May 12, 2024, 09:00:06 AM

Author Topic: Thread for the London Olympics 2012: Fri.27th July to Sun.12th August!  (Read 105597 times)

Re: Thread for the London Olympics 2012: Fri.27th July to Sun.12th August!
« Reply #330 on: August 07, 2012, 01:44:00 PM »
Semoy just tied the NR of 22.55. She is currently the fastest of the 2 fastest losers. Let hope she makes it to the final.

She through, congrats Semoy  :beermug:

Offline Aviator

« Reply #331 on: August 07, 2012, 01:45:31 PM »
Semoy makes it to the final as the fastest loser!!! :beermug:
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

« Reply #332 on: August 07, 2012, 01:46:51 PM »
Fantastic! Well done

« Reply #333 on: August 07, 2012, 01:55:41 PM »
Semoy makes it to the final as the fastest loser!!! :beermug:

Well done Semoy, great experience for you and of course anything can happen on the day, so run your heart out

« Reply #334 on: August 07, 2012, 01:59:14 PM »
I miss the first two races :(

« Reply #335 on: August 07, 2012, 02:00:46 PM »
Congrats Semoy!

FINAL: 4:00PM EST Wed, August 8

Lane Bib Athlete Country SB 2012 PB
2 1791 Myriam Soumaré  FRA 22.56 22.32
3 3058 Semoy Hackett  TRI 22.55 22.55
4 2197 Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce  JAM 22.10 22.10
5 2194 Veronica Campbell-Brown  JAM 22.32 21.74
6 3313 Sanya Richards-Ross  USA 22.09 22.09
7 3287 Allyson Felix  USA 21.69 21.69
8 1402 Murielle Ahoure  CIV 22.42 22.42
9 3299 Carmelita Jeter  USA 22.11 22.11

« Reply #336 on: August 07, 2012, 02:05:33 PM »
Sally Pearson. Love that woman what a great hurdler.

« Reply #337 on: August 07, 2012, 02:14:56 PM »
Plus she is a virgin too, can you believe that?  :devil:

Offline STMB

« Reply #338 on: August 07, 2012, 02:16:29 PM »
If she is a virgin, her husband is a eunuch

« Reply #339 on: August 07, 2012, 02:27:36 PM »
If she is a virgin, her husband is a eunuch
Well apparently she is well known in America after making such a statement on Twitter according to Michael Johnson in his commentary after her race!

« Reply #340 on: August 07, 2012, 02:32:34 PM »

You sure is not Lolo Jones?

« Reply #341 on: August 07, 2012, 02:37:55 PM »

Maybe it was Lolo that MJ was referring to in his commentary.
Does Lolo profess to be a virgin by any chance?

« Reply #342 on: August 07, 2012, 02:41:25 PM »

yup  ;)

« Reply #343 on: August 07, 2012, 02:57:42 PM »

yup  ;)
She's obviously not hanging with fellas like me!
What ah waste of a fit body!  >:(

« Reply #344 on: August 07, 2012, 02:59:46 PM »
ahahahaha  :devil: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: everybody saying the same thing

« Reply #345 on: August 07, 2012, 03:22:29 PM »

yup  ;)
She's obviously not hanging with fellas like me!
What ah waste of a fit body!  >:(

Yuh woulda suck out de virginity ent?

« Reply #346 on: August 07, 2012, 03:31:05 PM »
Maybe if Lolo was taking Toto and did get put in some roast fowl she would be more limber and cruise over dem damn hurdles and have ah medal all now.

« Reply #347 on: August 07, 2012, 07:13:28 PM »
we will see Lolo in Rio!

« Reply #348 on: August 08, 2012, 11:45:01 AM »
Lolo need some comforting all now.  If only Ato would pass a message to she and Brigitte Foster-Hylton for meh.

« Reply #349 on: August 08, 2012, 12:17:33 PM »
Davis out. Nice try young man. 5th or 6th he finished.

« Last Edit: August 08, 2012, 12:19:58 PM by D.H.W »

« Reply #350 on: August 08, 2012, 02:09:30 PM »
Semoy tried her best but she didn't stand a chance against this crop...Happy for Allison Felix...

Position Lane Bib Athlete Country Mark .  React
1 7 3287 Allyson Felix  USA 21.88  .  0.174
2 4 2197 Shelly-Ann Fraser-Pryce  JAM 22.09  (PB) 0.169
3 9 3299 Carmelita Jeter  USA 22.14  .  0.167
4 5 2194 Veronica Campbell-Brown  JAM 22.38  .  0.176
5 6 3313 Sanya Richards-Ross  USA 22.39  .  0.171
6 8 1402 Murielle Ahoure  CIV 22.57  .  0.161
7 2 1791 Myriam Soumaré  FRA 22.63  .  0.157
8 3 3058 Semoy Hackett  TRI 22.87  .  0.150

Offline Trini1

« Reply #351 on: August 08, 2012, 02:15:28 PM »
That's ok she just has to bring it in the 4x100m.

« Reply #352 on: August 08, 2012, 02:24:53 PM »
That start time crazy, though!

Offline Trini1

« Reply #353 on: August 08, 2012, 02:41:36 PM »
It was but she was still a bit sluggish in the drive phase. She was definitely tired but it was a great experience for her so now she can build on that for next year. Im looking for KAB to be among these finalists at the next world champs or the one after. I would want her to be a consistent 22.2-22.3 sprinter and in championships be able to dip into the 22.0/22.1 range then she will be able to have a superb last 50 in the 100m.

All I can say is bring on the relays we can medal in all 3. Just a matter of the executing and having that killer instinct to get that medal.

« Reply #354 on: August 08, 2012, 06:15:35 PM »
don't worry about coming last in test son, at least yuh was there

That was my friend's status on facebook and it was aimed at the public response to Semoy Hackett's 8th place finish. I've significantly reduced my comments to stuff people say because I am quick to argue a useless battle hard. I broke that by responding to that because on the one hand 8th place is last in the final, but on the other hand I felt his response belittled how difficult it was for her to get into the final in the first place. I figure if you don't think she deserves congratulations then it is better to say nothing to make light of her accomplishment. If it were that easy for female T&T athletes to get to the final, wouldn't we have seen more over the years? I got comparisons to beauty pageants, finishing 10th in the Premier League and references to Kirani James to show why he should say that.

How hard is it for us to set realistic expectations of our athletes at this elite level? Who determines what is realistic and where do we draw the line between mediocrity and a great effort just not being good enough? I don't think we should roll out the red carpet or give a million dollars every time an athlete achieves international acclaim, but surely it won't cost us much to appreciate a job well done - even if that job is 8th place.

« Reply #355 on: August 08, 2012, 07:54:09 PM »
don't worry about coming last in test son, at least yuh was there

That was my friend's status on facebook and it was aimed at the public response to Semoy Hackett's 8th place finish. I've significantly reduced my comments to stuff people say because I am quick to argue a useless battle hard. I broke that by responding to that because on the one hand 8th place is last in the final, but on the other hand I felt his response belittled how difficult it was for her to get into the final in the first place. I figure if you don't think she deserves congratulations then it is better to say nothing to make light of her accomplishment. If it were that easy for female T&T athletes to get to the final, wouldn't we have seen more over the years? I got comparisons to beauty pageants, finishing 10th in the Premier League and references to Kirani James to show why he should say that.

How hard is it for us to set realistic expectations of our athletes at this elite level? Who determines what is realistic and where do we draw the line between mediocrity and a great effort just not being good enough? I don't think we should roll out the red carpet or give a million dollars every time an athlete achieves international acclaim, but surely it won't cost us much to appreciate a job well done - even if that job is 8th place.

What Wolf!!! you sound like an intellectual, dey!!

« Reply #356 on: August 08, 2012, 07:57:56 PM »
No way she was medalling, she will get better and it's good experience.

Offline Trini1

« Reply #357 on: August 08, 2012, 08:06:36 PM »
Dwolfman the people making those comments generally don't have a clue... its laughable. They don't know Semoy just came out of a rough season at college. After the ban- who knows how she was treated by her teammates and those around her, emotions may have been up and down. Then has an exhausting season outdoors for LSU- yet makes it through with a medal in the 100. Qualifies at our champs then at the Olympics runs 2 rounds in the 100 and 2 rounds in the 200 before the final at her first time in the event at the Olympics. All the other athletes she faced are pro athletes and many running under those circumstances for years... she's just come out of college what more do they want. It takes time, hard hard hard work, sacrifice, dedication and mental strength to develop into a medal winner. She surpassed many expectations in even being in that final.... when last have they seen a Tnt woman in a 200 final at the Olympics. Our athletes don't have the luxury of training at home under the guidance of a knowledgeable and experienced home coach like some if the others. They've made it thus far and will continue to grow and I applaud them!

« Reply #358 on: August 08, 2012, 08:26:03 PM »
From Peter Smauel:

Before the start of the Ladies 200m Finals, I would like to put some things into prospective for you all.
 Semoys first Olympic appearance was at the 2008 Olympics in Beijing, where at 18 she competed in the 100 metres sprint and placed fourth in her first round heat, which normally meant elimination. However, her time of 11.53 seconds was among the ten fastest losing times and she qualified for th
e second round. There she failed to qualify for the semi finals with a time of 11.46.

Now four years later at the 2012 Olympics in London, she again competed in the 100 metres sprint and ran her personal best (PB) of 11.04, which got her into the semi-finals. In the 200m sprint, she again ran her PB, a time of 22.55, equaling our National Record and advancing her into the Finals. The first Trinidad & Tobago female athlete to ever qualify for a 200m final at the Olympics.

In the finals she will be running against some of the best 200m runners the World has ever seen. Between them they have Nine Olympic Gold medals; Four Olympic Silver Medals and Three Olympic Bronze Medals. They also have Twenty World Championship Gold Medals; Twelve World Championship Silver Medals and Three World Championship Bronze Medals.

Semoy you are amongst the worlds best on the worlds biggest athletic stage. You have already done me PROUD, Win Lose or Draw ah have yuh back… Rep 868

« Reply #359 on: August 08, 2012, 08:47:19 PM »
Dwolfman the people making those comments generally don't have a clue... its laughable. They don't know Semoy just came out of a rough season at college. After the ban- who knows how she was treated by her teammates and those around her, emotions may have been up and down. Then has an exhausting season outdoors for LSU- yet makes it through with a medal in the 100. Qualifies at our champs then at the Olympics runs 2 rounds in the 100 and 2 rounds in the 200 before the final at her first time in the event at the Olympics. All the other athletes she faced are pro athletes and many running under those circumstances for years... she's just come out of college what more do they want. It takes time, hard hard hard work, sacrifice, dedication and mental strength to develop into a medal winner. She surpassed many expectations in even being in that final.... when last have they seen a Tnt woman in a 200 final at the Olympics. Our athletes don't have the luxury of training at home under the guidance of a knowledgeable and experienced home coach like some if the others. They've made it thus far and will continue to grow and I applaud them!