Sports => Football => Topic started by: che on July 20, 2015, 04:30:40 PM

Title: 2016 Copa America Centenario Thead
Post by: che on July 20, 2015, 04:30:40 PM
Anybody know when and where the playoff games for the last two Copa spots will take place?

Panama vs Cuba
T&T vs Haiti.

winners will qualify for Copa 2016.
Title: Re: Copa 2016 Playoff games.
Post by: gawd on pitch on July 20, 2015, 06:28:31 PM
No date has been set as yet. There is a possiblity that Panama may qualify for the Copa by winning the Gold cup (even though that is a little far fetched). So it will probably make sense to wait and see what the outcome is.

I think putting the 4 teams into another playoff is bad decision making by Concacaf and Conmenbol. They should take the top finishers of the Gold cup. Especially considering that Copa 2016 is "up in the air" due to the corruption scandal.

If they do the playoff in October and Fifa cancels the tournament in November then the playoff would have been a total waste. I wouldn't be surprised if Concacaf and Conmembol pick the highest ranking teams based on the Gold cup.
Post by: truehaitian on July 20, 2015, 07:35:02 PM
It still would not make sense because the 3 of the top 4 teams are already automatic qualifiers, The US, Mexico, Jamaica. Now if Panama won the whole thing, these 4 teams in the semi-final  will still be qualified..FIFA will still need to two more teams to complete the 6 teams that they intend to include in th eCopa
Post by: andre samuel on July 21, 2015, 06:09:41 AM
It still would not make sense because the 3 of the top 4 teams are already automatic qualifiers, The US, Mexico, Jamaica. Now if Panama won the whole thing, these 4 teams in the semi-final  will still be qualified..FIFA will still need to two more teams to complete the 6 teams that they intend to include in th eCopa

Costa Rica are already qualified a Central American winners
Post by: reggae-fan on July 21, 2015, 10:00:55 AM
No date has been set as yet. There is a possiblity that Panama may qualify for the Copa by winning the Gold cup (even though that is a little far fetched). So it will probably make sense to wait and see what the outcome is.

I think putting the 4 teams into another playoff is bad decision making by Concacaf and Conmenbol. They should take the top finishers of the Gold cup. Especially considering that Copa 2016 is "up in the air" due to the corruption scandal.

If they do the playoff in October and Fifa cancels the tournament in November then the playoff would have been a total waste. I wouldn't be surprised if Concacaf and Conmembol pick the highest ranking teams based on the Gold cup.
  There is absolutely no chance that the Copa America Centenario will be cancelled.  With all the corruption this year uncovered in CONCACAF, the current Gold Cupwould have been the first casualty...Tothink that the FBI investigations can stop the tournament taking place is absurd.  That's like saying there will be no world cup in 2018 or 2022 because of corruption. World cup will goon, people will be prosecuted for whatever crimes were committed.
Title: Re: 2016 Copa America Centenario Thead
Post by: Flex on December 17, 2015, 03:06:15 PM
United States to kick off Copa America on June 3 at Levi's Stadium
ESPN

The United States will kick off the 2016 Copa America Centenario at Levi's Stadium, the home of the NFL's San Francisco 49ers in Santa Clara, California, on June 3, while Mexico will open the tournament on June 5 at University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Arizona.

CONCACAF, CONMEBOL and tournament organizers on Thursday announced the seedings, complete schedule and venues for all 32 games in the 16-team competition, which features the top teams from the Americas.

Host United States were given the top seed in Group A, while Argentina -- the highest FIFA-ranked nation in the Americas -- will be seeded at the top of Group D. Brazil and Mexico are the other two seeded teams and will head Groups B and C, respectively.

All 10 CONMEBOL teams will compete, plus six teams from CONCACAF. The remaining 12 non-seeded teams will be sorted into the four groups in a public draw in early 2016.

The potential Copa America pots should they be based on the FIFA ranking would be: Pot 1: United States, Brazil, Mexico and Argentina; Pot 2: Chile, Colombia, Uruguay and Ecuador; Pot 3: Costa Rica, Paraguay, Peru and Trinidad-Tobago-Haiti winner; Pot 4: Jamaica, Panama-Cuba winner, Bolivia and Venezuela.

The United States will also play in Chicago (June 7) and Philadelphia (June 11) in the group stage.

Argentina will head to Santa Clara (June 6) as well as Chicago (June 10) and Seattle (June 14).

Brazil will travel to Pasadena, California (June 4); Orlando, Florida (June 8.) and Foxborough, Massachusetts (June 12).

Mexico will play its group matches in Phoenix (June 5), Pasadena (June 9) and Houston (June 13).

The four quarterfinals will be played at CenturyLink Field in Seattle; MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey; New England's Gillette Stadium and Levi's Stadium from June 16-18.

The semifinals will be played June 21 and 22 at Houston's NRG Stadium and Chicago's Soldier Field.

The third-place match is set for June 25 in Glendale and the championship will take place June 26 at MetLife Stadium.

Paul Carr @PCarrESPN
Theoretical Centenario pots by FIFA ranking:

1: USA, BRA, MEX, ARG
2: CHI, COL, URU, ECU
3: CRC, PAR, PER, TRI*
4: JAM, PAN*, BOL, VEN

Post by: gawd on pitch on December 17, 2015, 07:25:33 PM
United States to kick off Copa America on June 3 at Levi's Stadium
ESPN

The United States will kick off the 2016 Copa America Centenario at Levi's Stadium, the home of the NFL's San Francisco 49ers in Santa Clara, California, on June 3, while Mexico will open the tournament on June 5 at University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Arizona.

CONCACAF, CONMEBOL and tournament organizers on Thursday announced the seedings, complete schedule and venues for all 32 games in the 16-team competition, which features the top teams from the Americas.

Host United States were given the top seed in Group A, while Argentina -- the highest FIFA-ranked nation in the Americas -- will be seeded at the top of Group D. Brazil and Mexico are the other two seeded teams and will head Groups B and C, respectively.

All 10 CONMEBOL teams will compete, plus six teams from CONCACAF. The remaining 12 non-seeded teams will be sorted into the four groups in a public draw in early 2016.

The potential Copa America pots should they be based on the FIFA ranking would be: Pot 1: United States, Brazil, Mexico and Argentina; Pot 2: Chile, Colombia, Uruguay and Ecuador; Pot 3: Costa Rica, Paraguay, Peru and Trinidad-Tobago-Haiti winner; Pot 4: Jamaica, Panama-Cuba winner, Bolivia and Venezuela.

The United States will also play in Chicago (June 7) and Philadelphia (June 11) in the group stage.

Argentina will head to Santa Clara (June 6) as well as Chicago (June 10) and Seattle (June 14).

Brazil will travel to Pasadena, California (June 4); Orlando, Florida (June 8.) and Foxborough, Massachusetts (June 12).

Mexico will play its group matches in Phoenix (June 5), Pasadena (June 9) and Houston (June 13).

The four quarterfinals will be played at CenturyLink Field in Seattle; MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey; New England's Gillette Stadium and Levi's Stadium from June 16-18.

The semifinals will be played June 21 and 22 at Houston's NRG Stadium and Chicago's Soldier Field.

The third-place match is set for June 25 in Glendale and the championship will take place June 26 at MetLife Stadium.

Paul Carr @PCarrESPN
Theoretical Centenario pots by FIFA ranking:

1: USA, BRA, MEX, ARG
2: CHI, COL, URU, ECU
3: CRC, PAR, PER, TRI*
4: JAM, PAN*, BOL, VEN

I hope the Soca Warriors who show up on Jan 8th are the ones who we have grown to love in the recent months. One more hurdle to go.
Post by: dreamer on December 17, 2015, 08:49:14 PM
Co-sign. Jan 8 is the most important day in T&T's recent soccer history.
A win will catapult us into a market that will have lasting impact for years to come. Words cyah describe
and will give the vital prep for the rest of the World Cup campaign and make our young players grow and some will make it bigger.
However, before we get ahead of ourselves, yuh cyah send troops out to fight without taking care of them. Sorry.
It's more symbolic than truly financial for many. KJ & others don't need the money. They are fighting for what is right in our shitty football culture. No stipend deal honored, no game and I say hard luck for all of us lookin' to ride dey back selfishly.
Post by: gawd on pitch on December 17, 2015, 09:15:11 PM
Co-sign. Jan 8 is the most important day in T&T's recent soccer history
A win will catapult us into a market that will have lasting impact for years to come. Words cyah describe.
and will give the vital prep for the rest of the World Cup campaign and make our young players grow and some will make it bigger
However, before we get ahead of ourselves, yuh cyah send troops out to fight without taking care of them. Sorry.
It's more symbolic than truly financial for many. KJ & others don't need the money. They are fighting for what is right in our shitty football
culture. No stipend deal honored, no game and I say hard luck for all of us lookin' to ride dey back selfishly.

Well said Dreamer. There will be a good revenue stream for the federation if they do things right. But first, invest into the players and the return will come.
Post by: gawd on pitch on December 17, 2015, 10:36:50 PM
Interesting development.. Not sure if this has been posted. Apparently Haiti's coach Marc Collat is now Haiti's "former coach".

http://www.sportsmax.tv/?q=articles/2015/11/27/haiti-football-collat-sacked-national-technical-director

http://haitisports.com/football/256-marc-collat-burst-into-racist-rants-towards-haitians-and-their-country

Collat was fired for the recent results against Costa Rica and Jamaica, and for making remarks about Haitians. There are also rumors that he WASNT BEING PAID. The Haitian federation is scrambling to find a replacement before the Copa playoff.

Collat made Haiti into a good team. Although Haiti lost two key games, the scores were low and the opposition was good.

I know we got problems in our own backyard, but this one may be harder for the Haitian federation to resolve.

Maybe True Haitian could provide us with some background to this development..
Post by: che on December 17, 2015, 11:12:22 PM
Call me crazy,  but if we make it I hope we land in ether Brazil or Argentina group. Playing one of these two would be good for T&T football.
Post by: Deeks on December 18, 2015, 10:35:44 AM
Call me crazy,  but if we make it I hope we land in ether Brazil or Argentina group. Playing one of these two would be good for T&T football.

If we beat Haiti, it appears we will be in the group with Arg., Ecuador, Venezuela. But the way it is looking, it appears we may not be going to that tournament.
Post by: soccerman on December 18, 2015, 11:02:58 AM

If we beat Haiti, it appears we will be in the group with Arg., Ecuador, Venezuela.
I think if we were to advance, based on our current standings, we'll be drawn from pot 3 with Costa Rica, Paraguay and Peru. So we still wont know who we'll be in our group from pot 1, 2 and 4. All we know if pot 1 is set.
Title: 2016 Copa America Centenario
Post by: Jumbie on February 22, 2016, 07:24:35 AM
NEW YORK -- The United States will play Colombia, Costa Rica and Paraguay in what appears to be a difficult first-round group in the Centennial Copa America.

In the opener of a special 16-nation tournament the Americans play Colombia on June 3 in Santa Clara, California. The U.S. meets regional rival Costa Rica four days later in Chicago, then closes Group A play against Paraguay in Philadelphia on June 11.

To U.S. coach Jurgen Klinsmann, the daunting group that emerged from Sunday night's draw at the Manhattan Center reminds him of the 2014 World Cup in Brazil, where the U.S. opened with a 2-1 win over Ghana, tied Portugal 2-2 and lost to Germany 1-0, good enough to finish second. The Americans were eliminated with a 2-1 extra-time loss to Belgium in the round of 16.

"It's doable. We had a similar kind of scenario in Brazil, and we went through," Klinsmann said. "First or second with that group is both tremendously fine."

GROUP A
United States
Colombia
Costa Rica
Paraguay

GROUP B
Brazil
Ecuador
Haiti
Peru

GROUP C
Mexico
Uruguay
Jamaica
Venezuela

GROUP D
Argentina
Chile
Panama
Bolivia

Colombia went 3-0 in its group at the World Cup and was knocked out by Brazil in the quarterfinals. Ranked eighth in the world, Colombia has a player pool that includes stars James Rodriguez and Jackson Martinez.

"We know we start right on our toes with the opening whistle in Santa Clara," Klinsmann said.

In a famous match during the group stage of the 1994 World Cup, the U.S. upset the Colombians 2-1 at the Rose Bowl, a result that led 10 days later to the murder of Andres Escobar, a 27-year-old Colombian defender who had deflected a pass from John Harkes into his net for an own goal.

Two years ago, Colombia beat the U.S. 2-1 in an exhibition in London.

"One of the toughest groups because of the history of all the teams involved," Colombia coach Jose Pekerman said.

More at http://www.espnfc.us/copa-america/story/2812551/us-and-mexico-learn-copa-group-opponents
Title: Re: 2016 Copa America Centenario
Post by: soccerman on February 22, 2016, 09:03:03 AM
We could've been in group B, it would've been a dream come for me to see T&T vs Brazil....ah still nursing ah tabanca, like Machel say "and ah cyar let go"
Title: Coulda, Woulda, Shoulda......
Post by: palos on February 22, 2016, 03:11:51 PM
I so forkane vex eh...

We coulda...woulda...shoulda....be looking at Copa America Group B like this

Brazil
Ecuador
Haiti    Trinidad & Tobago
Peru

we woulda be playing Brazil......FORKANE BRAZIL YUH KNOW.......in Orlando at de Citrus Bowl.   Neymar and krew

Instead....we hadda stay home and wrinch and bawl out like a pathetic jilted lover......."IT SHOULDA BEEN WE"!

And is not like we didn't have chances eh........5....FIVE....CINQ....CINCO.....五....FORKANE CHANCES TO QUALIFY and we FORK UP ALL?????

:banginghead: :banginghead: :banginghead:
Title: Re: Coulda, Woulda, Shoulda......
Post by: Tallman on February 22, 2016, 03:28:18 PM
Literally every time I see news on de Copa America Centenario, I does steups. It bother meh more dan getting knock out by Guyana during 2014 World Cup qualification.
Post by: soccerman on February 22, 2016, 03:35:16 PM
Well I'm relived to hear it's not just me...I really don't think I could even watch Copa America, hopefully by summer it changes.

Up to Saturday night, I ran into a guy who owns a bar that hosts the US Outlaws, he looked at me all excited and said this summer T&T Copa America.....when I told him we lost the playoff spot to Haiti de man was stunned yes. He was like what??? Haiti???
Post by: 100% Barataria on February 22, 2016, 03:44:21 PM
Steeps, doh start meh nah, like a bad ting u in love wid, tabbanca rite tru
Post by: Errol on February 22, 2016, 03:47:53 PM
I like Hart and I hope he learns, but his careful approach was a big decision for us not being there.

When you have an understrength Haitian team to beat, you pile it on them.

Then after a certain period he was hoping for extra time.

Youthman Neveal Hackshaw should not have been on the field in a must win game and you have players like Cato, Winchester and Guerra on the bench. Hackshaw didn't cover his man and he scored after chasing him down from midfield.

Hyland or Boucaud should have made way.

Peltier was another one, yes, he fought hard but added nothing going forward and gave away a few important passes. This was a player who one time used his pace to unsettle teams, now he is a shadow of himself.

Aubrey David should have replaced Mitchell after that head butt he got.

I know you guys will string me for this, but I say it like it is, Hart got this one wrong.

Still love him as our coach, but he needs to stop with his hoping not to lose approach.

Post by: Sando prince on February 22, 2016, 04:12:00 PM
We went into that game underestimating Haiti and mentally unprepared ... and it showed throughout the game. Haiti wanted it more than us and they deserve to be in Copa. Let our players watch Copa and weep from home.
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on February 22, 2016, 04:18:24 PM
We went into that game underestimating Haiti and mentally unprepared ... and it showed throughout the game. Haiti wanted it more than us and they deserve to be in Copa. Let our players watch Copa and weep from home.

Agree. Haiti had no preperation and a coach that was hired about a month before the game. Though it hurts that we aren't the players have no one to blame but themselves.
Post by: FF on February 22, 2016, 04:41:21 PM
What tournament is this? Never heard of it.  :notlistening:
Post by: Deeks on February 22, 2016, 05:09:56 PM
I have no f---king interest in this. DELETE THIS THREAD, PLEASE, SIL VOUS PLAIT, POR FAVOR
Post by: Deeks on February 22, 2016, 05:12:37 PM
We went into that game underestimating Haiti and mentally unprepared

Breds, I digress here. You really feel TT does take any Haitian and JA team lightly. Never. They just were not good that night.
Post by: Jumbie on February 22, 2016, 06:32:56 PM
Breds, I digress here. You really feel TT does take any Haitian and JA team lightly. Never. They just were not good that night.

EXACTLY!
Post by: Sando prince on February 22, 2016, 09:43:35 PM
We went into that game underestimating Haiti and mentally unprepared

That is an easy question. And the answer is yes and YES! I have seen different T&T teams take Haiti lightly in the past and paid the price. Same with taking Cuba lightly in the past and having suffered the unexpected outcome.
Post by: Deeks on February 22, 2016, 11:50:49 PM
Underestimating NO. mentally unprepared Yes!
Post by: Jack Horner on February 23, 2016, 06:25:27 AM
I saw the draw and it was disappointing not seeing T&T there.

T&T doesn't do well in games they need to win.

Since Hart have been coach he has won one important game and that was the last one against Guatemala.

Since the match against USA you could tell that the team were being held back.

I do not blame him because he doesn't get the warm up required to fix these problems but I do blame him for working under these conditions.

Under Jack Warner T&T was always a better team.

Under Jack, T&T have been to 5 youth world cups and one senior.

T&T hosted 2 (men u17 & women u20) and qualify for 2 under 20 (Portugal & Egypt), one under 17 in S.Korea and a senior in Germany.

Give credit where credit is due.

This is will never happen again.

Post by: pull stones on February 24, 2016, 01:36:58 AM
Steeps, doh start meh nah, like a bad ting u in love wid, tabbanca rite tru
this is so true, was engaged to a slag and stayed with her for five years, it was the most painful five years of my life. And trini football kind of reminds me of that slag.just like I had no faith in her I have no faith in Trinidad footballers.
Post by: pull stones on February 24, 2016, 02:05:24 AM
I like Hart and I hope he learns, but his careful approach was a big decision for us not being there.

When you have an understrength Haitian team to beat, you pile it on them.

Then after a certain period he was hoping for extra time.

Youthman Neveal Hackshaw should not have been on the field in a must win game and you have players like Cato, Winchester and Guerra on the bench. Hackshaw didn't cover his man and he scored after chasing him down from midfield.

Hyland or Boucaud should have made way.

Peltier was another one, yes, he fought hard but added nothing going forward and gave away a few important passes. This was a player who one time used his pace to unsettle teams, now he is a shadow of himself.

Aubrey David should have replaced Mitchell after that head butt he got.

I know you guys will string me for this, but I say it like it is, Hart got this one wrong.

Still love him as our coach, but he needs to stop with his hoping not to lose approach.
most of the things you post actually rubs me the wrong way, but i have to admit that this time I agree with you somewhat except what you post about coach hart.

That hacksaw was resposible losing losing his man and not recovering fast enough, and caryle mitchel for marking his man on the wrong side, IMO Mitchell is one of our shakiest defenders on the senior team, he is prone to making so many basic mistakes, and yes Aubrey David would have been a much better choice in central defense.

I also have to agree with your critique of peltier, I believe he should be shown the door especially since his contribution going forward had been rubbish the last two years, maybe he's being played out of position I suppose, because I specifically remember under otto phister where he scored quite a few goals playing as a center forward.

But I have to agree that we got it way wrong on that day, and I guess there will be other copa Americas to qualify for. in all honesty I actually believe that you shouldn't reward complaisance  and ineptitude with success, so believe it serves the players right that they will miss this dance in the summer, these guys for the most part didn't deserve it, and I'm glad to see them sit it out even though as a fan its a bitter sweet affair.

Maybe de silver should be reintroduced to the team and used on the wing, but these boys must understand that the time for playing with your trade will not be tolerated, like going to a boat rude the night before camp begins.

Post by: pull stones on February 24, 2016, 02:09:52 AM
I saw the draw and it was disappointing not seeing T&T there.

T&T doesn't do well in games they need to win.

Since Hart have been coach he has won one important game and that was the last one against Guatemala.

Since the match against USA you could tell that the team were being held back.

I do not blame him because he doesn't get the warm up required to fix these problems but I do blame him for working under these conditions.

Under Jack Warner T&T was always a better team.

Under Jack, T&T have been to 5 youth world cups and one senior.

T&T hosted 2 (men u17 & women u20) and qualify for 2 under 20 (Portugal & Egypt), one under 17 in S.Korea and a senior in Germany.

Give credit where credit is due.

This is will never happen again.
what you've been drinking mate? Haiti beat us in the Caribbean cup final in Trinidad 2007 under the reign of jack warner.
Post by: Sam on June 03, 2016, 06:03:15 AM
USA vs Colombia today.

Post by: E-man on June 03, 2016, 11:14:54 AM
USA vs Colombia today.

Will be there
Post by: Sando prince on June 03, 2016, 04:50:31 PM

There is a good reason Colombia is ranked No.3 in the world right now. They are playing at a very high level. Since the last world cup they have maintained a high level of quality football. USA will have their hands full against them tonight
Post by: asylumseeker on June 03, 2016, 07:48:07 PM
Excellent opening goal x Colombia. Training ground routine.
Post by: Bitter on June 03, 2016, 07:48:46 PM
Guzan's purpose in life is to get string-up
Post by: asylumseeker on June 03, 2016, 08:12:00 PM
Guzan's purpose in life is to get string-up

Post by: Bitter on June 03, 2016, 08:19:18 PM
I don't like the penalty call. But we know Guzan wasn't going to get close to it.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 03, 2016, 08:23:23 PM
I don't like the penalty call. But we know Guzan wasn't going to get close to it.

I think Yedlin tried to disguise it.
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on June 03, 2016, 08:33:17 PM
Colombia hitting the US with a classic rope a dope. Giving them possession and waiting patiently for the Americans to make mistakes.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 03, 2016, 08:43:20 PM
Is China a better team than Klinsmann's US?
Post by: Bitter on June 03, 2016, 08:47:17 PM
I see that Bradley is still playing terribly.
The US is playing really soft on D. No hustle or pressing.
Post by: weary1969 on June 03, 2016, 08:54:46 PM
This is our best chance to beat the soccer players
Post by: Bitter on June 03, 2016, 09:30:05 PM
Licks
Post by: Dutty Love on June 03, 2016, 09:31:46 PM
USA Team is at its lowest level since 1998. Possibly not going to qualify for the next World Cup.

Incredible gap with the quality of Mexico and Costa Rica on paper. No reason why a full T&T squad won't win the group.
Post by: lefty on June 03, 2016, 09:32:28 PM
Licks
we could beat dem...with d first team...if dey still clickin by with dat fool DJW upsetting d apple cart.
Post by: MEP on June 03, 2016, 10:16:51 PM
USA Team is at its lowest level since 1998. Possibly not going to qualify for the next World Cup.

Incredible gap with the quality of Mexico and Costa Rica on paper. No reason why a full T&T squad won't win the group.

The only thing that saves Klinsmann is Bradley.....
Post by: Tobago28 on June 04, 2016, 12:24:32 AM

The only thing that saves Klinsmann is Bradley.....

Bradley is the last old guard player that Klinsman needs to get rid of to play the style he wants. Bradley holds the ball too long then plays only a 30 yard ball in the air or gives it away much too often. Once Klinssman puts a younger, more dynamic midfielder in for Bradley then that team will play much better. The problem is he has players but he got so much heat for Donovan, he is cautious with this All American sacred cow.

I hope Klinsman leave Bradley there because Bostock, Boucaud, Molino, and Hyland will eat him up.
Post by: Deeks on June 04, 2016, 06:57:08 PM
Haiti, hanging in vs peru. 0-0. Maybe our guys should look at how Haiti playing. Jeff Louis is poison!!!!
Post by: Deeks on June 04, 2016, 07:02:33 PM
Peru 1-0. Nice diving header by Guerrero. Pressure does bust pipe.
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on June 04, 2016, 07:37:46 PM
What a chance for Haiti on the last kick of the game. If only Haiti had a decent forward.
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on June 04, 2016, 07:40:29 PM
Haiti, hanging in vs peru. 0-0. Maybe our guys should look at how Haiti playing. Jeff Louis is poison!!!!

They played with so much heart and put in so much effort we could definately learn from them. They just lacked a little composure on the ball for the majority of the game.
Post by: Deeks on June 04, 2016, 07:48:43 PM

They played with so much heart and put in so much effort we could definately learn from them. They just lacked a little composure on the ball for the majority of the game.

Our guys can't stay away too long not playing together. They tend to lose the intensity. We played well in the GC and then fell flat a couple months after in that one playoff game  vs Haiti. Like Hart does have to start over with them everytime they congregate.
Post by: weary1969 on June 04, 2016, 08:51:47 PM
Brazil have a team full of Sergenio. Fadder I feel I watching Brazil in Arima.
Post by: Peong on June 04, 2016, 09:37:43 PM
So Lucas Moura got a late call as a replacement, and now he warming up. Let's see what he does.

Filipe Luis playing timidly going forward.
And as i type that he aggressively hit coutinho's forehead with his face.
Look like he blacked out for a split second while going down
Post by: MEP on June 04, 2016, 10:01:24 PM
Brazil playing real dunga......no excitement no creativity
Post by: Peong on June 04, 2016, 10:14:29 PM
Brazil have any strikers in this team?
Ecuador played decent. They could have had a goal but it was probably the correct call.
Post by: ffisback on June 04, 2016, 10:51:54 PM
Maybe its time for DJW to start looking for a new coach.
Post by: pull stones on June 05, 2016, 03:33:07 AM
hello john, i didn't know you visited the site? welcome again
Post by: Tobago28 on June 05, 2016, 08:26:56 AM

Tell us where he should look? W Connection???LOL

Some people really foolish.
Post by: Deeks on June 05, 2016, 09:20:23 AM
ffsback, my problem is not so much with Hart, but with our guys and their individual skill set and abilities. Unfortunately, there is not much coach Hart can about that at this stage. Our guys have to do extra work on their own or with individual coaches to improve. Coach can't make them into magician every 5 days, 3 months apart. The onus is the players themselves.
Post by: lefty on June 05, 2016, 09:47:55 AM

we should give Stuart so he could get he ass handed to him as usual at concacaf level.....
Post by: asylumseeker on June 05, 2016, 10:21:24 AM
ffsback, my problem is not so much with Hart, but with our guys and their individual skill set and abilities. Unfortunately, there is not much coach Hart can about that at this stage. Our guys have to do extra work on their own or with individual coaches to improve. Coach can't make them into magician every 5 days, 3 months apart. The onus is the players themselves.

... but his is. Hart out, Woo Ling in ... is his mantra. Lehwe connect those dots. Dey about a millimetre apart.
Post by: Big Magician on June 05, 2016, 05:06:05 PM
QUESTION.. Reggae Fan..or anyone..im just curious..how many foreign born players on the Jamaica 23 man squad ??..and also if any injured out of the tournament ?
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 05, 2016, 06:35:03 PM
Guardado should have seen straight red for that challenge
Post by: Deeks on June 05, 2016, 06:48:00 PM
Mexico balling Uraguay.
Post by: MEP on June 05, 2016, 06:58:45 PM
Initially I was skeptical about this tournament and how teams will play but everyone is taking it serious.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 05, 2016, 07:19:48 PM
Two teams in different places. Mexico under a new coach (and a foreign one at that) but relying essentially on its stable cohort of players. However, to see Rafa Marquez out there raises an eyebrow at his age, but there he is.

Uruguay: playing with a mix of the very experienced and those growing in experience. But, what we are seeing is Tabarez offering no renovation in his tactical posture.

On top of that, this is a Uruguay without its most potent weapon ... yet again.

I see the integration process implemented by Tabarez but I can't help but focus on "where" this squad is an aged squad.

A bit of a contradiction between the view on Marquez and the view on Uruguay's age? Debatable. But, Mexico has variations in speed that Uruguay lacks.
Post by: Sando prince on June 05, 2016, 07:21:46 PM

I notice Reggaefan do not come in this form bragging about Jamaica when they lose. He only show up when they win  :D
Post by: amielisadore on June 05, 2016, 07:28:51 PM
QUESTION.. Reggae Fan..or anyone..im just curious..how many foreign born players on the Jamaica 23 man squad ??..and also if any injured out of the tournament ?

They have 9 foreign born on the squad right now. 3 or 4 more foreign born who were in the set up recently (last 2 years or so) were left out. The more notable absentees with injury and what not were local born eg. Mattocks.
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 05, 2016, 07:52:28 PM
Rafa jus score sylum
Post by: Deeks on June 05, 2016, 09:15:15 PM
Rafa takes care of himself really well. He has been around for long time. He is a good reader of the game.
Post by: E-man on June 05, 2016, 09:22:28 PM
Resale tickets for JAM URU are down to $6 for nosebleeds. I think I'll take in a 2nd game. Let's see if Suarez is healthy by then.
Post by: ribbit on June 05, 2016, 10:12:08 PM
how difficult is it to get the anthem right in a big tournament like this? really, ah mean wdf?!!???!
Post by: asylumseeker on June 05, 2016, 10:39:34 PM
Rafa jus score sylum

Yeah boi, kudos to him oui.

Lothar Matthaus thinks Rafa could contribute at Russia 2018. If he makes contributions on both sides of the ball (as he did tonight), then seems he could be en route.

Rafa is a leader. He isn't a liability in the dressing room, and with Guardado seeing red, leadership was key tonight.

Still recall how he suffered for the Dutchman's dive in Brazil.

However, fairly certain the federation has played a guiding hand. All previous Rafa recalls have worked out.
Post by: Dutty Love on June 06, 2016, 06:02:55 AM
To find this type of technical gap between Mexico and USA you have to go back to the 1980's, prior to the beginning of MLS.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 06, 2016, 07:56:57 AM
how difficult is it to get the anthem right in a big tournament like this? really, ah mean wdf?!!???!

http://screengrabber.deadspin.com/copa-america-plays-wrong-anthem-for-uruguay-while-confu-1780688443
Post by: Deeks on June 06, 2016, 10:17:21 AM
If that had happened in TT. ............................ Banana republic!!!!!!!!
Post by: Tobago28 on June 06, 2016, 03:26:57 PM
Deeks

Thanks for pointing out our double standard, we not courageous enough to call America that.
Post by: soccerman on June 06, 2016, 07:12:01 PM
Panama with the win....Bolivia could be a good team for us to play in a the future.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 06, 2016, 07:41:30 PM
Looking to see how Mascherano and Fernández work together. Textbook or no?
Post by: gawd on pitch on June 06, 2016, 07:56:15 PM
Panama with the win....Bolivia could be a good team for us to play in a the future.

Even better is Venezuela.. I can't believe it's been years since we played them.. and they right in we backyard.
Post by: soccerman on June 06, 2016, 07:59:35 PM

Even better is Venezuela.. I can't believe it's been years since we played them.. and they right in we backyard.
True, Deeks been campaigning for that for years. Could be a friendly before Guatemala.
Post by: soccerman on June 06, 2016, 08:40:06 PM
Good action in this Chile vs Argentina game and were only 30 mins in
Post by: davyjenny1 on June 06, 2016, 09:04:56 PM
Chile vs Argentina: Quick game, end to end action, that is how it should be played.
Post by: Bitter on June 06, 2016, 09:15:01 PM
I was watching highlights of Ronald (Il Fenomeno), Ronaldino and Riquelme. Compared to that era, these games is some strongman football. This Argentina -Chile game is fast-paced, but has no beauty.
Post by: Peong on June 06, 2016, 09:27:19 PM
Cruel deflection. Yeah bitter nowadays it look like players fitter and just trying to outrun the opposition.
The game being played at a very high speed.
Post by: Deeks on June 06, 2016, 09:28:57 PM
I just watched the first half. The game is end to end action. Fast quick and counter attacking. I love it. Good ball control. Some of our guys should be looking at this game and learning a thing or two.
Post by: Peong on June 06, 2016, 09:31:56 PM
Di Maria now try a beat, step on the ball and cyatspraddle on de grong.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 06, 2016, 10:04:52 PM
On this squad: Gaitan (capped by DAM), Mercado (capped by DAM) and Pastore too. Regardless of what a coach does, picking players that last beyond one's tenure, speaks volumes.
Post by: Bitter on June 06, 2016, 10:07:17 PM
That was like watching an mls game with better quality players
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on June 06, 2016, 10:17:38 PM
That was like watching an mls game with better quality players

True but the Bolivia vs Panama match was like watching an MLS match with MLS quality players.  :D
Post by: davyjenny1 on June 06, 2016, 10:22:57 PM
The speed of the modern game has been in the making for a few years and some coaches around the world are beginning to adopt the style.
Post by: Deeks on June 07, 2016, 08:37:45 AM

True, Deeks been campaigning for that for years. Could be a friendly before Guatemala.

Like I DOTISH or what?
Post by: Deeks on June 07, 2016, 08:47:32 AM
The speed of the modern game has been in the making for a few years and some coaches around the world are beginning to adopt the style.

This concept tends to come and go. After watching Brazil 1970 WC in Mex, then  74 up comes the clockwork orange with all that speed, precision and agility led by JCruyff. To me that started with Holland aka Ajax. You could only play that if you have players who have the qualities that combine speed and skill. The only local team I can remember doing something like that for a season or two, was Defence Force in the 70s. Maybe that is why they are the only local team to go to the Concacaf finals twice.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 07, 2016, 09:35:42 AM

This concept tends to come and go. After watching Brazil 1970 WC in Mex, then  74 up comes the clockwork orange with all that speed, precision and agility led by JCruyff. To me that started with Holland aka Ajax. You could only play that if you have players who have the qualities that combine speed and skill. The only local team I can remember doing something like that for a season or two, was Defence Force in the 70s. Maybe that is why they are the only local team to go to the Concacaf finals twice.

Speed relative to speed.

Speed as a tactical threat has been present across decades or eras of football. However, are today's players faster? Does speed manifest differently today (in "the modern game")?

For me, the slowest player on the field yesterday was Beausejour. Both with and without the ball. And Beausejour might be considered quick under different circumstances or in a different period of football.

In 2016, collective speed of play AND MOVEMENT... without any significant compromise in accuracy ... and consistency ... is unrivalled.

Post by: gawd on pitch on June 07, 2016, 02:19:31 PM

Like I DOTISH or what?

I agree. Not with Deeks being dotish.. But I think Venezuela will be an excellent tune up for the Guatemala game.

As for Copa, so far the organizers are happy with the turn out for most of the games. The tournament is turning out to be a success despite the run up to the event. Both confederation are keeping mum about another Copa that combines Concacaf and Conmebol. However, there is talk about having this event every 4 years. Stay tuned.
Post by: Peong on June 07, 2016, 03:36:10 PM
That would be great. The Gold Cup takes place more often than all the major regional tournaments so it would be plausible to substitute it with this larger tournament.
As it is we don't have a way to play conmebol outside of friendlies so I see a big benefit for teams like ours.
I don't think the big conmebol teams will feel the same way unless Mexico beat some of them this rounds.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 07, 2016, 06:17:32 PM
Clear penalty. CRC was knocking well until that senseless rush of blood.
Post by: Bitter on June 07, 2016, 06:21:21 PM
Clear penalty. CRC was knocking well until that senseless rush of blood.

And I was saying at the moment, yuh doh even have to worry about the cross. Yedlin like he use Jesus Navas as a role model.
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on June 07, 2016, 06:48:51 PM
Costa Rica have forgotten who they are. They are usually the team that counters they came out way too open.
Post by: lefty on June 07, 2016, 06:49:40 PM
usa rippin costa rica
Post by: Bitter on June 07, 2016, 06:50:40 PM
Costa Rica have forgotten who they are. They are usually the team that counters they came out way too open.

They forget they was a shit squad?
Post by: lefty on June 07, 2016, 06:54:38 PM

Post by: Dynamite Warrior on June 07, 2016, 06:56:26 PM

I guess so lol. They usually play five in the back today the starting position of the LB Mattarita is way too high. They came out too desperate like they wanted to win the game in the first 10 mins and lost all shape.
Post by: gawd on pitch on June 07, 2016, 07:03:26 PM
That would be great. The Gold Cup takes place more often than all the major regional tournaments so it would be plausible to substitute it with this larger tournament.
As it is we don't have a way to play conmebol outside of friendlies so I see a big benefit for teams like ours.
I don't think the big conmebol teams will feel the same way unless Mexico beat some of them this rounds.

That's right. Both confederations will be happy with having their own tournaments once every four years.. and a monster tournament like copa americano every four years. This tournament is just an experiment. If it goes well and the confederations make lots of money, they will be foolish to say no to another tournament like this.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 07, 2016, 07:04:08 PM

I guess so lol. They usually play five in the back today the starting position of the LB Mattarita is way too high. They came out too desperate like they wanted to win the game in the first 10 mins and lost all shape.

Without a doubt.  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

However, I am disappointed with Joe Campbell. At this stage in his career, he should be

1) not playing his deliveries into Guzan
2) more effective, decisive and incisive in his flank play ... especially when he is coming inside playing what the Spanish call pierna cambiada. On the right cutting in with his left ...
3) Finishing ... I guess he's on the Arsenal brand.  :P
Post by: Bitter on June 07, 2016, 07:39:07 PM
These refs ent consistent at all. But that isn't affecting the game. Costa Rica has been playing against 8 and 9 men in D. I guess that is the way of World football now. But to me, this US setup is the same brand that Bora was playing in the 90s. Clog-ball, counter-attack.
Post by: Peong on June 07, 2016, 10:10:45 PM
Spectacular goal by the paraguayo. Best goal I see this tournament. Up in de vees from distance!
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 07, 2016, 10:14:45 PM
Golaso...look like Josimar with that strike
Post by: Peong on June 07, 2016, 10:27:21 PM
Cuadrado real ball tonight.
Colombia playing some neat passes under pressure.
Yuh could see they have more quality but paraguay working hard to keep it close.
The keepers both made some great saves especially the colombian.
Post by: Deeks on June 08, 2016, 05:54:45 AM
Although Colombia won the game, I think Paraguay was just as good. As a matter of fact, Para. mid field had the upper hand on Col. I liked both teams. That was a golazo!!!
Post by: Sando prince on June 08, 2016, 04:01:44 PM

Wil not be surprised if we see an Argentina vs Colombia final
Post by: Peong on June 08, 2016, 05:33:29 PM
I here trying to get past this horrible feeling knowing that could have been us lining up vs brasil.
Post by: Bitter on June 08, 2016, 05:41:18 PM
I here trying to get past this horrible feeling knowing that could have been us lining up getting licks vs brasil.

Post by: Tallman on June 08, 2016, 05:47:27 PM
I here trying to get past this horrible feeling knowing that could have been us lining up vs brasil.

Just like our Women's team, we had three opportunities and blew it.
Post by: Bitter on June 08, 2016, 05:50:09 PM
There's the first one...
Post by: Peong on June 08, 2016, 05:57:52 PM
Kj woulda buss they net by now
Post by: Bitter on June 08, 2016, 06:04:44 PM
Dos!
Post by: asylumseeker on June 08, 2016, 06:10:18 PM
Haiti is a team with attacking character. Lose, win or draw playing as such.
Post by: Bitter on June 08, 2016, 06:11:32 PM
Trois
Post by: asylumseeker on June 08, 2016, 06:11:42 PM
Best he din give Augusto a hand to get up.
Post by: Bitter on June 08, 2016, 06:12:59 PM

I done seeing man give up on tracking back. I guess the goal now is to score on Brazil since the cutass already happening.
Post by: Peong on June 08, 2016, 06:15:06 PM
Why you helping a man up when the ball still nearby?
Post by: trini_stallion on June 08, 2016, 06:16:20 PM
Haiti looking lazy and getting brush at will.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 08, 2016, 06:16:34 PM
Hristo Stoichkov doing color commentary of Brazil-Haiti.
Post by: Bitter on June 08, 2016, 06:16:41 PM

To make sure you get he jersey when the game done.
Post by: Peong on June 08, 2016, 06:18:59 PM

Bam Bam Zamorano wukkin for them too.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 08, 2016, 06:19:37 PM

Iz because dey playing dey "heroes". If dey were playing us, woulda be a different scene.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 08, 2016, 06:27:44 PM

I done seeing man give up on tracking back. I guess the goal now is to score on Brazil since the cutass already happening.

If they plan on scoring, then they better start licking shot. I hate to see Caribbean teams get in oh-gawd- dahis-goal positions and play de arse ... especially against teams and players yuh know not going to give yuh time on the ball and who yuh should know will recover quickly. Only a Caribbean player could dwell on the ball to convert a 1 v. 0 into 1 v. 5.

I see some moments in this Copa America that even Andres Escobar woulda want to shoot de offenders.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 08, 2016, 06:41:05 PM

Bam Bam Zamorano wukkin for them too.

Yeah, they bring in vets from most of the participating nations. Medford had to suffer through yesterday's punishment versus de US. Stoichkov fits in due to his time in La Liga.
Post by: Bitter on June 08, 2016, 06:51:39 PM
Fo'
Post by: Bitter on June 08, 2016, 07:00:30 PM
Cinco!
Post by: Bitter on June 08, 2016, 07:02:16 PM
Gooooooooooooooooooooooooooollllll

The comeback is on!
Post by: Bitter on June 08, 2016, 07:25:17 PM
Licks. 7-1.

Univision give the Hatian who score "Jugador Especial". Them real idle oui.
Post by: lefty on June 08, 2016, 08:26:41 PM
Peru have Ecuador 2-0 early and running dem ragged so far...allyuh goh feel better if Ecuador collek 4 :P
Post by: andremartinsc on June 08, 2016, 08:33:04 PM
Haiti has 2 good players. Really enjoyed watching Nazon and Louis.

But Dunga is still shit. I can't wait to have another coach.
Post by: lefty on June 08, 2016, 09:17:53 PM
game of two halves 2-2 Ecuador in control in d 2nd half
Post by: asylumseeker on June 08, 2016, 10:06:57 PM
Peru have Ecuador 2-0 early and running dem ragged so far...allyuh goh feel better if Ecuador collek 4 :P

Haha. That would have sent the wrong message. Which certainly would not be a case of 2+2=4. :P
Post by: asylumseeker on June 08, 2016, 10:10:22 PM
Licks. 7-1.

Univision give the Hatian who score "Jugador Especial". Them real idle oui.

Couldn't suffer through that any more. Had to move on around the 4th or 5th.
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 09, 2016, 06:13:51 PM
Amazing Venezuela goal vs Uru. Maduro smiling
Post by: Bitter on June 09, 2016, 06:14:17 PM

Audacious.
That is what Cavani get for throwing away.
Post by: Bitter on June 09, 2016, 07:23:52 PM
Nah!

Cavani sell out! Check he bank accounts
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 09, 2016, 07:25:15 PM
Pay back for SA  :devil:
Post by: Sando prince on June 09, 2016, 07:25:30 PM
 :D first big upset happening, Venezuela beating Uruguay
Post by: Bitter on June 09, 2016, 07:28:44 PM
Well Done Venezuela!   :applause: :applause:

Toilet paper for the whole team!
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on June 09, 2016, 07:39:06 PM

Audacious.
That is what Cavani get for throwing away.

Hes a choker just like Higuain. The bigger the game the more likely he is to throw away. Every year he grips for Ibra's spot and when Ibra doesn't play and he gets the center role he chokes.
Post by: soccerman on June 09, 2016, 07:42:52 PM
Over/under on Suarez cussing way de coach tonight  :cursing: :cursing: :cursing:
Post by: gawd on pitch on June 09, 2016, 08:02:27 PM
I have a feeling the Reggae Boyz will get a point in this game. Mexico hasn't played a physical team in a while.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 09, 2016, 08:27:14 PM
Would like Yard to see more of the ball. Now they are obligated.

Hesitation in the defence. Chicharito is 2 goals away from being MEX's record goalscorer.
Post by: gawd on pitch on June 09, 2016, 08:28:46 PM
The game is still early. But you give Mexico an inch, they will take a mile.
Post by: Sando prince on June 09, 2016, 08:31:47 PM
I have a feeling the Reggae Boyz will get a point in this game. Mexico hasn't played a physical team in a while.

lol what? pray for your team
Post by: asylumseeker on June 09, 2016, 08:33:21 PM
This is the game to do it ... especially with Memo Ochoa in goal.
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on June 09, 2016, 08:43:47 PM
Honestly Jamaica has had the better chances but they have no finisher.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 09, 2016, 08:46:04 PM
Would like to see more initiation of the JAM attack from the right, rather than through McAnuff primarily.
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on June 09, 2016, 08:48:17 PM
Provided we beat Guatemala we will score goals vs Mexico in the hex. Kenwyne would have finished at least one of those.
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on June 09, 2016, 08:51:25 PM
Yet another great chance.
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 09, 2016, 08:53:40 PM
Would like to see more initiation of the JAM attack from the right, rather than through McAnuff primarily.

Why when he making it happen? Arguably MF engine room
Post by: asylumseeker on June 09, 2016, 08:55:15 PM
Provided we beat Guatemala we will score goals vs Mexico in the hex. Kenwyne would have finished at least one of those.

Ah feel yuh. But our conversion rate vis-a-vis chances on goal presents an "interesting" stat/picture.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 09, 2016, 08:56:49 PM

Disagree. What is he making happen? The final balls?
Post by: davyjenny1 on June 09, 2016, 08:58:12 PM
When a team get opportunities especially against higher rank teams is to make them count. On the other hand Mex is attacking Jam down the flanks, im seeing a sign of weakness there.
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 09, 2016, 09:02:53 PM

We might have to agree to disagree then, all the connectivity in MF comes from him, the 2nd chance that was struck against the Mex def came from him....there's a reason he's the center piece in their MF for this length of time...he alone is probably one of the biggest reasons our game vs them in the CFU final was disrupted
Post by: Sando prince on June 09, 2016, 09:19:22 PM
When a team get opportunities especially against higher rank teams is to make them count. On the other hand Mex is attacking Jam down the flanks, im seeing a sign of weakness there.

Yes! Jamaica is weak on their flanks. Mex is exploiting them in that area
Post by: davyjenny1 on June 09, 2016, 09:33:00 PM
Even Blake give Donaldson ah pass and he couldn't finish.
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on June 09, 2016, 09:34:09 PM
This Donaldson is terrible how many chances he need
Post by: Bitter on June 09, 2016, 09:43:44 PM
This Donaldson is terrible how many chances he need

(http://images.allsingaporestuff.com/styles/big_within_article/s3/snake_in_toilet.jpg?itok=6TWzRTuW)
Post by: Sando prince on June 09, 2016, 09:45:58 PM

Licks!

Dais it for Jamaica. No coming back
Post by: Sando prince on June 09, 2016, 09:47:47 PM

:D Look at that crowd! when Mex play in America they have home advantage against any team
Post by: Bitter on June 09, 2016, 09:48:24 PM

:D Look at that crowd! when Mex play in America they have home advantage against any team

Culo!
Post by: Bitter on June 09, 2016, 09:49:34 PM

That is how Trump will round them up to build the wall.
Post by: Sando prince on June 09, 2016, 09:53:57 PM
Anybody see Reggaefan?  ;)

He not bragging tonight?  :D

Ah wonder if he man enough to come in here and show himself.

Jamaica getting dey ass buss right now.
Post by: Peong on June 09, 2016, 09:56:46 PM
Chich header was impressive. I scoff when they send in the cross for this short man in between tall defenders. Man float and bury a difficult header yes. 
Post by: asylumseeker on June 09, 2016, 10:08:06 PM

We might have to agree to disagree then, all the connectivity in MF comes from him, the 2nd chance that was struck against the Mex def came from him....there's a reason he's the center piece in their MF for this length of time...he alone is probably one of the biggest reasons our game vs them in the CFU final was disrupted

My contention is twofold:

1. Variation to exploit the right. Not necessarily seeking penetration behind the defender(s), because JAM can't/couldn't do that consistently without compromising balance and risk conceding a second goal ... but to generate the entry ball from the right (ahead of the defence) for (2) McAnuff to be involved in the finalizing.

Aside from the 3 for 1 chance (which was not generated by McAnuff), Jamaica was failing at second balls from the left but had promising looks when service came from the right. With the finishing being what it is centrally, McAnuff showed promise to finish from the left ... particularly off the run. He was dynamic but not creative.

For me, the overlooked Jamaican contribution was service to McAnuff and Donaldson, but McAnuff on his own was not dangerous enough.

The critical final pass he made (that probably caught your eye) was generated by service from central midfield, which he latched on to off the run. On his own, he did not do enough.

To accommodate my comment, I re-watched the first half. Started at 31'. Post-goal.

In any event, one has to examine his contribution pre- and post-goal. And my thoughts on this started formulating before Mexico scored. His actions pre-goal definitely did not generate sufficient danger of consequence. He attracted a couple defenders but/because he never sought to penetrate, but to link up and combine.  After Mexico scored, gehhin production became even more important. Just wasn't there.

Doh geh me wrong eh. I think he played a useful role, but I would not describe him as the engine merely because he saw a lot of the possession.

His role was to unlock and to provide. In my mind, he deserves to be on the bench as he is right now. Not because of fatigue, but because he wasn't effective. In this game. CFU? What have you done for me lately?

At the end of the day, this is a question of philosophy (regarding how the coach prefers to orient his attack) ... but it seems that Schaeffer's withdrawal of McAnuff supports the issue as to his effectiveness in this game.
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 09, 2016, 10:15:43 PM
Sylum, yuh eh easy, yuh come back with a masters thesis!  :beermug:

Anyway, respek bredda...like u say, is a qu of the type of CMF u want re-coaching philosophy...yes the pass caught my eye, but observing him a while now...wonder what Jam will do after this and a likely early WC qual exit. My guess is rebuild

Messi tmr!
Post by: asylumseeker on June 09, 2016, 10:33:08 PM
Didn't see the Venezuela-Uruguay match. Whais de scene with Suarez rolling around on de ground? On the bench at that.

Post by: soccerman on June 09, 2016, 10:38:41 PM
Didn't see the Venezuela-Uruguay match. Whais de scene with Suarez rolling around on de ground? On the bench at that.
Suarez was warming up to go on and at the last minute the coach told him NO! he's not going in, only to find out he wasn't listed to play.

If you see my boy getting ready before the game, halftime and even during the 2nd half. De man tape up he ankles, put on shin pads, ready to go....so the assumption is the coaching staff never told him he wasn't listed to play.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 09, 2016, 10:58:10 PM
Suarez was warming up to go on and at the last minute the coach told him NO! he's not going in, only to find out he wasn't listed to play.

If you see my boy getting ready before the game, halftime and even during the 2nd half. De man tape up he ankles, put on shin pads, ready to go....so the assumption is the coaching staff never told him he wasn't listed to play.

Thanks. Just read that he laced up before the Mexico match also.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 09, 2016, 11:08:13 PM
Sylum, yuh eh easy, yuh come back with a masters thesis!  :beermug:

Anyway, respek bredda...like u say, is a qu of the type of CMF u want re-coaching philosophy...yes the pass caught my eye, but observing him a while now...wonder what Jam will do after this and a likely early WC qual exit. My guess is rebuild

Messi tmr!

According to de maths, they could still make the hex. Ah feel the most they could do between now and then is replace pieces.

One way or the other doh, rebuilding is in their future whether they make it to the hex or not. We should have some hints during the Caribbean Cup rounds.
Post by: Deeks on June 10, 2016, 09:15:24 AM
What is the best game you guys have seen so far? My pick is Argentina-Chile.
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 10, 2016, 09:53:08 AM
Would have to agree
Post by: soccerman on June 10, 2016, 10:53:55 AM
Would have to agree
Ditto!
Post by: Bitter on June 10, 2016, 07:10:42 PM
Bullshit!

I hope is a big cheque eh Ref.
Post by: Bitter on June 10, 2016, 07:11:17 PM

Mexico - Uruguay
Post by: kounty on June 10, 2016, 07:21:31 PM
Bullshit!

I hope is a big cheque eh Ref.
i don't even hope that. i hope they send him home immediately...and monitor his bank account and house for at least a year.
Post by: Deeks on June 10, 2016, 07:32:15 PM
Is not the ref, is the lineman.
Post by: palos on June 10, 2016, 07:33:15 PM
Question fuh de massive....

Say we had qualified instead of Haiti and ended up in the same group....do you think we woulda colleck 7 from Brazil?

IMO....unless we showed up with the same squad that went China, I would be shocked if we conceded more than 3 goals.

I wouldn't be surprised if we even pulled off a result.  Brazil....especially without Neymar is not that formidable these days

Our biggest problem is in the goal keeping department.  With Jan Michael gone fuh de season and an erratic Marvin Phillip, we vulnerable in that area.
Post by: Bitter on June 10, 2016, 07:43:35 PM
Is not the ref, is the lineman.

Same thing
Post by: Sando prince on June 10, 2016, 07:44:42 PM

Panama players already look defeated. dem fellas just happy to be playing against Argentina  ;D
Post by: Sando prince on June 10, 2016, 07:46:43 PM

Say we had qualified instead of Haiti and ended up in the same group....do you think we woulda colleck 7 from Brazil?

IMO....unless we showed up with the same squad that went China, I would be shocked if we conceded more than 3 goals.

I wouldn't be surprised if we even pulled off a result.  Brazil....especially without Neymar is not that formidable these days

Our biggest problem is in the goal keeping department.  With Jan Michael gone fuh de season and an erratic Marvin Phillip, we vulnerable in that area.

I agree with the point that our best team would have given Brazil a better challenge than Haiti.

But we do not deserve to be there..we underestimated Haiti and played without shit ball in a very important game and they beat us to earn a spot in Copa.
Post by: Bitter on June 10, 2016, 08:10:32 PM
Panama are the architects of their own downfall. Wild man side.
Post by: Tallman on June 10, 2016, 08:10:50 PM
But we do not deserve to be there..we underestimated Haiti and played without shit ball in a very important game and they beat us to earn a spot in Copa.

Allyuh forget is three chances we had to qualify for de Copa? Is just dat de Haiti game was de last one.
Post by: Bitter on June 10, 2016, 08:26:15 PM

Allyuh forget is three chances we had to qualify for de Copa? Is just dat de Haiti game was de last one.

If you keep repeating this, people will get it by the end of the tournament.
Post by: MEP on June 10, 2016, 09:26:01 PM
Messi come on and panama stop playing....
Post by: Bitter on June 10, 2016, 09:27:12 PM
(https://camo.derpicdn.net/0966ec4cf3748558ff3a6186e0228cb3a190814f?url=https%3A%2F%2Fs3.amazonaws.com%2Fstatic.carthrottle.com%2Fworkspace%2Fuploads%2Fcomments%2F1399360616124-54431c75bdd31.jpg)
Post by: Peong on June 10, 2016, 10:05:10 PM
Arg bring a man off the bench and he score hattrick oui.
Is one ting to do dat vs Panama.
Lewwe see him do it against big European defenders nah.
Post by: Deeks on June 10, 2016, 10:52:41 PM

Godoy and Baloy, two chupid oys. Baloy pressed his forehead against Mascherano. That was so stupid! Then Godoy get two chupid yellows. They playing Argentina, not under de shop. They can't even handle a Messi-less Arg. Team with 11 men, far less 10. >:(
Post by: Sando prince on June 10, 2016, 11:55:11 PM

Thanks for pointing out MORE reason why we do not deserve to be in Copa
Post by: asylumseeker on June 11, 2016, 12:50:37 AM

Godoy and Baloy, two chupid oys. Baloy pressed his forehead against Mascherano. That was so stupid! Then Godoy get two chupid yellows. They playing Argentina, not under de shop. They can't even handle a Messi-less Arg. Team with 11 men, far less 10. >:(

https://mobile.twitter.com/ParaguayTVHD/status/741450464374460416/video/1

De same words for us cause fights on and off de field.

Lip read dis by Mascherano: "la concha de tu madre". Blas Pérez and Baloy are friends off the pitch. Go way back.

Mascherano: master of darker arts.
Post by: palos on June 11, 2016, 03:25:38 PM

First chance....Caribbean Cup final against Jamaica.  Wha we do?  Went on strike before de final and lose on penalties.  We sabotage we own self.  And not just the players....but administration have great blame to get too.

Second chance......Gold Cup quarter final against Panama.  Wha we do?  Lose on penalties when we coulda jes score one penalty and go through.  And even that we fork up.  We screw up the penalty lineup resulting in the wrong player at the wrong time to take de penalty

Third chance.....playoff against Haiti.  A Haiti team that decimated and unmotivated.  We play tata and lose in de dregs.  No matter....we woulda find a way to f**k up and lose on penalties too.

3 GOLDEN OPPORUNITIES.  3 SELF DESTRUCTIONS.  Yuh couldn't script that.  We slogan should be mission impossible.

We now have 1 point to get to qualify for the Hex with 2 games to go.  1 of those games is at home.  Waz de odds on we self destructin again?
Post by: asylumseeker on June 11, 2016, 05:11:57 PM

Haiti under the previous coach (Marc Collat), would have had a more enterprising posture than that adopted by Neveu. And in being disappointed with Haiti, I swept aside the reality that the team is under a new regimen.

Neveu seemed at odd with his own tactics and/or his players' execution of them. In his post-match comments he said he thought the team played too low, but I did not see him actively attempt to rectify the concern (to be fair, I abandoned ship around the 4th goal and before Haiti scored).

Iz hard to predict player mentality even after sound preparation, so who knows how our players would have responded.

What I do know is that you erase "awe-struck" with "respect" by early and continuous immersion and exposure. Although this Brazil is not star-studded, Haitian players were still in awe.

If I meet Willan at U15 and then at 17, 19, 21 ...even frequently at each level ... I am going to be invested in figuring out how to deal with the challenge Willan presents and less invested in his celebrity.

Nice to walk into a job and get arguably the biggest platform of his career (Neveu) via a playoff spot.
Post by: Bitter on June 11, 2016, 06:32:48 PM
US real petulant. Every tackle they get they bawlin fowl.
Post by: lefty on June 11, 2016, 07:00:40 PM
USA by d skin ah dey balls
Post by: lefty on June 11, 2016, 07:24:23 PM
geezanages costa rica :o
Post by: lefty on June 11, 2016, 07:28:41 PM
dis going and be good ah could feel it 1-1
Post by: Bitter on June 11, 2016, 08:40:54 PM
Now we have to hear these yankees crow for the next week.

:pissedoff:
Post by: Bitter on June 11, 2016, 08:46:30 PM
This is why I does watch these games in spanish.
In one sentence, you say, Columbia make 10 changes to the squad for this game, then say - They look like a shadow of themselves.

So yuh saying that the subs not as good as the starters? Steups.
Post by: lefty on June 11, 2016, 08:56:15 PM
commentator is a brit http://www.goatd.net/152156/watch-colombia-vs-costa-rica
Post by: asylumseeker on June 11, 2016, 09:02:27 PM
Someone remind me why Mourinho showed Cuadrado the door.

He doh defend?
Post by: Bitter on June 11, 2016, 09:14:05 PM
Someone remind me why Mourinho showed Cuadrado the door.

He doh defend?

Cyah have a man with a tighter fro than yours on the squad.
Post by: lefty on June 11, 2016, 09:15:31 PM
colombia count egg in fowl belly
Post by: Sando prince on June 11, 2016, 09:16:06 PM
If Brazil finish second in their group then the US may end up playing them anyway  :devil:. All this talk by commentators about avoiding Brazil by winning the group is premature.
Post by: trini_stallion on June 11, 2016, 09:42:13 PM
With the exception of Haiti and Jamaica, CONCACAF is giving a good account of themselves...Panama almost making the with the exception list. But kudos to CR tonight...they are a very solid team, the first goal from the USA really threw them off, and USA killed them on the counter!
Post by: Sando prince on June 11, 2016, 09:46:21 PM
With the exception of Haiti and Jamaica, CONCACAF is giving a good account of themselves...Panama almost making the with the exception list. But kudos to CR tonight...they are a very solid team, the first goal from the USA really threw them off, and USA killed them on the counter!

Three out of six CONCACAF teams so far gave a good account of themselves. Not too sure if I would say CONCACAF did well as of right now.
Post by: Deeks on June 12, 2016, 04:23:26 PM

Three out of six CONCACAF teams so far gave a good account of themselves. Not too sure if I would say CONCACAF did well as of right now.

Half full. Half empty. Pick one!
Post by: Deeks on June 12, 2016, 05:04:21 PM
Ecuador giving Haiti pressure. 2-0. Haiti almost scored. Header hit the post.
Post by: lefty on June 12, 2016, 06:15:52 PM
Haiti gettin wuk again
Post by: Trin on June 12, 2016, 06:19:04 PM
How did we not score against this naive Haitian side ....
Post by: Deeks on June 12, 2016, 06:46:44 PM

Because we were terrible on that day. No excuses.
Post by: Trin on June 12, 2016, 06:49:42 PM

Because we were terrible on that day. No excuses.
:banginghead:
Post by: Bitter on June 12, 2016, 07:33:47 PM
The difference in the speed of play between the Euros and the Copa is striking.
Post by: Deeks on June 12, 2016, 07:35:57 PM
This Brazil-Peru game is total pace. 0-0, so far.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 12, 2016, 07:39:36 PM

Imagine what it must be like in the OFC competition.
Post by: soccerman on June 12, 2016, 08:09:03 PM
Which one has more pace? The Copa has been more entertaining to me despite the couple blowout games.
Post by: lefty on June 12, 2016, 08:13:18 PM

who seems faster....sorry haven't been religious with d euros, eh see ah full match yet in dat
Post by: Bitter on June 12, 2016, 08:25:32 PM
who seems faster....sorry haven't been religious with d euros, eh see ah full match yet in dat

Which one has more pace? The Copa has been more entertaining to me despite the couple blowout games.

In terms of running, the Copa has been faster, but the quality hasn't really been there. Both tournaments feature 2 classes of teams: Those that want to win, and those that don't want to lose. All the teams drop behind the ball and press as it approaches the final 3rd, but the Copa teams seem more willing to go hard into a tackle, so you have to do whatever you are doing quickly. This results in lots of wayward passes and wild shots.

Post by: soccerman on June 12, 2016, 08:37:05 PM
Drama...de ref make de wrong call
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 12, 2016, 08:37:45 PM
Wow
Post by: Bitter on June 12, 2016, 08:38:14 PM
Look Ting!
Yuh know what referee crew eh making the next round
Post by: lefty on June 12, 2016, 08:38:23 PM
to bad dey cyah use replays in football yet
Post by: Bitter on June 12, 2016, 08:43:35 PM
to bad dey cyah use replays in football yet

de slippery slope...
Post by: Deeks on June 12, 2016, 08:52:29 PM
Bye, bye Brazil? Looked like a hands.
Post by: soccerman on June 12, 2016, 08:55:16 PM
Bye, bye Brazil?
Bye, bye Dunga!
Post by: Deeks on June 12, 2016, 08:57:15 PM
Bye, bye Brazil?
Bye, bye Dunga!

Yes, Dunga gone. But it looks like hand ball.
Post by: ribbit on June 12, 2016, 08:59:23 PM
I always thought NBA had the worst officiating in sports but every two years FIFA come and prove me wrong.
Post by: soccerman on June 12, 2016, 08:59:49 PM
Bye, bye Brazil?
Bye, bye Dunga!

Yes, Dunga gone. But it looks like hand ball.
It was, but it's still a travesty they didn't advance from the group.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 12, 2016, 09:10:22 PM
Personally ...

Overall de Copa cyah touch the Euros. The quality of the Euros is more than a cut above. Iz football within football.

The Copa eh have no nuances. Copa iz flat out kill or die. Euro iz yuh could dead dis way or dat way or ... nah, lehwe kill dem this way. Or, if we have to die, we going out dis way.

Different types of drama.

The playing identity of the Euro teams is clearer.

Post by: asylumseeker on June 12, 2016, 09:11:59 PM
Bye, bye Brazil?
Bye, bye Dunga!

Tenporarily or permanently?
Post by: Peong on June 12, 2016, 09:15:11 PM
Dunga needed goals and used 1 sub
Post by: MEP on June 12, 2016, 09:18:22 PM
dunga done....brazil score 7 goals in de whole tournament ...all against Haiti.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 12, 2016, 09:24:17 PM
Plus, last year (during de Copa) he needed Neymar and Douglas Costa to rescue him versus Peru. Allyuh remember that piece of brilliance at the death? One of the best passes that will ever grace a football field.
Post by: Sando prince on June 12, 2016, 09:36:38 PM
If Brazil finish second in their group then the US may end up playing them anyway  :devil:. All this talk by commentators about avoiding Brazil by winning the group is premature.

See exactly what I said happened! Yesterday when Colombia lost to CR the American commentators were in jubilation because the US finished on top the group and thought they would escape Brazil, But like I said yesterday that was premature thinking because no one should be sure if Brazil would top their group.
Post by: Sando prince on June 12, 2016, 10:14:33 PM

See exactly what I said happened! Yesterday when Colombia lost to CR the American commentators were in jubilation because the US finished on top the group and thought they would escape Brazil, But like I said yesterday that was premature thinking because no one should be sure if Brazil would top their group.

Ha! just realised Brazil did not even finish second. US will be playing Ecuador
Post by: weary1969 on June 12, 2016, 10:37:19 PM

Ha! just realised Brazil did not even finish second. US will be playing Ecuador

We have been saved seeing the worst Brazil team ever.
Post by: frico on June 13, 2016, 04:35:41 AM
After all we shouldn't have been too disappointed when our bench collected 4 from de same Peru,and consider they were give away goals.
Brazil!!! ;D ;D ;D
Post by: lefty on June 13, 2016, 06:12:47 PM
mex vs ven start out at pace
Post by: Bitter on June 13, 2016, 07:47:06 PM
Hell of a goal by Corona
Post by: lefty on June 13, 2016, 07:47:46 PM
dat have to be goal of the tourney lawd
Post by: lefty on June 13, 2016, 07:53:11 PM
ven real ballin how dem bottom of comnebol *spellin*
Post by: Bitter on June 13, 2016, 07:53:45 PM
This is a hell of a game
Post by: Toppa on June 13, 2016, 08:05:26 PM
Great match! Spoiled by the Mexico fans throwing missiles at the Venezuela players...
Post by: asylumseeker on June 13, 2016, 08:21:11 PM
Great match! Spoiled by the Mexico fans throwing missiles at the Venezuela players...

They jes doh know how to behave. Tournament after tournament iz de same. Time some accountability stepped in.
Post by: Toppa on June 13, 2016, 08:22:46 PM

They jes doh know how to behave. Tournament after tournament iz de same. Time some accountability stepped in.

Agreed.
Post by: Sando prince on June 14, 2016, 12:11:10 AM
Did Jamaica even score one goal in Copa?
Post by: trini_stallion on June 14, 2016, 07:25:43 AM

Yes, their coach insisted that their objective was to score at least one goal last night, and they did! An own goallllll  :D
Post by: palos on June 14, 2016, 11:55:53 AM

Yes, their coach insisted that their objective was to score at least one goal last night, and they did! An own goallllll  :D

We shouldn't be laughin at anybody given the circumstances
Post by: trini_stallion on June 14, 2016, 12:19:24 PM

It is what it is....ever forward, never backward. We will hopefully learn from our mistakes. 3 chances to qualify and we blew it....that in itself should resonate within each of the guys that I'm sure is watching the Copa as well.

So on a lighter note, I enjoyed my chuckle...where RF...the top teams in concacaf are, Mexico, CR, USA, TnT, Panama and so forth in that order
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 14, 2016, 12:53:44 PM

It is what it is....ever forward, never backward. We will hopefully learn from our mistakes. 3 chances to qualify and we blew it....that in itself should resonate within each of the guys that I'm sure is watching the Copa as well.

So on a lighter note, I enjoyed my chuckle...where RF...the top teams in concacaf are, Mexico, CR, USA, TnT, Panama and so forth in that order

based on what?
Post by: gawd on pitch on June 14, 2016, 02:32:02 PM

based on what?

As much as we don't want to face it, Jamaica is better than us at the moment. Although we are more skillful and techically sound than them. Their strength is in their UB40s who can run hard and get behind the ball. They also get the opportunity to play more friendlies which leaves us at a huge disadvantage. However, you see the results we can get when we have the same core of players playing regularly. It's just unfortunate that we never had our best for that game (although Haiti never had their best as well ).. I do believe if both teams had their best, we would have come out victorious. Well the past is the past. Now we look onto Guatemala.

We got a huge encounter in October against Martinique. This is for a spot to the Caribbean Cup and the Gold cup. Just something to think about, if we f00k up against Guatemala and Martinique, there will be nothing to look forward to for 3 years. One last thing Martinique DOES HAVE A BETTER RECORD against us. So September and October will be very crucial..
Post by: Mose on June 14, 2016, 02:34:05 PM
dunga done....brazil score 7 goals in de whole tournament ...all against Haiti.

Brazil fires national coach Dunga after elimination at Copa America
Brazil's football confederation has fired national coach Dunga in the wake of the team's elimination from the Copa America in the United States.

The confederation announced Dunga's dismissal in a brief statement Tuesday, adding that the search for a new coach has begun.

Gilmar Rinaldi, the team's general manager, was also fired Brazil failed to get past the group stage after drawing 0-0 with Ecuador, beating Haiti 7-1 and losing 1-0 to Peru on Sunday.
Post by: soccerman on June 14, 2016, 02:57:27 PM
Yea Dunga couldn't survive after this especially with sub par performance at the WC and Copa last year-
Post by: palos on June 14, 2016, 02:59:02 PM

1 - Doh fuhget......we went WC and "scored a goal too".....an own goal.  At least Jamaica scored goals AND won in France

2 - We had the chance to beat Jamaica to prove that we are above them in CONCACAF.  We lost to them on penalties in the Caribbean Cup final when we had them to hang and instead decide to sabotage we own self by striking before the game.

Also......Jamaica had the misfortune to be drawn with Costa Rica, Panama, and Haiti in WCQ.  Had we had a similar group, I'm not so sure we would have survived it either.

Finally.....Jamaica made it to the Gold Cup semi finals.  We didn't.

And anybody who knows me knows I eh no Jamaica fan and I will take any opportunity to chuckle at RF dem.  But until our results change for the better......especially head to head against them......we have little to chat about.

Just my opinion eh....no disrespect intended.   :beermug:
Post by: gawd on pitch on June 14, 2016, 03:07:01 PM

1 - Doh fuhget......we went WC and "scored a goal too".....an own goal.  At least Jamaica scored goals AND won in France

2 - We had the chance to beat Jamaica to prove that we are above them in CONCACAF.  We lost to them on penalties in the Caribbean Cup final when we had them to hang and instead decide to sabotage we own self by striking before the game.

Also......Jamaica had the misfortune to be drawn with Costa Rica, Panama, and Haiti in WCQ.  Had we had a similar group, I'm not so sure we would have survived it either.

And anybody who knows me knows I eh no Jamaica fan and I will take any opportunity to chuckle at RF dem.  But until our results change for the better......especially head to head against them......we have little to chat about.

I with you on that.

We will see how September and October unfolds for us. I really don't like the draw against Martinique..
Post by: trini_stallion on June 14, 2016, 03:24:11 PM

I with you on that.

We will see how September and October unfolds for us. I really don't like the draw against Martinique..

Very good points, the socawarriors have blown their opportunities to be playing at this tournament, I just really don't think that Jamaica, Panama or Haiti is better than our guys. We played those 3 teams and yes we lost to them, they earned their spot. Are they better, again, I don't think so. We are no Argentina, but the brand SH has been trying to instill since 13 to now...we look technical, we move the ball on the ground as a post to Shabazz hit and hope, and we just make better runs now, collectively and individually, (look at spur midfielders and defenders scoring). Just overall progress....or is it a false sense of nothing...because we haven't made any impact in terms of getting any where...lost on penalties in the GC to Panama...

As per the original conversation...coach say score a goal and they did...yea sancho had put one in de net in 2006, that was 2006!

We are better than that what look like a make shift Jamaican team. Idc
Post by: Bitter on June 14, 2016, 07:22:00 PM
Bullet by Sanchez. Hard luck dey Panama.
Post by: soccerman on June 14, 2016, 08:56:26 PM
Argentina strolling through the park
Post by: futbolfan on June 14, 2016, 09:34:25 PM
Yea Dunga couldn't survive after this especially with sub par performance at the WC and Copa last year-

Better he get the axe now, than wait until  the Olympics. Because it would be a travesty for them to be the host country and put down a pile when the expectation is to win the goal medal.
Post by: soccerman on June 14, 2016, 10:07:35 PM
Messi wicked for doing the keeper like that....salad jus so dread?
Post by: Toppa on June 16, 2016, 08:26:44 PM
Ecuador playing so much faeces.
Post by: weary1969 on June 16, 2016, 08:49:44 PM
Zeppo must be happy like a pig in mud.
Post by: soccerman on June 16, 2016, 08:50:15 PM
Tough card on Jermaine Jones
Post by: Toppa on June 16, 2016, 08:57:15 PM
Tough card on Jermaine Jones

He punched the guy...
Post by: Toppa on June 16, 2016, 09:00:48 PM
Ecuador deserve to lose. Wotless performance.
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 16, 2016, 09:02:23 PM

Ah know we cyar stand de Yankee media propaganda machine but give dem men credit, dey deserve their two goal lead...
Post by: Toppa on June 16, 2016, 09:03:59 PM

Ah know we cyar stand de Yankee media propaganda machine but give dem men credit, dey deserve their two goal lead...

I know, not saying they don't, just very disappointed in Ecuador. Dempsey is a beast btw.
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 16, 2016, 09:05:26 PM
Sense and ever since he diss Daniel cyar stand him  :devil:
Post by: Toppa on June 16, 2016, 09:09:21 PM
lol Finally. Boss goal too. Just drove it through and into the net.
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 16, 2016, 09:13:27 PM
Valencia want some lix
Post by: Toppa on June 16, 2016, 09:16:18 PM
Valencia want some lix

Ent!! haha
Post by: Peong on June 16, 2016, 10:07:41 PM
Valencia want some lix

He needed to spend more time in training and less time in the barber shop.
Post by: MEP on June 17, 2016, 12:48:40 AM
I feel Klinsmann does pray to the Lord of Light and have a Red Witch some place.  There isn't any blueprint for how he has the US playing tactically, it's almost as if he says fellas I'm your biggest cheerleader now go play..... have fun ...we are Americans...
It's almost as if he is just using small group tactics in certain areas of the pitch. Like tonight all they did was create pressure pockets defensively juxtapose to the first game against Colombia where it was hit them hard. Then in the game against Costa Rica just piss poor defending and goal keeping saw them winning. The US is a team that doesn't create chances but they make the most of their opportunities.
Post by: lefty on June 17, 2016, 03:39:38 AM
Well Mep boy, d American "non plan" seems to be d plan going forward and I hope Hart taking note and coming up with a plan for d non plan because right it wukkin, including making sure dat Guatemala "gets got", I still tink we could one up d states on d road, even with d non plan, but not if we under pressure.

Sent from my BLU ADVANCE 4.0 using Tapatalk
Post by: Sando prince on June 17, 2016, 08:39:08 AM
The Americans did well to reach the semis but they won't go further
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on June 17, 2016, 09:30:38 AM
Valencia want some lix

Ent!! haha

Wey u ressurect from gyul?!!
Post by: weary1969 on June 17, 2016, 09:51:56 AM
The Americans did well to reach the semis but they won't go further

Not according to Beckham who expect them to go further in the WC.
Post by: Storeboy on June 17, 2016, 12:47:57 PM
I feel Klinsmann does pray to the Lord of Light and have a Red Witch some place.  There isn't any blueprint for how he has the US playing tactically, it's almost as if he says fellas I'm your biggest cheerleader now go play..... have fun ...we are Americans...
It's almost as if he is just using small group tactics in certain areas of the pitch. Like tonight all they did was create pressure pockets defensively juxtapose to the first game against Colombia where it was hit them hard. Then in the game against Costa Rica just piss poor defending and goal keeping saw them winning. The US is a team that doesn't create chances but they make the most of their opportunities.
If our Soca Warriors were half as fit (our foreign players are; our local players are not) and played with as much do or die effort as the US (stop ball watching and move) we would beat the US every time.  Furthermore, by the time we play the US in September, they would have played about 12 to 15 international games (friendlies and competition) while we have played 4 or 5. That is not a recipe for making it to Russia.  I am planning to be in Jacksonville in September and I hope I am wrong!
Post by: Bitter on June 17, 2016, 07:40:03 PM
So much negative football...
Post by: Toppa on June 17, 2016, 07:55:57 PM
Valencia want some lix

Ent!! haha

Wey u ressurect from gyul?!!

;D I'v been too busy to post much.
Post by: weary1969 on June 17, 2016, 08:13:41 PM
Adios Peru kick penalties like the Brits
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on June 17, 2016, 10:37:37 PM
So much negative football...

So much acting especially that Tapia player. I noticed his tactics when we played Peru last month, initiates the contact then makes the most of it. While the ref maybe let too much go tonight I was happy he didn't fall for this player's acting.
Post by: Sando prince on June 18, 2016, 05:48:08 PM
Earlier in the match, Venezuela should have taken advantage of two clear cut chances against Argentina. They will look back and regret it
Post by: Sando prince on June 18, 2016, 05:51:48 PM

Was that a serious penalty by Venezuela?  :rotfl:
Post by: lefty on June 18, 2016, 05:52:28 PM
dat penalty lol...ven holding dey own though
Post by: asylumseeker on June 18, 2016, 05:53:56 PM
Lehwe say de ref screw de man's concentration by walking over to Romero.
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 18, 2016, 06:13:19 PM
Rondon shulda take de kick, missed a chance to make it a match
Post by: MEP on June 18, 2016, 06:24:50 PM
yuh ketch that too
Post by: asylumseeker on June 18, 2016, 06:31:43 PM

Who does Argentina face next? I wanted 2-1 going into halftime and then whatever play play.

Post by: asylumseeker on June 18, 2016, 06:35:08 PM
yuh ketch that too

That struck me as unnecessary and not helpful. A lil embellished. Baller shoulda reset.
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 18, 2016, 06:38:12 PM

Who does Argentina face next? I wanted 2-1 going into halftime and then whatever play play.

Uncle Sam
Post by: lefty on June 18, 2016, 06:49:01 PM
Unca Sam goin' an' have one hell of ah time against Argentina, if dey continue wit dis momentum

Post by: 100% Barataria on June 18, 2016, 07:01:34 PM
School is in session, football 101
Post by: ribbit on June 18, 2016, 08:47:56 PM
Any stats on the distance run by each team in t Copa? Seem like they working harder than the Euro.
Post by: ribbit on June 18, 2016, 08:51:27 PM
Dang. Mexico on dey heels.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 18, 2016, 09:10:38 PM
I hope it works out to be a lesson in humility for Mexico ... although, should they lose, the likely consequence will be to pong Juan Carlos Osorio rather than form any other reasonable conclusions. (By humility, I mean a couple more Chilean goals). Although, I think JCO will see where he has issues and seek to address damage control.

Lots of time left doh. Mexico could still show their mettle and establish their credentials in the next 45',

The Chileans are taking a couple touches too many prior to striking. Work that out and Memo Ochoa will be picking the ball out of the net again.
Post by: ribbit on June 18, 2016, 09:14:59 PM
Geez, this is the level cut arse.
Post by: lefty on June 18, 2016, 09:19:44 PM
chile puttin on ah class on how to beat mexico
Post by: lefty on June 18, 2016, 09:21:20 PM
4-0
Post by: ribbit on June 18, 2016, 09:22:43 PM
5-0. Where Dos Santos?
Post by: MEP on June 18, 2016, 09:23:35 PM
Mexico head coaching position just opened up
Post by: asylumseeker on June 18, 2016, 09:25:18 PM
5-0. Where Dos Santos?

Declined the invitation to participate. Had this gone positively that might have come back to bite him. However, this result won't hurt him.
Post by: Jumbie on June 18, 2016, 09:28:39 PM
Mexico getting "taught"..#Clinic

Post by: Bitter on June 18, 2016, 09:28:55 PM
(https://media.giphy.com/media/T9TWQiHtuzWSs/giphy-facebook_s.jpg)
Post by: soccerman on June 18, 2016, 09:29:55 PM
I hope it works out to be a lesson in humility for Mexico ... although, should they lose, the likely consequence will be to pong Juan Carlos Osorio rather than form any other reasonable conclusions. (By humility, I mean a couple more Chilean goals). Although, I think JCO will see where he has issues and seek to address damage control.
This is humiliation and we have 30 mins left.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 18, 2016, 09:31:57 PM
Mexico head coaching position just opened up

Ent. And eerily so, given his positive record with the squad. But yuh cyah be a foreigner at the helm of Mexico and suffering the fans with a display like this.

Allyuh eh go believe this, but the anti-Osorio memes are already circulating mid-match.
Post by: MEP on June 18, 2016, 09:36:10 PM
The man has been successful with this team up until now....I hope they rescind that Vidal yellow
Post by: Bitter on June 18, 2016, 09:37:11 PM
The man has been successful with this team up until now....I hope they rescind that Vidal yellow

Why? He kick down the man.
Post by: Bitter on June 18, 2016, 09:38:50 PM
Where that ball pass?
Post by: soccerman on June 18, 2016, 09:39:12 PM
Damn Vargas
Post by: MEP on June 18, 2016, 09:39:32 PM
ouch....mejico on the ass end of a ass whooping
Post by: ribbit on June 18, 2016, 09:40:07 PM
5-0. Where Dos Santos?

Declined the invitation to participate. Had this gone positively that might have come back to bite him. However, this result won't hurt him.

Thanks. Not sure how much difference I would mak Chile so much faster.
Post by: ribbit on June 18, 2016, 09:40:38 PM
No mas.
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 18, 2016, 09:44:22 PM
Por favor
Post by: ribbit on June 18, 2016, 09:48:15 PM
If Vidal wasn't so wasteful it would be 8
Post by: soccerman on June 18, 2016, 09:48:35 PM
Ah wonder if my Mexican brethren will want to go for some Corona's after dis
Post by: lefty on June 18, 2016, 09:52:58 PM
7-0
Post by: soccerman on June 18, 2016, 09:53:15 PM
Siete
Post by: MEP on June 18, 2016, 09:53:22 PM
Why not 8...let's go Chile
Post by: Bitter on June 18, 2016, 09:54:03 PM

You might have to call the suicide hotline
Post by: soccerman on June 18, 2016, 09:55:48 PM

You might have to call the suicide hotline
Post by: MEP on June 18, 2016, 09:56:06 PM
steups ref call de game early ..had at least 3 mins
Post by: soccerman on June 18, 2016, 09:56:34 PM
No stoppage time ref?
Post by: Bitter on June 18, 2016, 09:57:16 PM
Mercifully, the ref end it on 90 minutes.
Post by: MEP on June 18, 2016, 09:57:48 PM
One more team needs to be taught some humility and hopefully that comes on Tuesday
Post by: ribbit on June 18, 2016, 09:58:00 PM
Well, worst ever defeat for Mexico was 8-0. So there's that.
Post by: soccerman on June 18, 2016, 09:59:11 PM
One more team needs to be taught some humility and hopefully that comes on Tuesday
Who Argentina ;D
Post by: kounty on June 18, 2016, 10:01:08 PM
wow. what a hiding. I mean Chile play a near perfect game, but I sure we could exploit them 2 shithound central defenders mexico sporting.
Post by: MEP on June 18, 2016, 10:05:21 PM
Who Argentina ;D
nah you know who.....a replication of this score would be apropos
Post by: davyjenny1 on June 18, 2016, 10:13:25 PM
Late during the 2nd half commentary all of a sudden they say Mexico playing men out of position;utter nonsense. I knew that some team who know how to possessed the ball would expose them at the back ,i'm not surprise at all.

Corona beers on sale half price.
Post by: lefty on June 18, 2016, 10:19:05 PM
hope hart had on he DVR doh it not be needed if dis coach get shown d door
Post by: ribbit on June 18, 2016, 10:25:42 PM
Tequila half price.
Post by: ribbit on June 18, 2016, 10:27:29 PM
Mescal on special. #LiquidTherapy
Post by: Peong on June 18, 2016, 10:45:26 PM
So does conmebol respect concacaf after tonight?
Post by: asylumseeker on June 18, 2016, 10:56:44 PM
Well, worst ever defeat for Mexico was 8-0. So there's that.

Here's England 8 Mexico 0. 55 years ago.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=rgHZbI4eqsY

Post by: Sando prince on June 18, 2016, 11:03:16 PM

I didn't expect a baseball score in the Mex vs Chile game  :D
Post by: ribbit on June 18, 2016, 11:21:07 PM

with JA and Haiti's performance, wouldn't surprise if they take away jack's last legacy to the region and reduce the CONCACAF allotment to 3. would be completely justified in doing so.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 18, 2016, 11:24:52 PM
(http://net-storage2.tccstatic.com/storage/bernabeudigital.com/img_notizie/thumb1/7b/7b9a2a1bb1c7a19a79fd46b59b0ca3fe-01134-d41d8cd98f00b204e9800998ecf8427e.jpeg)

Just before the Turkey-Spain match, Del Bosque said it: football punishes those who lack humility. Tonight Mexico is living it.
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 19, 2016, 05:49:06 AM
Mex geh chrome yes
Post by: Deeks on June 19, 2016, 06:24:41 AM
Forum, was never expecting that score. I went out and came back by the 70th min and the score was 5-0. Mexico was playing like Trinbago and Chile was playing like how Mex. does play when they running roughshod over the Caribbean teams. Davyjenny is correct when he said that Chile's ability to keep possession of the ball, exposed Mexico's weakness at the back. Chile was moving thru them like basket holding water. Mexico looked deflated. I thought Mex and USA performances would have bolstered Concacaf case as a serious confederation. But our teams boil down like water under very hot fire.
Post by: Jumbie on June 19, 2016, 07:26:23 AM

hope the Fed was smart enough to have Mr Hart and staff at some of these games.
Post by: lefty on June 19, 2016, 07:32:19 AM

hope the Fed was smart enough to have Mr Hart and staff at some of these games.
Dat would be optimal, but trinis not known for doing optimal tings by default, and DJW doh strike me as being proficient in that regard.

Post by: che on June 19, 2016, 08:53:44 AM
(http://net-storage2.tccstatic.com/storage/bernabeudigital.com/img_notizie/thumb1/7b/7b9a2a1bb1c7a19a79fd46b59b0ca3fe-01134-d41d8cd98f00b204e9800998ecf8427e.jpeg)

Just before the Turkey-Spain match, Del Bosque said it: football punishes those who lack humility. Tonight Mexico is living it.

with JA and Haiti's performance, wouldn't surprise if they take away jack's last legacy to the region and reduce the CONCACAF allotment to 3. would be completely justified in doing so.

The only way Fifa will reduce our allotment is if our fed performs this badly at a WC. Our Fed performing badly at a regional competition does not affect our WC allotment.
Post by: che on June 19, 2016, 08:55:22 AM
That beat down could not have happened to a better group of fans.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 19, 2016, 09:55:28 AM
Osorio geh tie up two ways.

1. The friendly played v. Chile two weeks ago. He tried to replicate elements of that narrow victory thinking he had found the Golden Egg.

2. Flickin Jamaica. Jamaica exposed elements of Mexico's vulnerability but were unable to finish and punish, were unable to maintain possession, and were unable to generate a balanced attack. Yet, Jamaica with clinical finishing "coulda dun" Mexico.

On the other hand, Chile resolved these issues like clinical assasins.
Post by: lefty on June 21, 2016, 06:56:02 PM
time to hopefully watch USA get bull
Post by: ZANDOLIE on June 21, 2016, 07:04:52 PM
That beat down could not have happened to a better group of fans.
Post by: Bitter on June 21, 2016, 07:05:08 PM
Ok Argentina, do your jobs!
Post by: Bitter on June 21, 2016, 07:09:08 PM
Yessssss!!!!!
Post by: lefty on June 21, 2016, 07:09:35 PM
it has begun ;D ;D
Post by: Cocorite on June 21, 2016, 07:18:56 PM
Lash Dem, Kun
Post by: Bitter on June 21, 2016, 07:27:56 PM
Flickin Higuain. Come nah man!
Post by: Bitter on June 21, 2016, 07:38:07 PM
Gooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
Post by: Bitter on June 21, 2016, 07:38:47 PM
oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooolllllllll

Que Golazzzzzzo!
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 21, 2016, 07:39:16 PM
Asso Asso asso
Post by: Bitter on June 21, 2016, 07:41:59 PM
I switch to Univision to enjoy the call on that free kick.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 21, 2016, 07:42:33 PM
I, Leo Messi, anoint you Guzan Boo-zan.
Post by: Bitter on June 21, 2016, 07:44:45 PM
I, Leo Messi, anoint you Guzan Boo-zan.

To be fair, Brad accustom to getting string-up.
Post by: Bitter on June 21, 2016, 07:46:51 PM
The US pushing high, but fraid to go into the tackle. Argentina just causally passing it around in the back until they feel like going forward. I thought Klinsmann tell allyuh go brave?
Post by: davyjenny1 on June 21, 2016, 07:57:59 PM
Messi Is King too... deep down in Argentina.
Post by: soccerman on June 21, 2016, 08:02:54 PM
What a way for Messi to become Argentina's #1 scorer  :applause:
Post by: lefty on June 21, 2016, 08:04:23 PM
dey jus show dat freekick from every cam angle lawd have mercy
Post by: lefty on June 21, 2016, 08:06:56 PM
hope d U20 watching this....a constant diet of international ball  should be on this fellas plate both live and recorded....learn from watchin and analyzin what dey seeing
Post by: asylumseeker on June 21, 2016, 08:08:40 PM

Guzan will go down as a historic figure. Might become an answer in a trivia game.

US: no enterprise.
Post by: soccerman on June 21, 2016, 08:11:26 PM

Guzan will go down as a historic figure. Might become an answer in a trivia game.

US: no enterprise.
Post by: Bitter on June 21, 2016, 08:15:54 PM
Higuain nearly throw that away too.
Post by: lefty on June 21, 2016, 08:16:07 PM
Post by: Bitter on June 21, 2016, 08:17:44 PM
The only thing this game missing now is Ray Hudson
Post by: asylumseeker on June 21, 2016, 08:19:20 PM
The only thing this game missing now is Ray Hudson

And 4 more.
Post by: soccerman on June 21, 2016, 08:20:05 PM
Mexico was also down 2-0 at the half and then.....
Post by: asylumseeker on June 21, 2016, 08:21:19 PM
Has Zardes won ANY tackles?
Post by: Bitter on June 21, 2016, 08:30:02 PM
All of a sudden, Arg players going down like flies. That advertising boards thing...
Post by: asylumseeker on June 21, 2016, 08:33:38 PM
Mascherano wanted piece of the action. He has scored against the US before ... during a junior WC.
Post by: Bitter on June 21, 2016, 08:51:46 PM
Excellent.
Now I don't have to hear any more stupid talk about how they could beat Argentina.
Post by: lefty on June 21, 2016, 08:52:20 PM
hahahaha 4444444444444444444!
Post by: asylumseeker on June 21, 2016, 08:56:42 PM
ARG: foot off the gas. Steups. Playing at 60+%. Not much more.
Post by: lefty on June 21, 2016, 09:00:38 PM
dat coulda easily be 6
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 21, 2016, 09:02:03 PM

Imo they haven't shifted from 1st gear whole tournament, which culd work against them in the final
Post by: Bitter on June 21, 2016, 09:03:43 PM

Imo they haven't shifted from 1st gear whole tournament, which culd work against them in the final

Yes. Chile starting the final in 4th gear.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 21, 2016, 09:12:34 PM
Klinsmann should be bringing Jermaine Jones, Brooks, Pulisic, and Fabian Johnson to Jacksonville. And he should put a few of his labourers on permanent work release.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 21, 2016, 09:14:16 PM

Sense.
Post by: madness on June 21, 2016, 10:44:53 PM
U20 must look at the quality of play
Post by: futbolfan on June 22, 2016, 12:21:03 AM
The US sentiment is that they were missing 3 of their top players so the scoreline and outcome would have been different. How delusional, as the talent, speed and execution of play was not even close.

I wish the Argies didn't take their foot off the gas until the score was 7-0 so that Mexico and the US would have something in common.
Post by: lefty on June 22, 2016, 03:26:36 AM
It was either mercy, or dey conserving energy, but dat whole missing players crap is funny.

Sent from my puta ADVANCE 4.0 using Tapatalk
Post by: madness on June 22, 2016, 06:54:31 AM
the commentators are funny. the US team were outplayed by the Argentina .  :banginghead: :banginghead: the commentators believed that the US team had a chance to play good football against Argentina  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 22, 2016, 07:21:49 AM
Unlike Chile who arguably now starting to gel under their new coach, Argentina strategy seems to be "don't adjust the gears" unless they need to.

Which if u watched all their games is scary as they won quite comfortably in 1st gear. That said, when u go through a whole tournament at 1st gear and suddenly have to go up 1 or 2 gears in a final, u may not be able to.

Anyway, Sunday should be nice...
Post by: ribbit on June 22, 2016, 08:36:00 AM
dey jus show dat freekick from every cam angle lawd have mercy

dat freekick was a real drone strike.
Post by: OutsideMan on June 22, 2016, 09:43:50 AM
hope d U20 watching this....a constant diet of international ball  should be on this fellas plate both live and recorded....learn from watchin and analyzin what dey seeing

:beermug: :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: soccerman on June 22, 2016, 10:13:26 AM
Di Maria didn't even play. Is he still with the team? I knew his grandmother passed away just before the first game, not sure if he left because of that.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 22, 2016, 11:11:12 AM
USA-Argentina Copa Centenario Player Ratings
By Ridge Mahoney, Soccer America.

The USA fell behind early to Argentina, the top-ranked team in the world, and chased most of the 90 minutes in a convincing 4-0 defeat Tuesday night in Houston.

A couple of good saves by Brad Guzan aside, the U.S. seldom looked up to the task of battling Lionel Messi and an array of excellent players. The Americans failed to put a shot on goal and their defense sprang leaks repeatedly.

The U.S. finishes its Copa America Centenario in the third-place game against either Colombia or Chile on Saturday.

USA-ARGENTINA EXPRESS:

June 21 in Houston
USA 0 Argentina 4. Goals: Lavezzi 3, Messi 32, Higuain 50, 86.
Att.: 70,858.

USA Player Ratings
Starters:
PLAYER (TEAM) GP/G

5 Brad Guzan (Aston Villa/ARG), 50/0.
Left himself stranded on first goal by doing nothing as ball dropped to a wide-open Ezequiel Lavezzi. Otherwise, got to the crosses he should have and handled the shots. Excellent save foiled Gonzalo Higuain but rebound wound up in the net. Big save on Messi in the final minutes kept the score respectable.

3 DeAndre Yedlin (Sunderland/ENG), 38/0.
Averted a breakaway by chasing down Augusto Fernandez. Worked a nice one-two with Zardes to reach the byline but didn’t deliver a precise cutback. Played a good ball to Pulisic inside the box. Left huge swathes of space near the corner that Argentina exploited.

4 Geoff Cameron (Stoke City/ENG), 45/4.
Thwarted Higuain from point-blank range with a strong tackle. Cut out a couple of Messi’s passes.

3 John Brooks (Hertha Berlin/GER), 26/3.
Headed a few balls out of danger, often outclassed on and off the ball. Clueless about finding a good position to receive a ball when teammates were under pressure. Let Higuain run free to head in third goal.

4 Fabian Johnson (Borussia M'Gladbach/GER), 48/2.
Raced back after a corner to block a shot from close range. Breached several times and gave away too much space to crosses and dribbles.

3 Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), 57/1.
Seldom quick enough or clever enough to cope with Argentina. Lost track of opponents, struggled to connect passes under pressure. What was he doing on first Argentina goal?

3 Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), 120/15.
Chased shadows and always seemed a step behind the Argentines. One or two set-play deliveries were okay. Needed to be sharper and cleaner and shrewder under pressure and just wasn’t.

4 Gyasi Zardes (LA Galaxy), 30/6.
No shortage of effort on both sides of the ball, but limitations of touch and guile were glaring.

3 Graham Zusi (Sporting KC), 40/5.
Work rate slowed down Argentina a few times. Not effective one-v-one and hit a terrible crossfield ball 30 yards from the nearest teammate.

2 Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes), 34/10.
No impact offensively, gave away costly free kick with a clumsy foul after horrible pass put U.S. in trouble. Probably Klinsmann’s worst personnel decision of the tournament.

3 Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders), 130/52.
Did a lot of work off the ball offensively and defensively without troubling Argentina. Very lucky to escape sanction for flagrant elbow to the jaw of Javier Mascherano.

TRIVIA. Messi broke the Argentine all-time goalscoring record by scoring his 55th goal in his 112th international. Gabriel Batistuta scored 54 goals in 78 appearances.

Substitutes
5 Christian Pulisic (Borussia Dortmund/GER), 5/0.
Challenged the Argentine backline a couple of times, won a corner kick. Tried to relay a ball to Zardes but defender intervened.

3 Steve Birnbaum (D.C. United), 7/1.
Was doing okay until terrible error opened the door to fourth Argentine goal.

NR Darlington Nagbe (Portland Timbers), 9/1.
Maybe a tuneup to start third-place match?

June 21 in Houston
USA 0 Argentina 4. Goals: Lavezzi 3, Messi 32, Higuain 50, 86.
USA -- Guzan; Yedlin, Cameron, Brooks, Johnson, Bradley, Beckerman (Nagbe, 78), Zardes, Zusi, Dempsey (Birnbaum,60), Wondolowski (Pulisic, 46).

Argentina -- Romero; Mercado, Otamendi, Funes Mori, Rojo (Cuesta, 85); Fernandez (Biglia, 60), Mascherano, Banega; Messi, Higuain, Lavezzi (Lamela, 66).

Referee: Enrique Caceres (Paraguay).
Att.: 70,858.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 22, 2016, 11:12:51 AM
From Ridge Maloney's Soccer America article above:

Big save on Messi in the final minutes kept the score respectable.

Talk about exaggeration.
Post by: MEP on June 22, 2016, 11:31:36 AM
Argentina had 66% possession and yet some of these commentators talking bout if we had we regular team...they were outclassed. Bradley their best player looked in awe of the Argentinians. The US were exposed and found wanting as their only asset, fitness, what they've used to a measure of success, proved inadequate against a team was technically and intellectually superior.
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 22, 2016, 03:08:36 PM
Di Maria didn't even play. Is he still with the team? I knew his grandmother passed away just before the first game, not sure if he left because of that.

He was injured, has been cleared to play and was on bench yesterday. Expect Kun and him to feature. Lavezzi out
Post by: palos on June 22, 2016, 03:49:35 PM
Messi couldn't place that ball any better if he had climb a ladder and put it there with he hand.

Stunning.  No chance fuh Guzan....or anybody else.
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on June 22, 2016, 04:35:17 PM
Argentina had 66% possession and yet some of these commentators talking bout if we had we regular team...they were outclassed. Bradley their best player looked in awe of the Argentinians. The US were exposed and found wanting as their only asset, fitness, what they've used to a measure of success, proved inadequate against a team was technically and intellectually superior.

Some of these commentators make me laugh these are the same people who talk about us Costa Rica and other respectable Concacaf nations in a degrading manner. They say the USA should beat them easily, well shouldn't Argentina beat the US easily.
Post by: Bitter on June 22, 2016, 06:03:43 PM
Look pace now
Post by: Bitter on June 22, 2016, 06:06:16 PM
Allyuh mess up the anthem?

Ok, they just explain it. The explanation worse than if it was somebody messing up.
Post by: Cocorite on June 22, 2016, 06:06:39 PM
Messi couldn't place that ball any better if he had climb a ladder and put it there with he hand.

Stunning.  No chance fuh Guzan....or anybody else.

Couldn't have said it better.

Ooh Guuude! What a goal. My goodness.
Post by: lefty on June 22, 2016, 06:18:08 PM
colombia lookin leaky
Post by: Bitter on June 22, 2016, 06:18:54 PM
This game got real ugly real quick...
Post by: asylumseeker on June 22, 2016, 06:24:48 PM
COL climbs the Andes. Real wuk to do.
Post by: Peong on June 22, 2016, 07:24:00 PM
Lightning delay in this game.
Colombia creating chances, a goal from them will liven this up.
Post by: MEP on June 22, 2016, 07:48:08 PM
dat pissing me off because I'm forced tto listen to Alexi Tatas I often wonder if he is really that stupid. I could understand being a cheerleader for your national team but does he seriously think that the US is that good
Post by: ribbit on June 22, 2016, 08:09:05 PM
Ha ha Lalas know his audience. Zeppo want to hear good news no bad news.

Post by: Dinner Mints on June 22, 2016, 08:09:59 PM
dat pissing me off because I'm forced tto listen to Alexi Tatas I often wonder if he is really that stupid. I could understand being a cheerleader for your national team but does he seriously think that the US is that good
We have man asking why Joevin Jones not in de Prem.
Post by: davyjenny1 on June 22, 2016, 08:19:27 PM

Alexi Lalas equals tata i don't listen to him at all he is a very bias person  i figured him out several years ago.
Post by: Peong on June 22, 2016, 08:24:24 PM
I will be surprised if they play this half tonight. Now it delayed until 10:45. The weather radar have plenty rain to come though.

Now it scheduled for 11:20. Players on the field warming up
Post by: ribbit on June 22, 2016, 09:20:25 PM
Different game without Vidal.
Post by: MEP on June 22, 2016, 09:25:02 PM

I don't mind de bias, we all are, but it is the arrogant condescending and psuedointellectual  manner from which he speaks that is really annoying.

Post by: ribbit on June 22, 2016, 09:26:40 PM
Ball dead on the second bounce.
Post by: ribbit on June 22, 2016, 09:37:53 PM
Is #6 cause the first goal?
Post by: asylumseeker on June 23, 2016, 07:11:01 AM
http://www.socceramerica.com/article/69314/gulati-were-obviously-a-long-way-off.html?edition=15747

Finally a dose of reason. Also solid viewpoint in the comments section.
Post by: 100% Barataria on June 23, 2016, 08:17:45 AM
Read David G's comment. Spot on, wanting to be the best is only a prerequisite, necessary but not sufficient conditions for achieving that reality.

Post by: gawd on pitch on June 26, 2016, 01:05:56 PM
I read on the Copa website that the organizers are very happy about the success of the Copa Centenario. The game attendance average is about 46000, which is above the target that the organizers were expecting. Looks like Copa 2020 will be held every four years in America. Conmebol was to confirm the go ahead at the end on the tournament. But they confirmed much earlier.

http://sbisoccer.com/2016/06/report-copa-america-gold-cup-to-merge-to-be-held-in-u-s
Post by: MEP on June 26, 2016, 03:25:58 PM
So given the success, once again, of an american hosted tournament. I want to think that somehow it is a clarion call in some quarters to take the 18 world cup away from Russia and give it to the US.
In terms of security this tournament was relatively incident free and it also set records for attendance which averaged 46 K. If it were compared to Brazil 14 whose average attendance per game was 53 K the highest since USA 94 a formidable argument can be presented.
Post by: Spursy on June 26, 2016, 04:37:11 PM
So given the success, once again, of an american hosted tournament. I want to think that somehow it is a clarion call in some quarters to take the 18 world cup away from Russia and give it to the US.
In terms of security this tournament was relatively incident free and it also set records for attendance which averaged 46 K. If it were compared to Brazil 14 whose average attendance per game was 53 K the highest since USA 94 a formidable argument can be presented.

They won't take 18' away from Russia- they already started the program over there in terms of preparations. The highlight for me is the officiating that seemed biased in some cases. The tournament itself served concacaf more than it hurt it. Gold cup will benefit much from this.
Post by: gawd on pitch on June 26, 2016, 04:37:46 PM

Excellent point. Selling tickets in USD is certainly a motivator for Conmebol.

Yes the ulterior motive is to move Russia 2018 to USA. USA has the capacity to stage an event like the WC on a short notice.
Post by: ribbit on June 26, 2016, 05:30:20 PM
BTW: The Colombian goal was a thing of beauty. James - Cuadrado - James - Arias - Bacca. All foreign based too.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 26, 2016, 05:49:08 PM
In Di Maria we trust. Finally a final with Messi and Di Maria. The left-footed dragons. If ARG lose, they will have much soul-searching to do.
Post by: soccerman on June 26, 2016, 06:01:22 PM
Stadium looks packed from the aerial view.
Post by: Bitter on June 26, 2016, 06:13:49 PM
The tackles! Damn!
Post by: Bitter on June 26, 2016, 06:28:37 PM
Jesus Christ Higuain!

Yuh supposed to press R1 and finesse that near post.
Post by: soccerman on June 26, 2016, 06:52:14 PM
The ref stealing the show so far  :yellowcard:
Post by: lefty on June 26, 2016, 06:52:26 PM
dis game in meltdown mode
Post by: Bitter on June 26, 2016, 06:56:20 PM
The ref stealing the show so far  :yellowcard:

dis game in meltdown mode

And this ref supposed to be no-nonsense, to control the wildness.
Post by: soccerman on June 26, 2016, 07:04:00 PM
Despite the ejections for both teams they didn't sacrifice their forwards instead they went with 3 in the midfield. No parking the bus.
Post by: Sando prince on June 26, 2016, 07:07:56 PM
this referee want to be the star of the game  :D
Post by: lefty on June 26, 2016, 07:13:58 PM
instead of being a tactical and technical spectacle this has been ah ill tempered affair, d occasion get to these fellas in d worst way possible
Post by: lefty on June 26, 2016, 07:18:38 PM
...still though, alyuh tink he coulda forgo d second yellow?
Post by: Bitter on June 26, 2016, 07:20:52 PM

Nah.

You see the 2nd half start without all the wild tackles.
Post by: lefty on June 26, 2016, 07:23:59 PM

Nah.

You see the 2nd half start without all the wild tackles.

sense!
Post by: soccerman on June 26, 2016, 07:36:38 PM
Chile starting to gain momentum
Post by: Bitter on June 26, 2016, 07:54:17 PM
Aguero like he liming whole tournament with Higuain.
Post by: soccerman on June 26, 2016, 07:55:32 PM
Aguero like he liming whole tournament with Higuain.
:rotfl: Birds of a feather
Post by: ribbit on June 26, 2016, 08:03:00 PM
Have a man advantage but no width in attack
Post by: lefty on June 26, 2016, 08:04:35 PM
Have a man advantage but no width in attack
nah dey equal rojo get sent off
Post by: MEP on June 26, 2016, 08:18:53 PM
great keeping on both ends
Post by: asylumseeker on June 26, 2016, 08:21:35 PM
Partidazooooo.
Post by: soccerman on June 26, 2016, 08:24:53 PM
great keeping on both ends
Yes! World class saves.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 26, 2016, 08:25:51 PM
Someone going to cry.
Post by: soccerman on June 26, 2016, 08:41:59 PM
PK's  :nailbiting:
Post by: Bitter on June 26, 2016, 08:47:48 PM
Wow. Pressure does buss pipe.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 26, 2016, 08:53:13 PM
Didn't Biglia miss last year too.
Post by: Bitter on June 26, 2016, 08:53:51 PM
Messi: The (pre 2016) Lebron James of world football  ;D

That is the 3rd final in a row you loss fella.
Post by: MEP on June 26, 2016, 08:54:25 PM
gotta feel for Messi
time for GOT now
Post by: Bitter on June 26, 2016, 08:55:10 PM
gotta feel for Messi

Fell what? Feel like he should at least put it on frame?
Post by: lefty on June 26, 2016, 08:55:49 PM
gotta feel for Messi

Fell what? Feel like he should at least put it on frame?
:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: lefty on June 26, 2016, 08:56:50 PM
leh meh go and feed mih dog and get into GoT
Post by: asylumseeker on June 26, 2016, 08:56:54 PM
Having Beausejour go with the left made absolute sense.

The curse of Messi.
Post by: Bitter on June 26, 2016, 09:00:30 PM
If yuh want to blame somebody, Blame Higuain. 2nd final in a row, you get a one-on-one breakaway on the keeper and miss.
Post by: trini_stallion on June 26, 2016, 09:17:29 PM
Higuain did shit himself...terrible!

I wonder if it's a case over over confidence which makes these guys complacent! Can't believe this yes
Post by: Dynamite Warrior on June 26, 2016, 09:27:09 PM
I can't understand why they continue to pick Higuain. We've seen this story time and time again in finals he chokes. Dybala should have been in this team. Sometimes you need some fresh blood to tip the balance.
Post by: soccerman on June 26, 2016, 09:31:32 PM
I feel like I have to root for Messi in the WC now.
Post by: soccerman on June 26, 2016, 09:33:49 PM
I can't understand why they continue to pick Higuain. We've seen this story time and time again in finals he chokes. Dybala should have been in this team. Sometimes you need some fresh blood to tip the balance.
I hear you but he earned his pick given his performance in the Serie A this past season....he just failed to deliver when it mattered most (again)
Post by: asylumseeker on June 26, 2016, 09:52:40 PM
https://www.youtube.com/v/oSDhhZtRwFU
Post by: Peong on June 26, 2016, 09:53:59 PM
If yuh want to blame somebody, Blame Higuain. 2nd final in a row, you get a one-on-one breakaway on the keeper and miss.

He did it vs Germany, and while not really a 1v1 he had a horrible miss last year vs Chile.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 26, 2016, 09:54:34 PM
Higuain did shit himself...terrible!

I wonder if it's a case over over confidence which makes these guys complacent! Can't believe this yes

A player who accomplishes the difficult with ease and the easy with difficulty.
Post by: Peong on June 26, 2016, 09:58:27 PM

I eh know nah pre 2016 Lebron already had two nba titles.
Post by: Peong on June 27, 2016, 12:40:47 AM
Hopefully Messi was just talking in the heat of the moment. He must feel responsible and despondent but he cannot leave the world stage like that. That is little boy ting. Be a man, take a yuh licks and never stop trying.

lionel-messi-flags-potential-argentina-retirement-after-penalty-loss-to-chile (http://espnfc.com/copa-america-tournament/story/2902891/lionel-messi-flags-potential-argentina-retirement-after-penalty-loss-to-chile)
Post by: trini_stallion on June 27, 2016, 04:21:11 AM
Read that article and legit felt sad for him. At 29 he is in his prime! Maybe he just needs a break for a while, but he shouldn't quit. Ever forward Mr. Messi. It hard, but life is hard!
Post by: Bitter on June 27, 2016, 05:06:44 AM

I eh know nah pre 2016 Lebron already had two nba titles.

I meant in terms of making all them finals.

I should have said the buffalo bills.
Post by: Bitter on June 27, 2016, 05:10:08 AM
On the one hand, I feel it for Argentina, who I consider the #1 team in the world.

On the other, Chile gets to enjoy the full. 4(5) year period of thier reign. So it all works out.
Post by: Sam on June 27, 2016, 05:36:27 AM
Sorry for Argentina, especially Messi, allyuh see 3/4 man on him when he get de ball, Chile do they homework.

Post by: asylumseeker on June 27, 2016, 05:45:09 AM
Hopefully Messi was just talking in the heat of the moment. He must feel responsible and despondent but he cannot leave the world stage like that. That is little boy ting. Be a man, take a yuh licks and never stop trying.

lionel-messi-flags-potential-argentina-retirement-after-penalty-loss-to-chile (http://www.espnfc.com/copa-america/story/2902891/lionel-messi-flags-potential-argentina-retirement-after-penalty-loss-to-chile)

The link above is defective ... access here: lionel-messi-flags-potential-argentina-retirement-after-penalty-loss-to-chile (http://www.espnfc.com/copa-america/story/2902891/lionel-messi-flags-potential-argentina-retirement-after-penalty-loss-to-chile)

I suppose it is akin to falling on one's sword or taking responsibility for a defeat etc. Additional perspective below.

http://www.bbc.com/sport/football/36637591
Post by: Dinner Mints on June 27, 2016, 06:00:16 AM
Nah, apparently Aguero, Di Maria and bout five others talking about retiring too. Is allegedly more of an FA thing. Too corrupt behind the scenes so they threatening to leave.

http://m.goal.com/s/en-us/news/587/copa-america/2016/06/27/25093862/aguero-several-players-evaluating-not-continuing-with?utm_referrer=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.google.com%2F
Post by: Tallman on June 27, 2016, 06:26:02 AM
(https://scontent-sjc2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/13524436_1178561865529877_5529103076548582836_n.jpg?oh=978fd5825e624a221ab410a2d058c81f&oe=58062C11)
Post by: Deeks on June 27, 2016, 06:34:04 AM
At least Messi has won an Olimpic gold medal. How many footballers can boast about that. ;D
Post by: soccerman on June 27, 2016, 08:28:45 AM
TM they dread to do Messi like that...the internet can be brutal
Post by: asylumseeker on June 27, 2016, 12:07:00 PM
The captain of ARG should be Mascherano. Hands down. Messi with the armband is a cosmetic thing.

He isn't the only example of this problem.
Post by: Peong on June 27, 2016, 10:00:26 PM
The way that Messi attracts defenders every attacking player around him should be getting chance after chance.
I feel Tata not up to the job.
Post by: asylumseeker on June 29, 2016, 01:24:24 PM
Argentines rell effing with Higuain and showing love to Messi.

Here's one: Note from Higuain to Messi asking Messi not to quit the NT ... except ... see if allyuh geh it.

http://www.laarena.com.ar/avances/los-memes-del-gol-errado-por-higuain-invadieron-las-redes/

Classic from last year:

http://www.clarin.com/deportes/Gonzalo_Higuain-Inglaterra-Copa_America_de_Chile_2015_0_1399060435.html

Post by: asylumseeker on July 03, 2016, 07:24:04 PM
Messi is in the Caribbean.
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 03, 2016, 07:32:56 PM

And it has done him well

http://www.101greatgoals.com/news/leo-messi-decide-un-retire-argentina-national-team-la-nacion/
Post by: asylumseeker on July 03, 2016, 10:17:30 PM

And it has done him well

http://www.101greatgoals.com/news/leo-messi-decide-un-retire-argentina-national-team-la-nacion/

Word is that ideally it wouldn't be before 2017. However, that being the case, he would be unavailable for Uruguay, Venezuela, Peru, Paraguay, Brazil and Colombia (in that order) for WC qualifying.

If he sits out the entire 2016 calendar, there are no qualification guarantees. As such, he might have placed himself in a damned if I do or don't situation. He wants to play in Russia. For Russia not to be in jeopardy, he may have to return before he is mentally ready to don an ARG shirt.

It's good that Tevez has made supportive comments. Helps to either mute, blunt or nullify a sector of the public trapped in the Messi v Tevez debate.

Even Lionel Richie has weighed in on his return (apparently LR believes Messi was named in LR's honor).
Post by: asylumseeker on July 03, 2016, 10:24:35 PM
Nah, apparently Aguero, Di Maria and bout five others talking about retiring too. Is allegedly more of an FA thing. Too corrupt behind the scenes so they threatening to leave.

http://m.goal.com/s/en-us/news/587/copa-america/2016/06/27/25093862/aguero-several-players-evaluating-not-continuing-with?utm_referrer=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.google.com%2F

At the moment, the federation has a leadership void.

http://www.buenosairesherald.com/article/216989/segura-resigns-as-afa-president

http://www.espnfc.com/team/argentina/202/blog/post/2904111/lionel-messi-retirement-from-argentina-caused-by-the-fa-crisis

And, Tata Martino has not been paid for months.

Martino is going to coach the U23s at the Olympics. Depending how that goes, he might find he is in a weakened position.

Right now clubs are reluctant to have their players take part ... in part given the above, but mostly because they are self-interested. Less than half of the names he wants have confirmed.

Post by: asylumseeker on July 05, 2016, 08:35:53 PM
CONFIRMED: Argentina's coaching staff have quit.
Post by: Deeks on July 06, 2016, 05:04:29 AM
Like the TTFF virus spread way down south. I heard FIFA has been working with the AFA to resolve the ongoing issues. That includes money. And the govt want to get involve also.
Post by: asylumseeker on July 06, 2016, 05:44:34 AM
Like the TTFF virus spread way down south. I heard FIFA has been working with the AFA to resolve the ongoing issues. That includes money. And the govt want to get involve also.

ARG won't be fielding a team in the upcoming U20 women South American futsal championship which starts next week in neighbouring Paraguay. Note eh: it cyah even get a team to Paraguay. All of the other CONMEBOL nations (including Venezuela!) will be present.

The last time AFA didn't field a squad was at the 2001 Copa America.

The U20 women's futsal tourney is an inaugural tournament. Normally Argentina would be there, especially given the historical significance and FIFA being big on pushing futsal and growing anything with women's participation. 

According to reports, sending a squad to Paraguay would require a $40,000 US budget and the federation decided that in the current environment that money should be spent on its WC qualifying effort for the men's senior team.

All hell has broken lose since Grondona's departure. None of this would have happened under his watch. Not an endorsement ... because were the man alive, he would probably have suffered the consequences of Loretta Lynch. Just the reality.