May 16, 2024, 01:17:37 AM

Author Topic: places to play soccer in Trinidad while on Vacation  (Read 3436 times)

Offline dloro

places to play soccer in Trinidad while on Vacation
« on: May 03, 2008, 12:07:03 PM »
Hello all
My name is Davide
My brother and I are vacationing in Trinidad & Tobago for this month of May.
We are visiting family, and are looking to play a few pick up games if possible.
we play mens soccer here in Canada.

Any help in guiding us to fields would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Re: places to play soccer in Trinidad while on Vacation
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2008, 01:19:32 PM »
Hello all
My name is Davide
My brother and I are vacationing in Trinidad & Tobago for this month of May.
We are visiting family, and are looking to play a few pick up games if possible.
we play mens soccer here in Canada.

Any help in guiding us to fields would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

local based..doh stick. invite de men to allyuh weekly sweat

« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2008, 01:36:11 PM »

The big Savannha in town everyday yuh could get ah sweat an somebody to look after yuh wallet

Offline Dr. Rat

• Licks Pass!!!
« Reply #3 on: May 03, 2008, 01:46:23 PM »

The big Savannha in town everyday yuh could get ah sweat an somebody to look after yuh wallet

Be mature f**k face and assist the youth instead of being an ass.
PNM in yuh mudda-in-law

« Reply #4 on: May 03, 2008, 01:54:09 PM »
DAMN!!!

« Reply #5 on: May 03, 2008, 02:18:14 PM »

:devil: :rotfl: for real

« Reply #6 on: May 03, 2008, 02:21:34 PM »
Let us know what  part of the country you stayin 

« Reply #7 on: May 03, 2008, 02:28:41 PM »
best bet...goe stand up in front ah police station...hopefully yuh could get ah sweat dey

« Reply #8 on: May 03, 2008, 02:36:16 PM »
DAMN!!!

ent?...dis place like ah minefield some days oui

well now ah frighten to make ah suggestion

« Reply #9 on: May 03, 2008, 02:43:27 PM »
DAMN!!!

ent?...dis place like ah minefield some days oui

well now ah frighten to make ah suggestion

Refrain from making comments like this  ::)  :devil:

best bet...goe stand up in front ah police station...hopefully yuh could get ah sweat dey

« Reply #10 on: May 03, 2008, 02:48:39 PM »
Go to the Queens Park Savannah, on afternoons they does sweat there. Most of us here are based in the USA. Maybe some local poster will help further.

Maracus Beach we play football there too...
« Last Edit: May 03, 2008, 02:55:04 PM by Flex »

« Reply #11 on: May 03, 2008, 03:29:50 PM »
if allyuh doh no ah place is best allyuh hush . d man 1st post and look at some ah d replies. dloro i from bago but  from when i was in trini, UWI grounds does have some sweat going on.

« Reply #12 on: May 03, 2008, 03:40:26 PM »
dloro, welcome to the forum.

I hope you have a great time on your vacation to Trinidad (and hopefully Tobago as well is on your agenda).

During the week, there are various pickup games in the Queens Park Savannah where you can pretty much go and get a game. You should get there for about 5pm and I'm sure for the most part everyone there will be accomodating when they hear your American accent. If you can come with a friend better yet so as not to throw off the numbers in the teams.  The savannah is very big, but I would suggest you start your search from the area opposite the top of Marli Street, or opposite TGI Fridays.

Also you can find some games in King George V park which is opposite the Queens Park Oval.

If you are in the eastern part of the island, you can also find some good game at UWI grounds, or Eddie Hart Savannah and the same goes for the weekends. Eddie Hart has lights, so the games start there and go on late into the night as well.

PM me your details letting me know where you will be based, and I can try to link you with a couple people who play beforehand so that you don't have to go in blind.

ps: In trinidad, as is the case everywhere else in the real world outside of America, we call it Football not Soccer..  ;D
« Last Edit: May 03, 2008, 03:43:23 PM by omarldinho »

Offline dloro

« Reply #13 on: May 03, 2008, 04:02:55 PM »
Thanks for the replies.
Hopefully I can get my cousins to drive me around.

« Reply #14 on: May 04, 2008, 06:51:14 AM »

I hope you have a great time on your vacation to Trinidad (and hopefully Tobago as well is on your agenda).

During the week, there are various pickup games in the Queens Park Savannah where you can pretty much go and get a game. You should get there for about 5pm and I'm sure for the most part everyone there will be accomodating when they hear your American accent.

Omar..I know the accents very similar, but de fellas say dey coming from Canada  :devil:

« Reply #15 on: May 04, 2008, 07:13:49 AM »
DLORO, welcome to the BESTEST FOOTBALL forum

check this thread for some sweats
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=33028.msg383095#msg383095
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #16 on: May 04, 2008, 08:19:10 AM »
Dloro/Davide

Welcome to the forum.

The link below by west coast as well as the post by Omarlidinho should answer most of your questions.

PLease follow the rules of "sweat etiquette" in order to make your game an enjoyable one and to ensure future participation.

Your best bet is King George the VI park in ST. CLair or the Queens Park Savannah. Go there at 4:30-4:45 on most days except Friday. That is a drinking day in Trinidad.

Most pickup games are small goal in nature. A goal measuring anywhere from 1-3 feet in size. Very rarely would you find a pickup game utilizing a full field and regulation size goalposts. These games are usually organized in nature and are club affiliated.

Additionally all of the fields in TT are in poor condition. We are in the dry season so a cleat is not necessary. A turf shoe or sneaker would be your footwear of choice. Walk with a white and coloured jersey and have fun.

« Reply #17 on: May 04, 2008, 08:53:56 AM »

You probably just like the original Dr Rat , balls get blown away on St Vincent st . Why you dont dive back into yuh hole an keep yuh trap shut AHOLE

Offline Dr. Rat

• Licks Pass!!!
« Reply #18 on: May 04, 2008, 08:57:58 AM »

You probably just like the original Dr Rat , balls get blown away on St Vincent st . Why you dont dive back into yuh hole an keep yuh trap shut AHOLE

Thats all yuh have yuh cat hole.  A new member come on the forum and yuh go talk that shit.  Ah sure yuh parents taught you better..f**kin bonito.
PNM in yuh mudda-in-law

« Reply #19 on: May 04, 2008, 09:51:59 AM »

« Reply #20 on: May 04, 2008, 10:12:28 AM »

Thats all yuh have yuh cat hole.  A new member come on the forum and yuh go talk that shit.  Ah sure yuh parents taught you better..f**kin bonito.

Yuh have some kinda cyber runnings or what ?
Go f**k ah duck .

« Reply #21 on: May 04, 2008, 10:52:44 AM »

During the week, there are various pickup games in the Queens Park Savannah where you can pretty much go and get a game. You should get there for about 5pm and I'm sure for the most part everyone there will be accomodating when they hear your American accent.

Omar..I know the accents very similar, but de fellas say dey coming from Canada  :devil:

Filho, which part Canada is ???

« Reply #22 on: May 04, 2008, 10:57:12 AM »

Filho, which part Canada is ???

Most trini's (including myself) can't tell the difference. American or Canadian accent