General => General Discussion => Topic started by: truetrini on July 07, 2012, 09:26:02 PM

Title: Afghan Taliban publicly execute woman accused of adultery; men cheer
Post by: truetrini on July 07, 2012, 09:26:02 PM
http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/48105731/ns/world_news-south_and_central_asia/#.T_j9IfXhfOM

Allah U Akbar...yeah God is great indeed.

By Hamid Shalizi and Amie Ferris-Rotman
updated 7/7/2012 1:55:12 PM ET

Print
    Font:

KABUL — A man Afghan officials say is a member of the Taliban shot dead a woman accused of adultery in front of a crowd near Kabul, a video obtained by Reuters showed, a sign that the austere Islamist group dictates law even near the Afghan capital.

In the three-minute video, a turban-clad man approaches a woman kneeling in the dirt and shoots her five times at close range with an automatic rifle, to cheers of jubilation from the 150 or so men watching in a village in Parwan province.

"Allah warns us not to get close to adultery because it's the wrong way," another man says as the shooter gets closer to the woman. "It is the order of Allah that she be executed".

Provincial Governor Basir Salangi said the video, obtained on Saturday, was shot a week ago in the village of Qimchok in Shinwari district, about an hour's drive from Kabul.

Such rare public punishment was a painful reminder to Afghan authorities of the Taliban's 1996-2001 period in power, and it raised concern about the treatment of Afghan women 11 years into the NATO-led war against Taliban insurgents.

The video was revealed the same day Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton was in Kabul to discuss the designation of Afghanistan as the newest U.S. "major non-NATO ally," a political statement of support for the country's long-term stability and a solidifying of close defense cooperation after American combat troops withdraw in 2014.
Story: US delivers 'powerful commitment' to Afghanistan

"When I saw this video, I closed my eyes ... The woman was not guilty; the Taliban are guilty," Salangi told Reuters.
Advertise | AdChoices

When the unnamed woman, most of her body tightly wrapped in a shawl, fell sideways after being shot several times in the head, the spectators chanted: "Long live the Afghan mujahideen! (Islamist fighters)", a name the Taliban use for themselves.

The Taliban could not be reached for comment.

Despite the presence of over 130,000 foreign troops and 300,000 Afghan soldiers and police, the Taliban have managed to resurge beyond their traditional bastions of the south and east, extending their reach into once more peaceful areas like Parwan.

Afghan women have won back basic rights in education, voting and work since the Taliban, who deemed them un-Islamic for women, were toppled by U.S.-backed Afghan forces in late 2001.

But fears are rising among Afghan women, some lawmakers and rights activists that such freedoms could be traded away as the Afghan government and the United States pursue talks with the Taliban to secure a peaceful end to the war.

Violence against women has increased sharply in the past year, according to Afghanistan's independent human rights commission. Activists say there is waning interest in women's rights on the part of President Hamid Karzai's government.

"After 10 years (of foreign intervention), and only a few kilometers from Kabul... how could this happen in front of all these people?" female lawmaker Fawzia Koofi said of the public execution in Parwan.
Afghanistan schoolgirls: poisoned or mass hysteria?

"This is happening under a government that claims to have made so much progress in women's rights, claims to have changed women's lives, and this is unacceptable. It is a huge step backwards," said Koofi, a campaigner for girls' education who wants to run in the 2014 presidential election.

Salangi said two Taliban commanders were sexually involved with the woman in Parwan, either through rape or romantically, and decided to torture her and then kill her to settle a dispute between the two of them.

"They are outlaws, murderers, and like savages they killed the woman," he said, adding that the Taliban exerted considerable sway in his province.

Earlier this week a 30-year-old woman and two of her children were beheaded in eastern Afghanistan by a man police said was her divorced husband, the latest of a string of so-called "honor killings".

Some Afghans still refer to Taliban courts for settling disputes, viewing government bodies as corrupt or unreliable. The courts use sharia (Islamic law), which prescribes punishments such as stonings and executions.
Title: Re: Afghan Taliban publicly execute woman accused of adultery; men cheer
Post by: just cool on July 08, 2012, 04:05:08 AM
Not this sh!t again! do you ever get tired??

we get it, yuh hate religion, especially dem backward desert ppl with the turbans. now please bring something new to the table.  :yellowcard:
Post by: truetrini on July 08, 2012, 07:48:48 AM
I guess it is only highly.intelligent, widely read and traveled persons like.you who find them progressive, just and humane.  people with smarts like.you who embrace them and find them modern people who.contribute much to society today.

and why de f**k you eh write BBC and ask dem to being something new to the table?

who hates more than religious peoples?
Post by: pecan on July 08, 2012, 07:54:23 AM
TT might have a point but one might argue that he is confusing Religion and Faith and furthermore, falls into the 'stereotyping' trap with his prejudices.  i.e. he paints all religions with the same brush. Is the religion that those Taliban practice the same as other religions? In my religion I can assure you that we certainly don't run around executing adulterers (although we do have our faults, not unlike other theists or atheists for that matter). And btw, is not God doing the execution, it is a bunch of misogynistic men who misinterpret  (or choose to) the scriptures.

Makes you wonder why he hates religion so much.  :thinking:  Certainly, much evil has been done in the name of religion. But likewise, much evil have been done in the name of non-religious social constructs. If you look closely, the common variable is mankind's inherent short comings.

TT confusing cause and effect with correlation.
Post by: truetrini on July 08, 2012, 08:38:00 AM
you feel you can speak for what I believe our understand?

steups.

religion..all religion is shit.

that is an universal truth
Post by: pecan on July 08, 2012, 08:42:33 AM

steups.

and that statement is unadulterated nonsense.

and no, I cant speak for what you believe and understand and furthermore,  and I not even trying to do that. Your hatred is so strong you can't see the forest from the trees but I can observe and draw my own conclusions.

you have major issues with religion, and that is a universal truth.

Post by: pecan on July 08, 2012, 08:43:52 AM
Blame this on religion too ...

Afghan schoolgirls mystery sickness: Poison or mass hysteria?
Published on Friday July 06, 2012

SHAH MARAI/AFP/GETTY IMAGES An Afghan schoolgirl receives treatment at a hospital in Kabul in August 2010. Cases of alleged poisoning of Afghan schoolgirls by Taliban insurgents regularly make headlines, but there are signs that a phenomenon known as "mass hysteria" could be responsible.
Liam Casey
Staff Reporter
5 Comments

Hundreds of schoolgirls have been wailing, vomiting and fainting in northern Afghanistan over the past few months.

No one has died from the mysterious illness and most recover within a day or two. This is the fourth straight year the illness has afflicted Afghan girls in the northern provinces although there has been a dramatic spike in 2012 — 858 cases reported in the first five months alone compared to 119 last year.

The provincial governments and Kabul say the girls are being poisoned by the Taliban, or Pakistani spies, because they are attending school — something that was forbidden during the Taliban rule in the 1990s. The radical group has denied any involvement.

But the World Health Organization believes it has found the cause: mass hysteria, or, in medical parlance, mass psychogenic illness (MPI).

“In the last four years over 1,634 cases from 22 schools have been treated for mass psychogenic illness in Afghanistan,” says a report from the WHO in late May.

Locals and the government vehemently disagree.

“Girls are being poisoned,” said Nargis Nehan, with Equality for Peace and Democracy, from Kabul. “It’s that simple. There must be something in the water or air that is making these girls sick.”

Neither the World Health Organization nor local officials have found evidence of poison. Tests on the girls have come back negative in all 1,634 cases, according to the WHO report. And no teachers or boys have become sick.

“Hundreds of girls are getting sick, physically sick and have to be taken to the hospital,” said Manizha Naderi, executive director with New York-based Women for Afghan Women. “How can that be mass hysteria?”

Mass hysteria manifests itself in physical symptoms and is a legitimate illness, according to Julio Arboleda-Florez, a psychiatry and epidemiology professor at Queen’s University. But it’s hard to get that message across.

“People have trouble accepting this diagnosis because people aren’t very psychologically sophisticated,” Arboleda-Florez said.

Mass hysteria is a well-documented phenomenon. The professor studied an episode in the West Bank in which nearly 1,000 school girls felt nauseous and fainted. It came during the threat of chemical warfare from Israel.

“There is usually a tremendous amount of anxiety that leads to mass hysteria,” Arboleda-Florez said. “It’s a social behaviour that is often correlated with war and mass hysteria that happens when someone is completely overcome and cannot control their environment.”

. It often happens in war-torn countries where there are legitimate fears — such as the threat of poisoning in Kosovo in 1990, when thousands of girls suffered from burning red eyes and chest pain. It affected almost exclusively ethnic Albanians during the deadly civil war. But no traces of poison were ever found in the patients.

“This is all based on anxiety, and I mean extreme anxiety, where there are real, plausible threats,” said Robert Bartholomew, a sociology professor from Botany College in Auckland, who has studied the phenomenon. “The fact that schoolgirls have been targeted in the past by the Taliban only serves to give credence to the rumours of a potential poison attack.”

Strangely, the Afghan government arrested 15 people in May, said to be responsible for the poisonings. Seven more were arrested for a different episode on Tuesday. Two of those suspects were trotted out to speak to the BBC, admitting they poisoned girls. An intelligence officer directed every response by the accused.

The illnesses occur in clusters. More than 100 girls from Bibi Hajerah High School in the northern Takhar province went to the hospital after becoming weak, nauseous and dizzy in May. There have been similar-sized outbreaks at other schools in the north this year. Many girls said they smelled an awful stench immediately before falling ill.

“Generally, one person gets sick and then it’s like dominoes,” Bartholomew said. “And what’s interesting is that everyone’s symptoms are similar.”

Mass hysteria overtook Le Roy, N.Y. in January when 18 teenage girls, one boy and a 36-year-old woman came down with tics, spasms and fainting spells, although experts agree it’s a little more complicated because there’s no war in Le Roy.

Related:Erin Brockovich probes high school girls’ mystery illness

But in Afghanistan, many of the girls who have recovered haven’t returned to school. The fear is real, Rumours that girls who’ve gotten ill can’t have children aren’t helping matters.

“Now people think that their girls who have gotten sick can’t have children and their lives are ruined, so parents are keeping their girls home,” Naderi said.

Psychotherapy won’t work, but the solution is simple.

“It’s a social ailment,” Arboleda-Florez said. “They just need to get away from their environment and the stress. And a hospital is a good place to do that.”
Post by: truetrini on July 08, 2012, 08:54:21 AM
while atrocities are committed by atheists and other non religious peoples,the real question is why are similar atrocities committed in the name of religion?

Science has done more for humanity than religion!

Universal Declaration of Human rights by UN as Article-19 says, "Everyone has the right to freedom of opinion & expression; this right includes freedom to hold opinions without interference & to seek, receive & impart information & ideas through any media & regardless of frontiers"

Religion doh foster that Universal Declaration.

I have absolutely no problem with any man deciding that he wants to follow some mythology and live his life under religious dictates.

I have faith in Gravity.

ALL RELIGION is mass hysteria.
Post by: truetrini on July 08, 2012, 09:12:37 AM
Morocco sex debate rages after imam's death call
AFPBy Omar Brouksy | AFP – 5 hrs ago

Email
    Print

Related Content

Faithfuls listen to Imam Omar Kzabri on the esplanade of the Hassan II mosque during the Tarawih prayers as part of the Muslim holy month of Ramadan in Casablanca on August 29, 2009. (AFP Photo/Abdelhak Senna)

Faithfuls listen to Imam Omar Kzabri …
    An actress performs a scene from the play "Vagina Monologues" written by Eve Ensler and directed by Naďma Zitane, in Rabat on June 16. Morocco's debate on sexual freedom was rekindled with the opening last month of the play in Rabat. (AFP Photo/Alice Dufour-Ferance)

An actress performs a scene from …

The call by a radical Moroccan imam for the death of a journalist who spoke out in defence of sexual freedom has ignited a fierce debate between Islamists and secularists in a country torn between modernity and religious tradition.

Abdellah Nhari, an imam in the northeastern Oujda region, who is well known for his controversial pronouncements, declared in a recent sermon that Elmokhtar Laghzioui was a "dayoute," or cuckold in colloquial Arabic, and that in Islam "the 'dayoute' should be killed."

Nhari was reacting to Laghzioui's remarks, on a satellite television channel, indicating that he supported personal, and in particular sexual freedom, even in the case of one's "mother or sister."

Around 100 journalists held a sit-in on Thursday outside the headquarters of the newspaper in Casablanca where Laghzioui works, to protest against Nhari's comments, denounce "terrorism in the name of religion," and voice their support for freedom of expression.

The imam has since insisted that his words, which were swiftly disseminated by social networks and the local press, did not amount to calling for the death of the journalist.

But the public prosecutor in Oujda has ordered a judicial inquiry into the case, fuelling the debate on sexual freedom that was rekindled with the opening last month of a theatre production in Rabat openly supporting freedom for women.

The production was a Moroccan adaptation of "The Vagina Monologues," an award-winning play by US author Eve Ensler that celebrates female sexuality and focuses on the abuses women suffer.

The mostly secular defenders of sexual freedom in Morocco want to see the abolition of article 490 of the penal code, which stipulates a prison sentence of one year and one month for anyone caught having extra-marital sex.

In reality, sex outside marriage is common in Morocco and largely tolerated, with unmarried couples behaving discreetly.

"I don't understand why the state sets itself up, through this article, as the champion of chastity while claiming to have a democratic constitution," Zineb El Rhazoui, founder of a civil society group promoting individual liberty, told AFP.

"The reluctance to decriminalise extra-marital sex amounts to an admission of hypocrisy both by the state and society," the activist said.

Khadija Ryadi, who heads the Moroccan human rights association, agrees that the law is an anomaly.

"We know that sexual relations outside marriage are common in Morocco. The fact that all that is hidden encourages abuse, and attacks on individual liberty," she said.

For their part, the Islamists continue to denounce calls for sexual freedom outside marriage.

Attajdid, the newspaper of Morocco's ruling Party of Justice and Development (PJD), has weighed in on the debate repeatedly, denouncing the sophistry of the liberals.

"There is an intellectual terrorism being exercised against the Islamists to prevent them from communicating their point of view with respect to art and creation," the Islamist daily complained in an editorial last month.

Secular movements "use provocation and permissiveness in their calculations... in order to attack the Islamist movements," it added.

El Moukri Abouzeid, an MP and PJD member, made the point more bluntly.

"Any sexual act outside marriage is considered an act of debauchery, a crime.

"The permissive philosophies, which were born in Europe, have they improved social and family relations there? I don't think so," he said.
Post by: pecan on July 08, 2012, 12:12:20 PM
while atrocities are committed by atheists and other non religious peoples,the real question is why are similar atrocities committed in the name of religion?

because the reasons that drive deplorable behaviours are independent of religion. Religion is simply a tool that is used by such people.  If they were not religious, they would use a different tool.

Universal Declaration of Human rights by UN as Article-19 says, "Everyone has the right to freedom of opinion & expression; this right includes freedom to hold opinions without interference & to seek, receive & impart information & ideas through any media & regardless of frontiers"

go ahead and quote the UN, an organization that has lost its way.   In any event, your statement doh hold for all religions, at least not for mind. I only have to find one example to render your statement false.

and who are the founders of the best universities and scientific institutions?  go look up the history of Harvard, Yale, Princeton, Oxfor, Cambridge etc.; all with religious foundations. Yes there was divergence in later years, but one can argue that without the research framework and discipline instituted by religion institutions, science would have been slower in developing.

what about music and architecture? all driven by religion. the knowledge acquired in building the great cathedrals of Europe represent breakthrough in scientific know-how.

I have absolutely no problem with any man deciding that he wants to follow some mythology and live his life under religious dictates.

I have faith in Gravity.

hmmm, yet you condemn anyone who holds a religious view at every opportunity. That contradicts your assertion about having "no problem"

Gravity ... ha ha. Isaac Newton "was, as considered by others within his own lifetime, an insightful and erudite theologian".  Go figure.

and you could find mass hysteria outside religion too. Sports, entertainment, politics etc. etc.
Post by: truetrini on July 08, 2012, 12:55:00 PM

because the reasons that drive deplorable behaviours are independent of religion. Religion is simply a tool that is used by such people.  If they were not religious, they would use a different tool.

go ahead and quote the UN, an organization that has lost its way.   In any event, your statement doh hold for all religions, at least not for mind. I only have to find one example to render your statement false.

and who are the founders of the best universities and scientific institutions?  go look up the history of Harvard, Yale, Princeton, Oxfor, Cambridge etc.; all with religious foundations. Yes there was divergence in later years, but one can argue that without the research framework and discipline instituted by religion institutions, science would have been slower in developing.

what about music and architecture? all driven by religion. the knowledge acquired in building the great cathedrals of Europe represent breakthrough in scientific know-how.

I have faith in Gravity.

hmmm, yet you condemn anyone who holds a religious view at every opportunity. That contradicts your assertion about having "no problem"

Gravity ... ha ha. Isaac Newton "was, as considered by others within his own lifetime, an insightful and erudite theologian".  Go figure.

and you could find mass hysteria outside religion too. Sports, entertainment, politics etc. etc.

ahhmmmm let me set you straight.   Theologian versus Christian...know the difference?  Professor Newton was not much of a Christian when he disputed the existence of the Trinity!   You are quick to google and seek to discredit me, but you should have read more than the first line of Wiki or wherever you got your information!

Rewind on Newton!   He was a heretic by all standards and while he did believe in a "God."  It is NOT the God you believe in, so doh be too hurry to embrace him   lol  too funny.  Anyway I said I had faith in Gravity not Newton!   steups...weak ass lame ass analogy you use anyway!

Religious people use their belief in their God (s) who by all standards are good, and just to do horrible things....!  You and others can keep your faith in man made gods and organizations called churches.   It is kinda ironic that you invoke mass hysteria, I never referred to religious beliefs as such, but I note your doubt...lol  again too funny.

And yes I concede that educational institutions, indeed some of the very best in this world were created by religious men.   Take a good look at them now and see what role religion plays in their movement forward!  Once we emerged from darkness to light religion and its mind control was left behind!  Go google again.  I see that you have already given up ground claiming divergence...institutions set up to teach religion and to educate religious workers and clergy have morphed..into a greater good...ask yourself why?   Had they remained religious we would still be thinking the earth was flat and the sun goes around the earth!

Puhleeze!

I have no fight with men who want to engage in formal or ceremonious rendering of such honor and homage to man created figments of imaginations.  There is no condemnation only pity.
Post by: truetrini on July 08, 2012, 01:14:29 PM
According to most scholars, Newton was Arian, not holding to Trinitarianism.[9][22][23] 'In Newton's eyes, worshipping Christ as God was idolatry, to him the fundamental sin'.[24]

As well as being antitrinitarian, Newton allegedly rejected the orthodox doctrines of the immortal soul,[9] a personal devil and literal demons.[9] Although he was not a Socinian he shared many similar beliefs with them.[9] A manuscript he sent to John Locke in which he disputed the existence of the Trinity was never published.

In a minority view, T.C. Pfizenmaier argued Newton was neither "orthodox" nor an Arian,[25] but that, rather, Newton believed both of these groups had wandered into metaphysical speculation.[26] Pfizenmaier also argued that Newton held closer to the Eastern Orthodox view of the Trinity rather than the Western one held by Roman Catholics and Protestants.[26] However, S. D. Snobelen has argued against this from manuscripts produced late in Newton's life which demonstrate Newton rejected the Eastern view of the Trinity.[9]

Newton refused viaticum before his death.[8]
Post by: just cool on July 08, 2012, 04:34:40 PM
I guess it is only highly.intelligent, widely read and traveled persons like.you who find them progressive, just and humane.  people with smarts like.you who embrace them and find them modern people who.contribute much to society today.

and why de f**k you eh write BBC and ask dem to being something new to the table?

Goes to show how much you know bout me, talking all that subjective slop. as ah matter of fact, i think that the arabs are some of the most atrocious backward uncivilized ppl on the planet, and collectively, i also find them to be repulsive racist and extremely unaccommodating, but does that mean justice should evade them for their obvious short comings??

TT you have a reactionary mind set, and more than often takes things @ face value. you tend to believe that if ppl don't measure up to "modern day" western standards, then they are barbaric, fine! but don't deny ppl their humanity bc they don't measure up to the expectations of the west.

i also think it's unfair to blame this on the religion of islam (of which you know very very little of), since the quran never instruct muslims to kill adulterers, but rather "scourge them with 100 lashes"! for yrs muslims lived in the Mideast and africa as constructive members of society and pioneers of science and technology.

the glory days of bagdad, where great minds got together in the study of science astronomy, medicine, engineering mathematics and many more, while western europe was in their darkest ages was never mentioned in the "history books!

the muslims were the ones who went to spain and made it livable while they were oppressed under the Visigoths, spain was the spare headers in european architecture, and you should ask yuhself why.

right now these arabs not following their book, bc if they did, they would not be seen in this negative light. all this killing for adultery, and stoning came out of hadith, and we all know that when muhammad died there was no such book as the hadith, and it's also a known fact that more than half those hadith are fabricated.

muhammad ibn wahab also didn't help, he was the one who brought this religious zealots to the forefront in the 1800s with his hard line approach, but what will you know bout that? you will have to google it in order to keep up.
Post by: just cool on July 08, 2012, 04:59:11 PM

I have faith in Gravity.

This is a very ignorant statement!

science has not always been productive and human friendly. i could also point out the obvious short comings of science. like the atomic bomb, high tech weaponry, napalm, cocaine, xanax, zoloft, phen phen, Prozac ridlin, global warming, deforestation, wild life extinction, a failing eco system, air and water pollution, animal cruelty in labs, and god knows how many Tuskegee experiments went on in the name of science that we're not aware of.

as for science and religion, there are religions that champion science, while there are atheist who claim to be scientifically oriented , but nothing could be farther from the truth. there are scientist on the other hand who are born again christians and devout muslims, like in iran, iraq and saudi arabia, IMO you painting with a silly broad brush guy.
Post by: truetrini on July 08, 2012, 05:00:17 PM
They are a backward and horrible people. You cannot teach me anything about Wahhabism either.  No need to google it breds.  But Wahabism is not the only radical form of Islam.

Mohammad created a demon..get used to that FACT!
Post by: just cool on July 08, 2012, 05:07:11 PM

I have faith in Gravity.

Nonsense! That have squat to do with science, as ah matter of fact, that is ah democratic declaration, which have zilch to do with the scientific community. 

remember stalin and lennin were atheist, and they did championed science and out law religion, and as you well know, they didn't adhere to these principles. as a matter of fact, they were the two biggest murderers in modern times, and they also were the biggest oppressors, just ask ther checz, matter of fact, the whole eastern block, and they did it all in the name of science and communism.
Post by: truetrini on July 08, 2012, 05:13:31 PM
If yuo ever read the communist manifesto you would shut up.  Stalin and Lenin championed control of the people.  Communism is a religion!

Karl Marx was not an athiest, he was pretty ambivalent towards religion called it Opium of the people.

Lenin despised religion
Post by: just cool on July 08, 2012, 05:23:26 PM
had they been religious they still would have been thinking the earth was flat, and the sun goes round the earth.

bred, almost a thousand yrs ago ibn arabi was talking about the heavenly bodies as being were spherecal. .....aahhhmmmmm..... and ibn arabi was a very religious scientist and a sage. 

he also spoke of our solar system having more than 8 planets, and only recently they (the scientific community) discovered that there were nine and counting.

1400 yrs ago in the quran, it is stated that GOD created the samawati wal arz ( the sky and the earth) and the arz moves in an orbit, abnd so does the samma (sun) and the scientific community only just found out that the sun moves in and orbit, yes the big smart atheist believed that the sun stood still up until 20 yrs ago, and the muslims knew this 1400 yrs ago, goes to show how smart these scientific minds are.
Post by: just cool on July 08, 2012, 05:28:10 PM
Pecan, please bro, we've been through this with this man before! all he's doing is recycling these arguments.

he is like them big atheist close minded fellas, and even if yuh bring real evidence that they are off the mark, they will find a way to wiggle their way out. that's bc they not really taking a neutral stand, matter of fact, they are just as religious in their beliefs, like the rest of us theist, and even more so adamant!
Post by: truetrini on July 08, 2012, 05:29:11 PM
had they been religious they still would have been thinking the earth was flat, and the sun goes round the earth.

bred, almost a thousand yrs ago ibn arabi was talking about the heavenly bodies being were spherecal. .....aahhhmmmmm..... and ibn arabi was a very religious scientist and a sage. 

he also spoke of our solar system having more than 8 planets, and only recently they (the scientific community) discovered that there were nine and counting.

1400 yrs ago in the quran, it is stated that GOD created the samawati wal arz ( the sky and the earth) and the arz moves in an orbit, abnd so does the samma (sun) and the scientific community only just found out that the sun moves in and orbit, yes the big smart atheist believed that the sun stood still up until 20 yrs ago, and the muslims knew this 1400 yrs ago, goes to show how smart these scientific minds are.

All this Bullshit about Koran with what was already widely known all over the world at that time..nothing new fella you may get tied up with that, but as I said I know a wee bit about History and all you say was ALREADY common knowledge at the time.

Koran was written well after what I said about the earth being flat!

Doh go looking for allies when I cutting allyuh asss

Post by: just cool on July 08, 2012, 05:49:55 PM

bred, almost a thousand yrs ago ibn arabi was talking about the heavenly bodies being were spherecal. .....aahhhmmmmm..... and ibn arabi was a very religious scientist and a sage. 

All this Bullshit about Koran with what was already widely known all over the world at that time..nothing new fella you may get tied up with that, but as I said I know a wee bit about History and all you say was ALREADY common knowledge at the time.

Breds, it seems to me that you would do anything to prove a point. i only referred to this bc you was talking bout issac newton, and only when pican told you that newton and all the big ivey league institutions of learning had religious beginnings, you then said "had they stayed on that course then they would still be thinking the earth was flat".

i in turn called you on that and showed where there were religious ppl who was championing science and already knew the earth was spherical as earlry as 1000 yrs ago, even the quran spoke about the heavenly bodies as being spherical and having obits, and you had the nerve to make this sick come back about the quran was written yrs after when ppl believed the world was flat and that knowledge was all over the earth already?? bro yuhs ah real dangerous fella!

FYI, in the 1300s europeans believed that the earth was flat hence the reason columbus was a hero. the quran on the other hand was in existence in 630s, so how could you say that the quaran came after when folks were already privy/ knowledgeable about this fact?  :rotfl:

next thing you will tell me is that ppl already knew that the sun orbited the galaxy back then, when the scientific community only became aware of this in contemporary times. stuuueeepppssss!   you in denial fella
Post by: truetrini on July 08, 2012, 05:56:46 PM
So yuh does a pack of assness!   Long before the Koran man was talkign about a spherical earth in fact Aristotle stated that the earth was a sphere and that was a common thought based on empirical evidence.  And that was around 300 or so BC

That thoguht spread anywhere the Greeks and dem went including to the Middle East

Yuh is a backward bamsee..yuh eh ready for me.
Post by: Bakes on July 08, 2012, 05:59:23 PM
I don't even know why you fellas does let truetrini troll allyuh like this. When it comes to religion, particularly Islam, truetrini is like that fella who used to claim Troy Marquis was the best goalkeeper ever in Trinidad.
Post by: truetrini on July 08, 2012, 06:01:59 PM
In The Histories, written 431–425 BC, Herodotus doubts a report of the sun observed shining from the north. This arises when discussing the circumnavigation of Africa undertaken by Phoenicians under Necho II c. 610–595 BC. (The Histories, 4.42) when they reported that they had the sun on their right when circumnavigating in a clockwise direction. For modern historians this confirms the truth of their report.

Plato (427–347 BC) travelled to southern Italy to study Pythagorean mathematics. When he returned to Athens and established his school, Plato also taught his students that Earth was a sphere though he offered no justifications. If man could soar high above the clouds, Earth would resemble "one of those balls which have leather coverings in twelve pieces, and is decked with various colours, of which the colours used by painters on earth are in a manner samples." [15] In Timaeus, his one work that was available throughout the Middle Ages in Latin, we read that the Creator "made the world in the form of a globe, round as from a lathe, having its extremes in every direction equidistant from the centre, the most perfect and the most like itself of all figures",[16] though the word "world" normally refers to the universe.

Aristotle (384–322 BC) was Plato's prize student and "the mind of the school." Aristotle observed "there are stars seen in Egypt and [...] Cyprus which are not seen in the northerly regions." Since this could only happen on a curved surface, he too believed Earth was a sphere "of no great size, for otherwise the effect of so slight a change of place would not be quickly apparent." (De caelo, 298a2–10)

Aristotle provided physical and observational arguments supporting the idea of a spherical Earth:

Every portion of the Earth tends toward the center until by compression and convergence they form a sphere. (De caelo, 297a9–21)
    Travelers going south see southern constellations rise higher above the horizon; and
    The shadow of Earth on the Moon during a lunar eclipse is round. (De caelo, 297b31–298a10).

The concepts of symmetry, equilibrium and cyclic repetition permeated Aristotle's work. In his Meteorology he divided the world into five climatic zones: two temperate areas separated by a torrid zone near the equator, and two cold inhospitable regions, "one near our upper or northern pole and the other near the ... southern pole," both impenetrable and girdled with ice (Meteorologica, 362a31–35). Although no humans could survive in the frigid zones, inhabitants in the southern temperate regions could exist.

Eratosthenes (276–194 BC) estimated Earth's circumference around 240 BC. He had heard that in Syene the Sun was directly overhead at the summer solstice whereas in Alexandria it still cast a shadow. Using the differing angles the shadows made as the basis of his trigonometric calculations he estimated a circumference of around 250,000 stades. The length of a 'stade' is not precisely known, but Eratosthenes' figure only has an error of around five to fifteen percent.[17][18][19] Eratosthenes used rough estimates and round numbers, but depending on the length of the stadion, his result is within a margin of between 2% and 20% of the actual meridional circumference, 40,008 kilometres (24,860 mi). Note that Eratosthenes could only measure the circumference of the Earth by assuming that the distance to the Sun is so great that the rays of sunlight are essentially parallel.

Seleucus of Seleucia (c. 190 BC), who lived in the Seleucia region of Mesopotamia, stated that the Earth is spherical (and actually orbits the Sun, influenced by the heliocentric theory of Aristarchus of Samos).

Posidonius (c. 135 – 51 BC) put faith in Eratosthenes's method, though by observing the star Canopus, rather than the sun in establishing the Earth's circumference. In Ptolemy's Geographia, his result was favoured over that of Erastosthenes. Posidonius furthermore expressed the distance of the sun in earth radii.

Claudius Ptolemy (90–168 AD) lived in Alexandria, the centre of scholarship in the 2nd century. In the Almagest, which remained the standard work of astronomy for 1,400 years, he advanced many arguments for the sphericity of the Earth. Among them was the observation that when sailing towards mountains, they seem to rise from the sea, indicating that they were hidden by the curved surface of the sea. He also gives separate arguments that the Earth is curved north-south and that it is curved east-west.[24]

He also produced an eight-volume Geographia dealing with the earth. The first part of the Geographia is a discussion of the data and of the methods he used. As with the model of the solar system in the Almagest, Ptolemy put all this information into a grand scheme. He assigned coordinates to all the places and geographic features he knew, in a grid that spanned the globe (although most of this has been lost). Latitude was measured from the equator, as it is today, but Ptolemy preferred to express it as the length of the longest day rather than degrees of arc (the length of the midsummer day increases from 12h to 24h as you go from the equator to the polar circle). He put the meridian of 0 longitude at the most western land he knew, the Canary Islands.

Geographia indicated the countries of "Serica" and "Sinae" (China) at the extreme right, beyond the island of "Taprobane" (Sri Lanka, oversized) and the "Aurea Chersonesus" (Southeast Asian peninsula).

Ptolemy also devised and provided instructions on how to create maps both of the whole inhabited world (oikoumenč) and of the Roman provinces. In the second part of the Geographia he provided the necessary topographic lists, and captions for the maps. His oikoumenč spanned 180 degrees of longitude from the Canary Islands in the Atlantic Ocean to China, and about 81 degrees of latitude from the Arctic to the East Indies and deep into Africa. Ptolemy was well aware that he knew about only a quarter of the globe.

NOT ONE OF THOSE FELLAS WAS ARABIC
Post by: truetrini on July 08, 2012, 06:02:10 PM
I don't even know why you fellas does let truetrini troll allyuh like this. When it comes to religion, particularly Islam, truetrini is like that fella who used to claim Troy Marquis was the best goalkeeper ever in Trinidad.

stay out nah   ;)  yuh trying to say that Troy was not de best goalkeeper T&T produced?
Post by: truetrini on July 08, 2012, 06:02:46 PM
With the rise of Greek culture in the east, Hellenistic astronomy filtered eastwards to ancient India where its profound influence became apparent in the early centuries AD.[26] The Greek concept of a spherical earth surrounded by the spheres of planets, vehemently supported by astronomers like Varahamihira and Brahmagupta, supplanted the long-standing Indian cosmological belief in a flat and circular earth disk.[26][27] The works of the classical Indian astronomer and mathematician, Aryabhata (476–550 AD), deal with the sphericity of the Earth and the motion of the planets. The final two parts of his Sanskrit magnum opus, the Aryabhatiya, which were named the Kalakriya ("reckoning of time") and the Gola ("sphere"), state that the Earth is spherical and that its circumference is 4,967 yojanas, which in modern units yields 39,968 km, close to the value already calculated by Eratosthenes in the 3rd century BC.[28] Aryabhata also stated that the apparent rotation of the celestial objects was due to the actual rotation of the Earth. The Aryabhatiya in turn influenced medieval Islamic scholarship.

Post by: truetrini on July 08, 2012, 06:03:21 PM
Islam is a mish mash and a copy from other religions just as Judaism is...them fellas was trying to create nations dais all.
Post by: just cool on July 08, 2012, 06:10:48 PM
So yuh does a pack of assness!   Long before the Koran man was talkign about a spherical earth in fact Aristotle stated that the earth was a sphere and that was a common thought based on empirical evidence.  And that was around 300 or so BC

That thoguht spread anywhere the Greeks and dem went including to the Middle East

Yeh but your hypocritcal arse was not taking bout the ancient greeks, so that was totally irrelivant ! we were clearly talking bout the dark ages all the way to the european renneiense and beyond, hence the reason i mentioned the quran.

we were talking bout the direction of the church, and you said, had the institutions of learning was to continue in the way of religion "then the earth as we know it would still be flat"!

you just don't want to admit yuh was wrong, and yuh don't want tuh give no religious figure any accolades, so stay livin in yuh own head fella!
Post by: truetrini on July 08, 2012, 06:14:18 PM

Yeh but your hypocritcal arse was not taking bout the ancient greeks, so that was totally irrelivant ! we were clearly talking bout the dark ages all the way to the european renneiense and beyond, hence the reason i mentioned the quran.

we were talking bout the direction of the church, and you said, had the institutions of learning was to continue in the way of religion "then the earth as we know it would still be flat"!

you just don't want to admit yuh was wrong, and yuh don't want tuh give no religious figure any accolades, so stay livin in yuh own head fella!

Bullshit, is like your brain facking sorf???   

Then you said this shit" 
i in turn called you on that and showed where there were religious ppl who was championing science and already knew the earth was spherical as earlry as 1000 yrs ago, even the quran spoke about the heavenly bodies as being spherical and having obits, and you had the nerve to make this sick come back about the quran was written yrs after when ppl believed the world was flat and that knowledge was all over the earth already?? bro yuhs ah real dangerous fella!
[/color]

Then I respponded to correct yuh dim witted ass:

Post by: just cool on July 08, 2012, 06:16:46 PM
With the rise of Greek culture in the east, Hellenistic astronomy filtered eastwards to ancient India where its profound influence became apparent in the early centuries AD.[26] The Greek concept of a spherical earth surrounded by the spheres of planets, vehemently supported by astronomers like Varahamihira and Brahmagupta, supplanted the long-standing Indian cosmological belief in a flat and circular earth disk.[26][27] The works of the classical Indian astronomer and mathematician, Aryabhata (476–550 AD), deal with the sphericity of the Earth and the motion of the planets. The final two parts of his Sanskrit magnum opus, the Aryabhatiya, which were named the Kalakriya ("reckoning of time") and the Gola ("sphere"), state that the Earth is spherical and that its circumference is 4,967 yojanas, which in modern units yields 39,968 km, close to the value already calculated by Eratosthenes in the 3rd century BC.[28] Aryabhata also stated that the apparent rotation of the celestial objects was due to the actual rotation of the Earth. The Aryabhatiya in turn influenced medieval Islamic scholarship.

I just have one question fuh yuh. how come the arab scientist and astronomers knew that the SUN ORBITED THE GALAXY AND THE GREEKS DIDN'T, IF THEY WERE TRULY INFLUENCED AND TAUGHT BY THE GREEKS, THEN WHY DIDN'T THE GREEKS KNOW IT?

even modern day scientist had no clue of the sun movements until quite recently.
Post by: truetrini on July 08, 2012, 06:21:01 PM
Fella you talking a pack of assness agin..I doh have time to keep educating you when you believe all the shit you read from fake ass so called Islamic scholars with agendas.

There ius NUTTEN scientific in the Koran!  Nutten   

It is quite true that today we know that the moon revolves around the earth, yet the Quran did not. The Quran implies that the moon travels in a similar orbit along side the sun, whereas the earth is remaining stationary, a gross error.

Quran teaches that the sun travels to one end of space and returns back to its resting place. According to the Quran, that resting place is a muddy spring within the earth!

The Qur'an nowhere speaks about an orbit of the sun in the universe, it always speaks about the orbit of the sun "around the earth" (through the sky from East to West) as observed in its movement from sunrise to sunset.
Post by: truetrini on July 08, 2012, 06:21:14 PM
Take win with yuh dummy ass
Post by: truetrini on July 08, 2012, 06:33:32 PM
(http://i627.photobucket.com/albums/tt359/truetrini/aaawwww.jpg)
Post by: just cool on July 08, 2012, 06:46:14 PM
Fella you talking a pack of assness agin..I doh have time to keep educating you when you believe all the shit you read from fake ass so called Islamic scholars with agendas.

It is quite true that today we know that the moon revolves around the earth, yet the Quran did not. The Quran implies that the moon travels in a similar orbit along side the sun, whereas the earth is remaining stationary, a gross error.

Quran teaches that the sun travels to one end of space and returns back to its resting place. According to the Quran, that resting place is a muddy spring within the earth!

The Qur'an nowhere speaks about an orbit of the sun in the universe, it always speaks about the orbit of the sun "around the earth" (through the sky from East to West) as observed in its movement from sunrise to sunset.

You need to go back and read the quran guy, sorry ah can't help yuh there, i post it many time befrtoe and i beginning to think that sharks was right about you, your idle arse on kicks.
Post by: just cool on July 08, 2012, 06:47:42 PM
You does real fall for the hype boy. for all yuh know this is some jews dressed up to make arabs look bad, is there any bigger terrorist than the jews?
Post by: ribbit on July 08, 2012, 06:48:20 PM

yeah, got to give it to religion - it's role in the creation of great music and art is inimitable.

still, if yuh looking for someone to play a bullerman in a dramatic production, yuh cyah beat dem atheist (e.g. sean penn)! all dem big hollywood stars are atheists or scientologists.
Post by: truetrini on July 08, 2012, 06:49:39 PM

yeah, got to give it to religion - it's role in the creation of great music and art is inimitable.

still, if yuh looking for someone to play a bullerman in a dramatic production, yuh cyah beat dem atheist (e.g. sean penn)! all dem big hollywood stars are atheists or scientologists.

You would know all de bullers and what they believe or not believe.

All dem priests who f**k little boys and girls dem is atheists too ent?  Maybe you could give them a role in yuh next blockbuster movie.
Post by: truetrini on July 08, 2012, 06:50:50 PM
You does real fall for the hype boy. for all yuh know this is some jews dressed up to make arabs look bad, is there any bigger terrorist than the jews?

Could be Jews, could be chinese for all I know...who said that they were Arabs?  You assumed that they were because you know who does be doing all de suicide bombings.   Thanks for verification!
Post by: truetrini on July 08, 2012, 07:03:39 PM
(http://i474.photobucket.com/albums/rr103/alexzzzgr/Funny/image002.jpg)
Post by: Bakes on July 08, 2012, 09:24:42 PM

stay out nah   ;)  yuh trying to say that Troy was not de best goalkeeper T&T produced?

lol you eh bet yuh like shit nah
Post by: truetrini on July 08, 2012, 11:49:34 PM
US, Afghan officials condemn public execution of Afghan woman
By Isolde Raftery, msnbc.com

U.S. and Afghan officials on Sunday condemned the public execution of an Afghan woman accused of adultery, saying her death “is an unambiguous reminder to the Afghan people and the international community of the brutality of the Taliban.”

Follow @msnbc_world

The woman’s death, which was recorded, shows the woman, named Najiba, crouched, her back to a man identified as her husband. He is handed an AK-47 assault rifle, which he uses to shoot her from behind. By the third shot, she collapses, but he continues to fire 10 more times as about 150 men on a nearby hillside cheer.

The video was obtained by Reuters.

“They are brutal people and like savage animals, they killed another human being,” Basir Salangi, the provincial governor of Parwan Province, told Reuters. The village in Parwan where the execution took place is about an hour north of Kabul, the Afghan capital. “It is clear that they are outlaws and must be delivered into the hands of the law,” he said.
Advertise | AdChoices

In a statement from the U.S. Embassy in Kabul, officials said the U.S. is committed to increasing “awareness of women's rights, to prevent and prosecute acts of violence against women, and to ensure that those responsible for such barbaric acts are brought to justice.”

"This cold-blooded murder, carried out in front of a crowd and recorded on video, is an unambiguous reminder to the Afghan people and the international community of the brutality of the Taliban," the embassy statement said.

Secretary of State Hillary Clinton, addressing a world conference n Afghanistan's future, said Sunday: "The United States believes strongly that no nation can achieve peace, stability and economic growth if half the population is not empowered."

Such punishment is a reminder that, although there are 430,000 foreign and Afghan forces on the ground, the Taliban still controls large swaths of the country. Women’s rights activists in Afghanistan told Reuters they worry that violence against women may be on the rise as President Hamid Karzai’s administration focuses on 2014 – the date President Barack Obama has set for pulling out U.S. troops.

Najiba, believed to be a mother, was found guilty of being sexually connected to two Taliban commanders – whether by rape or consensual sex is unclear, Reuters reported. Taliban officials then convened a quick trial and ordered her execution to settle the dispute between the two commanders.  The killing occurred in late June.

In the video, before Najiba is shot, a bearded man reads verses from the Quran condemning adultery.

"We cannot forgive her, God tells us to finish her," he says. "Juma Khan, her husband, has the right to kill her."

U.S. delivers 'powerful commitment to Afghanistan'

As Khan approaches Najiba, another man states, "Allah warns us not to get close to adultery because it's the wrong way. It is the order of Allah that she be executed."

Najiba’s execution follows on the heels of the beheading of a 30-year-old woman and her two children last week in eastern Afghanistan by a man police say was her divorced husband. Their deaths, women’s activists told Reuters, is the latest in a string of “honor killings.”

There have been 16 recorded cases of these honor cases in March and April, according to Afghanistan’s Independent Human Rights Commission; last year, 20 were recorded for the entire year.

Commissioner Suraya Subhrang told Reuters she blamed the sharp rise on increased insecurity and weak rule of law.

"There are many that go unreported,” Subhrang told Reuters. “Men make a quick decision in their own courts to kill a girl and hold a prayer for her the next day."

Reuters contributed to this report.

Allah  u Akbar.
Post by: truetrini on July 08, 2012, 11:52:28 PM
(http://www.familysecuritymatters.org/imgLib/20120124_SaidSisters.jpg)
Sarah Yaser Said 17, and Amina Yaser Said 18, killed by their Egyptian Muslim father in Texas on New Years Day 2008 in an apparent honor killing. Their father thought they were “too Western.”

The United Nations (UN) reports that 5000 Muslim women and girls are killed every year in the name of Islam. The UN uses the term “honor killings.” In reality there are thousands more killed but never reported, or the investigative agency does not realize the death was related to Islamic values.

Read more: Family Security Matters http://www.familysecuritymatters.org/publications/detail/the-murder-of-muslim-women-and-girls-by-islamists#ixzz206NYkjRe
Under Creative Commons License: Attribution

Post by: just cool on July 09, 2012, 04:58:02 AM

[/color]
[/color]

Breds, all this is lies my friend, yuh only parroting what other ppl post on the net, bc this is familiar territory. i believe strongly that you never read the quran in dept, or even do any light research on islam, but instead go on certain websites mainly christian and jewish for anti islamic rhetoric and come back and parrot it like yuh know something.

first off the quran is two fold, plain terms and in allegory.  that nonsense yuh talk bout the sun setting on a muddy pool was not in plain term, but allegory. that is a quote from zulqanain who was looking for a ppl and he follow a path all the way to the horizon, those were his words, sura 18:86 "and he found them where the sun was setting on a dark murky (sea, lake, river) not no damn muddy pool".it's just like saying, i like watching the sun setting over the gulf of paria.

another miss understanding is that the sun and moon running on a similar orbit. now i know for a fact yuh parroting and don't know the slightest thing about reading fusha/classical arabic language.

here's surah anbiya (21) :33.  "and he it is who created the night and the day and the sun and the moon. all floating in an orbit". it never said that the sun and the moon does orbit each other or the moon follows the sun in the same orbit, as a matter of fact it was very brief/ touch and go, with not so much detail.

i know for sure you parroting, bc the anti islamist have a debate about the moon following the sun: sura shams (the sun) : 91 :1-2 it states. "by the sun and it's brightness. and the moon when she follows him". this is an extremely allegorical statement. it's talks about the moon reverencing the sun bc it borrows light from the sun, (the word is talaha which means it follows, but how? in this verse it is meant as a form of reverence and respect of rank, and not literally in the least, it's totally not about following the same orbiting path. ::)

let me tell yuh something hoss, these ppl don't know shyte about fusha arabic, they want to challenge but they soft, yuh think is just so you could pick up a quran and read it and understand it if yuh not familiar with the language?

not even arabs could pick up a quran, read it and understand it with out learning the quranic language properly, and that don't take a day or ah couple of months, but rather yrs, and you know this bc yuh went to an ivey league school and yuh must be familiar with linguistics. ah fella could study for yrs on the intricacies of language, and still not know all about a language, especially ah complex language like fusha ( classical arabic) or an ancient language.

as for the earth remaining stationary, i dear yuh to bring one single verse in the quran that states that, there's none!

right here in sura yaseen : 36:40 it states "it is not permitted to the sun to catch up with the moon, nor can the night over run the day, but all swims along in an orbit".  now the operative word here is "kullun" which means "ALL" in classical arabic.

here there's mention of the sun, the moon, the night and the day all floating in and orbit, so yuh mean tuh tell me that night and day does float in and orbit? or is it that night and day relates to the orbit of the earth where night and day is prevalent?

it cyar be talking bout the moon, bc the moon don't have night and day, and the sun don't have night and day, so how night and day moving in an orbit?

lets go back to sura anbiya, where it states. 21: 33 "it is he who created the night and day, and the sun and the moon all moving in an orbit". so here we have night and day again doing an orbit, does that literally mean night and day, since they are both phenomenons of a process which is actually an illusion, or are they talking about an earth movement that causes night and day ?  you tell me which makes more sense.

i understand yuh hate these ppl and their religion, but @ least be fair and stop being so bias and closed minded. remember, the same way you look @ some folks, others also hold you in low esteem. there are races of people who would like nothing better than to rid the earth of black folks!

and some of their reasoning is valid, citing that we have ah high incident of criminal elements in our communities, which is true.

we can't govern ourselves effectively for shyte, most of that is soo true.

for the most part we lack work ethic, and hates responsibility. that is also true.

we are a very ignorant violent people, and present to biggest burden to society,  we make the most mischief in a society, we have the highest incident of gangs and gang violence, we have the highest incident of STD's including HIV, we have the highest failing grades of all races in the school system, highest illiteracy rate, all true, true and soo true.

so in reality, the arab pale in comparison to us. so what of those white ppl who think we should be all locked away, euthanized, put back in captivity, send back to africa, eradicated ? shouldn't they @ least have a right to hate us, the same way you hate the arab?   check yuhself bro, yuh heading down ah real slippery path.    :peace:

Post by: just cool on July 09, 2012, 05:22:20 AM
(http://www.familysecuritymatters.org/imgLib/20120124_SaidSisters.jpg)
Sarah Yaser Said 17, and Amina Yaser Said 18, killed by their Egyptian Muslim father in Texas on New Years Day 2008 in an apparent honor killing. Their father thought they were “too Western.”

The United Nations (UN) reports that 5000 Muslim women and girls are killed every year in the name of Islam. The UN uses the term “honor killings.” In reality there are thousands more killed but never reported, or the investigative agency does not realize the death was related to Islamic values.

Read more: Family Security Matters http://www.familysecuritymatters.org/publications/detail/the-murder-of-muslim-women-and-girls-by-islamists#ixzz206NYkjRe
Under Creative Commons License: Attribution

Sorry to disappoint yuh bro, but his has nothing to do with islam, it's an arab puritan distortion of islam! show me one verse in the quran where it states to kill anyone for sexual misconduct?? that honor killing nonsense permeated the whole of the "so called" islamic world, that and female circumcision.

these men are misogynistic pigs bro, and what they're doing has shyte to do with islam and muhammad! same way the puritans had shyte to do with jesus and his teachings. jesus taught tolerance and forgiveness, but the puritans went on a rampage killing suspected witches and charlatans.

same for muhammad, he was a peace maker until the meccans pushed him to his breaking point, (ah know yuh will respond to this part alone and ignore the rest, but it's ok, knock yuhself out) then he fought back in an attempt for survival. 

muhammad never taught these men all these dirty habits, but rather, it's their old culture raring it's ugly head, after all these yrs. this is nothing new, these men were killing their baby girls since their pagan days, way before muhammad came to them.
Post by: truetrini on July 09, 2012, 05:47:48 AM
stop talking ass.  I bet you dollars to donuts that you cannot speak a word of Arabic when I can actually hold a conversation with a  born and bred arabic speaker..Not a facking idle boast!

Anyway you are the one parroting shit, you can google them arabic websites til you blue in the face, nutten in dem suras etc. was new knowledge, anyway it is shit science and absolutely inaccurate what the Koran says about orbital movements of the earth, moon and sun.

Is not now I talking about this shit, way before you even knew this board existed I posting on this.  I even translated prayers for people on here already!
Post by: truetrini on July 09, 2012, 05:52:35 AM
Teh Koran says this concerning the sun and the moon!:

"Each one is travelling in an orbit with its own motion" (Koran 21:33; 36:40).

Why did the Koran say that the sun and moon move with their own motion? And, if that is true, where did the author of the Qur'an get this information?

The fact is that the sun and moon rotate on their axes and are in part animated by this rotating motion.

The phrase "travelling with its own motion" in the verses quoted above is a translation of the arabic verb ‘yasbahoon’.

This could also be translated ‘they swim.’ In that case, the verse would read that the sun and the moon, "Each swim in its own orbit." Those who translate the verse this way explain that the term swim refers to movement with one's own internally generated force. Furthermore the movement of a swimmer is graceful, measured, and smooth. This is a very fitting description for the movement of the stars and planets including the sun and the moon.

After describing the scientific data concerning the rotation of the sun and the moon, Dr. Bucaille says:

"These motions of the two celestial bodies are confirmed by the data of modern science, and it is inconceivable that a man living in the seventh century A.D. ... could have imagined them" (The Bible, the Qur'an and Science, p. 163).

It is also amazing that the Qur'an uses a different term for the movement of the clouds and the mountains (see Qur'an 27:88). Obviously, the clouds and mountains are driven by external forces. The cloud is driven by he wind and the mountains move with the rotation of the earth. The sun and moon, however, move with their own motion, and therefore the Qur'an uses a peculiar term "they swim" to refer to their smooth, graceful, self-propelled movement.

How did the author of the Qur'an know enough to make this choice of words that will reflect a modern scientific truth?

Is this your arguement?  lol

Answer this for me:

A better question is if the Koran indeed was foretelling modern scientific fact, why then does it not bother to mention that the earth is rotating on its axis or that it is also traveling on an orbit?

Why does it give the impression that the earth is stationary and that the sun travels to one end of space and then comes to rest in a muddy spring?

Why does it give the impression that the sun and moon travel on the same course when we know that the moon is actually rotating around the earth and it is the earth that rotates around the sun?

Why does it give the impression that the earth is actually flat and that the stars are to be found only in the lowest heaven as opposed to being found throughout the entire universe?

Why does the Koran claim that meteors or stars are actually objects used to cast out immaterial spirits from the presence of angels?

Perhaps You or one of yuh so-called Koranic science scholars can answer all these questions.
Post by: pecan on July 09, 2012, 06:57:25 AM

I have faith in Gravity.

ahhmmmm let me set you straight.   Theologian versus Christian...know the difference?  Professor Newton was not much of a Christian when he disputed the existence of the Trinity!   You are quick to google and seek to discredit me, but you should have read more than the first line of Wiki or wherever you got your information!

Rewind on Newton!   He was a heretic by all standards and while he did believe in a "God."  It is NOT the God you believe in, so doh be too hurry to embrace him   lol  too funny.  Anyway I said I had faith in Gravity not Newton!   steups...weak ass lame ass analogy you use anyway!

Religious people use their belief in their God (s) who by all standards are good, and just to do horrible things....!  You and others can keep your faith in man made gods and organizations called churches.   It is kinda ironic that you invoke mass hysteria, I never referred to religious beliefs as such, but I note your doubt...lol  again too funny.

And yes I concede that educational institutions, indeed some of the very best in this world were created by religious men.   Take a good look at them now and see what role religion plays in their movement forward!  Once we emerged from darkness to light religion and its mind control was left behind!  Go google again.  I see that you have already given up ground claiming divergence...institutions set up to teach religion and to educate religious workers and clergy have morphed..into a greater good...ask yourself why?   Had they remained religious we would still be thinking the earth was flat and the sun goes around the earth!

Puhleeze!

I have no fight with men who want to engage in formal or ceremonious rendering of such honor and homage to man created figments of imaginations.  There is no condemnation only pity.

Ok, I concede the error of my statement on Newton.  Nevertheless, the scientific method seemed to have evolved from a religious infrastructure. So i  eh giving any ground on that regardless of what you say about them 'seeing the light'.

Then you say I invoke "mass hysteria".  What you smoking? you initially invoked that phrase.  read your post again..

Finally, you state that "Religious people use their belief in their God (s) who by all standards are good, and just to do horrible things." 
What about the religious people who use their belief in their God (s) who by all standards are good, and do good things?  You conveniently ignore that?

You make categorical statements that all religion is bad even in the face of fact to the contrary. What kind of scientific method is that analysis.  It is all emotional and not rationale.

I am now convinced that you got abused by a person who invoked the name of god. So we go reciprocate the pity ting. You pity me and I pity you in your situation.

We even.

Post by: pecan on July 09, 2012, 07:02:27 AM
Pecan, please bro, we've been through this with this man before! all he's doing is recycling these arguments.

he is like them big atheist close minded fellas, and even if yuh bring real evidence that they are off the mark, they will find a way to wiggle their way out. that's bc they not really taking a neutral stand, matter of fact, they are just as religious in their beliefs, like the rest of us theist, and even more so adamant!

true, his atheism is just the flip side of the same coin. his hatred of religion may also be fueled by some kind of faith, among other things.
Post by: truetrini on July 09, 2012, 07:57:41 AM
Pecan what you and other so called theists fail to acknowledge is the myriad great and fantastic things done in the name of science and not facking religion that has brought more reward and goodness than all the thousands of years religion kept us in the dark ages and continues to do today..look at dem camel f**kers how dey killing people for no good reason, look at the religious right who feel it ok to bomb in the name of commerce and god.  please....  ok?

Let me take some of that back, for I truly believe that you are not a bigot nor do you discount science..that would be a lie...you is a moderate and while you profess belief in a  god (although none exists)you doh ram shit down people throat like justcool and he Islamic propaganda.

Yes I believe in a lot, but I ONLY believe in science and history..the rest in MY estimation is bullshit.

f**k de ultra religious and de nancy stories of heaven and hell  and a paradise full of virgins for de facking sadists  ooops I mean  jihadists and dem.
Post by: truetrini on July 09, 2012, 08:20:03 AM
And in more weird science news this just in:

Church assures believers their ID cards are Satan-free

3 hrs ago

Georgia -- the ex-Soviet state, not the current U.S. one -- has recently required citizens to start carrying electronic ID cards to access a range of state services online. Sounds handy, except for a devilish rumor claiming the cards contained electronic chips marked with 666, the number of the beast. After worried Christians flocked to Georgia's powerful Orthodox Church for help, the church's governing body issued a statement basically telling everyone to calm down. "The Holy Synod states that from the point of view of theological and ecclesiastical teachings, ID cards as they exist today do not represent the mark of the Antichrist," the church said. Phew! Now when will the DMV also issue a statement confirming theirs is not the work of Satan?
Post by: truetrini on July 09, 2012, 08:32:44 AM
Well yes, Allah knew the earth has a muddy spring for the moon to rest in but he did not know his new religion was going to sprout so many nut jobs?

steups

London bomber widow Samantha Lewthwaite recruiting female terror squads in Somalia

Kenyan police are hunting a woman who used a passport in the name of Natalie Faye Webb with this photograph. They suspect that she may be Samantha Lewthwaite, who was married to Jermaine Lindsay, the suicide bomber who blew up a Tube train in London in 2005.

By Alastair Jamieson, msnbc.com

Samantha Lewthwaite, the British terror suspect on the run from police in Africa, is recruiting and training female attack squads in Somalia, according to a report.

The 28-year-old, believed to be the widow of one of the 2005 London bombers, is being protected by militant Islamist group al-Shabab, according to a report in the Daily Telegraph.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lewthwaite fled Kenya in December after police in Mombasa linked her to a plot to attack tourist hotels there.

The newspaper said a blog entry on a website used by Kenyan Islamists said she was now in Somalia and linked to further terror activity in East Africa.

Advertise | AdChoices

Widow of London suicide bomber sought in Kenya

The entry said: “In +252 [Somalia] she [Lewthwaite] commands her 'all-female mujahid terror squad' and conducts her operations against the kuffar [non-Muslims].”

The newspaper said police sources in Kenya confirmed the blog was in line with their own intelligence.

"We cannot say that she is connected to any terrorist attacks in Kenya, but it is consistent with our information that she is with Shabab in Somalia," a senior anti-terror officer in Mombasa told the newspaper.

Lewthwaite, a convert to Islam originally from Buckinghamshire, England and whose father served in the British Army, has not had any contact with her British family for years.

The July 7 2005 London bombings, known in the UK as ‘7/7’, killed 52 London commuters on underground trains and buses. Lewthwaite is thought to be the widow of Jermaine Lindsey, one of the four suicide attackers involved – although it is not clear if she is another woman using Lewthwaite’s identity. She is thought to have used a passport with another alias, Natalie Faye Webb.

In June, Kenya police said a woman matching Lewthwaite's description had been seen in Mombasa shortly before a grenade attack on that killed three and left 25 injured.
Post by: truetrini on July 09, 2012, 08:38:01 AM
Pecan there is NUTTEN about the scientific method that evolved from ANYTHING religious  N-U-T-T-E-N!

You really grasping they breds.
Post by: pecan on July 09, 2012, 12:39:07 PM
Pecan there is NUTTEN about the scientific method that evolved from ANYTHING religious  N-U-T-T-E-N!

You really grasping they breds.

not N-U-T-S but P-E-A-S.

since i took a mis-step with Newton, I will try Mendel and his peas
Post by: just cool on July 09, 2012, 02:16:43 PM
Teh Koran says this concerning the sun and the moon!:

"Each one is travelling in an orbit with its own motion" (Koran 21:33; 36:40).

Why did the Koran say that the sun and moon move with their own motion? And, if that is true, where did the author of the Qur'an get this information?

The fact is that the sun and moon rotate on their axes and are in part animated by this rotating motion.

The phrase "travelling with its own motion" in the verses quoted above is a translation of the arabic verb ‘yasbahoon’.

This could also be translated ‘they swim.’ In that case, the verse would read that the sun and the moon, "Each swim in its own orbit." Those who translate the verse this way explain that the term swim refers to movement with one's own internally generated force. Furthermore the movement of a swimmer is graceful, measured, and smooth. This is a very fitting description for the movement of the stars and planets including the sun and the moon.

After describing the scientific data concerning the rotation of the sun and the moon, Dr. Bucaille says:

"These motions of the two celestial bodies are confirmed by the data of modern science, and it is inconceivable that a man living in the seventh century A.D. ... could have imagined them" (The Bible, the Qur'an and Science, p. 163).

It is also amazing that the Qur'an uses a different term for the movement of the clouds and the mountains (see Qur'an 27:88). Obviously, the clouds and mountains are driven by external forces. The cloud is driven by he wind and the mountains move with the rotation of the earth. The sun and moon, however, move with their own motion, and therefore the Qur'an uses a peculiar term "they swim" to refer to their smooth, graceful, self-propelled movement.

How did the author of the Qur'an know enough to make this choice of words that will reflect a modern scientific truth?

Is this your arguement?  lol

Answer this for me:

A better question is if the Koran indeed was foretelling modern scientific fact, why then does it not bother to mention that the earth is rotating on its axis or that it is also traveling on an orbit?

Why does it give the impression that the earth is stationary and that the sun travels to one end of space and then comes to rest in a muddy spring?

Why does it give the impression that the sun and moon travel on the same course when we know that the moon is actually rotating around the earth and it is the earth that rotates around the sun?

Why does it give the impression that the earth is actually flat and that the stars are to be found only in the lowest heaven as opposed to being found throughout the entire universe?

Why does the Koran claim that meteors or stars are actually objects used to cast out immaterial spirits from the presence of angels?

Perhaps You or one of yuh so-called Koranic science scholars can answer all these questions.

TT yuh killin meh, ah just answer half of those questions, especially the one with the earth's rotation in surah yaseen verse 40 and surah anbiya verse 33, i repeat, "he it is who created the night and the day and the sun and the moon they float each in an orbit" night and day does not orbit anything bc it's an illusion! so the rotation of night and day relates to the earth which is a solid body, while night and day is a phenomenon.

again in sura yaseen verse 40: "It's not for the sun to over take the moon, nor for the night to overun the day, but they "all" (fullun) float in and orbit!" here it is again, the night and the day floating in an orbit, which is impossible, so again, what is to be learned here? it's actually the earth that give the illusion of night and day, bc of it's rotation around the sun, hence the term night and day making their revolution together with the sun and moon in both surahs! it's so easy, even a cave man could get it!

as for the earth being flat, and you say you know arabic, so tell me what dahaha means ? it states in the quran that the earth is egg shape dahaha, and the day and the night wraps around each other, the word used here is kawwara which means to wrap around, so the night wrap around the day, and the day wrap around the night, it cyar wrap around something flat, so it must be spherical shape.

as for the stars being found in the lowest sky (sammah), allah says that he created seven skies (heavens, universes) and the lowest one which is our universe, which there are six more above ours, he decorate with lamps, meaning stars. this ain't rocket science bro, understand what yuh read before bringing arguments, yuh sound amateurish.

as for the the meteors , there no mention of stars there, he was referring to the jinns who travel out the earth to spy, and he use meteors to stone them not stars. and that one you will have to ask GOD what he meant by that when yuh see him, and yes you will see him, don't worry, time flying and you will get yuh turn real soon tuh ask all the questions yuh have.

and you say you speak arabic, boy ah eh go doubt yuh, but i seriously doubt yuh know fusha (classical arabic) cause if yuh did, you would not be asking me these elementary question of a "non arabic speaking" dumbell like me.
Post by: just cool on July 09, 2012, 02:22:14 PM
stop talking ass.  I bet you dollars to donuts that you cannot speak a word of Arabic when I can actually hold a conversation with a  born and bred arabic speaker..Not a facking idle boast!

Anyway you are the one parroting shit, you can google them arabic websites til you blue in the face, nutten in dem suras etc. was new knowledge, anyway it is shit science and absolutely inaccurate what the Koran says about orbital movements of the earth, moon and sun.

Is not now I talking about this shit, way before you even knew this board existed I posting on this.  I even translated prayers for people on here already!
I'm not fluent in arabic, i won't lie, but i bet yuh anything i know more fusha than you, if you know any @ all.  any dummy could speak "street" arabic(colloqual arabic), my boy went to jordon for a yr and came back spilling arabic like he was born there. fusha on the other hand is ah different animal. which is mainly spoken in the class room of a maddrasa and by statesmen.

i read and write fusha, and still i have a lot to learn, and by the way you going on, you eh know one word of fusha!
Post by: truetrini on July 09, 2012, 03:28:18 PM
And the Koran is no science book, nutten in it is more than cursory common knowledge at the time..much of it so basic my 5 year old knows more!

BULLSHIT fom a Bullshit book thatw as copied and co-opted...steups...

Total pack ah assness as usual.  You cannot write nor speak more than 3 words in Arabic..steups..go pull yuh stones elsewhere.
Post by: Football supporter on July 09, 2012, 03:53:03 PM
According to most scholars, Newton was Arian, not holding to Trinitarianism.[9][22][23] 'In Newton's eyes, worshipping Christ as God was idolatry, to him the fundamental sin'.[24]

As well as being antitrinitarian, Newton allegedly rejected the orthodox doctrines of the immortal soul,[9] a personal devil and literal demons.[9] Although he was not a Socinian he shared many similar beliefs with them.[9] A manuscript he sent to John Locke in which he disputed the existence of the Trinity was never published.

In a minority view, T.C. Pfizenmaier argued Newton was neither "orthodox" nor an Arian,[25] but that, rather, Newton believed both of these groups had wandered into metaphysical speculation.[26] Pfizenmaier also argued that Newton held closer to the Eastern Orthodox view of the Trinity rather than the Western one held by Roman Catholics and Protestants.[26] However, S. D. Snobelen has argued against this from manuscripts produced late in Newton's life which demonstrate Newton rejected the Eastern view of the Trinity.[9]

Newton refused viaticum before his death.[8]

Kinda confused about this discussion, but its worth reading to learn stuff. Like, I never realised Newton was so totally against people from T&T. Shocking.
Post by: just cool on July 09, 2012, 04:51:27 PM

So fackin what!! i supposed to be impressed now! i also spend time in the mideast and sat with scholars, please nayger get ah grip.

just bc you read arabic and speak arabic means that you understand what yuh read, after all, it have parrots who speak french and i sure they doh understand ah facking phrase of it, just like you.

with all the arabic yuh claim to know, you eh have ah fackin clue bout the quran by the dumb question you ask. in ah nut shell, yuhs like the parable of the ass /donkey carrying books, his back full of knowledge but he can't read, and even if he did, would not understand what he read, plus he have no interest in acquiring knowledge either, so wid all the books on his back his arse still dumb dumb dumb.

and boss, i don't have to parrot, that's your department. yes i google to get a reference point, bc as we all know it's easier to google the reference, but when i get verse and chapters i then i go to my wall where there are tons of books, and i do my research.

you must feel you alone smart and every body doltish no arse!   fackin clown!
Post by: just cool on July 09, 2012, 05:04:27 PM
Pecan what you and other so called theists fail to acknowledge is the myriad great and fantastic things done in the name of science and not facking religion that has brought more reward and goodness than all the thousands of years religion kept us in the dark ages and continues to do today..look at dem camel f**kers how dey killing people for no good reason, look at the religious right who feel it ok to bomb in the name of commerce and god.  please....  ok?

Let me take some of that back, for I truly believe that you are not a bigot nor do you discount science..that would be a lie...you is a moderate and while you profess belief in a  god (although none exists)you doh ram shit down people throat like justcool and he Islamic propaganda.

Yes I believe in a lot, but I ONLY believe in science and history..the rest in MY estimation is bullshit.

f**k de ultra religious and de nancy stories of heaven and hell  and a paradise full of virgins for de facking sadists  ooops I mean  jihadists and dem.
Yuhs ah kinda nanyhole or what guy!! you doh see me posting nothing on MDFCN religion,.it's you who does ram ting down ppls throat wid the snipits of this and snipets of that on catholicism or islam, and articles from 100 yrs ago , and constantly recycling sh!t yuh find all over the place tuh harass ppl, just like alberta trini wid do, with his recycled threads.

i now see where yuhs ah raging fackin lunatic, and you need to be in the mdcnt mad house. yuhs ah functional fackin maddooooo!!!
Post by: truetrini on July 09, 2012, 05:08:51 PM
You really want some education?  Seriously?

The Koran states:

Allah is He who raised the heavens without any pillars that you can see; is firmly established on the throne; He has subjected the sun and the moon! Each one runs for a term appointed. He regulates the matter, explaining the signs in detail, so you can be certain of meeting with your Lord. (Koran 13:2)

And

Don’t you see that Allah merges night into day and he merges day into night and he has subjected the sun, and the moon each running its course for a term appointed. And Allah is aware of what you do. (Koran 31:29)

Ok so let us examine every single tafsir or commentary of the Koran written prior to the 20th century also supports this view, as did almost all Muslim scientists of all the past. In fact even some Muslims defend this view today along with many who still believe the earth is flat, since that what the Koran suggests in many verses.

These days the emerging apologists try to make the cliam that the since the Sun does actually have an orbit around the Milky Way, the verse is technically correct.   hahahahahaha too damn funny!

This is however an extremely far-fetched interpretation which colossally fails to take into account the fact that the sun’s orbit takes roughly 226 Million years.

In the verse, Allah is supposed trying to convince mankind of his majesty and asking them ‘don’t you see’ and referring to clearly observable phenomenon.  Well the fact is that the orbit of the sun is not observable by humans and therefore this explanation makes absolutely no sense unless you are a believer who is desperate to find any explanation.

Let us very briefly examine the Bible and the Koran!

Any person who is  familiar with the Bible and begins to read the Koran it is immediately apparent that the Koran is an entirely different kind of literature, regardless of any poetic merits.

The Bible however, contains much historical narrative, the Koran contains very little.

The Bible goes out of the way to explain unfamiliar terminology or territory.

The Koran remains (shhhh) very, very quiet.  In fact, if you check the structure of the Bible, it consists of a lexicon of 66 books, written over a period of about 1500 years and it is very well ordered according to chronology, subject nad theme.

The Koran, on the other hnad, reads more like a jumbled and confused collection of statements and ideas, many of which bear little relationship to preceding chapters and verses.

Anyone who even makes a small claim that they have taken a gander at and read the Koran can do little but admit it is so freaking pell-mell and haphazard and obzokee in its make-up that it requires the utmost sense of duty for anyone to labor through the muddiness!

Hell even the former Muslim scholar Dashti laments the literary defects of the Koran, saying, "Unfortunately the Koran was badly edited and its contents are very obtusely arranged." He concludes that, "All students of the Koran wonder why the editors did not use the natural and logical method of ordering by date of revelation, as in Ali ibn Taleb's lost copy of the text."

Another difficulty with the Koran is its scope. Some verses state that it is a book only for the Arabs (Suras 14:4; 42:7; 43:3 and 46:12), while other verses imply it is a revelation for all people and all time (Suras 34:28; 33:40). Did this universal application come later on, appended after the expansion of Islam into foreign lands, and among foreign peoples? If so, it then puts added doubt upon its reliability as an early source.
Post by: truetrini on July 09, 2012, 05:10:37 PM
justcool, yuh feel yuh know everything about everything and yuh eh know a cock from yuh nose.
Post by: just cool on July 09, 2012, 05:22:33 PM
And the Koran is no science book, nutten in it is more than cursory common knowledge at the time..much of it so basic my 5 year old knows more!

BULLSHIT fom a Bullshit book thatw as copied and co-opted...steups...

Total pack ah assness as usual.  You cannot write nor speak more than 3 words in Arabic..steups..go pull yuh stones elsewhere.
No one said that the quran is ah science book, but there are reference in the quran about things that was not popularly known on that peninsuela 1400 yrs ago, especially from an unlettered man, things that ppl in europe didn't even know, bc had they knowledge of it they would not have said that the earth was flat!

fella i not here to argue wid you, bc in my mind yuhs ah snob and an extremely hostile red boy who feel he's hot sh!t. ppl wid your mind set in T&T does go on like they better than all, and yuh still have that backward mentality from yuh glory days on the island, but them thing doh wok wid me.

yuhs one ah dem fellas who quran spoke about, yuh blind and yuh don't have no vibes and no heights doh exist in your soul, that's why yuh cyar see the light, deaf dumb and blind, regardless of how much yuh read, and how much is presented to you. "who allah make blind no can make him see", so oblige them a while muhammad, for they will be ceased. "on their ears there's a deafness and on their hearts there's a seal, so leave them to wonder around in their contumacy, they will come to know".

jesus said "let the blind lead he blind, they will both fall in ah ditch".

Post by: just cool on July 09, 2012, 05:24:37 PM
justcool, yuh feel yuh know everything about everything and yuh eh know a cock from yuh nose.
Yeh mr bright boy red skin trinity college green eye french creole boy, and you know every thing right?  ;)
Post by: just cool on July 09, 2012, 05:27:04 PM
I dun wid you fella , take win. i gettin ah headache,  i eh able.
Post by: truetrini on July 09, 2012, 05:31:40 PM
Yeh mr bright boy red skin trinity college green eye french creole boy, and you know every thing right.  ;)

Yuh real cyber stalking me eh, I am no french Creole.  But seriously, the Koran was not written in one sitting, shit was added to it, secondly, the so called revelations were widely known fella I showed you that in this same thread..yuh want to hold on to mythology do so bravely.

The Koran also copied a lot from Jewish apocryphal literature, not even the Bible!

For example expalin this:

Koran- sura 5:31

"Then Allah sent a raven, who scratched the ground, to show him how to hide the shame of his brother. 'Woe is me!' said he; 'Was I not even able to be as this raven, and to hide the shame of my brother?' Then he became full of regrets."

Targum of Jonathan-ben-Uzziah  (Jewish apocryphal literature)

"Adam and Eve, sitting by the corpse, wept not knowing what to do, for they had as yet no knowledge of burial. A raven came up, took the dead body of its fellow, and having scratched at the earth, buried it thus before their eyes. Adam said, 'Let us follow the example of the raven,' so taking up Abel's body, buried it at once."

Apart from the contrast between who buried who, the two stories are otherwise uncannily similar. We can only conclude that it was from here that Muhammad, or a later compiler obtained his story.

Thus we find that a Jewish fable, a myth, is repeated as historical fact in the Koran.
Post by: truetrini on July 09, 2012, 05:33:13 PM
I dun wid you fella , take win. i gettin ah headache,  i eh able.

Go pelt a jock at least yuh should know about that!
Post by: pecan on July 09, 2012, 06:16:28 PM

Ok so let us examine every single tafsir or commentary of the Koran written prior to the 20th century also supports this view, as did almost all Muslim scientists of all the past. In fact even some Muslims defend this view today along with many who still believe the earth is flat, since that what the Koran suggests in many verses.

bub a-a, you mean the earth not flat?
Post by: truetrini on July 09, 2012, 09:44:49 PM
Allyuh come quick to defend religion when all I posted was a great tragedy..allyuh is ah bunch ah forking hypocrites.

Jump on truetrini yet did not spare a word for the poor unfortunate victim of Taliban terror.
Post by: just cool on July 09, 2012, 10:20:29 PM
Allyuh come quick to defend religion when all I posted was a great tragedy..allyuh is ah bunch ah forking hypocrites.

Jump on truetrini yet did not spare a word for the poor unfortunate victim of Taliban terror.
Right now you terrorizing we, and for many fackin yrs now.
Post by: just cool on July 09, 2012, 10:42:25 PM
One day a man saw imam Ali making prayers, after he was through worshiping the man came to him and ask him, "what if all that you're doing is in vain, and there's no God and no judgement, then what? " imam Ali looked @ the man and smiled, and said, " then that means that i would have lost out on the pleasures of what this world had to offer, and more than likely it's a barable scenario and something i could ultimately deal with",

but let me ask you this, "what if i'm right and every thing that God promised of reward and punishment is met out, then you would lose out on a paradise that is unimaginable and gain a punishment that is horrid, now could you deal with that?"      Good luck true trini.
Post by: truetrini on July 10, 2012, 10:33:48 AM
you wait for your pleasures and rewards in heaven, good luck f**king them virgins they promising in the Koran..I want to see two spirit f**king...wha is dat?  Spirit Lash?

Steups.

f**k Islam boy dais the wuss religion in de entire world.
Post by: truetrini on July 10, 2012, 10:36:14 AM

so any ah allyuh say peep about de poor unfortunate woman de Taliban killed?   Nope not a facking word, instead is truetrini posting topics that making headlines all over the world and yuh tired ah dat..why yuh eh tired ah yuh mislim brothers murdering innocent victims of rape?

haul yuh ass with that fake ass so-called religion.
Post by: ribbit on July 10, 2012, 11:36:08 AM

so any ah allyuh say peep about de poor unfortunate woman de Taliban killed?   Nope not a facking word, instead is truetrini posting topics that making headlines all over the world and yuh tired ah dat..why yuh eh tired ah yuh mislim brothers murdering innocent victims of rape?

tt, yuh kicksin? yuh had 3 pages of posts to verge back onto the main road instead yuh off on all kinda tangents - religion, science, isaac newton, all kinds of bullsh*t that have nothing to do with the topic.

so what yuh atheist fren and dem doing about this? other than "being outraged".
Post by: ribbit on July 10, 2012, 12:13:25 PM
seem like even de taliban know about PR.

==

Locals vow revenge for Afghan woman's execution
 (http://news.yahoo.com/locals-vow-revenge-afghan-womans-execution-214723263.html)

CHARIKAR, Afghanistan (Reuters) - Sayed Jalal furrowed his eyebrows in anger as he vowed to avenge the public execution of a woman in front of a large crowd not far from Kabul, brazen violence that spurred shock and sharp condemnation from Afghan authorities and the United States.

The Taliban denied involvement in the killing in Parwan province, in which an unnamed woman's head and body were riddled with bullets at close range in punishment for alleged adultery.

Authorities in Kabul directly blamed the Islamist group.

"We will take revenge for this. Their brutality and such inhumane acts are why we hate the Taliban," said the 42-year-old shopkeeper in Charikar, provincial capital of Parwan about 25 km (15 miles) south of Shinwari, where the killing took place.

The execution was recorded in a three-minute video, obtained by Reuters, which shows a woman in a shawl being repeatedly shot in front of around 150 men perched on a hill, who cheer and praise the attackers, calling them "mujahideen," a term the Taliban call themselves.

NATO's top commander in Afghanistan, U.S. General John Allen, called the killing "an atrocity of unspeakable cruelty".

Others in Charikar, from where a dirt road leads to Shinwari through rough terrain, lamented what they described as the Taliban's increasing sway over their once relatively peaceful area, about an hour's drive west from Kabul.

"The Taliban are creating fear and trying to rule us through terrorism but they will never succeed," said Charikar resident Najibullah, 30, prompting approving nods from a crowd of men who had formed around him in a busy outdoor market.

The Taliban dismissed the claims: "We have no operational update about this," spokesman Zabihullah Mujahid said. Parwan's governor Basir Salangi said the Taliban carried out the killing in his province eight days ago.

Despite the presence of over 130,000 foreign troops and 300,000 Afghan soldiers and police, the Taliban have managed to resurge beyond their traditional bastions of the south and east, extending their reach into once more peaceful areas like Parwan.

"This was a brutal act against the Afghan people by the Taliban," Interior Ministry spokesman Sediq Seddiqi said.

"They will be punished as they were punished 10 years ago and we will continue our struggle to eliminate them," he told Reuters, referring to their ousting from power in late 2001 by U.S.-backed Afghan forces after an austere five-year rule.

The condemnation came on the day of a major donors' summit in Tokyo, where $16 billion in development aid was pledged for Afghanistan over the next four years as they try to prevent it from sliding back into chaos once most foreign troops have left by the end of 2014.

In a declaration by summit participants, the importance of promoting women's rights was stressed repeatedly.

The U.S. embassy in Kabul, condemning the public execution in the "strongest possible terms", said the hard-won gains of Afghan women made in the last 10 years must be protected.

But Shah Jahan Yazdanparast, head of women's affairs in Parwan, which is connected to the Kabul ministry, said such naked violence as the woman's execution "will only increase our fear and concern as women in Afghanistan".

Afghan women have won back basic rights in education, voting and work since the Taliban were ousted from power but fears are mounting both at home and abroad that such freedoms could be traded away as Kabul seeks peace talks with the group.

"Afghan women and girls were looking to the international community to protect the progress they have made in the last decade and they have been let down," Oxfam Afghanistan's head of policy and advocacy, Louise Hancock, said on Sunday after the close of the Tokyo summit.

Violence against women has increased sharply in the past year, according to Afghanistan's independent human rights commission. Activists say there is waning interest in women's rights on the part of President Hamid Karzai's government.

Authorities blamed the Taliban for the stoning to death of a young couple in northern Kunduz province two years ago in a crowded bazaar, days after a pregnant widow was flogged and killed in western Baghdis province. The Taliban denied involvement.
Post by: truetrini on July 10, 2012, 12:25:43 PM

tt, yuh kicksin? yuh had 3 pages of posts to verge back onto the main road instead yuh off on all kinda tangents - religion, science, isaac newton, all kinds of bullsh*t that have nothing to do with the topic.

so what yuh atheist fren and dem doing about this? other than "being outraged".

Ent you had three pages to say what you and yuh frens plan to do?  Instead yuh come here asking de ungodly wha he plan is?  Allyuh eh serious about making this world see de light?

Take that asshole question tuh yuh religious leader and ask him why he prayers eh wukking to clean up suffering, hunger and injustice!  Do dat nah!

Like de religious only like to talk...have boys and men in dey bed, talk about wide stances and cheat on dey wife or wha?

whappen Zimmerman eh need yuh advice?
Post by: just cool on July 10, 2012, 02:57:14 PM

you wait for your pleasures and rewards in heaven, good luck f**king them virgins they promising in the Koran..I want to see two spirit f**king...wha is dat?  Spirit Lash?

Steups.

Steups.

Steups.

My grandmother always used to say, "when man ass full and he comfortable he does talk and say whatever he want (he arse full nah)", but wait till sh!t hit the fan, and yuh will is taken away, and yuh have no mo say, and yuh see the hell that yuh denying in front yuh ugly crater face big and bright and yuh good deeds light as a feather, and yuh see the angels taking man and throwing dem in the fire! lemmeh hear yuh talk all that big talk THEN!!!!

right now yuh arse full and yuh comfortable, so i not impressed, but hear what, save all dat big talk for later when it really matters! boy i'd give anything to see your face then.  yuh feel this life is ah joke thing and jah go just let man get way wid all kind ah madness and ain't judge him!   :devil:
Post by: truetrini on July 10, 2012, 04:51:38 PM
All de anels I need right here in South Beaqch, and dem not so wicked and evil to throw mankind into fire.

Vanity is supposed to be a sin and who more vain dan allyuh God?  steups  uh have to praise him and tell him how great he is.

When allyuh strapping bombs on and walking into school buses screaming God is Great  and how allyuh going to paradise allyuh doh be thinking how allyuh killing little children or innocent people.

I hope it really have a God for allyuh hypocrites and he save a special place in a hell for allyuh and I in charge down dey..yuh fowl f**ker...wha you go say den when I watching yuh in yuh crater pocked face.

If deeds so light why yuh fake god say to do zakat?
Post by: just cool on July 10, 2012, 05:31:48 PM
All de anels I need right here in South Beaqch, and dem not so wicked and evil to throw mankind into fire.

Vanity is supposed to be a sin and who more vain dan allyuh God?  steups  uh have to praise him and tell him how great he is.

When allyuh strapping bombs on and walking into school buses screaming God is Great  and how allyuh going to paradise allyuh doh be thinking how allyuh killing little children or innocent people.

I hope it really have a God for allyuh hypocrites and he save a special place in a hell for allyuh and I in charge down dey..yuh fowl f**ker...wha you go say den when I watching yuh in yuh crater pocked face.

If deeds so light why yuh fake god say to do zakat?
One things for sure boy, yuh true tuh yuh madness.  have fun while the going is good.  ;)
Post by: truetrini on July 11, 2012, 09:29:56 AM
TT might have a point but one might argue that he is confusing Religion and Faith and furthermore, falls into the 'stereotyping' trap with his prejudices.  i.e. he paints all religions with the same brush. Is the religion that those Taliban practice the same as other religions? In my religion I can assure you that we certainly don't run around executing adulterers (although we do have our faults, not unlike other theists or atheists for that matter). And btw, is not God doing the execution, it is a bunch of misogynistic men who misinterpret  (or choose to) the scriptures.

Makes you wonder why he hates religion so much.  :thinking:  Certainly, much evil has been done in the name of religion. But likewise, much evil have been done in the name of non-religious social constructs. If you look closely, the common variable is mankind's inherent short comings.

Allyuh really sad yes..I feeling genuine pity. After reading this all I can do is shake my head.

Makes you wonder or makes you understand my disdain for religion?
Post by: pecan on July 11, 2012, 10:40:56 AM

Allyuh really sad yes..I feeling genuine pity. After reading this all I can do is shake my head.

Makes you wonder or makes you understand my disdain for religion?

What did I say that is inaccurate in the above post?

I am now convinced that you had a personal and horrific experience with religion (based on your post in the other thread about asking hard questions). You did not get the answers to questions and 'religion' failed you badly.

As I said before, our pity is mutual.

Post by: truetrini on July 11, 2012, 10:54:56 AM
Just as your faith is misplaced so is your understanding of my experiences.

Instead of condemning the atrocity against the woman you make a quick defense of your religion, pointing out it is different  lol
Post by: pecan on July 11, 2012, 12:03:03 PM
Just as your faith is misplaced so is your understanding of my experiences.

Instead of condemning the atrocity against the woman you make a quick defense of your religion, pointing out it is different  lol

If you head was not so far up the 'religion hating crusade, you would have realized that my posts were in response to you motherhood statement in the following posts:

I guess it is only highly.intelligent, widely read and traveled persons like.you who find them progressive, just and humane.  people with smarts like.you who embrace them and find them modern people who.contribute much to society today.

steups.

Post by: truetrini on July 11, 2012, 12:06:48 PM
Those came after the attack from justcool and in response to his posts and yours too.   where does that equate to mistaking faith and religion?

And yes Religion failed me badly...but now as I look back I was naive to expect anything else.