May 19, 2024, 04:02:04 PM

Author Topic: Safe Cleon John gets Jabloteh MVP  (Read 1382 times)

Safe Cleon John gets Jabloteh MVP
« on: December 21, 2007, 08:14:24 PM »
Safe Cleon John gets Jabloteh MVP       

User Rating: / 0
PoorBest
Friday, 21 December 2007 
 By Randy Bando...

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Goalkeeper Cleon John, of the 2007 League Champions CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh, has been named as the Club’s Most Valuable Player, at their annual prize giving ceremony at the Cascadia Hotel, St Anns on Thursday night.

John, who had sterling performances throughout the TT Pro League season, joined Jabloteh in 2007 from Defence Force.

He grabbed two awards on the night, the second being the Most Improved Player.

“I wanted to prove something to my former club(Defence Force) and I have done it. I also wanted to prove to my new bosses that they made the right choice in me,” Cleon told ‘ttproleague.com’.

He also promised even better performances in goal in 2008 with the ‘San Juan Kings’.

Cleon was also picked  goalkeeper of the month three times during the 2007 season in the Seven Seas Peak Performers.

2007 Jabloteh MVP and current team captain and instrumental midfielder Trent Noel, picked up the Most Disciplined Player.

Both Trent Noel and Cleon John were part of the 2007 Shaka Hislop Tribute Cup TT Pro League Local All-Stars team.

The 2007 TT Pro League top goalscorer with 15 goals, Antiguan Peter Byers, is Jabloteh’s top goalscorer with 21 goals and last year’s Most Improved Player. Midfielder Jason Marcano picked up a special award for his outstanding performances.

Although honored with the award Byers admitted that it wasn’t his best performance.

He said, “It was my focus to win the Golden Boot award when I came to Trinidad and I have gotten it. But I believe I need to work a lot more on my finishing. I should have gotten a lot more goals this season.”

But it was youth player Jerrel Britto who bagged four awards on the night. The Queens Royal College student, and Trinidad and Tobago youth player, won the U-15 Most Valuable Player, U-15 Most Goals, Chairman’s Award and the Special Award Youth Catogory.

He represented both the Jabloteh U-15s and U-17s and is targeted by English Premiership club Portsmouth FC after impressive performances for his club and national U-15 team in the CFU Youth Tournament earlier this year.

San Juan Senior Comprehensive captain and Jabloteh reserve player Elijah Manners picked up two awards with the Most Valuable Player and Most Goals in his category.

Elijah Manners also led San Juan Senior Comprehensive to the Big Five Championship in 2007.

Jabloteh Awardees
Chairman Award
Jerrel Britto

Special Awards
Youth Category—Jerrel Britto
Senior Category—Jason Marcano

Senior Team
Most Valuable Player—Cleon John
Most Goals—Peter Byers
Most Improved—Cleon John
Most Disciplined Player—Trent Noel

Reserves
Most Valuable Player—Elijah Manners
Most Goals—Elijah Manners
Most Improved—Stephan Charles
Most Disciplined Player—Manuel Rezendi

U-17
Most Valuable Player—Anthony Sullivan
Most Goals—Brandon Rupert
Most Improved—Lorenzo Lutchman
Most Disciplined Player—Michael Duff

U-15
Most Valuable Player—Jerrel Britto
Most Goals—Jerrel Britto
Most Improved—Dillon Kertin
Most Disciplined Player—Dwight Sebaro

U-13
Most Valuable Player—Mario Kissoon
Most Goals—Garvin Samaroo
Most Improved—Akim Andrews
Most Disciplined Player—Cleon Joseph

Youth Clinic
Most Improved—Ronell Williams
Most Disciplined Player—Marcus Alexander

THE RACE FOR THE GOLDEN BOOT
 Top Goalscorers
1  Peter Byers 15
2  Errol Mc Farlane 14
3  Kerry Baptiste 14
4  Sylvester Teesdale 13
5  Jonathan Frias 13
 Click for full list

Copyright ©2007 TT Pro League     

Offline heete

Re: Safe Cleon John gets Jabloteh MVP
« Reply #1 on: December 22, 2007, 03:29:34 AM »
yea he rellll save dis year and he play pro and reserve league go job to him

« Reply #2 on: December 22, 2007, 07:38:36 AM »
i am a fan of Cleon John.....should be in the National set-up

« Reply #3 on: December 22, 2007, 01:46:16 PM »
i am a fan of Cleon John.....should be in the National set-up

dont know y they stikin!

how old is he? is that the stumbling block??

him, ince, philips and jan should be d ones to rely on

wha goin on with Jan btw?

« Reply #4 on: December 22, 2007, 05:55:02 PM »
cleon john was part of the squad for the El Salvador match