Sports => What about Track & Field => Topic started by: Marlon on July 23, 2008, 11:28:15 AM

Title: Startlists for Aviva London Grand Prix
Post by: Marlon on July 23, 2008, 11:28:15 AM
http://www.ukathletics.net/uka-major-events/crystal-palace/crystal-palace-start-list/

De two sprint relays schedule to run.
Title: Re: Startlists for Aviva London Grand Prix
Post by: Aviator on July 24, 2008, 11:47:05 PM
Meet Website:-
http://www.ukathletics.net/uka-major-events/crystal-palace/

Schedule:-
http://www.ukathletics.net/uka-major-event...lace/timetable/

Internet coverage:-
www.wcsn.com (http://www.wcsn.com)

http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=15520∂=sports

1c   LEEVAN YEARWOOD   GBR   
2c   CRAIG PICKERING   GBR   
3c   TYRONE EDGAR   GBR   
4c   MARLON DEVONISH   GBR   
5c   RYAN SCOTT   GBR   
6c   HARRY AIKINES ARYEETEY   GBR   
7c   RIKKI FIFTON   GBR   
8   SHAUN CRAWFORD   USA   
9c   NESTA CARTER   JAM   
10c   ASAFA POWELL   JAM   
11c   JAYSUMA SAIDY NDURE   NOR   
12c   KIM COLLINS   SKN   
13c   MARC BURNS   TRI   
14c   TRAVIS PADGETT   USA   
15c   MICHAEL FRATER   JAM   
16c   RICHARD THOMPSON   TRI   

1c   EMMA ANIA   GBR      
2c   MONTELL DOUGLAS   GBR      
3c   ASHLEE NELSON   GBR      
4c   LAURA TURNER   GBR      
5c   JOICE MADUAKA   GBR      
6c   EMILY FREEMAN   GBR      
7c   VERONICA CAMPBELL   JAM      
8c   ALLYSON FELIX   USA      
9c   MARSHEVET HOOKER   USA      
10c   LAURYN WILLIAMS   USA      
11c   KERRON STEWART   JAM      
12c   KIM GEVAERT   BEL      
13c   CARMELITA JETER   JAM      
14c   SHELLY ANN FRASER   JAM      
15c   TORRI EDWARDS   USA      
16c   KELLY-ANN BAPTISTE   TRI      

Women's relay will be run on Friday and men on Saturday.

Post by: boss on July 25, 2008, 09:28:22 AM
Mens 100m Lane Assignments

18:18 - 100 METRES Men - Heats - Heat 1  START LIST 
First 3 of each heat (Q) plus the 2 fastest times (q) qualified 

1   Leevan YEARWOOD GBR 
2   Craig PICKERING GBR 
3   Travis PADGETT USA
4   Asafa POWELL JAM
5   Jaysuma NDURE NOR
6   Michael FRATER JAM
7   Kim COLLINS STK   
8   Ryan SCOTT GBR   

18:29 - 100 METRES Men - Heats - Heat 2  START LIST 

1   Rikki FIFTON
2   Harry AIKINES ARYEETEY GBR   
3   Tyrone EDGAR GBR   
4   Nesta CARTER JAM   
5   Richard THOMPSON TRI 
6   Marc BURNS TRI 

7   Shawn CRAWFORD USA
8   Marlon DEVONISH
Post by: boss on July 25, 2008, 09:30:31 AM
Start lists for tomorrow:

14:37 - 100 METRES Women - Heats - Heat 1  START LIST 

1   Joice MADUAKA GBR
2   Kelly Ann BAPTISTE TRI
3   Marshevet HOOKER USA
4   Veronica CAMPBELL JAM
5   Torri EDWARDS USA   
6   Montell DOUGLAS GBR 
7   Kim GEVAERT BEL   
8   Emily FREEMAN GBR 

14:48 - 100 METRES Women - Heats - Heat 2  START LIST 

1   Ashlee NELSON GBR
2   Emma ANIA GBR   
3   Carmelita JETER USA
4   Kerron STEWART JAM 
5   Lauryn WILLIAMS USA   
6   Shelly Ann FRASER JAM 
7   Allyson FELIX USA   
8   Laura TURNER GBR 
Post by: boss on July 25, 2008, 09:31:49 AM
Tomorrow
17:26 - 4 X 100 METRES Men  START LIST 

1  NETHERLANDS NED 
2  GBR RED GBR-R 
3  GBR BLUE GBR-B 
4  USA BLUE USA-B   
5  JAMAICA JAM   
6  USA RED USA-R 
7  TRINIDAD & TOBAGO TRI   
8  POLAND POL   
Post by: boss on July 25, 2008, 11:08:13 AM
Whoops, almost forgot the Women's 4x 100 later today...

19:55 - 4 X 100 METRES Women    

1       POLAND    POL       
2       BELGIUM    BEL
3       USA BLUE    USA    
4       USA RED    USA       
5       GBR BLUE    GBR       
6       INVITATION TEAM             
7       TRINIDAD & TOBAGO    TRI       
8       GBR RED    GBR       
Post by: boss on July 25, 2008, 11:13:57 AM
I don't understand why they interview athletes IMMEDIATELY after their races, and ask all these deep probing questions...Poor Sherone Simpson could barely talk after winning her 200m from catching her breath.

Anyways, first Men's 100m heat about to start...Asafa is on the track...
Post by: boss on July 25, 2008, 11:20:33 AM
Powell gets  a big reception from the crowd....considering there are many empty seats. Nice to see Kim Collins...smiling as usual.

1) Powell 10.06 (pretty much walked through the line)

Post by: Marlon on July 25, 2008, 11:26:32 AM
Sportsmax lettin me down bigtime here folks. >:(
Post by: boss on July 25, 2008, 11:28:00 AM
Heat 2 about to start...

Thompson and Burns side by side in lanes 5 and 6 respectively...
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 25, 2008, 11:29:12 AM
Heat 2 about to start...

Thompson and Burns side by side in lanes 5 and 6 respectively...

Thanks for the updated Boss man, keep we posted
Post by: boss on July 25, 2008, 11:31:01 AM
1) Thompson wins in 10.11
2) Carter
3) Burns
Post by: boss on July 25, 2008, 11:32:30 AM
Thompson looked ok out of the blocks, not great, but good. Looked comfortable crossing the line.

Will post the lanes for the final when I see it...
Post by: boss on July 25, 2008, 11:36:00 AM
Thanks for the updated Boss man, keep we posted

No probs man, will do  :beermug:
Post by: boss on July 25, 2008, 11:45:42 AM
Start List for the 100m final in about an hour and a half...can't wait!

20:17 - 100 METRES Men - Final     START LIST

1       Kim COLLINS    STK       
2       Craig PICKERING    GBR       
3       Richard THOMPSON    TRI       
4       Asafa POWELL    JAM       
5       Nesta CARTER    JAM       
6       Michael FRATER    JAM       
7       Jaysuma NDURE    NOR       
8       Marc BURNS    TRI       
Post by: Aviator on July 25, 2008, 11:56:26 AM
18:18 - 100 METRES Men - Heats - Heat 1    OFFICIAL RESULTS
First 3 of each heat (Q) plus the 2 fastest times (q) qualified    Wind: -1.0 m/s
1       Asafa POWELL    JAM    10.06       0.130    Q       
2       Michael FRATER    JAM    10.18       0.156    Q       
3       Jaysuma NDURE    NOR    10.23       0.152    Q       
4       Kim COLLINS    STK    10.24       0.196    q       
5       Craig PICKERING    GBR    10.25       0.173    q       
6       Travis PADGETT    USA    10.27       0.210          
7       Leevan YEARWOOD    GBR    10.46       0.163          
8       Ryan SCOTT    GBR    10.49       0.186          

Downloadable Results (pdf)
18:29 - 100 METRES Men - Heats - Heat 2    OFFICIAL RESULTS
First 3 of each heat (Q) plus the 2 fastest times (q) qualified    Wind: -0.2 m/s
1       Richard THOMPSON    TRI    10.11       0.149    Q       
2       Nesta CARTER    JAM    10.17       0.194    Q       
3       Marc BURNS    TRI    10.19       0.236    Q       
4       Harry AIKINES ARYEETEY    GBR    10.27       0.128          
5       Tyrone EDGAR    GBR    10.30       0.127          
6       Marlon DEVONISH    GBR    10.31       0.154          
7       Shawn CRAWFORD    USA    10.39       0.195          
8       Rikki FIFTON    GBR    10.40       0.110          
Post by: A.B. on July 25, 2008, 12:09:32 PM
Padgett needs to go home he has had a long season I dunno what purpose he is serving running like this....MANAGEMENT!  Go home and be ready for the relay all he is doing is running himself out of a relay spot in Beijing...
Post by: boss on July 25, 2008, 12:45:16 PM
Women's 1500 about to start, and then the women's 4 x 100 is next (We are in Lane 7). Will keep you updated.

England is trying to market Kelly Sotherton as sexy. I don't see it.
Post by: boss on July 25, 2008, 12:51:47 PM
Oooh, bachannal in the 1500m....Kelly Sotherton stopped halfway in the race and all the runners look unhappy. Commentators are speculating that the hurdles are in the wrong place!  :o  :o  :o

There was a false start too to complicate things...
Post by: Aviator on July 25, 2008, 12:55:12 PM
Watch here.........
http://www.justin.tv/channel34
Post by: boss on July 25, 2008, 01:02:19 PM
The 1500 will be re-run at a future time, probably last thing tonight or some time tomorrow...On to the the 4x100!

Didn't get any names of our girls in this race...

Post by: boss on July 25, 2008, 01:07:09 PM
T&T in Lane 7

The runners have now gotten up twice from the set position...this is annoying....ok, here we go...

Good start...we making progress on lane 8...

First handoff - fine

2nd handoff - fine

3rd handoff - not bad

We came 6th I think....USA won...
Post by: boss on July 25, 2008, 01:10:08 PM
We came in 5th in 43.71 which is a PB

Apologies for not having the individual names...very Brit-centric coverage on the bbc as you would expect..
Post by: Aviator on July 25, 2008, 01:12:10 PM
19:55 - 4 X 100 METRES Women    OFFICIAL RESULTS

1       USA RED    USA    42.61       0.167       SR    
   (A. Williams, M. Lewis, S. Solomon, L. Williams)
2       INVITATION TEAM       42.65       0.321          
   (C. Davis, L. Moore, B. Knight, D. Ferguson)
3       GBR BLUE    GBR    43.09       0.182          
   (L. Turner, M. Douglas, E. Freeman, E. Ania)
4       BELGIUM    BEL    43.56       0.266       SB    
   (O. Borlee, H. Marien, E. Ouedraogo, K. Gevaert)
5       TRINIDAD & TOBAGO    TRI    43.71       0.298       PB    
   (S. Hackett, A. Hutchinson, M. Cabral, K.A. Baptiste)

6       POLAND    POL    43.95       0.243          
   (E. Klocek, D. Korczynska, D. Jedrusinska, M. Jeschke)
7       GBR RED    GBR    44.31                
   (S. Claxton, A. Nelson, K.A. Thomas, J. Maduaka)

Hackett was sleepin gin de blocks.
Post by: football prof on July 25, 2008, 01:16:00 PM
did they qualify with that time
Post by: Aviator on July 25, 2008, 01:16:53 PM
did they qualify with that time

They qualified nine days ago.
Post by: boss on July 25, 2008, 01:20:29 PM
100m men are in their lanes...Thompson in Lane 3, Burns in 8...
Post by: boss on July 25, 2008, 01:23:12 PM
powell eases in 9.94...thompson was there with him for about 70 metres though
Post by: daryn on July 25, 2008, 01:23:36 PM
Burns look good there
Post by: daryn on July 25, 2008, 01:24:46 PM
Burns 9.97 
Post by: boss on July 25, 2008, 01:24:54 PM
I can't tell you how casual powell looked winning that race...

Burns had a  really good last 30 metres and I think may have gotten 2nd....waiting for confirmation....
Post by: boss on July 25, 2008, 01:26:23 PM
Burns 2nd 9.97
thompson 4th 10.01
Post by: boss on July 25, 2008, 01:27:15 PM
20:17 - 100 METRES Men - Final    OFFICIAL RESULTS
   Wind: -0.5 m/s
1       Asafa POWELL    JAM    9.94       0.147          
2       Marc BURNS    TRI    9.97       0.163       SB    
3       Michael FRATER    JAM    10.00       0.167       PB    
4       Richard THOMPSON    TRI    10.01       0.150          
5       Jaysuma NDURE    NOR    10.02       0.121          
6       Nesta CARTER    JAM    10.04       0.181          
7       Kim COLLINS    STK    10.17       0.190          
8       Craig PICKERING    GBR    10.21       0.163          
Post by: Blue on July 25, 2008, 01:39:56 PM
2       Marc BURNS    TRI    9.97       0.163       SB     A Ato approved sub-10 ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

I know nothing bout track, but Burns finish real strong in dat race from lane 8 (OK, so Asafa was easing up and might not have noticed him all d way out dere, but even so....  ;D)

Thompson started strong but faded towards the end. Still, nice to see some of our fellas livin up to their hype for a change  :beermug:
Post by: Aviator on July 25, 2008, 01:44:19 PM
2       Marc BURNS    TRI    9.97       0.163       SB     An Ato approved sub-10 ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

I know nothing bout track, but Burns finish real strong in dat race from lane 8 (OK, so Asafa was easing up and might not have noticed him all d way out dere, but even so....  ;D)

Thompson started strong but faded towards the end. Still, nice to see some of our fellas livin up to their hype for a change  :beermug:

Added to all that if yuh was to swing around that headwind, we  might have very well had 6 men run sub-10. Some SERIOUS depth this year. :o
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 25, 2008, 01:47:53 PM
Ahrite track men (and women), I iz a baller (though some might say ah lie  ;D) not a track man, so ah askin de question, realistically, yuh see we coppin at least one medal in de men'x 100m this year?  Powell, Bolt, and Gay are obviously favorites, but to my naaive eyes we could challlenge for at least one not so?
Post by: Aviator on July 25, 2008, 01:53:39 PM
Ahrite track men (and women), I iz a baller (though some might say ah lie  ;D) not a track man, so ah askin de question, realistically, yuh see we coppin at least one medal in de men'x 100m this year?  Powell, Bolt, and Gay are obviously favorites, but to my naaive eyes we could challlenge for at least one not so?

If is one man I willbet my money on (once healthy) is Darrel Brown. I am hearing some good things coming from the MVP camp. I know Shaver and Ato will have RT ready and Burns is just ah soldier, but Brung is mih horse fuh de upset.
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 25, 2008, 01:57:14 PM
Seen, ah hopin so too man, want to fly de RWB in some faces at work this year man  ;D  Tanks fuh de link, will chk out de relay tomorrow, bless
Post by: A.B. on July 25, 2008, 02:05:52 PM
SUB TEN into a wind too like Richard. Yes that is the real thing. So that makes what,   4  3 sub ten performers now for TNT lol.

The worst thing could have happened to Richard is to be next to Asafa because he ran Asafa's race model, he started well, very consistent now in that department ;D- but he is still competing well.  Rich'$ Last 20m was awful but lawd knows I been there....10.01 at this point in the year with his long 08 season is still good going into Beijing. Tapering will change a lot.

I have never seen Marc look better, ever, but lawd he always is running from 3-4 meters back.  You can't run down people from that far back in a championship setting and that is why he makes finals but doesn't factor when he does.  He could factor this year in those finals if they fix that start even a little.....Why d hell cant they fix his start after all these years????...GEEZAN man steups. Is not rocket science....

Anyhow let it not be said I am complaining - I tell these men celebrate every PR you never know when it will be your last - a great day  - and things look about as well as I thought if not better....oh and Jamaica's 4x100 need to slapped individually and collectively if they lose in Beijing because they have 2 x 9.7 guys, 1 10.00 and a sub ten guy running for them....we can't match that on paper and neither can the US.

But we know individual times dont matter. They should have beat the USA last year in Osaka and that didn't happen.
Post by: Trini1 on July 25, 2008, 03:04:04 PM
Firstly congrats to both Marc AND Richard for doing so well at such a high caliber meeting dey make yuh feel rell proud. But as Ato mention Richard was running the ASAFA race prototype and as a result he faded within d last 20m which normally is d part of d race where he picks up/running at full pace, but what is positive is that he can learn! Then if corrected he WILL do better and its only his SECOND race as a pro wow!!!!!!! On the down side was d women's 4x100m. The first leg was well run, second leg was poor as was the third KB made up ground on 1 girl and jus eased at the end ( i thought 43.46 was the PB not 43.71) anyway dey really need to fix up! duno wat Ayanna and MONIQUE were doing but unfortunately we dont really have anybody else to run their legs unless Sasha Springer-J and Wanda Hudson wlling to do a better job. Hopefully dey will do something to improve their times.
Post by: Aviator on July 25, 2008, 03:04:53 PM
SUB TEN into a wind too like Richard. Yes that is the real thing. So that makes what,   4  3 sub ten performers now for TNT lol.

The worst thing could have happened to Richard is to be next to Asafa because he ran Asafa's race model, he started well, very consistent now in that department ;D- but he is still competing well.  Rich'$ Last 20m was awful but lawd knows I been there....10.01 at this point in the year with his long 08 season is still good going into Beijing. Tapering will change a lot.

I have never seen Marc look better, ever, but lawd he always is running from 3-4 meters back.  You can't run down people from that far back in a championship setting and that is why he makes finals but doesn't factor when he does.  He could factor this year in those finals if they fix that start even a little.....Why d hell cant they fix his start after all these years????...GEEZAN man steups. Is not rocket science....

Anyhow let it not be said I am complaining - I tell these men celebrate every PR you never know when it will be your last - a great day  - and things look about as well as I thought if not better....oh and Jamaica's 4x100 need to slapped individually and collectively if they lose in Beijing because they have 2 x 9.7 guys, 1 10.00 and a sub ten guy running for them....we can't match that on paper and neither can the US.

But we know individual times dont matter. They should have beat the USA last year in Osaka and that didn't happen.

Might have been terrible in this situation, but I rather for it to happen now than in Beijing. At least that gives you the nest 3 weeks to pound it out of him, so there will be no surprises when the lights are on.

Brown is on the start lists for Monaco next Tuesday, hope he runs.
Post by: Ngozi on July 25, 2008, 03:15:08 PM
Lemme tell yuh what I'm observing ....these men not invincible the gap is closing...that is encouraging....men starting to believe that they could beat these guys Marc, Richard and Darrel go be there with them...darrel on the downlow I waiting to see what he has in store Marc has been running well and well RT under ATO so I not worried bout him. The man i worried bout is Tyson because even tho Bolt and Asafa think they guaranteed top finishes and they eh fraid the opposition ..tyson is a serious man and he doesnt undersetimate anyone so he'll work and work and work and work....he is a manimal
Post by: truetrini on July 25, 2008, 05:25:14 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QJtg6NGUQV8
Post by: Deeks on July 25, 2008, 06:13:38 PM
Burns sneak up on them!!!!
Post by: willi on July 25, 2008, 06:30:27 PM
Lemme tell yuh what I'm observing ....these men not invincible the gap is closing...that is encouraging....men starting to believe that they could beat these guys Marc, Richard and Darrel go be there with them...darrel on the downlow I waiting to see what he has in store Marc has been running well and well RT under ATO so I not worried bout him. The man i worried bout is Tyson because even tho Bolt and Asafa think they guaranteed top finishes and they eh fraid the opposition ..tyson is a serious man and he doesnt undersetimate anyone so he'll work and work and work and work....he is a manimal

So Bolt and Asafa not serious too?

Steeuuupps

Yankee going get a serious buss ass this trip. I dont case which trix deh pull fah, spanking deh getting all the same.

BTW, Burns look damn good..
Post by: fishs on July 25, 2008, 07:09:53 PM
Burns sneak up on them!!!!

Burns look like if he had a good start Powell was in trouble
Post by: jai john on July 25, 2008, 07:11:53 PM

If is one man I willbet my money on (once healthy) is Darrel Brown. I am hearing some good things coming from the MVP camp. I know Shaver and Ato will have RT ready and Burns is just ah soldier, but Brung is mih horse fuh de upset.

Yuh have ah believer here bruddah ...ah done post it already ..... I now looking for some designer suits to take Ato television wuk .. :devil:
Post by: Tha G. on July 25, 2008, 08:04:33 PM
Wait nah.the same Burns we was lambasting last week rest down ah sub 10, and beat Thompson too-boot.niceness fellas pure niceness....bodes well fuh we relay. Brown...what he go do now?
What time is the relay.ah have tuh watch that yes
Post by: Ngozi on July 25, 2008, 09:19:11 PM

So Bolt and Asafa not serious too?

Steeuuupps

Yankee going get a serious buss ass this trip. I dont case which trix deh pull fah, spanking deh getting all the same.

BTW, Burns look damn good..

Willi .....perhaps it was the wrong use of words on my part but I  get the impression that them two fellas as talented as they are tend to underestimate the opposition ....especially  Bolt. Bolt is a cocky youth no doubt bout that like to cut off and look over because he know he have the goods ......... eventually all that does come back to you if he eh watch himself....Asafa does struggle in the main events because he doesn't deal well with pressure in his mind he is expected to win it  just like everyone else expects him to win it and win it easily with class shutting down ...so whenever he runs and he is under pressure to which he isn't accustomed he almost automatically backs off or shuts down...so for him the pressure is in his mind ...when yuh on top the hardest thing to do is maintain it because everyone else wants what you have....Tyson has no such burdens ....there was a time when he used to get licks steady he was more a two hundred man ...he paid his dues and now he there with the best but he is a real humble soul so is no pressure to run like a dog and win it ...to him is about the end and not the means to it....not to say I supporting America surely you know that's not the case but it there right in front of our faces to see ....who want it bad enough ....no guts no glory Willi
Post by: Sando prince on July 26, 2008, 02:27:56 AM
I am one of the people who continuously lambast Burns..because he does not give these type of performances on a regular basis..but I hope this is the beginning of a very long trend for him
Post by: Aviator on July 26, 2008, 07:58:08 AM
Just miss Kelly-Ann's heat...steupsssssssssss............

.........but you can watch the meet here today. She did make the final however.

http://www.justin.tv/nadnerbsregdor

14:37 - 100 METRES Women - Heats - Heat 1    OFFICIAL RESULTS
First 3 of each heat (Q) plus the 2 fastest times (q) qualified    Wind: 0.0 m/s
1       Marshevet HOOKER    USA    11.04       0.194    Q       
2       Veronica CAMPBELL    JAM    11.05       0.173    Q       
3       Torri EDWARDS    USA    11.06       0.129    Q       
4       Kelly-Ann BAPTISTE    TRI    11.16       0.143    q       
5       Kim GEVAERT    BEL    11.19       0.150    q       
6       Montell DOUGLAS    GBR    11.27       0.160          
7       Laura TURNER    GBR    11.42       0.170          
8       Joice MADUAKA    GBR    11.78       0.168          

14:48 - 100 METRES Women - Heats - Heat 2    OFFICIAL RESULTS
First 3 of each heat (Q) plus the 2 fastest times (q) qualified    Wind: 0.1 m/s
1       Shelly Ann FRASER    JAM    11.01       0.201    Q       
2       Carmelita JETER    USA    11.17       0.209    Q       
3       Debbie FERGUSON    BAH    11.19       0.181    Q       
4       Kerron STEWART    JAM    11.20       0.232          
5       Lauryn WILLIAMS    USA    11.21       0.143          
6       Angela WILLIAMS    USA    11.26       0.162          
7       Emma ANIA    GBR    11.41       0.191          
8       Ashlee NELSON    GBR    11.48       0.175       

Post by: Aviator on July 26, 2008, 08:08:54 AM
Start list for later........

17:04 - 100 METRES Women - Final     START LIST
   Personal Best    Season Best
1       Kim GEVAERT    BEL       11.04    11.05
2       Kelly-Ann BAPTISTE    TRI       11.06    11.06
3       Veronica CAMPBELL    JAM       10.85    10.88
4       Shelly Ann FRASER    JAM       10.85    10.85
5       Marshevet HOOKER    USA       10.93    10.93
6       Carmelita JETER    USA       10.97    10.97
7       Torri EDWARDS    USA       10.78    10.78
8       Debbie FERGUSON    BAH       10.91    11.11
Post by: Aviator on July 26, 2008, 08:20:46 AM
No trini, but deserves honorable mention. BOLT goin' and mash up de place in Beijing in de deuce..........

15:00 - 200 METRES Men    OFFICIAL RESULTS
   Wind: -0.4 m/s
1       Usain BOLT    JAM    19.76       0.183       SR    
2       Wallace SPEARMON    USA    20.27       0.221          
3       Paul HESSION    IRL    20.37       0.188       SB    
4       Brian DZINGAI    ZIM    20.44       0.167          
5       Christian MALCOLM    GBR    20.54       0.189          
6       Rodney MARTIN    USA    20.55       0.184          
7       Alex NELSON    GBR    20.93       0.150          
8       Marvin ANDERSON    JAM    20.98       0.179       

The last 30m of that run was on a canter. :o
Post by: Marlon on July 26, 2008, 08:29:20 AM
Traitor Clement jes win he race >:(
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 26, 2008, 08:31:15 AM
Just miss Kelly-Ann's heat...steupsssssssssss............

.........but you can watch the meet here today. She did make the final however.

http://www.justin.tv/nadnerbsregdor

14:37 - 100 METRES Women - Heats - Heat 1    OFFICIAL RESULTS
First 3 of each heat (Q) plus the 2 fastest times (q) qualified    Wind: 0.0 m/s
1       Marshevet HOOKER    USA    11.04       0.194    Q       
2       Veronica CAMPBELL    JAM    11.05       0.173    Q       
3       Torri EDWARDS    USA    11.06       0.129    Q       
4       Kelly-Ann BAPTISTE    TRI    11.16       0.143    q       
5       Kim GEVAERT    BEL    11.19       0.150    q       
6       Montell DOUGLAS    GBR    11.27       0.160          
7       Laura TURNER    GBR    11.42       0.170          
8       Joice MADUAKA    GBR    11.78       0.168          

14:48 - 100 METRES Women - Heats - Heat 2    OFFICIAL RESULTS
First 3 of each heat (Q) plus the 2 fastest times (q) qualified    Wind: 0.1 m/s
1       Shelly Ann FRASER    JAM    11.01       0.201    Q       
2       Carmelita JETER    USA    11.17       0.209    Q       
3       Debbie FERGUSON    BAH    11.19       0.181    Q       
4       Kerron STEWART    JAM    11.20       0.232          
5       Lauryn WILLIAMS    USA    11.21       0.143          
6       Angela WILLIAMS    USA    11.26       0.162          
7       Emma ANIA    GBR    11.41       0.191          
8       Ashlee NELSON    GBR    11.48       0.175       

how did kelly look in those heats
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 26, 2008, 08:32:58 AM
what time later is the final race

Start list for later........

17:04 - 100 METRES Women - Final     START LIST
   Personal Best    Season Best
1       Kim GEVAERT    BEL       11.04    11.05
2       Kelly-Ann BAPTISTE    TRI       11.06    11.06
3       Veronica CAMPBELL    JAM       10.85    10.88
4       Shelly Ann FRASER    JAM       10.85    10.85
5       Marshevet HOOKER    USA       10.93    10.93
6       Carmelita JETER    USA       10.97    10.97
7       Torri EDWARDS    USA       10.78    10.78
8       Debbie FERGUSON    BAH       10.91    11.11
 :)
Post by: Aviator on July 26, 2008, 08:34:52 AM
12:04 our time.
Post by: Dinner Mints on July 26, 2008, 09:04:48 AM
How he a traitor? Ent de man was practically beggin to run for we? As far as I remember is de NAAA dat mess up.
Post by: Marlon on July 26, 2008, 09:17:27 AM
How he a traitor? Ent de man was practically beggin to run for we? As far as I remember is de NAAA dat mess up.

Where you hear dat?

Facting traitor, who vex lorse!!!
Post by: Carib-Briton on July 26, 2008, 10:07:30 AM
It's Jamaica fest at the Palace. I wonder if they'll take a 15min drive down to Brixton afterwards to get some post race Jerk
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 26, 2008, 10:08:56 AM
damm kelly ann have a next level to go...
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 26, 2008, 10:09:58 AM
It's Jamaica fest at the Palace. I wonder if they'll take a 15min drive down to Brixton afterwards to get some post race Jerk

or maybe a nice stop over in west london for some roti
Post by: Carib-Briton on July 26, 2008, 10:17:55 AM

or maybe a nice stop over in west london for some roti

Nah, they'll feel right at home in Brixton lol
Post by: Aviator on July 26, 2008, 10:25:03 AM
17:04 - 100 METRES Women - Final    OFFICIAL RESULTS
   Wind: 0.0 m/s
1       Veronica CAMPBELL    JAM    10.87       0.188       SB    
2       Shelly Ann FRASER    JAM    10.95       0.211          
3       Marshevet HOOKER    USA    11.07       0.236          
4       Torri EDWARDS    USA    11.09       0.168          
5       Carmelita JETER    USA    11.17       0.215          
6       Debbie FERGUSON    BAH    11.18       0.192          
7       Kim GEVAERT    BEL    11.28       0.169          
8       Kelly-Ann BAPTISTE    TRI    11.30       0.196        :'( :'(
Post by: Carib-Briton on July 26, 2008, 10:27:56 AM
mmmmmmmmm Trinidad should win this relay
Post by: Carib-Briton on July 26, 2008, 10:29:46 AM
Came 2nd to the USA Red team
Post by: football prof on July 26, 2008, 10:40:39 AM
1   USA RED USA-R  37.80  0.173   SR   
 (R. Martin, T. Padgett, S. Crawford, D. Patton) 
2   TRINIDAD & TOBAGO TRI  38.00  0.220   NR   
 (D. Brown, M. Burns, A. Armstrong, R. Thompson) 
3   GBR BLUE GBR-B  38.34  0.213   SB   
 (C. Malcolm, T. Edgar, M. Devonish, C. Pickering) 
4   USA BLUE USA-B  38.42  0.203     
 (L. Dixon, W. Spearmon, A. Merritt, M. Rodgers) 
5   JAMAICA JAM  38.85  0.280   SB   
 (A. Wellington, D. Thomas, M. Forsythe, M. Anderson) 
6   GBR RED GBR-R  38.87  0.315     
 (R. Scott, L. Yearwood, R. Fifton, H. Aikines Aryeetey) 
  NETHERLANDS NED  DQ 0.186     
 (M. Heisen, G. Hoogmoed, P. Van Luijk, C. Douglas) 
  POLAND POL  DNF 0.120     
 (M. Nowak, L. Chyla, M. Jedrusinski, D. Kuc) 
Post by: Aviator on July 26, 2008, 10:46:57 AM
1   USA RED USA-R  37.80  0.173   SR   
 (R. Martin, T. Padgett, S. Crawford, D. Patton) 
2   TRINIDAD & TOBAGO TRI  38.00  0.220   NR   
 (D. Brown, M. Burns, A. Armstrong, R. Thompson) 

3   GBR BLUE GBR-B  38.34  0.213   SB   
 (C. Malcolm, T. Edgar, M. Devonish, C. Pickering) 
4   USA BLUE USA-B  38.42  0.203     
 (L. Dixon, W. Spearmon, A. Merritt, M. Rodgers) 
5   JAMAICA JAM  38.85  0.280   SB   
 (A. Wellington, D. Thomas, M. Forsythe, M. Anderson) 
6   GBR RED GBR-R  38.87  0.315     
 (R. Scott, L. Yearwood, R. Fifton, H. Aikines Aryeetey) 
  NETHERLANDS NED  DQ 0.186     
 (M. Heisen, G. Hoogmoed, P. Van Luijk, C. Douglas) 
  POLAND POL  DNF 0.120     
 (M. Nowak, L. Chyla, M. Jedrusinski, D. Kuc) 

One positive is that we set a national record, but that exchange between Armstrong and Rt has to be better and Armstrong of himself needs to step-up. Crawford MURDERED him. Brown did a good job on lead-off, but I will still switch him with RT. Hopefully with a couple solid days of stick work in relay camp we should be able to go sub-37.80
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 26, 2008, 10:49:34 AM
Aviator (or any other), educate me for a second, hasn't Brown run our anchor in the past?  What is the school of thought having him lead off and using Thompson as the anchor?
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 26, 2008, 10:53:06 AM
Aviator (or any other), educate me for a second, hasn't Brown run our anchor in the past?  What is the school of thought having him lead off and using Thompson as the anchor?

Ask ato
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 26, 2008, 10:53:48 AM

thats was apoor run by kelly-ann
Post by: Aviator on July 26, 2008, 10:55:27 AM

Yes Db has been anchor in the past, but I guess they trying ah thing with Richard. Richard is the better starter and curve runner of the two, so I would make him lead off.

Me thinks Brung will make his case known for where he rightfully belongs on Tuesday in Monaco. :D
Post by: 100% Barataria on July 26, 2008, 10:57:15 AM
Shay Shay  ;D, lookin foward to Beijing  :beermug: :beermug:
Post by: Marlon on July 26, 2008, 11:10:24 AM

Yes Db has been anchor in the past, but I guess they trying ah thing with Richard. Richard is the better starter and curve runner of the two, so I would make him lead off.

Me thinks Brung will make his case known for where he rightfully belongs on Tuesday in Monaco. :D

Me thinks so too >:(
Post by: fLaSh on July 26, 2008, 11:27:13 AM

I agree Richard is the better starter and curve runner but to be honest I don't think it makes a big difference since both are excellent on both legs. Did you see how Richard was closing on Patton who is allegedly a 9.89 man? What is important is that EVERYONE keep their egos in check and do their jobs to the best of their ability

What I'm more concerned is about Armstrong's poor performance and Browns poor reaction time. DB gives us a 0.120 rxn and we're at 37.90 just like that even with the weak third leg. Darrel has to react to the gun better than that. An aspiring WFH has no business reacting that slow in any race.
BTW Brown shoulda made his so-called case for that anchor in yesterday's 100m. No excuses whatsoever for not running that London dash.
Post by: Aviator on July 26, 2008, 11:42:06 AM

I agree Richard is the better starter and curve runner but to be honest I don't think it makes a big difference since both are excellent on both legs. Did you see how Richard was closing on Patton who is allegedly a 9.89 man? What is important is that EVERYONE keep their egos in check and do their jobs to the best of their ability

What I'm more concerned is about Armstrong's poor performance and Browns poor reaction time. DB gives us a 0.120 rxn and we're at 37.90 just like that even with the weak third leg. Darrel has to react to the gun better than that. An aspiring WFH has no business reacting that slow in any race.
BTW Brown shoulda made his so-called case for that anchor in yesterday's 100m. No excuses whatsoever for not running that London dash.

I don't think that decision was his, but Franno's. Mark my words once healthy, DB will be the fastest man wearing red/white and black in Beijing. He also has more experience on the anchor, than RT which should go in his favor.

P.S. DB's reaction time wasn't bad at all. Check all the other teams in that race and the reaction times of all the 400m races run today. You will struggle to find any RX times faster than 0.200. It was loud as hell in that stadium with all them yardies.
Post by: daryn on July 26, 2008, 11:45:22 AM
No excuses whatsoever for not running that London dash.

I don't know if any of the MVP runners took part in more than one race for the meet.  Neither Powell nor Carter ran the relay.

here is Aviator's post from an earlier thread

Today's update from the MVP website..............

July 23, 2008: So while taking my daily jog, I am thinking about the amount of MVP Track and Field Club members who will be participating at the upcoming London Super Grand Prix to be held at Crystal Palace and decide that I have got to be there. Here is the list and tell me if you too would want to be there in person as opposed to watching on the TV or internet and relying on blackberry communication from my team. Asafa, Nesta, Darrel and Frater in the 100m would be worth it (3 have individual World Championship 100m medals and Nesta has a World Championship relay silver medal). However, Trinidad wants Darrel to run the 4X100m so he may do just the relay. Shelly Ann and Sherone in the women's 100m (August 16 and 17 is what matters nothing else. You did what you had to do in the 3 rounds in Kingston, June 27 and 28). Brigitte and Melaine, both with the 3rd fastest times in the world in their respective hurdle events 100m and 400m. Brigitte you have raced more this year than most of your MVP colleagues so maybe you should rest this weekend. Markino in the 400m hurdles, 48 beckons. Germaine Mason you have been jumping higher each meet, do it again as you prepare for your first Olympics. Shericka let us see if we can get you some speed work, while Kaliese perhaps another 400m race for you. Well London here I come
Post by: Sando prince on July 26, 2008, 12:30:22 PM

C'mon Kelly Ann, yuh have to do better than this...Olympics is around de corner
Post by: A.B. on July 26, 2008, 12:36:23 PM
The relay order was changed at my instruction, and they have run 38.00 NR today and 38.4 without Darrel.  I put Darrel 4th in 2001 and we got 2 World Championship silvers out of that. If Armstrong gets his game together this is a 37.8 team, clean passes this is a gold medal threat team, so I don't see what the problem is...Richard is IN NO WAY SHAPE OR FORM a better turn runner than Darrel - yet.  When I saw Darrel run 1st for MVP this year I saw he could run a very good turn - and he is not a bad starter.  

Plus Richard is the best anchor we have now. He will RUN DOWN AND CATCH people - as you saw today when he was running down a 9.89 man in Patton.  Anchor is not just a leg it is a state of mind, I myself almost never ran anchor for TNT or HSI (and never for UCLA!), I was more suited to 3rd or 2nd.

I don't know how anyone can watch what happened today with that NR and say oh yeah that need to be altered.

Anyhow, no one saw 2001's silver either -I was a madman then when I decided to put that then-16 year old to anchor.

Get used to this order it ent changing, and after what I saw today it definitely ent changing  :rotfl:

Have a little faith, shouldn't be that hard when we having bad races and running NATIONAL RECORDS. 2nd fastest time in the world (the first time this 4 have ever run together in life!) and men want change....steups.

If Armstrong would hold his own on third and not let men walk away from him like today this team gets a medal in Beijing - and in a relay if you can medal you can win - Great Britain won in 2004 with a team not as good as this one.

Post by: Ngozi on July 26, 2008, 12:40:01 PM
From an 11.16 to a 11.30 seems she get flustered for the final ....good experience for her.....the test is how will she rebound in her next race
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 26, 2008, 12:50:52 PM
So ato what about kelly ann why are you so silent
Post by: Aviator on July 26, 2008, 12:57:21 PM
The relay order was changed at my instruction, and they have run 38.00 NR today and 38.4 without Darrel.  I put Darrel 4th in 2001 and we got 2 World Championship silvers out of that. If Armstrong gets his game together this is a 37.8 team, clean passes this is a gold medal threat team, so I don't see what the problem is...Richard is IN NO WAY SHAPE OR FORM a better turn runner than Darrel - yet.  When I saw Darrel run 1st for MVP this year I saw he could run a very good turn - and he is not a bad starter. 

Plus Richard is the best anchor we have now. He will RUN DOWN AND CATCH people - as you saw today when he was running down a 9.89 man in Patton.  Anchor is not just a leg it is a state of mind, I myself almost never ran anchor for TNT or HSI (and never for UCLA!), I was more suited to 3rd or 2nd.

I don't know how anyone can watch what happened today with that NR and say oh yeah that need to be altered.

Anyhow, no one saw 2001's silver either -I was a madman then when I decided to put that then-16 year old to anchor.

Get used to this order it ent changing, and after what I saw today it definitely ent changing  :rotfl:

Have a little faith, shouldn't be that hard when we having bad races and running NATIONAL RECORDS. 2nd fastest time in the world (the first time this 4 have ever run together in life!) and men want change....steups.

If Armstrong would hold his own on third and not let men walk away from him like today this team gets a medal in Beijing - and in a relay if you can medal you can win - Great Britain won in 2004 with a team not as good as this one.

Precisely my reason for me wanting to run DB on anchor. Some men are just born for it. Like MLF. I doubt there is a relay coach in the wold that would substitute one of their 10.1x runners over a 10.2x running MLF on anchor, because you know what he will bring, and its the same reason D Will will always be on the US 4x400m squad regardless of whatever tata he runs in the open.

Honestly switching DB for RT wouldn't make much difference on paper, but I just like the security of having a guy who has been there done that. But if you say that's the final order, well not I guess that's it.  8)
Post by: jai john on July 26, 2008, 12:59:00 PM
From an 11.16 to a 11.30 seems she get flustered for the final ....good experience for her.....the test is how will she rebound in here next race

Why we so hard on de girl ..allyuh know if today was one of those days ???..she is the best women's runner from T&T in muchos anos if not ever .... Thompson run a fifth ... man say good for he first professional race ...allyuh eh givin Kelly aNN NO SLACK ? ..WE EH EVEN HEAR A COMMENT FROM THE GIRL SELF .. suppose she had an upset stomach ?
C'mon guys ...have faith .
look how I brave ...Brown...Brown...Brown...and Kelly to make de final ..after dat is me an bago holding we breath.
By de way could someone post ah link for de men's relay ?
Post by: Aviator on July 26, 2008, 01:08:31 PM
From an 11.16 to a 11.30 seems she get flustered for the final ....good experience for her.....the test is how will she rebound in here next race

Why we so hard on de girl ..allyuh know if today was one of those days ???..she is the best women's runner from T&T in muchos anos if not ever .... Thompson run a fifth ... man say good for he first professional race ...allyuh eh givin Kelly aNN NO SLACK ? ..WE EH EVEN HEAR A COMMENT FROM THE GIRL SELF .. suppose she had an upset stomach ?
look how I brave ...Brown...Brown...Brown...and Kelly to make de final ..after dat is me an bago holding we breath.

IF a youtube video doesn't pop up by later, this guy is going to post the entire Day 2 proceedings here later this evening.

http://www.justin.tv/channel34
Post by: vb on July 26, 2008, 01:19:03 PM

I was thinking the same thing.

Post by: A.B. on July 26, 2008, 01:21:22 PM
Kelly Ann had a really bad race she is tired she has been running since FEB and has run a full college season while these girls were lifting weigths  getting ready for JULY, AUG and SEP. I was dead last in my last Euro race before Sydney so it happens sometimes.

Doesn't mean she is done for Beijing but she has to go home now.

Post by: Sando prince on July 26, 2008, 01:22:12 PM
The reason why we are hard on Baptise is because her times are getting worse...Thompson times are improving..
Post by: A.B. on July 26, 2008, 01:24:24 PM
Thompson ran 9.93 9.96 and 10.00 this year so his times aren't improving per se.  They improved from one meet to the next in Europe.  Patience you all! lawd this ent football you can actually trust those who have been there before to make the right moves....
Post by: Patterson on July 26, 2008, 02:45:25 PM
I know allyuh fellas talking serious business here but  I heard the commentator say Darrel Brown and Veronica Campbell married... and I heard it on cnn also...Anybody know when this happen or I just late and no i'm not some kinda groupie
Post by: Sando prince on July 26, 2008, 02:50:45 PM
I know allyuh fellas talking serious business here but  I heard the commentator say Darrel Brown and Veronica Campbell married... and I heard it on cnn also...Anybody know when this happen or I just late and no i'm not some kinda groupie
   :-\  Oh Gosh !!...Tell me this is chupid talk... ah know Darrell could find plenty better in T&T  :devil:
Post by: Marlon on July 26, 2008, 02:53:36 PM
   :-\  Oh Gosh !!...Tell me this is chupid talk... ah know Darrell could find plenty better in T&T  :devil:

ENT?????????? >:(
Post by: Ngozi on July 26, 2008, 03:04:01 PM
Well to each man his own but just for the record Veronica Camphell is thick as hell so i dunno if I'd be absolutely disappointed in the brother's decision course my preference is still Christine Arron and Me'Lisa Barber but hey
Post by: A.B. on July 26, 2008, 03:05:10 PM
LOL Veronica is married to sprinter Omar Brown of Jamaica who has been her man for ages and who, like her, went to the U of Arkansas. LOL. Good try though.

Ah Trini and ah Jamaican marrying when has that ever happened (apart from Guy and Hope Boldon) lol
Post by: fLaSh on July 26, 2008, 04:50:25 PM
LOL Veronica is married to sprinter Omar Brown of Jamaica who has been her man for ages and who, like her, went to the U of Arkansas. LOL. Good try though.

Ah Trini and ah Jamaican marrying when has that ever happened (apart from Guy and Hope Boldon) lol

Well I plan on marrying Tami Chynn right after ah produce she next album :violin: :mackdaddy: ;D

Seriously though I laughed my arse of when I heard the BBC commentator said that. The mistakes by these cats sometimes...they also said Burns is a former World 100m Silver Medallist :bs:
Post by: Ngozi on July 26, 2008, 08:05:18 PM

lol actually my gyal is jamaican/puerto rican but she crazy so dunno if that go reach dey lol
Post by: A.B. on July 26, 2008, 09:07:39 PM
No way, not the British track broadcasters who Americans think are sooo good lol
Post by: vb on July 27, 2008, 03:07:53 AM

Well I plan on marrying Tami Chynn right after ah produce she next album :violin: :mackdaddy: ;D

Seriously though I laughed my arse of when I heard the BBC commentator said that. The mistakes by these cats sometimes...they also said Burns is a former World 100m Silver Medallist :bs:

Well he half right. Burns won silver at the World Jr. Champs, with DB winning Gold.

Post by: Trini _2026 on July 27, 2008, 07:52:14 AM
The relay order was changed at my instruction, and they have run 38.00 NR today and 38.4 without Darrel. I put Darrel 4th in 2001 and we got 2 World Championship silvers out of that.

Get used to this order it ent changing, and after what I saw today it definitely ent changing  :rotfl:

Since when you could make then kind ah calls  ??? 
Post by: Ngozi on July 27, 2008, 07:55:06 AM
The relay order was changed at my instruction, and they have run 38.00 NR today and 38.4 without Darrel. I put Darrel 4th in 2001 and we got 2 World Championship silvers out of that.

Since when you could make then kind ah calls  ??? 

Somebody have to make it so why not him?
Post by: A.B. on July 27, 2008, 01:49:17 PM
Since 2001.
Post by: fLaSh on July 27, 2008, 03:57:56 PM

Well he half right. Burns won silver at the World Jr. Champs, with DB winning Gold.

Nah he specifically referred to Senior Worlds in Paris. He mixed up Burns with Brown...just like he mixed up Darrell with Omar.  :rotfl:
Post by: Aviator on July 27, 2008, 04:10:19 PM
Video of Darrel's wife bussin up London Yesterday.... ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=adXzht0Kwug&feature=user

BTW if you want to see a video of the 4x100m relay, go here...
www.trackandfieldnews.com (http://www.trackandfieldnews.com)

You will see a square box on the front page with some videos of the meet from. I believe the 4x100m is like the 6th video.
Post by: Marlon on July 28, 2008, 07:58:24 AM
Dey need to practrice some more wid dem exchanges, and Armstrong need to step to fork up. :devil:
Post by: jai john on July 28, 2008, 08:49:50 AM
Dey need to practrice some more wid dem exchanges, and Armstrong need to step to fork up. :devil:

If Armstrong is operating at his best ..what more can we do ? If there is someone better then...  that person will be in the relay ...I however think that we dont have anyone else ..

If this is so then should we consider putting Armstrong in the first leg ( the slowest ...for you start from a dead stop position ) with " run down anybody ' Burns to try and make up some ground in leg two, Brown to further close the distance and Thompson to finish.

In this way we will be putting our weakest link in technically the slowest leg and using our trump cards to either try to give thompson a fighting chance or better than  a fighting chance.
I am  no expert in these things and would love to hear their view on this
Post by: A.B. on July 28, 2008, 12:57:40 PM
If you change leg 3, you change 2 passes. Not smart at this stage. 

Also, you run from behind from leg 1 because he does not start particularly well, and is having trouble enough apparently running with a flying start.

...it's already working, just wait...

Question, if TNT played (World Cup Champions) Italy in a match last week and lost a close 1-0 decision, would everyone be saying "change this and that", pointing out who "cost us d game" or "played shitty" or is the smarter response that "we have to play a little better next time to beat them"?

EXACTLY.
Post by: jai john on July 28, 2008, 01:58:39 PM
If you change leg 3, you change 2 passes. Not smart at this stage. 

Also, you run from behind from leg 1 because he does not start particularly well, and is having trouble enough apparently running with a flying start.

...it's already working, just wait...

Question, if TNT played (World Cup Champions) Italy in a match last week and lost a close 1-0 decision, would everyone be saying "change this and that", pointing out who "cost us d game" or "played shitty" or is the smarter response that "we have to play a little better next time to beat them"?

EXACTLY.

Thanks Ato. I am here to learn... not to teach and I agree changing two baton passes may not be wise at this stage. Well it is because of your analogy that I asked the question .... the fact is that we are in the competition with these teams and if we want to have anything to show for it we have to try different things before the big day. Once we get there we fixed but when you consider that jamaica and a stronger Usa and Great Britain are also in the hunt we have to be the best we can be.
You are there and in charge, I am here and hoping...
I guess i just want to see the team at its best.
I saw the relay and was impressed by thompson's finish but he eh starting from so far back and ketching anybody in china....if ah didnt have so much work ah wudda run the 3rd leg mehself  :devil:
..by the way Ato ..ah hope you know that your NBC job on de line ..and ah keep saying it so everybody go know too !!! Brown...Brown...Brown....
Post by: Tha G. on July 28, 2008, 05:58:52 PM
I eh go lie eh, Thompson had way too much wok to do boy....but good thing is, we had an average race, and still set ah new record, Amstrong have to pull he weight boy. I done see it go have real bachannal in the finals in Bejing, and ah upset, either usa, or jamaica go do some sh!t
Post by: A.B. on July 28, 2008, 06:18:35 PM
LOL I hear yuh, but disagree totally with this if we want to have anything to show for it "we have to try different things before the big day". Your words.  NO NO NO. ]. 38.00 with an awful 3rd leg and a bad last handoff says so.

That is the last thing you ever want to do, and I have been running relays enough to know late changes = recipe for disaster.

NO TEAM besides JAM and USA are in our league, no, not even the UK. Not this year.  We change and start to go below bronze level, which we are now on paper.  Improve and make fewer mistakes and these guys could win the whole damn thing. Period.  That USA team is going to be full of people who haven't been on that team before like Padgett and Dix, who quite frankly have not run anywhere close to this big a stage before, while we return 3 who have already been there, and Marc since 8 years ago!

Let the others change stuff. All we do is improve with practice and sharpening in the next 4 weeks.  3 of our guys will be well rested with no 200, and to be honest if Armstrong doesn't run better he won't be going far in that 200 either. I agree Bledman should get a shot, I'd like to see him in practice because this " who runs faster out of the blocks" I've heard as the measuring stick is not a good barometer - if so Glenroy Gilbert wouldn't have won that relay for Canada in 1996 in Atlanta.
Post by: vb on July 29, 2008, 04:23:56 PM
I guess Ato knows what he talking about but it really bothering me to see Armstrong running 3rd leg.

Let him start and then off to DB, Burns and Thompson.

That would be a minimal change to the formation. Imagine we in a dead heat with the Americans and Armstrong have to fight it up with Asafa and an American who probably runs a sub 10.

I think the team did well despite Armstrong because of the natural speed of the athletes. How many countries put their number four sprinter to run the third leg.

I was very impressed with Mr. Thompson. Damn he got that baton in fifth sport and was just reeling men in.

In the individual 100 metres he and Burns had contrasting races. Thomposn was good with about 70 meteres, seemingly in the lead and then the stronger men took over.

Burns on the other hand seemed out of it and with 30 metres to go, just leggo speed and came second running a sub 10. The commentators were VERY impressed with has late burst and said to look out for him in Beijing.

Finally what the hell is it that U. Bolt does before a race. I see dey call his name twice before the 200 metres start and while he hail out de crowd he buss a kind of a wine. But it was weird looking. Like white ppl trying to dance Calypso. :o :o

Post by: willi on July 31, 2008, 08:54:35 AM

Finally what the hell is it that U. Bolt does before a race. I see dey call his name twice before the 200 metres start and while he hail out de crowd he buss a kind of a wine. But it was weird looking. Like white ppl trying to dance Calypso. :o :o

Lol

It looks like a new skank he picked up from the ASYLUM/Quad club.

Ask ato, is he who frequents that club.

Ato, hail up Alfred James next time you are there. He is a school friend.
Post by: A.B. on July 31, 2008, 05:21:42 PM
vb that is a big change - you are CHANGING who hands to Marc, CHANGING who Marc hands to, and CHANGING who hands to Richard - that is the biggest blasted change you can make to change all 3 passes!!!

How many countries put their #4 sprinter to run 3rd, well, most of them put their #4 sprinter at leg 3 or 1 - Tyson running 3rd last year was an anomaly because their slowest guy was running 4th and they had to get him ahead of Asafa. Nesta Carter ran 3rd for JA - and this year if Shawn Crawford runs 3rd for the US he will be the #4 person on that team so.....this is not some weird thing we are doing!

Since Armstrong can't start, this is where he stays.  I understand now that the man had just come over to London let's give him a chance please one bad race by one leg who just stepped off a plane is not cause to change anything, and I don't think he wants to be the goat if people see he blew the race in Beijing - that is motivation enough....

Geezanages.