May 17, 2024, 08:55:22 AM

Author Topic: Six Inspired Transfers (incl. Dwight Yorke)  (Read 6841 times)

Offline Giggsy's Chestwig

Re: Six Inspired Transfers (incl. Dwight Yorke)
« Reply #30 on: August 31, 2008, 01:59:32 PM »

The reason why Yorke was so good for United and why United played the best brand of football is because of how unselfish Yorke was.

The unselfishness of Yorke, in full...

Number of assists from Beckham (Midfielder, supports the forward) to Yorke in 1998/99:

And heres the stat that will blow your argument clean out of the water...

Number of assists from Cole (Supporting forward) to Yorke in 1998/99:

Number of assists from Yorke to Cole in 1998/99:

Opinions mean nothing if they aren't based on fact.

I guess school really is on Vacation

Theres nothing grammatically incorrect with that statement and you're just reacting like anyone else on this forum when they are presented with facts, by nit-picking (unsuccessfully) to save face.

Are you going to address the fact that between Yorke and Cole, Cole had more assists?

I didn't think so.

Heres another stat for you all.

In the following season (1999/2000):

Yorke 23 goals
Cole 22 goals

Between the two of them Cole still came out trumps, supplying assists for four of Yorke's goals during that campaign as opposed to the two assists that Yorke is credited with...

In 1999 and 2000, the man who had been credited with the most assists was David Beckham.

« Reply #31 on: August 31, 2008, 02:10:01 PM »
I wasn't going to get involved in this thread

But you will, as your continued predilection for irrelevancy will demonstrate...

Yorke had the potential to be an even bigger legend at the club if it wasn't for the extracurricular. I think he couldve have been in George Best realm, thats how far I think he could have gone.

He was in the George Best realm, as his extra-curricular nightclubbing activities and penchant for pornstars demonstrated. Best forward in the last 20 years?

Three words.

Ruud Van Nistelrooy.

For you to say that Andy Cole played a big part in Yorke's success is hilarious to say the least, especially from a man like you who claim to know something about football and the club you support.

Yeah right, Cole only scored five less than Yorke. During the 1998/99 season. 

Is that profligous GOAT Andy Cole who profit from Yorke

Yet he still managed 25 goals in the season before Yorke arrived... :rotfl:

United could have survived just fine without Cole but not without Yorke!

See above.

The reason why Yorke was so good for United and why United played the best brand of football is because of how unselfish Yorke was.

The unselfishness of Yorke, in full...

Number of assists from Beckham to Yorke in 1998/99:

And heres the stat that will blow your argument clean out of the water...

Number of assists from Cole to Yorke in 1998/99:

Number of assists from Yorke to Cole in 1998/99:

As for your reference re: him being marked out of the CL final, lets not forget the champions league is not just one game.. What about his performances against Barcelona and Juventus to get them there in the first place?!

Oh yeah, largely anonymous in the first leg against Juve...United had to rely on Giggs getting an injury time equaliser to keep them in it. Nowhere to be seen in the second leg until Keane pulled United back into them into the game, a game which was largely down to Keane marshaling Zidane and Davids on his own and putting in a truly heroic performance, despite the fact that he knew that he would miss the final.

Like I have iterated before, it wasn't all down to Yorke as you would all have us believe. You could rattle off five other players who made just as big a contribution as he did.

my, my...

not another one of these google fans who hash together some carefully selected stats to try to bolster their opinions. Notwithstanding the fact that he conveniently omits the less readily available and less empirical stats that would be more relevant to this argument. its why i'll always prefer an in-person discussion to haggling on ah forum.

We want to see stats like who and where Andy Cole score his goals against throughout the entire season in England and in Europe.... Case in point Tevez and Rooney weren't exactly notching up the goals last season yet no one would call their seasons anything but outstanding.

We want to know how important his goals were and how they contributed to the overall success of the team. How many misses to conversions.. How well he integrated into the system and the team.. How was he ranked by his teammates and fans.. Just generally we want to know how well the goat played, which could only be assessed from watching the game.. Not googling up some stats and patting yuhself on the back.

I believe there is a God.

its a wonder why i even bother watching the sport.

« Reply #32 on: August 31, 2008, 09:49:58 PM »
The stats never came from Google. You ask for facts and I give them to you and now that you've been shown up for the noob that you are, you want to sarcastically dismiss it all.

Or maybe you're not used to dealing with people who present you with facts rather than opinions.

You've practically had your argument blasted out if the water by cold hard facts and now you want to say that you want to dismiss the quality of opposition that Cole scored against?

In any case, I'll provide you with answers to the following...

Notwithstanding the fact that he conveniently omits the less readily available and less empirical stats that would be more relevant to this argument.

Wow. I thought I just did. I proved that that what you said about Cole mostly benefiting from Yorke being in the team to be nothing more than biased hyperbole. So what relevant stats did you actually want? And what are these less readily available stats that you speak of? Do tell. Or should I not bother posting stats since that sort of thing is for Google lovers? Nevermind, we'll get to that later...

its why i'll always prefer an in-person discussion to haggling on ah forum.

Awww spoil chile don't like the fact that other kids know more than he does and doesn't want to play anymore...

Awww...oh oh.

Considering you're on here more than I am.

We want to see stats like who and where Andy Cole score his goals against throughout the entire season in England and in Europe

Fine.

Andy Cole 1998/99.

Goals scored: 24

Scored against:

LKS Lodz (Champions League Qualifier 1st leg) - Old Trafford      Assist: Denis Irwin
Southampton (Premiership) - The Dell    Assist: Giggs
Wimbledon (2 goals scored) (Premiership) - Old Trafford  Assists: Yorke, Beckham
Brondby (Champions League) - Parken Stadium    Assist: Yorke
Everton (Premiership) - Goodison Park    Assist:  Blomqvist
Brondby (Champions League) - Old Trafford    Assist: Yorke
Sheffield Wednesday (Premiership) - Hillsbrough    Assist: Yorke
Barcelona (Champions League) - Nou Camp    Assist: Yorke
Chelsea (Premiership) - Old Trafford    Assist: Butt
Middlesbrough (FA Cup) - Old Trafford    Assist: Giggs
West Ham (Premiership) (2 Goals Scored) - Old Trafford    Assists: Butt, Yorke
Leicester (Premiership) (2 Goals Scored) - Filbert Street    Assists: Giggs, Yorke
Notts Forest (Premiership) (2 Goals Scored) - City Ground    Assists: Yorke, Beckham
Fulham (FA Cup) - Old Trafford    Assist: Solskjaer
Arsenal (Premiership) - Old Trafford    Assist: P. Neville
Newcastle United (2 Goals Scored) (Premiership) - St James Park    Assists: Yorke, Beckham
Juventus (Champions League) - Stadio Delli Alphi    Assist: Yorke
Leeds United (Premiership) - Elland Road    Assist: Keane
Tottenham Hotspur (Premiership) - Old Trafford    Assist: G. Neville

Dwight Yorke 1998/99:

Total goals scored: 29

Scored against:

Charlton Athletic (Premiership) (2 goals scored) - Old Trafford    Assists: Beckham (2)
Coventry City (Premiership) - Old Trafford    Assist: Scholes
Bayern Munich (Champions League) - Olympic Stadium    Assist: Beckham
Southampton (Premiership) - The Dell    Assist: Cole
Wimbledon (Premiership) - Old Trafford    Assist: Cole
Brondby (Champions League) - Parken Stadium    Assist: Keane
Everton (Premiership)  - Goodison Park    Assist: Cole
Brondby (Champion League) - Old Trafford    Assist: Beckham
Blackburn Rovers (Premiership) - Old Trafford    Assist: Butt
Barcelona (Champions League) (2 goals scored) - Nou Camp    Assists: Blomqvist, Beckham
West Ham Utd (Premiership) - Old Trafford    Assist: Cole
Leicester City (Premiership) (Hat-trick) - Filbert Street    Assists: Cole (2), Beckham
Liverpool (FA Cup) - Old Trafford    Assist: Cole
Charlton Athletic (Premiership) - The Valley    Assist: Scholes
Derby County (Premiership) - Old Trafford    Assist: Butt
Notts Forest (Premiership) (2 goals scored) - The City Ground    Assists: Cole, Beckham
Southampton (Premiership) - Old Trafford    Assist: Beckham
Inter Milan (Champions League) (2 goals scored) - Old Trafford    Assists: Beckham (2)
Chelsea (FA Cup) (2 goals scored) - Stamford Bridge    Assists: Cole (2)
Juventus (Champions League) - Stadio Delli Alphi    Assist: Cole
Liverpool (Premiership) - Anfield    Assist: Beckham
Middlesbrough (Premiership) - Riverside stadium    Assist: Beckham

In fact, those stats seem to make your rantings even more ridiculous...

Assists: Cole (12)
           Beckham (12)

24 of Yorkes goals were provided by Beckham and Cole. Between Cole and Yorke, Cole created more goals for Yorke. Beckham also created more goals for Yorke than he did for Cole.

We want to know how important his goals were and how they contributed to the overall success of the team.

Who's this 'we'? So far its only been you trying to save face. How important his goals were? Ok fine...lets go through it again shall we, you seem to be a glutton for punishment...

LKS Lodz (Champions League Qualifier 1st leg) - Old Trafford      SECOND GOAL IN A 2-0 WIN
Southampton (Premiership) - The Dell    SECOND GOAL IN A 3-0 WIN
Wimbledon (2 goals scored) (Premiership) - Old Trafford    FIRST AND FIFTH GOALS IN A 5-1 WIN
Brondby (Champions League) - Parken Stadium    THIRD GOAL IN A 6-2 WIN
Everton (Premiership) - Goodison Park    THIRD GOAL IN A 4-1 WIN
Brondby (Champions League) - Old Trafford    SECOND GOAL IN A 5-0 WIN
Sheffield Wednesday (Premiership) - Hillsbrough    EQUALISING GOAL IN A 3-1 DEFEAT
Barcelona (Champions League) - Nou Camp    SECOND GOAL IN A 3-3 DRAW
Chelsea (Premiership) - Old Trafford    FIRST GOAL IN A 1-1 DRAW
Middlesbrough (FA Cup) - Old Trafford    EQUALISER IN A 3-1 WIN
West Ham (Premiership) (2 Goals Scored) - Old Trafford    SECOND AND THIRD GOALS IN A 4-1 WIN
Leicester (Premiership) (2 Goals Scored) - Filbert Street    SECOND AND THIRD GOALS IN A 6-2 WIN
Notts Forest (Premiership) (2 Goals Scored) - City Ground    SECOND AND THIRD GOALS IN AN 8-1 WIN
Fulham (FA Cup) - Old Trafford    ONLY GOAL OF THE GAME
Arsenal (Premiership) - Old Trafford    EQUALISER IN A 1-1 DRAW (Yorke also missed a penalty in this game)
Newcastle United (2 Goals Scored) (Premiership) - St James Park    BOTH GOALS IN A 2-1 WIN
Juventus (Champions League) - Stadio Delli Alphi    WINNING GOAL IN A 3-2 WIN
Leeds United (Premiership) - Elland Road    EQUALISER IN A 1-1 DRAW
Tottenham Hotspur (Premiership) - Old Trafford    WINNING GOAL IN A 2-1 WIN (United needed a win from this game to win the league)

And Yorke:

Charlton Athletic (Premiership) (2 goals scored) - Old Trafford    SECOND AND THIRD GOALS IN A 4-1 WIN
Coventry City (Premiership) - Old Trafford    FIRST GOAL IN A 2-0 WIN
Bayern Munich (Champions League) - Olympic Stadium    FIRST EQUALISING GOAL IN A 2-2 DRAW
Southampton (Premiership) - The Dell    FIRST GOAL IN A 3-0 WIN
Wimbledon (Premiership) - Old Trafford    FIFTH GOAL IN A 5-1 WIN
Brondby (Champions League) - Parken Stadium    FIFTH GOAL IN A 6-2 WIN
Everton (Premiership)  - Goodison Park    FIRST GOAL IN A 4-1 WIN
Brondby (Champion League) - Old Trafford    FOURTH GOAL IN A 5-0 WIN
Blackburn Rovers (Premiership) - Old Trafford    SECOND GOAL IN A 3-2 WIN
Barcelona (Champions League) (2 goals scored) - Nou Camp    FIRST EQUALISER AND THIRD GOAL IN A 3-3 DRAW
West Ham Utd (Premiership) - Old Trafford    FIRST GOAL IN A 4-1 WIN
Leicester City (Premiership) (Hat-trick) - Filbert Street    FIRST, FOURTH AND FIFTH GOALS IN A 6-2 WIN
Liverpool (FA Cup) - Old Trafford    EQUALISING GOAL IN A 2-1 WIN
Charlton Athletic (Premiership) - The Valley    ONLY GOAL OF THE GAME
Derby County (Premiership) - Old Trafford    ONLY GOAL OF THE GAME
Notts Forest (Premiership) (2 goals scored) - The City Ground    FIRST AND FOURTH GOALS IN AN 8-1 WIN
Southampton (Premiership) - Old Trafford    SECOND GOAL IN A 2-1 WIN
Inter Milan (Champions League) (2 goals scored) - Old Trafford    BOTH GOALS IN A 2-0 WIN
Chelsea (FA Cup) (2 goals scored) - Stamford Bridge    BOTH GOALS IN A 2-0 WIN
Juventus (Champions League) - Stadio Delli Alphi    EQUALISING GOAL IN A 3-2 WIN
Liverpool (Premiership) - Anfield    SECOND GOAL IN A 2-2 DRAW
Middlesbrough (Premiership) - Riverside stadium    ONLY GOAL OF THE GAME

Not that it matters since the original discussion was about who supplied more goals to whom, and it turned out to be Cole...You can change as many variables as you like, you were proven wrong initially and rather than accept it you want to change things around to suit yourself...digging a deeper hole for yourself.

How many misses to conversions..

You're really clutching at straws now, you've already been proved wrong...give it a rest. If you can't find those stats then what are the chances of me finding them?

Fact:

"Cole profited more from Yorke than Yorke did from Cole"

Out of the 29 goals Yorke scored, 12 were provided by Cole. Of the 24 goals that Cole scored, only 10 were provided by Yorke.

Of the 29 goals Yorke Scored 24 were provided by both Beckham and Cole...

Now you want chances to goals ratios...

I mean, seriously...

How well he integrated into the system and the team

Its desperation time in the house of Armadillo. Theres a stat for that sort of thing? If so, throw me an example...

How was he ranked by his teammates and fans.. Just generally we want to know how well the goat played, which could only be assessed from watching the game

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

So now you want me to watch every single game he played in 1998/99 and then report back to you on the forum with my thoughts?

This beggars belief, since you dismiss Cole as being not very good, you want me to watch every game he played in the 1998/99 season? You say he isn't that good, which means you've seen him play already. How can you offer an opinion on a layer if you haven't seen him play? Strange. You just don't know what you're talking about do you?

Basically, I think you're finding it hard to stomach that your opinions on this issue carry no weight and that THE FACTS have basically proven that you were wrong to suggest that Andy Cole was nothing more than a 'goat' during the Treble season. I keep stating over and over again that it was a team effort and everyone did their part in one way or another, but you didn't want to hear it and kept fighting it down. False pride at its best. Yorke scored 29 goals, and well done to him...but the player you dismiss as a 'goat' supplied 12 of those goals to him with another 12 coming from Beckhams right boot. In short, he relied on two players to provide the ammunition for him. Hardly the one man crusade you make the 1998/99 season out to be...

Here endeth the lesson.

We can do this for the 1999/2000 season tomorrow if you like?

Btw, you won't find those stats on Google. Its called the Manchester United Yearbook 1998/99 which was purchased from the United Megastore...Y'know, because facts come in handy when you need to have a debate...

;)

« Reply #33 on: August 31, 2008, 10:34:45 PM »
ah this is why I stop supporting Man u ,not like they cared but still ,...is just how much they chalk up Yorke to just a guy who passed tru and not that he grabbed a potentially great team by the jock straps and dragged them to immortality .
Dissing Yorke is like saying the Boston Celtics didnt really need Garnet ,Paul Peirce and Ray Allen and everybody else was good enough ,blasphemy .....Steupppss .move so no more treble for alyah .
Yorke impact as great as Cantonas cause Canonas work would have just trickled away with time with no massive achievements by the Club  imo ,that team was just basking in former glories when Yorke step in and said I want some glory to and credit to the guys they all stepped up.
They were a great army without a leader ,after Eric left,thats why the first man Roy Keene brought een at Sunderland was Yorke who led them to the Prem.
« Last Edit: August 31, 2008, 11:28:24 PM by Quagmire »

« Reply #34 on: August 31, 2008, 11:25:54 PM »

And through all of the treble I had Roy Keane as the best player for MAN U.

I saw Cantona and he was really inspirational but to me when he left Man U, Keane took over the role as inspiration and leader , I think he did an even better job than Cantona.

Comparing Yorke to Cantona is sort of idiotic because of their roles, style and what they brought to the MAN U set up.

« Reply #35 on: September 01, 2008, 10:34:57 AM »
The stats never came from Google. You ask for facts and I give them to you and now that you've been shown up for the noob that you are, you want to sarcastically dismiss it all.

Or maybe you're not used to dealing with people who present you with facts rather than opinions.

You've practically had your argument blasted out if the water by cold hard facts and now you want to say that you want to dismiss the quality of opposition that Cole scored against?

In any case, I'll provide you with answers to the following...

Notwithstanding the fact that he conveniently omits the less readily available and less empirical stats that would be more relevant to this argument.

Wow. I thought I just did. I proved that that what you said about Cole mostly benefiting from Yorke being in the team to be nothing more than biased hyperbole. So what relevant stats did you actually want? And what are these less readily available stats that you speak of? Do tell. Or should I not bother posting stats since that sort of thing is for Google lovers? Nevermind, we'll get to that later...

its why i'll always prefer an in-person discussion to haggling on ah forum.

Awww spoil chile don't like the fact that other kids know more than he does and doesn't want to play anymore...

Awww...oh oh.

Considering you're on here more than I am.

We want to see stats like who and where Andy Cole score his goals against throughout the entire season in England and in Europe

Fine.

Andy Cole 1998/99.

Goals scored: 24

Scored against:

LKS Lodz (Champions League Qualifier 1st leg) - Old Trafford      Assist: Denis Irwin
Southampton (Premiership) - The Dell    Assist: Giggs
Wimbledon (2 goals scored) (Premiership) - Old Trafford  Assists: Yorke, Beckham
Brondby (Champions League) - Parken Stadium    Assist: Yorke
Everton (Premiership) - Goodison Park    Assist:  Blomqvist
Brondby (Champions League) - Old Trafford    Assist: Yorke
Sheffield Wednesday (Premiership) - Hillsbrough    Assist: Yorke
Barcelona (Champions League) - Nou Camp    Assist: Yorke
Chelsea (Premiership) - Old Trafford    Assist: Butt
Middlesbrough (FA Cup) - Old Trafford    Assist: Giggs
West Ham (Premiership) (2 Goals Scored) - Old Trafford    Assists: Butt, Yorke
Leicester (Premiership) (2 Goals Scored) - Filbert Street    Assists: Giggs, Yorke
Notts Forest (Premiership) (2 Goals Scored) - City Ground    Assists: Yorke, Beckham
Fulham (FA Cup) - Old Trafford    Assist: Solskjaer
Arsenal (Premiership) - Old Trafford    Assist: P. Neville
Newcastle United (2 Goals Scored) (Premiership) - St James Park    Assists: Yorke, Beckham
Juventus (Champions League) - Stadio Delli Alphi    Assist: Yorke
Leeds United (Premiership) - Elland Road    Assist: Keane
Tottenham Hotspur (Premiership) - Old Trafford    Assist: G. Neville

Dwight Yorke 1998/99:

Total goals scored: 29

Scored against:

Charlton Athletic (Premiership) (2 goals scored) - Old Trafford    Assists: Beckham (2)
Coventry City (Premiership) - Old Trafford    Assist: Scholes
Bayern Munich (Champions League) - Olympic Stadium    Assist: Beckham
Southampton (Premiership) - The Dell    Assist: Cole
Wimbledon (Premiership) - Old Trafford    Assist: Cole
Brondby (Champions League) - Parken Stadium    Assist: Keane
Everton (Premiership)  - Goodison Park    Assist: Cole
Brondby (Champion League) - Old Trafford    Assist: Beckham
Blackburn Rovers (Premiership) - Old Trafford    Assist: Butt
Barcelona (Champions League) (2 goals scored) - Nou Camp    Assists: Blomqvist, Beckham
West Ham Utd (Premiership) - Old Trafford    Assist: Cole
Leicester City (Premiership) (Hat-trick) - Filbert Street    Assists: Cole (2), Beckham
Liverpool (FA Cup) - Old Trafford    Assist: Cole
Charlton Athletic (Premiership) - The Valley    Assist: Scholes
Derby County (Premiership) - Old Trafford    Assist: Butt
Notts Forest (Premiership) (2 goals scored) - The City Ground    Assists: Cole, Beckham
Southampton (Premiership) - Old Trafford    Assist: Beckham
Inter Milan (Champions League) (2 goals scored) - Old Trafford    Assists: Beckham (2)
Chelsea (FA Cup) (2 goals scored) - Stamford Bridge    Assists: Cole (2)
Juventus (Champions League) - Stadio Delli Alphi    Assist: Cole
Liverpool (Premiership) - Anfield    Assist: Beckham
Middlesbrough (Premiership) - Riverside stadium    Assist: Beckham

In fact, those stats seem to make your rantings even more ridiculous...

Assists: Cole (12)
           Beckham (12)

24 of Yorkes goals were provided by Beckham and Cole. Between Cole and Yorke, Cole created more goals for Yorke. Beckham also created more goals for Yorke than he did for Cole.

We want to know how important his goals were and how they contributed to the overall success of the team.

Who's this 'we'? So far its only been you trying to save face. How important his goals were? Ok fine...lets go through it again shall we, you seem to be a glutton for punishment...

LKS Lodz (Champions League Qualifier 1st leg) - Old Trafford      SECOND GOAL IN A 2-0 WIN
Southampton (Premiership) - The Dell    SECOND GOAL IN A 3-0 WIN
Wimbledon (2 goals scored) (Premiership) - Old Trafford    FIRST AND FIFTH GOALS IN A 5-1 WIN
Brondby (Champions League) - Parken Stadium    THIRD GOAL IN A 6-2 WIN
Everton (Premiership) - Goodison Park    THIRD GOAL IN A 4-1 WIN
Brondby (Champions League) - Old Trafford    SECOND GOAL IN A 5-0 WIN
Sheffield Wednesday (Premiership) - Hillsbrough    EQUALISING GOAL IN A 3-1 DEFEAT
Barcelona (Champions League) - Nou Camp    SECOND GOAL IN A 3-3 DRAW
Chelsea (Premiership) - Old Trafford    FIRST GOAL IN A 1-1 DRAW
Middlesbrough (FA Cup) - Old Trafford    EQUALISER IN A 3-1 WIN
West Ham (Premiership) (2 Goals Scored) - Old Trafford    SECOND AND THIRD GOALS IN A 4-1 WIN
Leicester (Premiership) (2 Goals Scored) - Filbert Street    SECOND AND THIRD GOALS IN A 6-2 WIN
Notts Forest (Premiership) (2 Goals Scored) - City Ground    SECOND AND THIRD GOALS IN AN 8-1 WIN
Fulham (FA Cup) - Old Trafford    ONLY GOAL OF THE GAME
Arsenal (Premiership) - Old Trafford    EQUALISER IN A 1-1 DRAW (Yorke also missed a penalty in this game)
Newcastle United (2 Goals Scored) (Premiership) - St James Park    BOTH GOALS IN A 2-1 WIN
Juventus (Champions League) - Stadio Delli Alphi    WINNING GOAL IN A 3-2 WIN
Leeds United (Premiership) - Elland Road    EQUALISER IN A 1-1 DRAW
Tottenham Hotspur (Premiership) - Old Trafford    WINNING GOAL IN A 2-1 WIN (United needed a win from this game to win the league)

And Yorke:

Charlton Athletic (Premiership) (2 goals scored) - Old Trafford    SECOND AND THIRD GOALS IN A 4-1 WIN
Coventry City (Premiership) - Old Trafford    FIRST GOAL IN A 2-0 WIN
Bayern Munich (Champions League) - Olympic Stadium    FIRST EQUALISING GOAL IN A 2-2 DRAW
Southampton (Premiership) - The Dell    FIRST GOAL IN A 3-0 WIN
Wimbledon (Premiership) - Old Trafford    FIFTH GOAL IN A 5-1 WIN
Brondby (Champions League) - Parken Stadium    FIFTH GOAL IN A 6-2 WIN
Everton (Premiership)  - Goodison Park    FIRST GOAL IN A 4-1 WIN
Brondby (Champion League) - Old Trafford    FOURTH GOAL IN A 5-0 WIN
Blackburn Rovers (Premiership) - Old Trafford    SECOND GOAL IN A 3-2 WIN
Barcelona (Champions League) (2 goals scored) - Nou Camp    FIRST EQUALISER AND THIRD GOAL IN A 3-3 DRAW
West Ham Utd (Premiership) - Old Trafford    FIRST GOAL IN A 4-1 WIN
Leicester City (Premiership) (Hat-trick) - Filbert Street    FIRST, FOURTH AND FIFTH GOALS IN A 6-2 WIN
Liverpool (FA Cup) - Old Trafford    EQUALISING GOAL IN A 2-1 WIN
Charlton Athletic (Premiership) - The Valley    ONLY GOAL OF THE GAME
Derby County (Premiership) - Old Trafford    ONLY GOAL OF THE GAME
Notts Forest (Premiership) (2 goals scored) - The City Ground    FIRST AND FOURTH GOALS IN AN 8-1 WIN
Southampton (Premiership) - Old Trafford    SECOND GOAL IN A 2-1 WIN
Inter Milan (Champions League) (2 goals scored) - Old Trafford    BOTH GOALS IN A 2-0 WIN
Chelsea (FA Cup) (2 goals scored) - Stamford Bridge    BOTH GOALS IN A 2-0 WIN
Juventus (Champions League) - Stadio Delli Alphi    EQUALISING GOAL IN A 3-2 WIN
Liverpool (Premiership) - Anfield    SECOND GOAL IN A 2-2 DRAW
Middlesbrough (Premiership) - Riverside stadium    ONLY GOAL OF THE GAME

Not that it matters since the original discussion was about who supplied more goals to whom, and it turned out to be Cole...You can change as many variables as you like, you were proven wrong initially and rather than accept it you want to change things around to suit yourself...digging a deeper hole for yourself.

How many misses to conversions..

You're really clutching at straws now, you've already been proved wrong...give it a rest. If you can't find those stats then what are the chances of me finding them?

Fact:

"Cole profited more from Yorke than Yorke did from Cole"

Out of the 29 goals Yorke scored, 12 were provided by Cole. Of the 24 goals that Cole scored, only 10 were provided by Yorke.

Of the 29 goals Yorke Scored 24 were provided by both Beckham and Cole...

Now you want chances to goals ratios...

I mean, seriously...

How well he integrated into the system and the team

Its desperation time in the house of Armadillo. Theres a stat for that sort of thing? If so, throw me an example...

How was he ranked by his teammates and fans.. Just generally we want to know how well the goat played, which could only be assessed from watching the game

So now you want me to watch every single game he played in 1998/99 and then report back to you on the forum with my thoughts?

This beggars belief, since you dismiss Cole as being not very good, you want me to watch every game he played in the 1998/99 season? You say he isn't that good, which means you've seen him play already. How can you offer an opinion on a layer if you haven't seen him play? Strange. You just don't know what you're talking about do you?

Basically, I think you're finding it hard to stomach that your opinions on this issue carry no weight and that THE FACTS have basically proven that you were wrong to suggest that Andy Cole was nothing more than a 'goat' during the Treble season. I keep stating over and over again that it was a team effort and everyone did their part in one way or another, but you didn't want to hear it and kept fighting it down. False pride at its best. Yorke scored 29 goals, and well done to him...but the player you dismiss as a 'goat' supplied 12 of those goals to him with another 12 coming from Beckhams right boot. In short, he relied on two players to provide the ammunition for him. Hardly the one man crusade you make the 1998/99 season out to be...

Here endeth the lesson.

We can do this for the 1999/2000 season tomorrow if you like?

Btw, you won't find those stats on Google. Its called the Manchester United Yearbook 1998/99 which was purchased from the United Megastore...Y'know, because facts come in handy when you need to have a debate...

;)

waaaaaaaaaay sah..  all this for me??

i almost blushing here. How long it take you to type up all ah that hoss? 

that post is almost ah whole forum page by itself, careful yuh doh develop ah instant case of carpal tunnel. lol

aight statto with all dem facts and citations.. take win, yuh out research meh..

yuh side is still ah shit side though, and doh worry ah go find some sources to back that one up.  :)

« Reply #36 on: September 01, 2008, 11:27:23 AM »
A different of 2 assist makes an entire argument.  :o

« Reply #37 on: September 01, 2008, 12:19:06 PM »
Now after all ah thee ray ray and thee unnecessary typing, ah know yuh fingers hurting yuh. Did Cantona win ah treble?   NO! Go and look fuh some more facts....we waiting.  ;) You going and break Cantona's record today fuh googling he name the most on thee internent.

Yuh like rice. ;D

« Reply #38 on: September 01, 2008, 02:45:28 PM »
So we can safely assume I was right all along since noone can come up with any meaningful counter-argument...

Like I say, noobs who never knew football before the Premiership...

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #39 on: September 01, 2008, 02:51:09 PM »
yuh side is still ah shit side though, and doh worry ah go find some sources to back that one up.

Let me save you the trouble...here have two...

Offline TriniItalian

• Never Wait to Procrastinate!
« Reply #40 on: September 01, 2008, 05:04:20 PM »
yuh side is still ah shit side though, and doh worry ah go find some sources to back that one up.

Horse yuh need to get yuhself a bitch, seriously! I cyar believe ah man would go that far to prove a point in something so impersonal as an internet forum (glad for the info mind you) but horse get a bitch, then try to sex her every now and then it WILL ease your tension.
A.W.A.T.T. INFORMANT

« Reply #41 on: September 01, 2008, 05:07:11 PM »

Horse yuh need to get yuhself a bitch, seriously! I cyar believe ah man would go that far to prove a point in something so impersonal as an internet forum (glad for the info mind you) but horse get a bitch, then try to sex her every now and then it WILL ease your tension.

This coming from someone that has a higher post count than I do.

Who needs a bitch?

Offline TriniItalian

• Never Wait to Procrastinate!
« Reply #42 on: September 01, 2008, 06:10:58 PM »
Look at it as coming from a man with experience get a bitch get a bitch get a bitch !!!! :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: if you like i could make you my bitch!!! :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: but seriously horse you are a sad ass man i've been here a longer time that u yet you post more than me  when it's pro-rated get a bitch BITCH!!!
A.W.A.T.T. INFORMANT

« Reply #43 on: September 01, 2008, 06:32:47 PM »
Yuh Boy Cantona doh know about this.....

« Last Edit: September 01, 2008, 06:36:18 PM by Weh-it-is »

« Reply #44 on: September 01, 2008, 06:43:33 PM »
Look at it as coming from a man with experience get a bitch get a bitch get a bitch !!!! :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: if you like i could make you my bitch!!! :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: but seriously horse you are a sad ass man i've been here a longer time that u yet you post more than me  when it's pro-rated get a bitch BITCH!!!

What are you? 12?

All I said was I never got those stats from Google.

Nor did I ever say that I typed all that up from scratch...

Sorry dey, anyway I won't waste your time...I'm sure your dad wants to use the computer now that you've finished your homework...

« Reply #45 on: September 01, 2008, 06:52:07 PM »

Btw, Maradona never won the European Cup or a treble...does this mean Yorke was better than him too?

« Reply #46 on: September 01, 2008, 07:26:49 PM »
Fellas the Treble was a unique thing and it was a team effort. The fact that more TnT fans rate Yorke as United's "best striker in the last 20 years", "better than Cantona", "main reason that they win the Treble" than United fans says a lot. Only on this board or in a rumshop in TnT yuh does hear that.

It is not a slight to Yorke to say that he was a part of a team that won the treble. It is also no slight to say that other players made equal contributions.

The treble take a league championship won by two points, a cup run where yuh beat Liverpool and Chelsea (coming from behind), and a extra time win against Arsenal, playing a man down. The Champions League win needed to be unbeaten against Barcelona, Bayern, Inter, Liverpool and Bayern again. That is not an average run. That is no mean achievement and if you go through the games you could easily see where different players contribute at key points. It took everything coming together att the right time. In fact it was so unique that the same team couldn't even come close just one year later.

It also took United being in the CL for several years and getting experience. Yorke joined at the right time and he would have been no more successful than Cantona in the CL if he was playing in that inexperienced team.

United would not have won the Treble if Yorke was not there, but they weren't winning it without Keane, without Beckham, without Cole, Sheringham, Solskjaer etc. That is the point of a team, or in these days a squad game.

If you look at the Yorke at Aston Villa before he move to United or the Yorke at Blackburn/Birmingham after he leave he was not the same player. So if Yorke was so head and shoulders above Beckham, Keane et al how come it didn't show up. How come he couldn't lead these teams to anything more than a league cup win. Let me guess the team wasn’t good enough. So at Aston Villa the team keep Yorke back but at United the team didn’t help?

The thing is if you ask the people who say that Yorke was the best striker at Unted to pick the best striker for TnT, Yorke will not get pick. Yuh really feel that Yorke didn't profit from playing with good players as much as they profit from playing with him. That is the whole point of playing in a team.

The fact that Yorke and Cole would get rotated as a pair with Sheringham and Solskjaer says a lot. If Yorke was this key standout that was needed to win the treble yuh think he would ever bench? Even for a minute? Zidane used to get rotated? Ronaldo does get rotated? Cantona? Different players at different times so saying that the Trebleachievement makes Yorke a better player than Cantona is dotich. Again it is no slight against Yorke to say that he was part of a very, very good team, that in itself is a real compliment to the man.

« Reply #47 on: September 01, 2008, 07:36:21 PM »
all this bitching going on here, i sorry i did not pass through earlier.

« Reply #48 on: September 01, 2008, 07:58:56 PM »

Btw, Maradona never won the European Cup or a treble...does this mean Yorke was better than him too?

Oh my gosh>I was not comparing players, who better than who sah, I was talking about awards and accomplishments. Dread you gone and bring Maradona in this? What Yorke do you so that yuh doh like thee man. As ah matter of fact, weh you come from anyway...it look like you is one ah them lunatic on thee internet yuh know. Go and take yuh medication and come back fast. I bet you Yorke score more goals at Man-U in  :rotfl:one season than Maradona. Go and google it fuh we...  :rotfl:
« Last Edit: September 01, 2008, 08:17:11 PM by Weh-it-is »

« Reply #49 on: September 01, 2008, 08:06:03 PM »
What about if he better than Pele? Jokey yes.