May 17, 2024, 11:15:48 AM

Author Topic: Whitecaps release Noreiga  (Read 3598 times)

Whitecaps release Noreiga
« on: December 14, 2006, 07:11:05 AM »
Anthony Noreiga was among six players from the Vancouver Whitecaps who were released from their contracts today. Noreiga signed with the Whitecaps in April 2006. He played a total of 16 games (518 minutes), scoring one goal in the process.

Re: Whitecaps release Noreiga
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2006, 09:41:48 AM »
where to now fuh him ? 

« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2006, 09:44:27 AM »

« Reply #3 on: December 14, 2006, 09:54:40 AM »
Anthony Noreiga was among six players from the Vancouver Whitecaps who were released from their contracts today. Noreiga signed with the Whitecaps in April 2006. He played a total of 16 games (518 minutes), scoring one goal in the process.

Hard news. Hope de man find another club soon. All de best Anthony.

« Reply #4 on: December 14, 2006, 10:50:51 AM »
where to now fuh him ? 
PFL

He playing in the SFA as we speak with Club Sando. I don't know if he intends to stay there or move up to the PFL. 

« Reply #5 on: December 14, 2006, 10:59:00 AM »
well he should should move up

« Reply #6 on: December 14, 2006, 11:28:58 AM »
Toronto FC perhaps....

« Reply #7 on: December 14, 2006, 12:03:35 PM »
Just aint good enough.  I saw him liming in Nockers last week in sando.

He needs to start at PFL level and try to work his way up.

Hard luck horse.

« Reply #8 on: December 14, 2006, 12:53:10 PM »
is it just me or at the end of every season there is a mass exodus of releasing trinis in these clubs??

prob dont want to pay them in the off season

look at conrad smith and kevin jeffery dem jus goin and comin back right tru

« Reply #9 on: December 14, 2006, 01:35:24 PM »
is it just me or at the end of every season there is a mass exodus of releasing trinis in these clubs??

Doh get tie up when it come to jeffries dem club not releasing him the man is a big player for he club in the a league

« Reply #10 on: December 14, 2006, 02:03:15 PM »

Doh get tie up when it come to jeffries dem club not releasing him the man is a big player for he club in the a league
He not in de A-League anymore. He was a big player fuh de Richmond Kickers, but dey went down ah division and he went to de Toronto Lynx earlier dis year. Now de Lynx has also gone down a division, probably as a result of the emergence of Toronto FC.

« Reply #11 on: July 23, 2013, 09:25:15 AM »
Anthony Noreiga now with Siparia Spurs.

Offline OutsideMan

• Many bad things. *Sips Scotch*
  • SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #12 on: July 23, 2013, 09:47:33 AM »

The Siparia 'Spurs'? 

Doh get me wrong, I know I'm going off topic here   :) .... but why would a football club in T&T name themselves the 'Spurs'?  How does spurs relate to Siparia (Spurs, which we know are the metal tools attached to a horse-rider's boots, used to direct a horse).

Is Siparia known as a horse-rider haven, where the people down there use a lot of spurs on their boots?  I visited Siparia briefly my last trip to T&T in Feb, and I didn't see any horses or spurs on anybody's boots at all.   :rotfl:   
The dumbest people on earth are generally located in comment sections of websites all over the world.

« Reply #13 on: July 23, 2013, 09:55:10 AM »
It start with S so why not use it

Offline OutsideMan

• Many bad things. *Sips Scotch*
  • SocaWarrior4Life
« Reply #14 on: July 23, 2013, 10:11:31 AM »
It start with S so why not use it

So does 'Snakes', 'Snails', 'Sand', 'Sun', 'Sandwich', 'Saturday', 'Sunday', 'Sin', 'Six, 'Sex'.

It would just be good to see local teams create their own brand identity instead of copying these foreign team names that does not relate at all to their particular region or culture.  I'm sure there's something to Siparia that could've been used to create a name that everyone down there could relate to, and identify with. 

Besides poor marketing of the local football clubs, these choosing of names that the would-be fans cannot relate to is one of the reasons people don't go out to support local 'pro' football --- why would they if they cannot relate to the teams.

One important clue: people relate to their Secondary SCHOOL teams.  They identify with their current schools and past schools.  They don't easily identify with 'Spurs'.  Just saying.   :)
The dumbest people on earth are generally located in comment sections of websites all over the world.

« Reply #15 on: July 23, 2013, 10:55:13 AM »

The Siparia 'Spurs'? 

Doh get me wrong, I know I'm going off topic here   :) .... but why would a football club in T&T name themselves the 'Spurs'?  How does spurs relate to Siparia (Spurs, which we know are the metal tools attached to a horse-rider's boots, used to direct a horse).

Is Siparia known as a horse-rider haven, where the people down there use a lot of spurs on their boots?  I visited Siparia briefly my last trip to T&T in Feb, and I didn't see any horses or spurs on anybody's boots at all.   :rotfl:   

Since we talking about football, I would have to assume that spurs in this case is a derivative of Tottenham Hotspurs. If that be the case then a hotspur is actually in reference to a fearless and heroic warrior who has a dashing willingness to charge into the thickest part of battle.... by the way not much to talk about since we gold cup done  :-\

Offline Tambran

« Reply #16 on: July 24, 2013, 01:11:21 PM »
Has anyone ever heard of cockspur? Siparia full of roosters.