Sports => Football => Topic started by: Andre on September 08, 2006, 07:02:48 AM

Title: Latapy named SPL player of month
Post by: Andre on September 08, 2006, 07:02:48 AM
Latapy, 38, named player of month
BBC Sport

Russell Latapy has been voted player of the month for August in the Scottish Premier League - at the age of 38.

The Falkirk midfielder was in the Trinidad and Tobago squad for the World Cup finals, although he was limited to one substitute appearance in Germany.

But he has now been rewarded for what award organiser the Bank of Scotland described as "a fantastic month".

The former Porto, Rangers and Hibernian midfielder was voted man of the match in three out of the five games.

"Leading the line from midfield, Russell's craft brought the team back into the game against Dundee United and his equaliser no doubt inspired them on to winning all three points at Tannadice," said a statement.

He also scored in a 2-1 defeat by Kilmarnock, whose manager, Jim Jefferies, was named manager of the month on Thursday.

(http://www.scotprem.premiumtv.co.uk/javaImages/90/98/0,,10002~2988176,00.jpg)
Title: Re: Latapy named player of month
Post by: samo on September 08, 2006, 07:10:26 AM
Congrats to the greatest midfield maestro ever....
Post by: Phensic on September 08, 2006, 07:16:01 AM

I second your sentiments samo.
Title: Re: Latapy named SPL player of month
Post by: jai john on September 08, 2006, 08:33:40 AM
Imagine that ...months after he was supposed to be not able to play ah whole game in a modest T&T team !!! Go Latas keep on defying the experts !!
Post by: Remie on September 08, 2006, 08:36:11 AM
Imagine that ...months after he was supposed to be not able to play ah whole game in a modest T&T team !!! Go Latas keep on defying the experts !!

Which experts? Anybody that thought Latapy could not play 90 minutes in the T&T team is no expert.
Post by: Trini _2026 on September 08, 2006, 08:41:35 AM

boy do people get carried
Post by: andre samuel on September 08, 2006, 08:45:16 AM

Why yuh doh haul yuh canadian arse!!

i agree with yuh samo!!

Post by: jai john on September 08, 2006, 08:46:35 AM

Which experts? Anybody that thought Latapy could not play 90 minutes in the T&T team is no expert.

Well you and I know dat but .....
Just that some need more convincing than others ... I would start latapy on a T&T team today against any opposition..... but I am sure there are those who would not agree. Thanks for falkrk who extended latapy's contract ...please Russel ..dont go yet ...just give us one more performance in the T&T shirt..
Post by: Coop's on September 08, 2006, 08:51:27 AM
Don't worry Benie,Wim etc the experts on the game,they say he not good enough,no local Coach could have said or done that ppl here would have killed them,we are just blinded by these foreign Coaches they always know what's best for us.
Post by: kicker on September 08, 2006, 08:52:46 AM

OH GOSH !!! Let it rest nah.....everytime Latas name gets mentioned, we have to express that old bitterness ? Talk about kicking a dead horse...

A simple congrats would have sufficed
Post by: Filho on September 08, 2006, 08:54:45 AM
Don't worry Benie,Wim etc the experts on the game,they say he not good enough,no local Coach could have said or done that ppl here would have killed them,we are just blinded by these foreign Coaches they always know what's best for us.

Coop's..you real grinding that axe. Please show us where Beenie and Wim said Latas was not good enough.

Well done LATAS..
Post by: Carib-Briton on September 08, 2006, 08:56:38 AM

LOL

Well Done Latapy
Post by: Midknight on September 08, 2006, 09:01:00 AM
a simple congrats go suffice... :beermug:

Like it have men here just collecting these articles to mail them to Beenie at the end of the year ::)
Post by: jai john on September 08, 2006, 09:03:37 AM
a simple congrats go suffice... :beermug:

Like it have men here just collecting these articles to mail them to Beenie at the end of the year ::)

Nah we wont have to mail it ..Wim could read cant he ?
Post by: Peong on September 08, 2006, 09:09:56 AM
Ge'on Latas.
Post by: Darkromeo on September 08, 2006, 09:12:09 AM
u go latas. show dem wat u worth. "they cant keep ah good man down" nuff respect
Post by: Grande on September 08, 2006, 09:12:47 AM

OH GOSH !!! Let it rest nah.....everytime Latas name gets mentioned, we have to express that old bitterness ? Talk about kicking a dead horse...

A simple congrats would have sufficed

so where yours??

Well done Latas...Congratulations to one of my favourite football players of all time. Blessings.
Post by: grskywalker on September 08, 2006, 09:14:33 AM
The MAGICIAN LIVES ON!!!!
Post by: doh_stick on September 08, 2006, 09:16:09 AM
so to move...!! :beermug:
Post by: Coop's on September 08, 2006, 09:25:35 AM

Coop's..you real grinding that axe. Please show us where Beenie and Wim said Latas was not good enough.

Well done LATAS..
        My senses tells me if someone is good enough they will play,the Coaches are the ones that make those decisions,i don't know who else is responsible.
Post by: Filho on September 08, 2006, 09:28:14 AM

Well done LATAS..
        My senses tells me if someone is good enough they will play,the Coaches are the ones that make those decisions,i don't know who else is responsible.

You acting like only the starting 11 good enough..u r a coach. u know better dan dat
respect Coop's..
Post by: Trini _2026 on September 08, 2006, 09:48:23 AM

Why yuh doh haul yuh canadian arse!!

i agree with yuh samo!!

:-\

Post by: Trini _2026 on September 08, 2006, 09:53:14 AM

Well you and I know dat but .....
Just that some need more convincing than others ... I would start latapy on a T&T team today against any opposition..... but I am sure there are those who would not agree. Thanks for falkrk who extended latapy's contract ...please Russel ..dont go yet ...just give us one more performance in the T&T shirt..
oh gosh yuh cyar let go
Post by: Tenorsaw on September 08, 2006, 09:55:32 AM
First of all congrats to Latas. He is definietly like wine that ages wonderfully.  At the same time, it really shows the state of the Scottish league, and its dearth of real talent.  That league used to be so competitive in the 80s, now it is in a moribund state.  It really need ah dose of JK. ;)
Post by: Coop's on September 08, 2006, 10:01:49 AM

Well done LATAS..

You acting like only the starting 11 good enough..u r a coach. u know better dan dat
respect Coop's..
         Breds all i'm saying is that Lata's should have played more,he has the experience and ability to do that.
Post by: g on September 08, 2006, 10:35:06 AM
I've never heard Wim say anything directly about latas, it would be interesting to hear what his take is on the amount of playing time in the WC
Post by: Trini Madness on September 08, 2006, 11:26:52 AM
Legends never die.
Post by: Baygo Boy on September 08, 2006, 11:39:07 AM
De man like good wine  :beermug:
Post by: trini supporter on September 08, 2006, 11:41:02 AM
Well done latas now press for SPL player of the year!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: DeSoWa on September 08, 2006, 11:46:05 AM
Congrats to the "BOSS", keep the magic flowing :beermug:

Post by: takenoprisoners on September 08, 2006, 12:47:17 PM
Congrats Latas, give us some more hilights! ;D
Post by: Dutty on September 08, 2006, 01:43:30 PM
Congrats Latas

Dey go put up h statue of dat man somewhey in scotland...mark mih words....only proble is dey go put him in ah checkered skyirt
Post by: trinbago on September 08, 2006, 01:46:32 PM
And the Legend continues....................
Post by: Small Magician aka Wazza on September 08, 2006, 01:49:08 PM
congrats to d boss magician!

RUSSELL!!! RUSSELL LATAPY!!!  RUSSELL!!! RUSSELL LATAPY!!!!
Post by: Weh-it-is on September 08, 2006, 02:21:10 PM
Oh gosh alyuh WC done! We all knew that Latas could have made a difference in our WC outing...well maybe some of us. At the age of 38 he motivates me! Keep on proving them wrong lil paps.... :beermug:
Post by: Jefferz on September 08, 2006, 03:41:05 PM
Latapy is surely one of the greatest the Scottish League as ever seen.
Post by: MickBairn on September 08, 2006, 05:13:58 PM
The wee magician deserved it. :notworthy:
Post by: Grande on September 08, 2006, 05:41:43 PM
Latapy is surely one of the greatest the Scottish League as ever seen.

His time at Hibernian is known as his best in Scotland...still looking for clips of those
Post by: weary1969 on September 08, 2006, 08:38:38 PM
Congrats the greatest to ever wear a TT shirt. For those of you still upset just buy FIFA2006 playstation and he go play in every game
Post by: saga pinto on September 08, 2006, 08:44:54 PM
Peaking at 38 WOW,Ah love it,congrats latas whatelse is there to prove you've done it all..... 
Post by: Savannah boy on September 08, 2006, 09:46:16 PM
Congrats to the greatest midfield maestro ever.... ???

If dat is yuh opinion then we jes have to respect it.
Post by: SUPA on September 09, 2006, 01:13:42 PM

Triniman, wey is dah one boi? Yuh disappoint meh dey wid dat statement. Any way let's all hail de king. :salute:
Post by: trinidad badboy on September 09, 2006, 08:57:14 PM

well done latas

bless