May 03, 2024, 12:57:47 PM

Author Topic: Which locals will survive the Foreign invasion  (Read 6513 times)

Which locals will survive the Foreign invasion
« on: May 10, 2005, 10:34:24 AM »
"**** not walk out, Eat your biscuit and shut your mouth"

Foreign Squad For Training Camp.

Goalkeepers.
Clayton Ince (Crewe Alexandra), Kelvin Jack (Dundee FC), Shaka Hislop (Portsmouth).

Defenders.
Avery John (New England Revolution), Brent Sancho (Dundee FC), Dennis Lawrence (Wrexham), Derek Phillips (Shamrock Rovers), Ian Cox (Gillingham), Leslie Fitzpatrick (Real Salt Lake), Marlon Rojas (Real Salt Lake), Marvin Andrews (Glasgow Rangers).

Midfielders.
Brent Rahim (Falkirk FC), Dwight Yorke (Sydney FC), Christopher Birchall (Port Vale), Carlos Edwards (Wrexham), David Nakhid (Al Mabarrah), Kenwyne Jones (Stoke City), Silvio Spann (Yokohama FC).

Forwards.
Collin Samuel (Dundee United), Cornell Glen (Columbus Crew), Hector Sam (Wrexham), Jason Scotland (Dundee United), Stern John (Coventry City).

Local Squad For Training Camp.

Goalkeepers.
Duarance Williams (San Juan Jabloteh), Hasely Holder (Unattached).

Defenders.
Atiba Charles (W Connection), Dwayne Jack (Tobago United), Derek King (Joe Public), Keyeno Thomas (San Juan Jabloteh), Nigel Daniel (San Juan Jabloteh).

Midfielders.
Angus Eve (San Juan Jabloteh), Aurtis Whitley (San Juan Jabloteh), Arnold Dwarika (W Connection), Densill Theobold (Caledonia AIA Fire), Gary Glasgow (Unattached), Kerry Baptiste (San Juan Jabloteh), Michael Celestine (San Juan Jabloteh), Trent Noel (San Juan Jabloteh).

Forwards.
Anthony Wolfe (North East Stars), Nigel Pierre (San Juan Jabloteh).
« Last Edit: May 10, 2005, 10:41:04 AM by maxg »

Re: Which locals will survive the Foreign invasion
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2005, 11:02:40 AM »
The Local midfield contingent looking stronger than the foreign one.  By far.

Foreign-based Midfielders.
Brent Rahim (Falkirk FC), Dwight Yorke (Sydney FC), Christopher Birchall (Port Vale), Carlos Edwards (Wrexham), David Nakhid (Al Mabarrah), Kenwyne Jones (Stoke City), Silvio Spann (Yokohama FC).

Locally -based Midfielders.
Angus Eve (San Juan Jabloteh), Aurtis Whitley (San Juan Jabloteh), Arnold Dwarika (W Connection), Densill Theobold (Caledonia AIA Fire), Gary Glasgow (Unattached), Kerry Baptiste (San Juan Jabloteh), Michael Celestine (San Juan Jabloteh), Trent Noel (San Juan Jabloteh).

« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2005, 11:07:37 AM »
which locals stronger than Yorke, Jones, Edwards and Spann? 
Eve  ???

« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2005, 11:14:54 AM »
"**** not walk out, Eat your biscuit and shut your mouth"

Foreign Squad For Training Camp.

Goalkeepers.
Clayton Ince (Crewe Alexandra), Kelvin Jack (Dundee FC), Shaka Hislop (Portsmouth).

Defenders.
Avery John (New England Revolution), Brent Sancho (Dundee FC), Dennis Lawrence (Wrexham), Derek Phillips (Shamrock Rovers), Ian Cox (Gillingham), Leslie Fitzpatrick (Real Salt Lake), Marlon Rojas (Real Salt Lake), Marvin Andrews (Glasgow Rangers).

Midfielders.

Forwards.
Collin Samuel (Dundee United), Cornell Glen (Columbus Crew), Hector Sam (Wrexham), Jason Scotland (Dundee United), Stern John (Coventry City).

Local Squad For Training Camp.

Goalkeepers.
Duarance Williams (San Juan Jabloteh), Hasely Holder (Unattached).

Defenders.
Atiba Charles (W Connection), Dwayne Jack (Tobago United), Derek King (Joe Public), Keyeno Thomas (San Juan Jabloteh), Nigel Daniel (San Juan Jabloteh).

Midfielders.

Forwards.
Anthony Wolfe (North East Stars), Nigel Pierre (San Juan Jabloteh).

Foreign vs Local eh?

And here I was thinkin all dis time all a dem was Trinis wit de possible exception of Birchall who still choosin to take a chance to represent we.

Oh well.....

« Reply #4 on: May 10, 2005, 11:27:55 AM »
which locals stronger than Yorke, Jones, Edwards and Spann? 
Eve  ???

Yorke and Spann, yes, they on point.  Jones and Edwards spots up for grabs right now.  Neither of them show anything yet. 

« Reply #5 on: May 10, 2005, 11:42:44 AM »

Foreign vs Local eh?

And here I was thinkin all dis time all a dem was Trinis wit de possible exception of Birchall who still choosin to take a chance to represent we.

Oh well.....

Not my Term, is this board term..When people say we should be playing with an all-local squad, as opposed to our best squad. The suggestion, implied a differentation. For me, I choosing the best squad. When the best squad is chosen, people saying how local youths getting diss and mess up, cause they showing up for practice, and not getting pick. Again, seperation. I just referring then to the language that posters unnerstan.
Nuff man ride Jamaica bout how dey bring back Brits to make it. I say, Jamaica went WC.
"Doh jump on horse back, if all yuh ever ride before is bicycle" for sure yuh go end up on yuh bam-bam , yet yuh could always get up and keep trying.

« Reply #6 on: May 10, 2005, 12:16:36 PM »
Well i know there will be a local vs foreign  training game

« Reply #7 on: May 10, 2005, 12:34:41 PM »
Dis is de 22 I would have based on:

1 - De names given in de lead post

2 - On who I have seen play

Goalies:
Ince
Jack
(I eh feel Shaka comin back in time fuh de Guatemala game)

Defence
Dog
Avery
Sancho
Atiba
Keyeno
Nigel Daniel
(woulda be nice to see Ian Gray in dah mix)

Midfield
Tiger
Carlos Edwards
Kenwyne Jones
Spann
Multiple name Whitley
Dwarika
Theobold
Celestine
Eve

Strikers
Yorke
Pierre
Glenn
Stern
Wolfe

Never see Birchall so ah cyah comment but he in de mix.  At de expense of who is de ting.  Seeing dat he is apparently a right sided midfielder, it may mean dat he in direct competition wit Carlos Edwards and Angus Eve fuh a spot.  If he dat good...maybe de shock of dis trainin might see Angus eliminated.  Beenie man have some interestin choices to mek.

« Reply #8 on: May 10, 2005, 01:01:09 PM »
All this talk about Local vs Foreign is very amatureish,i think we all want the best possible players to represent our national team,having said so how would you determine which is the best players to represent the country,if you ask any one each one will come up with different squads and give you reasons why,my conclusion to this is the best team/players/squad are the ones that win,if you win people going to hush their mouths,i just find we does if and but too much.Lets get on with the job and move forward.

« Reply #9 on: May 10, 2005, 01:09:41 PM »
my conclusion to this is the best team/players/squad are the ones that win

But we cannot win unless we pick the best squad.  Picking squad comes first, winning follows not the other way around.  And we will never know the best team because we don't play enough friendlies to test various combinations so the what ifs and buts are all we have

« Reply #10 on: May 10, 2005, 01:25:47 PM »
It's a ongoing problem for T&T to get a squad together on a regular basis to train and play friendlys,how often can we do it?it's very costly,so is like you will never know who can play with who,is not like players are not good but they just don't understand each other,this is where the quessing game comes in and they loose confidence.

« Reply #11 on: May 10, 2005, 02:08:09 PM »

UK season almost done and everybody should be available for training and "warm up" games. 

The weeks/months coming up is the most important time to have them games lined up.
I doh think he care who have big name or reputation or past performance....is whoever bring it on the training pitch and whatever smalll games we have.

Is only if you see them things you could make a good guess.
Who woulda think Anton would get drop....anybody see those training sessions?

« Reply #12 on: May 10, 2005, 02:11:22 PM »
I like the fact that it is PERFORMANCE and not reputation that is Beenine man vibes.  Panama have a rude awakening to get come June 4th

« Reply #13 on: May 10, 2005, 03:07:25 PM »
I think Leo made a good move by dropping someone (Anton) that had been playing regularly under BSC.  This way the rest of locals would see that it is truly a level playing field and what counts is how you performing NOW and they would be inspired to give 100%.

I may have chosen to drop Derek King instead of Anton but de sun real making warm these days and we can't only depend on WASA for a regular water supply.

« Reply #14 on: May 10, 2005, 03:17:33 PM »
Never see Birchall so ah cyah comment but he in de mix. At de expense of who is de ting. Seeing dat he is apparently a right sided midfielder, it may mean dat he in direct competition wit Carlos Edwards

does Carlos ever play wingback at Wrexham?

« Reply #15 on: May 10, 2005, 03:46:39 PM »
In reply to DWN

I think Carlos mostly plays wingback at Wrexham if I'm not mistaken but I could be wrong.

Normally for T&T he plays right side midfield, almost a winger a la Beckham in his Man U days.

Not comparing Carlos to Beckham...just the position.

« Last Edit: May 10, 2005, 04:29:45 PM by palos »

« Reply #16 on: May 10, 2005, 03:57:52 PM »
I really don't have a clue who to pick. But based on the Dutch backdround of the coaches, as well, as there past experience  (year of coaching and playing, I saw Wim play for Cosmos)
Locals I feel will make, mind you I haven't seen many of the locals, so a lot of this is based on hearsay, and second hand info. In no way this could be a prediction or best team for me, this a just whom I think will perform in tryouts. (ah brakesin plenty to say who,ent?)
Williams,
Charles,Thomas, Daniel
Dwarika, Eve, Whitley
Pierre
picking another 14
Ince
Rojas, John,Jones,(Dog or Lawrence, or King)
Edwards, Birchall,Tiger, Spann, Yorke,Rahim
John,Sam, Glen

I woulda ah still put Anton up dey

« Reply #17 on: May 10, 2005, 04:30:36 PM »
nah breds, cyah leave out theobald dry so, he's one of the up and coming stars in T&T.  Unless he's still not 100% fit

« Reply #18 on: May 10, 2005, 04:41:47 PM »
I have to think that the POSSIBLE primary reason Anton Pierre was dropped was because of the position he played under BSC which was Right Wing Back.

We all know Anton's strength's which are superior ability to read the game (at least of the players we have), strong tackler, good (not great) in the air, will give you 100% at all times, and has a hard shot from a free kick.

Similarly, we all know his weaknesses....slow, cannot pass the ball well, doesn't have good recovery time, not very athletic, gets caught out of position(especially at wing back).

Based on his strengths and weaknesses...the position and requirements of the modern Wing Back do not suit Anton Pierre whatsoever.

The modern wing back has to be

1- Athletic
2- Fast
3- Extremely fit
4- Able to recover QUICKLY when caught out of position
5- Put pressure on the opposing winger/wide player both offensively and defensively

Anton is none of those.  It is why Cyd Gray was presisted with for so long and may yet make more appearances because he has the PHYSICAL tools required for the position.  Sadly the mental side of his game is a CON that to date far outweighs any PRO's he has for that position.

Anton's strength's are in my opinion better sutied to a central defensive position.

By the way..this is not a total criticism of BSC.  It may very well be that BSC had to play who was availabe knowing quite well that Anton wasn't the BEST person for the job but the fact that Anton would fight and gave 100% at al times may have been enough for BSC to go with him.

« Last Edit: May 10, 2005, 04:44:34 PM by palos »

Offline rocwell

« Reply #19 on: May 10, 2005, 05:45:15 PM »
...Similarly, we all know his weaknesses....slow, cannot pass the ball well, doesn't have good recovery time, not very athletic, gets caught out of position(especially at wing back).

I would imagine that this combination of weaknesses would be the death knell for any player at any position.  As such, perhaps his exclusion is not at all surprising.

« Reply #20 on: May 10, 2005, 06:29:45 PM »
After the performance tonight, cut dem all and start over.

« Reply #21 on: May 10, 2005, 06:30:41 PM »
The modern wing back has to be

1- Athletic
2- Fast
3- Extremely fit
4- Able to recover QUICKLY when caught out of position
5- Put pressure on the opposing winger/wide player both offensively and defensively

This is why ah moving Jones back to where he should be playing...Because he young, good and has attacking abilities doesn't make his best position forWARD, jus because some desperate English coaches think so. Most goals he score with is head, not deft skills, and nose for goal, ability..
Ah pretty sure Leo and Kenwyn wil realize this..

« Reply #22 on: May 10, 2005, 09:05:38 PM »
Based on today's assessment 'fun' match,/ free fuh all, sweat match/ .Call it what yuh like  because apparently some people eh worry to much about at ; yuh know we ole talk 'dat was ONLY ' a...........'' de real match go be different....... Dat is like saying BSC was just a...... fun coach man dat was not real now we bring in a real coach now we go see.....

Anyhow based on all dat from today's game, which local players have de best chance  of moving on? all yuh think that Jagdeosingh may get a call back?
« Last Edit: May 10, 2005, 10:51:41 PM by AlbertaTrini »

« Reply #23 on: May 11, 2005, 07:42:14 AM »
From yesterdays performance

This will be the squad

Goalkeepers.
Clayton Ince (Crewe Alexandra), Kelvin Jack (Dundee FC)

Defenders.
Avery John (New England Revolution), Brent Sancho (Dundee FC),  Ian Cox (Gillingham), Leslie Fitzpatrick (Real Salt Lake), Marvin Andrews (Glasgow Rangers).

Midfielders.
Dwight Yorke (Sydney FC), Christopher Birchall (Port Vale), Carlos Edwards (Wrexham), David Nakhid (Al Mabarrah), Kenwyne Jones (Stoke City), Silvio Spann (Yokohama FC).

Forwards.
Cornell Glen (Columbus Crew), Hector Sam (Wrexham), Jason Scotland (Dundee United), Stern John (Coventry City).

Local Squad For Training Camp

Defenders.
Atiba Charles (W Connection),Keyeno Thomas (San Juan Jabloteh),

Midfielders.
Angus Eve (San Juan Jabloteh), Aurtis Whitley (San Juan Jabloteh), Arnold Dwarika (W Connection), Densill Theobold (Caledonia AIA Fire)

Of these players I fee lthe starting 11 for Panama will be

Ince

Cox, Andrews, Avery

Birchal/Edwards, Theobold, Spann,Seaton, Tiger

Glenn, Yorke

« Reply #24 on: May 11, 2005, 07:03:09 PM »
That eleven looks feasible, Atiba for Cox and Stern for Glen might be other possibilities.