Archived Boards => 2010 World Cup - South Africa => Topic started by: Flex on November 20, 2009, 07:16:19 PM

Title: Thread for the 2010 FIFA World Cup.
Post by: Flex on November 20, 2009, 07:16:19 PM
Qualified Teams.

Algeria, Côte d'Ivoire, Nigeria, Cameroon, Ghana (Africa); Australia,Korea DPR, Japan, Korea Republic (Asia); Denmark, France, Greece, Netherlands, Serbia, Slovenia, Switzerland, England, Germany, Italy, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain (Europe); Honduras, United States, Mexico (North, Central America & Caribbean); New Zealand, Argentina, Chile, Uruguay, Brazil, Paraguay (South America); South Africa (Host).

Standings

To be announced on December 4th, 2009 which will be carried live on FIFA.com.

News

New World trio push through
Friday 20 November 2009

USA finished top dogs in CONCACAF qualifying for the world finals, and will be followed to South Africa by old rivals Mexico and hopeful Honduras. MORE (http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/news/newsid=1137662.html#new+world+trio+push+through)

Cafu’s special South African mission
Friday 20 November 2009

Brazil's most capped player has seen a lot of World Cup action in his time, but after getting to see Soccer City stadium, Cafu is certain 2010 will be a very special occasion. MORE (http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/news/newsid=1137629.html#cafus+special+south+african+mission)

African qualifying review
Friday 20 November 2009

FIFA.com looks back on the thrills and spills in the African Zone, where Algeria, Cameroon, Côte d’Ivoire, Ghana and Nigeria all made it through. MORE (http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/news/newsid=1137576.html#african+qualifying+review)

FIFA statement on FAI request
Friday 20 November 2009

FIFA has today replied to the request made by the Football Association of Ireland to replay their FIFA World Cup play-off match against France in Paris. MORE (http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/news/newsid=1137489.html#fifa+statement+fai+request)

Ticos left to rue first-leg reverse
Thursday 19 November 2009

Sadness and resignation: just two of the emotions discussed in the Costa Rican media after the national team's play-off defeat against Uruguay. MORE (http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/news/newsid=1137320.html#ticos+left+first+reverse)

(http://www.fifa.com/mm/photo/tournament/mascot/88/70/39/887039_medium.jpg)
Zakumi - a Mascot with attitude

(http://www.fifa.com/img/tournament/fwc/banner/promo/FWC_RoadToSA_50TR.jpg) (http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/preliminaries/nccamerica/matches/index.html)
Title: Re: Thread for the 2010 FIFA World Cup.
Post by: weary1969 on November 20, 2009, 07:25:57 PM
Flex boi nobody cyah accuse u of bein late.
Title: WC Draw on Friday to feature Theron, Beckham and Gebrselassie
Post by: Zeppo on December 01, 2009, 10:58:45 AM
Theron, Beckham and Gebrselassie to star at the Final Draw on 4 December

South Africa’s Academy Award winner Charlize Theron will be the guest presenter assisting FIFA Secretary General Jérôme Valcke during the Final Draw for the 2010 FIFA World Cup™ at the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) on Friday, 4 December 2009 (19.00 local time/CET+1). They will be joined on stage by a star-studded line-up of sports celebrities, including football star David Beckham (England), one of only a few players to score in at least three consecutive FIFA World Cups, Haile Gebrselassie (Ethiopia), two-time Olympic gold medallist and nine-time athletics world champion, Makhaya Ntini, the first black player in the South African cricket team,  John Smit, the captain of rugby world champions South Africa and Bafana Bafana player Matthew Booth.

Jacob Zuma, President of the Republic of South Africa, and FIFA President Joseph S. Blatter will welcome the audience at the beginning of the 90-minute live show. Guests on the day will include Issa Hayatou, Chairman of the Organising Committee for the FIFA World Cup™, Nobel Peace Prize winners Frederik W. de Klerk and Archbishop Desmond Tutu, as well as former football icons Franz Beckenbauer, Michel Platini, Eusebio and Roger Milla. The majority of the 32 coaches of the qualified teams are expected to be present at the draw. Former South African President and Nobel Peace Prize winner Nelson Mandela, one of the architects of the first African World Cup, will address the audience by video message.

(continue) (http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/organisation/media/newsid=1142022.html#theron+beckham+gebrselassie+star+final+draw+december)

Post by: elan on December 01, 2009, 11:26:07 AM
USA
Spain
Brazil
Australia
Post by: Daft Trini on December 01, 2009, 11:29:19 AM
Ghana vs Germany... (Finals)

Essien scoring the winner  :beermug:
Post by: elan on December 01, 2009, 11:36:12 AM

Once Germany in the final anything could happen. I go be cool with that.
What you doing about the USA? Remember they just beat the Euro Champs and scare Brazil in the last FIFA finals.

Post by: Brownsugar on December 01, 2009, 12:07:20 PM
Who is the 6 that vote for France??!!......

:flamethrower: :flamethrower: :flamethrower: for France!!!!
Post by: Andre on December 01, 2009, 12:21:30 PM
the ball.

(http://p1.trrsf.com/image/get?o=cf&w=301&h=401&src=http://img.terra.com.br/i/2009/11/30/1376631-8254-atm17.jpg)
Post by: palos on December 01, 2009, 12:38:52 PM
So we postin all things related to de World Cup including match opinions etc on dis one thread?
Post by: weary1969 on December 01, 2009, 02:28:31 PM
So we postin all things related to de World Cup including match opinions etc on dis one thread?

COSIGNNNNNNNNNNNNN
Post by: nunu on December 01, 2009, 02:48:31 PM
Who is the 6 that vote for France??!!......
 :flamethrower: :flamethrower: :flamethrower: for France!!!!
I admire the french team more than any other european team , its based on the fact that
french racial policy have always been fair . My 5 african teams are France ,Ivory Coast , Ghana ,Cameroon ,
and Nigeria . I would like any of the 5 to win it ! . yes I vote for france . :angel:
Post by: Andre on December 01, 2009, 02:52:40 PM
anybody know how much grapevine trini it might have in the world cup?

i could think of:
- ricardo clark (USA)
- robbie findley (USA)

have to have somebody from england?

...and maybe patrick viera wife in the WAG posse.
Post by: Bitter on December 01, 2009, 04:20:46 PM
CONTROVERSIAL COW SACRIFICE PLAN FOR WORLD CUP
01 Dec 2009 - 13:21:23
http://www.football.co.uk/england/controversial_cow_sacrifice_plan_for_world_cup_rss276277.shtml

The 2010 World Cup in South Africa is expected to be blessed by the slaughter of one cow in each of its stadiums, the Makhonya Royal Trust proposed last week

The move is, according to the Trust's chairman Zolani Mkiva, "true African" but likely to upset animal right activist groups.

Mkiva explained the tradition: "We must have a cultural ceremony of some sort, where we are going to slaughter a beast.

"We sacrifice the cow for this great achievement and we call on our ancestors to bless, to grace, to ensure that all goes well. It's all about calling for the divinity to prevail for a fantastic atmosphere," Mkiva continued.
It will be the first ever World Cup staged in an African country and its organisers have been looking at ways to make it unique and put its past reputation to bed.

United Nations Secretary General Ban Ki-moon has said: "There is great power in this (South Africa's hosting of the World Cup).

"It is a time to present a different story of the African continent, a story of peace, democracy and investment."

Animal rights groups, though, are demanding consultation with them and, while they would not object to the ritual, would like it performed in a humane manner.

The National Council for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (NSPCA) has written to Fifa over the issue.
The plan is known to have support within the South African government, according to the Citizen newspaper.
Sicelo Shceka, the co-operative governance and traditional affairs minister, said: "The World Cup will be on the African continent and we will make sure that African values and cultures are felt by the visitors."
Officials from the World Cup Local Organising Committee (LOC) have yet to respond to the request.
Post by: Trini Madness on December 01, 2009, 06:19:30 PM
ivory coast
Post by: Socapro on December 01, 2009, 07:00:40 PM
Why is Ghana & Egypt not on this list?!

Guess if you want them to win you have to vote for other!

I voted for Brazil!  8)
Post by: palos on December 01, 2009, 07:41:56 PM
Why is Ghana & Egypt not on this list?!

Guess if you want them to win you have to vote for other!

I voted for Brazil!  8)

Egypt hoss?

Dem beggin a place from FIFA too?  8)
Post by: Bakes on December 01, 2009, 10:49:56 PM
England
The Netherlands
France
Germany
Ghana
Côte d'Ivoire

...the rest could haul they ass, including the US... whose fans are getting a bit too big for their britches.
Post by: 100% Barataria on December 01, 2009, 10:53:12 PM
No real personal favorites, would like to see the underdogs do well (Cameroun, Ivory Coast, Ghana), a 1st time winner would be nice, for some change, not sure if this will be the WC when we see it (i.e. since 98)
Post by: elan on December 01, 2009, 11:32:06 PM
USA
Spain
Brazil
Australia

Hey this is not who I want owin yuh know. This is my group of death.
Post by: superoli on December 02, 2009, 04:26:01 AM
Viva Espana
Post by: Zeppo on December 02, 2009, 04:44:32 AM
The pots have been made for the draw:

FIFA Organising Committee approves Final Draw procedure (http://www.fifa.com/worldcup/organisation/media/newsid=1142262.html#fifa+organising+committee+approves+final+draw+procedure)

Pot 1
Brazil, Spain, the Netherlands, Italy, Germany, Argentina, England, South Africa

Pot 2
Australia, Japan, Korea DPR, Korea Republic, Honduras, Mexico, USA, New Zealand

Pot 3
Algeria, Cameroon, Côte d’Ivoire, Ghana, Nigeria, Chile, Paraguay, Uruguay

Pot 4

Denmark, France, Greece, Portugal, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Switzerland
Post by: superoli on December 02, 2009, 05:03:00 AM
France not seeded !
http://www.guardian.co.uk/sport/feedarticle/8837091

CAPE TOWN, Dec 2 (Reuters) - France, World Cup winners in 1998 and finalists in 2006, missed out on a place in the eight top seeds for Friday's draw, announced by FIFA on Wednesday.
FIFA general secretary Jerome Valcke told a news conference the decision had been based on the world rankings and had no connection with the controversy over France's infamous "handball" goal against Ireland.
The top seeds are hosts South Africa, holders Italy, Argentina, Brazil, England, Germany, Netherlands and Spain.
France are left as the most dangerous floating team who could be drawn in the same group as any one of the top eight seeds.
The draw for the finals, being staged in South Africa from June 11 to July 11, will be made in a 90-minute television spectacular starting at 1700 GMT on Friday.
The 32 teams will be drawn into four groups of eight. Apart from the seeds, teams will be placed in pots which will largely avoid teams from the same continent meeting each other.
Pot 1 will comprise the eight top seeds with South Africa already sure to play in Group A and in the opening match at Johannesburg's Soccer City stadium on June 11.
The second pot will comprise eight teams from Asia, North and Central America and Oceania -- Australia, Honduras, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand, North Korea, South Korea and United States.
The third pot will be the five other African countries and three remaining South American nations -- Algeria, Cameroon, Chile, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Nigeria, Paraguay and Uruguay.
The final pot is made up of the eight remaining teams from Europe -- Denmark, France, Greece, Portugal, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia and Switzerland.
Valcke said there had been an agreement within the organising committee to base the seedings on the FIFA world rankings for October.
He said this had been done with the agreement of UEFA president Michel Platini of France who was very keen, for the sake of fairness, for it to be done when European teams had all played the same number of qualifying games.
Valcke said this agreement pre-dated the infamous play-off in Paris when France scored an equaliser against Ireland after Thierry Henry had blatantly handled before setting up the William Gallas goal which put France into the finals.
There had been some media speculation that France might be "punished" by FIFA after widespread protests at the result from Ireland and beyond.
The decision on how the seedings and pot grouping work means that the seeded teams would most fear being drawn into a group which included the United States from pot two, Ivory Coast from pot three and France from pot four
Title: The World Cup Draw
Post by: MATADOR on December 02, 2009, 08:23:26 AM
World Cup Draw

Draw is on Friday. Here are the anticipated pots (according to ESPN Soccernet, anyway):

Pot 1:

South Africa, Brazil, Spain, Italy, Germany, Argentina, England, France

Pot 2:

Netherlands, Portugal, Slovenia, Switzerland, Greece, Serbia, Denmark, Slovakia

Pot 3:

Ivory Coast, Cameroon, Algeria, Nigeria, Ghana, Paraguay, Chile, Uruguay

Pot 4:

USA, New Zealand, Australia, N. Korea, S. Korea, Japan, Mexico, Honduras
Post by: FF on December 02, 2009, 08:55:10 AM
I seeing 2 to 3 group of deaths coming out on Friday!! pressure
Post by: Daft Trini on December 02, 2009, 09:17:55 AM

Once Germany in the final anything could happen. I go be cool with that.
What you doing about the USA? Remember they just beat the Euro Champs and scare Brazil in the last FIFA finals.

I'm always rooting for germany, hopefully Klose and Podolski will be at their best again...

I feel this time we could see a new winner in the tourney in the form of Dark horse... Spain...! Brazil looks good and Argentina... once diego off crack could pull something off. Italy will always be a contender. England will toots dey self... Hopefully DeFoe, Bent and Rooney will be the forward line with, Carrick and Lampard in the middle. NO FERDINAND...! Gosh... I love Man U but he is a heart attack waiting.

Since part of West Indians ancestry stem from the Bantu... it will be hard in yuh soul not to cheer for Ghana, Cameroon or even the Host but these are going to be wishful thoughts...!

For The US... We will do well, Landon can be a beast when he is ready. I would like to see how they will treat the Jeff Cunningham and Robin Finley situation.... May be Play Donovan as a wing and Cunningham and Finley up front with Dempsey just behind them... All in all the US should be able to hold their heads high in this tournament. As for them winning absolutely not... Just so ah could watch MLS and CL without focus being on the actual game broadcasted. If the Defense holds... we will be great :beermug:

Post by: Bourbon on December 02, 2009, 10:33:18 AM
According to dis: http://www.fifa.com/mm/document/tournament/finaldraw/01/14/22/91/fwc2010_final_draw_procedure_en_021209.pdf

Pot 1:
South Africa
1. Brazil    
2. Spain    
3. Netherlands    
4. Italy    
5. Germany    
6. Argentina    
7. England    

Pot 2: (In Alphabetical Order)
From the Asian zone
1. Australia
2. Japan
3. Korea DPR
4. Korea Republic

From the North, Central American and Caribbean zone
1. Honduras
2. Mexico
3. USA

From the Oceanian zone
1. New Zealand

POT 3    
Pot 3 will consist of five teams from Africa and three teams from South America. In    
alphabetical order…    
From the African zone    
1. Algeria    
2. Cameroon    
3. Côte d’Ivoire    
4. Ghana    
5. Nigeria    
From the South American zone    
1. Chile    
2. Paraguay    
3. Uruguay    

POT 4    
Pot 4 will contain the remaining European teams. In alphabetical order, they are:    
1. Denmark    
2. France    
3. Greece    
4. Portugal    
5. Serbia    
6. Slovakia    
7. Slovenia    
8. Switzerland    

Wishing the most bad mind possible on france...

Spain
USA
Ivory Coast
France

Buh it have rel possibilities for Groups of Death.
Post by: palos on December 02, 2009, 10:47:12 AM
According to dis: http://www.fifa.com/mm/document/tournament/finaldraw/01/14/22/91/fwc2010_final_draw_procedure_en_021209.pdf

Wishing the most bad mind possible on france...

Spain
USA
Ivory Coast
France

Buh it have rel possibilities for Groups of Death.

Once Domenech is NOT coach, France can win the whole damned thing.
Post by: Bourbon on December 02, 2009, 10:50:21 AM
Now looking at it.
Brazil  and Argentina WILL face an African Team.
South Africa would have a South American team in their group.
Anybody in Pot 4 hadda make up their mind  to face either South Africa, Brazil or Argentina.

This will be achieved specifically as follows: The first two African teams drawn from Pot 3 will
be placed into the groups with Brazil and Argentina. The first South American team drawn
from Pot 3 will be placed into Group A with South Africa.
There will be one exception to the principle of geographic separation: A maximum of two
European teams may occupy the same group, and this will be the case in five of the eight
groups.

So is either Brazil or Argentina. France for Some reason does purge Brazil when it matters...buh Argentina under Maradonna....steups.....

And yeah palos.....I have a strong dislike for Domenech. Dis Henry episode jus spread it to de whole team. Unfortunately....if yuh study how long Domenech has been France's coach..yuh realise dat he eh leaving anytime soon unless he resign..which he doh plan to....cuz he know he obeah man rel good.
Title: Ghana to offer Balotelli World Cup place
Post by: Trini _2026 on December 02, 2009, 12:13:26 PM
Ghana to offer Balotelli World Cup place      
Wednesday, 02 December 2009
http://www.ghanasoccernet.com/content/view/4456/51/

Ghana coach Milovan Rajevac will meet highly-talented Inter Milan striker Mario Barwuah Balotelli next week to convince him to play for the Black Stars.
The Serbian will be joined by captain Stephen Appiah and Sulley Muntari to help convince the talented youngster to play for the country of his parents after getting approval from the Ghana Football Association.

Balotelli was born in Italy to Ghanaian parents but has faint hopes of playing for the Azzuri despite representing at the Under-21 level.
The 19-year-old has insisted he remains committed to his 'adoptive'country, but hinted last summer that he would consider the opportunity of making his World Cup bow with Ghana.
"I will be in Europe next week and I will meet with Balotelli," Rajevac told La Gazzetta dello Sport.
"I willleave for South Africa tomorrow and after the draw I will head forEurope. I have scheduled a series of meetings with my players who arebased in the different European leagues.

"And Iplan to speak to Balotelli. I have discussed it with the President andthe Vice President of the Ghanaian Football Association and they havegiven me the green light.

"Myplan is to go to Bologna and meet with our captain, Stephen Appiah, andhave him accompany me to Milan to see Mario and [Sulley] Muntari.

"I am happy with the strikers I have, but Balotelli's qualities are extraordinary. He is very, very good."

Rajevac wants a wide pool of players as Ghana seek to improve their second round feat at the 2006 finals in Germany.

Title: Re: Ghana to offer Balotelli World Cup place
Post by: Zeppo on December 02, 2009, 12:25:37 PM
They tried to do this in 2006 with Freddy Adu.

Gotta love those pre-WC mind games.
Post by: elan on December 02, 2009, 12:26:59 PM
Freddy was stupid, he should have played for them cause no way he going to the WC.
Post by: Jah Gol on December 02, 2009, 12:28:52 PM
Freddy was stupid, he should have played for them cause no way he going to the WC.
He ent good enough to make Ghana side either. They just win the U20 world cup.
Post by: elan on December 02, 2009, 12:30:52 PM
England
The Netherlands
France
Germany
Ghana
Côte d'Ivoire

...the rest could haul they ass, including the US... whose fans are getting a bit too big for their britches.

So Bakes you really don't think the USA could get it done?

They were hard luck against Germany in Korea?
Beat the Euro Champs soundly
Had Brazil Working extra time to beat them in the finals
Cruise through their qualification for WC.

What more do they have to do?
Post by: jusbless on December 02, 2009, 12:38:10 PM
Kevin Prince- Boateng (Portsmouth) has indicated his willindness to play with Ghana , to bolster an already impressive midfield
Post by: Bourbon on December 02, 2009, 12:48:28 PM
I hope Balotelli make the right choice.

It eh my place to determine what that might be....buh plain talk bad manners.....if I did get de kinda abuse and  treatment he did get..i was telling italy hol dey mudders condensed milk.
Post by: E-man on December 02, 2009, 12:54:43 PM
U.S. Close to World Cup Seed, Faces Tough Draw on Friday

Posted Dec 02, 2009 11:00AM By Brian Straus (soccer.fanhouse.com)

FIFA's World Cup organizing committee met Wednesday in some smoke-filled room in Cape Town and, in between bites of caviar and peeled grapes and just after confirming the delivery of a lifetime supply of Coca-Cola products to Jack Warner's compound in Trinidad, announced the procedures and seeding for Friday's World Cup draw (Noon, ESPN2).

The decision to base the eight top seeds (including the host) on FIFA's monthly soda-sponsored national team rankings, ignoring past World Cup performance, means the U.S. came tantalizingly close to landing in the first pot -- closer than any of us may have expected when seeding was mentioned as a motivation following October's draw with Costa Rica. If FIFA and Coke want to promote their ranking, all the better for the Americans, who probably always will be higher than they deserve. But the pots announced Wednesday were anything but a favor. The road to next summer's second round will be treacherous.
More Coverage: Final Seeds Revealed for Draw

Leave it to soccer's godfathers to unveil their seeding criteria just two days before the draw. It's reminiscent of the late decision to seed the four European playoffs after the qualifying tournament's group stages were completed, a move that angered countries like Ireland and Slovenia who perhaps correctly claimed that organizers were looking out for high-profile teams like France and Portugal and protecting their financial interests.

They also opted Wednesday to shelve the prospect of using extra officials behind the goal lines to spot infractions in the penalty area. That would have been progress, and we all know how FIFA feels about that.

Back to the draw: Had Sunil Gulati and Bob Bradley known it would come down to the rankings, it may have prompted them to take a more experienced team to last summer's CONCACAF Gold Cup, or perhaps schedule a couple of extra friendlies against Aruba. If Friday's draw was conducted like those in the recent past, which used a formula combining a team's ranking with past World Cup performances, there would have been little chance for the Americans to make the top eight.

Instead, it was quite close. FIFA used the October ranking rather than the November, for reasons that are unclear. An odd choice, because the qualifying competition extended into November (but so did a lot of half-hearted friendlies). Brazil, Spain, Netherlands, Italy, Germany, Argentina and England are the lucky seven. The eighth-ranked team, Croatia, failed to qualify. Teams nine and 10 are France and Portugal, respectively. Both teams needed last month's playoff round to reach South Africa. Had the Portuguese choked against Bosnia and Herzegovina and if referee Martin Hansson knew how to do his job, the U.S. is in with the big boys. In addition, Portugal leapfrogged the U.S. last month. In the end, the U.S. may have been just one more qualifying or Gold Cup win away from a seed.

Instead, they face a gauntlet. Warner apparently was unable to use his considerable influence to steer the placement of CONCACAF sides into a more favorable pot. The U.S., Mexico and Honduras will be grouped with the four Asian qualifiers and New Zealand, all teams that the Americans would be favored to beat in South Africa. The eight unseeded European teams will be together, as well the five other African teams and three South American sides. After their 2006 Group of Death, the U.S. will hope that fortune smiles on them this time around, but the odds of a landing in a difficult foursome are good.

Group of Death option 1: Brazil, Portugal, Ivory Coast, USA
Group of Death option 2: Spain, Serbia, Ghana, USA
Group of Death option 3: Germany, France, Paraguay, USA
Group of Death option 4: Argentina, Denmark, Nigeria, USA

And so on. Not appetizing.

However, the following also could happen:

We're headed to the second round option 1: South Africa, Slovenia, Uruguay, USA
We're headed to the second round option 2: England, Greece, Algeria, USA

So much depends on what names come out of what pots on Friday. The extent to which a team's World Cup fate is determined by fashion models and plastic balls is hugely significant.

One interesting non-U.S. note: Had FIFA decided to use the November ranking (in which the U.S. slipped to 14th) instead of October's, France would have been seeded. Perhaps there was some unintentional justice for a team that cheated its way into the finals.
Post by: Andre on December 02, 2009, 01:04:15 PM

It eh my place to determine what that might be....buh plain talk bad manners.....if I did get de kinda abuse and  treatment he did get..i was telling italy hol dey mudders condensed milk.

agree 100%. why play for a country where the people hate you b/c of yuh race.

IMHO, balotelli shoulda be capped by italy long time now at the senior level but they just eh want to cap a black man who could command a place in the starting lineup on a regular basis...they only do it with liverani to look good in the media.
Post by: triniairman on December 02, 2009, 01:04:24 PM

That makes two of us!!
Post by: Blue on December 02, 2009, 01:11:31 PM

IMHO, balotelli shoulda be capped by italy long time now at the senior level but they just eh want to cap a black man who could command a place in the starting lineup on a regular basis...they only do it with liverani to look good in the media.

Balotelli has rejected Ghana many times already, no doubt he will do it again.

But I never really understand what the hype is about the man...to me he is nothing special....and I watch Inter play all d time...Italy have far better strikers than him.
Post by: Brownsugar on December 02, 2009, 01:32:09 PM
England
The Netherlands
France
Germany
Ghana
Côte d'Ivoire

Win the World Cup....
Post by: kicker on December 02, 2009, 01:34:15 PM

Balotelli has rejected Ghana many times already, no doubt he will do it again.

But I never really understand what the hype is about the man...to me he is nothing special....and I watch Inter play all d time...Italy have far better strikers than him.

He's good especially considering he's still a teenager. 
Post by: fari on December 02, 2009, 01:37:17 PM
the man is good, still a lil unpolished but good...the man does take free kicks and corner kicks regular...that reall impressive considering the kinda talent on that squad.
i is a kinda militant so i say he should play for the black stars oui, they need good strikers to finish the chances (i remember last world cup asamoah gyan reall trow way)
Post by: kicker on December 02, 2009, 01:38:53 PM
.....if I did get de kinda abuse and  treatment he did get..i was telling italy hol dey mudders condensed milk.

That's just letting the bad guy win.  

Martin Luther King & Nelson Mandela probably had advisors telling them the same thing...good thing they didn't listen.

Racism & abuse will not change if it continues to drive people away...
Post by: dinho on December 02, 2009, 01:53:15 PM
.....if I did get de kinda abuse and  treatment he did get..i was telling italy hol dey mudders condensed milk.

Martin Luther King & Nelson Mandela probably had advisors telling them the same thing...good thing they didn't listen.

but balotelli doh strike me as no revolutionary.. saddest does remind me of 50 cent on a football field with all that unnecessary attitude.

if he do go and play for ghana though, he might as well go and play in la liga or the EPL.
Post by: Peong on December 02, 2009, 01:57:00 PM

I feel the biggest HYMC he could do is play for Italy.
What the ultras will do then, boo their own team?
Post by: Peong on December 02, 2009, 02:00:33 PM

Mods should make a WC sub-section, but I they have shown real resistance to adding any more sub-forums so we go see.
Post by: palos on December 02, 2009, 02:27:39 PM
Balotelli is one of the best young players in the game presently.

If he smart, he will play for Italy.  More to gain professionally for his career.

Trini people does boo Stern John and he is we best ever striker so abuse from yuh "home crowd" is someting footballers does deal wit all de time.  Daz de least of he worries.
Post by: Jah Gol on December 02, 2009, 02:28:17 PM

but balotelli doh strike me as no revolutionary.. saddest does remind me of 50 cent on a football field with all that unnecessary attitude.

if he do go and play for ghana though, he might as well go and play in la liga or the EPL.
He has problems , much too to ignorant for my liking. But the abuse he gets has more to do with is skin colour than his conduct. You right about the league situation too.

I don't think he speaks any English. He was born and raised in Italy. It would real hard for him to just fit into that Ghana side.
Post by: Bamboo Prince on December 02, 2009, 02:44:57 PM
if is Italy de man wah play for, i say let him fight he fight yes! 

next ting he reach in ghana, cyah fit een, men say he movin like a prima donna, he a speaka no eengleeesh, he pop dong in de world cup, dash way he career in Serie A and cyah go nowhey...

Let de man fight he fight. At home in italy.
Post by: kicker on December 02, 2009, 03:05:44 PM

He eh bong to be a revolutionary...just an ordinary man doing his part, keeping his eyes on the prize and trying to live his dream.  Right now it looks like his dream is to play for the Italian senior squad, until that changes he might as well continue to fight for it, and not let racism & abuse win without an honest fight. 
Post by: Bakes on December 02, 2009, 03:42:05 PM

I only listed who my favorites were, wasn't expressing an opinion on team's chances.  Aside from that... the US hardly has the same talent pool or consistency as other legitimate title contenders, so projecting future finish based on past performance is a fool's game where the US is concerned, in my opinion.  Remember, this is the same team that beat Spain and played Brazil close in South Africa this past July... then shit down theyself against Mexico in what was it.. Gold Cup?

Tactically they are a one-trick pony reliant on speed up front and solid defense in the back.  Their best defender, if fit, would be coming off major reconstructive surgery to his left knee.  One of their most potent recent strikers (Davies) is likely to miss the tournament, and none of his potential replacements (Ching, Casey, Cunningham) could tie his shoe strings... Altidore possibly will be a good substitute, and Findley has promise.

Torres can't get off the bench in midfield and Beckerman, Bradley, Rogers, Dempsey et al are decent middling players, and decidedly not world beaters.

Do I fancy their chances?  No.
Post by: Lightning on December 02, 2009, 04:03:09 PM
CONTROVERSIAL COW SACRIFICE PLAN FOR WORLD CUP

Some people will do anything to get the EDR/Behind the Bridge boys and dem a sweat eh??? ;)
Post by: kicker on December 02, 2009, 04:30:30 PM
Do I fancy their chances?  No.

In a nutshell...
Post by: asylumseeker on December 02, 2009, 05:30:38 PM
Regardless of the outcome, dahis the way a nat'l team coach should move ... And, doh sleep, Appiah eh no slouch. His presence at the meeting(s) will be more than flattering.
Post by: Flex on December 02, 2009, 08:02:00 PM
Who's afraid of the Group of Death?

One of the enduring attractions of the Final Draw for the FIFA World Cup™ finals comes when more big-name contenders are placed in a group than there are places in the knockout rounds. Past draws have almost always thrown up at least one section brimming with pre-tournament favourites, and when the dust settles on the first phase, one or two of them invariably find themselves packing for home.

With characteristic hyperbole, the media will no doubt roll out the term 'Group of Death' again on Friday evening after the Final Draw for the 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa takes place in Cape Town at 7pm local time.

Fate shared by legends

Many past legends of the game have found themselves confronted with unexpectedly demanding challenges in the first phase of a FIFA World Cup finals. When Pele headed for Sweden in 1958 at the tender age of just 17, making his first memorable appearance on the global stage, Brazil only just scraped through a group that included the powerful Soviets spearheaded by captain Lev Yashin, and an England team boasting the likes of Billy Wright and Tom Finney. The English were the fall guys on that occasion, as Pele went on to strike six goals as he and his fellow countrymen claimed the trophy.

Exactly 20 years later, a truly world-class star of the next generation enjoyed a much less successful debut. At the 1978 finals in Argentina, Michel Platini’s France were drawn in a section with the hosts, Hungary and Italy. The French ultimately succeeded only in taking points off the Hungarians, as even the budding talent of Platini was unable to prevent the men in blue becoming victims of a classic 'Group of Death'. There was a minor personal consolation for the gifted midfielder in that he scored against the Argentinians, deflecting a good portion of the flak aimed at the side by a critical domestic media.

"We’ll just have to go out and play the difficult games," former Italy national coach Roberto Donadoni declared after a challenging group stage draw for the UEFA EURO 2008 finals. Bowing to the inevitable, he was merely borrowing the philosophy adopted by a number of past coaching colleagues, especially at the 1990 FIFA World Cup in Donadoni’s home nation.

England, Ireland and the Netherlands all clawed their way out of Group F that year. Holders Argentina fell to a shock 1-0 defeat to Cameroon in the opening match, but also scrambled through Group B, behind the Indomitable Lions and Romania. Not only that, Maradona and Co ended up runners-up in the tournament, showing that it is possible to recover from a poor start and still make an impression.

Argentina denied rub of the green

Looking back over FIFA World Cup history, La Albiceleste have been involved in several of the toughest group battles. Of the ten sections which are generally accepted as the most difficult over the last 50 years, Argentina have featured on no less than five occasions. They were certainly out of luck at the two most recent Final Draws. In Korea and Japan in 2002, Argentina failed to survive a section also including England, Nigeria and Sweden, though they did fare better four years later in Germany, where they progressed alongside the Netherlands at the expense of Côte d’Ivoire and Serbia and Montenegro.

Argentina, in 1978, and Brazil, in 1958 and 1970, are the only nations to have emerged from a 'Group of Death' and gone on to win the trophy. While starting strongly is probably a more important factor than just getting though a tough first phase, it could be argued that a challenging group stage draw is a good thing, as success in the section can be a real confidence-booster, and also sends out a clear message of intent to any would-be rivals.

The relative merits of the various potential groups will always be one of the key talking points in the build-up to the Final Draw for the FIFA World Cup. And when the eight groups have been decided on Friday evening, a well-worn phrase is almost certain to be used again.

FIFA.COM
Post by: Zeppo on December 03, 2009, 04:47:54 AM

Nonsense.

The race abuse problems have come from various moronic supporters groups at the club level, not with the national team.

It's stupid to complain that he hasn't been capped at the senior level yet. He's still only a teenager and he has loads of competition at his position. His indiscipline problems and attitude issues haven't helped his case either. Mourinho has omitted him from games because of these issues several times now, the most recent one being just last week:
http://www.football-italia.net/nov29l.html

And Liverani's small amount of caps can be put down to the emergence of Andrea Pirlo -- not the color of his skin.
Post by: Bakes on December 03, 2009, 07:21:55 AM

Nonsense.

The race abuse problems have come from various moronic supporters groups at the club level, not with the national team.

It's stupid to complain that he hasn't been capped at the senior level yet. He's still only a teenager and he has loads of competition at his position. His indiscipline problems and attitude issues haven't helped his case either. Mourinho has omitted him from games because of these issues several times now, the most recent one being just last week:
http://www.football-italia.net/nov29l.html

And Liverani's small amount of caps can be put down to the emergence of Andrea Pirlo -- not the color of his skin.

bullshit... none of that explains the failure to at least toss one perfunctory cap at Balotelli, if for no other reason than to secure his services later on as he matures... since you insist he's still too young.  Findley was capped nearly two years ago then cast aside... seemingly because the USSF realized there was competition for his services.  Now it seems like a masterstroke in hindsight given his form and injuries at the position.  Imagine Bradley even had rank shitsnakes like Kenny Cooper and Conor Casey ahead of him just within the past year.

The "competition" talk is nonsense,since no one is saying he should be in the starting XI.
Post by: Jah Gol on December 03, 2009, 07:38:32 AM
Stephen Appiah Urges Inter Ace Mario Balotelli To Answer Ghana Call

The midfielder believes ‘Super Mario’ is mature enough to help the Black Stars’ cause at the World Cup.

Bologna midfielder Stephen Appiah has admitted Ghana coach Milovan Rajevac’s plans to include Inter striker Mario Balotelli in his World Cup squad took him by surprise, but he fully endorses the move.

“I am very much in favour of it,” the Black Stars captain told La Gazzetta dello Sport.

“Although I do have to say that I don’t know anything about this. And I am not aware that our manager Rajevac is set to travel to Bologna to speak about it with me nor that I am supposed to take him to Milan to persuade Mario.

“I have come to know about it in the press and I have no basis to confirm the news.”

Balotelli was born in Italy to Ghanaian parents and the 19-year-old is currently representing the Azzurri at Under-21 level.

“Ghana are already strong, but they would be even more with Mario,” continued Appiah.

“We want to do well in South Africa and why should we throw away the chance to have a player like Balotelli with us?

“We would be happy if Balotelli came in to give us a hand. He has already proved his worth around Europe and has developed an important experience despite his young age.”

http://www.goal.com/en/news/10/italy/2009/12/03/1662781/stephen-appiah-urges-inter-ace-mario-balotelli-to-answer (http://www.goal.com/en/news/10/italy/2009/12/03/1662781/stephen-appiah-urges-inter-ace-mario-balotelli-to-answer)
Post by: Zeppo on December 03, 2009, 08:32:57 AM

bullshit... none of that explains the failure to at least toss one perfunctory cap at Balotelli, if for no other reason than to secure his services later on as he matures... since you insist he's still too young.  Findley was capped nearly two years ago then cast aside... seemingly because the USSF realized there was competition for his services.  Now it seems like a masterstroke in hindsight given his form and injuries at the position.  Imagine Bradley even had rank shitsnakes like Kenny Cooper and Conor Casey ahead of him just within the past year.

The "competition" talk is nonsense,since no one is saying he should be in the starting XI.

Since for some reason you chose to ignore the part in my post where I addressed his well-known discipline problems, let me highlight them again and provide a bit more info:

Last week (http://www.football-italia.net/nov29l.html)
Last January (http://www.fifa.com/worldfootball/clubfootball/news/newsid=991318.html)

Cleary Italy doesn't feel the sense of urgency regarding the securing of his services that you feel that they should. Marcello Lippi tends to go with experienced players, perhaps even to a fault, since his team is commonly criticized for being "too old". But that's the way he operates, so it's no surprise the he's going to hold off on a teenager who has maturity issues to boot.

I'm still not sure how Findley relates to the Balotelli question, but you can expect him to be getting more U.S. appearances in the runup to next summer. He has a good shot at making the final squad, too. He's not competing with Cooper and Casey either, since he plays a different role in the attack.

BTW - both Cooper and Casey have better goalscoring rates in MLS than Findley does.
Post by: dinho on December 03, 2009, 08:48:09 AM
Hadda talk bout my side.

In the Italian national setup, the list of forwards who are competing for a spot off the top of my head are:

- Toni
- Iaquinta
- Gilardino
- Quagliarella
- Di Natale
- Del Piero
- Pazzini
- Cassano

Not one of these forwards by any means do anything yet to own a spot on the team so the search is still the striker search in still alive and well. In this regard, there are 3 forwards who merit serious consideration but need to be capped for Italy to be in the pool:

- Rossi
- Amauri
- Balotelli

So far, the Rossi deal is done. They trying hard with Amauri but I don't think he has decided on either Italy or Brazil as yet (i could be mistaken though, this may be a done deal and I missed it).

The last man standing is Balotelli. When you have a prodigous talent like that at his age, the very least you have to do is give him a hurry cap against a Luxembourg or something. I real surprised this hasn't happened yet.
Post by: Jah Gol on December 03, 2009, 02:03:54 PM
World Cup games to be shot in 3D

(http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/46852000/jpg/_46852644_-3.jpg)
The 2010 World Cup in South Africa will be filmed in 3D for the first time, it has been announced.

Up to 25 of the games will be captured using 3D cameras, football's governing body Fifa said.

Although it has no definite plans to broadcast the matches live in 3D, Fifa said it was a possibility and would be decided in "the coming months".

Initially, it said, footage will also be shown at public events in seven cities around the world.

The footage will also be packaged into a film.

Sony technology will be used to film the games, although the firm has not confirmed details of the specific technology it will use.

Sporting firsts

The majority of existing 3D set-ups use two-camera systems to record images tailored specifically for the left and right eye of the viewer.

Special polarised glasses are then used to view the image.

However, earlier this year, the Japanese firm unveiled a single-lens camera, which it said was especially suited for sporting events.

The camera takes a single image that is split by mirrors and recorded on two sensors.

3D technology has been used to capture special events before, such as the Queen's Coronation.

However, regular and widespread use of the technology is still in its infancy.

Now, analysts believe the technology is on the cusp of becoming mainstream and believe the World Cup could play an important role in take-up of the technology.

"Global sporting events... are very important drivers of new technology, particularly in the TV market", said Tom Morrod, Senior Analyst at Screen Digest.

The firm predicts there may be 13.6m 3D TV sets installed in Europe by 2013.

In 2008, the BBC broadcast the world's first live sporting event in 3D, beaming back an England vs. Scotland game from the Six Nations to a cinema in London.

The corporation's director of London 2012, Roger Mosey, has said there are also plans to capture some of the Olympics in 3D.

In July this year, broadcaster Sky said that it would launch "the UK's first 3D channel" by 2010.

It has also hinted that it may launch a sports channel which could include Premier League Football in 3D.

The World Cup begins on the 11 June 2010.

(http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/46478000/gif/_46478864_live3d_home_466.gif)

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/technology/8394191.stm
Post by: Flex on December 03, 2009, 09:01:02 PM
Ten 2010 World Cup Facts

By Clemente Lisi - NEW YORK, NY (Dec 3, 2009) USSoccerPlayers.com

The World Cup is loaded with facts and figures.  While Cape Town prepares to host the 90-minute final draw Friday with all the trappings of an Academy Awards ceremony (Oscar winner Charlize Theron will co-host) before a global TV audience of 200 million, the numbers reveal that the 2010 tournament will be one for the record books.   

“We’re confident that our preparations for the tournament are going extremely well,” Danny Jordaan, chief executive of the 2010 World Cup, told FIFA.com.  “Now, it’s time to focus on the teams and the stars coming to South Africa 2010, for the global football World to see who their teams will be up against and for our host cities and residents to gear up to welcome the teams that will be heading their way.”   

With the final draw upon us and the World Cup 190 days away, here is a zero to 10 guide surrounding the tournament:

As in the number of times an African nation has hosted the World Cup.  South Africa, a soccer and rugby-mad nation, will make history by being the first. 

As in teams that will make their World Cup debuts next year.  Slovakia is the only team in the 32-nation field to make its first-ever tournament appearance.  The last time that occurred was in 1950, but there were only 13 participants at that edition.  In 2006, six nations -- Ukraine, Ivory Coast, Angola, Ghana, Togo, and Trinidad & Tobago -- made their debuts. 

As in the times Brazil has captured the World Cup outside its own continent (none of the other six winners have ever done so).  It occurred twice: 1958 in Sweden (featuring a 17-year-old Pele) and 2002 in Korea/Japan.  Most bookmakers favor Brazil to lift the trophy next year. 

As in the number of bids South Africa had to overcome in order to get the World Cup.  South Africa received 14 votes from FIFA’s executive committee in May 2004, while Morocco had 10 and Egypt 0.  Tunisia and Libya withdrew after FIFA ruled it would not consider joint bids. South Africa lost to Germany when both bid for the 2006 tournament. 

Thierry Henry’s blatant handball (one of the biggest injustices since Diego Maradona’s “Hand of God” goal against England at Mexico ’86 and German defender Torsten Frings’ hand preventing the US from scoring in the quarterfinals of Korea/Japan 2002) may have helped France overcome Ireland in the European playoffs last month, but the striker could also become the first Frenchman to play in four finals if he makes the team’s roster next Summer.  Truth is, Henry should be invited to the draw to handle the plastic balls. 

As in the number of referees that were considered for each FIFA World Cup game.  The proposal, following the Henry controversy, needed to be approved by the International Football Association Board, the sport’s rule-making body.  Instead, it didn't get that far with FIFA leadership quickly taking the plan off the table.

All six confederations will be represented in 2010.  The last time that occurred was Spain ’82 when both Australia and New Zealand qualified for the finals.  At the time, Australia was a member of Oceania.  The Aussies switched confederation two years ago and are now part of Asia.   

The 2010 tournament should be the most competitive ever given that all seven teams that have won the tournament in the past qualified this year for South Africa:  Brazil, Italy, Germany, Argentina, Uruguay, England and France.  The last time this occurred was Korea/Japan 2002. Brazil has qualified for all 19 finals – the only country to ever do so – and will keep that streak alive as host nation in 2014. 

As in the number of seeded teams.  FIFA (hush-hush about the system until Wednesday) has determined that South Africa will be seeded, along with Italy, Brazil, Spain, Argentina, Germany, Holland and England.  For the first time, the top eight were determined solely by October’s FIFA rankings, and not by performance at any previous World Cup.  The Bafana Bafana have won just one game over the past seven months and are the lowest ranked team – currently No. 86 -- ever seeded.  The US has only been seeded in 1930 and again in 1994 when they played host.   

As in the number of cities that will host games over the 31-day tournament:  Johannesburg, Cape Town, Durban, Pretoria, Port Elizabeth, Bloemfontein, Polokwane, Nelspruit and Rustenburg. 

As in the number of stadiums that will host matches: Johannesburg (Soccer City Stadium and Ellis Park), Cape Town (Green Point Stadium), Durban (Moses Mabhida Stadium), Pretoria (Loftus Versfeld Stadium), Port Elizabeth (Nelson Mandela Stadium), Bloemfontein (Free State Stadium), Polokwane (Peter Mokaba Stadium), Nelspruit (Mbombela Stadium) and Rustenburg (Royal Bafokeng Stadium).  Soccer City Stadium, where the final will be played on July 11th, was built in 1987 and hosted a rally for Nelson Mandela following his release from prison in 1990. 

Clemente Lisi is the author of “A History of the World Cup: 1930-2006.”
Post by: Bourbon on December 04, 2009, 08:19:55 AM
Dat 3-D ting have me wondering.
DVD's supposed to have multiangle capabilities. How come FIFA never thought of producing a multi-angle dvd set of each game...where yuh could chose yuh camera angle? Previously i know it could have been a problem due to size...but...Blu-ray could allow for that to some extent.
Post by: dinho on December 04, 2009, 10:24:29 AM
mods not to be a killjoy.. but would u consider a sub-forum for the world cup or not lumping everything in here?

in this one thread man wanna talk world cup draw..

then man wanna talk predictions..

man talking if balotelli should play for italy or ghana..

then we go wanna talk vuvuzela..

wha bout infrastructure, stadiums and how the south africans doing with the hosting..

and yuh know we must talk who making the south africa run and accomodation etc..

then when tournament reach we breaking down games..

real ting to get lost in de matrix..

just a suggestion. :beermug:
Post by: Zeppo on December 04, 2009, 10:35:51 AM
mods not to be a killjoy.. but would u consider a sub-forum for the world cup or not lumping everything in here?

wha bout infrastructure, stadiums and how the south africans doing with the hosting..

and yuh know we must talk who making the south africa run and accomodation etc..

I agree. For example, I thought that the Balotelli discussion should have remained as its own separate thread.

One generic 2010 WC thread is going to be a big, confusing mess.
Post by: kicker on December 04, 2009, 10:55:23 AM

Good post, but yuh might wanna PM the mods about it. 
Post by: Tongue on December 04, 2009, 11:35:22 AM
nice, very nice hostess :notworthy:
Post by: Tongue on December 04, 2009, 11:50:29 AM

Good post, but yuh might wanna PM the mods about it. 

some mite want tuh tork bout de t'ick thing dat was singing.
Post by: Tallman on December 04, 2009, 02:42:54 PM

Done: http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?board=17.0