May 05, 2024, 07:52:10 PM

Author Topic: Pure racists responding  (Read 16536 times)

Re: Pure racists responding
« Reply #60 on: March 28, 2007, 08:00:02 PM »
i think coren off base here. people have the right to question if abolishing slavery alone was enough to redress the issue. he calling this guilt? ??? 

« Reply #61 on: March 28, 2007, 08:47:03 PM »
why contries that took part in slavery and colonialism are so economically stable as opposed to countries who didn't.  western Europe has nothing but grass and trees, a couple of lakes and rivers but no serious natural resources, so tell me how the hell ther'e so economically stable.

water. yuh cyah drink cocoa, cotton or diamonds. access to fresh water has always been a key factor in africa - war, politics, society. something europe took mostly for granted, africa fought for. jared diamond say so.

Offline pioneertrini

« Reply #62 on: March 28, 2007, 09:55:10 PM »
Slavery never ended it was just renamed freedom, nobody is totally free. Shit happening now and men studying the past. please tell me what reparation could make up for what was done and if reparation were to be given you would be giving those nations responsible permission to sweep the whole ting under the carpet. People are also working on the assumption that these nations actually tink it was a mistake. They all friggin know what they was doin from the first slave to the last and every1 of dem would do it again. These people will do whatever it takes to get richer and gain more power until they litterally own and control every blade of grass and every living human on earth. And that isnt a black mans problem or a indian mans problem, is everybody. even di white man gettin it from ah side wen its time remember 9/11. if yuh want to fight dem, fight dem for wats happening now because thats what can be stopped, only way u can help the slavery issue is if u have a time machine and we aint so drunk yet  :beermug:

« Reply #63 on: March 29, 2007, 03:06:29 AM »
I tend to disagree with did Columnist most of de time, but every so often I agree wid him .. lemme see how much ppl get vex now ...
http://digital.nationalpost.com/epaper/viewer.aspx
We ended slavery. So why all the guilt?, MICHAEL COREN - National Post
This is a very complex issue and I do not in any way want to trivialise it by concentrating on this one point that i am going to make.
Western Slavery certainly did not stop as a result of anything that any leader on the African continent did.
Is there concensus on this one point?
The abolish movement was started by people in England (Commonwealth) and spread through out the western hemisphere.
We ALL know that this type of slavery is still prevalent outside the western hemisphere.
JMHO
« Last Edit: March 29, 2007, 03:28:32 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #64 on: March 29, 2007, 05:26:56 AM »
Slavery never ended it was just renamed freedom, nobody is totally free. Shit happening now and men studying the past. please tell me what reparation could make up for what was done and if reparation were to be given you would be giving those nations responsible permission to sweep the whole ting under the carpet. People are also working on the assumption that these nations actually tink it was a mistake. They all friggin know what they was doin from the first slave to the last and every1 of dem would do it again. These people will do whatever it takes to get richer and gain more power until they litterally own and control every blade of grass and every living human on earth. And that isnt a black mans problem or a indian mans problem, is everybody. even di white man gettin it from ah side wen its time remember 9/11. if yuh want to fight dem, fight dem for wats happening now because thats what can be stopped, only way u can help the slavery issue is if u have a time machine and we aint so drunk yet  :beermug:

hmmmm ... den why did teh British abolish slavery 200 years ago. Was there an economic impetus for dem to do so?  I jus  asking de question 'cause if there was, I doh see it.  By abolishing slavery, dey were giving up control of enormous economic wealth ...

« Reply #65 on: March 29, 2007, 05:33:48 AM »
I tend to disagree with did Columnist most of de time, but every so often I agree wid him .. lemme see how much ppl get vex now ...
http://digital.nationalpost.com/epaper/viewer.aspx
We ended slavery. So why all the guilt?, MICHAEL COREN - National Post
This is a very complex issue and I do not in any way want to trivialise it by concentrating on this one point that i am going to make.
Western Slavery certainly did not stop as a result of anything that any leader on the African continent did.
Is there concensus on this one point?
The abolish movement was started by people in England (Commonwealth) and spread through out the western hemisphere.
We ALL know that this type of slavery is still prevalent outside the western hemisphere.
JMHO

As much as I doh care for Coren ... are there factual inaccuracies in his statement that "We ended Slavery"?

I tink de "we" is "white anglo-saxon christians".  So if dey did not end slavery, who did?

I kno why ppl get vex wid his headlines .. .is like I pick a fight and beat de arse out of somebody and I stop short of killing him, den I congratulate mehself for showing restraint ... dat is what Coren et al song like.

But on de odder hand, the British did publically abolish slavery across the British Empire.  Outside Western civilization, is slavery still rampant? ...Based on what I read in de news .. it is still active.

« Reply #66 on: March 29, 2007, 05:47:25 AM »
I kno why ppl get vex wid his headlines .. .is like I pick a fight and beat de arse out of somebody and I stop short of killing him, den I congratulate mehself for showing restraint ... dat is what Coren et al song like.
ok good point there
thanks.
« Last Edit: March 29, 2007, 10:25:24 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #67 on: March 29, 2007, 01:42:15 PM »

hmmmm ... den why did teh British abolish slavery 200 years ago. Was there an economic impetus for dem to do so?  I jus  asking de question 'cause if there was, I doh see it. By abolishing slavery, dey were giving up control of enormous economic wealth ...

Back when eric williams had capitalism and slavery as his thesis...if I recall reading correctly, the theory was so ludicrous that the chancellors nearly deny the man he PhD

Since the book get published they had all kinda theories trying to shoot it down....but nobody could really argue otherwise

slavery get abolished due to the rise of the industrial revolution...in short, machinery started to replace slave labour as a more efficiient mechanism....pure economics not morality dictated the end of the slave trade

I see a few authors poke a few holes in that disseration...but nobody could knock it down flat since 1944
so since eric was ah trini....I does walk around with that answer in mih head
« Last Edit: March 29, 2007, 02:01:03 PM by Dutty »

« Reply #68 on: March 29, 2007, 02:10:15 PM »
Slavery never ended it was just renamed freedom

deep

Offline pioneertrini

« Reply #69 on: March 30, 2007, 12:45:39 AM »

hmmmm ... den why did teh British abolish slavery 200 years ago. Was there an economic impetus for dem to do so?  I jus  asking de question 'cause if there was, I doh see it.  By abolishing slavery, dey were giving up control of enormous economic wealth ...

Bro tink about what you are saying, The british done it out of the goodness of their hearts? the british dont even run britain. everyting is done for a reason. and the nations and people who was makin money arnt doin too badly now r they? I know what u r saying but your looking at it from the stand point of, everyting is how it seems. these countries r wealthier than ever now as they have every1 under thier thumb makin them money just giving people the illusion that they r free. keeping people in chains doesnt work for ever u must continusly change your strategy to control the world. wat worked 1000 years ago may not work now.

« Reply #70 on: March 30, 2007, 05:47:53 AM »

hmmmm ... den why did teh British abolish slavery 200 years ago. Was there an economic impetus for dem to do so?  I jus  asking de question 'cause if there was, I doh see it. By abolishing slavery, dey were giving up control of enormous economic wealth ...

Back when eric williams had capitalism and slavery as his thesis...if I recall reading correctly, the theory was so ludicrous that the chancellors nearly deny the man he PhD

Since the book get published they had all kinda theories trying to shoot it down....but nobody could really argue otherwise

slavery get abolished due to the rise of the industrial revolution...in short, machinery started to replace slave labour as a more efficiient mechanism....pure economics not morality dictated the end of the slave trade

I see a few authors poke a few holes in that disseration...but nobody could knock it down flat since 1944
so since eric was ah trini....I does walk around with that answer in mih head

Dutty I eh arguing . . i trying to undestand

yet today, de West have outsourced to Asia becasue of cheap labour

and when Slavery was abolished, de British import cheap labour to replace the slaves ..

Dozen cheap or free labour still out trump automation?

« Reply #71 on: March 30, 2007, 06:47:08 AM »

Bro tink about what you are saying, The british done it out of the goodness of their hearts? the british dont even run britain. everyting is done for a reason. and the nations and people who was makin money arnt doin too badly now r they? I know what u r saying but your looking at it from the stand point of, everyting is how it seems. these countries r wealthier than ever now as they have every1 under thier thumb makin them money just giving people the illusion that they r free. keeping people in chains doesnt work for ever u must continusly change your strategy to control the world. wat worked 1000 years ago may not work now.

I have been accused of being naive (by friends and family) because dey see racism where I dont.  (I have a point to dis story).

Mrs P's brother is a big black man living in Queens NY.. he was telling a story about walking down de street and a white person was walking towards him.  Den all of a sudden, de white person crossed de street.  He believed it was to avoid him.  I say .. how you know dat?  He say because dat is de way it is.  I say, what if de white person crossed de street for a another reason?  he say nah .. dey cross because he was black.

Maybe he was right .. I will never know ... but I believe that most ppl are fundamentally good and while we have our prejudices, by and large, we are morally good.  I do believe there was a modicum of good that led to the abolishment.  I doh believe that de British had dat sense of foresight to strategize on the long terms effect of abolishing slavery .. dey good but not dat good.  Look at de mess dey in right now with acquiescing to every minority group in de UK

Pioneer .. even if yuh right and we are living in an illusion of freedom, it becomes our reality.

I am better off dan my ancestors and most people in de rest of de world.

Maybe I am naive

« Reply #72 on: March 30, 2007, 09:36:46 AM »
hm, it seems i am not the only crazy man out here

UWI professor proposes reparations as investment in human resource development
Published on Friday, March 30, 2007   

NEW YORK, USA (JIS): Vice Chancellor Emeritus of the University of the West Indies, Professor Rex Nettleford, has stressed that on the issue of reparation, instead of capital transfer, there should be serious investment in human resource development in countries that suffered, by countries which have been enriched by the heinous crime of the slave trade and slavery.

He said this could be done preferably, “through the education and preparation of the young, to enable them to cope with the inheritance of a continuing unjust world. And above all, for them to be able to understand their own history and help to plug the knowledge gap.”

Nettleford was delivering the keynote address at a special meeting of the 61st session of the General Assembly of the United Nations (UN) in New York on Monday, commemorating the 200th Anniversary of the abolition of the Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade.

He warned member states of the international community that the African Diaspora could be forever affected by the legacy of slavery, unless help is provided by the rich industrialized nations.

The professor noted that the African Diaspora was crying out for recognition and status in the new dispensation of globalization, which could be another calculus of inequality rather than an opportunity for universal human dignity and individual freedom.

Nettleford said it was imperative that “such dignity and freedom must continue to be on the agenda of all concerns and positive action for the African Diaspora in the new Millennium,” and that “crossing the boundary of thought to programmes of action that will benefit the millions that tenant the African Diaspora is itself an imperative.”

He told the UN that one of the profound challenges for the African Diaspora is to have the new globalization veered away from inherited obscene habits of racialised division of the world into the rich industrialized North and the poor non-Caucasian South, and that the harmonization of the two might well be the hope of a third Millennium world.

Nettleford urged the African Diaspora to continue with its time worn strategies of demarginalization, reinforcing the intensity of the creative work in the expansion of communication arts serving humankind, allowing for the crossing of such boundaries of hate, intolerance, discrimination, racial arrogance, class exclusivity, intellectual snobbery and cultural denigration, which constitute the legacy of the slave trade and slavery.

“Such dialogue is all about the quest for peace, tolerance, justice, liberty, sustainable development, trust and for respect and human understanding and should not be seen as a threat, but rather as a guarantee for peace,” he said.

He urged that the commemoration event be part of an exercise to break the silence and tell the truth about what has evolved over the past 500 years, resulting from what he termed, “the greatest scourge of modern life”.

“It’s fitting that ones like us in the CARICOM Caribbean should be concerned with breaking the silence, that second most powerful act of oppression, which the African presence in the Americas has suffered for the past 500 years, with a resolve to have action follow intention through efforts like this very Special Assembly of the parent body. Such are the acts that define the journey by those who have been severed from ancestral homelands and suffered in exile on plantations, but have survived and continue to struggle beyond survival,” the professor said.

The Caribbean Community (CARICOM) was represented at the meeting by Denzil Douglas, Prime Minister of St Kitts & Nevis, who joined other speakers in denouncing the Trans-Atlantic Trade in Slaves as “a crime against the humanity of our forefathers and a violation of their human rights.”

Other highlights of the event included a minute’s silence for the millions who suffered during slavery, and performances by the Sing Sing African Drummers ensemble of Senegal and the 50-voice Jamaica Independence Choir, under the direction of Choir Master, Lloyd Chung.

The meeting of the General Assembly came hours after member states of CARICOM observed Sunday, March 25, as the International Day for the Commemoration of the bicentennial of the abolition of the Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade, in keeping with United Nations Resolution 61/19, drafted by Jamaica and adopted last November by the world body.

« Reply #73 on: March 30, 2007, 09:56:35 AM »
so far .. dat is two ppl ...
alot of the posts has made for very interetsign and informative reading.
same way i think i didnt suffer slavery i didnt think that coren didnt set me free. very magnanimous of him...right..steups.

fari that article is very interestign reading.
i think that is the most practial and useful wya any sort of reparations could and should be payed..how ever i think there are ways out form extreme poverty or apathy...ways. not easy but its alot eaiser that what our ancestors had to endure and they survived.
how much do u want it? what is your goal make a better life? what is your better life.
will the "they owe we" ever stop

look how the jewish people (if i said jews i mighta offend someone  :-\) still whining although they get ah whole country... for the holocast.
they liek to remidn the world every time they get that de world stood by...
using guilt as a weapon is a cheap/ easy way to get what u want.
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

Offline fatman

« Reply #74 on: March 30, 2007, 10:05:37 AM »
JUST COOL your posts are brilliant. people do not know their history those in positions such as kofi annon have not taken time out to inform the queen the pope and indeed the world what has been done to african people through slavery.the medicine in hospitals and the roads and railways in these countries were built mainly off the back of slavery.for four hundred years millions of the most productive citizens were removed from one country and brought to slave and be raped in another part of the world .while i do not know if reparations are possible i do know it can take the form of educational opportunities or grants to countries or governments it does not mean money in the hands of individuals.what hurts me is that some of my very own black people do not understand the effect slavery is still having on us now .like bob marley said  we must free ourselves from mental slavery noe but ourselves can free our minds.

Offline fatman

« Reply #75 on: March 30, 2007, 10:31:20 AM »
slavery was not ended because of abolitionists they played an admirable role but slavery was ended because it was no longer as profitable as it oonce was and their were    rebellions in the caribbean at bucket a drop starting with haiti.slavesin effect fought for their freedom read any creditable history book

« Reply #76 on: March 30, 2007, 12:12:10 PM »

and when Slavery was abolished, de British import cheap labour to replace the slaves ..

British import cheap labour to small markets that maybe coudnt afford it

Most of the slaves went to brazil or the U.S.....I dont think any indentured labour went there as a replacement

your example of outsourced labour to asia is spot on.....telephone operator was ah big wukk at one time..eventually with the aid of machines the system beome so efficient..that they could 'download' it to india for cheaper
Everybody on this side of the world loss dey wukk

Same ting wit de automotive assembly line etc

The after effect of slavery when it come to black people especially in the carribbean..... is when the slaves were freed the men who feel that whip on dey back say to themselves dey never doin dat kinda wukk again... ever,,,and they son and grandson will not do it

Fast forward to today...the negative effect is black people dont own land
The black farmer is a rare species

« Reply #77 on: March 30, 2007, 12:45:03 PM »

British import cheap labour to small markets that maybe coudnt afford it

Most of the slaves went to brazil or the U.S.....I dont think any indentured labour went there as a replacement

your example of outsourced labour to asia is spot on.....telephone operator was ah big wukk at one time..eventually with the aid of machines the system beome so efficient..that they could 'download' it to india for cheaper
Everybody on this side of the world loss dey wukk

Same ting wit de automotive assembly line etc

The after effect of slavery when it come to black people especially in the carribbean..... is when the slaves were freed the men who feel that whip on dey back say to themselves dey never doin dat kinda wukk again... ever,,,and they son and grandson will not do it

Fast forward to today...the negative effect is black people dont own land
The black farmer is a rare species
What do u mean they don't own land  ??? ,the white made sure you have land .We own nearly every single Island in the Carribbean  ;D How much u tink that worth 100 hundred billion dollars . ;D
nice post dutty
« Last Edit: March 30, 2007, 12:47:16 PM by Compre »

« Reply #78 on: March 30, 2007, 02:02:20 PM »
What do u mean they don't own land  ??? ,the white made sure you have land .We own nearly every single Island in the Carribbean  ;D How much u tink that worth 100 hundred billion dollars . ;D
nice post dutty
I tink Dutty tryin to say de Illuminati does own dem :devil:

« Reply #79 on: March 30, 2007, 02:16:27 PM »
wait wah is dat? tallman, flex and felizaino own ah set ah land? :angel: :angel:
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #80 on: March 30, 2007, 03:17:22 PM »
Allyuh good oui ...

Dis thread lasted over 70 posts before it mash up  :rotfl:

« Reply #81 on: March 31, 2007, 05:01:27 AM »
how much European aid does Africa receive? this could be interpreted by some as a form of reparation since the countries that receive it do not have to repay it. i think if reparations are paid then it should be in the form of food aid, AIDS drugs, education, medicines and medical help and helping people to become self sufficient.  people of African descent in the diaspora are struggling yes but from reading daily about the plight of my African brothers and sisters i think any reparation should be given to Africans.  as my frat brother Cedric the entertainer pointed out in the movie barbershop II, "reparations to African Americans will do nothing more than make Cadillac the number 1 car dealership".
Fari, that is a very interesting opinion as it is the people who were left behind in Africa who you say should be the ones who get compensation. Is that correct?
Many people feel it is the descendent's of the ones who were removed from the African continent who should be the beneficiaries of the money.

They are two different crimes. One is the removal and enslavemen to fnative peoples and the other is the theft of natural resources and colonization of those left behind.

Both are trgaic and not easily rectified. Logistically reparation in America ( the only place where a Government sponsored reparations could even be an issue) would be a nightmare. You would be surprised th enumebr of "black" people appear were that to be made a reality. I also believe that it woulod make things worse as bad as that sounds.

Even restitution ot Africa by the European pillagers will be difficult even though it is justified. Current aid is a drop in the bucket but if you increase it and call it "Reparations" or restitution how do you control sovereign nations to ensure that corruption doesn not scupper the efforts.

hmmmm ... den why did teh British abolish slavery 200 years ago. Was there an economic impetus for dem to do so? I jus asking de question 'cause if there was, I doh see it. By abolishing slavery, dey were giving up control of enormous economic wealth ...

Pecan...if they needed slavery to continue to survive it would not have ended. There was no economic wealth given up because after you make enormous wealth you control labour and resources whether you pay for them with food and lodging or whether you pay them a wage and let them take care of their own food and lodging. You also generate a taxation system whereby the money you pay labour goes into your products, in fact you sell them the food and the lodging. Abolishing slavery did not hurt labour based economies because even free labour was dirt cheap.

« Reply #82 on: March 31, 2007, 05:49:30 AM »

ahem..Mister..yuh bussing people files again
yuh want to dissappear for ah while again?  ;)

« Reply #83 on: March 31, 2007, 05:57:30 AM »
"Mrs P's brother is a big black man living in Queens NY.. he was telling a story about walking down de street and a white person was walking towards him.  Den all of a sudden, de white person crossed de street.  He believed it was to avoid him.  I say .. how you know dat?  He say because dat is de way it is.  I say, what if de white person crossed de street for a another reason?  he say nah .. dey cross because he was black."
That is a classic example of the 'stereotypical chip on de shoulder'..they will never give somebody else the benefit of the doubt and if yuh counter their logic..you will get a lame excuse.

with that repartiton thing..it done bad enough with the Jews right now..they just as hated as the US if not even worse.
so yuh think black people could handle that additional negativity, that is when they start the guilt trip and then people start complaining bout them wanting their own way and freeness?
also africans ent the only people who ever get enslaved and treated bad in the course of history.

Offline pioneertrini

« Reply #84 on: March 31, 2007, 09:29:53 PM »

ahem..Mister..yuh bussing people files again
yuh want to dissappear for ah while again?  ;)

lol yeh boi i pushin my luck now, ill tone it down a lil  ;D  :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #85 on: April 01, 2007, 12:28:20 PM »
Africans is do slavery ,the egypians hold the jews for thousands of years   :devil:

the egyptian empire wouldn't have been possible without slaves. all those pyramids built from slaves. slavery been around long time.

On the contrary my brother, don't believe the hype. Egyptian civilization, an African civilization, was NOT built on slavery. There is no evidence to support such a statement. Jew were not responsible for building the pyramids as many think. The pyramids were built long before the first jew(Abraham) existed. PEACE

« Reply #86 on: April 01, 2007, 12:39:28 PM »
Just cool, I could see yuh frustration but yuh really hadda take this board with ah grain of salt

I was makin the same sarcastic comments as hoe. You might be surprised that a few of us here are acutely aware of black history, we are aware of the 400 year holocaust and the horrendous aftermath spanning generations
Also aware

However, as you know when the idea of reparations first came about, the idea was to give each slave 40 acres and a mule in an agrariian society for black people to get a start

In as much as that idea now is highly impractical, reparations obviously will come in the form of cheques, and breds right dey is where I agree wit hoe....and them so called 'racists'
Reality is, the majority of black people ent go know what to do with that money and accrued interest they will be like lotto winners
That cheque which will be designed for black empowerment, to invest in stock and real estate...wiill waste. If you livin in brooklyn, you know exactly what I mean
And if you traveled to predominantly black cities in the states you see how incredibly badly people spend their money on frivilous consumer items...and dat is money dey work for

Yes a handful of us will use it to create wealth, and invest in stocks and real estate,  the vast majority will blow dat money on garbage
If you send cheques to africa and people like Mugabe or Kabila or african leaders of the past get their hands on it to administer it...it done

I'm not opposed to the idea of reparations, after all the chinese in north america got theirs and the jews got public apologies...and are geting their plundered items back from european museums

However, I will be the first to tell any pro black man to he face, "yuh people cyah handle dat"

The most workable  solution would be one that Fari proposed in his post (yes ah know is not his solution) but you get the point

So I dont think the posters in the are racist, they expressing opinions based on pure ignorance but it is simply opinions based on limited information

Look I goin and straighten mih kismihass hair oui and put on mih purple suit oui...to ass wit all ah allyuh

Even if that's the case (and that's still debateable) it doesn't negate the fact that reparations are due the decendents of former slaves. Japanese Americans who were interned in camps during WWII were granted reparations for loss of property etc. Many European Jews were also paid reparations for loss during WWII...why shouldn't African Americans be granted the same treatment. The reparations issue is a power issue and everywhere in the world that african people find themselves they are the underclass and the underclass is always marginalized. I don't expect reparations to be forthcoming any time soon. It's a shame though. :-[

« Reply #87 on: April 01, 2007, 12:45:13 PM »
how much European aid does Africa receive? this could be interpreted by some as a form of reparation since the countries that receive it do not have to repay it. i think if reparations are paid then it should be in the form of food aid, AIDS drugs, education, medicines and medical help and helping people to become self sufficient.  people of African descent in the diaspora are struggling yes but from reading daily about the plight of my African brothers and sisters i think any reparation should be given to Africans.  as my frat brother Cedric the entertainer pointed out in the movie barbershop II, "reparations to African Americans will do nothing more than make Cadillac the number 1 car dealership".
Fari, that is a very interesting opinion as it is the people who were left behind in Africa who you say should be the ones who get compensation. Is that correct?
Many people feel it is the descendent's of the ones who were removed from the African continent who should be the beneficiaries of the money.

They are two different crimes. One is the removal and enslavemen to fnative peoples and the other is the theft of natural resources and colonization of those left behind.

Both are trgaic and not easily rectified. Logistically reparation in America ( the only place where a Government sponsored reparations could even be an issue) would be a nightmare. You would be surprised th enumebr of "black" people appear were that to be made a reality. I also believe that it woulod make things worse as bad as that sounds.
Even restitution ot Africa by the European pillagers will be difficult even though it is justified. Current aid is a drop in the bucket but if you increase it and call it "Reparations" or restitution how do you control sovereign nations to ensure that corruption doesn not scupper the efforts.

hmmmm ... den why did teh British abolish slavery 200 years ago. Was there an economic impetus for dem to do so? I jus asking de question 'cause if there was, I doh see it. By abolishing slavery, dey were giving up control of enormous economic wealth ...

Pecan...if they needed slavery to continue to survive it would not have ended. There was no economic wealth given up because after you make enormous wealth you control labour and resources whether you pay for them with food and lodging or whether you pay them a wage and let them take care of their own food and lodging. You also generate a taxation system whereby the money you pay labour goes into your products, in fact you sell them the food and the lodging. Abolishing slavery did not hurt labour based economies because even free labour was dirt cheap.

This is where many people confuse the issue(s). The issue is not how the money would be used but whether or not reparations should be paid in the first place. How it is utilized is a totally different and secondary issue.
« Last Edit: April 01, 2007, 12:53:30 PM by Pointman »

« Reply #88 on: April 01, 2007, 12:49:24 PM »

They abolished the institution but kept the colonies, that is what made that insignificant Island that had to cheat to beat we in ah football match ;D so rich.

« Reply #89 on: April 01, 2007, 12:50:24 PM »
yes WC, you are right, but i am looking at it in terms of evening things out. while i don't discount entirely the notion of providing some sort of reparation to the descendants of slaves throughout the world, i think it would be inhumane and immoral to give people money when there are africans in africa who are struggling. i was reading somewhere that people in kenya use a flying toilet, u ever heard about that?  things bad for black people outside of africa, i myself have experienced significant hardship but i never use no flying toilet bredda.

I have nothing against being charitable towards Africa, but I think calling it reparation would be wrong.

After all, they were the ones who sold us in the first place.

Also, slavery is still a problem in Africa - Africans still enslave other Africans. So for them to ask for compensation from the Western world before they sort their own issues out seems hypocritical.

Read more history books