Sports => Football => Topic started by: FireBrand on January 05, 2009, 03:08:05 PM

Title: 20-man squad for warm up tour before El Savador.
Post by: FireBrand on January 05, 2009, 03:08:05 PM
20-man squad for warm up tour before El Salvador.

A 20-man Trinidad and Tobago squad has been named to travel to Argentina for a live-in training camp on January 21 as the “Soca Warriors step up their preparation for the opening match of the 2010 Final Round of World Cup qualification away to El Salvador on February 11.

The squad is inclusive of mostly home based players and will be cut following the Argentina leg of the upcoming tour. That will be closely followed by the naming of the  selected overseas-based players who will be invited to form the final 18-man squad to face El Salvador.

Head Coach Francisco Maturana has kept faith with at least ten players who have been part of the team’s 2010 World Cup campaign thus far. But there are some new faces with Clico San Juan Jabloteh midfielder Trent Noel being recalled and there are also first time call ups for Jabloteh defender Robert Primus and W Connection’s Andrei Pacheco. Noel had one appearance in a 2-2 draw with Puerto Rico in January since Maturana’s appointment while Pacheco was part of the 2007 Gold Cup squad.

Puerto Rico Islanders forward Kendall Jagdeosingh has also been invited while there are recalls for 2006 World Cup team midfielder Densill Theobald and French-based winger Kevaughn Connell who is currently unattached but has been in training with French Third Division team Cassis Carnoux.

W Connection goalkeeper Marvin Phillip who suffered a stab wound before the Christmas holidays, is also included and is expected to recover sufficiently to take up training on the upcoming tour.

Newly appointed Assistant Coach Russell Latapy arrives back in Trinidad on the weekend and will accompany the team in a player/coach capacity. Latapy shared his views on the build up to the El Salvador encounter.

“I think it’s an excellent opportunity for the players to come together to prepare for the match against El Salvador. I know it’s a training tour but I would not want any of the players selected to think of it as just a training team or a training trip. They must all go into it with the feeling that it’s a great opportunity for them to fight and earn that place in the final World Cup team,” Latapy told TTFF Media on Monday.

“Personally I’m looking forward to the trip because it’s my first one in this capacity and it’s the first time in quite a while that I will get that opportunity to work and prepare with a National Team since I’ve began playing professionally abroad so from that side of it I’m really excited.

“But at the same time I think it’s important that I sit down with the Head Coach and we can be able to share our views with regards to the preparation of the team. I’m really looking forward to working with him and the rest of the staff and the boys as well. I think if we can both share our views then it allows me to have his respect and he will have mine as well which I think will be excellent for the team and the football in Trinidad and Tobago in general,” Latapy added.

Latapy also shared his thoughts on the amount at stake for players vying for selection on a World Cup team.
“I’ve seen a lot of potential in the boys around now and it’s just a matter of us on the staff now being able to get the team to play the right way to get the right results. I think if we can prepare well and get everyone to understand their respective roles and work in proper execution then we will be in fine shape.

“Back in my day as a younger player now coming into the national set up there wasn’t much opportunities for players to get professional contracts abroad but that’s not the case now and I think there is a lot more at stake for upcoming players now. And you’ve got to enjoy what you are doing. Players can’t always work hard if there’s no time to enjoy it too. There has to be a time to sacrifice and work hard and a time to play and enjoy a bit of it,” Latapy added.

Team for Argentina tour

Goalkeepers

1. Marvin Phillip-W Connection
2. Jan-Michael Williams-Ferencvárosi TC ( Hungary )

Defenders

3. Seon Power-Joe Public
4. Keyeno Thomas-Joe Public
5. Makan Hislop-United Petrotrin
6. Robert Primus-Clico San Juan Jabloteh
7. Andrei Pacheco-W Connection
8. Aklie Edwards-Defence Force

Midfielders

9. Clyde Leon-W Connection
10. Khaleem Hyland-Unattached
11. Osei Telesford-Puerto Rico Islanders
12. Anthony Wolfe-North East Stars
13. Keon Daniel-Unattached
14. Kevaughn Connell-Unattached
15. Densill Theobald-Caledonia AIA
16. Russell Latapy-Player/Coach
17. Trent Noel–Clico San Juan Jabloteh

Forwards

18. Errol McFarlane-Superstar Rangers
19. Kendall Jagdeosingh-Puerto Rico Islanders
20. Cornell Glen–Clico San Juan Jabloteh
Title: Re: 20-man squad for warm up tour before El Savador
Post by: weary1969 on January 05, 2009, 03:17:15 PM
GR8 thanks Fire
Post by: KND2 on January 05, 2009, 03:22:40 PM
great opportunity for these men to play in Argentina, That does not happen every day.
hopefully some skills will rub off on them while they day.

maybe a man could get a contract or something out of it.

It is good exposure.
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 05, 2009, 03:22:59 PM
So hyland eh in belgium  yet ... ? Connell hyland and  daniel better find a club soon ...
Post by: NUFF on January 05, 2009, 03:25:20 PM
Andre Toussaint get de axe.
Post by: g on January 05, 2009, 03:29:42 PM
No Whitley....

I don't think Hyland ever played for the Belgian club. Now he is unattached again.
Post by: weary1969 on January 05, 2009, 03:38:05 PM
No Whitley....

I don't think Hyland ever played for the Belgian club. Now he is unattached again.

I wonder how much he weighin now after all d black cake and sorrel he must have consume 4 d Xmas. D double standard once upon a time u couldn't make d side once yuh club eh pick yuh. Now u makin d side witout a club.
Post by: andre samuel on January 05, 2009, 03:39:21 PM
From being the captain of the digicel squad to not even making de team? interesting!!

Glad to see Trent Noel being called up.

Also nice to see Theobald back in the fray, since he finished the proleague season playing very well!

Why is Hyland still here?
Post by: weary1969 on January 05, 2009, 03:41:19 PM
From being the captain of the digicel squad to not even making de team? interesting!!

Glad to see Trent Noel being called up.

Also nice to see Theobald back in the fray, since he finished the proleague season playing very well!

Why is Hyland still here?

Did u not c d spanner Gerald get. D rate he goin dat go b on he tombstone.
Post by: elan on January 05, 2009, 04:06:26 PM
Right back, left back, pressah. Who running the mid, Latapy Theobald and Hyland? May be Daniel will get a chance to come inside.

Player/Coach  :-\
Post by: just cool on January 05, 2009, 04:50:29 PM
No whitley , no cyd, no avery,no james. WTF! Lattas??
Post by: palos on January 05, 2009, 04:51:51 PM
No Whitley....

I wonder how much he weighin now after all d black cake and sorrel he must have consume 4 d Xmas. D double standard once upon a time u couldn't make d side once yuh club eh pick yuh. Now u makin d side witout a club.

Ah gettin de feelin dat NUTTING ANYBODY do will make u happy.  Latas on de team as player coach, changes make to de side, Noel gettin a bligh, u STILL vex.  ;D

Waz dah one?
Post by: just cool on January 05, 2009, 04:56:09 PM
This maturana fellas head real forkin hard yes, the man still gone back with power and edwards like he eh learn his lesson from the degicel cup and the USA game in chigago.
Post by: palos on January 05, 2009, 04:57:37 PM
This maturana fellas head real forkin hard yes, the man still gone back with power and edwards like he eh learn his lesson from the degicel cup and the USA game in chigago.

Who responsible fuh pickin Noel, Primus, Pacheco, and Jagdeosingh?
Post by: heete on January 05, 2009, 05:22:32 PM
wow this squad is surprising!!! makes no sense
Post by: weary1969 on January 05, 2009, 05:43:40 PM
No Whitley....

Ah gettin de feelin dat NUTTING ANYBODY do will make u happy.  Latas on de team as player coach, changes make to de side, Noel gettin a bligh, u STILL vex.  ;D

Waz dah one?

I just wonderin bout d fat man dat is all.
Post by: 1-868 on January 05, 2009, 05:44:33 PM
As long as de dentist dey, nothing would surprise me.....
Post by: maxg on January 05, 2009, 05:51:22 PM
wow this squad is surprising!!! makes no sense

lehwe hear ppl squad nah ? everybody pick 20..all local b(u)y local.. ;)..then below put in yuh foreign, and see which one ah yuh locals yuh training for ah possible posiion..
so hear, yuh get to pick ah all local for training, and then ah finalized full team for competition...Ready go!
Post by: Big Magician on January 05, 2009, 05:55:02 PM
Maturana on de side ??
Post by: Big Magician on January 05, 2009, 05:59:33 PM
Fuentes said on TV today that the camp is mostly a "fitness" camp...with "hopefully" 2 matches...
he said he "believes" its the Boca set up...like the boca training facility
Post by: weary1969 on January 05, 2009, 06:01:56 PM
Maturana on de side ??

Of course Fuentes say dat dey eh go Colombia because Mats go b distracted. He say Colombia want him back.
So d song is when Mats was in Trini land I say let my people go. Set dat sucker loose.
Post by: palos on January 05, 2009, 06:07:17 PM
Fuentes said on TV today that the camp is mostly a "fitness" camp...with "hopefully" 2 matches...
he said he "believes" its the Boca set up...like the boca training facility

So leggo de name a de coach yuh hear comin to tek ova nah... 8)
Post by: Big Magician on January 05, 2009, 06:12:15 PM
well Palos...lol... ah waiting to see wha going on still.... but ah bet 99% of us dont recognize he name...
by the way Palos...i surprised you eh get that "birdie" also
Post by: Quags on January 05, 2009, 06:19:57 PM
well Palos...lol... ah waiting to see wha going on still.... but ah bet 99% of us dont recognize he name...
I doh undersand why u cyah say if is a ok selection self ? In your opinion atleast daiz harmless enough eh.
Post by: weary1969 on January 05, 2009, 06:23:06 PM

U meah we eh go recognise d new and improve BSC?
Title: Re: 20-man squad for warm up tour before El Savador.
Post by: Sam on January 05, 2009, 06:35:29 PM
Glad to see Roberts Primus, Pacheco and Trent Noel call up.

Still would have liked to see Julius James, Chris Birchall and Noel Williams on the team at the expence of Latapy and Power.

Hope they put Osei Telesford in right back and nothing more.

But say what, nice team.. !!!!
Post by: pardners on January 05, 2009, 06:42:37 PM
So yuh mean we doh have a next goal keeper in the country to 'blood' boy ?

Phillip now come off some major trauma (unless the news was exaggerated) and still recovering and they sending him on a tour in South America ?
He coulda stay here..."under the watchful eyes" of somebody while he try to regain his fitness.
If Williams get injured in a game or training, wha they go do...send Phillips in the goal ?

Post by: elan on January 05, 2009, 07:02:43 PM
Could this squad as it stand qualify for the Gold Cup?
Post by: weary1969 on January 05, 2009, 07:05:34 PM

Would it b sadddddddddd if they could then d ? would b y did not journey 2 JA?
Post by: palos on January 05, 2009, 07:10:38 PM

How would u ever know?
Post by: Big Magician on January 05, 2009, 07:13:08 PM
yuh know Fuentes say that the team was not focused on Grenada and Bdos...is only jamaica they wanted to play...so who fackin wuk it is to get them focused???

we is ah set ah cacahole
Post by: weary1969 on January 05, 2009, 07:27:54 PM
yuh know Fuentes say that the team was not focused on Grenada and Bdos...is only jamaica they wanted to play...so who fackin wuk it is to get them focused???

we is ah set ah cacahole

Yeah d blievewhat JW say dey coulda beat Grenada wit 6/8 whatever number he did say. So even after d defeat 2 Grenada they still did not take Bim seriously?
Post by: College on January 05, 2009, 08:56:44 PM
Nice squad, some players with good skills who could express themselves .... maybe this is the Latapy effect? ah sign a things to come??? ah waiting
Post by: just cool on January 05, 2009, 09:38:51 PM
Nice squad, some players with good skills who could express themselves .... maybe this is the Latapy effect? ah sign a things to come??? ah waiting
Good squad without men with WC experience?? fellas who's been in the trenches and could perform under pressure yuh leaving out for rookies. stuueeepppsss,

i can't stand this bullsh!t no more dread, i suprise they didn't kill pancho along with escobar back in 1990, BC he's ah pure mad kakahole.

like ah said before no cyd, no avery , no james , no whitley  equals no win agianst el salvador or anyone else for that matter!!!

now the batty hole gone and bring in 4 more new faces , when will this experimentation phase end for crying out LOUD !!!!!!!
Post by: Dinner Mints on January 05, 2009, 09:58:41 PM
Good squad without men with WC experience?? fellas who's been in the trenches and could perform under pressure yuh leaving out for rookies. stuueeepppsss,

i can't stand this bullsh!t no more nah dread, i suprise they didn't kill pancho along with escobar back in 1990, BC he's ah pure mad kakahole.

like ah said before no cyd, no avery , no james , no whitley  equals no win agianst el salvador or anyone else for that matter!!!

now the batty hole gone and bring in 4 more new faces , when will this experimentation phase end for crying out LOUD !!!!!!!
Daiz not de team playing El Salvador, chief. Dey go be training and maybe playing some small team in Argentina. Dis is actually de perfect time for some experimentation. Plus 3 of those 4 new faces, people have been clamoring for to be on the team for a long time. Especially Noel and Pacheco.
Post by: Sam on January 06, 2009, 04:54:19 AM
Cyd Gray, Karlon Murray, Julius James, Avery John (defenders), captain Aurtis Whitley, Arnold Dwarika and Andre Toussaint have all made way for Noel, Primus, Latapy, Andrei Pacheco, Kevaughn Connell, Densill Theobald and Kendall Jagdeosingh.
Post by: Controversial on January 06, 2009, 01:31:55 PM
big mag ah still waiting for this mystery coach that is taking over sah
Post by: Babalawo on January 06, 2009, 03:21:02 PM
Andre Toussaint get de axe.
im suprise also. maybe he's one of them who was fighting in jamaica
Post by: just cool on January 06, 2009, 04:59:49 PM

i can't stand this bullsh!t no more nah dread, i suprise they didn't kill pancho along with escobar back in 1990, BC he's ah pure mad kakahole.

Daiz not de team playing El Salvador, chief. Dey go be training and maybe playing some small team in Argentina. Dis is actually de perfect time for some experimentation. Plus 3 of those 4 new faces, people have been clamoring for to be on the team for a long time. Especially Noel and Pacheco.
Where you get that from?? breds read the article carefully, after they leave argentina is off to el salvador. these are the locals who will prep along with the foreign based for the feb 11th game in el salvador.
Post by: Quags on January 06, 2009, 05:29:36 PM
So what u saying AKILE starting for we the hex ,and Cyd and Avery  out ! 
Post by: Big Magician on January 06, 2009, 05:43:12 PM
i waiting too TI
Post by: Dinner Mints on January 06, 2009, 06:28:16 PM
Or Pacheco.

I more concerned about the right back position. To me, we more in a mess on dat side.
Post by: weary1969 on January 06, 2009, 06:31:44 PM

Is d Pope catholic?
Post by: Dinner Mints on January 06, 2009, 07:00:00 PM
Still, though...  Avery is foreign-based. So yuh never know.
Post by: weary1969 on January 06, 2009, 07:09:06 PM
Still, though...  Avery is foreign-based. So yuh never know.

Foreign base where? He livin foreign?
Post by: Quags on January 06, 2009, 07:19:00 PM
Good point .So to julius ,wonder how they pick Kendall ,any way does playing for the Islanders make u better than the top scorers from the Pro league ,not saying Kendall eint ,just asking .
What type of form was he in ,this season for the Islanders ,how many goals.
Post by: College on January 06, 2009, 07:38:50 PM

like ah said before no cyd, no avery , no james , no whitley  equals no win agianst el salvador or anyone else for that matter!!!now the batty hole gone and bring in 4 more new faces , when will this experimentation phase end for crying out LOUD !!!!!!!
Daiz not de team playing El Salvador, chief. Dey go be training and maybe playing some small team in Argentina. Dis is actually de perfect time for some experimentation. Plus 3 of those 4 new faces, people have been clamoring for o be on the team for a long time. Especially Noel and Pacheco.
Where you get that from?? breds read the article carefully, after they leave argentina is off to el salvador. these are the locals who will prep along with the foreign based for the feb 11th game in el salvador.

This is your opinion .. I think its a nice lil squad. I wouldnt want to be in the trenches with Cyd and Avery,especially on the road with the chance of playing with a man down because of a stupid red card, and or a dotish penalty. I'm Whitley's biggest fan but he is not even close to being fit based on recent outings. James is a very good player but what trench he was in ???? The men who see real trench overseas.... everybody know dat...
Post by: elan on January 06, 2009, 08:36:42 PM
So it better for we defenders to get run pass like a practice cone than they get blade. Wingers and forwards know these options (those listed so far) we coming with soft so they can gto at them. With Cyd and Avery they may think twice before running at them cause they know might be blade.

We will always struggle cause what things like this confirms is THERE IS NO PLAN.  We like headless chicken, no direction and eventually we will end up dead after all the beating up.
Post by: just cool on January 06, 2009, 08:44:42 PM

like ah said before no cyd, no avery , no james , no whitley  equals no win agianst el salvador or anyone else for that matter!!!now the batty hole gone and bring in 4 more new faces , when will this experimentation phase end for crying out LOUD !!!!!!!
Daiz not de team playing El Salvador, chief. Dey go be training and maybe playing some small team in Argentina. Dis is actually de perfect time for some experimentation. Plus 3 of those 4 new faces, people have been clamoring for o be on the team for a long time. Especially Noel and Pacheco.

This is your opinion .. I think its a nice lil squad. I wouldnt want to be in the trenches with Cyd and Avery,especially on the road with the chance of playing with a man down because of a stupid red card, and or a dotish penalty. I'm Whitley's biggest fan but he is not even close to being fit based on recent outings. James is a very good player but what trench he was in ???? The men who see real trench overseas.... everybody know dat...

Boss i does respect every man's opinion on this board , after all most of us are just speculating and giving their take. i on the other hand respectfully disagree with what you call ah good squad.

the team is ah sh!t team without the foreign based, that's why grenada buss we arse, BC the locals soft as pap, and another thing , the football will not grow under maturana BC the man is ah mad bull and don't know what de fack he doing!!!

if we finish 5th in the hex i'll be quite suprised that we did that well. if mad bull still running the show we finishing ded last!!!! mark my words!

he picking pure losers and wet behind the ears rookies, @ least wim didn't have no choice , but this battyhole have over 16 black list players to chose from and he only playing ah set ah lame duck unfit locals instead.

boss i hate sean power with ah passion , and it was justified,his performance was abbysmal in the GC in 07, pacheco is another green mango, edwards sucks all round , he's slow, awful going forward and green as canal moss.

give me avery and cyd any day even though i doh rate them that much, but i rather be in the trenches with them than anyone else.

you and ah whole bunch of trini's fail to realise one thing , the standard of football in T&T real real poor, and even though we have ah diamond mine, they still need ah refinery, and dat is what we don't have.

our standard like i said is piss poor and it shows, in order for these locals to be competative we either have to raise the bar and real quick,that or send them to ah refinery. we don't have time to train new soldiers , as you could see the hex is opon us.
Post by: elan on January 06, 2009, 08:54:07 PM

Boss i does respect every man's opinion on this board , after all most of us are just speculating and giving their take. i on the other hand respectfully disagree with what you call ah good squad.

the team is ah sh!t team without the foreign based, that's why grenada buss we arse, BC the locals soft as pap, and another thing , the football will not grow under maturana BC the man is ah mad bull and don't know what de fack he doing!!!

if we finish 5th in the hex i'll be quite suprised that we did that well. if mad bull still running the show we finishing ded last!!!! mark my words!

he picking pure losers and wet behind the ears rookies, @ least wim didn't have no choice , but this battyhole have over 16 black list players to chose from and he only playing ah set ah lame duck unfit locals instead.

boss i hate sean power with ah passion , and it was justified,his performance was abbysmal in the GC in 07, pacheco is another green mango, edwards sucks all round , he's slow, awful going forward and green as canal moss.

give me avery and cyd any day even though i doh rate them that much, but i rather be in the trenches with them than anyone else.

you and ah whole bunch of trini's fail to realise one thing , the standard of football in T&T real real poor, and even though we have ah diamond mine, they still need ah refinery, and dat is what we don't have.

our standard like i said is piss poor and it shows, in order for these locals to be competative we either have to raise the bar and real quick,that or send them to ah refinery. we don't have time to train new soldier , as you could see the hex is opon us.

But JC you forget that Latapy here now? Is real football we going and play and stars going and get pick.
Post by: just cool on January 06, 2009, 09:09:30 PM
Am i the only member who this crazy Colombian does make feel to pull out their f#@kin hair!!!!! :frustrated: here nah man this fella don't have ah clue.

the man picking ah different team every outing, he pick stern for the bermuda games then he drop him for cuba even though the man score twice.

he then went with glen and roberts for cuba, then he drop roberts for USA and gueatemala. he then brings back stern and roberts for guatemala and USA in the return matches even though stern was injured.

he then drops bleeder for almost the whole yr, and brings him back for USA in chicago, he then drops him for the rest of the campaign, went to the digicel without him and then all of ah sudden he's back on the team???  ???

he picks dwarika for the digicel and played him once , he then said it was the best local team, but now he seemed to change his tune, now he bring back connell for about the 4th time, now he experimenting with noel and Pacheco again, plus this primus guy getting ah look @!!

my question is , when will this mad kakahole settle on ah core of worthy players to rep we in the hex, the man is out for lunch and dinner dread!!!! like jack warner can't see this man will cost us ah trip to SA or what! why is he still here, fire him already JACK!!!!
Post by: Quags on January 06, 2009, 09:12:53 PM
Well unless Palos was lying ,a new coach being announced tomorrow .But with the tone it sound like Mats pick the team ,and is large and still in charge .
Post by: just cool on January 06, 2009, 09:17:38 PM
Well unless Palos was lying ,a new coach being announced tomorrow  .But with the tone it sound like Mats pick the team ,and is large and still in charge .
If that happens , i have ah ole shoe on meh shoe rack i will personally cook and eat and will also post it on youtube for the world to see.
Post by: weary1969 on January 06, 2009, 10:35:31 PM
Why u worry JC we in d hex all is well.
Post by: berris on January 06, 2009, 11:00:16 PM

JC yuh getting all worked up for nuttin dread..

The squad is inclusive of mostly home based players and will be cut following the Argentina leg of the upcoming tour. That will be closely followed by the naming of the  selected overseas-based players who will be invited to form the final 18-man squad to face El Salvador.

The foreign based players is we back bone to SA2010 and even dat jackass Maturana know dat . No need for de foreign based to go to Argentina,dem fellas fit and playing nuff ball with their clubs over the last few days .

p.s hear nah if dey name ah new coach in de morning ..before yuh go on you tube and eat de cook shoe ,leh meh sign up as  yuh manager nah ..David Letterman n dem wud pay big  money tuh air dat. ;D :beermug:   
Post by: just cool on January 07, 2009, 01:43:01 AM

JC yuh getting all worked up for nuttin dread..

The squad is inclusive of mostly home based players  and will be cut following the Argentina leg of the upcoming tour. That will be closely followed by the naming of the  selected overseas-based players who will be invited to form the final 18-man squad to face El Salvador.

The foreign based players is we back bone to SA2010 and even dat jackass Maturana know dat . No need for de foreign based to go to Argentina,dem fellas fit and playing nuff ball with their clubs over the last few days .

p.s hear nah if dey name ah new coach in de morning ..before yuh go on you tube and eat de cook shoe ,leh meh sign up as  yuh manager nah ..David Letterman n dem wud pay big  money tuh air dat. ;D :beermug:   
Yeh i know that, but cyd , avery , james and whitley is locals, BC it have ah few US based fellas in the 20 man squad,telesford and jagdoesing playing for PR islanders.

breds it eh have no cyd and avery in the team period and that bothers me, to see power, A edwards and pacheco @ the heart of our defence is ah frightening thing, not even atiba charles getting ah lil bligh, but these jokers on the squad.       
          ah hate it.
Post by: Controversial on January 07, 2009, 08:44:16 AM
latapy help pick the team now that corneal is out of the picture, why allyuh think noel and theobald get a recall, and big mag its controversial and im still waiting for your answer and it better not be fenwick
Post by: Storeboy on January 07, 2009, 08:52:32 AM
My concern is not with the team itself, but with the inconsistency of the selection over the last year.  When will we settle with a core group and give them an opportunity to work together?  This is a team game not a game of individual artists.  We can have the best players in the world, but if they don't play together we will consistently lose to US, Mexico and CR.
Post by: College on January 07, 2009, 07:09:11 PM

our standard like i said is piss poor and it shows, in order for these locals to be competative we either have to raise the bar and real quick,that or send them to ah refinery. we don't have time to train new soldiers , as you could see the hex is opon us.

Please realise that this  'nice lil squad squad' as I put it, is not the mainstay of the squad that will play in the Hex.. I was just  pleased to see the type of players that were called up. As for Avery and Cyd ... yuh talking bout blade???, good defenders rarely have to pelt blade, often times that means that yuh not reading the game or your positional play inadequate or it could also mean that yuh not getting proper support  from yuh midfield etc etc etc. whatever...

James is a very good player, why he wasnt selected, we dont know and as yuh quite rightly suggested , any attempt to explain same will be pure speculation. Whitley not fit, this camp is to pick a squad who will be ready to play the first game in the Hex. Will Cyd, Avery, James and Whitley partake in the campaign??? Its a good chance that they probably will but for now I will be nice to get some younger players involved...they may have a part to play later in the Hex and of course, coaches like to have options. Look at the USA squad for their warm ups and see how much 'regulars' or 'trench men' in the squad...

And yes, I too respect everybody lil imput and I also find that Power have too many bad habits....but overall, ah like the squad