Sports => Football => Topic started by: Tallman on January 03, 2012, 07:36:37 PM

Title: Nick DeLeon signs with MLS early
Post by: Tallman on January 03, 2012, 07:36:37 PM
Nick DeLeon signs with MLS early
uoflsports.com

December 29, 2011

Major League Soccer and adidas today announced the signing of Louisville midfielder Nick DeLeon. DeLeon is one of four seniors signed by the MLS that will enter the professional ranks for the 2012 Major League Soccer season. Also signing along with DeLeon are Tony Cascio (University of Connecticut), Luis Silva (University of California, Santa Barbara), and Casey Townsend (University of Maryland).

"I couldn't be happier about being selected as one of the players to sign early with the MLS," said DeLeon. "It has been a lifelong dream of mine to play professional soccer and I am looking forward to the opportunity. I am excited and look forward to making an impact at the professional level."

DeLeon earns All-Great Lakes Region honors for the second straight year. He has started in every game since joining Louisville two years ago. This season he ranked second on the team in scoring with six goals and six assists for 18 points. He was named a first team All-BIG EAST selection for the second straight year. He was also the only Cardinal selected to BIG EAST All-Tournament team. He led the team this season with 76 shots on the year. He finished the year with two game-winners, including the game-winner in overtime against Bradley in the NCAA Tournament. DeLeon finished his two year career at Louisville with 14 goals and nine assists for 37 points.

"Nick has exhibited that he is one of the best players in college soccer," said head coach Ken Lolla. "We look forward to watching his success in the MLS."

DeLeon will be among about 65 top pro prospects that will showcase their talents at the adidas MLS Player Combine Jan. 6-10 at Central Broward Regional Park in Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.

Combine matches will be closed to the public but fans can watch the matches live on MLSsoccer.com.

The 2012 MLS SuperDraft presented by adidas will take place at the Kansas City Convention Center on Thursday, Jan. 12 at 12 p.m. ET and will be broadcast live on ESPN2, TSN2, and RDS2.

The complete rosters and coaching staffs for the adidas MLS Player Combine will be announced at a later date.

(http://www.voice-tribune.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/10/ULsoccerUconn01.jpg)
Title: Re: Nick DeLeon signs with MLS early
Post by: asylumseeker on January 03, 2012, 07:39:59 PM
Congratulations to the player and his family.
Post by: Tallman on January 12, 2012, 11:49:04 AM
Nick has been selected by DC United as the 7th pick of the 2012 MLS SuperDraft.
Post by: soccerman on January 12, 2012, 11:54:23 AM
I noticed that and I wish him all the best :applause: The thing is will be be willing to play for T&T or does he have his eyes set on trying to make the US roster.
Post by: Dutty on January 12, 2012, 12:25:16 PM
I noticed that and I wish him all the best :applause: The thing is will be be willing to play for T&T or does he have his eyes set on trying to make the US roster.

Hmm dais like tryin to choose between free drinks in 51 or yuh face on a wheaties box.......sadis done have a coby jones blowout, he going for the box
Post by: Bakes on January 12, 2012, 12:36:13 PM
I was wondering what the whole "signs early with MLS" thing meant... how if affected the draft.  I guess it just guarantees for MLS that the player will play in the league, as opposed to going overseas.
Post by: Tallman on January 12, 2012, 12:37:49 PM
I was wondering what the whole "signs early with MLS" thing meant... how if affected the draft.  I guess it just guarantees for MLS that the player will play in the league, as opposed to going overseas.

The only thing I noticed was that he didn't have to participate in de Combine.
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 12, 2012, 12:39:37 PM
12 -  Aaron Maund to TFC
Post by: fish on January 12, 2012, 12:40:33 PM

The only thing I noticed was that he didn't have to participate in de Combine.

He is signed to the league, therefore the league own his rights. He can choose to play abroad in Europe or elsewhere but the MLS would retain his rights for however long they contracted for. In the MLS, you 'sign' with the league first and foremost, before you are contracted to a team.
Post by: fish on January 12, 2012, 12:41:54 PM
http://www.mlssoccer.com/superdraft/2012/roundbyround

The SuperDraft
Post by: Tallman on January 12, 2012, 12:45:04 PM
DeLeon on joining D.C.

http://p.mlssoccer.com/SAu5a/video/839851/839851_2012-01-12-124551.640hq.mp4
Post by: Bakes on January 12, 2012, 12:54:34 PM
He is signed to the league, therefore the league own his rights. He can choose to play abroad in Europe or elsewhere but the MLS would retain his rights for however long they contracted for. In the MLS, you 'sign' with the league first and foremost, before you are contracted to a team.

No, that is not the case.  Hasn't been the case for many years.  The league does indeed own his rights, but his circumstances are different from other players.
Post by: madness on January 12, 2012, 01:50:43 PM
that boy is not looking to play for trinidad. based on his vibes guys.
Post by: soccerman on January 12, 2012, 01:54:10 PM

Hmm dais like tryin to choose between free drinks in 51 or yuh face on a wheaties box.......sadis done have a coby jones blowout, he going for the box

Good comparison and I can't blame him for choosing the wheaties...you think if we can get face on a KFC box he might change his mind?
Post by: loyalist on January 12, 2012, 04:47:39 PM
Kevan George went to columbus..
Title: DeLeon can't wait to play alongside idol at DC
Post by: Tallman on January 12, 2012, 04:54:25 PM
DeLeon can't wait to play alongside idol at DC
By Travis Clark (MLSsoccer.com)

Looking to add players anywhere on the field, D.C. United could have made a number of different moves during Thursday's 2012 MLS SuperDraft in Kansas City.

As it turned out, they only made one. With the seventh overall pick, DC elected to select Nick DeLeon, an attacking midfielder from the University of Louisville who has already signed with MLS.

“We’re very excited,” assistant coach Chad Ashton told MLSsoccer.com. “He’s an outstanding player, a real attacking-oriented player. Strong, powerful, he’s been on a very successful college team, and he’s had a lot to do with that.”

DeLeon joins D.C. after two standout seasons with the Cardinals, during which he scored 14 goals and added nine assists. In 2010, he was part of Louisville’s run to the NCAA championship game, where they lost to Akron in the final.

The Arizona native was delighted to join MLS with United.

“I’m honored,” DeLeon told MLSsoccer.com. “They’re a great club with a rich history. I’m just excited to be a part of the future of DC.”

DeLeon offers more depth on either wing, an added bonus because of uncertainty surrounding the recovery of Chris Pontius’ leg fracture at the end of last season. The team scouted DeLeon closely over the past two seasons and came away impressed by his offensive talents.

“He’s a guy who can really affect the attack,” Ashton said. “He can break a guy down on the dribble, he can get behind with runs. [He] runs well off the ball, he’s a good finisher and can set guys up.”

As of right now, the coaching staff pictures him playing on either wing, but they aim to give him opportunities to play in other attacking areas.

“He can play on either side. He’s versatile in that sense,” Ashton said. “We’ll have to see in regards to the other positions, but for the most part we’ve only seen him wide and he’s done very well there. We feel like he’s a guy who can slide in and is ready right now.”

Sweetening the deal for DeLeon is the fact he is joining a player he admires in Dwayne De Rosario.

“He’s a player I look at in MLS, a player I want to play like,” DeLeon said. “Honestly, to be playing with him now is unbelievable.”

(http://www.mlssoccer.com/sites/league/files/imagecache/620x350/image_nodes/2012/01/7-DeLeon-coaches-620.jpg)
Post by: Flex on January 12, 2012, 05:25:01 PM

You might be correct, I manage to get him a trial with the T&T team, but to date he is not talking to anyone and his agent is a waste of time, aparently, Nick is keeping his options open, which is find, but at least he could be frank about it, no need to keep passing on everthing to an agent its not like T&T is some big club knocking on the door.
Post by: Socapro on January 12, 2012, 05:33:08 PM

You might be correct, I manage to get him a trial with the T&T team, but to date he is not talking to anyone and his agent is a waste of time, aparently, Nick is keeping his options open, which is find, but at least he could be frank about it, no need to keep passing on everthing to an agent its not like T&T is some big club knocking on the door.

Ask him these questions!

When last have you been to Trinidad to see/visit family there?

Do you go to any of the Carnivals in the USA?

Do you listen to soca?

Where is your girlfriend from and does she have any of the above interest?

If he can't give a positive answer to any of those questions then its most likely that he feels more American than Trini and prefers to play for the USA given the choice.
Post by: Sam on January 12, 2012, 05:37:25 PM
12 -  Aaron Maund to TFC

Wait.

Traitor FC pick him up ?
Post by: Sam on January 12, 2012, 05:39:11 PM

F00ck him...... either yes or no, but stop de bullshitting around....

Nick might be a good player, but he head so far up he ass, its a shame.

Yes or no pardna......

Agent !!!... steups.....
Post by: Blue on January 12, 2012, 06:37:05 PM
that boy is not looking to play for trinidad. based on his vibes accent guys.
Post by: MEP on January 12, 2012, 06:46:26 PM
Allyuh CANNOT blame de yute.......what does T&T football have to offer him??? nuttin but ah bag ah crix and some mauby and sweet bread???
Again we have neither the leadership or the coaches who would draw these players to TnT.
Post by: FireBrand on January 12, 2012, 06:47:05 PM
that boy is not looking to play for trinidad. based on his vibes accent what he supposedly told his cousin guys.

Oh yes, I almost forgot to say.  I was talking to Nick last night, and his first choice is the U.S. National Team.  He could play for anyone really, and as soon as he puts the finishing touches on his footwork, and his mind.  No one on a futobol/soccer field will be able to beat him.  He could easily be that face that gets the U.S. involved and interested in soccer.  He is skilled, quick, thinks quick, physical, loves the game, and he is good looken.  He is not just quick, he faster with the ball then most men trying to run without the ball.  Everyone loves him.  So you will get to watch him on the world stage, no worries.

He did tell me, however, that T & T is a great secondary choice just because of his father and the history of it.
Post by: Bakes on January 13, 2012, 07:37:48 AM
Ask him these questions!

When last have you been to Trinidad to see/visit family there?

Do you go to any of the Carnivals in the USA?

Do you listen to soca?

Where is your girlfriend from and does she have any of the above interest?

If he can't give a positive answer to any of those questions then its most likely that he feels more American than Trini and prefers to play for the USA given the choice.

How would Birchall have answered these questions?  Frankly if I was in these fellas shoes I wouldn't touch the TTFF with a ten-foot pole... especially if I could do better.  Flex put it right though, he should be forthright about what he wants to do, but it is entirely possible that even he ent quite figure that part out yet.
Post by: just cool on January 13, 2012, 08:30:02 AM
Allyuh CANNOT blame de yute.......what does T&T football have to offer him??? nuttin but ah bag ah crix and some mauby and sweet bread???
Again we have neither the leadership or the coaches who would draw these players to TnT.
I glad, bc when i watching T&T mens national team , i want tuh see born and bred trinis playing for us, not no foreign born and bred players.

quite frankly, i think we have better talent right there in T&T and pfister showed that when he chose players like phillips and williams over tony warner, hughton hector, jaggy and molino over jake thompson and andre bocaurd, i was also happy that zamora decided not to play for us, i want tuh see born and bred talent repping us, and if they fall short, then that's OK, after all, there's no shame in losing, the only shame comes from not giving it your all.
Post by: Daft Trini on January 13, 2012, 08:49:15 AM
Will be supporting him, trini blood no mater who he reps.
Post by: Quags on January 13, 2012, 09:00:26 AM
I glad, bc when i watching T&T mens national team , i want tuh see born and bred trinis playing for us, not no foreign born and bred players.

quite frankly, i think we have better talent right there in T&T and pfister showed that when he chose players like phillips and williams over tony warner, hughton hector, jaggy and molino over jake thompson and andre bocaurd, i was also happy that zamora decided not to play for us, i want tuh see born and bred talent repping us, and if they fall short, then that's OK, after all, there's no shame in losing, the only shame comes from not giving it your all.
unless he was as good as his Dad ,then i woulda been vex .anyway am more excited to see if flex next invitee Mike pans out .
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 13, 2012, 03:48:28 PM

i guess you don't want your kids or any family member who live abroad play for tnt if they were could also rite ?
Post by: Socapro on January 13, 2012, 04:03:37 PM

i guess you don't want your kids or any family member who live abroad play for tnt if they were could also rite ?

Doh bother with JC! He living in cloud coocoo land where T&T football is concerned!
Post by: Deeks on January 13, 2012, 04:30:20 PM
Come on fellas. Stop the bull with foreign/local players. How come we don't say the same thing as pertain to the women's team. Hello, his sister currently plays for one of our yute team and would probably play for the national team in the future. Like Bakes say, the yute  still young and on the bubble. He eh quite sure which way he going. I feel he leaning stars and stripes, but who knows somebody fromMoruga might be working Obeah for him to lean RWB. Which ever way he goes I with him. If the TTFF house was in order I am almost sure he father would have encourage him to play TT. Dilly has had  too many negative dealing with the organization in the past. Now it is total chaos and you expect the father to encourage him to deal with jack henchmen. Dilly is an icon in TT and I know all ah we want to see the young green mango replant the seed in TT. I have seen him play in spurts. He is good. I can see traits of his father in some of his plays.  The only thing in we favour is that the US now have abundant talent, so he may not be on the top of the totem pole. But if he lights up the MLS, bet your life the US coaches will call him. Also, the USSF knows the Deleon legacy. Senior Dilly was once NASL player of the year.
Post by: Daft Trini on January 13, 2012, 04:51:03 PM
leh we celebrate the boy success nah, after all we use to celebrate he fadder success also. It will be easier to support DC United this year with a trini on it.
Post by: just cool on January 13, 2012, 05:38:38 PM

Doh bother with JC! He living in cloud coocoo land where T&T football is concerned!
How yuh always riding me so bredder like if i eat yuh white fowl? i express that i like born and bred trini players and would prefer to see them rep the country, i'm not the first tuh say that, but yuh want tuh jump on my words as long as it doh sit right with you.

big mag used tuh say the same thing when he would malign the jkans by saying "send more brits" and no one said ah word, but when i say it allyuh frowning, wham yuh think iza ah yes man or what?  i speak meh mind, who eh like what i say could go suck out!!!
Post by: just cool on January 13, 2012, 05:46:02 PM

All i'm saying iz that i like local talent, when yuh look @ england, spain, germany or brazil, they love to showcase their culture with home grown players, now and then you may see one or maybe two players playing for one of these countries who wasn't raised there, but not half the team.

if one of my nephews wants to rep T&T i would not discourage them, but i would rather they play for the country of their birth.
Post by: Big Magician on January 14, 2012, 11:39:38 AM
good luck kid..play de "soccer"...

yuh fadder is ah  legend...  when your decision time comes... think it out...
Post by: Eldo man on January 15, 2012, 04:13:11 AM
Just give de Youth ah White TRINI thing from Down in de west and he go play for we  :laugh:

I wish de man all de best no matter where he play.
Title: Nick DeLeon joins D.C. United with lofty goals & expectations
Post by: Tallman on January 16, 2012, 05:33:02 PM
Nick DeLeon joins D.C. United with lofty goals & expectations
By Martin Shatzer (blackandredunited.com)

Nick DeLeon is an ambitious dude.

I reached D.C. United’s first round pick (seventh overall) at his hotel this afternoon after the team finished up its first official day of the 2012 MLS preseason, and he was forthcoming about his goals for the future. "I want to eventually play for the national team, play in a couple World Cups," DeLeon told me on the phone. But he knows that he has plenty of work to do. And that work started today.

DeLeon is joining a D.C. United team that finished just short of the MLS playoffs last season, but that still finds itself caught in the middle of a rebuilding process with youth all over the roster. And in the coaching staff too. When I asked DeLeon for his impression of Ben Olsen and the rest of the coaching staff so far, he responded initially with just a single word: "Young." The 21-year old attacking midfielder recognizes the value in playing for a coach who can easily relate to his players. "They’re fun to be around," he added.

DeLeon scored 14 goals and nine assists in his two years at the University of Louisville, helping lead the Cardinals to an appearance in the College Cup Final in 2010, and the Quarterfinals in 2011. He brings a winning mentality to the field, and comes to D.C. with the reputation of being a "gamer."

DeLeon played almost exclusively as an outside midfielder for Louisville, and apparently we should expect that to continue this season for United. I asked DeLeon about his preferred position and he suggested that he would "probably fit in as a winger." With the news coming out last week from the Washington Post that Chris Pontius, United’s starting left midfielder, won’t be ready to participate in training until Mar. 1 as he continues to recover from a fractured right tibia suffered in September, DeLeon may even have to start immediately for D.C. The confidence that he conveys seems to hint that DeLeon will be up to the task.

Playing for the national team isn’t DeLeon’s only goal for the future though. The rookie has another lofty goal that might even land him with a spot on the prestigious D.C. United All-Time Best Hair Best 11. "I’ve always dreamt about being able to put my hair back in a ponytail," he said. DeLeon told me that he’s been growing out his hair for over a year, and it’s currently the longest it’s ever been.

Yep. He’ll fit right in.
Post by: Sam on January 17, 2012, 09:45:24 AM
This guy talking like he reach already. School football and pro club is two different leagues, ask Rahim and Lewis.
Post by: Deeks on January 17, 2012, 03:50:01 PM
Sam that is the difference with US and TT. This yuteman speaking with confidence. He eh bragging. TT use to come down on Ato for projecting confidence.  Projecting confidence does not mean yuh "gallerying"
Post by: Flex on January 19, 2012, 06:32:44 PM
A few minutes with D.C. United’s first-round draft pick, Louisville midfielder Nick DeLeon
By Steven Goff (Washington Post)

Louisville midfielder Nick DeLeon, D.C. United’s first-round draft pick, arrived this week in Washington – the city where his father Leroy DeLeon, a striker, toiled for the NASL’s Darts (1970-71) and Diplomats (1974-77).

The elder DeLeon, a native of Trinidad & Tobago, was among the first wave of international players to reach American shores when the NASL launched in 1967. He played 16 years in U.S. leagues, the final four with the MISL’s Phoenix Inferno. His best outdoor season was in 1970 with 15 goals in 20 matches for the Darts. With the Dips, he posted 18 goals and 11 assists in 50 games.

Nick, 21, was born in Arizona, seven years after his father’s career ended. I caught up with the DCU prospect at RFK Stadium on Thursday afternoon:

Did you have any inclination that United was going to draft you?

“I had no idea. I talked to the coaches at the [MLS] combine, but I didn’t get the impression they were going to select me.”

So you came straight here from Louisville after attending the draft in Kansas City?

“I had my stuff packed already. I knew I was going to go somewhere right away for training camp. It was just a matter of where. Nine-hour drive by myself.”

How was the ride?

“Not bad. I was fine, and then I got to D.C. on Saturday night and it went down the tubes. The streets are too confusing. I couldn’t see the signs. I was just driving circles in D.C.”

Did you graduate early from Louisville?

“I have 30 hours left. I’m a sports administration major. I want to pick them up slowly and take some online classes, but right now this is my priority.”

Did you have overseas options?

“I wanted to be in MLS for the first few years, develop my professionalism and then eventually I want to go overseas.”

You are a versatile attacking player, but do you have a best position?

“I’d say outside on the left in midfield. I just like it because when you cut inside, since I’m right-footed, I can bang on the ball all day.”

What do you think you bring to D.C. United?

“I love to get forward and I bring my hard work to the game – working behind the ball, working when you don’t have the ball, working when you have it. Hard work is something Ben [Olsen] preached when I met him at the combine.”

You injured a quadriceps at the combine. How’s it coming along?

“I’m not really feeling it now, so it’s on its way, for sure. Probably another week and I will go full.”

As you probably know, your father played here at RFK Stadium …..

“He played in here? I didn’t know that. This is where the Diplomats played?”

Indeed.

“Wow, that’s crazy. I didn’t even know this building was that old.”

It was built in 1897. That’s a joke. Sort of. How close are you with your dad?

“I keep up with him every now and then. My parents separated my freshman year in high school. My dad remained in Arizona for a few years, but after that, he returned to Trinidad and he’s still there. He’s coaching youth clubs.”

Have you drawn from your father’s past experiences to better prepare yourself for the next level?

“I have his genes, so soccer is in me. He has talked to me about the distractions [off the field] that come about when you become a pro, what it can bring. He went through the same thing – I didn’t ask for details -- and he was telling me he went the wrong way as far as decisions. He has harped on me to just focus, focus, focus on soccer right now because it can take you places.”

What does your mom do?

“She works at PING, the golf company, for like 20 years at their corporate headquarters. [She’s a supervisor.] My dad became a golfer, every weekend. I tried but it’s hard. … She was born and raised in Arizona, just like me. My parents met when my dad was playing indoors there.”

With your Trinidad roots, have you ever visited there?

“I haven’t. My sister has gone, my mom has gone. I’m trying to.”

You are eligible to play for T&T, right?

“Yes. I’m working on it. Getting a passport anyway, just so I have that option available.”

Has the T&T federation reached out to you?

“My agent has talked to them a little bit but we have nothing concrete.”
Post by: Deeks on January 19, 2012, 06:58:35 PM

Huh!!!???!!!
Post by: Flex on January 19, 2012, 07:27:55 PM

Huh!!!???!!!

His agent is a politican, I hope he knows that.....  ;D
Post by: soccerman on January 19, 2012, 10:49:29 PM
At least it sounds like he's weighing his options and that's the smart thing to do right now.
Post by: Deeks on January 19, 2012, 11:12:26 PM

Huh!!!???!!!

His agent is a politican, I hope he knows that.....  ;D

Flex, tell Angus to bring him on the U-23 squad and include in the Olimpic qualifyiers.
Post by: Big Magician on January 19, 2012, 11:40:23 PM
nice read kid...dilly ..well done
Post by: Flex on January 20, 2012, 04:18:45 AM
Deeks, I did.... Nick has been invited, I dont know if Nick knowns, but his agent is a clown, maybe he is looking for money. ?

If anyone has Nick direct contact, please PM me...
Post by: Tallman on February 24, 2012, 02:53:55 PM
http://www.youtube.com/v/O6K4qXaDnIM
Post by: supporter on February 24, 2012, 03:13:11 PM

So, his trini connection is a father who he wished spent more time with him on his football
Post by: Sam on February 24, 2012, 09:05:09 PM

After seeing this video, I feeling really bad.

Good luck to this kid. Now I understand why you not feeling close to T&T...

Sorry to hear Leroy was a f00cking dead beat Dad.....

Its hard growing up without a Dad, even if his wife and him was not together, Leroy should have made it his business to be close with his son/kids.

Ah hope he change his mind and play for T&T though, he seems like ah decent player.

Post by: Flex on March 08, 2012, 03:26:43 PM
Trinidad and Tobago want Nick DeLeon for Olympic Qualifying.
By benuski.

If the sign of a good team is how many of its players are called for their national teams, then D.C. United is going to be a very good team. Obviously Dwyane DeRosario, Hamdi Salihi, Branko Boskovic, Dejan Jakovic, all play for their nationals teams, and if Chris Pontius can get back on his late season form, a callup would not be far off for him either.

In addition, Perry Kitchen, Bill Hamid, and Andy Najar figure to suit up for their countries' Olympic qualifying efforts later this month. And if reports out of Trinidad and Tobago are true, the Soca Warriors want Nick DeLeon as a part of their Olympic qualifying team.

DeLeon's father, Leroy, is a former professional soccer player (including with the Washington Diplomats) and a former member of the Soca Warriors; in 2008, he was inducted into the Trinidad and Tobago Sports Hall of Fame. According to another article, Nick has already been contacted and is willing to play for Trinidad and Tobago, but is waiting on D.C. United to give permission.

If this is true, this would make a fourth player for United that would be out for Olympic qualifiers. However, unlike Andy Najar, Bill Hamid, and Perry Kitchen, DeLeon is not likely to make it out of the group stages. Trinidad and Tobago are in Group B, playing against Mexico, Honduras, and Panama, which makes it extremely likely that one (or both) of him and Najar will only miss the game against the Vancouver Whitecaps.

As I've said in the past, I don't think that you can let some players go for Olympic qualifying without letting all of them go, unless it creates an extreme hardship for the team. Having a second winger out is pushing it, but I would still be fine with letting DeLeon go, if he gets the call.

What do you all think?

(http://cdn2.sbnation.com/entry_photo_images/3264188/136880664_extra_large.jpg)
The newest member of the Soca Warriors?
Post by: MEP on March 08, 2012, 03:47:19 PM
this is what does rile me bout dem american writers never see the play yet casting judgment ....then you have men like Eve who will read that as a coach and won't take it to heart...
Post by: Tenorsaw on March 09, 2012, 09:53:49 AM

Talent ain't everything.  Our locals are spoiled, have inflated egos, and are made to believe that they have made it to the pinnacle of the sport.  They bring poor work ethic to the national team, as a consequence of the poor approach to the game at the club level.  The foreign based bring a bit more of a professional attitude and work ethic to the team.  Truth is truth.
Post by: Sando on March 09, 2012, 10:28:32 AM
Tenorsaw, I agree with you 100%.

And this goes for the coaching to (IE: Angus Eve).

Locals have egos and they are not thinking about the team but as individuals.

They want to get a big pay check and dont want to work hard for it.

Post by: Coop's on March 09, 2012, 02:02:14 PM

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:yu right they in court fighting for their pay check right now.
Post by: elan on March 09, 2012, 03:29:29 PM

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:yu right they in court fighting for their pay check right now.

Daiz because they are greedy, tiefing, selfish people Coop's. Them fellas should just play for ah $2 and ah pack ah nuts. Yuh eh see how JW living simple and he have T&T football on top. Why should player want anything more.
Post by: Observer on March 09, 2012, 04:51:31 PM

Talent ain't everything.  Our locals are spoiled, have inflated egos, and are made to believe that they have made it to the pinnacle of the sport.  They bring poor work ethic to the national team, as a consequence of the poor approach to the game at the club level.  The foreign based bring a bit more of a professional attitude and work ethic to the team.  Truth is truth.

Had the opportunity to sit with the scout who brought Suarez to Holland (Gronigen). He has been to T&T scouting and in his words "Far to many of players want the rewards of professional football, but are not willing to sacrifice & work for it."
Post by: Sando on March 09, 2012, 08:06:34 PM

You are right coops, and who got them to Germany ?

Dont be small minded, no one saying they should play for free, but they have to make it first then talk money as the case with the 06 Warriors. With the locals, they want big money first, hence the reason they want to strike.

They, the under 23 haven't qualified for any official fifa tournament yet. You cant get 5 from St Kitts and want a thousand dollars....

Work, then get pay, not the other way around !!!! money will come.... lets make it to the Olympic first.

The locals also, do not bring a desire to play for T&T. They go to a game in LA, fail and come back to T&T with their heads swell like they reach....

Hope you get it now ?

Post by: Coop's on March 10, 2012, 07:48:20 AM
So what are you saying,they should not be given some sort of compensation unless they qualify for the Olympics?are all these guys employed?how they taking acre of themselves? i'm sure some of them have family/children to take care off,from what i'm seeing with the preparation for the Olympic qualifiers these guys are always in some Camp,friendly games at home and abroad,their employers really like Football to have employees away from their jobs on a regular basis like that,you saying they should not get a salary.

You must tell the 06 Worriors to relax money will come and hear what they will say.This head swell thing is a national thing,both foreign and local players even Coaches does get on and act the same way,as a player they will always feel they reach because they have never been there before,to them it's an achievement so i understand the feeling,did we win the WC look at how we celebrated and those guys was on cloud nine.You watching the 73 and 89 national teams and even after that and saying locals don't bring a desire to play for T&T,if they didn't have any desire you think they would get contracts abroad?always remember everything started at home with local Coaches.

You can't blame the U23's for wanting to strike etc etc because of what's going on with Football in the country today,you eh hear what Sancho and them say they want to make sure future teams don't have to go through what they are going through,a precident is being set so expect more of that in the future.

Post by: Sando on March 10, 2012, 07:55:37 AM
Coops, I think you need a translator or help.

Who saying they should play for free ? and who saying they should be taken advantage off ? they deserve to get paid but how much do they really want is the question. Different level, different pay.

Get help nah coops, you should retire from posting as it obvious your literacy is very low.

And who is talking about the 73 team ? to much money now has changed the game for the worst. The 73 team members each got $500 US and a gold watch from the Haitian government.

And not because Jack Warner took advantage of you and you ran from Trinidad to live in the US now you feel everbody should do the same. Jack made over $200 million on the backs of the 06 Warriors, why not take care of them, if T&T hadn't qualified would he have made this much ?

But I understand some of your points though. In other words, the locals are come see, never see then ?

Post by: Coop's on March 10, 2012, 01:02:42 PM
Coops, I think you need a translator or help.

Who saying they should play for free ? and who saying they should be taken advantage off ? they deserve to get paid but how much do they really want is the question. Different level, different pay.

Get help nah coops, you should retire from posting as it obvious your literacy is very low.

And who is talking about the 73 team ? to much money now has changed the game for the worst. The 73 team members each got $500 US and a gold watch from the Haitian government.

And not because Jack Warner took advantage of you and you ran from Trinidad to live in the US now you feel everbody should do the same. Jack made over $200 million on the backs of the 06 Warriors, why not take care of them, if T&T hadn't qualified would he have made this much ?

But I understand some of your points though. In other words, the locals are come see, never see then ?

:rotfl:you getting personal boy,i realize you can't take old talk but you like to give,please yourself Breds.
Post by: Sando on March 11, 2012, 06:14:31 AM
Sorry coops, I went overboard, just wanted you to understand my take on this.

We cool.

Title: NIck DeLeon goal
Post by: madness on March 19, 2012, 04:24:26 AM
http://p.mlssoccer.com/SAu5a/video/908925/mls_2012-03-18-212325.640hq.mp4
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 19, 2012, 08:38:36 AM
http://p.mlssoccer.com/SAu5a/video/908925/mls_2012-03-18-212325.640hq.mp4

.... hope he does play for us one day ....
Post by: Deeks on March 19, 2012, 03:15:02 PM
nice, Nice!!!!!
Title: Nick DeLeon’s MLS debut for D.C. United a good first impression
Post by: Tallman on March 21, 2012, 07:37:28 PM
Nick DeLeon’s MLS debut for D.C. United a good first impression
By Thomas Floyd (The Washington Times)

If nothing else, D.C. United rookie Nick DeLeon knows how to make a first impression.

Making his professional debut Sunday in United’s 3-1 loss at the Los Angeles Galaxy, the midfielder entered as a 74th-minute substitute for Chris Pontius on the left flank. Thirteen minutes later, he made a diagonal run behind the Galaxy defense, latching onto Marcelo Saragosa’s through ball before curling a shot off the far post and into the back of the net.

While the late goal was trivial in the context of a match that already had been decided, the tally did end a frustrating scoreless drought for United (0-2-0) to start the season. And it showed a peek of what the club has in DeLeon, a first-round pick out of Louisville in January’s MLS SuperDraft.

“He’s acclimated very well so far,” coach Ben Olsen said. “Obviously, the last game was his first taste, and he passed with flying colors. He gave just what we want from our subs: energy. And he ends up getting a very good goal out of it.”

It was a welcome response from DeLeon after the 21-year-old failed to make the 18-man game day roster for United’s season opener against Sporting Kansas City a week earlier. With Pontius and 2010 Rookie of the Year Andy Najar established on the wings, and former Houston Dynamo midfielder Danny Cruz also competing for minutes out wide, DeLeon was the odd man out for that contest.

“I was upset,” DeLeon acknowledged. “But there’s not much you can do except just go back to work in practice and push yourself even harder to prove to the coach that you deserve to be out there. All in all, it turned out to be a good move because it motivated me.”

With Najar now joining the Honduras under-23 national team for the CONCACAF Olympic qualifying tournament, which starts Thursday in Nashville, Tenn., and concludes April 2 in Kansas City, Kan., a door has opened for DeLeon to earn more minutes in the coming weeks, starting with United’s match Saturday at the Vancouver Whitecaps (2-0-0).

While DeLeon prefers to play on the left side so he can cut in toward goal with his natural right foot, he said he would have no qualms about stepping in for Najar on the right if asked to do so, adding, “I’d fill in at any position the coach would put me in. I just want playing time.”

Although DeLeon still is raw in Olsen’s eyes, the second-year coach sees plenty of potential in the Arizona native, whose preseason progress was slowed by a quadriceps strain suffered at the MLS combine.

“He’s got a ways to go, but we’re very excited,” Olsen said. “He’s got very good soccer instincts. He’s a guy who’s pretty fearless. There are not too many weak spots in his game other than that he just needs to play and get minutes and acclimate to all the things the pro level brings. It’s faster - faster players, faster speed of thought and faster speed of play.”

It’s a sentiment shared by DeLeon, who notes he still tends to take one touch too many, thinking he has more time to operate on the ball than he really does.

But considering that DeLeon has all of 16 professional minutes under his belt, he realizes he has plenty of time to adjust.

“I still have a lot of work to do,” DeLeon said. “But I feel like I’m moving in the right direction.”
Post by: Hebaldo on March 22, 2012, 03:08:00 PM
Anyone actually know if he's going to play for Trinidad or if he's decided to try for the United States? because I heard that Klinnsman was looking into him already
Post by: FireBrand on March 22, 2012, 03:29:02 PM
Anyone actually know if he's going to play for Trinidad or if he's decided to try for the United States? because I heard that Klinnsman was looking into him already

He wants to play for USA. T&T is an alternative if things don't work out with the Stars & Stripes.
Post by: Hebaldo on March 22, 2012, 04:48:22 PM
Well lets hope things don't work out then with USA
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 22, 2012, 05:37:20 PM

yeah right ....
Post by: Hebaldo on March 22, 2012, 05:58:28 PM

yeah right ....

Believe what u want but I hear that talks, Klinsmann tell me that himself
Post by: Trinimassive on March 22, 2012, 06:53:07 PM

yeah right ....

Believe what u want but I hear that talks, Klinsmann tell me that himself

You heard that Klinsmann was looking into him, then you say Klinsmann told you that himself.

That is too different statements. Which one is it?

The fella not a starter on the DC United, he not on the US U23 team, but he being looked at for the US National team as told to you by the coach. OK lol
Post by: Hebaldo on March 22, 2012, 09:04:57 PM
Well we go see when the 3 D's attacking us next World Cup qualifying DeLeon, Donovon and Dempsey
Post by: Deeks on March 22, 2012, 09:30:43 PM
So what if he plays for the US? That is HIS country. And Donovan and Dempsey maybe to old for the Russian WC.
Post by: Hebaldo on March 22, 2012, 09:44:34 PM
So what if he plays for the US? That is HIS country. And Donovan and Dempsey maybe to old for the Russian WC.
Relax brudda, I was just thinking it would be nice to get another quality player to the squad.
Post by: Trini _2026 on March 23, 2012, 04:41:53 AM
http://www.youtube.com/v/9qaTQJ2u1oY&list=UUYjTv-40_nhaU5HVy5er3Ug
Post by: soccerman on March 23, 2012, 12:28:28 PM
At least he was kind enough to show up to watch a practice, positive sign :beermug:
Post by: madness on March 23, 2012, 02:41:00 PM
that's very good . de man love trinidad man,
Post by: Cocorite on March 23, 2012, 07:28:18 PM
At least he was kind enough to show up to watch a practice, positive sign :beermug:

Like he doing we a favor awah? Steups
Post by: soccerman on March 23, 2012, 08:24:49 PM

Like he doing we a favor awah? Steups

He didn't have to show up
Post by: Hebaldo on March 23, 2012, 09:09:55 PM
The man really didn't have to show up if he wasn't interested at all though
Post by: Sando on March 23, 2012, 09:22:35 PM
Nice one Shaun and thanks for stopping over Nick.

His father was never there for him, had he been Today Nick might have been on the T&T side.

Post by: Cocorite on March 23, 2012, 09:31:45 PM
The reason for his presence at the event was not disclosed. But if it was out of "kindness" I couldn't think of a more pitiful reason.
Post by: elan on March 23, 2012, 11:41:03 PM
I wonder what he thinking now.
Post by: Hebaldo on March 24, 2012, 09:50:17 AM
I wonder what he thinking now.
Haha after that game I really studying what he thinking right now
Title: De Leon
Post by: truetrini on March 30, 2012, 07:18:36 PM
 score one set up one and hit the bar with a great shot...he is going to get eh attention of Klinsmann
Title: Re: De Leon
Post by: truetrini on March 30, 2012, 07:24:24 PM
DC rampant  4-1 now...oh Lord....Man saying a star is born on NBC and his name is Nick De Leon!

DC wukking Dallas belly
Post by: futbolfan on March 30, 2012, 07:29:42 PM
Yeah this is his break out game for United...
Just before he scored, he had a somewhat tame effort on goal with his left foot from about 10yards.
Post by: truetrini on March 30, 2012, 07:31:08 PM
Just before he scored, he had a somewhat tame effort on goal with his left foot from about 10yards.

he tried to place it..but soon after he had the keeper save a nice shot off the bar and then the goal and the assist came.  He is a hustler too, he always moving looking for the ball
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on March 30, 2012, 07:34:11 PM
score one set up one and hit the bar with a great shot...he is going to get eh attention of Klinsmann

It doesnt help that the US team didnt play well either. Theyll be looking for new young players.
Post by: truetrini on March 30, 2012, 07:37:27 PM
The US team did not play so badly nah...dey were unlucky to tie El Salvador, but he willmake their team I feel
Post by: futbolfan on March 30, 2012, 07:40:21 PM

he tried to place it..but soon after he had the keeper save a nice shot off the bar and then the goal and the assist came.  He is a hustler too, he always moving looking for the ball

United playing much better since Salihi come off.....
Yeah he has been hustling all game. What was great about his goal, was the angle that he scored from.
Post by: truetrini on March 30, 2012, 07:43:26 PM

United playing much better since Salihi come off.....
Yeah he has been hustling all game. What was great about his goal, was the angle that he scored from.

The control, the way he chest the ball down and a simple volley...nice goal
Post by: soccerman on March 31, 2012, 10:48:55 AM
I missed the game but TT it sounds like he had a solid game all around and a key contributor for DC :beermug:
Post by: truetrini on March 31, 2012, 11:00:57 AM
I missed the game but TT it sounds like he had a solid game all around and a key contributor for DC :beermug:

yeah he very mobile and seems intelligent, and we know how much we miss intelligence from our teams.

Would be sad for us if we lose him.  But if he were my son I would be aiming him at the USA team...TTFF and T&T football is too much shit for too long.
Post by: soccerman on March 31, 2012, 07:53:34 PM

yeah he very mobile and seems intelligent, and we know how much we miss intelligence from our teams.

Would be sad for us if we lose him.  But if he were my son I would be aiming him at the USA team...TTFF and T&T football is too much shit for too long.

Yeah as much as I'll like to see him represent us he may have his sights set on the US after learning more about our admin. I wish him well though, he seems very ambitious and his attitude indicates like he wants to work hard to improve. Plus as a bias my partner was one of his coaches at UNLV and speaks highly of him, he even told me he'll be drafted in the MLS and he went 7th in the 1st round.
Post by: Zeppo on April 15, 2012, 03:21:03 AM
DeLeon was the Man of the Match in DC's 2-1 win over New England yesterday:

http://www.mlssoccer.com/matchcenter/2012-04-14-ne-v-dc/recap
Post by: kounty on April 15, 2012, 04:07:02 AM
nice player. so far dominating them mls games like the old stern. not yet but not far off.
Post by: Trini _2026 on April 15, 2012, 06:21:20 AM
DeLeon was the Man of the Match in DC's 2-1 win over New England yesterday:

http://www.mlssoccer.com/matchcenter/2012-04-14-ne-v-dc/recap

he may well break into the US national team in 2013 if he continues playing this well ..... had we made it to the second round he would have been a fine addition .....
Post by: FireBrand on April 15, 2012, 09:40:38 AM
De Leon in time will join the ranks of USA's top players. That kind of talent just can't be denied.
Post by: saint27 on April 17, 2012, 10:34:58 AM
i watched him a couple times in college ball and there he did what he wanted ...very good player we need to try to cap him for the senior squad soon .... he is strong fast technical and works hard ...... since he has been starting DC have not lost
Post by: elan on April 17, 2012, 11:18:28 AM
De Leon in time will join the ranks of USA's top players. That kind of talent just can't be denied.

You will be suprised.
Post by: Pointman on April 17, 2012, 07:49:16 PM

If he is half as good as his father was he'll be ah beast!!!
Post by: Hebaldo on April 22, 2012, 08:01:38 AM

If he is half as good as his father was he'll be ah beast!!!

This man looking like a player already boy ... no denying he have some of his father in him for sure.
'he is one for the future
Post by: Hebaldo on April 22, 2012, 08:02:22 AM
In fact he is one for the present all kinda ting
Post by: FireBrand on April 22, 2012, 03:53:45 PM
Nick and DC United will be on ESPN2 at 6pm if anyone wants to see what we will be missing out on.
Post by: Trini on April 22, 2012, 04:11:27 PM

Not meaning to sound all JFK and all, but the correct question for anyone genuinely connected to Trinidad and Tobago is what they could do for the country.....
Putting on that national shirt should be the greatest honour in the world, even if is crix you getting to eat...

That the difference between Birchall and Zamora.
That the difference between the legions of 1st generation jamaicans in the US and UK compared to trinis.

Post by: Trini _2026 on April 22, 2012, 04:27:55 PM

Not meaning to sound all JFK and all, but the correct question for anyone genuinely connected to Trinidad and Tobago is what they could do for the country.....
Putting on that national shirt should be the greatest honour in the world, even if is crix you getting to eat...

That the difference between the legions of 1st generation jamaicans in the US and UK compared to trinis.

yeah thats why we football in a mess  ... to much crix
Post by: saint27 on April 22, 2012, 05:10:59 PM
he score again ... a good player we will likely miss out on ...takes on players, passes the ball well and is very creative
Post by: Dinner Mints on April 22, 2012, 05:59:20 PM
That's not the difference between Birchall and Zamora.
Post by: Deeks on April 22, 2012, 11:40:11 PM
I did not see him play. But right now, for any body wanting to to play for TT should really comtemplate on how this will impact on their future. We still suffering from the blacklisted fallout. And as much as we have seen some attempts by the current TTFF to do things a little different, unfortunately this has not been good enough for football. Why would Nick want to play for TT? If he ready for vay-kee-vay operations of TT football, he will certainly be welcome. When you see the top class professional organization of the USSF, you really think he will want to toss a coin. The only plus about choosing toplay for TT is that he will PROBABLY be playing more regularly for us than on the US team. PROBABLY! I don't think it looking good for TT getting him. I may be wrong. But I will be pleasantly surprised if he chooses TT.
Post by: Zeppo on April 23, 2012, 02:40:51 AM
he score again ... 

With his weaker foot, too.

Also interesting because the left flank had been Chris Pontius' position, but he was out injured with a broken leg so it freed up the spot for DeLeon. Now Pontius is back and has been moved to forward, where you saw what he did last night. And DeLeon has been excellent on the flank with assists and goals. It's all fallen into place for DC in that regard.

http://www.youtube.com/v/jylHiw5cHOc
Post by: warmonga on April 23, 2012, 10:28:40 AM

Everybody does talk bout what TNT have to offer our players.. Pride is all dat counts.. Look at Jamaica squad yu think dem players getting big money? Pride Jamaicans have Pride in representing there country Jamaica .. where is our Pride..  Listen to war carefully when  My kids reach that point of where I believe they can represent TNT . I will prfer them to represent the red black and white first and foremost. I dont support no player who who has Trini back ground and refuse to represent My birth land .. I am a Trini ...
As much as I love american national team I support My country of Birth TNT.....
Post by: Reggaefan on April 23, 2012, 01:36:42 PM

Everybody does talk bout what TNT have to offer our players.. Pride is all dat counts.. Look at Jamaica squad yu think dem players getting big money? Pride Jamaicans have Pride in representing there country Jamaica .. where is our Pride..  Listen to war carefully when  My kids reach that point of where I believe they can represent TNT . I will prfer them to represent the red black and white first and foremost. I dont support no player who who has Trini back ground and refuse to represent My birth land .. I am a Trini ...
As much as I love american national team I support My country of Birth TNT.....

War, I believe one of the advantage Jamaica has over many coutries is its strong sporting legacy. While we are realtive minnows in world football, our previous appearance at France 98 along with our exploits on world track and field scene makes us a viable option for footballers looking to launch an international career. Outside of Mexico and say the USA, i dont think any other country in CONCACAF has the international sport/culture appeal Jamaica has overseas. New Reggae boy recruit Adrian Miriappa of Watford recently turned down representig another nation to represent Jamaica instead. there is also a battle currently on bwteen Jamaica and Canada for Blackburn striker Junior Hoilette, who is yet to decide. Canada was first to approach him, then the JFF showed interest through his Jamaican dad. word is that he has recently started papaer work to represent Jamaica.
Post by: Big Magician on April 23, 2012, 07:41:32 PM
plus you NEED them players RF
Post by: reggae-fan on April 24, 2012, 03:26:03 AM
plus you NEED them players RF

We sure the hell do if we are to make it to Rio 2014!
Post by: Zeppo on April 26, 2012, 09:03:53 AM
DeLeon heads freshman class

D.C. United's Nick DeLeon is making a strong case early on for MLS Rookie of the Year. In a standout class of young attackers, the son of former Trinidad & Tobago international and NASL star Leroy DeLeon was only taken with the No. 7 pick, but he has been sensational for D.C. United, scoring three goals and adding two assists.

(continue) (http://www.socceramerica.com/article/46472/deleon-heads-freshman-class.html)
Title: Timing, poise lead DeLeon closer to DCU rookie record
Post by: Tallman on April 27, 2012, 04:34:03 AM
Timing, poise lead DeLeon closer to DCU rookie record
By Steven Streff (MLSsoccer.com)

If you listened to the critics during January's MLS SuperDraft, then Nick DeLeon’s selection as the seventh pick by D.C. United was certainly a puzzling one.

He came to the Combine out of the University of Louisville overweight, under-motivated and looking like anything but a top selection.

Looks like DeLeon is having the last laugh.

In just eight games this season, the midfielder has amassed three goals and three assists, while filling the void left early in the season by Andy Najar and Chris Pontius. His play has been integral to D.C.'s early success this season, and after a couple of good games to start his professional career, there’s no sign his performances will drop off.

DeLeon is already closing in on one United record that few gave him a chance to set on draft day. With three goals in MLS play this season, he is just two goals behind the record of five goals for a United rookie, set by Santino Quaranta (2001), Freddy Adu (2004) and Andy Najar (2010). With 26 games remaining, few would now question his ability to break that record.

“Finishes are just going in [right now],” DeLeon told MLSsoccer.com. “You have streaks like that; it’s just part of the game. But what keeps me going every day is coming into training, and putting in extra work, and working hard.”

DeLeon’s latest goal came in club’s 4-1 win over the New York Red Bulls last Sunday. Already leading by two goals, DeLeon was on the receiving end of a Dwayne De Rosario pass in the box, and the 21-year-old fired a shot that deflected off of RBNY defender Markus Holgersson and past goalkeeper Ryan Meara.

“I’ve got to give credit to [De Rosario] on that one,” DeLeon said. “I was just in the right place at the right time. He made a good play on the defender, and I just happened to be at the right spot.”

But it was no accident that DeLeon was in the perfect spot to receive the pass from De Rosario to finish his chance. DeLeon has already developed a knack for finding the right place at the right time, and that anticipation has led to several goals for United this season already.

“The good thing about Nick is that he is humble, but he has a confidence about him that I really like,” De Rosario told MLSsoccer.com. “He knows what he is good at, and while he is still developing and learning the game, what a way to start off your career. We are going to keep giving him confidence, but keep him grounded as well.”

(http://www.mlssoccer.com/sites/league/files/imagecache/620x350/image_nodes/2012/04/deleon.jpg)
Post by: lovingthislife on June 08, 2012, 06:10:37 PM
hey bud, its been a while but its fun to know that Nick is now selected to be voted on by the fans as being worthy of being on the MLS AllStar team http://www.mlssoccer.com/all-star/2012/vote

Killen it