General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Aviator on December 14, 2012, 12:01:22 PM

Title: Newtown, Connecticut, school shooting leaves 27 dead, including 18 children
Post by: Aviator on December 14, 2012, 12:01:22 PM
http://abclocal.go.com/wls/story?section=news/national_world&id=8920352

Newtown, Connecticut, school shooting leaves 27 dead, including 18 children, official confirms to AP

December 14, 2012 (NEWTOWN, Connecticut) -- An official with knowledge of the Connecticut school shooting says 27 are dead, including 18 children.

PHOTOS: Connecticut Elementary School Shooting

Related Photos
PHOTOS: Newtown, Connecticut, Elementary School Shooting
View all 27 photos
Police report that the school is now cleared of shooters, but they are still treating it as an active shooter situation and all schools in the district remain locked down. There are unconfirmed reports of a second shooter, but it is unclear what happened to that gunman.

State police officers have gone classroom to classroom to make sure the school is clear. Authorities are searching the area, doing roadblocks and checking suspicious vehicles out of an abundance of caution. There are also unconfirmed reports that authorities have surrounded a purple van in Danbury that may be connected to the shooting.

State police are assisting Newtown police at the school, located on Dickinson Drive in Fairfield County. Governor Dan Malloy is also at the scene.

The first 911 call reportedly came in just after 9:40 a.m., stating that multiple students were trapped in a classroom with a gunman, who authorities say was an adult who had at least two guns. The school locks its exterior doors during the school day, so it is unclear how the gunman or gunmen gained access to the building.

Students were escorted from the building and evacuated to a nearby firehouse, and a reverse 911 call went out to parents. Some children could be seen reuniting with their parents outside the firehouse, but at least one group of students remain unaccounted for.

Some students were reportedly being treated for trauma. A dispatcher at the Newtown Volunteer Ambulance Corps said a teacher had been shot in the foot and taken to Danbury Hospital.

The school houses more than 600 students from kindergarten through fourth grade.

Superintendent of schools Kathy June released the following statement: "Due to reports of a shooting as yet unconfirmed, the district is taking preventive measures by putting all schools in lockdown until we ensure the safety of all students and staff. All public and private schools in the town are in a lockdown situation."

The district is made up of four elementary schools, two middle schools and one high school. Schools in neighboring Monroe also locked down its schools as a precaution.

(Copyright ©2012 WABC-TV/DT. All Rights Reserved.)

Title: Re: Newtown, Connecticut, school shooting leaves 27 dead, including 18 children
Post by: D.H.W on December 14, 2012, 12:08:39 PM
More Guns!
Title: Re: Newtown, Connecticut, school shooting leaves 27 dead, including 18 children
Post by: sammy on December 14, 2012, 12:15:05 PM
boy as bad as Trini is, at least we dont have them kinda psychos yes.
Post by: pecan on December 14, 2012, 12:22:06 PM
just now seeing the news on TV.

Real tragic and sad. Why, why, why?

And in China, it have 22 children stabbed at a elementary school.

http://blogs.voanews.com/breaking-news/2012/12/14/man-stabs-22-children-at-chinese-elementary-school/

Man Stabs 22 Children at Chinese Elementary School
Posted December 14th, 2012 at 6:25 am (UTC-5)

Chinese state media say a man stabbed 22 children and an adult at an elementary school in central China on Friday.
Post by: Dutty on December 14, 2012, 12:33:02 PM
Isnt that the 2nd or 3rd time something like that happened in china to school children?

either way....terrible stories on both sides of the planet today.
Post by: ZANDOLIE on December 14, 2012, 02:10:38 PM
Isnt that the 2nd or 3rd time something like that happened in china to school children?

either way....terrible stories on both sides of the planet today.

an epidemic of sickness
Post by: asylumseeker on December 14, 2012, 03:08:11 PM
I'm told that the roommate of someone I know is from this town and has babysat kids affected by this event.
Post by: elan on December 14, 2012, 03:23:56 PM
This is some serious  :bs:  can't see how this is allowed to continue to happen. These are babies, not even children yet. However, people are still not open to talking about guns and how to limit access to them.

These f@*king small c@*k a@@holes who need ah gun to make them feel like ah man need to f@*k off. We need guns to defend ourselves, from who? This is not the 1700s, this is 2013. We spend billions on defense but still need to arm ourselves to the tooth to be prepared for the day that THEY attack us.

:bs: :bs: :bs:                                                   :'( :'( :'( :'(
Post by: D.H.W on December 14, 2012, 03:50:09 PM
This will continue to happen. America probably has the most mass shootings in schools and work place. To late to stop the guns now. Horse already bolt.
Post by: pecan on December 14, 2012, 04:12:21 PM
give evil or mentally ill people access to guns = an increase in mass killings. No special skills needed to understand this equation.
Post by: Bakes on December 14, 2012, 04:18:33 PM
just now seeing the news on TV.

Real tragic and sad. Why, why, why?

And in China, it have 22 children stabbed at a elementary school.

http://blogs.voanews.com/breaking-news/2012/12/14/man-stabs-22-children-at-chinese-elementary-school/

Man Stabs 22 Children at Chinese Elementary School
Posted December 14th, 2012 at 6:25 am (UTC-5)

Chinese state media say a man stabbed 22 children and an adult at an elementary school in central China on Friday.

More knives.
Post by: Bakes on December 14, 2012, 04:21:05 PM
This is some serious  :bs:  can't see how this is allowed to continue to happen. These are babies, not even children yet. However, people are still not open to talking about guns and how to limit access to them.

These f@*king small c@*k a@@holes who need ah gun to make them feel like ah man need to f@*k off. We need guns to defend ourselves, from who? This is not the 1700s, this is 2013. We spend billions on defense but still need to arm ourselves to the tooth to be prepared for the day that THEY attack us.

:bs: :bs: :bs:                                                   :'( :'( :'( :'(

People need guns to protect themselves, the gun supply will not dry up no matter what regulation yuh implement, just like the drug supply hasn't dried up.  Small secret, guns and drugs usually run together.  Bottomline solution isn't an absolute ban on guns, just stronger regulation/control.
Post by: Deeks on December 14, 2012, 05:57:47 PM
This is a sad day fellah. I just can't understand why he had to do that. RIP for the lil ones. I would go crazy if was my own. God Bless.
Post by: kaliman2006 on December 14, 2012, 06:23:14 PM
Rell copycat scenes it seems. That Aurora shooting seems to have started some kind of sick trend.
Post by: weary1969 on December 14, 2012, 08:08:50 PM
So my bff move 2 Connecticut this year from Atlanta and I emailed her and she said 50 miles away. It was only when her mther called she realize this thing have to be serious a call from TNT in d middle of d day.
Post by: D.H.W on December 14, 2012, 09:43:23 PM
(http://c498390.r90.cf2.rackcdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/12/Obama1-500x281.jpg)

Obama Cries
Post by: asylumseeker on December 14, 2012, 09:57:43 PM
(http://c498390.r90.cf2.rackcdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/12/Obama1-500x281.jpg)

Obama Cries

The WH hair dye person is a borse.
Post by: asylumseeker on December 14, 2012, 10:34:10 PM

The youths of Eglinton,
Won't put down their Remington.
The youth of Brixton,
They have their 45 Smith and,
Wesson pistol, pistol!
The youth of Utica Avenue,
They just can't keep cool.
So much gun shot, some cripple, some turn fool.
... Black Uhuru!!!
Post by: pecan on December 15, 2012, 09:49:23 AM

Topic for discussion ... this was published shortly after the Aurora shooting.

Why Most Mass Murderers Are Privileged White Men

By Hugo Schwyzer

Are white men particularly prone to carrying out the all-too-familiar mass killings of which last week’s Aurora shooting is just the latest iteration? Is there something about the white, male, middle-class experience that makes it easier for troubled young men to turn schools and movie theaters into killing fields? In a word, yes.

Not every mass murder in recent years has been committed by a middle-class white guy. But as Jamie Utt pointed out in the hours after the Colorado theater massacre, in those rare instances where a man of color is responsible for a shooting spree (as in the 2007 Virginia Tech killings or the 2009 Fort Hood rampage), the popular reaction is to search for connections between the race or religion of the murderer and his act ...

... As Peggy McIntosh famously wrote in her White Privilege Checklist, we see whites as individuals whose moral state reflects their individual will. In other words, white men kill simply because they are “sick” or “evil.” When men of color murder, it is because they are both those things and because of factors uniquely attributable to their race. ...

Source and read more ... (http://www.rolereboot.org/culture-and-politics/details/2012-07-why-most-mass-murderers-are-privileged-white-men)
Post by: D.H.W on December 15, 2012, 12:08:18 PM
(http://lh4.ggpht.com/-15ZuZwxMKbg/TtclENn8_0I/AAAAAAAAIms/UpAK_VZ5BbQ/v3%25257Camused%25257C_img%25257Cthe-right-to-bear-arms.jpg)
Post by: Cantona007 on December 15, 2012, 03:29:50 PM
(http://lh4.ggpht.com/-15ZuZwxMKbg/TtclENn8_0I/AAAAAAAAIms/UpAK_VZ5BbQ/v3%25257Camused%25257C_img%25257Cthe-right-to-bear-arms.jpg)

Well done...
Post by: asylumseeker on December 15, 2012, 04:53:36 PM
That fella fuh sure know  about beers bears.
Post by: fari on December 15, 2012, 08:43:47 PM
what a thing for this father to have to do...as a father of two lil youths of 5 and 2 i feeling it for him

http://www.youtube.com/v/A4rwdriJpkc

Post by: elan on December 15, 2012, 11:05:47 PM
I talking to ah fella who I thought was rational (always quoting scriptures, has two young kids). The man tell me if everyone on his street have a gun then no one will try to break in.  :o :o

So the answer to situations like these is to  arm everyone, because if the teachers were armed this would not have happened.  :frustrated:

See when you're armed with a gun you gain telepathic strength to know when someone in a crowd will start shooting. That when you are in a crowded movie theatre that you cannot yell fire in you can pull out your gun and fire on a would be shooter, that is, you and the other 60 movie goers.

Being armed cannot and will not solve anything, at all. When I know people carrying pistils I carrying an shotgun, the next man have a sig sauer, tyrone might arm heself with ah rocket launcher and in the gated communities every drive way will be decorated with a tank.

Weak minded people like to think this. If a man have to sit and plan an attack of such magnitude with a knife, most likely that attack not happeneing cause the people who does these shootings are COWARDS.

Post by: 100% Barataria on December 16, 2012, 08:50:24 AM
I talking to ah fella who I thought was rational (always quoting scriptures, has two young kids). The man tell me if everyone on his street have a gun then no one will try to break in.  :o :o

So the answer to situations like these is to  arm everyone, because if the teachers were armed this would not have happened.  :frustrated:

See when you're armed with a gun you gain telepathic strength to know when someone in a crowd will start shooting. That when you are in a crowded movie theatre that you cannot yell fire in you can pull out your gun and fire on a would be shooter, that is, you and the other 60 movie goers.

Being armed cannot and will not solve anything, at all. When I know people carrying pistils I carrying an shotgun, the next man have a sig sauer, tyrone might arm heself with ah rocket launcher and in the gated communities every drive way will be decorated with a tank.

Weak minded people like to think this. If a man have to sit and plan an attack of such magnitude with a knife, most likely that attack not happeneing cause the people who does these shootings are COWARDS.

Sounds NRA
Post by: giggsy11 on December 16, 2012, 10:52:40 AM
Anyone who can do harm or kill a child is not of sound mind, body, soul and is cowardly. It also never ceases to amaze me how much parents knowingling and sometimes unknowingly contribute to raising a child capable of such crimes. They either do it by transferring their personal fears on to the child and or they attempt to empower their child using negative approaches/choices.   

May God give the families of the children who were taken far to soon, the faith and strength to survive their loss. 
Post by: asylumseeker on December 17, 2012, 11:04:20 AM
How many weapons did Lanza's mother own ... and why? Ah just hear ah talk on the radio that she was into the Mayan doomsday 12/23/2012 thing ...
Post by: elan on December 17, 2012, 11:14:36 AM
How many weapons did Lanza's mother own ... and why? Ah just hear ah talk on the radio that she was into the Mayan doomsday 12/23/2012 thing ...

The weapons that police recovered from the scene included a Glock 9-mm handgun, a Sig Sauer 9-mm handgun and a Bushmaster rifle. Police also found .223 shell casings. Lanza was wearing a bullet-proof vest.

The shooter's mother, 52-year-old Nancy Lanza, had five weapons registered to her, including a Glock, a Sig Sauer, and a Bushmaster rifle.

Read More....  (http://abcnews.go.com/Blotter/connecticut-shooter-adam-lanza-mothers-guns/story?id=17984499)
Post by: asylumseeker on December 17, 2012, 11:30:16 AM

The weapons that police recovered from the scene included a Glock 9-mm handgun, a Sig Sauer 9-mm handgun and a Bushmaster rifle. Police also found .223 shell casings. Lanza was wearing a bullet-proof vest.

The shooter's mother, 52-year-old Nancy Lanza, had five weapons registered to her, including a Glock, a Sig Sauer, and a Bushmaster rifle.

Read More....  (http://abcnews.go.com/Blotter/connecticut-shooter-adam-lanza-mothers-guns/story?id=17984499)

... incredible that she would teach him to shoot!
Post by: D.H.W on December 17, 2012, 12:14:20 PM
She fighting war?
Post by: giggsy11 on December 17, 2012, 12:55:19 PM

Incredible any adult would teach a child to use a gun.
Post by: elan on December 17, 2012, 02:32:58 PM

They have to learn to protect themselves  ???

I have a 6 year old who has her own rifle and goes deer hunting and actually shoot deer.
Title: Do We Have the Courage to Stop This?
Post by: Tallman on December 17, 2012, 04:36:07 PM
Do We Have the Courage to Stop This?
By Nichola D. Kristof (New York Times)

IN the harrowing aftermath of the school shooting in Connecticut, one thought wells in my mind: Why can’t we regulate guns as seriously as we do cars?

The fundamental reason kids are dying in massacres like this one is not that we have lunatics or criminals — all countries have them — but that we suffer from a political failure to regulate guns.

Children ages 5 to 14 in America are 13 times as likely to be murdered with guns as children in other industrialized countries, according to David Hemenway, a public health specialist at Harvard who has written an excellent book on gun violence.

So let’s treat firearms rationally as the center of a public health crisis that claims one life every 20 minutes. The United States realistically isn’t going to ban guns, but we can take steps to reduce the carnage.

American schoolchildren are protected by building codes that govern stairways and windows. School buses must meet safety standards, and the bus drivers have to pass tests. Cafeteria food is regulated for safety. The only things we seem lax about are the things most likely to kill.

The Occupational Safety and Health Administration has five pages of regulations about ladders, while federal authorities shrug at serious curbs on firearms. Ladders kill around 300 Americans a year, and guns 30,000.

We even regulate toy guns, by requiring orange tips — but lawmakers don’t have the gumption to stand up to National Rifle Association extremists and regulate real guns as carefully as we do toys. What do we make of the contrast between heroic teachers who stand up to a gunman and craven, feckless politicians who won’t stand up to the N.R.A.?

As one of my Facebook followers wrote after I posted about the shooting, “It is more difficult to adopt a pet than it is to buy a gun.”

Look, I grew up on an Oregon farm where guns were a part of life; and my dad gave me a .22 rifle for my 12th birthday. I understand: shooting is fun! But so is driving, and we accept that we must wear seat belts, use headlights at night, and fill out forms to buy a car. Why can’t we be equally adult about regulating guns?

And don’t say that it won’t make a difference because crazies will always be able to get a gun. We’re not going to eliminate gun deaths, any more than we have eliminated auto accidents. But if we could reduce gun deaths by one-third, that would be 10,000 lives saved annually.

Likewise, don’t bother with the argument that if more people carried guns, they would deter shooters or interrupt them. Mass shooters typically kill themselves or are promptly caught, so it’s hard to see what deterrence would be added by having more people pack heat. There have been few if any cases in the United States in which an ordinary citizen with a gun stopped a mass shooting.

The tragedy isn’t one school shooting, it’s the unceasing toll across our country. More Americans die in gun homicides and suicides in six months than have died in the last 25 years in every terrorist attack and the wars in Afghanistan and Iraq combined.

So what can we do? A starting point would be to limit gun purchases to one a month, to curb gun traffickers. Likewise, we should restrict the sale of high-capacity magazines so that a shooter can’t kill as many people without reloading.

We should impose a universal background check for gun buyers, even with private sales. Let’s make serial numbers more difficult to erase, and back California in its effort to require that new handguns imprint a microstamp on each shell so that it can be traced back to a particular gun.

“We’ve endured too many of these tragedies in the past few years,” President Obama noted in a tearful statement on television. He’s right, but the solution isn’t just to mourn the victims — it’s to change our policies. Let’s see leadership on this issue, not just moving speeches.

Other countries offer a road map. In Australia in 1996, a mass killing of 35 people galvanized the nation’s conservative prime minister to ban certain rapid-fire long guns. The “national firearms agreement,” as it was known, led to the buyback of 650,000 guns and to tighter rules for licensing and safe storage of those remaining in public hands.

The law did not end gun ownership in Australia. It reduced the number of firearms in private hands by one-fifth, and they were the kinds most likely to be used in mass shootings.

In the 18 years before the law, Australia suffered 13 mass shootings — but not one in the 14 years after the law took full effect. The murder rate with firearms has dropped by more than 40 percent, according to data compiled by the Harvard Injury Control Research Center, and the suicide rate with firearms has dropped by more than half.

Or we can look north to Canada. It now requires a 28-day waiting period to buy a handgun, and it imposes a clever safeguard: gun buyers should have the support of two people vouching for them.

For that matter, we can look for inspiration at our own history on auto safety. As with guns, some auto deaths are caused by people who break laws or behave irresponsibly. But we don’t shrug and say, “Cars don’t kill people, drunks do.”

Instead, we have required seat belts, air bags, child seats and crash safety standards. We have introduced limited licenses for young drivers and tried to curb the use of mobile phones while driving. All this has reduced America’s traffic fatality rate per mile driven by nearly 90 percent since the 1950s.

Some of you are alive today because of those auto safety regulations. And if we don’t treat guns in the same serious way, some of you and some of your children will die because of our failure.
Post by: D.H.W on December 17, 2012, 05:12:00 PM

I have a 6 year old who has her own rifle and goes deer hunting and actually shoot deer.

-_-
Post by: Toppa on December 17, 2012, 05:36:04 PM

Do you send her to school with the gun?

Do you tell her if anyone bullies her, pull out the rifle and shoot them?

What exactly do you teach her about 'protecting' herself?  ???
Post by: Preacher on December 17, 2012, 05:41:22 PM
Oh yeah gun is the problem. 
Post by: Deeks on December 17, 2012, 05:49:28 PM
I am afraidmuch more people will have to die from gun violence before something is done. Only talk,taslk, talk
Post by: weary1969 on December 17, 2012, 08:34:12 PM
I am afraidmuch more people will have to die from gun violence before something is done. Only talk,taslk, talk

Yep they continue 2 hug up d 2nd ammendment.
Post by: elan on December 17, 2012, 08:59:34 PM

The child is not mine, I coach her soccer. Her mom is a Navy Seal and her dad is in the army.

The thing about protecting themselves is what many keep saying. Bakes also said the same thing. I have no problem teaching my kids to shoot, but they will not have access to guns like that.
Post by: pecan on December 17, 2012, 09:37:44 PM
To quote Gandalf ...

"Saruman believes it is only great power that can hold evil in check, but that is not what I have found. I found it is the small everyday deeds of ordinary folk that keep the darkness at bay. Small acts of kindness and love."
Post by: Preacher on December 18, 2012, 12:15:07 AM
Pecan ask Gandalf two things:
1. If a man is the center of his world, where does a he find comfort when his entire world is destroyed?
2. If there is no true north on ethics, how do you define kindness?

Is kindness measurable?  I mean, the basis of evolution is the survival of the fittest.  Isn't that what we are taught?  Maybe what we are seeing is the next evolution of humanity.  Could it be?  A society wherein if you are a child and you can't defend yourself, then to bad for you.  Or, if a fella decide to eat a baby, then what's the big deal?  We are all just animals anyway.  Isn't that what we are taught?  Chimps eat their babies and each other.  So wah, circle of life.  Right?  But ever so often something happens that shakes us to our divine core and in an instant we shout out "That's wrong!!!!"  Who or what revealed this to us?  And if only for an instant, we agree that evil is in our world.  Sadly we recognize, if this force has his way nothing innocent is safe or sacred.

The idea of kindness is not enough. Unless a man repents and turn form his wickedness there is no light to empower his kindness.  At least nothing that can repel the darkness at work.  Jesus said I am the way, the truth and the life.  He then sent the Holy Spirit to comfort us in times of trouble and empower us for action.  He reminds us that greater is He that's in us than he that's in the world. 

Ras Shorty I wrote a brilliant piece on why society breaks down generation after generation with a progressively worsening timeline.

Every generation is nothing more
Than a reproduction of the one gone before
What you did in secret, they doing openly
Doh run away from it, it's your own cruelty
A mango cyah bear a fig
A donkey, cyah make a pig
You sow seeds of darkness now you reaping wickedness.

Chorus
Allyuh push the Creator out..Yuh didn't want He name in your mouth
So yuh take Him out of the schools curriculum
No knowledge of God for your children

But they know bout Darwinism though. 

Gun laws my backside. 
Title: Re: Re: Newtown, Connecticut, school shooting leaves 27 dead, including 18 children
Post by: D.H.W on December 18, 2012, 04:33:23 AM

The child is not mine, I coach her soccer. Her mom is a Navy Seal and her dad is in the army.

The thing about protecting themselves is what many keep saying. Bakes also said the same thing. I have no problem teaching my kids to shoot, but they will not have access to guns like that.

Elan is big hunter now. Alyuh better watch out. Hehe
Post by: Mango Chow! on December 18, 2012, 06:58:12 AM

Ah tink yuh have it de other way aroung, jed it's most likely dat she faddah is de one who is de navy SEAL and she muddah in de Army....but hardcore as her parents may be, I doh see no sense in teaching a 6 year-old to handle weapons. 
Post by: Mango Chow! on December 18, 2012, 07:28:00 AM

Incredible that she would even allow him to even be around the things, given his alleged mental or emotional "issues".  Maybe she wasn't right in she head and heart, either.  She got what was coming to her.  funny how all these so-called mentally ill people, are always looking to express their alleged illness in the form of perpetrating violence upon people that are weaker than themselves or vulnerable to them.  They pretty much NEVER do things in the forefront, that would bring any kind of harm or pain to themselves.....yuh does practically never see them walk up in a police station and start shootin' nobody and is only ONCE in meh life ah could say ah ever see a (REAL) mad man walk in front a moving truck without flinching....and then proceed to cuss de driver stink when he slam on de brakes and watch de man in disbelief....Ah couldn't even get a word out meh mouth before de man watch meh dead in meh aye, bawlin' "f**k you!! f**k you!!"  All these other people, dey so-called mental illness has a more convenient hue to it....they mentally well enough to live well in all other phases of society, (paying bills, watching tv, forming social bonds, balancing cheque books, NOT attacking bigger, stronger people than themselves, shielding themselves from harm, etc.) but they too sick to leave innocent, weaker, vulnerable people alone. Steups!!  He know dam well why he kill he self because he know dey woulda tear he ass apart in jail.     
Post by: Deeks on December 18, 2012, 07:39:58 AM
I can vividly remeber racing my daughter and son when they were those kids ages. They now 23 and 22.  Aye, allyuh want to race allyuh daddy? Yeahhhhhhhhhhh! But Daddy,  you are an adult, you have to give us some spaces. I give about 15/20 yards(I still young then). Get set, GO! I speed up right behind them and at the same time hit my legs with the palms of my hands and they just screaming. They beat me to the finish line. At least, I allow them to. That was then. I don't know if I can do that now.  Now tell me how could these kids run away from speeding bullets
Post by: Dutty on December 18, 2012, 09:24:10 AM
[ ... incredible that she would teach him to shoot!

From what I read, her intent was therapeutic

Apparently it made him a little more sociable at the shooting range, pulled him out of his shell….she probably doing the ‘hes a good boy y’know’ pattern that plenty mothers does delude themselves with…….knowin fully well he mental out he cuddersmunt

A few years ago in Dunblain Scotland some psycho did the same thing with an AK-47, the only reason I remember that is because I couldn’t fathom someone shooting small children.
I really feelin it for them parents. One family even recently move to the town in July from Winnipeg.

Those people must have excitedly already got xmas presents for the little ones and now have to deal with something of this magnitude?
Post by: Peong on December 18, 2012, 09:55:02 AM
They lose their kids just before Christmas, now every Christmas they will relive the pain.
This world real cruel boy.
Post by: elan on December 18, 2012, 10:35:47 AM

Ah tink yuh have it de other way aroung, jed it's most likely dat she faddah is de one who is de navy SEAL and she muddah in de Army....but hardcore as her parents may be, I doh see no sense in teaching a 6 year-old to handle weapons. 

Mus be not Navy seay, but I sure she say she is navy something. Look, the gyul eh wukking tetron ok, she bigger than that.   ;D
Post by: elan on December 18, 2012, 10:39:49 AM
As much murder as it have in T&T, any mass shooting or killing ever happpen? Beside Jamal Shabazz and them, anyone can remember anyone getting fired and gone and shoot up the place?
Post by: pecan on December 18, 2012, 12:22:57 PM
Pecan ask Gandalf two things:
1. If a man is the center of his world, where does a he find comfort when his entire world is destroyed?
2. If there is no true north on ethics, how do you define kindness?

Perhaps, Gandalf might be inclined to reply as follows:

Answer to 1: "Faith"
Answer to 2. "The same way it was implied in the teachings of Jesus"
Post by: pecan on April 11, 2013, 07:47:50 AM
More gun shooting in New Jersey and other States that results in children lives' destroyed.

Children killing children with guns raises questions about parents

A 4-year-old shot and killed a 6-year-old in New Jersey this week, raising questions about the responsibility and liability of gun-owning parents

By: Bill Schiller Foreign Affairs Reporter, Published on Wed Apr 10 2013

http://www.thestar.com/news/world/2013/04/10/deadly_shootings_by_children_in_us_raise_questions_about_gun_laws.html

He was, in the words of a New Jersey neighbour, “the cutest, cutest little boy.”

But 6-year-old Brandon Holt of Toms River, N.J., was shot to death this week by a 4-year-old playmate.

The two had been playing outdoors Monday when the 4-year-old, who has not been named, entered his home, emerged with a 22. calibre rifle and shot Holt in the head.

Yet however strange and outrageous the little boy’s killing appears, it is not rare.

In a nation of 313 million people, steeped in a pool of an estimated 300 million guns, kids and firearms often mix — or so it seems gleaning over a week’s headlines from across America.

There appeared to be headway in the country’s political bickering Wednesday as a bipartisan Senate committee of Democrats and Republicans endorsed a plan that would expand background checks on buyers to include those purchasing guns at gun shows and online.

A large number of vendors both online and at shows currently do not subject purchasers to the same kind of scrutiny as registered gun vendors do.

But the agreement came after a series of disturbing incidents involving weapons and children.

In America, gun violence — unlike the movies — knows no age restriction.

On Saturday a 4-year-old boy near Nashville accidentally shot and killed the 48-year-old wife of a local county sheriff’s deputy.

On Sunday in Lavinia, Tenn., a 2-year-old pulled the trigger of a 9-mm Glock pistol, wounding his 22-year-old mother as she slept with her three-week-old baby. The gun had been kept under the mother’s pillow.

On Monday — the same day Brandon Holt was shot — a 4-year-old girl in Baltimore was hit by bullets as she sat with her 23-year-old father in a parked car. The father was also wounded.

And on Tuesday, a 3-year-old boy accidentally killed himself while playing with a gun he found in an apartment in Sumter, S.C.

Tragic? Of course. But also “predictable,” says Bryan Miller, formerly of the gun-violence prevention organization Ceasefire NJ.

“So many people are negligent about storing guns when there are children around. So many parents say, ‘Oh I hide the gun. Jimmy doesn’t know where it is.’

“When I was growing up, my parents used to hide Christmas presents,” says Miller. “I knew where they were — every kid knows where the Christmas presents are.

“And guns, especially for boys, are the most fascinating things on earth.”

Parents are effectively putting the power of life and death into the hands of their children, he says, “because they fail to store their weapons safely.”

Twenty-seven of America’s 50 states have laws to ensure that children cannot get access to firearms. These laws place the responsibility for safe gun storage — and legal liability for the consequences — on gun owners.

But that hasn’t stopped the carnage.

The reason for that is twofold, says Miller, who now heads the Philadelphia-based national gun violence prevention organization, Heeding God’s Call. First, there are far too many conditions attached to these laws, making them unnecessarily complex and too difficult to enforce, he says.

Secondly, and perhaps more importantly, prosecutors are loath to charge and prosecute negligent parents. “They say the family has suffered enough,” says Miller. “But if you do not use a law, it’s a waste of time and there is no deterrent value.”

Without commenting on the specifics of the New Jersey case, Miller said: “Parents need to be liable. That’s how you deter future problems: by enforcing laws.”

The parents of the tiny accidental shooter have not been identified, nor have authorities revealed whether the gun was legally registered or properly stored. And no charges have yet been laid.

Local Police Chief Michael Mastronardy said by phone Wednesday that the two New Jersey children had been playing in the 4-year-old’s parents’ yard, in a quiet cul-de-sac of Toms River, a community of about 100,000 people 60 kilometres northeast of Atlantic City.

“We received a 911 call at 6:43 p.m. Monday,” he said. The Holt boy was then flown by helicopter to a nearby emergency medical facility where he died Tuesday at 5 p.m.

“It was one shot, fired from about 15 yards.”

Because a relative of the 4-year-old’s family works in the local Ocean County prosecutor’s office, the case has been transferred to Atlantic County, the chief said, to avoid any perception of conflicts of interest.
Post by: D.H.W on April 11, 2013, 07:51:08 AM
Yankee like it so.
Post by: AirMan on April 11, 2013, 11:42:42 PM
Clearly, laws need to be changed and that would require the process individuals go through to obtain and own a gun must also be amended. These are my ideas and I would enjoy hearing yours.
  .. http://myvoicetv.net/blog/curtail-gun-violence-read-this/
Post by: lefty on April 12, 2013, 06:06:33 AM
the second Amendment is just a tool the NRA uses to protect the profits of gun manufacturers and line their and politicians pockets
Post by: weary1969 on April 12, 2013, 07:30:34 AM
Yankee like it so.

U mean luv.