General => General Discussion => Topic started by: capodetutticapi on March 13, 2009, 08:01:53 AM

Title: 10 kids drink windshield wiper fluid at daycare
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 13, 2009, 08:01:53 AM
10 kids drink windshield wiper fluid at daycare
Staffers mistook liquid for Kool-Aid, Arkansas officials say

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. - Hospital officials say 10 children drank windshield wiper fluid after a staffer at Arkansas daycare center mistook the liquid for Kool-Aid.

Laura James, a pediatric pharmacologist and toxicologist at Arkansas Children's Hospital, tell The Associated Press that the daycare staffer put the windshield wiper fluid in a refrigerator by accident after a shopping trip.

James says doctors estimate the children, ages 2 to 7, each drank about an ounce of the fluid before realizing what it was Thursday afternoon.

Hilary DeMillo, a hospital spokeswoman, says one child remained hospitalized Friday. James says the child had high levels of methanol in blood samples, which can cause blindness.

Julie Munsell, a spokeswoman for the state Department of Human Services, says child welfare officials planned to visit the community daycare Friday. Munsell did not know the name of the daycare.

Title: Re: 10 kids drink windshield wiper fluid at daycare
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on March 13, 2009, 09:37:18 AM
they would have to lock me up.
Post by: Savannah boy on March 13, 2009, 01:54:24 PM
 >:(  No wonder is Arkansas.  Yuh have to be real stupid to mix that up. 
Post by: E-man on March 13, 2009, 03:24:41 PM
>:(  No wonder is Arkansas.  Yuh have to be real stupid to mix that up. 

depends on how it's labeled with all those crazy colors they make 'fruit punch' now - blue, etc.

(http://www.webstaurantstore.com/images/100FRUIT_lg.jpg)(http://www.hardwarestore.com/media/product/284299_front200.jpg)(http://ec-images.acehardwareoutlet.com/225/products/1000005251_092807_ssv.jpg)(https://secure.yisi.net/phoenix/images/574248.jpg)(http://www.juicealive.net/images/ItemImages/Green-Watermelon.gif)(http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_ZDVtI6l0SgY/SWwT-U1bJxI/AAAAAAAAACA/OefOCRr0vm0/s320/deicer_fluid_main.jpg)(http://www.cul-mac.com/images/washer_solvent/bug_off.jpg)(http://www.webstaurantstore.com/images/100GRAPE_lg.jpg)(http://www.healingnoni.com/catalog/images/1%20gallon.jpg)(http://polkadotdairy.com/images/punch.jpg)
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on March 13, 2009, 05:02:04 PM
...and a bar of soap can look like a white chocolate bar
and a squirrel turd can look like a raisin...

...in a daycare of all places, I would like to think that the personnel can read...and smell...
Post by: Babalawo on March 13, 2009, 05:30:31 PM
That happen to me in the late 80's when i visited NY. My mother see a 3-liter soda bottle shaped container and thought it was some kinda American blue soda.  Give it to me and my siblings. When it was detergent  :rotfl:  I still dont know how my stomach digest it.Thank god I can laugh at it now today because i could of been dead while she would of gotten lock up.
Post by: capodetutticapi on March 13, 2009, 07:24:27 PM
That happen to me in the late 80's when i visited NY. My mother see a 3-liter soda bottle shaped container and thought it was some kinda American blue soda.  Give it to me and my siblings. When it was detergent  :rotfl:  I still dont know how my stomach digest it.Thank god I can laugh at it now today because i could of been dead while she would of gotten lock up.
yuh have corbeaux guts.
Post by: WestCoast on March 13, 2009, 09:04:47 PM
something in this story ent sounding right
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on March 14, 2009, 07:36:23 AM

sounds a little deliberate yuh thinking?
Post by: WestCoast on March 14, 2009, 07:51:13 AM

sounds a little deliberate yuh thinking?
I find so
mad people EVERYWHERE

but to see some of the containers that Eman posted, the operators needed to store the stuff better if that is the real case.
(http://www.webstaurantstore.com/images/100FRUIT_lg.jpg) (http://www.hardwarestore.com/media/product/284299_front200.jpg)
having said that,   reading a label goes a long way not so