May 10, 2024, 01:27:49 PM

Author Topic: Chris Birchall  (Read 19978 times)

Re: Chris Birchall
« Reply #30 on: November 08, 2005, 03:50:36 PM »
thats not quite the story jahyouth, his name came about when 'Tallest' (denis lawrence), upon mike berry's request, approached birchall after a Wrexham vs Port Vale game in England.  'Tallest' walked up to him and asked himm if he had any Trini roots, and birchall said, "yeah, me mum"

Six months gone and already we have different versions of how th eman get he nickname.

He is a legend already.

Next thing men will say that his bullet against Honduras was from the half-line, after he cap two men and spanner a third.

« Reply #31 on: November 08, 2005, 04:04:48 PM »

Next thing men will say that his bullet against Honduras was from the half-line, after he cap two men and spanner a third.

Thais not how it happen??   ???

« Reply #32 on: November 08, 2005, 04:06:07 PM »
I think so fuh trute............. ;)

« Reply #33 on: November 08, 2005, 04:59:20 PM »
he actually hit four men spanner goig diagonal recognize dat he a lil to far on d let cap back dem four men over push hit d first stopper ah inside out drag fake d goalie lay it off to stern who chip it for him den he blastt it up in d vs

if i remember correctly :-\

« Reply #34 on: November 08, 2005, 06:39:41 PM »
so best of luck against Bahrain and I really hope you make it to the Finals

Phil.
Hey BBC guy!
Your supposed to be unbiased!!
 :P

Do you think Al Jazeera is unbaised? ;D

Aljazeera is biased to us of course, because its an Arabic channle, thats why.

But Channles like BBC & CNN are INTERNATIONAL
meaning they should report, analyze, but not take sides.
Makes sense?

BBC is international...but its roots are British and due to Birchall's British ties  and his extraordinary choice to play for his mother's homeland you can see why they would want to do a human interest story. Besides, Phil is being polite...if Birchall played for Bahrain he'd wish you the same success.

Fellas...meet the African Birchall
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/africa/4107528.stm

He's a white portuguese born in Angola but grew up in Portugal. Played club football in second and third divisions in Portugal and came out of nowhere to choose the land of his birth for international football. Plays in midfield and is the only 'white-boy' in predominantly black team and is a now a cult hero...

« Reply #35 on: November 08, 2005, 08:09:01 PM »
Man yuh know I see that fella on Futbol Mundial and I rub my eye and swear I see wrong

I shoulda know better especially as we have Birchall

Offline #4

• #YGBfiles: The Young, Gifted, and Black Files
« Reply #36 on: November 08, 2005, 10:32:44 PM »
Birchall definitely has my repect for playing in every game like it was his first (or last) in a T&T kit.
« Last Edit: November 08, 2005, 10:37:02 PM by #4 »

Offline Phil_BBC

• BBC Stoke
« Reply #37 on: November 09, 2005, 01:52:46 AM »
I was wishing you all luck as I'm hoping Chris makes it to the World Cup because he's a great person to know! :)
Port Vale Reporter
BBC Radio Stoke

Offline Rapty

« Reply #38 on: November 09, 2005, 03:33:40 AM »
Just like to 2nd Mr B
By also wishing Chris and the T&T boy's all the very best !

I will be having a few  :beermug: down here to celebrate
Once you have beaten Bahrain to qualify

I expect that the Vale shop will soon be out of stock for the letter "M"
Once the T & T shirts go on sale
Me Mum helps to Save a few pennies instead of having "Birchall 7"  ;D
« Last Edit: November 09, 2005, 03:36:35 AM by Rapty »
From little acorns
Mighty Oak's do grow

« Reply #39 on: November 09, 2005, 08:04:13 AM »
Birchall goes Caribbean...
By: Phil Taylor (BBC).

Imagine the story, young winger makes explosive start to career, gets international call-up... fairytale stuff. Yes, and the story of Chris Birchall is even more remarkable, given that Tunstall-born Chris has been called up to play for... Trinidad?!

Birchall facts

Chris was born on the 5th of May 1984
He was the Young Player of the Year 2004/5 season
He's not the only 'Trini' in the side - Hector Sam is the other!
Birchall's goal against Barnsley at Vale Park was voted Goal of the Year

The crowd is roaring, the searing heat stifles your breathing as tackle after tackle comes flying in, you skip by, look up and bang. The ball is scorching into the net and you've scored. The first white man to have scored for Trinidad in over sixty years.
You are Chris Birchall, Port Vale's 21-year-old winger, for whom footballing life has been one incredibly exhilarating rollercoaster. Birchall's rise to prominence has been nothing short of a miracle.
By his own admission he would probably have just been happy to have a club at the end of the 2003/04 season - but by the penultimate game of 2004/05 it was clear that the young winger was an integral part of manager Martin Foyle's plans.
Yet more surprises were in store for Birchall. Unknown to many, his mother was born in Port of Spain in Trinidad, a Caribbean island just north of the coast of Venezuela.
This qualified him to play for the island's national team - something that was not lost on the manager, Dutchman Leo Beenhakker.

Fairytale

This is where the fairytale starts you see. Chris Birchall is as white as the famous china produced at the nearby Wedgewood and Doulton factories, and he became only the second white international to play for the island in sixty years. Not bad going for a player who's just undergone his first full season with the Vale!

Birchall has developed immensely
So, Birchall spent the summer at a training camp before the 'Soca Warriors' played Panama, where he impressed the coaches.
He then made the side for the Panama game where he slotted in nicely alongside fellow English-based players Carlos Edwards and Stern John.
Then came that goal against Honduras - a ripsnorting twenty-five yarder that had the keeper grasping thin air, something that is becoming something of a habit for the youngster following his strikes for Vale.
The goal made Birchall something of a household name on the island and impressed the Caribbean media.

How did it happen?

The man who appears to have orchestrated everything is one Jack Warner, FIFA Vice-President and special advisor to the island's Football Federation. He found out about his parentage and persuaded some of the British-based Trinidadians to have a word with him about the possibility of playing. There are currently several British-based 'Trini' in the Football League including Carlos Edwards, Dwight Yorke, Shaka Hislop, Clayton Ince and Stern John.

Influencing the young stars...

Birchall has already had an impact on the young footballers coming though on the island.
Their latest child prodigy Sean De Silva has already admitted to the federation's official site that he looks up to the Vale man.
Ironic isn't it? Kids kicking a ball around on Burslem Park could well be charging around shouting the same names as those having a game on the beach in Trinidad...

Carving out a reputation

Stoke on Trent seems to be a natural breeding ground for wingers. Stoke City arguably had the best of the lot in Sir Stanley Matthews, but since then at Stoke and Vale there has been a succession of classy widemen.
Talents such as Alan Hudson, Mark Chamberlain, Terry Conroy, Gareth Ainsworth, Peter Hoekstra and of late Kris Commons have all thrilled Potteries crowds, and there seems no reason why Chris Birchall can't join them...
« Last Edit: November 09, 2005, 08:07:42 AM by Flex »

Offline Redditch Valiant

« Reply #40 on: November 09, 2005, 08:27:15 AM »
I've posted this topic on PVO's site http://www.portvaleonline.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=4579 - it was just too good to miss!
Proud to be an honorary "Trinbagonian"
GO TnT!!! GO TnT!!! GO TnT!!! GO TnT!!! GO TnT!!!

Offline Tone

• The Wonder of You
    • Design & Grace
« Reply #41 on: November 09, 2005, 08:44:59 AM »
Hey guys - Phil is a Port Vale fan, so that's why he supports T & T, like me too. :)

Great story about "me mum". My Texan wife sometimes laughs at me when I talk about my mother in that Staffordshire dialect. It's sometimes difficult to follow the posts on here, but you folks would not understand a word of our dialect either. It's interesting - what makes the world go round.

And as for mixing well with the other players - we're not like those people from London, you know, us Staffordshire folks are down to earth people. How about a reciprocal deal, you folks can become honorary T & T Valiants.

www.portvaleonline.com

Offline Redditch Valiant

« Reply #42 on: November 09, 2005, 08:50:38 AM »
Eh up Tone, at Ow Reet?  :rotfl:
Proud to be an honorary "Trinbagonian"
GO TnT!!! GO TnT!!! GO TnT!!! GO TnT!!! GO TnT!!!

« Reply #43 on: November 09, 2005, 09:03:53 AM »

How about this:

I jes bull 2 tick white mampee from stoke las nite and tonite ah ressing real jook on she and she odder fren, de one wid de big big bamsee.  Dat is what does make meh lime an dem real wassy....! Sketels......!

« Reply #44 on: November 09, 2005, 11:36:30 AM »
Hey guys - Phil is a Port Vale fan, so that's why he supports T & T, like me too. :)

Great story about "me mum". My Texan wife sometimes laughs at me when I talk about my mother in that Staffordshire dialect. It's sometimes difficult to follow the posts on here, but you folks would not understand a word of our dialect either. It's interesting - what makes the world go round.

And as for mixing well with the other players - we're not like those people from London, you know, us Staffordshire folks are down to earth people. How about a reciprocal deal, you folks can become honorary T & T Valiants.

www.portvaleonline.com

Fair enough...as long as they aren't playing my beloved Man U :rotfl:

How about this:

I jes bull 2 tick white mampee from stoke las nite and tonite ah ressing real jook on she and she odder fren, de one wid de big big bamsee.  Dat is what does make meh lime an dem real wassy....! Sketels......!

Stoke ha big bambam tings??
« Last Edit: November 09, 2005, 12:51:14 PM by Tallman »

Offline Tone

• The Wonder of You
    • Design & Grace
« Reply #45 on: November 09, 2005, 05:30:02 PM »
Cos kick a bow agin a wow an 'it eet wi' yed and bost eet?

Offline Rotato Poti

• VIBES IT UP!!!
    • ACB reloaded
« Reply #46 on: November 09, 2005, 08:34:57 PM »

buh wha d mudda cornt allyuh sayin dey boy?

Offline Tone

• The Wonder of You
    • Design & Grace
« Reply #47 on: November 10, 2005, 08:17:45 AM »

buh wha d mudda cornt allyuh sayin dey boy?

Stick around us Vale fans and you'll understand.

Or ask "me Mum". ;)

Offline Tone

• The Wonder of You
    • Design & Grace
« Reply #48 on: November 12, 2005, 08:26:28 AM »
A nice piece written by journalist and another Port Vale fan, Phil Shaw, in the Independent.

http://sport.independent.co.uk/football/internationals/article326616.ece

« Reply #49 on: November 12, 2005, 08:33:21 AM »
Nice read....

« Reply #50 on: November 12, 2005, 08:40:46 AM »

Yo and people say that we have slangs and shit but these guys is on whole other level of slang here bredda

« Reply #51 on: November 12, 2005, 08:44:32 AM »
nice article Tone. I like the part about Dwight Yorke always grinning.........typical of our skipper.  ;D

« Reply #52 on: November 12, 2005, 08:46:54 AM »

Tone I'm intrigued....what is that?

« Reply #53 on: November 12, 2005, 08:48:02 AM »
nice read by de way tone.

« Reply #54 on: November 12, 2005, 09:28:22 AM »

so do english people speak english too?

Offline Tone

• The Wonder of You
    • Design & Grace
« Reply #55 on: November 12, 2005, 10:19:43 AM »

It's North Staffordshire (or "Potteries") dialect for:

"Can you kick a ball against a wall and hit it with your head and burst it?"

Potteries dialect is a whole "new ball game", as it were.... ;)

Gooooaaaarrrrrnnn... Trinis....

« Reply #56 on: November 12, 2005, 10:32:18 AM »

I love dat dialect man. Impressive :applause:

In wartimes you could use that as a code.  Nobody could decipher it!

« Reply #57 on: November 12, 2005, 03:28:28 PM »

And all this time I thought you guys invented English. ;D

Offline Rotato Poti

• VIBES IT UP!!!
    • ACB reloaded
« Reply #58 on: November 12, 2005, 07:47:55 PM »
WHAT A LASER!!
Birchall scored the goal of his career.

« Reply #59 on: November 12, 2005, 07:55:51 PM »
Sweet bullet from Me Mum.

Watch meh we have more goals for Bahrain, they didn't collec dem today so they comin on Wednesday.