May 02, 2024, 11:05:59 PM

Author Topic: Soca Warriors and steelpan take the Tokyo Stage.  (Read 1623 times)

Soca Warriors and steelpan take the Tokyo Stage.
« on: August 08, 2006, 07:55:03 PM »
T&T meets Japan in first ever outing.
By: Shaun Fuentes.

National Team head coach Wim Rijsbergen has predicted today’s (Wednesday) encounter between the “Soca Warriors” and Japan to be an open one as both nations show off several new faces in the Kirin Challenge Cup 2006 fixture before some 55,000 fans at the Tokyo National Stadium in from 7:20 pm (6:20 am T&T Time).
Skipper Cyd Gray and his men will be taking the pitch in front of what is expected to be a partisan crowd dominated by the home fans as they get a chance to see new coach Ivica Osim take charge for the first time. But the “Soca Warriors” will not be made to feel like total strangers as a contingent of at least 100 fans dressed in T&T colours will be in the stands. The sounds of this country will also be heard as a Japan-based 30-member steelband will be in the stands through the efforts of Yoichi Watanabe, a broadcast engineer who is a regular at Trinidad Carnival. The band features several  pannists who have visited T&T to play in local bands at Panorama. The voice of local songstress Sharlene Boodram will also be in the air as she is carded to sing the national anthem before kick off.
FIFA Vice President Jack Warner is also a special guest of the Japan FA whose president Saburo Kawabuchi expressed high interest in seeing T&T play in his country.
“With the fierce rivalry in the global football scene steadily redefining the power map for the world’s most popular sport, the Japan squad has much to gain from the opportunity to play Trinidad and Tobago, a rising star in the CONCACAF,” said Kawabuchi.
And Warner echoed similar sentiments adding: “The game is significant in many ways as it marks the first meeting between the two countries at this level and with two new coaches looking to groom their teams for South African 2010. When the opportunity was presented for this match, we had to take it because now the world is aware of what T&T can offer and we will show them that it’s no joke what happened in Germany. I don’t expect it will be easy for our boys because for some of them it’s a new stage but we have shown our capabilities and this is another chance to demonstrate our ability and get things rolling for life after Germany.”
With Rijsbergen seeming anxious to see what some of his new picks will deliver, experienced duo Avery John and Evans Wise, both members of the 2006 World Cup team, are a bit cautious but has no qualms over facing the 2002 World Cup hosts in their backyard. Some of the new faces lining up alongside him include left sided midfielder Andre Pacheco of W Connection, nippy middle man Stephan David of Caledonia AIA and teammate Kendall Jagdeosingh while Ian Gray, Trent Noel, goalie Marvin Phillip and Clyde Leon are relative newcomers to the senior team.
“We have looked alright in the short time. Some of the players are young and experience but they have the talent. In some more time, we will get things on a better note. We are looking good for the future because the ones I have seen on this trip look like they can handle it,” Wise told TTFF Media after the final training session at the training pitch of the Saitama World Cup Stadium on Tuesday morning.
Still based in Germany with Waldhof Mannheim, Wise expects that the players of the 2006 World Cup outfit will be able to lead the rest by example. And pertaining to Wednesday’s game, he was referring to none other than Anthony Wolfe, Atiba Charles, John and Gray.
“I hope that some of the stuff that we brought to the team over the last couple days is quickly absorbed by the younger ones. I think they will be confident now knowing they are representing a World Cup team,” Wise added.
John meantime, hasn’t played for New England Revolution in their past couple outings but he is still confident of putting on a good show. The question lies as to how good T&T can stand up to the quick running Japanese who will be with four of their World Cup players.
“It’s difficult to say because I haven’t played with a lot of them here and we haven’t had much time together. But this is where it starts and what a big game to do it. I think this is what we need to do in sense of mixing the team and for the experienced ones to help them in terms of what is needed at this level The game itself will be hard and mentally we need to be strong and we need to keep ourselves in the game. The talent has never been a downfall for us and games like this will only help to nurture it,” John stated.
Gray meantime told the Japanese media: “We have a young team but we will give them a run for their money” and certainly Rijsbergen will be hoping he and his fellow warriors can walk the talk on Japanese soil.
It appears as though W Connection’s Jan Michael Williams will start in goal with the likes of Kerry Baptiste, Clyde Leon, Anthony Wolfe, Gary Glasgow, Charles, John, Gray, Noel, David and Wise could be the starters for T&T.
« Last Edit: August 08, 2006, 08:13:15 PM by Flex »

Re: Soca Warriors and steelpan take the Tokyo Stage.
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2006, 11:06:38 PM »
i guess pacheco and jagdeo comin off de bench, we will see some fire from dem of course, ah think jagdeo should have started doh bc of his work ethic and pace