May 19, 2024, 02:44:37 PM

Author Topic: On de topic of the name "Soca Warriors"...  (Read 3146 times)

On de topic of the name "Soca Warriors"...
« on: January 09, 2006, 08:43:53 AM »
since people want to change it to "soca chutney parang pow hornerman warriors" now...i will admit that i thought the name to be quite unoriginal back in the late 90s when the name first came out.

because jamaica call their team the "reggae boyz", it seem like we follow along the same vein. i get enough horrors from mih jamaican partners for dat..."inno following we".

i prefer "Strike Squad".

Re: On de topic of the name "Soca Warriors"...
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2006, 09:04:58 AM »
since people want to change it to "soca chutney parang pow hornerman warriors" now...i will admit that i thought the name to be quite unoriginal back in the late 90s when the name first came out.

because jamaica call their team the "reggae boyz", it seem like we follow along the same vein. i get enough horrors from mih jamaican partners for dat..."inno following we".

i prefer "Strike Squad".

Well we had this conversation before... and my 2 cents was that Jamaica follow we... because we have been called unofficially in de past soca boys, calypso boys, even de netball team was calypso girls....

further to that yuh could say that everybody just copying the brazilian samba boys.....

further to that I had never like soca warriors but it grow on me....

« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2006, 09:14:49 AM »

i prefer "Strike Squad".

"Strike Squad" means one thing in Trinidad and Tobago's history -- the team captained by Clayton "JB" Morris.  Nothing else.  Let that team forever be immortalized by that name.  Is they show us that we could do it.. at least in the modera era.

From now all teams could be called the Soca Warriors, but leave the Strike Squad name alone.

« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2006, 09:35:26 AM »
:applause: end of discussion

« Reply #4 on: January 09, 2006, 09:39:36 AM »
Calypso Boys is what the Jamicans does call we team because for the most part Soca is not known by them

The Soca Warriors name will have to stay because men done make website and thing for that name it aint changing any time soon

Offline CAPITANO

• I heart zaboka
« Reply #5 on: January 09, 2006, 09:42:41 AM »
Tell dem Jamaicans tuh Haul Deh Arse

Soca Warriors iz ah Wicked name!!!

Hear nah!!  When yuh see man like Whitley, Yorke, Sancho and Latapy on the field iz not BOYZ yuh watching deh yuh know, iz FKING WARRIORS!!!

deh could keep Reggae Boyz
WE JAMMIN STILL!!!!!!

« Reply #6 on: January 09, 2006, 09:46:10 AM »
why we trini people so fukin fickle.leave the fukin name alone.

« Reply #7 on: January 09, 2006, 12:52:07 PM »
f**k Jamaica

Every team followed the example of any other team at one point naming their team after the name of their country.

So i really cpuldnt give a flying f**k.

I ball out de name Socawarriros so many times already i not stoppin now and i doubt anyone else is.

Our team that qualified for the 2006 FIFA World Cup will always be affectionately known as "The Socawarriors"

« Reply #8 on: January 09, 2006, 02:28:49 PM »
Who cares ? Its just a name...

« Reply #9 on: January 09, 2006, 02:32:06 PM »
A Rose by whatever name you call it is still a ROSE.

« Reply #10 on: February 08, 2006, 09:33:46 PM »
To be honest I always thought that with the initials TNT we coulda use the explosive element to we benefit when naming the warriors, but after POS start exploding every month I decide I go put that idea under raps  ;)

Offline Warrior Prince

« Reply #11 on: February 08, 2006, 10:22:20 PM »
the name is perfect it captures our land SOCA WARRIORS ALL D WAYY........
T-&-T!  #1 one Team in The WORLDDDDDDD

« Reply #12 on: February 09, 2006, 09:12:14 AM »
The name was crap because we of all countries, are not warriors...we doh fight, we is party..

But Maximus Dan changed it all with D SONG !! Now is the baddest name EVA !!

I AM A SOCA WARRIOR...

Offline 1-868

• Haters love me
« Reply #13 on: February 09, 2006, 09:16:42 AM »
I find we should have been called the Tollum , or Chillibebe Warriors..  or even the Long Mango warriors
Phenomenal, lovely atmosphere.

« Reply #14 on: February 09, 2006, 09:40:13 AM »
For our 1990 TEAM it was : Strike Squad
For our 2006 Team it is : Soca Warriors

and for or 2010 we will have another pertinenet name that suits the team. Each squad should have their own identity, making its mark in history, we doh have to follow everybody else and remain with the same name every 4-years. Each squad will be unique in its own right !!!

« Reply #15 on: February 09, 2006, 09:51:36 AM »
yeah like de TNT Renegades............You heard it first from me ah go copywrite that one ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #16 on: February 09, 2006, 05:26:01 PM »
I think if we should ever change the name (god forbid) ;D it should be something simple as The RED, WHITE and BLACK! (RWB) or maybe TnT Warriors! or for kicks TnT Footers!  :)

Offline pioneertrini

« Reply #17 on: February 09, 2006, 05:40:36 PM »
The Red Warriors  ;D