Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on November 15, 2016, 01:12:29 PM

Title: Thread for T&T vs Haiti Game (08-Jan-2017)
Post by: Flex on November 15, 2016, 01:12:29 PM
As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup qualifying Caribbean playoffs game vs Haiti on the 8th of January 2017 at the Ato Boldon Stadium will be posted here, this way, we can maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

For the internet users, you can follow the game at:

To be updated.

Possible Online Streams.

http://www.radiotelevisioncaraibes.com/tele-caraibes-22/index.1.html

Possible TV Station.

To be updated.

Trinidad & Tobago Squad

Goalkeepers

Adrian Foncette (Police FC), Glenroy Samuel (Ma Pau Stars).

Defenders

Carlos Edwards (Ma Paul Stars), Curtis Gonzales (Defence Force), Carlyle Mitchell (Seoul E-Land—Korea Republic), Radanfah Abu Bakr (Sillamae Kallen—Estonia), Maurice Ford (W Connection), Aubrey David (Deportivo Saprissa—Costa Rica).

Midfielders

Kevan George (Jacksonville Armada—USA), Andre Boucaud (Dagenham & Redbridge—England), Alvin Jones (W Connection), Hughtun Hector (W Connection), Aikim Andrews (W Connection), Trevin Caesar (Orange County Blues—USA), Hashim Arcia (Defence Force), Nathan Lewis (San Juan Jabloteh), Tyrone Charles (San Juan Jabloteh).

Forwards

Akeem Roach (Club Sando), Shahdon Winchester (Murcielagos FC—Mexico), Cornell Glen (Ozone FC Bengalaru—India).

Coach - Tom Saintfiet.

Haiti Squad

Goalkeepers

Steward Ceus (Minnesota United FC/USA), Luis Valendi Odelus (Aigle Noir AC), Guerry Romondt (FICA).

Defenders

Mechack Jérôme (Jacksonville Armada FC/USA), Jean Ambrose (Lokomotiv GO/BUL), Waldo Vernet (Cavaly AS), Paulson Pierre (Baltimore SC), Samuel Pompée (Don Bosco FC), Handy Délice (Cavaly AS), Aristilde Wilguens (FICA), Alex Junior Christian (S.C. Vila Real/POR).

Midfielders

Charles Hérold Junior (Cibao FC/DOM), Listner Pierre Louis (Le Puy Foot/FRA), Ambroise Romulaire (Real Hope), Sebastien Thuriere (San Antonio FC/USA), Louima Roberto (Real Hope), Sony Nordé (Mohun Bagan/IND), Derrick Etienne (New York Red Bulls II/USA), Andrew Jean-Baptiste (Nyköpings BIS/SWE).

Forwards

Jonel Désiré (ASC), Duckens Nazon (Kerala Blasters FC/IND), Kervens Belfort Fils (Kerala Blasters FC/IND).

Coach - Jean Claude Josaphat.

Updates to follow as we get more info, so keep checking back.

Title: Re: Thread for T&T vs Haiti Game (08-Jan-2017)
Post by: Flex on January 01, 2017, 06:51:25 AM
Josaphat takes over from disgruntled Neveu for T&T qualifiers.
T&T Guardian Reports.

Jean-Claude Josaphat has been named as head coach by the Fédération Haltienne de Football, replacing Frenchman Patrice Neveu who departed after just a year in the post.

Neveu presided over Haiti’s qualification for last year’s historic Copa America Centenario in the United States but then oversaw the country’s elimination from the 2018 World Cup qualifiers.

In an open letter, Neveu claimed he had not been paid by the Federation in months.

A long-time head coach of local side AS Mirebalais, Josaphat will be the first Haitian to lead the national side since Patrice Eloi in 2008.

His first task will be to oversee Haiti’s outing in the Caribbean Cup playoff against Suriname and hosts Trinidad and Tobago.

They take on the Surinamese on January 6 at the Ato Boldon Stadium before facing T&T two days later at the same venue.

The winner of the series will clash with the fifth-place side from Central American zone in a two-match playoff for the last berth at next year’s CONCACAF Gold Cup.

Haiti are currently in T&T preparing for the CFU playoff series.

Post by: gawd on pitch on January 01, 2017, 07:13:06 AM
Neveu hasn't received any pay from the Haitian Football Federation in months. He resigned two days ago.

I looked at the Haitian team for the upcoming games. Many key players are missing. No Placide. Plus they don't have their European  players. I believe only two made the trip to TT.
Post by: Flex on January 01, 2017, 09:13:45 AM
Haitians training in T&T at St Marys Ground..

(https://scontent-iad3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/15826065_10154218710336188_3844206239954074010_n.jpg?oh=b8ced7535a419dc8d0bc5593c1115086&oe=59223B70)

(https://scontent-iad3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t31.0-8/s960x960/15732360_10154218711526188_1885284714085912632_o.jpg?oh=a22d6ff6941effc36d8a12d4c43632ab&oe=58DA1BC3)

(https://scontent-iad3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/15781763_10154218711516188_6071631046109646164_n.jpg?oh=24e68b5479be7b17c662bc1989649efd&oe=58EB2F07)

(https://scontent-iad3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/15747735_10154218711886188_9185202309436938749_n.jpg?oh=82c557af6f6595f5480055bd8c677d02&oe=58E1C18B)

(https://scontent-iad3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/15747343_10154218711996188_1817940696345908977_n.jpg?oh=27f42bc29f166d387270ce88edcbb371&oe=58D7D4EF)

(https://scontent-iad3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/15747425_10154218712196188_3981409752491462964_n.jpg?oh=9aae7d6a11eb74f90f7ea5733da15fe5&oe=58E5A08D)
Post by: Flex on January 01, 2017, 09:24:23 AM
Goalkeepers.

Steward Ceus
Luis Valendi Odelus

Defenders

Mechack Jérôme
Ambrose Jean
Waldo Vernet
Paulson Pierre
Samuel Pompée
Andy Délice
Aristilde Wilguens
Alex Junior Christian

Midfielders

Charles Hérold Junior
Kesnel Pierre Louis
Ambroise Romulaire
Sebastien Thuriere
Louima Roberto
Sony Nordé
Derrick Etienne

Strikers

Jonel Désiré
Duckens Nazon
Kervens Belfort Fils

Key players missing - Johnny Placide (GK), Romain Genevois, Carlens Arcus, James Marcelin, Pascal Millien, Donald Guerrier and Kevin Lafrance.

Players to look out for - Mechack Jérôme, Alex Junior Christian, Sony Norde, Kervens Belfort, Charles Hérold Junior and Duckens Nazon.

Post by: Deeks on January 01, 2017, 09:50:50 AM
At this point in time in our football, it does not matter if Haiti don't have their Euro. players. Our football has been so disappointing and poor, that we can't take anything for granted. Another thing, Haiti has a big population and there is a much bigger talent pool. They have players. But likeI said before, if we can't beat Haiti or Suriname, then we don't deserve to be there. Let's hope these two games against Nicaragua will be the apt preparation for this 2 games series. Also, a two game series makes no room or very few rooms for error.
Post by: gawd on pitch on January 01, 2017, 09:54:30 AM
Jean Jaques Pierre is also missing. We need our best regardless.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 01, 2017, 09:57:48 AM

Before the match versus Costa Rica, our national team requested to train on CIC grounds and were blanked. Rings as total irony to see the Haitians in full swing there.
Post by: Jumbie on January 01, 2017, 10:20:05 AM
The Haitians (even if is ah primary school team they sent) plays with heart and determination when they put on their national colors. Something I hardly ever see when fellas wear the red, white and black.
Post by: Toussaint on January 01, 2017, 11:11:53 AM
Neveu hasn't received any pay from the Haitian Football Federation in months. He resigned two days ago.

I looked at the Haitian team for the upcoming games. Many key players are missing. No Placide. Plus they don't have their European  players. I believe only two made the trip to TT.

According to him, he did not resign. He is suing the FHF for breach of contract arguing that they refused to pay him because they wanted him to resign. Neveu is very unpopular and nobody wants him as the head coach. The FHF offered him 3 months of pay to resign he refused. He asked for the full amount of his remaining contract.

Haiti is a paradox. Haiti usually does better with a local core team but in the past 3 years we rarely play with more than 3 local players at once. Haiti vs Costa Rica 0-1 and Haiti vs Jamaica 2-0 were two games where Haiti had more locals than foreign players. It is ironic considering that the local league is very weak.

Though, I agree with Genevois, Ade, Donald, Alcenat, and James Marcelin you guys would have a very strong challenge for that last berth.
Post by: Toussaint on January 01, 2017, 11:17:29 AM
Jean Jaques Pierre is also missing. We need our best regardless.

He is probably retired.
Post by: Trini _2026 on January 01, 2017, 12:29:13 PM
Toussaint i hope to see Jean-Kévin Augustin one day suit up for haiti
Post by: Deeks on January 01, 2017, 12:39:55 PM
Forumites, we should not take Ayiti lightly because it's a local squad. They have a much bigger talent pool. On the other hand this will also be a good thing for our local players. They are getting their chance to show their stuff. We have to bring out the so called ruff diamonds. I also hope that DJW don't close the door on foreign born players. The Bostock  issue is unsettling for our football.
Post by: Controversial on January 01, 2017, 01:04:54 PM

Before the match versus Costa Rica, our national team requested to train on CIC grounds and were blanked. Rings as total irony to see the Haitians in full swing there.

Part of the sabotage of Hart... Trinis are our own worst enemies, it's disgraceful..
Post by: Controversial on January 01, 2017, 01:06:29 PM
The Haitians (even if is ah primary school team they sent) plays with heart and determination when they put on their national colors. Something I hardly ever see when fellas wear the red, white and black.

We have our leaders and sells out within our countrymen and women to blame for that... no pride at all with some of these people..

Hart had passion and pride and the sell outs get rid of him
Post by: Deeks on January 01, 2017, 01:39:41 PM
Why would St. Mary's be part of the elements that wanted to sabotaged Hart? Give me something to believe that theory. I just want to know why?
Post by: Controversial on January 01, 2017, 02:07:07 PM
Why would St. Mary's be part of the elements that wanted to sabotaged Hart? Give me something to believe that theory. I just want to know why?

Because the heads of the ssfl is a part of the cabal.. why wouldn't they help sabotage Hart for their partner the dictator..

Allyuh think it's  just the dictator, he have his minions
Post by: Toussaint on January 01, 2017, 02:08:50 PM

Trini, France will not let JKA go. He will probably play for France this year.
Post by: Controversial on January 01, 2017, 02:32:04 PM

Trini, France will not let JKA go. He will probably play for France this year.

The Caribbean has an abundance of players, its about time we get at least 1 and a half spots for cfu
Post by: congo on January 01, 2017, 05:07:04 PM

Because the heads of the ssfl is a part of the cabal.. why wouldn't they help sabotage Hart for their partner the dictator..

You must be delusional if you think that there is anything that DJW/TTFF can offer CIC to "entice" them. LMAO
Post by: pull stones on January 01, 2017, 05:46:11 PM
just heard on the news that daniel cyrus, jomol williams and jovin jones got cut from the team for disciplinary actions. cyrus and williams showed up late for camp reeking of alcohol while jovin didn't bother to show up at all neither did he call.

now i would like to know, are these guys really serious about a career in professional or even international football? in my opinion these young men are very distracted and wayward who's only intent is to splurge and have a ball.

you guys better give up on that world cup pipe dream for 2018 or even 2022 because by the signs that im seeing it is not happening at all any time soon unless these players get their heads in the right place which i seriously doubt.
Post by: pull stones on January 01, 2017, 06:04:05 PM
don't want to dwell on this crap but these players just saw what that kind of indiscipline was responsible for yet they have not learned anything.

indiscipline by kevin molino caused seven men to lose their jobs together with the three disappointing loses that consequently cost the head coach his job and have us in a play off situation with haiti again, not to mention TT languishing on the bottom of the hexogonal table, when he molino could have made the world of difference by his contribution on the pitch.

these guys not serious not one bit and it's getting worst as the campaign goes on.
Post by: Flex on January 04, 2017, 06:11:27 AM
Army, W Connection draw with Haiti
By Ian Prescott (Express).

HAITI WERE two goals down against Defence Force on New Year’s Day before rallying to a 2-2 draw with the local Pro League football team.

The Caribbean visitors also drew by the same score with a Directv W Connection team, minus its Trinidad and Tobago national team selectees.

Both Defence Force coach Marvin Gordon and W Connection’s Stuart Charles-Fevrier described Haiti as “decent”, despite having a mainly locally-based team for the three-match 2016/17 Scotiabank CFU Men’s Caribbean Cup fifth-place playoff that starts today at Ato Boldon stadium, Couva, Trinidad & Tobago.

The Haitians are expected to be Trinidad and Tobago’s chief rivals in the playoffs to find the fifth Caribbean nation to compete in the 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup.

The Caribbean fifth spot qualifier faces Central America’s fifth for the final spot into the region’s top competition for national football teams.

Post by: kounty on January 04, 2017, 09:35:20 PM

oh gosh man. you cyah be sayin all kinda thing that you have absolutely no shred of evidence to support all the time so dread, just to carry on your "feeling".  Mods, you might have to step in and spare we the insanity. Haiti is the poorest country in the western hemisphere. what could we do to help Haiti? (everything in the universe doesn't always fall under the 1 narrative)...
Post by: Deeks on January 04, 2017, 10:16:01 PM

oh gosh man. you cyah be sayin all kinda thing that you have absolutely no shred of evidence to support all the time so dread, just to carry on your "feeling".  Mods, you might have to step in and spare we the insanity. Haiti is the poorest country in the western hemisphere. what could we do to help Haiti? (everything in the universe doesn't always fall under the 1 narrative)...

Kounty, Yes Haiti may be the "poorest" in the Caribbean, but there quite a few very rich Haitians who do much more for their football than some of our socalled oil rich millionaires.
Post by: Spursy on January 05, 2017, 11:59:06 AM
Honestly, I am done supporting this senior team. I fed up with the likes of Kevan George and Winchester/Trevin Cesar in this team, if this is the best we have to offer then it's best to follow our under 17's, and 20 team. Fed up of these lame tactical decisions and player selections..They are not improving it's the same wildman football, same ole direct football - no kind of composure or any kind of style just plain ole run down and try to score tactics like jungle football from Bangladesh with love. Why have a scorer like Glen on the bench and down a goal is beyond me.. bring in a man like Winchester who never completed a pass in he life  much less score ah goal. Kevan George.. Jeez.. this guy better they play with 10 men... and Cesar the only time I see this name is on the player list - never on a scoresheet of any kind - they all suck and need to know it, now more than ever.

I would banish all 3 of them to the quantum zone if I was antSman. How many more times do these players have to get tested at this level for administration to realize they are not good enough for the national team... Please it would be better to use some of the under 20's give them the experience rather than using these guys to watch the fail over and over again.. it is super depressing to have these skallywags represent this country -this shame will not go away. Better fire Saintfiet now and let Shabazz take over... bc it seems to me he is the one who making these selections and forcing the tactics BECAUSE WE LOOK BAD like Guyana.

DJW is overly honest. His introduction to the new coach was embarrassing, shocking and super unprofessional to say the very least. The people who elect this man as Director should be ashamed of themselves - he means well but his decisions are making things alot worse.

Post by: palos on January 05, 2017, 12:03:08 PM
link=topic=65619.msg966474#msg966474 date=1483639146]
Honestly, I am done supporting this senior team. I fed up with the likes of Kevan George and Winchester/Trevin Cesar in this team, if this is the best we have to offer then it's best to follow our under 17's, and 20 team. Fed up of these lame tactical decisions and player selections..They are not improving it's the same wildman football, same ole direct football - no kind of composure or any kind of style just plain ole run down and try to score tactics like jungle football from Bangladesh with love. Why have a scorer like Glen on the bench and down a goal is beyond me.. bring in a man like Winchester who never completed a pass in he life  much less score ah goal. Kevan George.. Jeez.. this guy better they play with 10 men... and Cesar the only time I see this name is on the player list - never on a scoresheet of any kind - they all suck and need to know it, now more than ever.

I would banish all 3 of them to the quantum zone if I was antSman. How many more times do these players have to get tested at this level for administration to realize they are not good enough for the national team... Please it would be better to use some of the under 20's give them the experience rather than using these guys to watch the fail over and over again.. it is super depressing to have these skallywags represent this country -this shame will not go away. Better fire Saintfiet now and let Shabazz take over... bc it seems to me he is the one who making these selections and forcing the tactics BECAUSE WE LOOK BAD like Guyana.

DJW is overly honest. His introduction to the new coach was embarrassing, shocking and super unprofessional to say the very least. The people who elect this man as Director should be ashamed of themselves - he means well but his decisions are making things alot worse.

Ahmmmm....Cesar didn't play boss.  Wasn't even on the bench.  Glen was ruled out during the warm up with a hamstring injury so he also wasn't on the bench
Post by: Big Magician on January 05, 2017, 01:06:06 PM
add hasim Arcia to your list...and aburey going backward fast
Post by: Cocorite on January 05, 2017, 05:24:00 PM
Yeah Big Mags. Aubrey rel disappoint meh.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 06, 2017, 05:19:36 PM
SPECIAL REPORT: Suriname v. Haiti – No Margin for Haitian Error
By Chambi Sey, SWN.

Tonight, Trinidad and Tobago territory hosts the CFU Men’s Caribbean Cup 5th Place Playoff match between Suriname and Haiti, and one Belgian, amid scores of Trinbagonians, will have his heart in hand. Following a lapse of eight years, it will be the first meeting between both nations. Over the course of five decades, the battle between Paramaribo and Port au Prince has established a modest yet competitive rivalry. Unfortunately, tonight Trinidad and Tobago is delicately positioned in the crosshairs of the encounter. The future of the Socawarriors in the competition demands no margin for Haitian error.

Haiti has been on the ground for several days, diligently chipping away at its match preparation. And, Suriname has played the first of its two-match engagement in Trinidad and Tobago. As such, although playing on neutral ground, both visiting camps will feel poised to stake a claim of effectively "playing at home". In recent days, the Haitians have faced T&T Pro League club opponents in their concentrated build-up to tonight, while the Surinamese are expected to ooze the confidence that defeat of a host nation brings.

Against Suriname, there are suggestions and indications that Trinidad and Tobago did not play the entirety of the curtain-raiser as if a team playing with home advantage. For Trinidad and Tobago fans, the hope is that a meaningful opportunity develops to right that perceived wrong in the country’s closing match in the series. No one in Trinidad and Tobago wishes to squirm through the academic exercise of facing Haiti on Sunday with nothing to play for, but intangible pride. Indeed, it would provide a stinging reminder of the events of a year ago, to precise date, when Kervens Belfort dispatched Trini hopes of participating in the Copa America Centenario when he scored for the Haitians five minutes before the end of regulation time. With that goal, tangible financial benefits and international exposure vaporized. A similar reality is threatening tonight at the Ato Boldon Stadium.     

While aficionados of football in the twin-island republic want to see an entertaining presentation of skill and quality in the Suriname-Haiti match-up, and while Suriname is incentivized to protect its victorious bounty from Wednesday, no Trinidad and Tobago fan wants to witness a surfeit of goals. The ideal score would see Haiti victorious, but by the conquerable scoreline of one goal to nil, thereby credibly preserving Trinidad and Tobago’s prospects of advancing from the three-nation playoff, to confront Central American opposition: the subsequent hurdle to Gold Cup qualification. At least 90 minutes of sufferable, torturous football is in store for Trinidad and Tobago supporters. As the famous adage expounds: in football two plus two rarely equals four. The stage is set; no one knows how the drama will unfold.

With Jean-Claude Josaphat freshly-installed in command, Haiti had little choice but to try to consolidate its team by using recent days in probing match preparations. That was a sensible approach. The Surinamese, under Roberto Godeken for almost a year, are the only team in the tournament that has had several months to hone an approach to play; and, to develop tested conclusions through exploring the virtues of a settled core of players.

Under new head coach Tom Saintfiet, Trinidad and Tobago has transitioned into a squad unrecognizable to the Trinidad and Tobago public. Saintfiet’s seniority in managerial capacity exceeds Josaphat’s by merely three weeks. However, Josaphat is stepping up from the assistant coaching role with the Haitian national team and Saintfiet is ostensibly dependent on his assistant coaches to decipher the deceptive landscape and pedigree of Caribbean football. Both men have their challenges.

The going between Suriname and Haiti has been even in recent battles, and this does not augur well for Trinidad and Tobago. However, there is a marginal historical statistical advantage favoring the Grenadiers. Haiti’s series record is 2 wins, 1 loss and 5 draws.

The most recent battles between both nations date back to August and November 2008 during FIFA 2010 World Cup qualification. On both occasions, Haiti leaked goals to Suriname’s center-forward, Wensley Christoph (2-2 at home, 1-1 away). The five matches that precede the encounter tonight have all produced draws between the nations. Repetition of this pattern would put paid to Trinidad and Tobago's hopes.

The last occasion on which Haiti earned an outright celebration versus the Surinamese was in November 1979 when both teams met in Suriname in the Caribbean Football Union (CFU) final match (the score: Haiti 1 Suriname 0). Haiti’s only other win over the Surinamese occurred two years earlier during a 1978 World Cup qualifying match played in Mexico City (also Haiti 1 Suriname 0).

Haiti is a two-time Caribbean champion (1979 and 2007). Suriname achieved that honor roughly 40 years ago (1978). Despite the competitive rivalry between the teams, and the stalemate in match outcomes each country has presented the other, on recent success Haiti should be considered the ascendant team. Skipper Mechack Jerome, a survivor from the last outing versus Suriname, is expected to be giving his all to preserve Haiti’s gains.
Post by: royal on January 06, 2017, 05:39:26 PM
Haiti leading 1-0
Post by: palos on January 06, 2017, 05:54:54 PM
Hopefully the score remains like that till the final whistle

That should mean T&T needs to defeat Haiti 2-0 in 90 minutes to progress.  Can anyone confirm?
Post by: gawd on pitch on January 06, 2017, 05:57:39 PM
Nice try. Haiti up by 2 - 0. Which means we could go through with 2-0. Impossible.. So no gold cup. Which means DJW has accomplished one of his twisted objectives..
Post by: gawd on pitch on January 06, 2017, 06:08:49 PM
This is what I predicting..

We will be tied 0-0 with Haiti going into the 80th minute. The Haitians will give up an easy goal to avoid extra time. Similar to the Grenada & Barbados game in 94.  Final score T&T 1 Haiti 0.

With that being said.. Haiti 3 - 0 Suriname
Post by: palos on January 06, 2017, 06:09:58 PM
This is what I predicting..

We will be tied 0-0 with Haiti going into the 80th minute. The Haitians will give up an easy goal to avoid extra time. Similar to the Grenada & Barbados game in 94.  Final score T&T 1 Haiti 0.

Nicely done  ;D

With that being said.. Haiti 3 - 0 Suriname

Oops  :-[
Post by: asylumseeker on January 06, 2017, 06:16:49 PM
In some countries, no club teams would have agreed to play Haiti in warm-ups ... but such is Caribbean hospitality.  :)
Post by: gawd on pitch on January 06, 2017, 06:19:56 PM
In some countries, no club teams would have agreed to play Haiti in warm-ups ... but such is Caribbean hospitality.  :)

Maybe the team should have skipped the Nicaragua game and played a local club team instead..
Post by: Deeks on January 06, 2017, 06:41:23 PM
Is it 3-0 before half time or is the game over?
Post by: gawd on pitch on January 06, 2017, 06:41:34 PM
All we need is 4. Haiti up by 4-0. I predicted that the game on Sunday would be meaningless. But, wasnt expecting Haiti to trounce Suriname with a B+ team..
Post by: gawd on pitch on January 06, 2017, 06:45:52 PM
Actually, we only need 3 to advance. We dont need 4. Unless Haiti score another goal before the end.. WHICH IS HIGHLY POSSIBLE

Thanks DJW
Post by: gawd on pitch on January 06, 2017, 06:46:40 PM
Suriname just score. So 2-0 will be good enough.
Post by: Brownsugar on January 06, 2017, 06:48:21 PM
All we need is 4. Haiti up by 4-0. I predicted that the game on Sunday would be meaningless. But, wasnt expecting Haiti to trounce Suriname with a B+ team..

Any links??
Post by: gawd on pitch on January 06, 2017, 06:50:01 PM

Any links??

No links. Game done.

Haiti give Suriname 4.  4 - 2.. Imagine what Haiti might do to us? I may sound pessimistic. But I still have an ounce of hope. Thanks DJW
Post by: royal on January 06, 2017, 06:51:49 PM
4-2 to Haiti
Post by: gawd on pitch on January 06, 2017, 06:52:33 PM
Suriname scored 4 goals. 2 own goals.. Wow..
Post by: Deeks on January 06, 2017, 06:55:09 PM
I was not expecting TT to lose to Suriname with a B team either.
Post by: Brownsugar on January 06, 2017, 06:57:49 PM

Any links??

No links. Game done.

Haiti give Suriname 4.  4 - 2.. Imagine what Haiti might do to us? I may sound pessimistic. But I still have an ounce of hope. Thanks DJW

Thanks......so T&T need to win by how much on Sunday??
Post by: gawd on pitch on January 06, 2017, 07:00:12 PM

Any links??

No links. Game done.

Thanks......so T&T need to win by how much on Sunday??

We need 2 goals. But what we really need is for DJW to go. He can take his cricket coach with him too
Post by: gawd on pitch on January 06, 2017, 07:01:03 PM
I was not expecting TT to lose to Suriname with a B team either.

To think that Jamaica beat Suriname with 10 men. We really deserve to be in the hex?
Post by: Deeks on January 06, 2017, 07:11:17 PM
To think that Jamaica beat Suriname with 10 men. We really deserve to be in the hex?

Yes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: gawd on pitch on January 06, 2017, 07:17:27 PM

Funny, because the teams that were in THE EASIEST group are where? at the bottom of the table. While the teams that were in the harder group are where? At the top of the table .i.e. CR and Pan
Post by: palos on January 06, 2017, 07:39:19 PM

Funny, because the teams that were in THE EASIEST group are where? at the bottom of the table. While the teams that were in the harder group are where? At the top of the table .i.e. CR and Pan

It's 2 matches bruh

WE WILL END UP LAST

But the US WILL finish top 3
Post by: gawd on pitch on January 06, 2017, 07:51:41 PM

It's 2 matches bruh

WE WILL END UP LAST

But the US WILL finish top 3

Regardless, I still think that the quality in group B is going to see CR and Panama through. Sad that we are totally ruling ourselves out of contention. Maybe if the administration changes.. But DJW's paws are pulling the strings
Post by: kounty on January 06, 2017, 08:52:22 PM
did't we warm up against orange county blues or teams of that caliber as prep for our last gold cup?
Post by: Controversial on January 06, 2017, 09:24:13 PM

Anything to undermine our chances.... the dictator is a saboteur extraordinaire
Post by: trini_stallion on January 07, 2017, 05:27:30 AM
our entire team really needs to show up come Sunday night. Pleaseeeee by some miracle...I don't want a draw, or a win with a less than 2 margin. This is what is now required to advance and Mr. Saintfeit needs to step up. This is your third game at the helm. Hart came in IN THE GOLD CUP and took us to the quarterfinals...so Mr. Saintfeit, again...third game in a short period of time. 1-0-2...

Pull this win off, it will bode well in terms of winning over some supporters. Myself included. Come in guys, in true trini fashion, we like heart attack football, we missing hart attach football, and if we cld pull not just a win, but a 2 goal difference win...we cld be in a gear...

Any word on uncle cornel and ceasar??
Post by: Flex on January 07, 2017, 07:33:30 AM
T&T regroup and refocus for Haiti.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s senior footballers were found regrouping and regaining their focus on the training field of the Ato Boldon Stadium on Friday morning as they gear up for Sunday’s CFU Gold Cup playoff with Haiti at the Ato Boldon Stadium from 5pm.

Head Coach Tom Saintfiet used Thursday as a recovery day for his players following their 2-1 defeat to Suriname but was back on the training field the following morning (Friday) ahead of their do or die clash with the Haitians.

Haiti ended T&T’a Copa America Centenario ambitions with a late 1-0 win in the playoff in Panama City in January and both teams have been drawn together again in another playoff as they try to qualify for the 2017 CONCACAF Gold Cup.

Team captain Carlos Edwards reflected on the loss, saying the T&T players did hurt but are picking themselves up for Sunday’s challenge.

“Obvious the boys did hurt because of the loss. I personally didn’t like the result because I felt there was no reason for us to me losing these kind of games at home especially with it being a qualifier for the Gold Cup,” Edwards told TTFA Media.

“But now we’ve returned to the training pitch and the feeling of wanting to go out and do better is back in our minds and we know we have a task to complete on Sunday. I believe in the squad even though we have some very young players who have not really found themselves as yet on the international level but the squad has the quality, i believe, to make us get results,” Edwards added.

“We have to play our best game yet under the new coach if we want to advance out of this stage. Every player must bring their best game to the Ato Boldon stadium on Sunday and then we can take things from the next day looking ahead to the final playoff and the qualifiers coming up in March,” the former Sunderland player said.

Haiti and Suriname meet at 7pm at the Ato Boldon Stadium on Friday, an encounter in which Haiti won 4-2 which means T&T can advance with a 2-0 victory over Haiti on Sunday or by two clear goals.

Interesting Facts – Trinidad and Tobago versus Haiti

With yet another qualifying match looming between the two nations, we take a look back at some interesting facts of the Trinidad and Tobago versus Haiti history. T&T faces Haiti at 5pm the Sunday at the Ato Boldon Stadium in a CFU Gold Cup playoff encounter.

1974 World Cup Qualifier in 1973

– T&T scored five goals but at the end of the game, the score read Haiti 2 Trinidad and   Tobago 1 with four goals being disallowed. The game will forever remained etched in the minds of the local fans as one in which their team was robbed and denied of an opportunity to play in the World Cup.

It was marred by some of the worst officiating in a match of such magnitude and later, the referee Jose Enrique of El Salvador and Canadian linesman James Higuet were both banned for life by the FIFA.

A report of the match in the Trinidad Guardian of December 6, 1973, written by Keith Sheppard who covered the tournament tells the story:Sheppard wrote : “I had not seen it with my own eyes, I would not believe it. Trinidad and Tobago scored five times and should have gotten a penalty in each session but lost 1-2 to Haiti in a very one-sided match at the Sylvio Cator Stadium here last night. They say goals win matches. This is one time they didn’t.”

Copa America qualifier

Haiti eliminated T&T from the final hurdle in qualification for the 2016 Copa America Centenario with a late 1-0 win in the playoff in Panama City .

Friendly win for T&T in Fort Lauderdale

Willis Plaza scored the lone goal the last time T&T defeated Haiti in a friendly played in Fort Lauderdale a week before the start of the 2015 Concacaf Gold Cup.

Yorke helps T&T past Haiti in 2002 qualifier

Dwight Yorke, a late arrival into the national team camp from Manchester, scored a first half 25th minute goal to put T&T ahead 1-0 in a 2002 World Cup qualifier played in May of 2000 in Port-au-Prince. The game ended 1-1 but T&T advanced to the semi-final round 4-2 on aggregate after winning the home leg 3-1.

John, Knights take T&T past Haiti

Stern John of Columbus Crew scored a double with goals in the 1st minute and the 60th to guide Trinidad and Tobago past Haiti 4-1 in the semi-final of the Caribbean Cup in 1998 at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in Port of Spain. T&T also got a double from striker Irasto Knights in the 15th and 42nd minutes. T&T went on to play Jamaica in the final but lost 2-1

Post by: Tiresais on January 07, 2017, 08:00:10 AM
Haiti are good and play when the chips are down. Their local game is well attended and better than you'd think, so they will be a match for the current set up. I lack confidence, especially given our notable absences physically and otherwise.

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

Post by: Deeks on January 07, 2017, 12:37:44 PM
Some other WC titbits with Haiti. 1970 WC, the TTFA claimed lack of funds and we played both games in Haiti.  Sores were 4-0 to Haiti in the first and I think we won the second 4-2, I think.
Post by: coache on January 07, 2017, 12:56:47 PM
Final score:

TRI -2, HAI-3
Post by: Fyzoman on January 07, 2017, 01:29:53 PM
So per Lasana...the moral of the story is to keep team manager Azaad Khan far, far, FAR away from signing the team player list before tomorrow's game...so that he doesn't check the Injured check-box and list Trevin Caesar as INJURED again as he did against Surinam.

Are you F*&KING kidding me!?!?!?!

Gotta admit that i'm looking forward for ah little break from all the BS after tomorrow's game...it's never ending and wears on you...smh.
Post by: truehaitian on January 07, 2017, 04:04:11 PM
Some other WC titbits with Haiti. 1970 WC, the TTFA claimed lack of funds and we played both games in Haiti.  Sores were 4-0 to Haiti in the first and I think we won the second 4-2, I think.

These two games you mentioned here was in 1968 for  the 1970 world cup. The scores were correct ..other WC games not mentioned in the above article, (1980)Haiti beat T&T 2-0 in Haiti and lost 1-0 in T&T to move on to the 1981 final Concacaf round in Honduras and eliminated T&T from the 1982 world cup competition
Post by: Toussaint on January 07, 2017, 06:05:14 PM
On paper Haiti may seem the stronger side based on last night's score but Trinidad still has home field advantage which sort of makes it an even match where anything can happen.

Haiti is not at its best. At least 6 of the starters are rookies and the coach's lack of experience showed last night when he made several changes that almost handed the match to Suriname.

I watched the first two games and I can clearly see why these three teams failed to automatically qualify for the Gold Cup. All three teams have poor defenses and inexperienced coaches.
Post by: royal on January 08, 2017, 06:10:38 AM
excerpts from a guardian article

The T&T team has been weakened by the loss of four key players to injury- striker Cornell Glen, Tyrone Charles, Hughton Hector and Carlyle Mitchell which leaves Saintfiet with a headache as to what his starting team or the formation will look like this afternoon.
Post by: Flex on January 08, 2017, 07:48:54 AM
T&T try to stay alive.
TTFA Media.

Need to beat Haiti by 2-goal margin

Trinidad and Tobago’s senior men’s team will attempt to produce their strongest performance yet under head coach Tom Saintfiet as they go after a victory over Haiti by a two-goal margin to advance out of the CFU Gold Cup playoffs.

Both teams clash from 5pm at the Ato Boldon Stadium on Sunday. Following Haiti’s 4-2 defeat of Suriname on Friday, T&T have it all to do as only a victory by two goals will push them ahead of both Haiti and Suriname on a better goal difference.

The Caribbean Football Union confirmed the tie breaker rules, stating –

1.Greatest number of points
2.Best Goal Difference
3.Most Wins
4.Most Wins in regulation time,
5.Most goals scored in regulation time
6.Goals scored away from a designated home game count double between the teams concerned
7.Drawing of Lots

Note – Goals scored in penalty shootouts to determine match winner shall not be counted.

Head coach Tom Saintfiet knows it will be a tall task but remained optimistic.

“At the moment we know that a 2-0 or a 3-1 result will get us through. It will be a difficult task against a good Haitian team but not an impossible one for us. They are ranked 59th in the world which is higher than us. We need everyone to support the team tomorrow. We need the fans there in big numbers and pushing the team on,” Saintfiet told TTFA Media on Saturday. Saintfiet and his technical staff viewed Saturday’s win by Haiti at the Ato Boldon Stadium.

“The two goals from Suriname last night were good for us. Haiti has a good squad and with some young players also. Their playmaker Sebastien Thuriere, the number 15, played in Bangladesh and he is a very good player. But we don’t want to think too much about the opposition and what they can do but we have to be more concerned with our game and what we must do to finish on top of the group,” Saintfiet told TTFA Media.

Saintfiet will conduct a final training session at the Hasely Crawford Stadium at 5pm on Saturday, spoke about his squad options, adding “At this time we have four players who are unavailable because of injury, Cornell Glen, Tyrone Charles, Hughtun Hector and Carlyle Mitchell so therefore we have to monitor things closely and we are not yet sure what the squad or the formation will be like for tomorrow’s match.”

“The players know what is needed, we as a team knows what is needed and we will go into the game giving it our all to accomplish this,” Saintfiet added.

Lotto Outlets will be closed on Sunday but tickets can be purchased at the venue on gameday. Tickets cost $50 for adults and $25 for children.

Post by: theworm2345 on January 08, 2017, 08:12:55 AM
I'll make this offer again, any one who has Flow Sports and willing to stream the match, here's an easy guide to streaming to YouTube -- any questions/issue feel free to PM and I'd be happy to help.  Myself, the foreign-based forumites, and I'm sure many Haitians would appreciate it.

If not, maybe we'll get lucky and TNH Haiti will pick up the feed.

https://support.google.com/youtube/answer/2853700?hl=en
Post by: Deeks on January 08, 2017, 09:46:35 AM
Well, this game is all about the players response to adversity. No DJW, Santfiet, Shanazz go to help them once the ref blow the whistle for the next 90 minutes. They just have to perform. No more talk.
Post by: gawd on pitch on January 08, 2017, 10:20:05 AM
Anything can happen in the CFU. We seen French Guyana take out a a much better Haitian team.

I am with the team. But something called "reality" is telling me this :

TT 1 - 2 Haiti

Get your popcorn ready for next week. The nation's football fraternity will be in an uproar. Saint"fete" will be fired. Shabazz and Latapy will be the new coaches.
Post by: ribbit on January 08, 2017, 12:03:08 PM
Which coach making more from this game: Josaphat or Saintfiet? Sad state of affairs.
Post by: frico on January 08, 2017, 12:43:02 PM
gawd on pitch is right, he mentioned the result between French Guiana and Haiti, Haiti lost with a better team, so we do have a chance judging by that, all is not lost.If we play a top game we could beat Haiti, we are capable of scoring 2, but can we keep a clean sheet at the same time...that's all we have to do, sounds easy enough.
Post by: vb on January 08, 2017, 01:04:46 PM
excerpts from a guardian article

The T&T team has been weakened by the loss of four key players to injury- striker Cornell Glen, Tyrone Charles, Hughton Hector and Carlyle Mitchell which leaves Saintfiet with a headache as to what his starting team or the formation will look like this afternoon.

Feel a little sorry for the Coach. He has basically gone from a B team to quasi C team.

Post by: Small Change on January 08, 2017, 02:21:00 PM
what time does the game start? Any online links to US viewers?
Post by: Tallman on January 08, 2017, 02:30:20 PM
what time does the game start? Any online links to US viewers?

5pm Trini time. Haven't seen any possible links.
Post by: Tallman on January 08, 2017, 02:30:31 PM
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/C1rJT2dVIAAWjAp.jpg)
Post by: royal on January 08, 2017, 02:40:30 PM
Teams

Trinidad & Tobago - 1.Adrian Foncette; 2.Aubrey David, 6.Radanfah Abu Bakr, 17.Maurice Ford; 7.Tyrone Charles, 8.Nathan Lewis, 11.Carlos Edwards (capt), 14.Andre Boucaud, 18.Aikim Andrews, 19.Kevan George; 10.Shahdon Winchester.

Haiti - 1.Guerry Romondt; 3.Mechack Jérôme, 16.Andrew Jean-Baptiste, 22.Alex Christian, 21.Samuel Pompée; 15.Sebastien Thuriere, 17.Wilguens Aristilde, 11.Derrick Etienne, 10.Hérold Charles; 18.Jonel Désiré, 9.Kervens Belfort Fils.

Post by: Jumbie on January 08, 2017, 02:45:33 PM
Good Luck Today fellas
Post by: vb on January 08, 2017, 02:47:21 PM
links...even radio....ah desperate enough  to  listen to Andre Baptiste.
Post by: FireBrand on January 08, 2017, 03:10:24 PM
Shahdon Winchester⚽ 1'
Post by: asylumseeker on January 08, 2017, 03:11:56 PM

Odd that the match is not on 95. What has happened to 95's partnership with the TTFA?
Post by: vb on January 08, 2017, 03:15:32 PM
Shahdon Winchester⚽ 1'

are u saying that he scored a goal in the 1st minute.
Post by: Bourbon on January 08, 2017, 03:17:18 PM

Odd that the match is not on 95. What has happened to 95's partnership with the TTFA?
Right now a PNM rally getting broadcast. Which you feel would pay more..TTFA or PNM?

Sent from my TBOOK 11(E5A6) using Tapatalk

Post by: Peong on January 08, 2017, 03:21:47 PM
Shahdon Winchester⚽ 1'

Doh make smoke!
Post by: trini_stallion on January 08, 2017, 03:23:23 PM
Man score a goal yes!!! Cmonnnn warriors!!!
Post by: FireBrand on January 08, 2017, 03:23:27 PM
Haiti equalized from a controversial quick free kick.
Post by: grskywalker on January 08, 2017, 03:24:09 PM
where is the game showing
Post by: grskywalker on January 08, 2017, 03:24:26 PM
what is the score
Post by: asylumseeker on January 08, 2017, 03:24:49 PM
Shahdon Winchester⚽ 1'

Doh make smoke!

The curse of the early goal.
Post by: trini_stallion on January 08, 2017, 03:26:21 PM
1-1 guys
Post by: FireBrand on January 08, 2017, 03:27:39 PM
Shahdon with the brace. T&T up 2-1.
Post by: vb on January 08, 2017, 03:28:57 PM
not even radio boy??
Post by: vb on January 08, 2017, 03:30:32 PM

DAMN. FIGHT IT TT, FIGHT IT.

firebrand where are u getting  your  info from?

Post by: soccerman on January 08, 2017, 03:30:39 PM
This game sounding like drama....no one back home taking theworm's recommendation?
Post by: gawd on pitch on January 08, 2017, 03:32:42 PM
With the way things sounding, allyuh sure you want to listen to the radio commentary and risk a heart attack?
Post by: Thomo on January 08, 2017, 03:33:19 PM
With the way things sounding, allyuh sure you want to listen to the radio commentary and risk a heart attack?

Ain't that the truth
Post by: asylumseeker on January 08, 2017, 03:38:25 PM
2-2
Post by: FireBrand on January 08, 2017, 03:39:48 PM

DAMN. FIGHT IT TT, FIGHT IT.

firebrand where are u getting  your  info from?

I'm getting my updates from Dinho who is at the ABS.
Post by: grskywalker on January 08, 2017, 03:41:59 PM
 :banginghead: :pissedoff: :cursing:
Post by: Flex on January 08, 2017, 03:42:43 PM
Edwards gets injured, Alvin on.

Teams

Trinidad & Tobago - 1.Adrian Foncette; 2.Aubrey David, 6.Radanfah Abu Bakr, 17.Maurice Ford; 7.Tyrone Charles, 8.Nathan Lewis, 11.Carlos Edwards (capt) (16.Alvin Jones 22nd), 14.Andre Boucaud, 18.Aikim Andrews, 19.Kevan George; 10.Shahdon Winchester.

Haiti - 1.Guerry Romondt; 3.Mechack Jérôme (capt), 16.Andrew Jean-Baptiste, 22.Alex Christian, 21.Samuel Pompée; 15.Sebastien Thuriere, 17.Wilguens Aristilde, 11.Derrick Etienne, 10.Charles Hérold; 18.Jonel Désiré, 9.Kervens Belfort Fils.

Post by: Benjie on January 08, 2017, 03:42:54 PM
flowsports
Post by: Tobago28 on January 08, 2017, 03:43:02 PM
2-2
Post by: asylumseeker on January 08, 2017, 03:44:08 PM
:banginghead: :pissedoff: :cursing:

Equaliser by de same man who poisoned us in Panama.
Post by: vb on January 08, 2017, 03:44:24 PM
Post by: Peong on January 08, 2017, 03:46:34 PM
Look like Shahdon has been reading the forum. Score 2 more!
Post by: grskywalker on January 08, 2017, 03:47:51 PM
seeing it now thanks for the link
Post by: vb on January 08, 2017, 03:48:51 PM
only seen a few minutes but tt stringing nice passes together.

Hatian commentator is calling all the name of the players so easy to know who is who.
Post by: kounty on January 08, 2017, 03:49:09 PM

vb. much blessings for the link.
Post by: Peong on January 08, 2017, 03:49:14 PM
Thanks for the link. 2-2
Post by: grskywalker on January 08, 2017, 03:50:16 PM
why we have so much trouble against them geez, they know our game and read us everytime
Post by: che on January 08, 2017, 03:53:01 PM
I thought this game was later tonight. Good thing I decided to take a look at the site.
Post by: maxg on January 08, 2017, 03:54:33 PM

dammit,with that link i getting the longest Hatian song and video ever..ok getting now
Post by: maxg on January 08, 2017, 03:57:20 PM
video again..but really...we have to go to Haiti to follow the game...nah.
Best Haiti go thru this time oui
Post by: vb on January 08, 2017, 03:58:11 PM

dammit,with that link i getting the longest Hatian song and video ever..ok getting now

I have to admit the music is beautiful  ;D

TT attacking hard, nice passes.

Haiti waiting for the counter we mmust be careful.

The fella lob the ball, for a second you had to wonder if he catch foncette of his line, the way the commentatr start to bawl, I thought it  was the French Andre Baptiste.  :rotfl: :rotfl:

Post by: vb on January 08, 2017, 04:00:32 PM
allyuh know is half time, right?
Post by: asylumseeker on January 08, 2017, 04:01:53 PM
video again..but really...we have to go to Haiti to follow the game...nah.
Best Haiti go thru this time oui

Ent!!!!!!!
Post by: gawd on pitch on January 08, 2017, 04:03:30 PM
Haiti go get tired after the 60min. They putting every man jack behind the ball after that.
Post by: breezers on January 08, 2017, 04:04:49 PM

Thanks vb.....blessings!
Post by: che on January 08, 2017, 04:07:17 PM

Post by: maxg on January 08, 2017, 04:12:29 PM
what could the instructions possibly be..it looking like "just kick it way"
Post by: Flex on January 08, 2017, 04:13:04 PM
Glen warming up.

Team playing pretty decent football.

UPDATE -

Teams

Trinidad & Tobago - 1.Adrian Foncette; 2.Aubrey David, 6.Radanfah Abu Bakr (vice-capt) (Yellow 87), 17.Maurice Ford; 7.Tyrone Charles, 8.Nathan Lewis, 11.Carlos Edwards (capt) (16.Alvin Jones 22nd), 14.Andre Boucaud, 18.Aikim Andrews, 19.Kevan George; 10.Shahdon Winchester.

Haiti - 1.Guerry Romondt; 3.Jérôme Mechack (capt), 16.Andrew Jean-Baptiste, 22.Alex Christian, 21.Samuel Pompée (Yellow 84); 15.Sebastien Thuriere, 17.Wilguens Aristilde, 11.Derrick Etienne (Yellow 87), 10.Charles Hérold; 18.Jonel Désiré, 9.Kervens Fils Belfort.

Post by: kounty on January 08, 2017, 04:13:37 PM
the old Cornell warming up boy!! trouble in the dance now :)
Post by: maxg on January 08, 2017, 04:14:35 PM

the link buss...Cornell real shake dem up
Post by: che on January 08, 2017, 04:18:29 PM
feed down  >:(
Post by: vb on January 08, 2017, 04:19:00 PM
WDMC is this.

I tbhink they lost the feed so playing music. >:(
Post by: maxg on January 08, 2017, 04:21:38 PM
back
Post by: asylumseeker on January 08, 2017, 04:22:18 PM
Link is back!!!!!! :rotfl:
Post by: gawd on pitch on January 08, 2017, 04:26:15 PM
Haiti might do a late goal just to avoid extra time... Cause if this game go into extra time, we will outrun the Haitians.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 08, 2017, 04:26:45 PM
Defending chaos!
Post by: maxg on January 08, 2017, 04:27:57 PM
Haiti might do a late goal just to avoid extra time... Cause if this game go into extra time, we will outrun the Haitians.
or they could just let we score 1  :devil:
Post by: gawd on pitch on January 08, 2017, 04:29:35 PM

So if I was Saint"fete" I would kill the game in the 80th minute
Post by: maxg on January 08, 2017, 04:30:37 PM

So if I was Saint"fete" I would kill the game in the 80th minute
i think he was tryin to kill the game since Suriname   :rotfl:  maybe even Nicaragua
Post by: lefty on January 08, 2017, 04:30:58 PM
doh know what d commentator sayin but yet ah laughin hard for some of his reactions
Post by: maxg on January 08, 2017, 04:32:51 PM
their team better than we team..by far, regardless of the score.. dem probably glad is TT they facing than W-Connection
Post by: asylumseeker on January 08, 2017, 04:34:15 PM
Some poor decision-making on display. Agreed, maxg.
Post by: gawd on pitch on January 08, 2017, 04:35:31 PM
Some poor decision-making on display.

What you expect. Poor decision making is the new brand of football under the TTFA
Post by: Brownsugar on January 08, 2017, 04:38:27 PM
This game must have a winner??  I thought T&T must win by 2 clear goals.....with 10 mins to go, that eh happening so we still going to extra time??
Post by: maxg on January 08, 2017, 04:39:30 PM
Some poor decision-making on display. Agreed, maxg.
since TTFA elections
Post by: asylumseeker on January 08, 2017, 04:39:50 PM

Now or never.

By the way, where Caesar?
Post by: gawd on pitch on January 08, 2017, 04:41:07 PM
This game must have a winner??  I thought T&T must win by 2 clear goals.....with 10 mins to go, that eh happening so we still going to extra time??

Yes Brown sugar. The thing though is after 120mins, Haiti will win by virtue of their 2 goal cushion. Penalty shots won't mean anything. So the game will finish after 120mins regardless
Post by: kounty on January 08, 2017, 04:41:48 PM

same question i have. what if haiti score an own goal within the very last minute of injury time to ensure the margin in just 1 goal?
Post by: maxg on January 08, 2017, 04:43:00 PM
aaappps...maybe will get 3 red cards
Post by: Socapro on January 08, 2017, 04:43:28 PM
I am tired of our team throwing away the ball to our opponents most of the time on throw-ins and goal-kicks.

I have observed this annoying and predictable habit for the past number of years now of our T&T players making long goal-kicks and thrown-ins to our players who are being closely marked and usually losing the ball to the opposition team.

How come no coach has address this glaring problem that always leads to our opponents having more ball possession than us even when we play at home which ultimately means our opponents who have more ball possession will get more or better chances to score on us than we get would get chances to score on them?
Post by: royal on January 08, 2017, 04:44:27 PM

same question i have. what if haiti score an own goal within the very last minute of injury time to ensure the margin in just 1 goal?

these rules don't sound like football
Post by: gawd on pitch on January 08, 2017, 04:46:14 PM

I guarantee they go do that if they get the ball. I predicted that 2 days ago
Post by: asylumseeker on January 08, 2017, 04:46:52 PM
Better we doh score?

Won't be the first time that CFU rules are not well thought out.
Post by: gawd on pitch on January 08, 2017, 04:47:31 PM
Better we doh score?

Yep. We will win if this game goes into extra time.
Post by: maxg on January 08, 2017, 04:48:17 PM
i hoping Haiti score and put all of us and our boys out of our misery
Post by: maxg on January 08, 2017, 04:48:56 PM
now we have to defend 2 goals, Haiti's and ours..look thing
Post by: gawd on pitch on January 08, 2017, 04:49:08 PM
How much time left?
Post by: asylumseeker on January 08, 2017, 04:50:00 PM
Better we doh score?

Yep. We will win if this game goes into extra time.

To get to extra time we need to take a different approach.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 08, 2017, 04:51:45 PM
How much time left?

4 I think.
Post by: Brownsugar on January 08, 2017, 04:52:06 PM

Yes Brown sugar. The thing though is after 120mins, Haiti will win by virtue of their 2 goal cushion. Penalty shots won't mean anything. So the game will finish after 120mins regardless

Ah just going to say the commentators doh seem to know that there must be a winner and then like somebody whisper in dey ears that the game must have a winner......that's why I was a bit unsure earlier because the commentators didn't seem to be aware and was talking as though the game would end in a draw......

Oh well.....T&T eh winning this.....of the two teams, Haiti goh score first.....
Post by: Flex on January 08, 2017, 04:53:01 PM
ET

Teams

Trinidad & Tobago - 1.Adrian Foncette; 2.Aubrey David, 6.Radanfah Abu Bakr (vice-capt) (Yellow 87), 17.Maurice Ford; 7.Tyrone Charles, 8.Nathan Lewis, 11.Carlos Edwards (capt) (16.Alvin Jones 22nd), 14.Andre Boucaud, 18.Aikim Andrews, 19.Kevan George; 10.Shahdon Winchester.

Haiti - 1.Guerry Romondt; 3.Jérôme Mechack (capt), 16.Andrew Jean-Baptiste, 22.Alex Christian, 21.Samuel Pompée (Yellow 84); 15.Sebastien Thuriere, 17.Wilguens Aristilde, 11.Derrick Etienne (Yellow 87), 10.Charles Hérold; 18.Jonel Désiré, 9.Kervens Fils Belfort.

Post by: Thomo on January 08, 2017, 04:54:39 PM
ET

Teams

Ah really want us to win eh but no matter the outcome ah proud ah dese guys who went out and fight fuh de country tonight. BLESS
Post by: Toussaint on January 08, 2017, 04:55:22 PM
That is overconfidence on the part of the Haitian coach, a type of dare and tease I guess. All what Haiti needed is to score an own goal in the last few second.
Post by: vb on January 08, 2017, 04:56:13 PM

these rules don't sound like football

I agree Royal if we win 1 0 the game done and we lose out.

but if we drawand Haiti have more points we go to extra time.

Haiti has gotten the better shots at goal in the sec. hlf.
so if we go to extr. time not too sure about us dominating. but lets see.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 08, 2017, 04:58:26 PM
That is overconfidence on the part of the Haitian coach, a type of dare and tease I guess. All what Haiti needed is to score an own goal in the last few second.

I would have put CFU on the spot.
Post by: frico on January 08, 2017, 05:09:08 PM
Taking all the setbacks our C team haven't done as bad as was expected, it shows what we can do with a little more exposure, I am talking about the home grown players.The new coach must also be given some credit.If we fail to win tonite, there seems to be room for more improvement, and a chance to make Russia.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 08, 2017, 05:09:36 PM
Vertical passing does not exist in our football. :frustrated:
Post by: che on January 08, 2017, 05:09:54 PM

Your team has honor  ;D
Post by: maxg on January 08, 2017, 05:11:16 PM
Taking all the setbacks our C team haven't done as bad as was expected, it shows what we can do with a little more exposure, I am talking about the home grown players.The new coach must also be given some credit.If we fail to win tonite, there seems to be room for more improvement, and a chance to make Russia.
real admiring your fortitude
Post by: asylumseeker on January 08, 2017, 05:11:56 PM

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: x ∞
Post by: Sando on January 08, 2017, 05:15:11 PM
I am proud of this guys. Winchester has up his game, good going youth.

Glen and Caesar didn't make much impact.

But I am proud of these guys and the coach, good job.

Are we playing with a W Connection kit?

Post by: Tobago28 on January 08, 2017, 05:16:57 PM
Thank God dey don't have Goal Line Technology
Post by: maxg on January 08, 2017, 05:17:12 PM
i absolutely certain some ppldoh  know nothing bout football now   :o  but still thanks for the support yes
Post by: gawd on pitch on January 08, 2017, 05:18:58 PM
the game still on ? What is the time
Post by: royal on January 08, 2017, 05:20:58 PM
Santokie ‏@San_Toki_

It's really crazy that Kenwyne Jones was not called up to the squad, his aerial presence would have worked wonders for T&T in these games
Post by: truehaitian on January 08, 2017, 05:21:53 PM
Haiti did score a goal in the final minute of the first half... the ball crossed the line when the defender got to it. Rewatch the replay
Post by: kounty on January 08, 2017, 05:22:06 PM
i absolutely certain some ppldoh  know nothing bout football now   :o  but still thanks for the support yes
i thought is me alone watching a 'different' game to the one that going on dey.
Post by: Flex on January 08, 2017, 05:23:14 PM
Goal for Haiti (Belfort)

Post by: gawd on pitch on January 08, 2017, 05:24:01 PM
Bye Saint"fete". Do something honorable and encourage DJW to bring back we Hart
Post by: Flex on January 08, 2017, 05:24:56 PM
Goal T&T !

3-3

Winchester hattrick

Post by: maxg on January 08, 2017, 05:26:14 PM
 :rotfl: :rotfl: is Shadow the man who get waste down pre-match    :rotfl:
Post by: gawd on pitch on January 08, 2017, 05:26:20 PM
Now that we out of the GC. What's next? Sit back and watch the Dictator push the country's football legacy up he ass.
Post by: royal on January 08, 2017, 05:29:48 PM
3-3
Post by: gawd on pitch on January 08, 2017, 05:30:13 PM
Jan 8 2016 -Haiti knock we ass out of the Copa Centenario spot

Jan 8 2017 - Haiti knock we ass out of the GC spot..

See you guys in 2018 when we play Haiti in the Caribbean cup
Post by: Brownsugar on January 08, 2017, 05:31:29 PM
3-3
Make that 4 - 3.....   ::)
Post by: Flex on January 08, 2017, 05:31:56 PM
4-3, Haiti

Post by: Sam on January 08, 2017, 05:34:38 PM
I dont know how Trevin Caesar get contract nah, that man shittie.

Akeem Roach was a better gamble.

Shahdon, you earn my respect today, good job youth !!!!!

Post by: royal on January 08, 2017, 05:35:10 PM
I'm not seeing the game but it sounds like we have a serious deficiency in handling cross balls
Post by: maxg on January 08, 2017, 05:35:59 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EB74RP-oZqE

"the minions like it "
Post by: frico on January 08, 2017, 05:37:47 PM
When TT can call on some of the overseas men who are still willing to play, we could still be in with a chance of qualification for Russia, I still recall many posts who were sure that we would be slaughtered, those people are the big dolts.The question is, did TT show some I provements over the last 4 matches, be honest.
Post by: trini_stallion on January 08, 2017, 05:39:13 PM
This team have fight. They really do. I'm extremely disappointed that we didn't win...if this team cld get more games they would hv ran on a lil 6 cylinder and be able to comepete against Caribbean teams. Kinda...I remember it was s localteam that got us to the 2013 Cfu finals and into the GC...

Idk nah...they fight tonight. Decent job guys =\
Post by: gawd on pitch on January 08, 2017, 05:40:02 PM
I'm not seeing the game but it sounds like we have a serious deficiency in handling cross balls

No royal. We have a serious "administrative" deficiency.
Post by: Dutty Love on January 08, 2017, 05:40:17 PM
Please someone tell me if this one is not the best GK available by a huge margin https://youtu.be/8r0vl1KnDOA

So my next question is, who in the world is the scout for the national team???
Post by: gawd on pitch on January 08, 2017, 05:41:14 PM
This team have fight. They really do. I'm extremely disappointed that we didn't win...if this team cld get more games they would hv ran on a lil 6 cylinder and be able to comepete against Caribbean teams. Kinda...I remember it was s localteam that got us to the 2013 Cfu finals and into the GC...

Did DJW fulfill his dream and get his first cap for TT?
Post by: Tobago28 on January 08, 2017, 05:41:24 PM
Thank God it over. I could relax for two months and ignore the train wreck that is the TTFA. I have nothing negative for the soldiers that fight, kick, spit, bite and claw today but the TTFA Board, Administrators and Technical staff all need to go
Post by: ON DE BLOCK on January 08, 2017, 05:41:51 PM
Ruby Tuesday
Post by: Tobago28 on January 08, 2017, 05:43:25 PM

You obviously do not fully understand the quality of the teams in the HEX; that is technical ability, physical ability and the quality of their coaching staffs.
Post by: trini_stallion on January 08, 2017, 05:43:49 PM

Did DJW fulfill his dream and get his first cap for TT?

DJW neeed to hull he ass and go n manage connection...this man worse than jack...we had a fighting chance to Russia...we cyah even make a gold cup now...that stinkin big heAd long face pig...goshhh what a stinkin dirty snake
Post by: Tobago28 on January 08, 2017, 05:45:27 PM
Haiti did score a goal in the final minute of the first half... the ball crossed the line when the defender got to it. Rewatch the replay

Agreed. That's why I say "Thank God no goal line technology"
Post by: breezers on January 08, 2017, 05:45:48 PM
Well all I could say is the attackers did their job today...we needed 2 and they provided 3 (doh mind how ugly it looked).

Unfortunately, the defenders couldn't get their job done, which we grow accustom to...sadly!

Way to step up for yuh country Winchester! Put some respeck on the kid name!
Post by: gawd on pitch on January 08, 2017, 05:46:09 PM
Saint"fete" was just spotted in an airport taxi.. He didn't even go into the change room after the game. Just walk straight to the airport taxi
Post by: Tobago28 on January 08, 2017, 05:47:04 PM
When TT can call on some of the overseas men who are still willing to play, we could still be in with a chance of qualification for Russia, I still recall many posts who were sure that we would be slaughtered, those people are the big dolts.The question is, did TT show some I provements over the last 4 matches, be honest.
NO! Next question
Post by: mukumsplau on January 08, 2017, 05:50:25 PM
Well all I could say is the attackers did their job today...we needed 2 and they provided 3 (doh mind how ugly it looked).

Unfortunately, the defenders couldn't get their job done, which we grow accustom to...sadly!

lol nonsense
Post by: Dinner Mints on January 08, 2017, 05:51:15 PM
Please someone tell me if this one is not the best GK available by a huge margin https://youtu.be/8r0vl1KnDOA

I'd like him to get a game as well, but you cyah base dem thing on YouTube videos. Every goalkeeper have highlights and great saves. Them videos eh go show how often he does shit down the place and how.
Post by: Tobago28 on January 08, 2017, 05:54:20 PM

I'd like him to get a game as well, but you cyah base dem thing on YouTube videos. Every goalkeeper have highlights and great saves. Them videos eh go show how often he does shit down the place and how.

He is starting goal keeper for Louisville FC in USL where we have plenty players on the national team from. Louisville is one of the better teams in USL and only Hart call him up.

Tonight Haiti second goal was scored by Derrick Etienne who plays for NYRBII in same league, at least Haiti giving quality young players a chance whether local or foreign
Post by: asylumseeker on January 08, 2017, 05:59:05 PM

lol nonsense

Ent.

Also, were we ever 2 goals ahead at any moment? NO!
Post by: Dutty Love on January 08, 2017, 05:59:16 PM

All TT Pro league players including GKs would jump at the opportunity to play in USL which is a lot more professional and higher level than TT Pro
Post by: breezers on January 08, 2017, 06:00:39 PM

lol nonsense

Im personally not a fan but yuh can't ask for more than a hattrick from yuh striker at any level...so just giving credit where it's due.
Post by: Socapro on January 08, 2017, 06:00:38 PM
Two loses at home to Caribbean teams!

Sad to say we are simply not ready at this point in time for the Hex!   :-[
Post by: Tenorsaw on January 08, 2017, 06:03:12 PM
Saint"fete" was just spotted in an airport taxi.. He didn't even go into the change room after the game. Just walk straight to the airport taxi

Men on here funny for days!  Lol

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Post by: Dutty Love on January 08, 2017, 06:04:15 PM

lol nonsense

Im personally not a fan but yuh can't ask for more than a hattrick from yuh striker at any level...so just giving credit where it's due.

It's the result of playing in a league way more competitive than any other league where T&T forwards play except for Molino
Post by: asylumseeker on January 08, 2017, 06:04:56 PM

lol nonsense

Great personal accomplishment by Shahdon. No doubt. Dahis one thing. Unfortunately de post-mortem cyah end there.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 08, 2017, 06:05:39 PM

lol nonsense

It's the result of playing in a league way more competitive than any other league where T&T forwards play except for Molino

Blah blah blah.
Post by: Tenorsaw on January 08, 2017, 06:07:51 PM
DJW needs to go back and play with he W Connection toy and leave national team football alone.  He is clueless!

Post by: sjahrain on January 08, 2017, 06:09:03 PM
Panama and Mexico next any predictions.... :devil:
Guess it's over call it a day
Sad ras clat day....
Post by: asylumseeker on January 08, 2017, 06:09:49 PM
NO! Next question

There is a huge difference between optimism and willful blindness. But Frico...
Post by: Dutty Love on January 08, 2017, 06:12:09 PM

lol nonsense

Blah blah blah.

It's true. The second best league in Concacaf after the Liga MX. In fact, he has been struggling in his club and will be bench player upon his return.

https://www.google.com/amp/www.brotherlygame.com/platform/amp/2016/7/27/12209088/2016-rankings-best-top-club-soccer-leagues-in-concacaf-mls-liga-mx?client=safari

Post by: asylumseeker on January 08, 2017, 06:14:19 PM
That is what I was waiting for you to share. I do not believe attributing these 3 goals to his presence in the Ascenso presents a fair or complete pic. Same could have happened before his departure. Has he improved in Mexico?
Post by: breezers on January 08, 2017, 06:17:11 PM

lol nonsense

Ent.

Not surprising at all cuz defensively we poor...tactically we can't get it done cuz we very passive....we lack that defensive awareness and concentration needed to shutout teams and Constantly players remind us that defensively they irresponsible and untrustworthy...mentality we don't have a consistent desire to win we own individual battles on the pitch throughout 90+ mins...so we always ready to concede a few goals doh matter the opposition.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 08, 2017, 06:20:50 PM

No royal. We have a serious "administrative" deficiency.

Yes as to both.
Post by: Tenorsaw on January 08, 2017, 06:22:45 PM
Trinidad football still has a mentality that defenders defend, midfielders and strikers score goals.  So, midfielders, especially the "star boys" don't work off the ball when we don't have it, nor do strikers track back.  Forget about defending higher up the pitch.  Our players don't have the discipline and drive to high press.

Post by: Dutty Love on January 08, 2017, 06:23:32 PM
That is what I was waiting for you to share. I do not believe attributing these 3 goals to his presence in the Ascenso presents a fair or complete pic. Same could have happened before his departure. Has he improved in Mexico?

Yes he is learning what it means to play pro instead of being in an amateur league. Fitness, tactical approach of the teams he plays against, intensity, tight marking from opposing defenders, playing in tight spaces, leaving 100% on the field, finishing your only chance, etc etc. It's a process and he still struggles in Mexico but 5 months show a huge improvement. Now playing Caribbean opposition who plays in amateur leagues in the Caribbean like this Haiti side is like a walk in the park though.
Post by: Dutty Love on January 08, 2017, 06:25:30 PM

lol nonsense

Ent.

Not surprising at all cuz defensively we poor...tactically we can't get it done cuz we very passive....we lack that defensive awareness and concentration needed to shutout teams and Constantly players remind us that defensively they irresponsible and untrustworthy...mentality we don't have a consistent desire to win we own individual battles on the pitch throughout 90+ mins...so we always ready to concede a few goals doh matter the opposition.

Thanks. Indeed that's local caribbean football in a nut shell.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 08, 2017, 06:27:16 PM

Yes he is learning what it means to play pro instead of being in an amateur league. Fitness, tactical approach of the teams he plays against, intensity, tight marking from opposing defenders, playing in tight spaces, leaving 100% on the field, finishing your only chance, etc etc. It's a process and he still struggles in Mexico but 5 months show a huge improvement. Now playing Caribbean opposition who plays in amateur leagues in the Caribbean like this Haiti side is like a walk in the park though.

This is not the game on which to draw conclusions. And yes, he struggles in Mexico.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 08, 2017, 06:28:40 PM

lol nonsense

Ent.

On the available evidence, Adrian Foncette is not up to the task. Point blank. Even with other defensive issues, a higher standard of care is needed between the sticks.
Post by: Big Magician on January 08, 2017, 06:39:12 PM
I NEVER SEEN IT THIS BAD...NEVER.

Been following TnT Football since the mid 70's... hardly ever missed a match... SAD.

DOC...nice to meet you...together we aspire...together we take we licks.....cheers

also...was strange just bouncing up like 5  national team regulars in the stand..while the action taking place.. J Jones.. Nash Molino.. Mikel...Carlyle...say what...MARCH...
Post by: asylumseeker on January 08, 2017, 06:39:23 PM

You obviously do not fully understand the quality of the teams in the HEX; that is technical ability, physical ability and the quality of their coaching staffs.

Yesterday I looked at the first half of the US v Mexico ... and when I considered who Juan Carlos Osorio had on the bench, plus what was happening on the field... the mere idea of this patchwork project of the last 3 weeks is cringeworthy.
Post by: Tenorsaw on January 08, 2017, 06:42:05 PM

lol nonsense

Ent.

On the available evidence, Adrian Foncette is not up to the task. Point blank. Even with other defensive issues, a higher standard of care is needed between the sticks.

Trinidad's GK pool is probably the weakest I've seen in my lifetime.  None of these guys are good enough to be in Europe.  Foncette is not international std. 

Post by: pull stones on January 08, 2017, 06:42:27 PM

do you know how long i have been crying for these nincompoops to give this goal keeper a shot? they continue with williams and phillips who can't keep a clean sheet if his life was on the line. now they gone with the worst of the lot foncette, this bloke is a plank in goal he gave up goals in south america like a true novice yet they stick with these locals and only them and god knows why.
Post by: pull stones on January 08, 2017, 06:48:23 PM
Thank God it over. I could relax for two months and ignore the train wreck that is the TTFA. I have nothing negative for the soldiers that fight, kick, spit, bite and claw today but the TTFA Board, Administrators and Technical staff all need to go
they conceded 4 bloody goals are you crazy? we had three of our starting first team defenders two starting first team midfielders and we allowed haiti second string team to score four goals on us in a must win game. our defense has always been our achilles heal. these five players continuesly let down the team time abd time again. i say keep bateau and drop that whole back line including the keeper. they are a totals waste of time.
Post by: gawd on pitch on January 08, 2017, 06:49:03 PM
How much money the FA would have gotten for GC qualification? I think it is usually around 150k..

Well the only winners here are Saint"fete".  He get a 4 week holiday and get to see some pretty Trini women. I wonder if DJW go pay for he taxi ride to the airport?
Post by: pull stones on January 08, 2017, 06:51:01 PM

that defense has always let us down from the inception of trinidad football. it's like they don't know the meaning of defending.
Post by: g on January 08, 2017, 06:58:52 PM
We get the result we deserve

On to the next match
Post by: Dutty Love on January 08, 2017, 07:01:54 PM

lol nonsense

Ent.

Trinidad's GK pool is probably the weakest I've seen in my lifetime.  None of these guys are good enough to be in Europe.  Foncette is not international std. 

Europe??? You mean USL I hope
Post by: Sando prince on January 08, 2017, 07:27:04 PM

Failure to qualify for the Gold Cup is bad enough, failure to qualify in the middle of a WC campaign is worse
Post by: soccerman on January 08, 2017, 07:57:18 PM
Now that we out of the GC. What's next? Sit back and watch the Dictator push the country's football legacy up he ass.
Yup! He can do basically whatever he wants and we can't do nutten about it.
Post by: pull stones on January 08, 2017, 07:58:30 PM

lol nonsense

Ent.

very true and the feller between the sticks don't make it any easier, all three of them dammit!
Post by: pull stones on January 08, 2017, 08:16:15 PM
when i woke up that gloomy november day in 2015 and saw that DJW had won the election i got a very strange feeling that we were going back to rations days. we were finally recovering from the strangle hold of AJW and was making progress and was at the exit way of the bear cave only to be dragged right back in by the awakening alpha grizzly DJW.

since this man took charge we have lost every important match saving st vincent and DR. it's really hard to stay here and watch this carnage take place. just yesterday we were matching stride with usa, now we are being beaten by surename. this DJW is a hex on our football. in my opinion i believe the lads don't want to play for this bloke since he fired the coach, everyone who could have made a difference either fell ill or had prior commitments.
Post by: gawd on pitch on January 08, 2017, 08:29:10 PM
when i woke up that gloomy november day in 2015 and saw that DJW had won the election i got a very strange feeling that we were going back to rations days. we were finally recovering from the strangle hold of AJW and was making progress and was at the exit way of the bear cave only to be dragged right back in by the awakening alpha grizzly DJW.

since this man took charge we have lost every important match st vincent and DR. it really hard to stay here and watch this carnage take place. just yesterday we were matching stride with usa, now we are being beaten by surename. this DJW is a hex on our football. in my opinion i believe the lads don't want to play for this bloke since he fired the coach, everyone who could have made a difference either fell ill or had prior commitments.

That's what I think. They dont want to play since the coach gone.

If this shit was going on in Brazilian football , yuh done know this would be in the media. There would be a public call for the president to throw in the towel.

As I said previously, that president WILL NOT RESIGN if the public called for him to.
Post by: palos on January 08, 2017, 08:56:11 PM

since this man took charge we have lost every important match st vincent and DR. it really hard to stay here and watch this carnage take place. just yesterday we were matching stride with usa, now we are being beaten by surename. this DJW is a hex on our football. in my opinion i believe the lads don't want to play for this bloke since he fired the coach, everyone who could have made a difference either fell ill or had prior commitments.

That's what I think. They dont want to play since the coach gone.

If this shit was going on in Brazilian football , yuh done know this would be in the media. There would be a public call for the president to throw in the towel.

As I said previously, that president WILL NOT RESIGN if the public called for him to.

Why would he resign?

The national team is now his personal "feeder" team. If the business model in T&T football is to showcase T&T players and sell them...regardless of where they go...be it Eastern Europe, MLS, Thailand, Vietnam, India or wherever would pay to have them....then he has the best local vehicle, the national team, to maximize said "exposure".  Look for more Equitorial Guinea games in the future.

The results of the national team are immaterial. As long as Players getting employment. tV rights coming in and one or two sponsors passing $, he eh going a place
Post by: Tobago28 on January 08, 2017, 09:57:48 PM
they conceded 4 bloody goals are you crazy? we had three of our starting first team defenders two starting first team midfielders and we allowed haiti second string team to score four goals on us in a must win game. our defense has always been our achilles heal. these five players continuesly let down the team time abd time again. i say keep bateau and drop that whole back line including the keeper. they are a totals waste of time.

I maybe crazy but not naive like you to think defense is the responsibility of the defenders. The forwards are the first line , the midfield the 2nd and the back 4 the last. Tell me what the 1st and 2nd line did then talk about the defenders and goal keeper. In modern football 11 defend and 11 attack.

Post by: CAPITANO on January 08, 2017, 11:13:45 PM
We real taking licks boy. This has to be the lowest we have ever been in my lifetime.
We getting licks every where :cursing:
Post by: andremartinsc on January 09, 2017, 06:33:48 AM
Jomal Williams and Shahdon Winchester are some of the T&T players that I like to watch. Anyone here watch Murcielagos? I believe both of them deserve to sign with a better club.

I enjoyed Nathan Lewis and Tyrone Charles performances against Haiti as well. Tyrone has been good the last few matches, is he one of the best players in the Pro League? It's strange that he's already 28 y/o and never played in other leagues.
Post by: Dutty Love on January 09, 2017, 07:12:46 AM
Jomal Williams and Shahdon Winchester are some of the T&T players that I like to watch. Anyone here watch Murcielagos? I believe both of them deserve to sign with a better club.

I enjoyed Nathan Lewis and Tyrone Charles performances against Haiti as well. Tyrone has been good the last few matches, is he one of the best players in the Pro League? It's strange that he's already 28 y/o and never played in other leagues.

Better club? Winchester is set to be a sub at Murcielagos and it's not like Liga MX clubs are chasing Jomal...
Post by: andremartinsc on January 09, 2017, 07:45:13 AM

Better club? Winchester is set to be a sub at Murcielagos and it's not like Liga MX clubs are chasing Jomal...

I say this based on their performances for the national team.
But just to prove my point, I checked here and Winchester is starting a lot of matches for Murcielagos. In the last 10 matches he started 7 and scored 3 goals, coming as a sub on the others he didn't start.

Jomal Williams is good, I don't understand why you're saying this. Last match T&T x Costa Rica was broadcasted here in Brazil and the commentators praised him a lot. He's promising, very young and earning a lot of minutes in Ascenso. And yeah, both could go to better leagues than Liga Ascenso, MLS for example.

I'm more optimistic than you about players of your country  :D
Post by: Peong on January 09, 2017, 08:40:57 AM
It upsetting to see Haiti beating us to those crosses.
Foncette made some important stops, Haiti had some very good chances that he got in front of. The last Haiti shouldn't have scored IMO. Keeper and defender shoulda had that.
Congrats Winchester on a good game.
Ey every time we miss a GC it is a huge setback. Wtf man
Post by: Mad Scorpion a/k/a Big Bo$$ on January 09, 2017, 09:30:17 AM

Dude yuh talking to ah fella that somehow manage to take ah gulp of whatever DJW serving.  Doh waste yuh time.  One minute he talking about build local, next he want to call the overseas pros, all while seemingly singing DJW and Saintshyte praises
Post by: grskywalker on January 09, 2017, 09:40:33 AM
Haiti consistently beats us now!!! is this the new norm WTF!!! :banginghead: :banginghead: :banginghead:
Suriname!!! are you kidding me, what the hell are we doing, we cannot continue the HEX with this nonsense we playing
ANYBODY HAVE HART OR BEENHAKER ON SPEED DIAL!!!!  :cursing: :cursing: :cursing:
Post by: Dutty Love on January 09, 2017, 12:24:13 PM

But just to prove my point, I checked here and Winchester is starting a lot of matches for Murcielagos. In the last 10 matches he started 7 and scored 3 goals, coming as a sub on the others he didn't start.

Jomal Williams is good, I don't understand why you're saying this. Last match T&T x Costa Rica was broadcasted here in Brazil and the commentators praised him a lot. He's promising, very young and earning a lot of minutes in Ascenso. And yeah, both could go to better leagues than Liga Ascenso, MLS for example.

MLS is not better than Ascenso MX
Post by: andremartinsc on January 09, 2017, 01:12:51 PM

Why a lot of guys here hate MLS so much? lol
I'm Brazilian, I live in Brazil and I don't care about USA but it's easy to recognize their league is getting better every year. God, Pirlo was playing in UCL in 2015 and in the next year he was an average player in MLS. They're not the best league in the world but they're certainly better than Ascenso. Molino plays in MLS, Bostock trialed in MLS, Aubrey, Mekeil, Cato, all in MLS and most of them are pretty average there. Come on...
Post by: Toussaint on January 09, 2017, 02:13:01 PM
A little anecdote on the match. Haiti wanted to score an own goal to end the match 2-3 to avoid the extra time but CFU warned the Haitian officials that they would take actions against it. The Haitian players knew about it.
Post by: Dutty Love on January 09, 2017, 02:14:32 PM

I'm Brazilian, I live in Brazil and I don't care about USA but it's easy to recognize their league is getting better every year. God, Pirlo was playing in UCL in 2015 and in the next year he was an average player in MLS. They're not the best league in the world but they're certainly better than Ascenso. Molino plays in MLS, Bostock trialed in MLS, Aubrey, Mekeil, Cato, all in MLS and most of them are pretty average there. Come on...

Well that is your opinion. No MLS hate but the public opinion is that Ascenso and MLS are of similar level. Ask anyone in Costa Rica and they will tell you Ascenso is more competitive than their league which is the best one in Central America. And Costarican teams regularly beat MLS teams in CCL. So you can draw your conclusions. Aubrey and Cato would not attract interest in Ascenso I am afraid.

You can read more here:

https://www.google.com/amp/www.brotherlygame.com/platform/amp/2015/3/3/8112791/ranking-the-top-10-best-soccer-leagues-in-concacaf?client=safari

https://www.google.com/amp/www.brotherlygame.com/platform/amp/2016/7/27/12209088/2016-rankings-best-top-club-soccer-leagues-in-concacaf-mls-liga-mx?client=safari

Post by: Dutty Love on January 09, 2017, 02:20:43 PM

Well that is your opinion. No MLS hate but the public opinion is that Ascenso and MLS are of similar level. Ask anyone in Costa Rica and they will tell you Ascenso is more competitive than their league which is the best one in Central America. And Costarican teams regularly beat MLS teams in CCL. So you can draw your conclusions. Aubrey and Cato would not attract interest in Ascenso I am afraid.

You can read more here:

https://www.google.com/amp/www.brotherlygame.com/platform/amp/2015/3/3/8112791/ranking-the-top-10-best-soccer-leagues-in-concacaf?client=safari

In addition Pirlo is 37 and the fact he was average in MLS is largely due to the fact that the players around him are low level for the most part. He said it very clearly and it's why European teams go to Mexico and not MLS for their players usually. Do you know Celaya just sold two young players to Pachuca (one is Chilean) for $1.5 millions each. That is more than any Costarican player market value when going to MLS.

http://www.foxsports.com/soccer/story/andrea-pirlo-says-mls-is-too-much-physical-work-and-too-little-play-052316

https://www.google.com/amp/mexico.as.com/mexico/2016/12/13/futbol/1481667406_459948.amp.html?client=safari
Post by: Deeks on January 09, 2017, 03:06:15 PM
The MLS is not an easy league to play in. Asked Gerrard about that.
Post by: Dutty Love on January 09, 2017, 03:20:27 PM

You know what makes it hard? the overwhelming number of players whose only asset is to run and be strong but can't read the game or trap a ball
Post by: Tenorsaw on January 09, 2017, 03:24:23 PM

You know what makes it hard? the overwhelming number of players whose only asset is to run and be strong but can't read the game or trap a ball

MLS needs to get more technical.  Too many fit laborers, not enough technicians.  It takes too long to put the ball on the mat in the MLS and defenders lack composure to play the ball out the back when pressed.  The best part of the league is the goalkeeping, if you ask me.  Loads of talent!

Post by: Dutty Love on January 09, 2017, 03:33:16 PM

MLS needs to get more technical.  Too many fit laborers, not enough technicians.  It takes too long to put the ball on the mat in the MLS and defenders lack composure to play the ball out the back when pressed.  The best part of the league is the goalkeeping, if you ask me.  Loads of talent!

Agreed but every week you see Goalkeeper mistakes that seem out of one of those collections. Just think of 2015 MLS cup for instance.
Post by: Tenorsaw on January 09, 2017, 03:36:54 PM

Agreed but every week you see Goalkeeper mistakes that seem out of one of those collections. Just think of 2015 MLS cup for instance.

Still, the pool is about 6-7 deep, in terms of GKs who are outstanding.

Post by: Dutty Love on January 09, 2017, 03:42:39 PM
Some recent preseason games of Costarican top clubs with Mexico Ascenso teams:

Mineros de Zacateca - Saprissa 5-0
http://www.nacion.com/amp/deportes/futbol-costa-rica/Saprissa-humillado-Mineros-Zacatecas-Mexico_0_1496250416.html?client=safari

Oaxaca - Alajuelense 5-1
http://www.nacion.com/m/deportes/futbol-costa-rica/Alajuelense-Alebrijes_de_Oaxaca-Invierno_2016_0_1571442903.html

Tlaxcala (Segunda - that is Mexico Third tier) - Alajuelense 1-0
https://www.google.com/amp/www.nacion.com/amp/deportes/futbol-costa-rica/Alajuelense-Tlaxcala-Invierno_2016_0_1571642887.html?client=safari

Post by: andremartinsc on January 10, 2017, 05:44:16 AM

MLS clubs don't take CCL seriously. Its calendar doesn't help and most times they don't play with their best players. It's hard to be competitive playing with a mix of your A/B or sometimes B/C teams, in a league that the cap is so strict that is hard to build a solid roster with all 28 quality players. Soccer is too dynamic guys, there's a lot more complex stuff than comparing results, everything can change quickly! There's culture, training, fitness, calendar, travel, roster, injuries, salary cap. All involved.

"Pirlo is 37", yeah, and he was playing UCL final when he was 36. Only one year isn't enough to a player drop his level like that. It's not fair to blame only his teammates. Pirlo messed up in a lot of matches, missed easy passes and didn't score FKs like he used to do.

Gerrard was useless in MLS, 10x worse than Pirlo. De Jong was ok. Cole is ok. Those 3 I mentioned played on the same team with Keane and some other talented players, and still couldn't be too much above average.

Don't buy those easy excuses like "MLS is so intense that good players can't play". Pirlo criticized the league because he couldn't accept the fact that he simply can't fit in, even playing with stars like Lampard and Villa (the last 2 could play well without depreciating the league).

It's necessary to watch the league more, because those stereotypes are useless. Just like saying there're huge goalkeeper mistakes weekly, because it isn't true. There are some mistakes sometimes for obvious reasons, because it constantly happens in the biggest leagues too.

A good point to observe too is that Panamá is getting stronger in CONCACAF recently, and there's a strong flux of Panamanians to MLS, and it's not just the "strong centerbacks from Panama" like Roman Torres and Harold Cummings, it's the talented ones like Quintero, Miguel Camargo and Godoy.

I could find a lot of examples of players coming from bigger leagues and failing or even succeeding in MLS. Gilberto, for example, scored 14 goals in the Brazilian 1st division in 2013 and then struggled in Toronto, scoring only 7 in 2014. Failed. David Villa was 2016 MLS MVP.

A team from Ascenso could win against an MLS club, Murcielagos could come to US and beat Houston Dynamo, for example. But my point is that in an imaginary league mixed with MLS clubs and Ascenso clubs, MLS clubs would do a lot better. The best clubs in MLS are also better than the best in Ascenso, just compare FC Dallas roster/quality with any club in Ascenso MX, it's almost unfair competition.

This debate is kinda useless, but I respect all your opinions. Have a great day people. Peace!
Post by: Dutty Love on January 10, 2017, 08:11:49 AM

MLS clubs don't take CCL seriously. Its calendar doesn't help and most times they don't play with their best players. It's hard to be competitive playing with a mix of your A/B or sometimes B/C teams, in a league that the cap is so strict that is hard to build a solid roster with all 28 quality players. Soccer is too dynamic guys, there's a lot more complex stuff than comparing results, everything can change quickly! There's culture, training, fitness, calendar, travel, roster, injuries, salary cap. All involved.

"Pirlo is 37", yeah, and he was playing UCL final when he was 36. Only one year isn't enough to a player drop his level like that. It's not fair to blame only his teammates. Pirlo messed up in a lot of matches, missed easy passes and didn't score FKs like he used to do.

Gerrard was useless in MLS, 10x worse than Pirlo. De Jong was ok. Cole is ok. Those 3 I mentioned played on the same team with Keane and some other talented players, and still couldn't be too much above average.

Don't buy those easy excuses like "MLS is so intense that good players can't play". Pirlo criticized the league because he couldn't accept the fact that he simply can't fit in, even playing with stars like Lampard and Villa (the last 2 could play well without depreciating the league).

It's necessary to watch the league more, because those stereotypes are useless. Just like saying there're huge goalkeeper mistakes weekly, because it isn't true. There are some mistakes sometimes for obvious reasons, because it constantly happens in the biggest leagues too.

A good point to observe too is that Panamá is getting stronger in CONCACAF recently, and there's a strong flux of Panamanians to MLS, and it's not just the "strong centerbacks from Panama" like Roman Torres and Harold Cummings, it's the talented ones like Quintero, Miguel Camargo and Godoy.

I could find a lot of examples of players coming from bigger leagues and failing or even succeeding in MLS. Gilberto, for example, scored 14 goals in the Brazilian 1st division in 2013 and then struggled in Toronto, scoring only 7 in 2014. Failed. David Villa was 2016 MLS MVP.

A team from Ascenso could win against an MLS club, Murcielagos could come to US and beat Houston Dynamo, for example. But my point is that in an imaginary league mixed with MLS clubs and Ascenso clubs, MLS clubs would do a lot better. The best clubs in MLS are also better than the best in Ascenso, just compare FC Dallas roster/quality with any club in Ascenso MX, it's almost unfair competition.

This debate is kinda useless, but I respect all your opinions. Have a great day people. Peace!

The MLS teams have much bigger rosters and budget than the Costarican clubs and lose fair and straight. The ones using B sides are usually the Mexican clubs until the quarter finals.

I have my doubts on what you say. Atiba Harris would not start for a top Ascenso team like Celaya or Dorados. Dorados this past tournament had Joe Corona who has been around USA national team in recent years.
Post by: Dutty Love on January 10, 2017, 08:15:36 AM

The MLS teams have much bigger rosters and budget than the Costarican clubs and lose fair and straight. The ones using B sides are usually the Mexican clubs until the quarter finals.

I have my doubts on what you say. Atiba Harris would not start for a top Ascenso team like Celaya or Dorados. Dorados this past tournament had Joe Corona who has been around USA national team in recent years.

For every old fart coming to play without motivation and to collect a paycheck vacation to MLS, there are many mediocre european players who come to make a difference like Matteo Mancosu for instance.
Post by: asylumseeker on January 17, 2017, 07:32:24 AM
A little anecdote on the match. Haiti wanted to score an own goal to end the match 2-3 to avoid the extra time but CFU warned the Haitian officials that they would take actions against it. The Haitian players knew about it.

Did they say how they would have sanctioned Haiti?