May 16, 2024, 09:47:59 AM

Author Topic: Trinis in Action (March 3, 2007)  (Read 15680 times)

Re: Trinis in Action March 3rd 2007
« Reply #60 on: March 03, 2007, 10:52:32 AM »
FT: 2-1 to Sunderland courtesy of the Soca Warriors

niceness  :applause: :applause:

Offline Cartman

« Reply #61 on: March 03, 2007, 10:54:02 AM »
What a fantastic win, we are gonna win the league  :beermug:
Roy Keane's Red & White Army

« Reply #62 on: March 03, 2007, 10:54:36 AM »
Well done boys.  :wavetowel: :wavetowel:

« Reply #63 on: March 03, 2007, 10:55:22 AM »

« Reply #64 on: March 03, 2007, 10:59:33 AM »
anybody know how bad carlos injury is?

« Reply #65 on: March 03, 2007, 11:00:45 AM »
 :whew: :whew: :whew: :whew: :whew: :whew: :whew: :whew: :whew:

« Reply #66 on: March 03, 2007, 11:02:02 AM »

I telling yuh

that game was real stress in the final minutes....credit to West Brom for that

ok dreamer we waiting on de updated Championship table  :beermug:

Offline black chinee

« Reply #67 on: March 03, 2007, 11:02:15 AM »
well done boys.... :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #68 on: March 03, 2007, 11:03:21 AM »
we need highlights and an updated Championship table

Offline G Force

« Reply #69 on: March 03, 2007, 11:06:17 AM »
Gerrin!!  :beermug: :beermug:

Haway Sunderland

Offline Trini U of W man

Sunerland 2- West Brom 1
« Reply #70 on: March 03, 2007, 11:24:41 AM »
Yorke and John score

« Reply #71 on: March 03, 2007, 11:27:51 AM »

I telling yuh

that game was real stress in the final minutes....credit to West Brom for that

ok dreamer we waiting on de updated Championship table  :beermug:

The Coca-Cola Football League Championship Table
03 March 2007 17:00

P GD PTS

1 Derby 35 13 66
2 Birmingham 34 19 64
------------------------------------------
3 West Brom 36 22 63
4 Sunderland 36 17 63
5 Wolverhampton 36 4 62
6 Southampton 35 17 59
------------------------------------------
7 Cardiff 35 14 59
8 Preston 34 12 59
9 Stoke 36 14 54
10 Colchester 36 10 52
11 Crystal Palace 36 3 49
12 Plymouth 35 2 48
13 Sheff Wed 35 -3 47
14 Leicester 35 -3 45
15 Coventry 36 -10 45
16 Norwich 34 -8 44
17 Ipswich 35 -5 42
18 Burnley 35 -2 41
19 Barnsley 36 -21 38
20 Luton 36 -16 36
21 Hull 35 -15 35
-------------------------------------------
22 QPR 35 -16 35
23 Southend 36 -22 32
24 Leeds 36 -26 31
« Last Edit: March 03, 2007, 11:29:58 AM by dreamer »

Offline broko

« Reply #72 on: March 03, 2007, 11:31:48 AM »
Well done Yorke and Stern. That was a vital 3 points. Get well soon Carlos, ah hope dat injury not too bad.

« Reply #73 on: March 03, 2007, 11:32:29 AM »
well done Half-slab and Yorkie..hope Carlos is not hurt bad and things mend fast!

Keep rising Sunderland!

Offline TdotTrini

« Reply #74 on: March 03, 2007, 11:35:34 AM »
congrats to Sunderland - keep it going, looking forward to seeing them live at SOL April 7.

Big game for Kenwyn and Southampton on monday - see it live on Setanta. K.O. 1400
Teamwork divides the task and multiplies the success

« Reply #75 on: March 03, 2007, 11:46:00 AM »
West Brom 1-2 Sunderland
March 3, 2007

www.bbc.com

Sunderland boosted their hopes of automatic promotion by ending West Brom's eight-match unbeaten league run.
Dwight Yorke put the Black Cats ahead, side-footing past Dean Kiely after a neat flick-on from Stern John.

John doubled the lead four minutes after the break, left unmarked to head in Dean Whitehead's inswinging corner.

Darren Carter gave West Brom a lifeline when he hooked in from the edge of the box before Paul Robinson was harshly sent off for a professional foul.

Interview: Sunderland manager Roy Keane

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

West Brom: Kiely, McShane, Clement, Curtis Davies, Robinson, Koumas, Chaplow, Greening (Carter 55), Koren (Gera 55), Kamara, Phillips (MacDonald 55).
Subs Not Used: Daniels, Albrechtsen.

Sent Off: Robinson (87).

Booked: Clement.

Goals: Carter 72.

Sunderland: Ward, Simpson, Evans, Nosworthy, Collins, Edwards (Hysen 41), Whitehead, Yorke (Liam Miller 73), Stokes, Connolly, John (Murphy 62).
Subs Not Used: Fulop, Leadbitter.

Booked: Whitehead.

Goals: Yorke 23, John 49.

Att: 23,252.

Ref: D Gallagher (Oxfordshire).

« Reply #76 on: March 03, 2007, 11:46:25 AM »
Birmingham watchin Sunderland last two results and realise dat dey get real f**kin lucky wit dat draw.

« Reply #77 on: March 03, 2007, 11:50:34 AM »
Big up to Yorke and John for scoring.

Offline gothic

Re: Sunerland 2- West Brom 1
« Reply #78 on: March 03, 2007, 11:59:45 AM »
great for yorke and john......hope Carlos is ok though, if he's not will take a bit away from the win

Re: Sunerland 2- West Brom 1
« Reply #79 on: March 03, 2007, 12:01:31 PM »
WOW! Super Sunderland three points off top
March 3, 2007
Sunderland Echo

Dwight Yorke and Stern John celebrate the latter's opener at The Hawthorns today. Picture by Tom Yeoman.
http://www.sunderlandtoday.co.uk/ViewArticle.aspx?ArticleID=2095612&SectionID=1108

WEST BROM 1 SUNDERLAND 2

FANTASTIC Sunderland pulled off a vital victory at The Hawthorns today thanks to goals from Dwight Yorke and Stern John.

But they were made to fight all the way as promotion rivals West Bromwich Albion launched a second-half fightback after ex Sunderland loan man Darren Carter pulled a goal back.

The first half was short on chances, but Sunderland went into the break ahead thanks to Dwight Yorke's third goal of the season, the striker driving a low shot home after good work by Danny Simpson and Stern John.

Albion threatened hardly at all in the first hour, but that changed after they made three substitutions – which included the removal of the lacklustre Kevin Phillips.

Before then, Sunderland had doubled their lead thanks to Stern John's 50th minute goal, the striker heading home from close range from Dean Whitehead's left wing corner.

The home team gave themselves hope when Carter volleyed a shot from 20 yards over Darren Ward in the 73rd minute.

And Sunderland wobbled alarmingly in the closing stages as Albion threatened an equaliser.

The Baggies were reduced to ten men when Paul Robinsonw as dismissed for a foul on Liam Miller in the 87th minute, but they kept on coming at Sunderland.

Roy Keane's men though held on to the final whistle to leave their thousands of fans celebrating wildly as they sang "We're Going Up".

« Reply #80 on: March 03, 2007, 12:06:35 PM »
uk crew...any early rpts on carlos
 :praying:

not the knee....not the knee..

Offline StoreBayLimer

« Reply #81 on: March 03, 2007, 12:07:27 PM »
Oh lawd oh! This is good news.  I was holding my breath when I logged on because I thought that the game could go either  way especially since West Brom is in good form. Congrats Dwight and Stern; especially good to hear that Stern is playing well.

I really hope that it is not too bad for Carlos.

« Reply #82 on: March 03, 2007, 12:11:01 PM »
Carlos gone to hospital to get examine. Hope it not serious

http://www.safc.com/news/?page_id=11875

« Reply #83 on: March 03, 2007, 12:14:03 PM »
no injury good, but shoulder shouldn't be career ending... :praying:   thanks

« Reply #84 on: March 03, 2007, 12:31:46 PM »

"thanks to goals from Dwight Yorke and Stern John........ Sunderland went into the break ahead thanks to Dwight Yorke's third goal of the season, the striker driving a low shot home after good work by... Stern John."

3months, 1 year, 5years ago....did you ever think we would be reading reports like this....Stern and Yorkie playin together...this must be a dream for Stern gettin to play with one of his biggest mentors in the game :beermug: :applause:

Offline takenoprisoners

« Reply #85 on: March 03, 2007, 01:21:19 PM »
http://www.safc.com/news/?page_id=11875

SAFC.COM

It was a big win, Keane

Roy Keane's reaction to Sunderland's win at West Brom:

"We should have killed the game off but I suppose that's me being my usual critical self.

"We were on the back of some tough games and the lads dug deep, it was a very important result for us.

"The goal they got, it came from nothing really but we should have finished the game off well before then, we had the opportunities.

"When you are away from home and you miss chances you are going to encourage the home side back into the game.

"Our lads dug deep and showed great character. I don't think we played that well today but when you have characters like we have, it gives you a chance.

"It was a scrappy first half, there were plenty of tackles going in and it was difficult to get it down and play.

"We scored off a good move and Yorkie slotted it nicely into the corner - that was the one bit of quality in the first half.

"It was nice to score early in the second half but we needed that third goal to finish off the game.

"If we were a bit more ruthless in the attacking third we would have won it easily, but if you don't do it you get punished.

"I wouldn't say we got away with it today, we did enough to have won it comfortably.

"We've had a decent day and now we work hard for next Saturday [at Barnsley] which will be just as tough.

"We've had three tough games and to be honest we should have beaten Birmingham, we should have the nine points from them.

"It's all in the head, whoever believes they can do it, will. Our dress room has that and we have to make sure we work hard every day.

We've got 10 games and we need to keep the pressure on Derby and Birmingham, I still think they are the favourites.

"Carlos has gone to hospital to have his shoulder looked at and we are waiting for the results. We felt it was a bad tackle but Dermot [Gallagher] didn't see it, I don't know how but he didn't.

"That was the big disappointment of today, Carlos has been good for us - fingers cross for him."

« Reply #86 on: March 03, 2007, 01:27:40 PM »
Any video footage of the goals?...anyone :D

« Reply #87 on: March 03, 2007, 01:30:41 PM »
West Brom 1-2 Sunderland.
BBC Sport.

Sunderland boosted their hopes of automatic promotion by ending West Brom's eight-match unbeaten league run.
Dwight Yorke put the Black Cats ahead, side-footing past Dean Kiely after a neat flick-on from Stern John.
John doubled the lead four minutes after the break, left unmarked to head in Dean Whitehead's inswinging corner.
Darren Carter gave West Brom a lifeline when he hooked in from the edge of the box before Paul Robinson was harshly sent off for a professional foul.

West Brom manager Tony Mowbray:
"I want to be gracious in defeat but I know who was the better side on the day - the team with more control and trying to force the game.
"Sunderland are a very organised, defensively set up team and you've got to give them credit for that.
"But over the next 10 games I would suggest we will end up with more points than them because of the way we play. We will score more goals than them."

Sunderland manager Roy Keane:
"We made hard work of it and we should have finished the game off earlier but we will take the 2-1 win and move on.
"We had to dig deep after they got a goal out of nothing and then we were under the cosh.
"But the players keep doing that and if you are to get anywhere in life or in football then you have to show those qualities."

West Brom: Kiely, McShane, Clement, Curtis Davies, Robinson, Koumas, Chaplow, Greening (Carter 55), Koren (Gera 55), Kamara, Phillips (MacDonald 55).
Subs Not Used: Daniels, Albrechtsen.

Sent Off: Robinson (87).

Booked: Clement.

Goals: Carter 72.

Sunderland: Ward, Simpson, Evans, Nosworthy, Collins, Edwards (Hysen 41), Whitehead, Yorke (Liam Miller 73), Stokes, Connolly, John (Murphy 62).
Subs Not Used: Fulop, Leadbitter.

Booked: Whitehead.

Goals: Yorke 23, John 49.

Att: 23,252.

Ref: D Gallagher (Oxfordshire).

« Last Edit: March 03, 2007, 01:38:14 PM by FireBrand »

« Reply #88 on: March 03, 2007, 01:53:46 PM »

ah f*cking love it!!

GO SUNDERLAND GO SUNDERLAND

« Reply #89 on: March 03, 2007, 02:34:03 PM »
« Last Edit: March 03, 2007, 02:39:22 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.