May 09, 2024, 01:33:32 AM

Author Topic: Yorke: I wanted to be English  (Read 16790 times)

Re: Yorke: I wanted to be English
« Reply #30 on: June 03, 2006, 08:22:46 AM »
There's nothing wrong with keeping yuh trini lingo when yuh liming with yuh trinis,but it's necessary to speak properly using good grammar and words or sentences in there right context without putting on a foreign accent and still be understood when speaking with people other than yuh island people.

I believe it's ignorance on the part of some people and not only trinis who insist that they're not changing there island ways as it applies to speaking properly........

Offline essexgirl22

Re: Yorke: I wanted to be English
« Reply #31 on: June 03, 2006, 12:28:39 PM »
I guess all those who are  criticising Dwight for speaking properly,  would like him to go out there and speak in our local dialect as we do, when hanging around the street corners and embarrass himself and his family & the country
We do love to  lambaste our people for doing right, no wonder the beautiful of ours is rapidly going down the drain.
It is time we give praise to our young people when they try to do the right thing so I say to Mr Yorke. WELL DONE .

essexgirl22