May 03, 2024, 01:33:09 AM

Author Topic: Boldface Thievery... well yes! Lol  (Read 6122 times)

Re: Boldface Thievery... well yes! Lol
« Reply #30 on: April 23, 2011, 06:15:25 PM »
talking about this one? #6 on itunes
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/t4H_Zoh7G5A" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/t4H_Zoh7G5A</a>

This Chutney-soca song from Nisha B also uses part of the same lambada melody as the J-Lo/Pitbull song!

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/wNYm_ez1pTc" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/wNYm_ez1pTc</a>

Kaoma's Lambada for comparison
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/K5PD6hzg4hU" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/K5PD6hzg4hU</a>

http://www.whosampled.com/sample/view/79756/Jennifer%20Lopez%20feat.%20Pitbull-On%20the%20Floor_Kaoma-Lambada/
« Last Edit: April 23, 2011, 06:17:26 PM by E-man »

« Reply #31 on: April 23, 2011, 07:31:51 PM »
whosampled.com is a best site.

going back before Kaoma to 1981 in Bolivia.

http://www.whosampled.com/cover/view/5906/Kaoma-Lambada_Los%20Kjarkas-Llorando%20Se%20Fue/

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/mT4T5GyGqRQ" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/mT4T5GyGqRQ</a>

from wikipedia
"Los Kjarkas is a Bolivian band from Capinota (a Province in the department of Cochabamba), one of the most popular Andean pop bands in the country's recent history. An unauthorised translation of their song Llorando se fue by French producers Jean Karakos and Olivier Lorsac resulted in Kaoma's hit, Lambada. Jennifer Lopez 's single "On The Floor" samples Los Kjarkas's single "Llorando Se Fue". After a successful lawsuit, Kaoma paid up and licensed the song."
« Last Edit: April 23, 2011, 07:35:33 PM by E-man »

« Reply #32 on: April 23, 2011, 08:19:52 PM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/G31riHQjvDI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/G31riHQjvDI</a>
« Last Edit: April 23, 2011, 08:23:08 PM by Bitter »

« Reply #33 on: April 23, 2011, 08:32:32 PM »
I ent say nothing about lawsuit or sampling. I just throw the comment out there to see the response.

In this very thread however, there is a post with Ghetto Flex and Denise Belfon. Can we really get worked up over a cover of a version (or whatever it is) of a Tommy James and the Shondells song? Them fellas francoment tief Palance though.

I agree with socapro, there is obviously a market. Where T.I. when you need him?

The "silly" argument is de comparison between what we soca artists does do and what them fellas doing.  Yuh really cyah compare it.  I sure even Byron Lee, Buster Poindexter and Baha Men had good sense to get permission to use other people soca tracks in de past.  We artists does mainly borrow an melody here and there... dai's about it.

-----------------------

e-man yeah... whosampledwho.com is a boss site.

« Reply #34 on: April 24, 2011, 11:57:23 AM »
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/G31riHQjvDI" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/G31riHQjvDI</a>

so bitter who tief from who here. superblue tief from dem or dem tief from super?

« Reply #35 on: April 25, 2011, 11:44:22 AM »
is either ah tief ting or Blaze bathing wid de same cake soap vybz kartel use..
not boldface thieve.. panama ppl loves trinidad and jamaica culture because many panamanians are of trinidad, jamaican. and bajan background.. Panama been doing this for years.. El general who busted spanish reggae in the U.S IS the cousin of the founder nando boom and both of them have parents from both trinidad and jamaica.. Mi love mi spansih reggae and dancehall..
or and its called spansih reggae and spanish soca by panamanians not r,,,,ton...( i refuse to put reggae in front of dat shit)

« Reply #36 on: April 25, 2011, 11:48:27 AM »

honestly super blue need fi get pay for thisone.. he might turn a millionaire with this copyright vilotaion..

« Reply #37 on: April 25, 2011, 01:59:27 PM »
not boldface thieve.. panama ppl loves trinidad and jamaica culture because many panamanians are of trinidad, jamaican. and bajan background.. Panama been doing this for years.. El general who busted spanish reggae in the U.S IS the cousin of the founder nando boom and both of them have parents from both trinidad and jamaica.. Mi love mi spansih reggae and dancehall..
or and its called spansih reggae and spanish soca by panamanians not r,,,,ton...( i refuse to put reggae in front of dat shit)

Aw haw, so if me and ah man geh way, I could tell him haul he re%&!&ton....hmm de things yuh does learn in here  ;)

« Reply #38 on: April 25, 2011, 07:14:30 PM »

I think most people here know of the West Indian origins of the Afro-Panamenos... however nothing you just posted takes away from the fact that this is straight up thievery.

« Reply #39 on: April 26, 2011, 12:43:38 AM »
am pretty sure he got permission to use the song.. artist in trinidad will sell there rights for a dollar same thing in jamaica. Imagine the song called night nurse was sold to Nando boom and he got paid from sum artist in Puerto rico for using the song without his permission.. boy I laugh when I heard dat..anyway I think its very crafty when they tek one of our songs and put it in spanish. I Like it... I have an entire soca spanish mix I made in 2007 .. the had sum badd chune on them..

I think most people here know of the West Indian origins of the Afro-Panamenos... however nothing you just posted takes away from the fact that this is straight up thievery.

« Reply #40 on: April 26, 2011, 09:21:48 AM »
am pretty sure he got permission to use the song.. artist in trinidad will sell there rights for a dollar same thing in jamaica. Imagine the song called night nurse was sold to Nando boom and he got paid from sum artist in Puerto rico for using the song without his permission.. boy I laugh when I heard dat..anyway I think its very crafty when they tek one of our songs and put it in spanish. I Like it... I have an entire soca spanish mix I made in 2007 .. the had sum badd chune on them..

JW and Blaze say dey ent know nutten about these fellas... so who they get permission from to use de song?

« Reply #41 on: April 26, 2011, 10:54:19 AM »

JW and Blaze say dey ent know nutten about these fellas... so who they get permission from to use de song?

they didn't i don't know what foolishness war talking about, if jw and blaze don't know them, how they could get permission ::)

« Reply #42 on: April 26, 2011, 11:38:39 AM »

they didn't i don't know what foolishness war talking about, if jw and blaze don't know them, how they could get permission ::)

kernel roberts  :-\  :-X

« Reply #43 on: April 26, 2011, 01:40:56 PM »

kernel roberts  :-\  :-X

Nah, ah read where JW say they ask Kernal and he too eh know nutten about dem fellas.

« Reply #44 on: April 26, 2011, 04:35:54 PM »
Even a deaf man could here that the music is Palance but sung in Spanish. I have no issue with that. I love when Spanish, french, African, Portuguese, indian artistes use our songs. There was a English India artiste named Shiela Chandra. She had a big hit doing Shorty's Shanti Om. They tend  add something different that makes the song more popular. I love the thumping base and drums in reggaeton( how you doing, War!!). I love Zuok, Compas, kizomba. All them music have heavy soca rythms in them. That is how it should be. Music should never stay static. But at the same time, the oringinal artist/writer/composer should be given their just due when someone use their work. This has been the norm for ages. But some artistes have this "catch me if you can attitude" which does sour everything.

Offline socachynee

• goals win games
« Reply #45 on: April 27, 2011, 09:13:14 PM »
wow melody and dance moves too similar
I guess dey take a borrow