May 21, 2024, 09:29:54 AM

Who should keep the cartoons

The family of the author?
1 (100%)
The finder of the drawings
0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 1

Author Topic: Interesting case - UPDATE (Judgement handed down)  (Read 1229 times)

Offline cocoapanyol

Interesting case - UPDATE (Judgement handed down)
« on: May 15, 2007, 12:36:47 PM »
http://www.thestar.com/News/article/214059

I'm a bit torn myself from the finders keepers stand point but it was a genuine accident that the drawings were left behind.  So I say the family should get it back.
« Last Edit: May 31, 2007, 07:35:40 AM by cocoapanyol »
I can please only one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow isn't looking good either.

Re: Interesting case
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2007, 12:47:24 PM »
I glanced at dis article earlier today ..

Legally, de finders might win but morally, they should give dem back .. steups

But ppl is call me rightous so dat is where i coming from.

Too many people want to make a dollar without working for it.

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2007, 12:51:27 PM »
Actually Pecan, the finders may NOT win simply because dey find it.  Ah was thinking about dis from a intellectual property stand point and in order tuh publish de works, dey would have tuh get permission from de author.  Since de author dead, den is de estate.  Ah doh have all de details of de case but in order tuh claim ownership of someting yuh find, yuh have tuh prove dat yuh try tuh reach de owner tuh return it and was unsuccessful.  me eh know if dey do dat.

Is like when yuh find big money and yuh turn it een tuh de police.  Yuh could only get it back if nobody eh claim it.

It have some latin word fuh it but ah go have tuh do some checking.  Cyar remember what it is.
I can please only one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow isn't looking good either.

Offline cocoapanyol

Re: Interesting case - UPDATE (Judgement handed down)
« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2007, 07:36:22 AM »
So the family won.  Seems fair.

http://www.thestar.com/article/219720

« Reply #4 on: May 31, 2007, 07:50:44 AM »
Actually Pecan, the finders may NOT win simply because dey find it.  Ah was thinking about dis from a intellectual property stand point and in order tuh publish de works, dey would have tuh get permission from de author.  Since de author dead, den is de estate.  Ah doh have all de details of de case but in order tuh claim ownership of someting yuh find, yuh have tuh prove dat yuh try tuh reach de owner tuh return it and was unsuccessful.  me eh know if dey do dat.

Is like when yuh find big money and yuh turn it een tuh de police.  Yuh could only get it back if nobody eh claim it.

It have some latin word fuh it but ah go have tuh do some checking.  Cyar remember what it is.

Findemus keepitos

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #5 on: May 31, 2007, 07:59:32 AM »
 ;D ;D
fishs...

*steupse*

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #6 on: May 31, 2007, 08:18:43 AM »
No Fish...it doh wuk so.  Is not marbles yuh fine!!  ;D

« Reply #7 on: May 31, 2007, 11:31:51 AM »
good outcome  :D