May 11, 2024, 09:38:15 AM

Author Topic: De People Laptop  (Read 15343 times)

Re: wtf! somebody help meh na..laptop 4,000 ---> 15,000 EACH!!
« Reply #60 on: September 30, 2010, 01:40:44 PM »

Is d people put dem dey. It did not have a coup so sit back and enjoy d ride.

same deal with the previous gov't as well.. that is democracy and they too went crazy with the people's wallet. don't see your point.

yuh real sour since the defeat.. let me see if I cud organize ah barrel and send dong 2lb demerara to sweeten you up a bit.

No friend as u say and I said in TNT is govt by vapse some does voop more. So is nonesense and more nonesense govt come and govt go.
facking clowns with the people's wallet!

Is d people put dem dey. It did not have a coup so sit back and enjoy d ride.

why yuh wanted a coup?

i dont agree with the price, i find it really high, i would love to see the make of that laptop and see what it costs in north america plus the upgrades, unless they have security features on there to block porn and so forth, but it shouldnt cost that much, shipping costs must be included but still, office is seperate and norton anti-virus plus installations on the laptop is another fee, but that would mean they bought the most expensive laptops for the kids, kinda hard to believe.

anyone know what model the laptop is?

Yeah so I could apply 4 refuge status.

« Reply #61 on: September 30, 2010, 01:56:37 PM »
doh agree with the laptops period.

« Reply #62 on: September 30, 2010, 02:07:46 PM »
We beyond arguing whether the laptops was a good idea... de people buy dey vote with that and town done cash de check.  Nobody in dey right mind would say this was a good idea but PP gone thru pell mell with it, so much so that within 3 months of assuming office they done put procurement contract in place and taking delivery.  The speed of that to me is enough to question how much thought and scrutiny went into the bidding/procurement process, but they insist HP gih dem ah bess deal, and money done spend.

Too much nitpicking anyways, ent?

« Reply #63 on: September 30, 2010, 04:52:39 PM »
If that is true, $12,000 - $15,000 for a laptop with software for the intended purposes (especially if you buying wholesale) is obscene.

It's funny for me to read the ministers talk about it when it is so obvious they don't know what they're talking about. "It has about 7 applications from Microsoft in it as well" is standard Microsoft Office installation.. Word, Powerpoint, Excel, Access, Publisher, OneNote and the jokey lagniappe programs. They coulda give me the contract to manage this procurement and distribution process, I'm sure I couldve easily halved that price.

In addition, there is no indication that these laptops are being prepped or imaged with content that is aligned for a Form 1 curriculum, there is also no indication that they are being installed with parental controls...... just no kinda thought into the whole process whatsoever.

Like i said, lets take this for what this is. A hurry job to fulfill on a political promise, JUST LIKE THE PNM's USELESS BILLION DOLLAR PRE AND POST ELECTION CAKE LAYER ROAD PAVING PROGRAMMES.

I am not in favor of this initiative at all and think it should be aborted after year 1.

« Reply #64 on: September 30, 2010, 04:59:18 PM »
dis give ah child ah computer scenario is beyond dumb...

I saw revise it now when it still early and put d blasted computers in all schools and put locks on the computers...

Sure iz TNT so some schools will get broken into and PC's get stolen but having kids roaming around with laptops in dey bag from school etc...iz putting these kids at risk...

All of a sudden we will be hearing in the news...children are getting abused and robbed in broad daylight....on Frederick Street...

« Reply #65 on: September 30, 2010, 05:14:08 PM »
Like i said, lets take this for what this is. A hurry job to fulfill on a political promise, JUST LIKE THE PNM's USELESS BILLION DOLLAR PRE AND POST ELECTION CAKE LAYER ROAD PAVING PROGRAMMES.

I am not in favor of this initiative at all and think it should be aborted after year 1.

Yuh cyah be comparing this to PNM... yuh fuhget that de PP campaign on ah promise of "change" or what?  Corruption and bobol was supposed to be ah thing of the past.  That come like Obama campaigning against Bush and dem "secret rendition" and civil rights abuse tactics... yet when yuh do hear de shout he continuing with de same damn thing.

Even if the price stay at $4,000 TT that is still too much money for a laptop geared towards that intended purpose.  Like one of the comments on the Express say "this is not CHANGE this is EXCHANGE".

« Reply #66 on: September 30, 2010, 06:01:01 PM »

Yuh cyah be comparing this to PNM... yuh fuhget that de PP campaign on ah promise of "change" or what?  Corruption and bobol was supposed to be ah thing of the past.  That come like Obama campaigning against Bush and dem "secret rendition" and civil rights abuse tactics... yet when yuh do hear de shout he continuing with de same damn thing.

Even if the price stay at $4,000 TT that is still too much money for a laptop geared towards that intended purpose.  Like one of the comments on the Express say "this is not CHANGE this is EXCHANGE".

Politics will never change, it is the same the world over.

This as I see it is politics. To the average citizen who not taking the time to think this through like the learned people on this board, they will say "PPP give meh child ah laptop" just like they said "PNM pave de road in front meh house".

Doh come round with this change talk either. Which political campaign dont talk change and a new beginning? The campaign for change for me meant a change from the policies of that deadweight, leaning-towards-dictatorial PNM administration, fresh ideas and new blood willing to try something to buck the trend.

That Obama-Bush example is a real poor analogy because you suggesting that this project is a continuation of what went before. If you want to say its a nonsensical project go right ahead. If you want to say it is costing too much, rushed and the prices are inflated you can do that to. But unless you know something we don't, how does this compare to the corrupt lavish spending at UDECOTT and the Guanapo church to this?? Not the same thing at all.

In any case, anybody honest to themselves will know that EVEN considering everything awry with this administration so far, this government is still a 100% better option than the other alternative of going back with Manning and the PNM.

« Reply #67 on: September 30, 2010, 06:06:51 PM »
i heard the Minister of education say the price is still aprox $4000 TT for each on news and the $15,000 price is not correct.

« Reply #68 on: September 30, 2010, 06:26:55 PM »
In any case, anybody honest to themselves will know that EVEN considering everything awry with this administration so far, this government is still a 100% better option than the other alternative of going back with Manning and the PNM.

Dinho please..... ::)

« Reply #69 on: September 30, 2010, 06:31:40 PM »

Ok 95%... but no less.  ;)

« Reply #70 on: September 30, 2010, 06:32:15 PM »

This as I see it is politics. To the average citizen who not taking the time to think this through like the learned people on this board, they will say "PPP give meh child ah laptop" just like they said "PNM pave de road in front meh house".

I just want allyuh PP supporters to acknowledge the hypocrisy... because it have plenty ppl on de grung in TnT still convinced that Kamla is Mother Lakshmi she self come tuh save she people.

Doh come round with this change talk either. Which political campaign dont talk change and a new beginning? The campaign for change for me meant a change from the policies of that deadweight, leaning-towards-dictatorial PNM administration, fresh ideas and new blood willing to try something to buck the trend.

How was the PNM "leaning-towards-dictatorial"... dis new government not governing by fiat too?? Please!  Also, it is clear they trending in the same direction... what difference has this "fresh ideas and new blood" wrought?  And what fresh ideas btw... is the same PNM policies they re-branding and passing off as "fresh".  It goes to show just how easy it is fuh allyuh to be hoodwinked.  Here are the new policies they bring so far:

Scrap de rapid rail
Dig ah hole tuh Maracas
Free laptop fuh de chirren

... try and contain yuh excitement as yuh ponder the magnitude of those game-changing fresh new ideas.

That Obama-Bush example is a real poor analogy because you suggesting that this project is a continuation of what went before. If you want to say its a nonsensical project go right ahead. If you want to say it is costing too much, rushed and the prices are inflated you can do that to. But unless you know something we don't, how does this compare to the corrupt lavish spending at UDECOTT and the Guanapo church to this?? Not the same thing at all.

The analogy was drawn and made with reference to the undelivered promises of change... how in the world you come to interpret that implying that was referring specifically to the laptop thing is beyond me.

This is the thing that gets me.  Is like EVERYTHING this new government do is excusable because the PNM (to hear allyuh tell it) do more shit than them.  So if PNM kill and the PP thiefing... thiefing good, because at least is not killing.  No in-depth analysis is necessary to see that thievery as an independent act is bad in of itself.
« Last Edit: September 30, 2010, 06:33:49 PM by Bake n Shark »

« Reply #71 on: September 30, 2010, 07:53:21 PM »

115% betta VI

« Reply #72 on: October 01, 2010, 05:03:33 AM »

Ok 95%... but no less.  ;)

Chups ah feel yuh trying to rile me up..... ;D

« Reply #73 on: October 01, 2010, 05:08:31 AM »
MAy be is dem Ferrari Acer laptops dey buyin for dem to warrant such a high cost  :devil:

« Reply #74 on: October 01, 2010, 05:51:16 AM »
MAy be is dem Ferrari Acer laptops dey buyin for dem to warrant such a high cost  :devil:

you'd think with them machines by form 2 all dem children writing alevels and passing with distinction.

btw, do all these kids have internet access at home?.. what about the schools themselves..are they capable of handling all these new connections to their current systems?

« Reply #75 on: October 01, 2010, 06:16:59 AM »

you'd think with them machines by form 2 all dem children writing alevels and passing with distinction.

btw, do all these kids have internet access at home?.. what about the schools themselves..are they capable of handling all these new connections to their current systems?

Dat is ah bitter statement just say thanks 4 d laptop.

« Reply #76 on: October 01, 2010, 06:40:02 AM »

I just want allyuh PP supporters to acknowledge the hypocrisy... because it have plenty ppl on de grung in TnT still convinced that Kamla is Mother Lakshmi she self come tuh save she people.

And similarly i would like for you PNM supporters to acknowledge yours. Compared to now, all ah allyuh was strangely subdued with all the shit the last administration was doing yet now allyuh barbs trained. Now if that is not hypocrisy what is?

Allyuh also blatantly lacking in objectivity. 3 months into this administration's tenure and allyuh full incapable of acknowledging one good thing or idea they might have, instead choosing to make comparisons with the full term of the last government i.e. "What dem do compared to the PNM".  I eh no PPP activist, I just willing to give them a chance to see what they coming with.

How was the PNM "leaning-towards-dictatorial"... dis new government not governing by fiat too?? Please!  Also, it is clear they trending in the same direction... what difference has this "fresh ideas and new blood" wrought?  And what fresh ideas btw... is the same PNM policies they re-branding and passing off as "fresh".  It goes to show just how easy it is fuh allyuh to be hoodwinked.  Here are the new policies they bring so far:

Scrap de rapid rail
Dig ah hole tuh Maracas
Free laptop fuh de chirren

... try and contain yuh excitement as yuh ponder the magnitude of those game-changing fresh new ideas.

I dont need to spell out to you how the PNM government was leaning towards dictatorial we discuss that here already to no end.

How much yuh want in 5 months? We elected a new government not Jesus. What kind of end product you want a new government to boast of in that short space of time?

Is early days still. Man still coming to grips with the full extent of the shitty situation the PNM leave our treasury in and trying to adapt to suit to see how to rein in some of that wasteful spending and still push forward with initiatives they want to establish.

At least i could say i seeing where they showing some kinda urgency to deal with the flooding, they showing some kinda urgency to deal with the traffic, revamp licensing and health situation among other things. At least i seeing where they looking to devise a plan to deal with the CLICO situation (which is a massive problem threatening the stability of the economy) and looking to try a new direction with the crime situation.

I giving them at least a full year in power before I starting looking for deliverables.
[/quote]

The analogy was drawn and made with reference to the undelivered promises of change... how in the world you come to interpret that implying that was referring specifically to the laptop thing is beyond me.

Silly me, i thought we was talking about laptops in this thread.

This is the thing that gets me.  Is like EVERYTHING this new government do is excusable because the PNM (to hear allyuh tell it) do more shit than them.  So if PNM kill and the PP thiefing... thiefing good, because at least is not killing.  No in-depth analysis is necessary to see that thievery as an independent act is bad in of itself.
[/quote]

I feel allyuh doh be listening to allyuh self/reading allyuh posts. What does get me, EVERYTHING this government do is inexcusable beyond belief. If a thread pop up criticising the government, yuh know for sure who is the same usual cast taking turns with the baton. But if something pop up positive the thread just floating down the general discussion board into oblivion. Allyuh predictable and I done see what allyuh bowling long time. To hear allyuh tell it, every idea formed, the PNM had that already, and every project disbanded was only because the PNM started it and not because it was not working. I might fall off the chair the day i ever hear one of allyuh post and say something to the effect of, "yuh know what that could be a good idea you know!"

Truth is, (speaking for myself but suspecting this is the sentiment), most of us who you calling PPP defenders really not trying to excuse the nonsense that taking place we just looking for some frame of reference and some kinda objectivity in this discussion. When I hear the kinda wailing and gnashing of teeth over this government, I does really sit back and hadda check myself and ask if allyuh forget the madness we just come from just the other day.

Nobody saying that this government not doing more than their fair share of bullshit. Yuh feel we want to defend Anil Roberts and he daily jackassholery? Yuh feel we in support of Volney with his outta timing, outta place disrespectful comments and views or for that matter, or we happy with Jack clearly overstepping his boundaries to put a hand in everything or the seeming inability of Kamla to muzzle them fellas? Yuh feel we jumping up over the tunnel to Maracas or this laptop nonsense? We calling a spade a spade and shit is shit.

And brownsugar, just to extend a lil bit, the reason i say this is 100% the better option right now is because worst case scenario this government doesn't work out, the PNM badly needing that purge they getting right now. That would not have happened if they went back in, things would surely get progressively worse and i dont think you would disagree with that. That is why change was imperative.

Objectivity people... See the light and walk towards it!

« Reply #77 on: October 01, 2010, 08:25:09 AM »
 LETTER ISSUED ON BEHALF OF THE MINISTRY OF EDUCATION TO EXPRESS/CCN CEO RE-FALSE REPORT ON THURSDAY SEPTEMBER 30, 2010, ON LAPTOP PRICE

Mrs Dawn Thomas
Chief Executive Officer
CCN Group
EXPRESS HOUSE
Independence Square
PORT OF SPAIN
Thursday 30th Sept 2010

Dear Mrs Thomas,

Regrettably, I must bring to your urgent attention first, a most unfortunate and unacceptable error in today’s EXPRESS story, page 7, headlined “Laptops jump from $4,000 to $15,000."!

I write you in the genuine interest of the fine relations which I understand to exist amongst your good self, the OCM Group, my Clients the Minister and Ministry of Education, indeed this entire Government, and AMPLE.

Both the referred story and headline are atrociously and unnecessarily inaccurate.

The facts are: the Government paid a price of quite close to the quoted $4,000 for each fully-installed machine. But each such machine—the Minister explained clearly in his remarks—carries a commercial value of approximately $15,000 when all aspects are costed at the on-the-shelf prices. In other words, the Government negotiated an excellent cut-price, getting top quality in hardware (Hewlett-Packard) and software (Microsoft), but at almost four times less than what it costs a member of the public to purchase the same machine and outfit it in the same way.
Surely this qualifies for being a story in itself, and one with possible positive interpretation. Obviously I am well aware that it is not the journalist job to ‘interpret’, but I do know that it is absolutely not her job to mis-report facts, and further thereby, have a Sub-Editor mis-convey impressions by a blatantly false headline.

The EXPRESS error is borne out by the reality that no other medium, or member of the public for that matter, failed to understand the information, nor did anyone else distort the facts given. It could scarcely be that they were all inept, and scooped by a Miss Allaham who alone heard that the cost of the laptops had ‘jumped’ UP—instead of truthfully, being held DOWN to a magnitudinously low price, on behalf of  all of us taxpayers.

Our Clients—the Minister and Ministry of Education—are deeply aggrieved that such an mistake could have emerged from such a simple matter of fact, information previously officially publicized and always eminently accessible and verifiable.
            And while you and I have relieved ourselves of this matter of suspicion before, the fear of some kind of deliberate anti-Government-Ministry-Gopeesingh sentiment continues to lurk and now resonate.

That Dr Gopeesingh is deemed by Reporter Aabida Allaham’s FACEBOOK comment to be a ‘bastard’ is indicated neither by his parentage, professionalism nor politics. And certainly not by his right to say that the story is wrong. He has never requested that he be treated with special deference or any kind of unquestioning distance…only though, with accuracy, fairness, and the opportunity to ‘tell his side of the story’. 
            As far as the canons of Journalism are concerned, I respectfully submit that this treatment represents a serious breach in accuracy and tone.
                        Because therefore of all this, and how inimical and lastingly damaging we know such a journalistic faux pas will be—besmirching both the integrity of our Clients and the credibility of your medium—we hereby request that you secure for us an unmitigated correction in tomorrow’s edition of the EXPRESS, with matching prominence, and including an apology for the error committed as well as the distress caused, unintended as they may have been.
            My trust is that such reformative action by the EXPRESS will restrain any further action by our Client in this matter.

We look forward to the correction, and the continuation of good relations all ’round, as we grow in greater understanding of and regard for each other’s professional standards and boundaries.
AMPLE Ltd, representative, Ministry of Education.

http://www.facebook.com/notes/tim-gopeesingh/false-express-report-on-laptop-price/440889354463

« Reply #78 on: October 01, 2010, 08:30:36 AM »
oh oh ...

« Reply #79 on: October 01, 2010, 08:37:29 AM »
Very poor editing again. I had a mind this was coming. Granted Gopeesingh obvioulsly exaggerated the value the reporter misrepresented him.

« Reply #80 on: October 01, 2010, 08:46:49 AM »
That is some really boss laptop to HAVE A VALUE of $15000. I doubt you will have any use for teachers with such technologies in the hand of students.

« Reply #81 on: October 01, 2010, 08:56:29 AM »
d laptops don't cost $15,000 end story, its still aprox $4000

« Reply #82 on: October 01, 2010, 09:11:12 AM »

Weary I doh feel de man make a bitter statement. Let's live in the reality that if is really a top notch Dell, Sony or mac... Gateway, Hp what every....
Dem children will primarily abuse it. If they get high speed internet they go abuse it. If you Youtube dem video of schools in tnt what yuh does mainly see, fight, slap, beat down, Fatima Man sexing one and other, football clips here and dey, dutty wine, vagrangt swimming in drain etc... This was a poor proposal by the government. When is the last time you see a video of kids an a science project or a doucmentary? When you see documentaries or movies about tnt all yuh seeing is man cooking coke and shooting each other. No doubt some kids will use it for good and with de way dem kids stealing today, giving the se laptops to kids will only make them easier targets for theft.

Offline 1-868

• Haters love me
« Reply #83 on: October 01, 2010, 09:51:09 AM »
Fire all the reporters and shut down the printeries.. ONLY MiSINFORMATION AND MIS-PRINTS we getting all de facking time.. STEUPS
Phenomenal, lovely atmosphere.

« Reply #84 on: October 01, 2010, 10:07:52 AM »
This is the Express retraction. Notice that "erroneously" is spelled incorrectly, and that there is no apology. I thought TTUTA's President made some salient points, however. :beermug:

Gopeesingh: Laptops cost $4,000, not $15, 000
By Aabida Allaham

Story Updated: Oct 1, 2010 at 11:29 AM ECT

Education Minister Dr Tim Gopeesingh said yesterday that the cost of each laptop remains at $4,000, while an estimated commercial value of $12,000 to $15,000 has been placed on each of them.

He was commenting on a page seven story headlined "Laptops jump from $4,000 to $15,000" in yesterday's Express.

The story erroneosly stated that the cost of each computer was between $12,000 to $15,000.

What Gopeesingh actually said on Wednesday about the cost of the computers was: " ......as laptops continue to be built, the cost would be cheaper and cheaper. But this laptop's real value is more than $12,000 to $15,000 because the value of Microsoft XP Professional 2010 alone is US$500 or more, and then the other applications are really worth quite a lot so students are benefitting much more (from this laptop) than the value of an ordinary laptop which is normally between $4,000 to $5,000."

On the Website www.hp.com, it states that HP works directly with Absolute Software Corporation to embed the Computrace Agent to the BIOS of many HP commercial notebooks that not only makes them traceable, but highly resistant to tampering as well.

In August, HP was awarded an $83 million contract to supply 24,000 fully loaded laptops for distribution to successful Secondary Entrance Assessment (SEA) examination pupils.

As part of the contract, Gopeesingh added that HP also outfitted each of the HP 425 models with faster processing speeds, wireless capability, Bluetooth (wireless) connectivity, larger internal storage, faster hard drive speeds, nine cell batteries, Microsoft Windows 7 Professional, Microsoft Digital Library, Microsoft Bing Maps 3D, Worldwide Telescope, firewalls and anti-virus.

In a telephone interview yesterday, president of the Trinidad and Tobago Unified Teachers Association (TTUTA), Roustan Job said contrary to people’s beliefs, they were happy about the laptops but still had reservations.

"There was an impression that TUTTA was against the laptops, let me just say that was a wrong impression. We had our concerns," he said.

"Giving them laptops was one thing, but how it will be integrated into the school’s curriculum is another."

Job also questioned the issue of cost not stated by the Ministry of Education with regard to things like electrical wiring, wireless internet installation and additional storage facilities for those children choosing to leave the laptop at the school.

"Is there electrical capacity to ensure that these computers are charged when in use because in many schools that is already an issue so there may be an additional cost for that," he said.

Job hoped the form one pupils benefitted from the laptops, although he would have much preferred form six pupils to received them as well.

"I really hope they become more all round students, you never know, we might have the next creator of Facebook," he said.

« Reply #85 on: October 01, 2010, 10:17:28 AM »

Weary I doh feel de man make a bitter statement. Let's live in the reality that if is really a top notch Dell, Sony or mac... Gateway, Hp what every....
Dem children will primarily abuse it. If they get high speed internet they go abuse it. If you Youtube dem video of schools in tnt what yuh does mainly see, fight, slap, beat down, Fatima Man sexing one and other, football clips here and dey, dutty wine, vagrangt swimming in drain etc... This was a poor proposal by the government. When is the last time you see a video of kids an a science project or a doucmentary? When you see documentaries or movies about tnt all yuh seeing is man cooking coke and shooting each other. No doubt some kids will use it for good and with de way dem kids stealing today, giving the se laptops to kids will only make them easier targets for theft.

Friend whenever I pinpoint some nonesense this govt do I bitter so y I alone must b bitter. 2 answer Jumbie question d laptops have a 9hr battery so electricity is not an issue.

« Reply #86 on: October 01, 2010, 10:27:25 AM »
the laptops cost $4000 weary, what negatives do you have to say now?

the papers are piss poor when it comes to reporting, the commercial value is 12-15k which i could understand bc of the modifications and so forth.

END OF STORY

BitterCasava1969 aka weary1969 the Laptops Cost $4000.00 not $12-15k
« Reply #87 on: October 01, 2010, 10:38:58 AM »
Are you happy now, or do you have a link in China or Taiwan that can provide a better price for the children.

In North America, kids have access to computer learning as early as 6 years old. Do you have a problem with the advancement of TT society?

Since this issue has now been put to rest because the reporters are piss poor back home. What is next on your list to complain about?

The tunnel? The firing of incompetent clerical staff who have for years been a waste of time? Or will it be the bailout of clico?

we need a new thread just for your attention seeking antics, live with it. accept your losses like a woman not a little toddler. Give people a chance, TT is not a one party system.
« Last Edit: October 01, 2010, 10:42:34 AM by Controversial »

Re: BitterCasava1969 aka weary1969 the Laptops Cost $4000.00 not $12-15k
« Reply #88 on: October 01, 2010, 10:47:18 AM »
Are you happy now, or do you have a link in China or Taiwan that can provide a better price for the children.

In North America, kids have access to computer learning as early as 6 years old. Do you have a problem with the advancement of TT society?

Since this issue has now been put to rest because the reporters are piss poor back home. What is next on your list to complain about?

The tunnel? The firing of incompetent clerical staff who have for years been a waste of time? Or will it be the bailout of clico?

we need a new thread just for your attention seeking antics, live with it. accept your losses like a woman not a little toddler. Give people a chance, TT is not a one party system.

LOUDDDDDDDDDDDDDD STEUPSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

« Reply #89 on: October 01, 2010, 10:51:29 AM »
the laptops cost $4000 weary, what negatives do you have to say now?

the papers are piss poor when it comes to reporting, the commercial value is 12-15k which i could understand bc of the modifications and so forth.

END OF STORY

Me eh care if dey cost 1 Zimbabwe dollar. Stupid policy like Esther texting SEA results. U stress d chirren out an extra 1/2 day because TSTT have 2 send out text. Dotish policy is dotish policy matters not which govt implement it. U have 2 support yuh govt I have 2 support good policy.