Sports => Football => Topic started by: royalian on April 04, 2005, 01:43:46 PM

Title: Intercol Finals!!
Post by: royalian on April 04, 2005, 01:43:46 PM
What is ur most memorable Intercol final in any era?

Mine, QRC in 1991 upsetting Malick, everyone's favorite.
Title: Re: Intercol Finals!!
Post by: royal on April 04, 2005, 08:30:28 PM
Ah was part of QRC technical team for that one with the great Roderick Warner as Head Coach
Post by: Jahyouth on April 05, 2005, 11:16:23 AM
Royal and Royalian, I was on that 1991 QRC team!!! 

We beat Dwarica and crew in that game in the stadium.
Post by: vb on April 05, 2005, 11:27:54 AM
Mine is the Noth Zone intercol final of 1981....Fatima beat QRC 3-1.

What made it extra special is that in the first round fo the league...QRC ended our TWO YEAR unbeaten streak in the league with a 1-0 win over a 10 man Fatima at Fatima grounds.

We then lost the next game 3-1 to St. Mary's.

Well of course in the North Zone intercol...man count out Fatima already.l
But you know Intercol could be a funny thing sometimes.

First we beat Saints 2-1...Dexter Skeene was on that team...a boss players.
But Saints weak link was their 'Keeper.

Then in the N. Zone final...we bounce up QRC...down 1-0 at the end of the first half...we jam 3 in dey tail in the second half.

The late Shirvan Pragg was the Captain of QRC back then..

Well I had no voice at the end of the game.
I was recently reliving the experience with the Fatima Capt. Ronald Simmons...who played for Tacarigua Ut. and TT as well.

Peace,
Post by: football king on April 05, 2005, 11:35:57 AM
vb you call a real boss player there in Ronnie Simmons no doubt one of the best defenders tt ever produce
if he was around in these times easily been in europe without a doubt
anybody say different ain't know a thing bout football
man was composed strong in all aspects and great attacker a true libero baresi like, one of the long line of stars that comeout fatima and cic
he was real special
Post by: vb on April 05, 2005, 12:13:36 PM
Yes...Football King...

you damn right...

From 1980-85 I never saw a better defender than Simmo...

He was tough and a roving defender with a big foot.

When he played for TT did well..but never seemed to get call up a lot.

Peace,
Post by: palos on April 05, 2005, 12:26:42 PM
Mucurapo versus John D...cyah remember the year.

Clauzel, Tractor, Emers, Eric White, Denzil White etc. vs  Peru, Zuzie, Peter Loobie, Doc???? I eh sure if Doc lay dah game.

Dat was a wicked game.  Clauzel score a wicked goal in dat one.

Most dramatic & controversial.  Fatima vs John D...think it end up 3-3...ref play bout 5 minutes extra time or maybe more....den it had a replay and Fatima win de replay.
Title: Muc. -JohnD final
Post by: vb on April 05, 2005, 12:34:58 PM
that final was in 1978.

the year before Fatima JohnD in 1979...

Post by: football king on April 05, 2005, 12:41:51 PM
ronnie was in howard at the time went on to become all american- them days men did not know about other school like uva indiana ucla etc he woulda easily run tings in them bigger ncaa schools i meet some coaches still talk bout tha man-
yeah back then men outside hardly ever get call-gally shoulda call tha man in 89 but we all know gally and foreign based
only other college league defender that could come close to ronnie was another fatima boy garnett craig
Post by: palos on April 05, 2005, 01:06:24 PM
Yuh know ballas football king....Garnet Craig was a wicked player.

Other serious college defenders from de late 70's onwards....sorry SH...allyuh too ole... ;D

Carlyle Andrews - Belmont (the dean of College Defenders back in de day)

Brian Big Bird Brown - Belmont (I think he wasn't that great a defender but he was like a man among boys in terms of size in dem times)

Gavin Onaba - Fatima (another one dat Fatima used to churn out regular...originally from Ghana)

Shawn Boney - ?

Richard Theodore - Mucurapo

Shaun Garcia - QRC

Derek Lewis - Trinity

Bertram O'Brien - ?

Verron Skinner - Trinity (my all time favourite..if he was around now...the sky woulda be de limit fuh he)

Clayton Morris - ? (cyah remember wha school JB went)

Post by: jaffa on April 05, 2005, 01:08:20 PM
Veron Skinner in NYC working w/ troubled youth.
He was/is a MAN among boys.
Post by: vb on April 05, 2005, 01:14:55 PM
Yes Skinner was on my mind...I believed he have played in the N. Zone final 1980

Trinity - Fatima

Dem bitches beat us 1-0 on a penalty.

Simmon was in dat game Form V

Skinner was really deadly.

For some reason national coaches did not seem interested in Simmo.

When Corneal was coach he always gave him a run and he didn't fail.

I remember when Corneal took over after the Strike Squad days...Simmo got a run vs. East Germany ...did well and the papers say he should be a regular..but I guess those other coaches saw something else.

Post by: palos on April 05, 2005, 01:21:37 PM
I always say....Gally did a great job with the Strike Squad.  But he also did de country & TEAM a disservice by not selecting Veron Skinner and David Nakhid.  I truly believe in my heart to this day, had those two been on the team, we would have been in Italy...no problem.

No disrespeck to Floyd Lawrence or Robert Zuzi Elliot...(Zuzi was a legend fuh Simeon Road in Petit Valley League dem times) but dem couldn't lace either of Veron or David boots.

Dat REAL hurt we.....dat and de fact that REALLY AND TRULY we didn't have a DEADLY Striker.  We had plenty offensive firepower wit Latas, Yorke, and Leonson especially....but Marlon Charles, Pamo and Alibey really couldn't cut it at dat level....and dis is no disrespeck to dem because they gave their ALL.
Post by: football king on April 05, 2005, 01:24:07 PM
PALOS TRUE DAT add ronnie to that list
jb went john D
boney went no school actually i ain't know trinity pull tha 1 off.
yes palos ah know ballers father used to take me to nuff games
Post by: football king on April 05, 2005, 01:29:59 PM
gustine used to rule the east
pollonais, shabazz, earl paris, vaughn samuel even had a brazilian coach downer bring in for them 1 time. casa grande i believe was he name
Post by: maxg on April 05, 2005, 02:51:41 PM
Since we calling impressive ballers we see for College.(Cyar remember one final, ah went all the games and ah OLD now  ???)
Corneal, Gally - Fatima, see him bust the net on Fatima grounds against we (QRC)
Archibald- Benedicts  -
BBain,Sadaphal, Matthews, Jeffers, Sheppy, Best,SGomes, Polydor, Barrow, Clarke - QRC
Tesheria, Nancoo,IBain, Woodley- CIC
Belmont - Husbands, LaForest, Phillips

Buddies pass thru MTL, ah wish ah did see.
Mikey Roberts - Fatima
Denzil White - coached a Summer in MTL.
Richie Ried - Mucurapo

Other peep ah wish ah did see.... Everybody allyuh call, ah woulda go all the games
Post by: football king on April 05, 2005, 03:07:54 PM
all yuh remeber a keith eddy from QRC tha man was good dread
Post by: Cowen on April 05, 2005, 04:43:00 PM
The best i ever see wasnt' a final .......it was the Semi final ....Arima vs St.Benedicts at Skinner park. I can't remember the year ...i think it was somehwre in the early '90s. That is the game when the referee had to run for he life after he made some bad callls......
lawd that was a game .....the amount of people that was in skinner park ....all on the touch line the crowd was thick. that led to the bad call by the referee. Arima kick the  ball out of touch and it rebound off a spectator foot and come back into play. The southerners nearly kill that man that day ....but other than that ...that was probabyl the best and hardest fought game of school football i've ever seen ......worthy of a final
Post by: palos on April 05, 2005, 05:51:54 PM
The most IMPRESSIVE and DOMINANT players I have seen...in Colleges Football

Russel Latapy

Veron Skinner

Leonson Lewis

Richard Chinapoo

David Nakhid

Jerren Nixon

Dwight Yorke

Wendell Moore

Carlyle Andrews

Garth Pollonais

Emerson Dubisson

Alan "Peru" Anderson

Timothy Haynes

Ian Clauzel

Garnet Craig

Maxg....I was inschool when Mikey used to play fuh Fatima.  Mikey was a legend....excellent footballer but even better cricketer.  Man used to blaze runs like was no tomorrow.

I eh include Anton Corneal in dat list but ah have to give he a special mention.  De year I pass fuh Fatima, Pantin pull we out Colleges League.  Well out of bad come good because we develop a House League.  What dat did was to showcase talent dat otherwise would not have been seen...because it have plenty man who didn't really care bout playin fuh de school.  Men wit SKILLS.  It also had a mid day league in de quad.  Dat is where Garnet Craig get "discover" even doh he was done playin ball wit Blackpool in de East but hardly anybody in Fatima did know dat...certainly...none of de coaches.

Anyway back to Anton.  To this day, I have not seen the like from ANYBODY.  Anton in Form 1.  Sometimes...de combined Form 1 team used to play teams from higher forms...but a particular class e.g. Form 3 A, B or C.  Everybody did know Anton to be Alvin Corneal son plus he had 2 other brothers goin to Fatima de time.  One lunchtime...no game playin but men foolin arong and we see Anton on de field wit he Form 1 padnah's and he have de ball.  Is bout 40 a dem and dey tryin to get de ball from he.  It remind meh of dem chinee movie when de star boy surrounded by 100 man.

Anton dribble dem ALL...and tun back and dribble dem again.  Now when ah say dribble...ah mean dem fellas at a point didn't care....man tryin to hold on to he pants, shirt, man peltin kick all kinda ting...still dey couldn't get de ball.  We sit on de bench and couldn't believe it.

Now dat Form 1 class was kinda special because in addition to Anton, it had some decent players but especially 2 sons of some expats....1 from Colombia and 1 from Venezuela.  Dem youths coulda real play ball.  Well dey beat de Form 2's...no problem.  Form 3's get pass out...same wit Form 4's.  Dey eventually bounce up de side wit Craig and dem and dey get some good kick in dey ass (dah was dey strategy because dey couldn't win otherwise) and lorse...but not without Anton embarassin plenty men along de way...includin Craig and Anton brother.

Plenty good footballers get discover outta dah mid day league and House League.  When Fatima get reinstated back into Colleges League, we was a force primarily because a dem 2 Leagues. 

De mid day league was famous fuh a nex incident.  De Colombian yute coulda kick like a mule.  In dem times it jes used to be 2 cricket stumps dey would use as goal post.  Man ringin de field to see de games.  Anytime dah Form 1 team play, de place was RAM.  Well one game de Colombian buss a strike on de ball and it hit de stump.  De stump fly out and straight as a arrow bury de point in de forehead of a fella call Andre Cropper who was watchin de game from behind de goal.  Men get some serious horrors because it look like a ting from a horror movie.  Cropper wit dis stump stickin out from de middle a he forehead but thank GOD it eh turn out to be too serious.  Cropper end up representin T&T in swimmin.  Tink he sister or family respresent T&T in dah sport at Olympics too.

Anton didn't quite get to de heights everybody did expect of him but he was very special as a youth.
Post by: truetrini on April 05, 2005, 06:07:11 PM
vb yuh bad mind eh.  I was dey when allyuh get wood from Trinity..we was singing annoder one bite de dust..we den beat CIC on dey own grounds to win Nort zone, from a Skinner bullet from about half line.

Den teachers went on strike and de season folded without we going on to win de whole damn ting
Post by: maxg on April 05, 2005, 07:06:32 PM
Story Palos...hah to show Mikey dah one. So the spirit still existed in your time too.
Post by: maxg on April 05, 2005, 07:28:13 PM
Palos what was that older Corneal from 5th form name? Ah think is he I alking bout...When Mikey was in 1st frm, I was picking up splinters 1 st 11 for QRC, and we had a game against Fatima and the man was real tears..we were playing Belmont in the Oval the next wknd..and dah Corneal cause meh to get drop for sure....I wasn't a good football eh, buh is Mikey n Gregory had meh playing, and I did like to run...buh Corneal take the ball from meh, ah run him down inch meh bout 2 round midfield and 2 more times in we area, and then string up the Goalie, and I was playing Center forward. It look real bad.. That next week in the Oval against Belmont, in front ah Mikey and the whole Belmont crew, and the rest of the Rampack oval, ah quit football at10 mins into half time, (Coach had meh warming up whole 1st half+the 10 mins)  and went up Carib stands...Ah did dun know, ah was leaving for Canada.and figure ah never go play football again, except with pardners of course...buh so it went...ah didn't get he (corneal) license, buh he started that frustration, cause ah realize then ah could never be that good
Post by: Savannah boy on April 05, 2005, 09:03:02 PM
Nice list dey Palos...ah also did like Clint Marcelle, Dexter Sandy and Neil Guisseppe a midfielder from QRC - a real man among boys. Dwarika have to be on dat list too.
Post by: vb on April 06, 2005, 05:22:59 AM

Russel Latapy

Veron Skinner

Leonson Lewis

Richard Chinapoo

David Nakhid

Jerren Nixon

Dwight Yorke

Wendell Moore

Carlyle Andrews

Garth Pollonais

Emerson Dubisson

Alan "Peru" Anderson

Timothy Haynes

Ian Clauzel

Garnet Craig

Maxg....I was inschool when Mikey used to play fuh Fatima.  Mikey was a legend....excellent footballer but even better cricketer.  Man used to blaze runs like was no tomorrow.

I eh include Anton Corneal in dat list but ah have to give he a special mention.  De year I pass fuh Fatima, Pantin pull we out Colleges League.  Well out of bad come good because we develop a House League.  What dat did was to showcase talent dat otherwise would not have been seen...because it have plenty man who didn't really care bout playin fuh de school.  Men wit SKILLS.  It also had a mid day league in de quad.  Dat is where Garnet Craig get "discover" even doh he was done playin ball wit Blackpool in de East but hardly anybody in Fatima did know dat...certainly...none of de coaches.

Anyway back to Anton.  To this day, I have not seen the like from ANYBODY.  Anton in Form 1.  Sometimes...de combined Form 1 team used to play teams from higher forms...but a particular class e.g. Form 3 A, B or C.  Everybody did know Anton to be Alvin Corneal son plus he had 2 other brothers goin to Fatima de time.  One lunchtime...no game playin but men foolin arong and we see Anton on de field wit he Form 1 padnah's and he have de ball.  Is bout 40 a dem and dey tryin to get de ball from he.  It remind meh of dem chinee movie when de star boy surrounded by 100 man.

Anton dribble dem ALL...and tun back and dribble dem again.  Now when ah say dribble...ah mean dem fellas at a point didn't care....man tryin to hold on to he pants, shirt, man peltin kick all kinda ting...still dey couldn't get de ball.  We sit on de bench and couldn't believe it.

Now dat Form 1 class was kinda special because in addition to Anton, it had some decent players but especially 2 sons of some expats....1 from Colombia and 1 from Venezuela.  Dem youths coulda real play ball.  Well dey beat de Form 2's...no problem.  Form 3's get pass out...same wit Form 4's.  Dey eventually bounce up de side wit Craig and dem and dey get some good kick in dey ass (dah was dey strategy because dey couldn't win otherwise) and lorse...but not without Anton embarassin plenty men along de way...includin Craig and Anton brother.

Plenty good footballers get discover outta dah mid day league and House League.  When Fatima get reinstated back into Colleges League, we was a force primarily because a dem 2 Leagues. 

De mid day league was famous fuh a nex incident.  De Colombian yute coulda kick like a mule.  In dem times it jes used to be 2 cricket stumps dey would use as goal post.  Man ringin de field to see de games.  Anytime dah Form 1 team play, de place was RAM.  Well one game de Colombian buss a strike on de ball and it hit de stump.  De stump fly out and straight as a arrow bury de point in de forehead of a fella call Andre Cropper who was watchin de game from behind de goal.  Men get some serious horrors because it look like a ting from a horror movie.  Cropper wit dis stump stickin out from de middle a he forehead but thank GOD it eh turn out to be too serious.  Cropper end up representin T&T in swimmin.  Tink he sister or family respresent T&T in dah sport at Olympics too.

Anton didn't quite get to de heights everybody did expect of him but he was very special as a youth.

OH JEEZ PALOS,

That stump story crack me up for days...ah know it was a serious thing but i couldn't stop laughing.
Nice lyrics about Anton...this will go into my files.

Post by: doc on April 06, 2005, 06:41:13 AM

Russel Latapy

Veron Skinner

Leonson Lewis

Richard Chinapoo

David Nakhid

Jerren Nixon

Dwight Yorke

Wendell Moore

Carlyle Andrews

Garth Pollonais

Emerson Dubisson

Alan "Peru" Anderson

Timothy Haynes

Ian Clauzel

Garnet Craig

I would add

Gary Evelyn and

Peter Loobie

to that list.
Title: MOST IMPRESSIVE FOR ME
Post by: vb on April 06, 2005, 06:58:01 AM
I only saw colleges league in the late 70s and half of the 80s...so based on what I saw.

Ronnie Simmons - Fatima
Sean Roberts - GK for Fatima
Garth Pollanais - St. Augustine
Clint Marcelle - Mucurapo
Colin rocke, Dexter Skeene - CIC
Applewhite - GK for QRC
David Mohammed - Naparima, the same Moh. who
played cricket for the WI youth team and TT in the 80s and 90s

Dexter Sandy - QRC
Remy - St. Augustine
Leonson Lewis - Sando Tech
Anthony Clarke - GK for Naps.

Wayne "Barney" Sheppard, Sean Ramdoo, and Mark Jeremy were damn good players for Fatima. They were amongst the BEST in the College's league. But at the time they played for Fatima we had reasonably weak teams...Sheppard and Jeremy played for the national youth team.
Ramdoo was selected for the U-16 team and his son Sean Jr. was recently selected for the U-16 team.

Sean Roberts the GK for fatima was OUTSTANDING...but he broke his foot in a game vs. QRC and that was it...we never saw him again. The man was supremely confident in goal.

I understand he was a boss batsman in the College's League as well, with an average of over 800. That's right an AVERAGE of over 800. Back in '84 a little form IV fella called Brian Lara was talking about breaking it. I don't know if he ever got around to it.  :)

Peace,
Post by: maxg on April 06, 2005, 07:23:56 AM
vb, Mikey, Gregory, and sean use to come Mtl in the summer, and the 2 older played with us in our City league. For our opening game we had to travel quitey-quite and many guys didn't make it. As we were short(8), we throw Sean in goal, he made 8. Mikey was a lil concerned, saying Sean never play with men before. Ah say Mikey, yuh dun know we go buss this team tail, dey mighten even get a shot on him...
They give we 5 to 0. After Sean feel so bad, every practice, he wha go in goal, whole summer..."Take shot nah ? Take shot nah?" Fellas was calling him 'SHOTS'..
So now yuh know where the confidence came from.

By the way on the return game with that team, we give them 6-0. and won the league. and lost the Knockout final to that same team,"Pincourt" on penalty kicks. I remember clearly cause is the last penalty ah ever kick in meh life. Ah kick 5th, and nearly break meh foot when a kick the xxxking ground, and the ball en even reach the keeper.
Post by: JDB on April 06, 2005, 07:31:17 AM
Talking about intercol, allyuh remember the National league Championships. Of the many formats my favourite was the Big Seven. Seven best teams six games, 3 at home, 3 away and every one was crucial. the atmosphere for them games was something else.

When yuh can't go down south yuh listeneing to the radio like a jumbie.

Plus the first time I see Dwight and Nixon play was in big seven.
Post by: football king on April 06, 2005, 07:36:18 AM
vb some good picks boss i forget robert gk father was a boss coach too end up getting real sick wonder if he still alive
jeremy was a boss dribbler going forward
barney was real underated-can't believe goats mr. moore and haywood didn't let tha man in 6th form-1 bad thing bout fatima they let some good men slip or overlook some good youths

greame rodriguez was good
qrc had a guissepi- linkman real good
belmont had a man nicknamed SABA play with latapy marcelle u-19 tt team
rambo from san juan then trintoc national team, baaaaaaaad player good dribbler effective dribbler

Post by: vb on April 06, 2005, 07:47:50 AM
OH JEEZ ..How I forget Graeme Rodgriguez. one of the best damn dribblers I ever saw.

MaKE national practice and nobody pass him de ball becz he is a white boy.

Magx G who is Mikey and Gregory?
And what is Mtl??

And how old was Roberts when he got dat 8?

Peace,
Post by: doc on April 06, 2005, 07:52:01 AM
Talkin bout Fatima .... ah remember in '76 we rest 4 on dem  ;D
Post by: JDB on April 06, 2005, 07:58:29 AM
No surprise Doc.

Fatima is a side with a lot of glory but a plot of lows as well, probably the least consistent of the trio that includes QRC and Saints.

(I waiting for Palos to come out blasting)
Post by: football king on April 06, 2005, 08:01:07 AM
throw out some names best in my opinion

shaka hislop-cic                   legendre-gustine
nahkid-cic                           clauzel-mucurapo
colin rocke-cic                     marcelle-mucurapo
henderson-cic                     jameson-arima
ronnie simmons-fatima         pollonais-gustine
anton-fatima                      mitchell-st anthony's
garnett craig-fatima             wise-st anthony's
sampson-benedicts             legendre-san juan
nixon-gustine                     jones-st anthony's
yorke-signal hill                   dhanoolal-gustine
hutchinson-signal hill           guiseppi-qrc
grimes-eldo                       sam-qrc
jeffries- el do                     sherwood-pres sando
darin lewis-belmont            skinner-trinity

no disrespect to the others but these men in my opinion run the route
Post by: football king on April 06, 2005, 08:03:40 AM
sorry bii big mistake
latapy-tranquil sando tech
leonson-naps/sando tech
Post by: JDB on April 06, 2005, 08:11:53 AM
Football King, your list has a lot more recent names in than Palos' list.

Wise was good but I still wouldn't have compared him with the players on Palos list, much less Miguel Mitchell.

If yuh picking them men I woul dhave to niminate Darragh Moze from Saints, very underrated but a real quality player.

And what about keepers,I would have to include Ince as well.

Post by: real madness on April 06, 2005, 08:14:55 AM
A keeper that should be added to the list is Nigel Neverson from Benedict's.
Post by: Israel on April 06, 2005, 08:25:29 AM
Cowen, I remember dat semi final in Skinner Park, d game end 4-3 or 5-4 and ppl say dat a benedicts man did score one with he hand...Dem arima man wanted to fight and ting down in Sando but dat was a good game....
Post by: football king on April 06, 2005, 08:26:02 AM
true jdb fair enough but i assuming i younger than palos
i admit that i will overlook a lot of names but list long enough did not want to be typing all day
Post by: football king on April 06, 2005, 08:27:03 AM
i going with kevin moze over darragh or even brendan
Post by: JDB on April 06, 2005, 08:29:28 AM
Kevin was definitely more "exxtravagant" but Darragh was a beast, I would probably pick both of them though.

What about Sheldon and Brent Bennett? Them men used to hot up the east.
Post by: real madness on April 06, 2005, 08:41:53 AM
Don't forget the late Mickey Trotman, he played in dat Arima/Benedict's game/fight.
Post by: Observer on April 06, 2005, 09:12:59 AM

A likkle back in times history 60's, 70's

St Benedicts;  H Quanvie, W Archibal, L DeLeon, W Cave. C Lennard, J Stedman, L Brewster, T Douglas, D & F Furlong x 2,  Cupid, B Sookram, K Joseph, L Rondon

Sando Tech,   L Spann, P Mitchell, T Huggins, D Williams,  A Rostant, S Agustin, K Smith, R Suderland, B Neptune

Naparima,       Francis, G Green, R  Ross, G Homer, K Baird
Post by: Israel on April 06, 2005, 09:16:37 AM
One of meh most memorable intercol finals is in 1997 when St. Anthony's take on St. Benedicts in d Oval and Tommy Joseph talkin real shit in d stands. Dat St. Anthony's team was a bomb (Carlos Edwards and Sean Cooper striking, Marcus Rodriguez on d wing, Ethan Stewart as a stopper) but Benedicts with (Nicholas Benjamin, Silvio Spann (who was in form 4), Lyndon Diaz, Moreba Baker, Jordan) were equally as talented.

Benedict's were without their key marksman Kester "Blacks" Cornwall but dat was a really exciting game which ended 2-1 in Anthony's favour..Carlos Edwards and ah cyah remember who score for d Tigers and Dia Hunte came on as a sub and scored a penalty for  Benedicts.
Post by: football king on April 06, 2005, 09:23:55 AM
sando tech arima national stadium- it was they 2nd meeting sando tech bust them up the 1st time so arima come back fighting step up they game
honestly can't remember if it was intercol or big 7 or what yr
sando tech arguably-actually the best 11 men on a school team ever
arima with scott, haynes, lee, jameson
arima jump on them early take the lead sando equalise
faustin last minute winner- overlap cut in and hit 1st post
tha 1 was the best game for me
Post by: maxg on April 06, 2005, 10:19:22 AM

MaKE national practice and nobody pass him de ball becz he is a white boy.

Magx G who is Mikey and Gregory?
And what is Mtl??

And how old was Roberts when he got dat 8?

Peace,

Sorry vb...They were all Roberts, and went to Fatima. Ah think Sean was bout 13-14...Mtl is Montreal. ah tort u was ah TO man?

Observer :  Gosh ah see that Benedicts side, and no lie, ah get real bazodee
                 Al ah coulda remember was Archie. Didn't realize twinkle-toes was in that line up too doh
Post by: Jahyouth on April 06, 2005, 10:41:14 AM
People forgetting some big players like:

Jeremy Shortt -- QRC (beat the entire CIC defense from behind the half line to score in the Intercol Semis in '91)
Kevin Leacock -- QRC (one of the best keepers in the 90s)
Arnold Dwarica -- Malick (was never a "schoolboy" footballer according to Roderick Warner.  A man amongst boys)
Shawn Garcia -- QRC (who running into him in the back dey?)
Sean Eusebe -- QRC (allyuh mighn't remember he.  Real bow legged fella with the wickedest spanner I ever see)
Marvin Raeburn -- Fatima (help bring back Fatima glory days in the early '90s)
Post by: Jahyouth on April 06, 2005, 10:43:15 AM
sando tech arima national stadium- it was they 2nd meeting sando tech bust them up the 1st time so arima come back fighting step up they game
honestly can't remember if it was intercol or big 7 or what yr
sando tech arguably-actually the best 11 men on a school team ever
arima with scott, haynes, lee, jameson
arima jump on them early take the lead sando equalise
faustin last minute winner- overlap cut in and hit 1st post
tha 1 was the best game for me

That game was in the Arima Velodrome Football King.  I was there.  If I remember correctly it played twice due to a draw in the first game.  Meh pores raise thinking bout that clash oui!!!
Post by: football king on April 06, 2005, 11:17:39 AM
yeah jahyouth that was a bad one 2 very good teams real battle
best i see in my time

Post by: football king on April 06, 2005, 11:21:37 AM
People forgetting some big players like:

Jeremy Shortt -- QRC (beat the entire CIC defense from behind the half line to score in the Intercol Semis in '91)
Kevin Leacock -- QRC (one of the best keepers in the 90s)
Arnold Dwarica -- Malick (was never a "schoolboy" footballer according to Roderick Warner.  A man amongst boys)
Shawn Garcia -- QRC (who running into him in the back dey?)
Sean Eusebe -- QRC (allyuh mighn't remember he.  Real bow legged fella with the wickedest spanner I ever see)
Marvin Raeburn -- Fatima (help bring back Fatima glory days in the early '90s)

checky and eusebe was good qrc men but i putting mark ellis before them 2
Post by: Observer on April 06, 2005, 11:35:00 AM
I see so many Intercol final I cannot say which is best. I remember Sando Tech finals 69 against I believe Belmont with Husbands and them. 2-0 Tech. Then Sando tech went on to win 69-70-71-72. In 70 & 71 over St Mary's (LookLoy, Nancoo, Leiba) and I saw the 72 Final in the Oval Sando Tech over Tranquil 2-1
Post by: palos on April 06, 2005, 11:43:53 AM
Oh gorm...dese flikkin ole men wit dey pre historic stories....LAAAARRRRDDDD!!!

19 flikkin 69???????????????

It had football in dem times????

;D ;D ;D
Post by: Observer on April 06, 2005, 11:56:02 AM
Oh gorm...dese flikkin ole men wit dey pre historic stories....LAAAARRRRDDDD!!!

19 flikkin 69???????????????

It had football in dem times????

;D ;D ;D

Like yuh forget yuh first car, second wife and Afro Sheen  ;D
Post by: vb on April 27, 2005, 07:49:08 AM
Fellas,

regariding the N. Zone Intercol Final 1979...Fatima vs. JD.

I was talking to Clive Pantin about it.

He said he is almost sure that JD's winning goal was scored in the 10 minutes of extra time in the first half.

But he said so many years have passed by he can't fully remember.
Bear in mind Clive hitting his mid 70s now :)

Could you fellas shed some light if you recollect?

Peace,
Post by: football king on April 27, 2005, 08:56:05 AM
clive P was a good man excellent principal, knew how to mix good academics and maintain high level in athletics-always looked out for the ballers
way better than stupid Mr. Moore
Post by: FF on April 27, 2005, 08:59:59 AM
clive P was a good man excellent principal, knew how to mix good academics and maintain high level in athletics-always looked out for the ballers
way better than stupid Mr. Moore

Ha ha ha ha yuh mean "Swervin Mervyn" aka "Mr Burns"

The man fall off he roof and was never de same after that... but he still used to manage to hold down a wicked left back for de old boys team
Post by: davidephraim on April 27, 2005, 09:00:28 AM
What about Mouse from Eldorado. Corneal was once quoted as saying that Mouse was the best Forward in Trini at that time. Maybe it had something to do with the fact that Mouse was in he coaching school but non the less.   

Who remember the mouse...
Post by: football king on April 27, 2005, 09:15:31 AM
yeah sorry the man fell off tha roof member the rumor the man had died bu then show up to school
man was a goat
the real biggest goat was Ms Haywood mother frog
she and moore kill fatima football all by themselves that is them 2 fools legacy
Post by: vb on April 27, 2005, 09:57:04 AM
man was a goat
the real biggest goat was Ms Haywood mother frog
she and moore kill fatima football all by themselves that is them 2 fools legacy

Mother Frog...I eh hear dat name in a real long f^%$%^% time... ;D

Me and dat bit^% had a big falling out when I was in Form V...ah give she real Thunder..ah thought she would have a heart attack.

FK and David u all see my Fatima site..

Btw could ANYBODY answer my quesiton about if the JD goal was scored in that extra 10 minutes that Pantin protested...Paols?

Post by: football king on April 27, 2005, 10:27:44 AM
yeah ah check yuh site
motherr frog-tha was a classic man she fall out wioth everybody i think her sole purpose and intention was to piss off every single student make their school life horrible and she did a good job many times
least pantin give men a chance-good principal
Post by: FF on April 27, 2005, 10:34:11 AM

Mother Frog...I eh hear dat name in a real long f^%$%^% time... ;D

Me and dat bit^% had a big falling out when I was in Form V...ah give she real Thunder..ah thought she would have a heart attack.

FK and David u all see my Fatima site..

Btw could ANYBODY answer my quesiton about if the JD goal was scored in that extra 10 minutes that Pantin protested...Paols?

What Fatima site is that??
Post by: football king on April 27, 2005, 10:34:31 AM
jerry curl mousie beleive he from tacarigua very good dribbler attacking player-speed too
and yeah corneal say that cause he was an alcons man-only men he ever big up is alcons men
Post by: vb on April 28, 2005, 04:33:43 AM

What Fatima site is that??

FF go here

http://www.fatimaboys.homestead.com/welcome.html
Post by: Saltanfresh on April 28, 2005, 12:43:22 PM
All great Intercol players without ah doubt,....tah dah
But ulyuh eh do justice to d men from dong south,...tah, dah, dah

Here are only a few south notables.(From differnt years).......

Goal Keepers:
Anthony Clarke (Pres-Sando)
Don Harry               "
Nigel Neverson (Benedicts)

Defenders:
 David Mohammed (Naparima: Cricket general aswell)
Jan Steadman (Benedicts)
Francis Bertrand (Pres-sando)
Reynold Carrington (Fzyabad)

Midfielders:
Larry Joseph (Pres-sando)
Fenton Taylor     "
Sean "LADDY" Desouza (Fyzabad)
Wayne "Brow" Dowridge  (Siparia)
Gerad Vidale (Naps)
Anthony Sherwood (Pres-sando)
Ivan Sampson (Benedicts)
David West (Pleasanville)
Dean Woodsley (Marabella snr)
Darryl Edwards (Pres-sando

Strikers:
Collin Osborne (Pres-sando)
Leonson Lewis (Naps/Sando tech)
Raul Francoise (Marabella)

ONE MORE THING TO NOTE:

THE TWO MOST SUCCESSFUL SCHOOL FOOTBALL DYNASTIES WERE IN SOUTH:

ST BENEDICTS (DOM BASIL MATHEWS YRS)

SANDO TECH (MOHAMMED ISA YRS)

Post by: football king on April 29, 2005, 08:24:46 AM
DIDN't signal hill win 3 straight under BSC- one of the few to achieve that
should be considered a dynasty also
naparima was 3 or 4 if i remember
definitelt benedicts and sando tech
Post by: ironman on April 29, 2005, 10:06:06 AM
Avery John (Pres)
Ike Jeweran P Town (Captained the 94 team that won Intercol )
Question? what school did Keyeno Thomas go to?
In 94 that P Town winning team was the most low profile winners! >:( media slight them,national youth selectors shun them,even picking the intercol all star team not one got pick or even special menton!  ??? When a POS school fart too hard is write up, big back page ???
Post by: football king on April 29, 2005, 10:21:19 AM
cause town schools rule school football hands down
Post by: Saltanfresh on April 29, 2005, 12:01:06 PM
cause town schools rule school football hands down

Ha!Ha!Ha!.....rule school football, Ha!Ha!Ha!.......really good one, you miss yuh callin,....comedy.
Post by: football king on April 29, 2005, 12:12:05 PM
north zone have more titles than any other zone bossman
now you could say a lot of the north zone players actually reside other places then yeah i will agree with that
but check the number of titles and north have the most easily
Post by: Cowen on April 29, 2005, 06:00:16 PM
Regardless .... the majority of the greatest players originated from south. North good at buying players .... to achieve their titles. All south titles came from the feet of southerners
Post by: vb on April 30, 2005, 03:08:56 AM
Cowne yuh joking...take a good look at Sando Tech...how many of their players in the 80s came from North.

And yuh talking abt. buying players??

Post by: football king on May 02, 2005, 07:04:31 AM
thanks VB was gonna say the same hardly any players in north teams that win national titles from south
bottom line north zone have the most titles period and no one can say otherwise done talk
south could probably argue in cricket and that is it