May 17, 2024, 06:56:52 PM

Author Topic: CHELSEA FOREVER! - Home of the Champions!  (Read 639302 times)

Re: CHELSEA FOREVER! - Home of the Champions!
« Reply #1830 on: May 15, 2011, 11:53:55 AM »
*shrug* i rate him

N'zogbia... that shithound.

« Reply #1831 on: May 15, 2011, 12:49:45 PM »
Subdued final home game of the season today. The referee was shocking, definitely not a home ref. And the Newcastle equaliser in the final minute of extra time put a damper on things...

Torres was dreadful. He had no excuse today, Benayoun and Lampard both started and were looking for him, but he still has no confidence and refuses to shoot.

Nice to see McEachran starting in the DM role, he looked pretty good  :beermug:

We can only hope that the off and preseason to come does Torres some good and he will return next season with at least half the form he had in previous years.  It seems like it's all in his head. 
I agree that the refereeing was rediculous but at least it didn't affect the outcome of the game, so say wha.....last week, John Terry's poor covering put David Luiz in a bad position, this week it was Ashley cole's bad pass that did Terry in.  He had no choice but to foul that man there.  But that header on the second equalizer, about 5 yards from de goal line....all dat is John Terry terrytorry.  We should have run away easily with the title this year, but such is life, we not coming worse than second.  At least we ain't fightin' up for a Europa Leauge spot like spurs and moreso, liverpool.

« Reply #1832 on: May 15, 2011, 01:10:37 PM »
Subdued final home game of the season today. The referee was shocking, definitely not a home ref. And the Newcastle equaliser in the final minute of extra time put a damper on things...

Torres was dreadful. He had no excuse today, Benayoun and Lampard both started and were looking for him, but he still has no confidence and refuses to shoot.

We can only hope that the off and preseason to come does Torres some good and he will return next season with at least half the form he had in previous years.  It seems like it's all in his head. 
I agree that the refereeing was rediculous but at least it didn't affect the outcome of the game, so say wha.....last week, John Terry's poor covering put David Luiz in a bad position, this week it was Ashley cole's bad pass that did Terry in.  He had no choice but to foul that man there.  But that header on the second equalizer, about 5 yards from de goal line....all dat is John Terry terrytorry.  We should have run away easily with the title this year, but such is life, we not coming worse than second.  At least we ain't fightin' up for a Europa Leauge spot like spurs and moreso, liverpool.

Yuh like all yuh new uniforms?

« Reply #1833 on: May 15, 2011, 01:17:35 PM »
Some pix from today's game:

Team in the new kit:

Diver:

Diver:

Diver:

Diver:

Goalscorer:

« Reply #1834 on: May 15, 2011, 01:18:13 PM »

nuthin special...i bought it, but i am easily marketed to, lol.

« Reply #1835 on: May 15, 2011, 01:32:44 PM »

I never see a adidas kit I didn't like! (except when your stinkin' side used to disparage the brand like how liverpool doin' it now!)  :devil:

« Reply #1836 on: June 20, 2011, 05:42:45 AM »
I had to use the search function to find this dead-horse thread.

Happy Days fellas, a next manager to be collecting severance in two years time.

Chelsea 'agree deal' with Porto's André Villas-Boas over manager's job

• André Villas-Boas 'has accepted Chelsea offer'
• Roman Abramovich said to have offered coach €5m a year

Tom Kundert in Lisbon and Tom Davies
guardian.co.uk   
Monday 20 June 2011 11.21 BST

Chelsea have agreed to pay the release clause for the Porto manager André Villas-Boas, according to reports in Portugal, and the coach has accepted the offer to work in London.

Villas-Boas will earn €5m (£4.4m) a season, the exact salary José Mourinho earned at the west London club, according to Jornal de Notícias. Chelsea will also pay the €15m (£13.2m) release clause.

Villas-Boas has already informed Porto of his decision to leave for the English club, a source linked to the process told the Agência.

On Sunday the Porto president Pinto da Costa said "if a club pay the €15m and if he wants to leave, FC Porto can't do anything about it".

Apparently, Villas-Boas is now willing to leave the "dream job" (a reference to how Da Costa described his position at Porto) to re-join the club where he worked with Mourinho.

Villas-Boas led Porto to the domestic double and Europa League success last term and Chelsea are looking to fill the vacancy created by the sacking of Carlo Ancelotti.

Chelsea's owner, Roman Abramovich, may leave €45m in the coffers at Porto's Dragão stadium in total, moreover. According to A Bola, he also wants to take the Colombian forward Falcao to London as a sweetener for Villas-Boas's signature.

Chelsea have also been in negotiations with Guus Hiddink about returning to the club he briefly managed in 2009. Chelsea have been talking with the Dutchman about taking either the coach's job or the sporting director role – should he take on the latter then there would also be room for Villas-Boas to take a position at the club.

Porto's press office refused to comment on the situation on Monday morning. However, it is understood that any deal would have to be announced on the Portuguese stock exchange

« Reply #1837 on: June 20, 2011, 07:11:55 AM »
Will make next season interesting....hopefully he doesnt bring too many Porto players with him, I dont rate Falcao or Hulk.

« Reply #1838 on: June 20, 2011, 08:12:41 AM »
FC Porto insist they have not received an offer from Chelsea that meets the €15 million release clause in the contract of treble-winning coach Andre Villas-Boas.

Portuguese news agency Lusa claimed on Monday morning that the Blues had met the financial demands of the Liga club and were on the brink of appointing the 33-year-old as Carlo Ancelotti's successor.

Porto responded to the speculation with a statement that denied they had received a successful bid from Chelsea and that they had no indication from Villas-Boas that he wished to leave the Estadio do Dragao.

"FC Porto, at the request of the CMVM [Portuguese stock market], hereby informs the market that the coach Andre Villas-Boas, as well as several players, has a termination clause.

"To date, we have not received any communication that this clause will be exercised, nor that the coach agrees to such an aim."

Meanwhile, Chelsea said they remain confident they will soon be in a position to make a formal announcement on their new manager, but would not say who they are in negotiations with.

A club spokesman said: "We hope to be able to make an announcement regarding the new manager in the next few days or so, but until then we will not be commenting further on the speculation surrounding that appointment.''

Villas-Boas won the 2010-11 Portuguese League, Portuguese Cup and the UEFA Europa League in his debut season as a manager and was immediately linked with a move to one of Europe's biggest clubs.

Porto president Pinta da Costa said on Monday the club were powerless to prevent Villas-Boas from leaving should his release clause be activated.

He said: "If someone deposits €15million into our account and he wants to go, we cannot do anything because it is something that is contractually specified.''

Villas-Boas became the youngest coach to win a European trophy when his Porto side beat Braga 1-0 in Dublin at the end of last season and despite insisting at the time that he was happy to remain at the club and build a team to compete in the Champions League his future has been the subject of much speculation.

On Sunday, Inter Milan ruled out a move for the highly-rated coach. "Villas-Boas had this clause that we certainly were not going to tackle," Inter president Massimo Moratti said.

Chelsea have been searching for a new manager since dispensing with Ancelotti on May 22 and it was thought that Turkey coach Guus Hiddink, who won the FA Cup as temporary Blues boss in 2009, was first choice to replace the Italian.

However, Villas-Boas, a former assistant to Jose Mourinho at Chelsea, could be destined to follow in the footsteps of his mentor, with whom he has been favourably compared, if the Blues increase their offer.

During his time as part of Chelsea's coaching team from 2004 to 2007, Villas-Boas was responsible for putting together the detailed technical reports on every opponent that was one of the hallmarks of Mourinho's reign.

« Reply #1839 on: June 20, 2011, 10:29:21 AM »
worked under morinho so he wud know the players and their style of play. shouldnt be a hard transition for the players to make

of course if the story is actually true  :-\

« Reply #1840 on: June 21, 2011, 06:35:02 AM »
Chelsea to take £13m gamble on Mourinho protégé as new manager

Hiddink's change of heart clears way for Villas-Boas, who is set to bring £26m striker Falcao with him from Porto

By Sam Wallace and Mark Fleming

Tuesday, 21 June 2011

Villas-Boas looks bound for Chelsea

GETTY IMAGES

Villas-Boas looks bound for Chelsea

Guus Hiddink has told friends that he will not be joining Chelsea in any capacity this summer, which means the 33-year-old Andre Villas-Boas will have sole control of the club as its new manager.

Hiddink has indicated that he will now be staying with Turkey until the end of their Euro 2012 qualification campaign and possibly beyond to the tournament next summer, ruling him out of any potential director of football role. The club had originally turned to Villas-Boas as a coach to work under Hiddink but were so impressed by the Porto manager that they decided to offer him an all-encompassing manager's job.

An announcement on Villas-Boas, who worked at Chelsea under Jose Mourinho as an opposition scout, is expected in the next few days by Chelsea. It is a remarkable turnaround in the appointment of Carlo Ancelotti's successor, with the club's owner, Roman Abramovich, previously having intended to appoint Hiddink.
Related articles

Chelsea target Andre Villas-Boas quits Porto
    'Mini-Mourinho', who is only just older than Drogba, has his doubters
    Search the news archive for more stories

It emerged yesterday Chelsea will have to pay around £13.2m compensation to Porto for Villas-Boas, a huge sum for a manager. The club are also expected to sign Porto's Colombian striker Radamel Falcao, who has a £26m buyout clause in his contract – a move that is likely to infuriate the Porto president, Jorge Pinto da Costa further.

Appointing a manager with only one full season under his belt is a huge step
– even though Villas-Boas achieved great success in his debut year with Porto. He won the Portuguese title going through the season unbeaten, picked up the two domestic trophies and also the Europa League with a win percentage of 84 per cent. His only other managerial job was eight months in charge at Academica de Coimbra.

The Russian oligarch is believed to be the driving force behind appointing Mourinho's protégé as Chelsea's sixth manager in four years. While it is understood he is ready to meet the buyout clause in Villas-Boas' contract, Chelsea are trying to pay less. Villas-Boas informed Porto yesterday of his intention to leave and was last night at home waiting for the deal to be completed.

The Portuguese coach, who wrote famously detailed dossiers on the opposition for Mourinho at Chelsea from 2003 to 2007, has been offered £5m a year on a three-year deal to take over at Stamford Bridge and replace the experienced Ancelotti, who was sacked on the final day of last season.

Provided Abramovich is successful in enticing Villas-Boas away from Porto, it will take the Russian's total spending in compensation to former clubs and sacked managers to £62m.

Porto yesterday issued a statement to the Portuguese stock exchange that they had not received the £13.2m required to release their manager from his contract. However, it is likely a deal will be reached by the end of the week. A Chelsea spokesman said: "We hope to be able to make an announcement regarding the new manager in the next few days or so."

Hiddink is understood to have been reluctant to take on the day-to-day responsibility of coaching the first team full-time at the age of 64. He wanted to appoint several coaches, allowing him to spend time in the Netherlands, which alarmed the Chelsea board and prompted a closer look at Villas-Boas.

Pinto da Costa yesterday admitted that he would be unable to prevent Villas-Boas from moving to England if his release fee is met. He said: "Villas-Boas has a contract and a clause of €15m [£13.2m]. If someone deposits €15m into our account and he wants to go, we can not do anything."

Sources in Portugal last night claimed that Villas-Boas had been told Chelsea would make funds available for him to take the prolific striker Falcao with him. The 25-year-old striker set a new coring record of 17 goals in 14 games in the Europa League campaign.

Villas-Boas, who at 33 is the same age as Frank Lampard and Didier Drogba, has become the most talked about young coach in world football despite only working as a manager for 20 months at two Portuguese clubs.

Porto are said to be extremely unhappy at the prospect of him leaving, having already brought in four new players – Djalma, Iturbe, Kelvin and Rafael Bracalli – that Villas-Boas identified. Pinto da Costa is also understood to be disgruntled at the timing of Chelsea's approach, as the man he would have wanted to replace Villas-Boas, the former Beira-Mar manager Leonardo Jardim, has just been snapped up by rivals Braga.

During his brief managerial reign, Villas-Boas has been keen to differentiate himself from his mentor Mourinho, saying: "We have different personalities and different views towards the game. I respect Jose, but don't want to be a Mourinho clone. I want to be able to work freely, without worrying what he thinks."

A key difference is that Villas-Boas places a greater emphasis on attacking football than his mentor. His Porto team scored 73 goals in 30 league games last season, and fired in 37 goals on their way to winning the Europa League.

Like Mourinho he has courted controversy in the past, clashing with Liverpool defender Jamie Carragher and former Barcelona manager Frank Rijkaard during his time working under Mourinho at Stamford Bridge.

« Reply #1841 on: June 21, 2011, 12:43:45 PM »

« Reply #1843 on: June 22, 2011, 07:36:30 AM »
Good luck to him.  Very talented manager, but hopefully he will be able to control the egos and win the dressing room.  Would have been my choice for 'Pool if Dalgish had not done such a good job in the interim.

« Reply #1844 on: June 22, 2011, 03:19:19 PM »
In other news, Neymar has said he is learning English, so we will see what happens there.

« Reply #1845 on: June 22, 2011, 05:13:57 PM »
In other news, Neymar has said he is learning English, so we will see what happens there.

Well, he definitely eh goin' manchester or liverpool because they damned sure doh speak English up dey!  :devil:

« Reply #1846 on: June 22, 2011, 07:19:10 PM »

Please, he goes to Chelski and his career will stall! Chelski is the graveyard for young players! That fella going to Spain!

« Reply #1847 on: June 22, 2011, 08:43:26 PM »

Please, he goes to Chelski and his career will stall! Chelski is the graveyard for young players! That fella going to Spain!

.....new coach, new players...we hadda see how the team lookin' when season in full swing to know how everyting playin' out.  ;)

« Reply #1848 on: June 23, 2011, 09:35:43 AM »
Wherever he goes, he will be a joy to watch.

We can't always predict the future but based on what I've seen so far, that boy is special. 

« Reply #1849 on: June 23, 2011, 04:08:32 PM »

.....new coach, new players...we hadda see how the team lookin' when season in full swing to know how everyting playin' out.  ;)

And dat new coach does insist that his teams play attractive football.  He ain't just about winning; he love he prettiness.

« Reply #1850 on: June 23, 2011, 04:39:01 PM »

And dat new coach does insist that his teams play attractive football.  He ain't just about winning; he love he prettiness.

Yuh know dat might spell trouble fuh yuh side, especially after allyuh wash did we ass dis roungz.  :D

« Reply #1851 on: June 24, 2011, 01:36:57 PM »

Yuh know dat might spell trouble fuh yuh side, especially after allyuh wash did we ass dis roungz.  :D

Me eh worried.  We back to the Liverpool brand of the 80s: pass and move.  It pretty! ;D

« Reply #1852 on: June 28, 2011, 01:05:56 PM »

We can't always predict the future but based on what I've seen so far, that boy is special. 

I dunno...to me he is alot like Robinho, who flopped in England....he is not and out and out centre forward, he cuts in off the left wing....and he is tiny so he relies heavily on referees protecting him...referees in Brazil blow for the slightest contact...England isn't like that at all. We will see.

Offline Dansteel - The Iceman

« Reply #1853 on: June 28, 2011, 01:11:47 PM »
I read he has a reputation for diving, and as I recall he got booked for it in the first leg against Penarol.

I dunno...to me he is alot like Robinho, who flopped in England....he is not and out and out centre forward, he cuts in off the left wing....and he is tiny so he relies heavily on referees protecting him...referees in Brazil blow for the slightest contact...England isn't like that at all. We will see.
Victoria concordia crescit

« Reply #1854 on: June 28, 2011, 01:23:20 PM »
.referees in Brazil blow for the slightest contact...England isn't like that at all. We will see.

...didn't metronaldo get get them to always blow for the slightest (and even non-existent) contact?  I eh see why dis yute should be any different.

Offline Dansteel - The Iceman

« Reply #1855 on: June 28, 2011, 01:26:41 PM »
.referees in Brazil blow for the slightest contact...England isn't like that at all. We will see.

...didn't metronaldo get get them to always blow for the slightest (and even non-existent) contact?  I eh see why dis yute should be any different.
And Drogba and Chamakh and a host of players. England susceptible to it too.
Victoria concordia crescit

« Reply #1856 on: June 28, 2011, 01:30:24 PM »

While ronaldo was able to take advantage of that his game didn't rely on it and his build is not quite as small so he was able to ride tackles if he wished. Also, he played a very different position. And he took a few years to develop into the player he is now.

« Reply #1857 on: June 28, 2011, 01:48:54 PM »

While ronaldo was able to take advantage of that his game didn't rely on it and his build is not quite as small so he was able to ride tackles if he wished. Also, he played a very different position. And he took a few years to develop into the player he is now.

true, ronaldo had a reputation for diving. but in reality ronaldo would endure all kinda kick and stamp before he fell over (same as drogba). ronaldo is a 6 foot plus, muscle bound fella, neymar is a lightweight.

« Reply #1858 on: June 28, 2011, 02:42:13 PM »

true, ronaldo had a reputation for diving. but in reality ronaldo would endure all kinda kick and stamp before he fell over (same as drogba). ronaldo is a 6 foot plus, muscle bound fella, neymar is a lightweight.

"...neymar is a lightweight..."  all the more reason why the refs might be inlined to be a little "fairer" to him.  That reality of metronaldo enduring all kinda kick and stamp is not the reality I ever saw with him.  We musta not be watchin' the same fella.  Anything in the box or near the corners of the 18-yard, if yuh breathe on him he goin' dong.

« Reply #1859 on: June 28, 2011, 03:00:15 PM »

"...neymar is a lightweight..."  all the more reason why the refs might be inlined to be a little "fairer" to him.  That reality of metronaldo enduring all kinda kick and stamp is not the reality I ever saw with him.  We musta not be watchin' the same fella.  Anything in the box or near the corners of the 18-yard, if yuh breathe on him he goin' dong.

Players actually got away with a lot rakin their pegs down his heel and pressin down on his foot right after he may have released a pass. In the world cup against Holland the defender raked his pegs/stamped down his thigh which led to him having to get sub. Ronaldo's reputation for embellsihing contact/diving at times prevented him from getting calls because peopleef/r thoguht he was just trying to get a call and calf. That fella has all knids of scars on his legs from players leaving their mark on him. Unfortunately at times he was like the boy who cried wolf.