come from China, some was dey before de odders came......

Steupse like yuh didnt see where i wrote some in my initial response...wipe the yampee out yuh eye

« Reply #24 on: August 16, 2008, 02:58:16 PM »
yampee?  lol

yuh good boss.

Jamaica have some indian and chinee too.

yh did say some at first den read yuh second sentence.

me eh arguing eh...jes pointing out someting

cool;?