May 17, 2024, 08:25:11 AM

Author Topic: The 5 greatest sporting moments in T&T  (Read 14693 times)

Offline ssalazar

The 5 greatest sporting moments in T&T
« on: November 19, 2005, 07:48:16 AM »
Hey folks;
I'm a fairly new to this forum and i would like some of your opinions.I would like for you all to name the 5 greatest sporting moments in TNT.Here are my 5(In random order of Course)Haseley Crawford's gold medal in 1976,Brian Lara's 375 against England in 1994,Ato Bolden's gold medal at the World Games in 1997,TNT going to the World cup next year in Germany and Brian Lara's 400 N.O against England in 2004.I'll put as my "Sixth man"The 4 by 400 relay squad that won silver at the 1964 Tokyo Olympics.Lemme know what some of your opinions are.
Trini student living in Canterbury,England
« Last Edit: November 29, 2005, 06:45:10 AM by Tallman »

Re: My 5 greatest sporting moments in TNT
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2005, 08:01:16 AM »
5 GREATEST MOMENTS ???

TNT IN GERMANY 06   THEN DE AFTERNOON CELEBRATING...THEN DE NEXT DAY ...THEN DE NEXT DAY AND THEN DE NEXT DAY....BBBBOOOOOOMMMMMMMM....SORRY....

« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2005, 08:06:11 AM »
When you look at the reaction of the people to this qualification you'd have to that it is in category of its own. Its not simply a sporting achievement its a national achievement.

« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2005, 08:07:57 AM »
5 GREATEST MOMENTS ???

TNT IN GERMANY 06   THEN DE AFTERNOON CELEBRATING...THEN DE NEXT DAY ...THEN DE NEXT DAY AND THEN DE NEXT DAY....BBBBOOOOOOMMMMMMMM....SORRY....

Cheers to dat!  :cheers:

Offline Marlon

• Who the cap fit, let them wear it.
« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2005, 08:10:21 AM »
Boy dis celebrating must stop, or else ah eh goh live to see tnt play in germany.

my top 5 is:

1. Brian Lara 375
2. Qualifying fuh de WC
3. Brian Lara 400
4. Ato gold in Athens, and he two bronze in '96
5. 4x100 relay silver this year.

*ah was too young to appreciate Crawford gold medal, but must mention it as it was probably our biggest claim to fame as a nation.

Offline bill

« Reply #5 on: November 19, 2005, 08:49:21 AM »
Boy dis celebrating must stop, or else ah eh goh live to see tnt play in germany.

my top 5 is:

1. Brian Lara 375
2. Qualifying fuh de WC
3. Brian Lara 400
4. Ato gold in Athens, and he two bronze in '96
5. 4x100 relay silver this year.

*ah was too young to appreciate Crawford gold medal, but must mention it as it was probably our biggest claim to fame as a nation.

Na... you men joking we....

1. Qualifing fuh  de WC
2. Qualifing fuh  de WC
3. Qualifing fuh  de WC
4. Qualifing fuh  de WC
5. Qualifing fuh  de WC
6. Qualifing fuh  de WC

and I could go on.... this is is a class by itself. The other stuff was good but the WC is de real ting!!!

« Reply #6 on: November 19, 2005, 09:14:28 AM »
World Cup is No 1 no matter what, for so many reasons. The most obivious being this will give us WAY more exposure than any other past success. All else pales to this one as billions will see our country mix at a sporting event with the World's best. I am not making light of past achievement but this is the World Cup  :o  there is a debate as to which sporting event is the World's biggest but its only between the WC and Olympic's. Also remember it is the worlds most popular sport.

I rest my case.

Offline Rotato Poti

• VIBES IT UP!!!
    • ACB reloaded
« Reply #7 on: November 19, 2005, 09:24:00 AM »
If we look at sporting moments from the fans perspective it's these .... and this is only from my generation though, and from what I was told growing up.

As a guide, I'm using the level of celebrations that took place throughout the country.

1. Hasley Crawford Gold Medal
2. 2006 WC Qualification
3. Lara's 375 was on the same weekend TT footballers beat Martinique about 7-0 in the Caribbean Cup Finals ... and also the same weekend that Stephen Ames wrapped up his first PGA title (Europe I think).
4. Joint World Champions in Netball
5. Ato Boldon medalling twice in the Atlanta Olympics.

I think it's important that we must mention the country's and individuals achievements in boxing, athletics, swimming, cycling, further achievements in cricket and football ... the long list goes on for such a small country - and when things are going rough - no matter what the off field characters of our sports heroes may be ... they always give us something to cheer and be proud of.

Offline behind-de-bridge

« Reply #8 on: November 19, 2005, 10:11:10 AM »
My 5 are:
1. WC qualification 2006
2. Crawford gold in 1976 (Still we only Olympic gold)
3. Lara 375
4. Lara 400 no
5. Boldon Gold in the World Champs

« Reply #9 on: November 19, 2005, 10:28:52 AM »
Mine are:

1 - WC Qualification 2006

2 - Hasely Crawford Gold Medal 1976

3 - Lara's 375

4 - Ato's Gold in World T&F Championships

5 - Tie - Leslie Stewart & Claude Noel's World Champions in Boxing.

Offline LICKS4SO

« Reply #10 on: November 19, 2005, 10:31:31 AM »
WC has to be the top...no doubt

« Reply #11 on: November 19, 2005, 10:47:36 AM »
I have to put what happen on Wednesday at the top.  Trinidad and Tobago qualified for a World Cup brothers!  Crawford, Lara (375 and 400) and Ato are behind in the rear view mirror, but visible. 

We will be among the best in a team sport!!  All the others are indiviual achievements, Lara was actually representing the West Indies (and Trini by extension). 

« Reply #12 on: November 19, 2005, 10:54:11 AM »
first of all love this topic

1. qualifying for the world cup

2. when scarlet ibis win de nelson street boys sports and meh mother win the mothers race.

3. when kurt sinnette went to the olympics(he from up by me) and get knock down on he first punch and never get back up.(boxing)

4. hearing the queen of england mention brian lara name over and over

5. dwight yorke scoring on he first day fuh man boo ;D

Offline Socaman

• Live Yuh Life Like Yuh Playin Mas!!!!
« Reply #13 on: November 19, 2005, 10:59:11 AM »
My 5:
1. WC Qualifying
2. Tallman Goal
3. Me MUM Goal
4. Carlos putting shake on dem men :rotfl:
5.Latas coming on and hitting de cross bar on he first touch :rotfl: :rotfl:

Bahrain Dead Bury De Clothes!!!!!
Bahrain Dead Bury De Clothes!!!!! :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Offline greenpea

« Reply #14 on: November 19, 2005, 11:14:34 AM »
trust me gents.... no other sporting achievement in TNT comes close.... I repeat.... remotely close, to what those guys achieved in qualifying for WC 06..... now.... step, yes..... step away from that spliff ......  YOU CAN DO IITTTTTTTT .... :rotfl:  :rotfl:  :chilling:

Offline lp

« Reply #15 on: November 19, 2005, 11:53:09 AM »

1. Qualifing fuh  de WC
2. Qualifing fuh  de WC
3. Qualifing fuh  de WC
4. Qualifing fuh  de WC
5. Qualifing fuh  de WC
6. Qualifing fuh  de WC

I totally agree. This one is really toooooooooo big. I think the next closest will have to start from #7.... really

« Reply #16 on: November 19, 2005, 11:55:26 AM »
5 GREATEST MOMENTS ???

That was going to be my five...yuh tief it first!!!!!!!!!!!!! end of story ;D ;D

« Reply #17 on: November 19, 2005, 12:06:13 PM »
men forgetting George Bovell in the Athens Olympics or wha
and when he breal the NCAA record

Ms que un club.

« Reply #18 on: November 19, 2005, 12:09:54 PM »
my five

1 Hasley Crawford Gold (has'nt been done since )

2 '06 World Cup Team Qualification

3 Lara 375

4 Lara 400

5 Rodney Wilkes Silver in '48 Olympics in Weightlighting(cheated by the Egyptians for Gold) signalling to the World their was something special about this island  

honorable mention : world netball champion team,Ato Boldon multiple Olympic medals and world 200m champion ,'66 4*400 world record relay team,Claude Noel ,Leslie Stewart

« Reply #19 on: November 19, 2005, 02:07:21 PM »
1) Qualifying for germany
2) crawford gold medal
3) Lara 375/Lara 400
4) Ato in 1996 Olympics
5) leslie stewart/claude noel

« Reply #20 on: November 19, 2005, 06:08:20 PM »
Stephen Ames on anybody's list?
Salazar, yuh related to Jose dat went Fatima?

« Reply #21 on: November 19, 2005, 06:18:41 PM »
5 GREATEST MOMENTS ???

couldnt have said it better...      :rotfl:

Offline trinibug

« Reply #22 on: November 19, 2005, 06:37:06 PM »
1) Qualifying for germany # 1 by far
2) Crawford gold medal - They name a plane afte the man.
3) Joint World Netball Champions - It eh name the Jean Pierre Sports Complex fuh nutten
4) Ato Gold in World Championships
5) Leslie "Tiger" Stewart/Claude Noel - Quote of the century "When de mout buss.."

One more! (the other 5  :))

6) T&T Qualify for youth World cup with everybody favorite coach - Bertille St Clair
Lara records was great eh, but that is a West Indies victory, and yuh can't separate him from the rest of the squad.

Honorable Mention goes to Ames,  George Bovell,
Must rhyme with an O

Offline trinibug

« Reply #23 on: November 19, 2005, 06:41:08 PM »
Look, I just find a article about this very topic  on this very site!

http://www.socawarriors.net/Track_&_Field.htm

Best sporting moment ever in T&T history.

T&T Express.
03-Mar-2002 - HASELY Crawford’s gold medal-winning feat in the 100 metres at the 1976 Olympic Games in Montreal, Canada still remains as the “greatest moment” in Trinidad and Tobago’s sporting history.

Crawford scampering to victory in 10.06 seconds, shown on a huge TV screen, was given top spot in the “Ten Great T&T Sporting Moments”, one of the highlights of Friday night’s WITCO Sports Foundation Awards at the Hilton Trinidad ballroom.

Crawford, a huge sprinter, once described as one of the “greatest of all time”, represented Trinidad and Tobago in four Olympics—Munich in 1972; Montreal 1976; Moscow 1980; and Los Angeles in 1984.

Taking second spot on the “Great Moments” list was Brian Lara for his magnificent 375 Test runs (which destroyed Gary Sobers’ longstanding score of 365 not out) against England in Antigua and his undefeated 501 against Durham in the English County Championship, which established the highest-ever score in first class cricket, both achieved in 1994.

Surprisingly, Ato Boldon’s golden 200-metre victory at the World Track and Field Championships in 1997 in Athens, Greece, was only listed at No.9.

T&T’s two World Boxing Association (WBA) champions, light-heavyweight Leslie “Tiger” Stewart and lightweight Claude Noel, were both ranked in third position.

The top ten were selected by an experienced panel of sports journalists and administrators, chaired by Lystra Lewis and including veteran sports editors Mervyn Wells, Horace Gordon and Eustace Ward, along with Tony Williams, Dave Lamy, Valentino Singh and former T&T football captain Sedley Joseph.

But a member of the selection team said he was surprised the list was announced in order of merit. “I saw it as an ongoing exercise. Not an all-time ranking list as such,” he said.
But Judy Griffith, secretary of the WITCO Sports Foundation Panel, insisted yesterday while “more Great Moments will be named later, Friday night’s top ten was in order of merit and the panel was informed beforehand”.

THE TOP ELEVEN
1. Hasely Crawford—Olympic gold in Montreal 1976
2. Brian Lara—375 and 501 record-breaking scores, 1994
3. Leslie “Tiger” Stewart and Claude Noel—WBA world titles
4. T&T’s 1979 World Netball Championship team
5. Kent Bernard, Lennox Yearwood, Wendell Mottley, Edwin
Roberts—1966 Commonwealth Games 4x400 yards world
record-breaking and gold medal relay team, Kingston, Jamaica
6. Roger Gibbon—bronze medal at World Cycling Championships, Belgium, 1967
7. Rodney Wilkes—Olympic silver medal in weightlifting, London, 1948.
8. T&T vs USA World Cup qualifier—Hasely Crawford Stadium, November 19, 1989.
9. Ato Boldon—200-metre gold medal at 1997 World Championships, Athens, Greece.
10. Mike Agostini—Gold medal at Pan Am Games, Chicago, 1959.
11. George Bovell 111—Won the bronze medal in the 200-IM swimming competition at the 2004 Olympic Games in Athens Greece. George Bovell also completed the best-ever individual Pan Am Games with a record-breaking swim in the men’s 200 metres individual medley, at the Juan Pablo Duarte Aquatic Centre in the Dominican Republic, August 2003. The 20-year-old swimmer grabbed gold in one minute, 59.49 seconds, a new Games and national record, as well as the fastest time ever by a swimmer from the Commonwealth, beating the 1:59.66 produced by Australian great Ian Thorpe in his silver swim.

Must rhyme with an O

Offline onlikecorn

• vibes it up
« Reply #24 on: November 20, 2005, 04:10:47 AM »
#1 - trinidad qualifying for world cup
#2 - brian lara breakin records
#3 - ato winning stuff. .
#4 - de time we beat mexico . . when latas score da dredd goal (still mih favourite t&t goal)
#5 - bovell winning da medal   . . .

honourable mention to . . . dwight winnin all dem ting in manu . . .hasley crawford(even doh i wasnt born yet). . . . .and well .. .dwarika doin de "old oman alone" dance when he score for trinidad in de hasley crawford stadium . .. hahahaha

allyuh should try this in de us, uk and canada. . .actually works. . . use it instead of google. . and get free ting. . i get real free ting already....

Offline pioneertrini

« Reply #25 on: November 20, 2005, 04:51:37 AM »
i can tell you are greatest moment will be june 9th beating germany in the opening game of the world cup  :beermug:

Qualification tops all others
« Reply #26 on: November 29, 2005, 12:21:35 AM »
I ent know about this one...

This is a letter from today's Guardian:

Qualification tops all others

I join in the many accolades that have been bestowed upon our esteemed Soca Warriors for what is certainly the greatest sporting achievement in the history of the country, if not our greatest achievement ever.

If we were to rank the various sporting achievements of this nation, the top five would arguably be:

1. World Cup qualification—2005.

2. Hasely Crawford’s Olympic gold—1976.

3. Brian Lara’s world records.

4. Netball world championship—1979.

5. Ato Boldon’s Olympic medals.

The significance of this single accomplishment cannot be overstated. Just look at the outpouring of emotion and nationalism after the victory. The scale of the celebrations was unprecedented for any event in the country.

I suggest that the Government considers awarding our highest national honour, the Trinity Cross, to Jack Warner, Leo Beenhakker and Dwight Yorke. As captain, Yorke’s leadership role was exceptional.

The other members of the team can be awarded the Chaconia Medal. The precedent for this was set with Jean Pierre, the netball queen.

I am all for the Warriors and all but WORLD CUP qualification is not greater than an Olympic Gold medal in the 100, the biggest event in the whole games....doh worry about my #5 I understand people think netball and cricket are 'world sports' - is ok lol. I would put even my 200m world title (yeah that forgotten world title) way above any netball but that is not my intent here I don't care how TnT ranks what I did- my question is is this a legit letter in terms of does this person have it right or am I prejudiced by my track genes?

I'm curious to see what the response to this is...
« Last Edit: November 29, 2005, 06:14:48 AM by Tallman »

Re: I ent know about this one...
« Reply #27 on: November 29, 2005, 12:30:16 AM »
I would put WC qualification #2 and Hasley as #1.

We will alwys stand a good chance in the future for qualifying for the WC since I see this qualification as our launching pad...

However, a gold at 100m is as rare as it gets...

« Reply #28 on: November 29, 2005, 12:32:11 AM »
My 2 cents.

I think T&T has been so desperate for a "victory" in a TEAM SPORT that it may very well be the reason why many view this latest qualification as the ultimate.

Now...our Netballers were Joint Champions of the World in 1979 but still, in that final game, we faltered.  It seems that so many times, our athletes in a Team Sport have come so close and yet just never crossed that hump.  I know there is a train of thought that tried to explain it as some sort of collective lack of intestinal fortitude that was responsbile for these "shortcomings".  

Our athletes in individual sports don't seem to have that problem as evidenced by their success in their individual accomplishments.  But somehow, put a TEAM OF TRINIS together and it's yet to be done on a grand stage until November 16, 2005.

Add to that Football remains in my opinion the most popular sport in T&T and I believe that is a powerful reason why many feel as they do.  ESPECIALLY, this being the FIRST TIME after 2 near miss HEART BREAKERS!  No longer can others say Trini teams choke.  That we just can't get it done together.  That is dead and buried!

This is NOT to diminish by any means the accomplishments of Crawford, Lara, Boldon, our Netball girls, and all of our other World Champions.  Certainly, Trinbagonians feel no less proud when they have brought glory to themselves and by extension our tiny twin island state.  But FINALLY...here is a TEAM in a sport in which we have always prided ourselves as being good at, still our most popular sport, going to THE WORLD CUP...the biggest dance of them all.....and for many Trinbagonians, that includes the Olympics.  Probably another indicator of just how popular Football is.

My take on it anyway
« Last Edit: November 29, 2005, 12:35:57 AM by palos »

« Reply #29 on: November 29, 2005, 12:39:31 AM »
World Cup qualification stands as number 1 because qualifying for the World Cup has been one of T&T's greatest blessings and unfortunate curses. Its presence runs deep thru generations. Having been denied twice, by Haiti unfairly and the U.S tragically, then blessed gloriously in 2005, Trinidad football has suffered more trials than tribulations in the years in between. The World Cup is the only tournament that can lift up a nation - European power or small island - as a united whole, or send them into despair for months.
This World Cup qualification is more than just that - it is about redemption, the resting of demons, a beautiful gateway for local talent and the opportunity to unite further as a nation.

Many people regard the World Cup as a bigger tournament than the Olympics, I don't know. But for Trinidad & Tobago, it is.