May 04, 2024, 12:42:04 PM

Author Topic: Maturana takes up senior coaching job.  (Read 148407 times)

Re: Maturana takes up senior coaching job.
« Reply #90 on: January 05, 2008, 07:31:28 PM »
Maturana is no good. Bad Pick for T&T. Wim might have been better. Or even Bruce Arena.

i myself would love to hear why maturana is a bad pick myself? ??? based on what?

God is de BOSS....

« Reply #91 on: January 05, 2008, 09:01:27 PM »
Wait nah... What input  do you think the  latest coach would have on player selection and preparation for the alleged  Ash Wednesday friendly against Guadeloupe?

What if Anton Corneal as reported selected this team , trained this squad and received immeasurable success against Guadeloupe, would it change his status?

Think of Whitmore. How much props did he get for beating two Central American opponents 5-0 on aggregate?

« Reply #92 on: January 06, 2008, 12:35:28 AM »
After all the hard work ,Jackular do to get Memum ,to play for we ,then bringing down he mums and them .He letting that punk Alvin Corneal dust him to the side  :rotfl: ,Jack getting soft in he ole age ohwha lol .The only man willing to take a shot at goal haha ,what ah joke ,ah find jack letting some subordinates get ahway with murder deiz days jed .
Also Julius James ,this guys is one of the best in Collage ball ,yet not even an invite ha! ,another Corneal judgement call .

As for Muturana ,he just start the wuk ,so anybody he get ,he just smiling .He better grow some balls in a hurry and start demanding who he want .
« Last Edit: January 06, 2008, 12:42:56 AM by Quagmire »

Offline JayTheWrecker

« Reply #93 on: January 06, 2008, 02:33:15 AM »
Chris Birchall has been out of action for weeks and has only just recovered from injury

he is clearly a long way off from being fully match fit

so i fully understand and agree with the decision not to include him at this time
Son, there's only two things that matter in this life. Family and Football. Everything else is bullshit

« Reply #94 on: January 06, 2008, 08:02:38 AM »
Dropping Me Mum is a disservice.

This is why Football is a TEAM SPORT.

His weakness (Poor First Touch) will be covered by his team mates while his assets....bullet, tackling ability, fitness, hustle and crossing ability will cover the defence ass and his other midfield teammates.

If you watch Me Mum live and see how much ground he covers and how he sprints back...many times off the ball, you will appreciate the man even more.

He does even show more heart and fight than some others on the field.

Go Me Mum

« Reply #95 on: January 06, 2008, 08:16:37 AM »
Maturana is no good. Bad Pick for T&T. Wim might have been better. Or even Bruce Arena.

i myself would love to hear why maturana is a bad pick myself? ??? based on what?

God is de BOSS....

I wouldn't go as far as to say he is a bad pick. However, all I've been hearing from Colombian and Costa Rican fans is negative. The Colombians seem to consider that he had the most talented side in Colombian football history in 94, and that qualifying was a matter of course - 5-0 thrashing of Argentina in Buenos Aires aside - but that he messed up when it came to the actual tournament, notably in his player selection.
Then his last turn at the helm was pretty short lived as was the case in Costa Rica, where in both cases he was dismissed for caastrophic results.
The only thing that seems to bode well to hear them talk is that he actually is not that far off from being a "Beenie ball" specialist. (whether this is true or not is left to be seen) With a bit of luck he might be able to install the same discipline in the new crop of defenders that Beenie did in the old.

« Reply #96 on: January 06, 2008, 08:20:55 AM »
Chris Birchall has been out of action for weeks and has only just recovered from injury

so i fully understand and agree with the decision not to include him at this time

I agree with you, but I have to wonder why Edwards was called when he hasn't even returned from his injury yet.  Seems as though there is a double standard there.
I still don't expect Edwards to make the trip though - don't think we want to piss off Keane this early in the campaign.

Offline jimmel14

« Reply #97 on: January 06, 2008, 08:39:12 AM »
as we start to stray to the topic of squad selection, i must vent my opinion and say ( what bout if we get Yorke and Latas back fo a few spells wid d squad, to help instill some sort of ummm backbone too da squad) cuz it gon look real bad too see sides like Vinci cutn we arse. Yes we know that them fellas retire but it would be nice fo them to have some sort of input into the squad. Experience is always a good asset. The 2 Greatest ballers to ever roam T&T shores. and how alyuh feel keane go feel when he have to let go, Edwards, Jones and Nosworthy for them games... lawd now self he gonna kick brass

« Reply #98 on: January 06, 2008, 08:50:59 AM »
I have a question at what age  did Latas  and Yorke  de got there chance at 16 and 14 look an KJ he’s going to be playing for our team for years to come we have to give de youths a chance we need guys who’s going to be around for the next 10 years we cannot and should not be relying on 40 year old players     

« Reply #99 on: January 06, 2008, 09:06:14 AM »

I agree with you, but I have to wonder why Edwards was called when he hasn't even returned from his injury yet.  Seems as though there is a double standard there.
I still don't expect Edwards to make the trip though - don't think we want to piss off Keane this early in the campaign.
Add Spann to that last. Injured most of the season. Struggling to make the team the rest of the time. Just like Birchall, except in an much much WORSE team.

He get call, though.

« Reply #100 on: January 06, 2008, 09:58:27 AM »
I agree with you, but I have to wonder why Edwards was called when he hasn't even returned from his injury yet.  Seems as though there is a double standard there.
Add Spann to that last. Injured most of the season. Struggling to make the team the rest of the time. Just like Birchall, except in an much much WORSE team.
He get call, though.
Maybe Corneal seein BM post an dem bout Jamrock an day britz, an he say, " nah, TnT doh need no stinkin Britz" ;)
« Last Edit: January 06, 2008, 10:33:54 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline Israel

« Reply #101 on: January 06, 2008, 10:23:29 AM »
How come no MLS players get called? No Telesford or Avery John, I know the MLS wont be in season but so is the PFL
If a rasta in a coma, is he still conscious?

« Reply #102 on: January 06, 2008, 11:11:55 AM »
How come no MLS players get called? No Telesford or Avery John, I know the MLS wont be in season but so is the PFL

very good question...i have another question..althought the blacklist is over..allyuh really feel it is 100% over? 

« Reply #103 on: January 06, 2008, 11:46:16 AM »
Or Sealy, who seemed to be on a hot streak.

« Reply #104 on: January 06, 2008, 11:53:01 AM »

Samuel get called and he plays MLS

Telesford injured and hasn't played in a while

With Stern, KJ, Daryll Roberts and Jason Scotland called as the four forwards..all of whom are match fit and in good form..it hard to make a case for Sealy.

« Reply #105 on: January 06, 2008, 12:07:43 PM »

Samuel get called and he plays MLS

Telesford injured and hasn't played in a while

With Stern, KJ, Daryll Roberts and Jason Scotland called as the four forwards..all of whom are match fit and in good form..it hard to make a case for Sealy.
That's true. I guess I keep looking at Roberts as a midfielder even though we never use him as such.

« Reply #106 on: January 06, 2008, 12:35:20 PM »

God is de BOSS....

I wouldn't go as far as to say he is a bad pick. However, all I've been hearing from Colombian and Costa Rican fans is negative. The Colombians seem to consider that he had the most talented side in Colombian football history in 94, and that qualifying was a matter of course - 5-0 thrashing of Argentina in Buenos Aires aside - but that he messed up when it came to the actual tournament, notably in his player selection.
Then his last turn at the helm was pretty short lived as was the case in Costa Rica, where in both cases he was dismissed for caastrophic results.
The only thing that seems to bode well to hear them talk is that he actually is not that far off from being a "Beenie ball" specialist. (whether this is true or not is left to be seen) With a bit of luck he might be able to install the same discipline in the new crop of defenders that Beenie did in the old.

Likely the same Colombian fans that wanted him to drop Pibe Valderrama.

I was waiting for his confirmation in the post to get into the web that is Maturana ... I cyah geh into it full blast now, but I'll say this ... He will tell you he gets more respect outside of Colombia than he does within the country. Ah putting this in abstract terms, buh he's been on the record about this. He doesn't say this tongue in cheek, but the 'tension' is somewhat misplaced because he remains respected and revered within the local fraternity of coaches and by those who have a sense of perspective. Anyhow, the man is a senior figure who goes about his business nonchalantly. He does not get bogged down in the mud.

I don't argue he's not due for some positive outcomes. However, I believe if we provide him with the necessary space and professional environment and attitide he'll be able to produce with the execution of the players. This is a guy who is good at creating/painting a message, a philosophy, a image of what he wants.

The mention of 'man-management' by Lincoln Phillips and others is a quality that has been shown time and time again in his career and will certainly be interesting to watch. No matter what though, we're looking at a very concentrated period for him to get acquainted and acclimatised and we have to balance the future with that in mind.

I think 'we' provide a great platform for him and there's no way his knowledge can be discarded. Generally I have found his defenders more sensible and knowledgeable than his detractors.

Really the term 'defenders' is not accurate because he's not viewed as a polarising figure.

« Reply #107 on: January 06, 2008, 04:31:21 PM »

Actually, it would seem that HE was the one that didn't want Valderrama on the team, though I'm not sure whether this refers to his first or second stint...

I'm assuming it was his first and he didn't get his way...

« Reply #108 on: January 06, 2008, 05:25:42 PM »
If being injured was a criteria 4 non selection den Carlos and Silvio would not b there so pleezeeeeeeeeeeeee find another reason y Me Mum eh selected

« Reply #109 on: January 06, 2008, 05:47:42 PM »
Oh and Kenwyne injured at the moment too.

« Reply #110 on: January 06, 2008, 06:19:15 PM »
personal opinion: all last WC players should decline, due to injury and rehab...otherwise nuthen change, and we and them would have gone through the last year for nothing...read: same tata, different day.....especially since part of the last coach problems arose for taking a stance in their , his, proper rep for the country - favour...so they come for this friendly, everything come cool, and then in the middle of the next program, they dunn, again, cause then the realize that, they had accomplished nuthen,when the same beats come on again ? and we hold we head an bawl once more....and just ah joke eh pardner -  AB hit we up with ah few more repost, askin dem questions only God could answer  ::)   :D
« Last Edit: January 06, 2008, 06:44:52 PM by maxg »

« Reply #111 on: January 06, 2008, 10:08:37 PM »

Actually, it would seem that HE was the one that didn't want Valderrama on the team, though I'm not sure whether this refers to his first or second stint...

There was a perception (justified) that Pibe was a slow player ... too slow to play and control the middle. Maturana resisted the wave of opposition and developed both a rapport and a system supportive of Valderrama/incorporative of Pibe's play. He asked Pibe to work/train ... to do certain things ... to do his part and in retrospect he has indicated that it resulted in Valderrama attaining acclaim for over a decade at the heart of Colombia's midfield by preserving his place in the national team at a time when it could have affected his career trajectory ... He made this point in referring to another player (young player ... name I can't recall) who he had a similar conversation with .... I have no evidence to support the view he ever rejected Valderrama.

« Reply #112 on: January 06, 2008, 11:03:36 PM »

« Reply #113 on: January 06, 2008, 11:07:08 PM »
Sorry didn't realize that this is old news.

« Reply #114 on: January 07, 2008, 02:25:39 PM »
Great appointment ... being from Columbia he should be able to handle the crime and drugs in T&T ;D

I was thinking d same thing! :mackdaddy:

Btw Happy New Year to everyone!!

Coach Maturana brings in his staff.
« Reply #115 on: March 13, 2008, 10:20:09 PM »
Coach Maturana brings in his staff.
By: Ian Prescott (Express).

Trinidad and Tobago interim head coach, Colombian Francisco Maturana, has been getting outside assistance in preparing the national team for upcoming FIFA World Cup qualifiers, which begin in July when T&T take on the winners of a first-round CONCACAF tie between Cayman Islands and Bermuda.

Trainers Jorge Ruiz and Caesar Maturana have been in Trinidad helping with the preparation of the players and were both involved yesterday when the local component of the senior national team resumed training in preparation for Wednesday's friendly international against El Salvador at the Marvin Lee Stadium, Macoya.

At yesterday's session at the "Marvin Lee", assistant coach Anton Corneal gave some background information on Caesar Maturana, brother of Francisco.

"He (Caesar) used to be the coach of Panama," Corneal said. "Actually, Panama's improvement in the game started when he was there. Both of them (Ruiz and Caesar Maturana) have actually been here four weeks now."

Yesterday, both Corneal and Francisco Maturana took active roles in a scrimmage at the Macoya venue, with Maturana showing that he can still play football by giving at least one of his young players a "shake".

Corneal said it was important that some of the young players step up against El Salvador, since it will determine whether they make the squad for the March 26 friendly against Jamaica's Reggae Boys in Kingston. Several of Trinidad and Tobago's foreign-based pros have been recalled for that match.

"We are actually using eight to nine different players from the ones that played Guadeloupe recently. So, it's a different team that is playing them and we don't know what they are coming with. The last time we played El Salvador, they played with a couple of young players and we actually had a good result (0-0) against them. It was a good game. We don't know what they will come with this time. We don't know if it's a full senior team that will have a lot of young players in between. But, it is also a chance to see our young players."

Among those given the chance to impress Maturana yesterday were Kevon Neaves, the left-footed former St Anthony's college winger who is at University of South Florida in the United States. Neaves has been with the national Under-20, Under-23 and also with the senior team in the past.

Stopper Makan Hislop, another US-based player, makes a return after playing in the 2007 Digicel Caribbean Cup Finals under suspended T&T head coach, Dutchman Wim Rijsbergen.

Also present were Akeem Adams, from the national under-17 team which participated in the 2007 FIFA Under-17 World Cup, and El Dorado Senior Comprehensive striker Jamaal Gay, who is now on the national under-20 team.

T&T 2006 World Cup midfielder Aurtis Whitley was also at "Marvin Lee" yesterday.

"One of the things we did was just trying to get the fellas into quick, match shape...intense and short. Of course, there are a couple of new players and from what we have seen so far they are workable material," Corneal said, while also explaining why both he and Maturana decided to take a run yesterday.

"Coaches are different in their approach. For instance, the English coaches play a lot, especially when they have to make up numbers, for instance, when you have a drill and you want to use one more player. It happens all over the world at every level.

"Asked if he enjoyed his run with the youngsters, Corneal quipped: "Of course, because I play."

OLD MOVES: Colombian Francisco Maturana, centre, Trinidad and Tobago's interim head coach, shows the members of the national team how its done during a training session yesterday at the Marvin Lee Stadium, Macoya. T&T will play El Salvador next Wednesday at the same venue. - Photo: IAN PRESCOTT
« Last Edit: March 14, 2008, 07:54:44 AM by Flex »

Re: Coach Maturana brings in his staff.
« Reply #116 on: March 14, 2008, 05:26:13 AM »
Among those given the chance to impress Maturana yesterday were Kevon Neaves, the left-footed former St Anthony's college winger who is at South Florida College in the United States. Neaves has been with the national Under-20 and Under-23 teams and now has the chance to vie for senior selection.

Mr. Prescott, yuh couldn't fact check? What is South Florida College? Allyuh doh play allyuh could mangle names of institutions. It calls into question whether other elements of your work are accurate. Oh gorm man ... The University of South Florida is wha yuh looking for.
« Last Edit: March 14, 2008, 05:27:45 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #117 on: March 14, 2008, 05:51:24 AM »
Among those given the chance to impress Maturana yesterday were Kevon Neaves, the left-footed former St Anthony's college winger who is at South Florida College in the United States. Neaves has been with the national Under-20 and Under-23 teams and now has the chance to vie for senior selection.

Mr. Prescott, yuh couldn't fact check? What is South Florida College? Allyuh doh play allyuh could mangle names of institutions. It calls into question whether other elements of your work are accurate. Oh gorm man ... The University of South Florida is wha yuh looking for.
Not only that, but Neaves has already played for the senior team. He came on as a substitute against Iceland.

« Reply #118 on: March 14, 2008, 08:31:17 AM »

Not only that, but Neaves has already played for the senior team. He came on as a substitute against Iceland.

I was thinking the same thing as I was reading this article.  I live in Orlando and when people here read these writers, they probably think little of our newspapers and journalism.  That is one of the reasons people internationally often give us little credit and respect.  We sound sometimes like "bush people" and it is embarassing for us patriotic Trinis who always want to talk about our country.  This is just one example of the many, many times I see this kind of misinformation.  I am aware that we are human and make errors.  We all make typos and get something wrong sometimes.  However, it is the consistency of misinformation, not mistakes, that bothers me.  Just yesterday someone wrote about Justin Fojo from Charleston College.  The name of the college is College of Charleston.  That is a major difference, not to be taken lightly.  Come on people, let's get it right.

« Reply #119 on: March 14, 2008, 08:40:34 AM »
yea...i went to a tnt session and see Maturana brother....looks very much like Pacho....