May 03, 2024, 09:45:10 PM

Author Topic: Why Not Select 2 Spinners for the England Tour?  (Read 1287 times)

Why Not Select 2 Spinners for the England Tour?
« on: April 29, 2007, 08:50:06 AM »
I think we should go with Mohammed and Jaggernauth for the England tour and start both of them with 3 other specialist bowlers or 2 specialist and an all-rounder.. Why not, jaggy and tadpole take the most wickets the last 2 regional seasons and we havent had two spinners since valentine and ramadhin... Why not use our best spinners against England and surprise them, to go along with 2 pace bowlers and one all-rounder..

God is de BOSS...

Re: Why Not Select 2 Spinners for the England Tour?
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2007, 11:47:10 AM »
TI, who you would pick if only one spinner going to england?

« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2007, 01:36:38 PM »
mohammed of course.... thats obvious... cozier, fazeer, everyone knows they would pick mohammed... but jaggernauth from seeing over the last 3 years and this year, has improved by leaps and bounds, he has a doorsa in his arsenal that tear up dem batsman this season..

God is de BOSS...

« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2007, 01:37:56 PM »
Omari Banks and who?  ;D  Ah jes trying and get Infinite going.  :beermug:

« Reply #4 on: April 29, 2007, 09:10:07 PM »
mohammed of course.... thats obvious... cozier, fazeer, everyone knows they would pick mohammed... but jaggernauth from seeing over the last 3 years and this year, has improved by leaps and bounds, he has a doorsa in his arsenal that tear up dem batsman this season..

God is de BOSS...

so throw the carib series results out then. is mohammed all the way regardless of what regional performances other spinners like jaggernauth put in. this different from what you were saying before.  ???

« Reply #5 on: April 29, 2007, 11:37:06 PM »
Mohammed has consistently been one of the best bowlers in our domestic.  He troubled the South Africans when playing for a Select 11...in fact he took 5 wickets in one innings.  They could not read him.  The selectors picked him as a water boy for de next Test Match and den dropped him before dey went to one of dem smaller islands.  Notice when Sarwan shone against Pakistan, he went straight into the Test Team.  Mohammed needs a good run in the team and he could hold a bat.  Not so much this year, but he has been pretty consistent if yuh look at the last few years.

Ribbit you thinking jes like dem selectors.  De spinner have to be #1 all de time before dey get pick.  Are any of the fast bowlers currently being picked the best in the Carib Cup Averages?  So wha good for de fast bowlers not good for de spinners?  Why de double standard? 

In the absence of an Academy and a true Pro League, we send up all kinds of players to learn in a baptism by fire method except for our spinners.

Offline RRamdin

« Reply #6 on: April 30, 2007, 05:41:17 AM »
There is absolutely no point in playing 2 spinners in england, in mid-may and early June. One spinner is sufficient, and 3 seamers.

« Reply #7 on: April 30, 2007, 12:14:43 PM »
Mohammed has consistently been one of the best bowlers in our domestic.  He troubled the South Africans when playing for a Select 11...in fact he took 5 wickets in one innings.  They could not read him.  The selectors picked him as a water boy for de next Test Match and den dropped him before dey went to one of dem smaller islands.  Notice when Sarwan shone against Pakistan, he went straight into the Test Team.  Mohammed needs a good run in the team and he could hold a bat.  Not so much this year, but he has been pretty consistent if yuh look at the last few years.

Ribbit you thinking jes like dem selectors.  De spinner have to be #1 all de time before dey get pick.  Are any of the fast bowlers currently being picked the best in the Carib Cup Averages?  So wha good for de fast bowlers not good for de spinners?  Why de double standard? 

In the absence of an Academy and a true Pro League, we send up all kinds of players to learn in a baptism by fire method except for our spinners.

savannah, your last line is exactly the point. dave mohammed get enough feedback at test level to know what he needs to improve on. he should know that he still too inconsistent but he need to tie down a test level spot to improve his game too?

« Reply #8 on: April 30, 2007, 01:06:13 PM »

savannah, your last line is exactly the point. dave mohammed get enough feedback at test level to know what he needs to improve on. he should know that he still too inconsistent but he need to tie down a test level spot to improve his game too?

you know for an intelligent fellah like yourself you does sound stupid sometimes, other than the regionals what tournament do we have to judge our players on? absolutely no other tournament, what de hell is your problem in truth? ??? its either you are trying to make me look like a fool, which you are failing at or you are hard headed like the selectors... first of all, only up to 2 years ago or so u started watching test cricket, compared to when i was a toddler, so please cool yuhself nah.. mohammed have the test stats to prove he deserves a pick over anyone..

God is de BOSS...