May 22, 2024, 09:21:33 AM

Author Topic: D Touches Match Report Digicel Shield Final  (Read 2873 times)

D Touches Match Report Digicel Shield Final
« on: May 31, 2007, 06:06:38 AM »
Dear Forumites,

Let me first thank Christiano again for providing the WN the opportunity to sit in covered stands and take in the action. You get a nice view on that side, the protection from the elements better, the toilets in better shape and the food (both eye and stomach) is a level higher. However, yuh cyar beat the vibes and $h!ttalk of grounds.

Secondly, we have to give Wim a real big round of applause for using players within their limitations and getting the best from them.

Third, Denzil stepped up his game big time and before he faded in the second half, played the proper Captains role. Good work, keep it up.

Digicel jerseys, footballs, cotton candy and a free water was given to patrons on arrival. The crowd was a bit better considering it was a holiday and we were in the final. I estimate about 1500 people.

Tassa Drumming to celebrate the Holiday filled the air and the group also entertained the crowd at half time.

I must ask the question..... did FPATT use the opportunity of two local games to inform the fans of whats going on. Have shirts for sale, merchandise, have up banners or provide fliers to the die hards and the corporate community that was at the game. I did see Alyson Ayres and Kelvin at the game and I saw a camera man interviewing a white fella with a bald head. But to the casual fan. I ent think they know about FPatt yet. Does Fpatt acutally need fan support or does it now need player suport?

Anyways the score after I took my seat was 1-0 in favour of Haiti and woeful finishing and heroics from the Vincy Keeper kept the score respectable. It ended 3-0 with the second goal being scored by a Haitian capping two men in a row..walking into the box raising the ball and blasting a shot past the keeper. Nice skill...the third goal was some neat one-two and some composed finishing by the Haitian that was running up the flank. Vincy and Haiti looked to be using understrength teams.

TT and Mexico come out on the field and the PA system in the HC was piss poor. The powers that be did not announce the starting line up for either team (if I am wrong I stand corrected) and both anthems got cut orf. Better than that. I would have thought the faulty PA system would have been corrected since it happened on Mon.

The game starts off at a decent pace and the ref was clearly officiating in another game last night. Never have I seen a ref make such poor calls and bad judgment. He made Peter Pendergast look like Collina.

I was not sure of the TT line up but from my observation it was Durance Williams in goal. Dwayne Jack last, Noreiga, Seon Power and some other fella.

Not sure of the middle besides Theobold and Mc Farlene and Toussaint up front TT starting off in a 4-4-2.

After 4 mins TT were on the scoresheet. Both teams started out scrappy but after a knock around in the back and a long ball down the flank Mc farlene controls runs past the defender beats the keeper and slots home. Excellent goal and TT 1-0 up.

After that the Mexicans took control and TT were forced to chase the ball for the entire rest of the half.

All who played on Mon were rested and this group did not show the same level of fitness, cohesion, ball awareness or tactics as the first group.

Denzil stepped up his game and the Mexicans started to play him nasty. I was amused by the tactics they were dishing out on our players but we hadda learn and take them thing as that is Intl football.

TT were unable to string more than 4-5 passes together as the Mexicans shut us out double teamed the fwds and won the ball after it was played long in the back. The game was something like W-conn vs Chivas. Mexicans keeping possession, passing around but no real threat to goal, TT showing the flashes of individual skill..(toussaint in particular) but no meaningful possession or any kinda of authority or control of the game.

The player who had a bad game was Durance Williams between the sticks. He came orf his line and flap at fresh breeze,he mispunch cross ball and he not covering his angles well. He has gotten more than enough games for TT under his belt and his mistakes keep cropping up too regularly. Marvin Phillip is the better choice at this point in time.

Seon Power and Dwayne Jack have improved...but are both headaches and they still giving real trouble. They combined well to give Mexico their penalty.

After being mesmerised on the line the cross comes in...Williams is already off his line to reach but Jack flies in puts his foot and the ball hits it and goes across the goal. Power marking last post handles the ball...................Tweet, yellow for Power and Penalty for Mexico.

Now after seeing Mexico convert 8 penalties in a row vs Vincy on Mon. I knew this was going to score and I was dreading a penalty shootout with them.

Another well placed Penalty by mexico 1-1 the score.

At the half TT changed formation to a 3-5-2 with Denzil playing behind the two strikers. Then when flour more than water and Mexico controlling the pace of the game. TT switched to a 5-4-1.

Whim took orf Mc farlene for Roberts, he put orn Spann and some other fella.

Spann made his presence felt on the field immediately....not with his running, tackling or playing....but with three thunderous free kicks.

Spann is our dead ball specialist and the first crack he had from 30 yards had the keeper scrambling.

Toussaint latched on to a ball at the top of the 18 and piped a laserbeam..........It looked like sure goal but the Mexican keeper was up to the task.

All the while the ref making jokey call one after the other and not seeing the off the ball tactics and events.

Finally the 4th official put up the lil electronic board and 2 min of extra time were added....I say to mehself oh lorse...Mexico in penalties..tings looking grim.

But then lo and behold...a player gets fouled and a free kick has to be taken. Spann steps up and chips a tru ball...which Roberts beats the offside trap. Takes it on his chest..puts it on the carpet and slots past the keeper to have the entire stadium jumping up to the ceiling.

What a finish!

The final whistle came as the mexican players touched off the ball and TT brought home the Digicel Shield.

The players then made a lap of honour to acknowledge the fans. 

From looking at the two matches Toussaint, Roberts, Denzil and Mcfarlene have the goods Also the shortman number 2 who played in the middle with theobold on Mon is another good player. These would be the fellas had the foreign based pros been on the squad...these guys coulda be in the mix. All the rest, I find they shakey bad.

Not happy with Williams, or the entire defence. It not cohesive, they not compacting the zone infront the post properly and on the break men defending individually instead of a team coordinated unit with a man covering. Also not happy with the midfield besides Denzil.

The squad that played Mon is the stronger squad but lets hope the training and match does not take a toll on them.

Lets wait and see how they fare vs Honduras next before we start on them.

Wim doing well with what he have and the men playing a decent brand, we will not be embarrassed, but we far from being world beaters. Let us take the licks now and groom these fellas for 2010.

« Last Edit: May 31, 2007, 06:49:01 AM by Touches »

Re: D Touches Match Report Digicel Shield Final
« Reply #1 on: May 31, 2007, 07:00:32 AM »
Dear Forumites,

Seon Power and Dwayne Jack have improved...but are both headaches and they still giving real trouble. They combined well to give Mexico their penalty.

Thanks Touches.

Offline gtokyo

« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2007, 07:08:19 AM »
Touches, you never cease to amaze me with your ball to ball commentary.  Fuentes if you macccoing as I am sure you are.  I am sure you CAN learn a few writing skills from Touches.  Touches I get d feeling that you are the type of individual that could easily take over Fuentes job.  I does feel your passion in your writing and I get d feeling yuh does have to do alot of your analysis sometimes under pressure but you do deliver and thats why I am NOMINATING you to be SOCAWARRIORS JOURNALIST of the year.  I feel that these type of accolades will eventually come to you and I hope to see you writing articles for magazines such as Four Four Two....  Keep up the good work. :applause:

« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2007, 07:09:09 AM »

TT and Mexico come out on the field and the PA system in the HC was piss poor. The powers that be did not announce the starting line up for either team (if I am wrong I stand corrected) and both anthems got cut orf. Better than that. I would have thought the faulty PA system would have been corrected since it happened on Mon.

The game starts off at a decent pace and the ref was clearly officiating in another game last night. Never have I seen a ref make such poor calls and bad judgment. He made Peter Pendergast look like Collina.

All who played on Mon were rested and this group did not show the same level of fitness, cohesion, ball awareness or tactics as the first group.

The squad that played Mon is the stronger squad but lets hope the training and match does not take a toll on them.

Thanks agian Touches for the Match report.

I think that there is a electrical problem at the HCS. If my memory serves me right in the Digicel Cup during one of those games the light shut out. Now I am hearing the PA system was giving problems (both monday and wednesday) and the line up was not announced.  >:(

I am not surprised that the referee was poor.

As for the two separate T&T teams, I think it would be hard to say that the "squad that played monday is the stronger squad." My rational behind that is the Mexicans are technically gifted players. Whether U-23, U-20, U17 or Senior National team they all play alike. Fast ball movements, posession and plenty off the ball runs. Haiti plays a bit different. Therefore, the two team may had to adjust differently to the style of play. I might have agreed with your observation about the two teams if two seperate T&T teams faced up with the same Mexican team on two seperate ocassions.

« Reply #4 on: May 31, 2007, 07:12:20 AM »
Yea Touches much appreciated !

« Reply #5 on: May 31, 2007, 07:48:03 AM »
Touches, how did Keon Daniel look, I think he wear number 19.

« Reply #6 on: May 31, 2007, 07:56:59 AM »
Honestly, was Roberts goal onside or not?

« Reply #7 on: May 31, 2007, 10:01:45 AM »
sam...daniel had a decent game....i think he can do more but....he played the left mid position...i know him as a central mid...but...he screened the ball well...he did some runnig and tackling...he hit corners....not bad....i know the kid has a future.....

Offline christiano

« Reply #8 on: May 31, 2007, 10:56:12 AM »
No probs with the tickets !

In the Gold cup i fear for our team. We have a GREAT coach but the players i think he has had to work with are below the level of international competition.

The four players i think are god enough are :

Denzil- must lead and increase his work rate
Jan Williams
Darrel Roberts - Great potential, great work rate
Errol Mc Farlane- Very similar type player to Darrel Roberts with a greater presence.

We need help in the defence with Noreiga (#20) being the only impressive player i have seen . We also need help in the centre for Theobald who sometimes are hiding too much from the ball.

At the higher level of international competion (GOLD CUP) , teams will pounce on our obvious weeknesses.

Our players must take it upon themselves to strive to improve as professionals. We played an u23 mexican team that had players who were the same size as our senior players and much stronger physically.

I wish our team all the best.

Laters

« Reply #9 on: May 31, 2007, 11:08:45 AM »
men from the games rate both keepers used...based on wha Touches say...Durance gih we some pressha.

« Reply #10 on: May 31, 2007, 11:11:18 AM »
Seon Power and Dwayne Jack should be called Tweedle Dee and Tweedle Dum respectively.

Offline christiano

« Reply #11 on: May 31, 2007, 11:35:27 AM »
Seon Power and Dwayne Jack should be called Tweedle Dee and Tweedle Dum respectively.

DWANE JACK has mastered the art of heading the ball in any frigging direction other than the right one.

Last night he head a ball like if is a bouncer the man bowl !

« Reply #12 on: May 31, 2007, 12:34:31 PM »
Powers and Jack the poster boys for Tylenol extra strength. Dem fellas is real headache. I really thought that I had seen the last ah dem in Jan but Wim realllllllllll patient I say u obviously seeing something u have 20 20 vision.

Chritiano again big up 4 d tickets

« Reply #13 on: May 31, 2007, 01:08:03 PM »
Touches you cannot estimate crowds boy...

u mean u see 1500 tings yuh look at lol

dey had 7000 ppl  and this is supported in all 3 papers

« Reply #14 on: May 31, 2007, 01:12:32 PM »
Touches you cannot estimate crowds boy...

u mean u see 1500 tings yuh look at lol

dey had 7000 ppl  and this is supported in all 3 papers

Ok maybe it was 1500 for the Haiti-SVG? In the 'Touches Match Report"TM the number is mentioned when they were on the field. The commentators on ct105 said it was filling up nice towards the end of the 1st game.

« Reply #15 on: May 31, 2007, 01:14:57 PM »
all 3 pappers wrong 7000 no way

« Reply #16 on: May 31, 2007, 01:20:44 PM »
all 3 pappers wrong 7000 no way
well at least 5000 for sure

« Reply #17 on: May 31, 2007, 02:42:57 PM »
dat ref was ah rel f**kin donkey boy...

but overall i was really pleasantly surprised to see T&T play such mature football...

Im feeling hopeful for the future again...