May 09, 2024, 09:42:11 PM

Author Topic: Chris Birchall  (Read 19976 times)

Offline Phil_BBC

• BBC Stoke
Chris Birchall
« on: November 07, 2005, 07:34:46 AM »
Hi everyone,

My name's Phil, and I work for the BBC in England. We're following Chris Birchall and his attempt to get to the World Cup. If any of you have any interesting stories or news about Chris we'd love to hear about it, and put it up on the message boards on our website at http://www.bbc.co.uk/stoke.

I'm really interested in Trinidad after covering the story, so best of luck against Bahrain and I really hope you make it to the Finals

Phil.
Port Vale Reporter
BBC Radio Stoke

Re: Chris Birchall
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2005, 08:02:26 AM »
welcome and thanks phill....im sure you will get some usefull stuff here....

« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2005, 08:24:16 AM »
Chris Birchall or "me mum" as he is affectionately called is one of our key players for T&T's World Cup campaign and it is a blessing to have him with us. He is a dynamic player who embodies the "warrior spirit" by adding a formidable presence to our midfield. His dedication and commitment to our team is unquestionable, highlighted especially during our time of need earlier in our campaign, where many foreign born "trinis" were called and no one but Chris answered. The man is simply outstanding! :applause:

Fire Brand
« Last Edit: November 07, 2005, 08:25:54 AM by Fire Brand »

« Reply #3 on: November 07, 2005, 08:35:04 AM »
Well said Firebrand.

He hustles in the midfield and he helps us regain possesion when we lose the ball.  He puts pressure on the opponent's midfield and denies them time to pass and keep possession. He has this uncanny knack for 25 yard shots dipping under the cross bar or into the V. Has nice neat along-the-ground passes and keeps things simple. Most of all a great spirit and an innocence about him. He is truly thriled to be a part of it.  Good guy

« Reply #4 on: November 07, 2005, 10:50:26 AM »
Welcome Phil, thanks for the love. Just stay posted to this site, there's lots of useful info and stats on all the players including "Me Mum"(Chris). We love his game, he's a real work horse in the middle.

VIBES IT UP!!!

« Reply #5 on: November 07, 2005, 10:56:14 AM »
Hi everyone,

My name's Phil, and I work for the BBC in England. We're following Chris Birchall and his attempt to get to the World Cup. If any of you have any interesting stories or news about Chris we'd love to hear about it, and put it up on the message boards on our website at http://www.bbc.co.uk/stoke.

I'm really interested in Trinidad after covering the story, so best of luck against Bahrain and I really hope you make it to the Finals

Phil.
Welcome welcome Phil we are gathering a fan base never seen before and we invite you to spread the word. I want to let you in to an expession you will be hearing often,
"TRINI TO DE BONE!''

« Reply #6 on: November 07, 2005, 11:01:16 AM »
Oh in case you were wondering how Chris "Me mum" Birchall got that nickname, here is the story:

Birchall was being interviewed by a local reporter who asked him a question about how he came to play for Trinidad.  He answered, "Well, me mum was born in Trinidad..."

That language may be commonplace in England, but it was downright hilarious to the Trinidadian public.  So, the name soon stuck.  

And "me mum" is now one of the most liked players on the team.

Thanks for the support!

« Reply #7 on: November 07, 2005, 11:02:23 AM »
phil ..socawarriors.net did an interview with him a copule months ago...maybe you might want to take a read..Tallman can u make it accessible?

« Reply #8 on: November 07, 2005, 11:05:58 AM »

« Reply #9 on: November 07, 2005, 11:09:08 AM »
not that one.  it doesn't even mention the Soca Warriors there

« Reply #10 on: November 07, 2005, 11:12:06 AM »
Oh in case you were wondering how Chris "Me mum" Birchall got that nickname, here is the story:

Birchall was being interviewed by a local reporter who asked him a question about how he came to play for Trinidad.  He answered, "Well, me mum was born in Trinidad..."

That language may be commonplace in England, but it was downright hilarious to the Trinidadian public.  So, the name soon stuck.  

Thanks for the support!

yes and no...thats his nickname because that was his spoken-reason the first few times he was asked about being trini. all you hear from him is 'me mum'.

« Reply #11 on: November 07, 2005, 11:18:13 AM »

Thanks for the support!

thats not quite the story jahyouth, his name came about when 'Tallest' (denis lawrence), upon mike berry's request, approached birchall after a Wrexham vs Port Vale game in England.  'Tallest' walked up to him and asked himm if he had any Trini roots, and birchall said, "yeah, me mum"

« Reply #12 on: November 07, 2005, 11:21:05 AM »
Storytime...after the Mexico game, whole team inna Zen (a night club down here). I see '"me mum'' lean up on the bar and the boys let a local put down a wicked wine on him...he try his best eh, but u know how it is, the white boy can't handle all that waist . But at least he getting a taste of the culture..

« Reply #13 on: November 07, 2005, 11:23:26 AM »
andre got it right thats what he told me in the stadium for the north east game

ha and all know about the nickname :beermug:

« Reply #14 on: November 07, 2005, 11:34:04 AM »

Thanks for the support!

thats not quite the story jahyouth, his name came about when 'Tallest' (denis lawrence), upon mike berry's request, approached birchall after a Wrexham vs Port Vale game in England.  'Tallest' walked up to him and asked himm if he had any Trini roots, and birchall said, "yeah, me mum"

true, but it was also reinforced by the fact that he mentioned me mum every other time he gave an interview during the first month or so

« Reply #15 on: November 07, 2005, 11:36:37 AM »
What endears Chris to all and Sundry is i) His willingness to be incorporated in the culture, rather than I am English and by extension superior.
2) Jumpimg right into the mix, brave lad if you ask me. White boy at that.
3) I hear that he can take heckle.
4) He gives his all- 100% commitment- Priceless

« Reply #16 on: November 07, 2005, 11:38:29 AM »

true, but it was also reinforced by the fact that he mentioned me mum every other time he gave an interview during the first month or so

true dat supporter, true dat!!

Offline StoreBayLimer

« Reply #17 on: November 07, 2005, 10:22:22 PM »

Chris ``soca-valiant'' Birchall is an excellent addition to the team. Impressive work rate, and a  gps-guided-projectile  kick  that we all believe will rock the stadium during an important match.  His first international goal is here

http://www.ecaribbeansports.com/Highlights_TnTvsHonduras.html

Offline Rotato Poti

• VIBES IT UP!!!
    • ACB reloaded
« Reply #18 on: November 07, 2005, 10:28:32 PM »

Chris ``soca-valiant'' Birchall is an excellent addition to the team. Impressive work rate, and a  gps-guided-projectile  kick  that we all believe will rock the stadium during an important match.  His first international goal is here

http://www.ecaribbeansports.com/Highlights_TnTvsHonduras.html

That is what yuh call a BULLET IN THE SPLAU!!

Goal of the Year in the Western Hemisphere.

« Reply #19 on: November 07, 2005, 11:56:55 PM »
StoreBay that was a nice bullet but you see this one from Avery?
« Last Edit: November 08, 2005, 06:25:43 AM by Tallman »

« Reply #20 on: November 08, 2005, 11:08:45 AM »
avery had too much room in dat one man rippin....thaz like a goal when yuh training b4 a match.  Birchall one was reminiscent of the kerry jamerson pair.

Offline Redbelt

• SHIFT_Redline
    • PiracyUnlimited.com, Anime & Manga
« Reply #21 on: November 08, 2005, 11:27:26 AM »
so best of luck against Bahrain and I really hope you make it to the Finals

Phil.
Hey BBC guy!
Your supposed to be unbiased!!
 :P

« Reply #22 on: November 08, 2005, 11:33:05 AM »

Phil.
Hey BBC guy!

Do you think Al Jazeera is unbaised? ;D

Offline Redbelt

• SHIFT_Redline
« Reply #23 on: November 08, 2005, 11:44:52 AM »

Phil.
Hey BBC guy!

Aljazeera is biased to us of course, because its an Arabic channle, thats why.

But Channles like BBC & CNN are INTERNATIONAL
meaning they should report, analyze, but not take sides.
Makes sense?

« Reply #24 on: November 08, 2005, 12:07:37 PM »

Phil.
Hey BBC guy!

Aljazeera is biased to us of course, because its an Arabic channle, thats why.

But Channles like BBC & CNN are INTERNATIONAL
meaning they should report, analyze, but not take sides.
Makes sense?

But Al Jazeera is also international, it just also happens to be Arabic. Besides I don't think Peter was being personally biased but merely drawing conclusions based on historical facts.
Salam

« Reply #25 on: November 08, 2005, 12:08:28 PM »
I mean Phil  ;D

« Reply #26 on: November 08, 2005, 01:09:23 PM »

Phil.
Hey BBC guy!

Dat is alright....we would not tell anybody ;D

Offline Redbelt

• SHIFT_Redline
« Reply #27 on: November 08, 2005, 03:17:02 PM »

But Al Jazeera is also international, it just also happens to be Arabic. Besides I don't think Peter was being personally biased but merely drawing conclusions based on historical facts.
Salam

Aljazeera is not international, its only broadcasting in Arabic for arabs
whereas BBC brodcasts in many languages all over the world.

« Reply #28 on: November 08, 2005, 03:19:50 PM »

Salam

Aljazeera is not international, its only broadcasting in Arabic for arabs
whereas BBC brodcasts in many languages all over the world.

you sure about that red belt, cause our cable company was talking about adding aljazeera to the package and i promise it was an english version cause nobody here can speak arabic  :D  And I quite in northern canada.  I assume there is an aljazeera international much like a CNN and BBC, even Canada Newsworld international
« Last Edit: November 08, 2005, 03:33:20 PM by ricky »

« Reply #29 on: November 08, 2005, 03:48:06 PM »

Six months gone and already we have different versions of how th eman get he nickname.

He is a legend already.

Next thing men will say that his bullet against Honduras was from the half-line, after he cap two men and spanner a third.