Sports => Quizz Time & Facts => Topic started by: vb on October 05, 2009, 05:41:42 AM

Title: Ex boxing Champs who made it big.
Post by: vb on October 05, 2009, 05:41:42 AM
Name two ex boxing Champions from TT who went on to earn a fortune after boxing becoming millionaires.

Yes they made their fortune whilst living in TT.

TM not you please.  ;D

Title: Re: Ex boxing Champs who made it big.
Post by: Themanfriday on October 05, 2009, 06:02:41 AM
VB that is like to easy. Its not like we had alot of them...
Post by: vb on October 05, 2009, 08:03:30 AM
VB that is like to easy. Its not like we had alot of them...

Read the question very carefully. I didn't ask which boxers became millionaires. I said AFTER their careers. Not DURING their careers.

You know one ex champ from TT who IS a millionaire TODAY?

Post by: Conquering Lion on October 05, 2009, 11:52:53 AM
Fitzroy "The Whip" Vanderpool?.....
Post by: vb on October 05, 2009, 12:18:18 PM
Fitzroy "The Whip" Vanderpool?.....

Well he was successful as a boxer. However, I am not aware that he's a millionaire unless you take his Canadian dollars and convert them to TT. Are you sure about Vanderpool or are you taking a guess.

Post by: vb on October 06, 2009, 05:51:16 AM
Let me give you some hints.

One is dead. One is still alive. Both were amateur champs but never turned pro.
Although both made it big in other ventures, they remained close to boxing. One is a former Presdient of the
TTBC.

Post by: vb on October 07, 2009, 12:00:42 AM

Although both made it big in other ventures, they remained close to boxing. One is a former Presdient of the
TTBC.

Tall Man go tru if you can :-)
Post by: Tallman on October 07, 2009, 05:50:57 AM

TTBC.

Tall Man go tru if you can :-)

One ah dem is Arnim Smith
Post by: vb on October 07, 2009, 07:34:52 AM
Yep. One more to go.

Post by: vb on October 08, 2009, 03:04:24 AM
Last hint, he's a local white.
That should narrow it down.

Post by: vb on October 09, 2009, 03:28:09 AM
Maybe TM not around, so I giving allyuh one more day.

Post by: Deeks on October 09, 2009, 08:40:29 PM
Bootkins Alkins
Post by: vb on October 10, 2009, 04:10:56 AM
Bootkins Alkins

Deeks seriously, Alkins was a millionaire?? ::)

Post by: Deeks on October 10, 2009, 10:21:49 PM
Me ain't know. I guessing
Post by: capodetutticapi on October 10, 2009, 10:28:21 PM
Bootkins Alkins
he soundin like ah pirate.
Post by: vb on October 11, 2009, 12:03:21 AM
Bootkins Alkins
he soundin like ah pirate.

Bootkins Alkins was considered THE reporter in his day. He covered a number of sports, including cricket, football boxing. He was a pretty decent athlete in his youth. He was a national boxing Champion and I believe played another sport for TT maybe football. The older fellas here could tell you.
When I started writing sports in Toronto for the C'bbn papers, my father used to joke and say I was the local Bootkins Alkins.

I used to hear a lot about him growing up, mostly as a reporter. I think he died in the 80s. Strangely enough despite all that he accomplished I could find very little about him on the net.

This is one of his articles........btw the answer is not Alkins.
http://library2.nalis.gov.tt/infofiles/collect/news3/index/assoc/HASH932d/dcd68855.dir/27.jpg

Post by: vb on October 11, 2009, 12:04:59 AM
Answer to the quiz question:

Arnim Smith the ex President of Pan Trinbago, who passed away some years ago.

Richard Farah - ex Manager of Claude Noel and Leslie Stewart.