May 03, 2024, 01:43:32 AM

Author Topic: Seven People Have Been Entrusted With The Keys To The Internet  (Read 6031 times)

Seven People Have Been Entrusted With The Keys To The Internet

These smart cards are the actual keys to the Internet. There are seven of them and they hold the power to restarting the world wide web "in the event of a catastrophic event."

The basic idea is that in the event of an Internet catastrophe, the DNSSEC (domain name system security) could be damaged or compromised and we'd be left without a way to verify if a URL is pointing to the correct website. That's when the holders of these smart cards would be called into action:

A minimum of five of the seven keyholders – one each from Britain, the U.S., Burkina Faso, Trinidad and Tobago, Canada, China, and the Czech Republic – would have to converge at a U.S. base with their keys to restart the system and connect everything once again.

http://gizmodo.com/5597964/seven-people-have-been-entrusted-with-the-keys-to-the-internet

Re: Seven People Have Been Entrusted With The Keys To The Internet
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2010, 08:03:32 AM »
hmm.

Offline Boodsy

« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2010, 08:07:31 AM »
Seven People Have Been Entrusted With The Keys To The Internet

These smart cards are the actual keys to the Internet. There are seven of them and they hold the power to restarting the world wide web "in the event of a catastrophic event."

The basic idea is that in the event of an Internet catastrophe, the DNSSEC (domain name system security) could be damaged or compromised and we'd be left without a way to verify if a URL is pointing to the correct website. That's when the holders of these smart cards would be called into action:

A minimum of five of the seven keyholders – one each from Britain, the U.S., Burkina Faso, Trinidad and Tobago, Canada, China, and the Czech Republic – would have to converge at a U.S. base with their keys to restart the system and connect everything once again.

http://gizmodo.com/5597964/seven-people-have-been-entrusted-with-the-keys-to-the-internet

how we reach dey  ???  :o

« Reply #3 on: July 28, 2010, 08:10:43 AM »
Six people

ah lorse meh key cutting through ah track last night

« Reply #4 on: July 28, 2010, 08:17:27 AM »

7 cards to "Restart" the web,
1 card to find them.
1 card to rule them all,
And in the darkness bind them.

i copied that from another forum
« Last Edit: July 28, 2010, 08:19:39 AM by pecan »

« Reply #5 on: July 28, 2010, 08:22:48 AM »
a trini?

in the event of a catastrophe, a trini go make the net strictly blues.

« Reply #6 on: July 28, 2010, 08:30:13 AM »
Wait wait wait wait.

WHO DIS TRINI IS?
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

« Reply #8 on: July 28, 2010, 08:49:21 AM »

7 cards to "Restart" the web,
1 card to find them.
1 card to rule them all,
And in the darkness bind them.

i copied that from another forum

HAHAHAHAHA :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

We fire de old set ah managers we had wukkin..and iz ah new group we went and we bring in. And if the goods we require de new managers not supplying, when election time come back round iz new ones we bringin. For iz one ting about my people I can guarantee..They will never ever vote party b4 country

« Reply #10 on: July 28, 2010, 10:59:29 AM »
oh shit we have a card  :violin: so much for the net

« Reply #11 on: July 28, 2010, 11:38:35 AM »
how long before one come up on ebay   ;)

Offline Michael-j

« Reply #12 on: July 28, 2010, 12:42:48 PM »
Wait wait wait wait.

WHO DIS TRINI IS?

Bevil Wooding

http://topnews.co.uk/29972-brit-gets-one-seven-keys-internet

MR. BEVIL WOODING

Mr. Wooding is the Chief Knowledge Officer of Congress WBN, an international non-profit organisation, focused on effecting human, social and national transformation through the propagation of values-based development principles, patterns and approaches and operating in over 70 nations.

He has been responsible for the design, development, and implementation of numerous Leadership Development and ICT projects and initiatives for Governments, Private Sector and Non-Profit organisations involving:

* E-Government
    * Internet and Communications Strategy and Solutions Design &
    * Organisational Transformation

A graduate of the University of the West Indies, he also serves as the Executive Director, Strategic ICT Services at Congress Global Consulting, the consulting arm of C-WBN, focusing on innovative, values-based approaches to Leadership and Organization Development. He has facilitated seminars and consulting assignments on e-Government and Institutional Strengthening for the Commonwealth Secretariat and currently heads the portal development team in Trinidad and Tobago's Government Portal initiative.

http://www.cif.tt/2006/bios.php

« Reply #13 on: July 28, 2010, 12:53:34 PM »
We reach!!!!

If I was Bevil I wearin da key rong mih neck at UWI all inclusive fete

« Reply #14 on: July 28, 2010, 01:29:49 PM »
We reach!!!!

Lord faddaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #15 on: July 28, 2010, 02:02:30 PM »
We reach!!!!

BLING!!!

« Reply #16 on: July 28, 2010, 02:57:25 PM »
Ah mean dey say it have a Trini evry where but dey was serious boi.

« Reply #17 on: July 28, 2010, 04:03:52 PM »
real Power Ranger ting yes

Any of dem on ebay yet?  ;D

« Reply #18 on: July 28, 2010, 05:53:40 PM »
We reach!!!!

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

ENT........and ah remixing dis one

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/w8KK4cT4LNQ&amp;amp;hl=en_US&amp;amp;fs=1" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/w8KK4cT4LNQ&amp;amp;hl=en_US&amp;amp;fs=1</a>
We fire de old set ah managers we had wukkin..and iz ah new group we went and we bring in. And if the goods we require de new managers not supplying, when election time come back round iz new ones we bringin. For iz one ting about my people I can guarantee..They will never ever vote party b4 country

« Reply #19 on: July 28, 2010, 07:43:21 PM »
Wait wait wait wait.

WHO DIS TRINI IS?

Bevil Wooding

http://topnews.co.uk/29972-brit-gets-one-seven-keys-internet

MR. BEVIL WOODING

Mr. Wooding is the Chief Knowledge Officer of Congress WBN, an international non-profit organisation, focused on effecting human, social and national transformation through the propagation of values-based development principles, patterns and approaches and operating in over 70 nations.

He has been responsible for the design, development, and implementation of numerous Leadership Development and ICT projects and initiatives for Governments, Private Sector and Non-Profit organisations involving:

* E-Government
    * Internet and Communications Strategy and Solutions Design &
    * Organisational Transformation

A graduate of the University of the West Indies, he also serves as the Executive Director, Strategic ICT Services at Congress Global Consulting, the consulting arm of C-WBN, focusing on innovative, values-based approaches to Leadership and Organization Development. He has facilitated seminars and consulting assignments on e-Government and Institutional Strengthening for the Commonwealth Secretariat and currently heads the portal development team in Trinidad and Tobago's Government Portal initiative.

http://www.cif.tt/2006/bios.php

I know I heard of his name before. Either he worked or co-founded Teleios with Ronald Hinds before branching off into his own business.  Good for him man!!

« Reply #20 on: July 29, 2010, 01:38:18 PM »
daryn is bevil a pres man?

« Reply #21 on: July 29, 2010, 03:26:02 PM »

I think so.  My father says he knows the family and as far as he could remember he went pres.  A few years older than us.

« Reply #22 on: July 29, 2010, 09:44:07 PM »
Last Trini to take over de net.. things ent work out too right fuh she.  Hopefully Bevil doh show he bamsee too.

« Reply #23 on: July 30, 2010, 06:06:44 AM »

I think so.  My father says he knows the family and as far as he could remember he went pres.  A few years older than us.

Bevil went Pres.

« Reply #24 on: July 30, 2010, 07:43:50 AM »
Last Trini to take over de net.. things ent work out too right fuh she. 
Que?  ???

« Reply #25 on: July 30, 2010, 08:37:55 AM »
Last Trini to take over de net.. things ent work out too right fuh she. 
Que?  ???

Anya d beauty queen

« Reply #26 on: July 30, 2010, 08:57:48 AM »
Last Trini to take over de net.. things ent work out too right fuh she.  Hopefully Bevil doh show he bamsee too.

wrong...........she have ah fashion label "anya d rogue" or someting so now, an' does be beamin proud proud in fetes an odder social gatherings, she attend, sometimes bad publicity is good publicity .....check d fashion label name tell mih dat doh have ah metaphoric feel to it

« Reply #27 on: July 30, 2010, 11:39:25 AM »

wrong...........she have ah fashion label "anya d rogue" or someting so now, an' does be beamin proud proud in fetes an odder social gatherings, she attend, sometimes bad publicity is good publicity .....check d fashion label name tell mih dat doh have ah metaphoric feel to it

wow she turn dat around hilton style.....I see her pose off in the 'celebrity' section of some glossy trini magazine de odder day
............still look like had yogurt on she face to me

« Reply #28 on: July 30, 2010, 12:20:13 PM »

wow she turn dat around hilton style.....I see her pose off in the 'celebrity' section of some glossy trini magazine de odder day
............still look like had yogurt on she face to me

probiotic or regular, low fat or regular?

« Reply #29 on: July 30, 2010, 07:58:51 PM »

"wrong"... yuh say.

Okay... so how it turn out right fuh she again?  This manufactured controversy give she some Punch and fete mileage in TnT and what else... ah 'fashion line' yuh say?  How that going relative tuh de investment (seeing she nanny and bamseehole get spread online)?