May 11, 2024, 03:11:14 PM

Author Topic: Shaka to face Manchester United?  (Read 1414 times)

Shaka to face Manchester United?
« on: November 24, 2005, 01:35:13 PM »
Shaka to face Manchester United?
By Anthony Clements (West Hame United FC)

ALAN Pardew is still to decide which of his goalkeepers will face Manchester United at Upton Park on Sunday.

Shaka Hislop has proved an able deputy in five starts, but former Old Trafford 'keeper Roy Carroll has returned to fitness following a knee injury and is pushing for a recall.

Pards said: "Roy is fit again and we've worked him very hard this week. Of course, it would mean a lot to Roy to play in this game, but it would a lot to Shaka too.

"Roy would obviously be highly motivated against his old club, but I haven’t taken a decision yet and it is a hard call. Shaka has played really well for us since he came into the side, while stats would suggest that Roy is one of the best goalkeepers in the division. Certainly one stat, shots on goal that are saved, he is the best in the League."

The arrival at Upton Park of the Northern Ireland international has looked an inspired signing by Pards, who swooped to secure the signature of the Manchester United goalkeeper after his contract expired at Old Trafford.

And Pards explains that he always knew he was getting a goalkeeper of the highest class.

“We had no doubts about Roy’s ability when he came to the Club," he said.  "He is class goalkeeper who, one high-profile incident aside, always performed excellently when I saw him play for United.

"He wanted to play first-team football and that is a great psychological area in which to pick up a player.

"We were desperate for him to come and were aware that he was not going to sign for United because he wanted to play regularly. As soon as we got through the Play-offs I flew out to see him while he was on holiday, with the use of Gareth Southgate’s villa, because we were so determined to bring him in. Obviously the injury to Jim in the Final made it all the more important to sign a goalkeeper.

“Perhaps playing for us suits him better than United, because he is busier. You need a lot of concentration to play in goal for a team like United, but that might be a little bit harsh on Roy because he is a top goalie and we're delighted to have him at the Club."

Whichever custodian is chosen for Sunday's clash with the Red Devils, they are sure to be kept busy by Wayne Rooney, and Pards knows the England star is a potential match-winner.

He added: "He’s the best I’ve seen since Gazza as an Englishman. You can’t man-mark him cause he’ll pull your team all over the place.

"The best way to play against him is to just be aware of the positions he operates in and when he gets the ball make sure you are in the right areas to stop him."

Re: Shaka to face Manchester United?
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2005, 02:04:17 PM »
well ManUre couldn't score all the time now self they eh scoring

« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2005, 03:15:04 PM »
Shaka to Man U - "been there and done that....Yaaawnnn"

« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2005, 03:53:49 PM »
 Shaka ...just do yuh ting and shut them out...we all know Manchester don't have anything to win as long as Chelsea and Arsenal around....Go T&T