May 15, 2024, 01:04:38 PM

Author Topic: Trinidad and Tobago- Fastest growing economy in the Western Hemisphere  (Read 17490 times)

Re: Trinidad and Tobago- Fastest growing economy in the Western Hemisphere
« Reply #30 on: April 16, 2008, 04:15:18 PM »
Good Evening,
                    A lot of us do not realize that the driving force behind TT  "vibrant economy is oil and natural gas". There have been and they are still trying to diversify, Methanol,Amonia etc. But there is some controversy to the expansion of the industrial expansion as in the Aluminum  in Labrea and the other plant down south. Some people don't want the expansion, siting health reason, the longevity of the supply of local natural gas etc. Manufacturing is out of the question. China, Viet Nam and East Asia have that cornered

The attempt to make POS a financial center is commendable, but downtown POS is dirty, full of vagrants and inhospitable at night. How is this going to work. Is it  a safe envirnment for foreigners? You know if one of them get shot, TT will be on every International news outlet as a very dangerous place to do business.

Who are we competing with for this financial center? Miami, Kingston, Bridgetown, Panama? Or are we hoping people will come and invest? When outside investers look at Dubai and POS, will they says they prefer TT? Why? What are the incentives for them to invest in POS??

Also, what about the IT field. Software development. Where does TT fit in this industry? Can UTT/UWI development the current body of students into a high tech entity?

Can any of you financial and economics experts on this forum answer these questions?

« Reply #31 on: April 16, 2008, 04:17:32 PM »
Growing pains rotato...and show me the evidence of governmental malfeasance under Patrick Manning or shut up!

I would like to show u the evidence but it is classified..however if u go to the Latin America Monitor and the World Economic Forum...you will find evidence of the sheer dominance of Barbados and British investment available to the civilian population...

http://www.latinamericamonitor.com/file/7280/barbados.html

http://www.gcr.weforum.org/ - barbados ranked 50th  trini 84th

steups

« Reply #32 on: April 16, 2008, 04:55:14 PM »

Allyuh doh get tie up with this diversification eh.... Diversification is a nice word thrown around in the business world and it's highly overrated. A company/country has to dedicate it's resources to areas in which it has a competitive advantage. Diversification is great when yuh dealing with financial assets & returns, but with respect to allocation of productive assets, a focus on diversification could actually be counter-productive given it's potential to shift resources away from areas of competitive/comparative advantage.

...or conversely if your doing brisk business selling Adidas and the outlook isn't too bright to just wed yourself to that one product...you might look into diversifying your line by selling Pumas too  ;)

« Reply #33 on: April 16, 2008, 05:04:53 PM »

The attempt to make POS a financial center is commendable, but downtown POS is dirty, full of vagrants and inhospitable at night. How is this going to work. Is it  a safe envirnment for foreigners? You know if one of them get shot, TT will be on every International news outlet as a very dangerous place to do business.

Who are we competing with for this financial center? Miami, Kingston, Bridgetown, Panama? Or are we hoping people will come and invest? When outside investers look at Dubai and POS, will they says they prefer TT? Why? What are the incentives for them to invest in POS??

POS can become a financial center without foreigners even having to step one foot in Trinidad's direction, let alone inside Trinidad itself.  Just look at Switzerland, The Caymans et al.

Investors can look at Dubai, or they can look at POS...one economy is fairly static and tied to one industry (Dubai, oil).  The other is a burgeoning economy that is rapidly expanding into several different (albeit related) sectors.  If you are an investor in North America or South America...Europe even...would you want to do business in a place closer to your own time frame...or do you want to do business with a country that's on a completely different clock, half a world away?

Trinidad remains attractive for several reasons...not the least of which being political stability.

« Reply #34 on: April 16, 2008, 06:30:14 PM »

Allyuh doh get tie up with this diversification eh.... Diversification is a nice word thrown around in the business world and it's highly overrated. A company/country has to dedicate it's resources to areas in which it has a competitive advantage. Diversification is great when yuh dealing with financial assets & returns, but with respect to allocation of productive assets, a focus on diversification could actually be counter-productive given it's potential to shift resources away from areas of competitive/comparative advantage.

...or conversely if your doing brisk business selling Adidas and the outlook isn't too bright to just wed yourself to that one product...you might look into diversifying your line by selling Pumas too  ;)

Oh don't get me wrong...I'm not saying there's no merit to product diversification...it would be idiotic to make such an assertion...but for those who are quick to jump out and say that our economy isn't diversified enough because of observations regarding revenue stream proportions from our book of exports, may be prematurely making assumptions without knowledge of the where our comparative advantages lie..... The "jack of all trades" model of the early economists holds the most merit in economic environments characterized by heavy trade and informational barriers.... 

« Reply #35 on: April 16, 2008, 07:54:20 PM »

The attempt to make POS a financial center is commendable, but downtown POS is dirty, full of vagrants and inhospitable at night. How is this going to work. Is it  a safe envirnment for foreigners? You know if one of them get shot, TT will be on every International news outlet as a very dangerous place to do business.

POS can become a financial center without foreigners even having to step one foot in Trinidad's direction, let alone inside Trinidad itself. Just look at Switzerland, The Caymans et al.

Investors can look at Dubai, or they can look at POS...one economy is fairly static and tied to one industry (Dubai, oil). The other is a burgeoning economy that is rapidly expanding into several different (albeit related) sectors. If you are an investor in North America or South America...Europe even...would you want to do business in a place closer to your own time frame...or do you want to do business with a country that's on a completely different clock, half a world away?

Trinidad remains attractive for several reasons...not the least of which being political stability.

Ah hear ya eh, buh yuh ent think that's too rosy of a pic? Trinidad is only marginally politically stable.

Further, there is an expanse between us and say, Vanuatu where the financial environment is liberally closed and conservatively maintained. On the other hand, the Cayman Islands have a firm compliance environment. Yet, in both instances they have carved out a niche of some sort.

I don't think our legal culture or environment will lend itself to or support the sort of secrecy etc that tends to accompany offshore financial investment. I do think that to get to the point of attracting positive investment we can't get around the issues raised by Deeks.

« Reply #36 on: April 16, 2008, 08:32:51 PM »
what de hell you mean we marginally politically stable?

We doh have free and fair elections?  Are we facing a coup?  Do we have military juntas?

Please explain because I damn stupid.

We as stable as the damn US.

And deeks point may be valid now, but where in the developed FREE world do you NOT have vagrants?

The government is taking steps to clean up the down town area and the opposition makes a meal of it.

PUHLEEZE!

The GORTT is doing great things downtown POS!

The clean up will come, the water taxis are in place, the infrastructure is being built, high speed rail new buses, affordable transport..what allyuh want MIRACLES?

« Reply #37 on: April 16, 2008, 09:07:26 PM »
I want miracles .......I thought u doh believe anyways ...don t we make enough to live like the Kuwaits? as yet ,and my question was how much US we make ah day from oil .

« Reply #38 on: April 16, 2008, 10:51:13 PM »
Oh don't get me wrong...I'm not saying there's no merit to product diversification...it would be idiotic to make such an assertion...but for those who are quick to jump out and say that our economy isn't diversified enough because of observations regarding revenue stream proportions from our book of exports, may be prematurely making assumptions without knowledge of the where our comparative advantages lie..... The "jack of all trades" model of the early economists holds the most merit in economic environments characterized by heavy trade and informational barriers.... 

yuh lost mih on de last line...I'z ah man collect mih '2' in POB and was happy to ride on to Spanish at 'A' Levels  :rotfl:

Nah seriously ...I follow you, some of us are wedded to old paradigms so it seems that by shoring up our competitive edge in the one industry where we are a rising force within the hemisphere, for them it's still hanging too tough on the coattails of oil.  We all know oil is not a renewable resource so many find that worrisome, but as you say...well imply, that's a superficial analysis of the situation.

If I read you right.

« Reply #39 on: April 16, 2008, 11:02:29 PM »
Ah go leh Deeks handle de vagrants.

We are marginally politically stable. Free and fair elections are not incompatible with the quality of our political stability.

Are we facing a coup? Not so far as today's Express has reported.

We doh need a military junta to qualify for political instability. In fact, many countries with juntas are/have been rock solid stable.

what de hell you mean we marginally politically stable?

We doh have free and fair elections? Are we facing a coup? Do we have military juntas?

Please explain because I damn stupid.

We as stable as the damn US.

I doh think the data supports that.

« Reply #40 on: April 16, 2008, 11:08:32 PM »
Ah hear ya eh, buh yuh ent think that's too rosy of a pic? Trinidad is only marginally politically stable.

Further, there is an expanse between us and say, Vanuatu where the financial environment is liberally closed and conservatively maintained. On the other hand, the Cayman Islands have a firm compliance environment. Yet, in both instances they have carved out a niche of some sort.

I don't think our legal culture or environment will lend itself to or support the sort of secrecy etc that tends to accompany offshore financial investment. I do think that to get to the point of attracting positive investment we can't get around the issues raised by Deeks.

Marginally stable??  I'll do the diplomatic thing and wait for your explanation before I dismiss it out of hand.  We are a nation of foolish, narrow-minded, pompous, showy and shallow politicians...but we ent dotish.  Unless you know something the rest of us and the good folks in Langley don't know...political instability is the least of our concerns.

Lol, you doh think what? We legal culture and environment??? We have one of those?  When last Sabga and Habib and Khouri and conjure up any other "syrian" name yuh could think of...when last dem fellas and dem had tuh open up dey books?  You honestly believe that if the government wanted to craft the types of tax shelters and privacy laws necessary to attract the monied classes in their ever increasing paranoid quest for discretion...that the laws won't be on the books by next week?

Trinidad is blessed with many resources, not the least of which being the 98% literate population and the high number of educated individuals working well below their capacities.  That only stands to increase should people take the government up on the offer and take their black, brown and mocha asses to University and get their edumacation on.

Trinidad is blessed almost beyond measure, booming oil has brought renewed prosperity to the country and we have an opportunity to make things well for the next 100 yrs and beyond IF the gov't does the right thing by investing heavily in social programs to give the downtrodden, not just hope...but real opportunities.  We also need to invest heavily in infrastructure, and not just the physical infrastructure (but that too w/o doubt).  I literally could go on for days typing....little things like roads...you go thru POS and the roads are almost cupped...crowned in the middle b/c we still adding layers of pitch on top of pitch whenever it's time to resurface, instead of grading the road down and laying fresh on a level surface.  Why is POS still prone to flooding?  and de Croisee?  So yeah, we have a lot to do with regards to physical infrastructure.

But that aside, we have a lot of talent and underemployed people with solid IT skills....I know the technology college is coming, but like Deeks said we need to develop that sector too.  San Francisco have Silicon Alley...no reason why Trinidad cyah have Sugar Cane or Cascadu Alley  :rotfl:

Nah man, we sitting on a lot of potential which is why, berate him for going about it the wrong way if yuh want...but ah like Manning idea of this Vision 2020 thing.

« Reply #41 on: April 16, 2008, 11:10:14 PM »
I want miracles .......I thought u doh believe anyways ...don t we make enough to live like the Kuwaits? as yet ,and my question was how much US we make ah day from oil .
You'd have to look at current output...number of barrels per day that kinda thing.  I'm sure it's out there, but I don't have that info readily at hand.

« Reply #42 on: April 16, 2008, 11:27:19 PM »
You'd have to look at current output...number of barrels per day that kinda thing.  I'm sure it's out there, but I don't have that info readily at hand.
Well until we find that out were just fondling with our own genitalia .

« Reply #43 on: April 16, 2008, 11:47:19 PM »
Well until we find that out were just fondling with our own genitalia .

I fail to see what that have to do with anything....but you on yuh own with that one anyways, lol

« Reply #44 on: April 16, 2008, 11:51:47 PM »
I don't want to take this down a quantitative path - particularly because my assessment is not based inherently on quantitative data, but you guys should have a look at some quantitative composites available through the World Bank's Governance material, the IMF, the UN, specialist political risk agencies and projects such as Boston University's human development project that refer to political stability on an index. The latter, for instance, draws on work by an IMF economist covering social fractionalization and political instability.

Bakes, the good folks in suburban Virginia work in both directions ... to the inclusion of names unconjured.

I have nothing further to render with respect to my qualitative perspective.

EDIT: Ah lie :D ... let me put it this way, we are not within a comfortable margin of stability.
« Last Edit: April 17, 2008, 08:06:15 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #45 on: April 17, 2008, 02:15:59 AM »

To create wealth, we either:

1) dig it (mining i.e natural resources)
2) grow it (agriculture)
3) make it (manufacturing)

All other 'wealth creation' in the service industries rely on the primary wealth creation industries.

Yes, some nations/cities have 100% service industries such as tourism or banking - but they rely on an influx of wealth that is generated from the first three.

If you look at this in context of T&T, we seem to be doing well with number 1 and to a lesser extent, number 3.

But look what happen with number 2.  From what I saw last year when I visited, agriculture has been allowed to go down the drain.  I saw acres of prime farmland all gone to waste.

If we want to diversify, agriculture is where we need to go.  A nation like T&T should not be relying on imports to meet our food requirements.

« Reply #46 on: April 17, 2008, 03:37:41 AM »
I would agree with that with commodity prices at record highs and Trinidad Coffee and Cocoa (not cocaine) rated at the worlds best it is sad that we seem to negelct agriculture as a viable industry to be developed especially as it has the possibilty to help some of the most impoverished people out.

On the possibilty of Trinidad becoming a international financial center I can say it is not impossible but it will be very difficult as we will be competing directly with Cayman Islands and having worked there for 9 months we have no chance at the present moment. We need a wholesale change to our legislation which at present doesnt look like its going to happen. Cayman has no income tax and is an extremely safe island and being a crown colony has a Triple A rating doing business there is a joy and so effortless. Certainly a model Trinidad can try and emulate.

« Reply #47 on: April 17, 2008, 03:49:50 AM »

On the possibilty of Trinidad becoming a international financial center I can say it is not impossible but it will be very difficult as we will be competing directly with Cayman Islands and having worked there for 9 months we have no chance at the present moment. We need a wholesale change to our legislation which at present doesnt look like its going to happen. Cayman has no income tax and is an extremely safe island and being a crown colony has a Triple A rating doing business there is a joy and so effortless. Certainly a model Trinidad can try and emulate.

but Cayman Islands is the home of 'Hell'.  That in itself is a deterrent to emulate the  Caymans :devil: :devil:

« Reply #48 on: April 17, 2008, 04:54:37 AM »
yeah that hell place is really like Hell on a hot day !

« Reply #49 on: April 17, 2008, 08:15:08 AM »
 What a refreshing portrayal of TNT. I had much rather have the outside world promoting TNT as they did in this clip  as opposed to a portrayal of the 'crime capital' Why is this press release so difficult for some to accept?

We all know that in any country you will find polarization and folks who are  economically marginalized.
You no what "TnT is not perfect but it will always be  home"  for better or for worse, married at birth; separated by choice; rejoined someday.

« Reply #50 on: April 17, 2008, 09:34:57 AM »
I don't want to take this down a quantitative path - particularly because my assessment is not based inherently on quantitative data, but you guys should have a look at some quantitative composites available through the World Bank's Governance material, the IMF, the UN, specialist political risk agencies and projects such as Boston University's human development project that refer to political stability on an index. The latter, for instance, draws on work by an IMF economist covering social fractionalization and political instability.

Bakes, the good folks in suburban Virginia work in both directions ... to the inclusion of names unconjured.

I have nothing further to render with respect to my qualitative perspective.

EDIT: Ah lie :D ... let me put it this way, we are not within a comfortable margin of stability.

Yuh say yuh eh have nutten quantitative tuh offer....then exactly by what 'qualitative' measure are you making the assessment?  Yuh have data, links...anything coming out of these composites and 'human development' projects and thing...are these in the public domain?  Can they be accessed remotely or we have tuh siddung and go on ah plane tuh find dem?  Doh be selfish man, share with we de nuggets yuh sitting on.

« Reply #51 on: April 17, 2008, 09:36:05 AM »

2) grow it (agriculture)

All other 'wealth creation' in the service industries rely on the primary wealth creation industries.

Yes, some nations/cities have 100% service industries such as tourism or banking - but they rely on an influx of wealth that is generated from the first three.

If you look at this in context of T&T, we seem to be doing well with number 1 and to a lesser extent, number 3.

But look what happen with number 2.  From what I saw last year when I visited, agriculture has been allowed to go down the drain.  I saw acres of prime farmland all gone to waste.

If we want to diversify, agriculture is where we need to go.  A nation like T&T should not be relying on imports to meet our food requirements.

Agriculture would represent a step backwards.

« Reply #52 on: April 17, 2008, 09:37:38 AM »
interesting
why would that be so?

I know we would not be a power house but some of our products were well known around the world.
« Last Edit: April 17, 2008, 10:08:59 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #53 on: April 17, 2008, 11:26:27 AM »
interesting
why would that be so?

I know we would not be a power house but some of our products were well known around the world.

First off it's news to me that Trinidad's coffee and cocoa enjoy any kind of world recognition.  But that aside...who will we be investing in agriculture to compete with?  Has anyone ever looked into the type of soil Trinidad has relative to the rest of the caribbean?  I will defer to the geologists on this one, but from Form 2 Geography I remember that we have a sedimentary base as opposed to the volcanic base enjoyed by the rest of the islands.  So the different types of nutrients in the soil will support agricultural development differently, in short one type is more fertile than the other...volcanic soil has higher nutrient composition.

Apart from this...we cannot grow enough bananas, rice, sugar cane, eddoes, dasheen, yam, cassava etc. to become a force sufficient to supplant or even challenge our neighbors (and other global producers) who are already doing so.  Agriculture is something that is very labor intensive...we don't have that type of manpower...yuh cyah even get these yutes to wield a hammer in the high-paying construction industry is hoe and cutlass they go pick up?  We also don't have enough land dedicated for agriculture, sufficient for the type of crop rotation that would be necessary (as I see it).

Say nothing of the fact that we will be subjecting ourselves to the dictates of the market which is heavily dominated by American and European regulation with policies stemming from NAFTA et al.  Agricultural economies in the region are struggling in the post-NAFTA era...why would we want to cast our lot in with that?

« Reply #54 on: April 17, 2008, 11:29:09 AM »
check it out on the net about Trinidad's Coffee and cocoa.
The Cocoa regualrly wins awards when used for high end chocolate

« Reply #55 on: April 17, 2008, 11:42:46 AM »

that is a well known fact, learned dat in High School  i think we cocoa and maybe from Ghana or so.

If the government does decide to engage in cocoa farming I have no problem with that, I think I also lkearned in the same geography class that we have some of the best teak in the world too!

« Reply #56 on: April 17, 2008, 11:58:57 AM »

that is a well known fact, learned dat in High School  i think we cocoa and maybe from Ghana or so.

If the government does decide to engage in cocoa farming I have no problem with that, I think I also lkearned in the same geography class that we have some of the best teak in the world too!

a previous thread: T&T's famous cocoa

« Reply #57 on: April 17, 2008, 12:04:07 PM »

Correct on both counts.
I think if we start start to grow cocoa on a large basis we should also develop downstream processing industries rather than getting caught up in the cash crop cycle with the external market alone.

« Reply #58 on: April 17, 2008, 04:29:35 PM »

2) grow it (agriculture)

nah man, when I used the word agricultures i was also referring to animal farming

Technological advancements in agriculture/farming have created higher yields in many part of the world.  If we can develop a vibrant farming (crops and animals), and become net exporter of food, that will create wealth for those working the land.  At the same time, we boost manufacturing for down stream food processing. 

farming can never be a step backyards if done properly.  I talking about technologically advanced farming endeavors with spin off industries relating to food and products made from these raw inputs.

For example, in Canada, cole cole Canda, big improvements have been made in Greenhouse technologies .. now take that concept and apply it to Trinidad, - use new technologies to leverage the existing farms and abandoned farms -  the possibilities are mind boggling.

We need to get away from the little garden with two banana tree, a orange tree, a coconut tree, ground provisions, two chicken in the coup, one duck. That is hobby farming

We need to get away from the labour intensive farming methods and use technological know-how that is available in other parts of the world.

« Last Edit: April 17, 2008, 04:38:15 PM by pecan »

« Reply #59 on: April 17, 2008, 04:45:43 PM »

Correct on both counts.
I think if we start start to grow cocoa on a large basis we should also develop downstream processing industries rather than getting caught up in the cash crop cycle with the external market alone.

Yuh spot on with dat. I think that is why EC governments are trying develop this coordinated trade/enforcement amalgamation they were talking about recently. They realize that for profitability, economies of scale and infrastructure to develop to the extent of Central American/Caribbean regional stature they best develop manufacturing industries located over a broader physical space.

But no way the gov't should be engaging in farming. The era of the big state owned companies should be put the sword sooner rather than later.