May 22, 2024, 08:28:41 AM

Author Topic: Give Asafa Powell Gold Medal Now  (Read 4291 times)

Give Asafa Powell Gold Medal Now
« on: August 14, 2008, 07:52:56 PM »
Fair is fair....before ah wanted to see him beaten but after d amount of blood test d fella,OK and other athletes have had to endure ah cant help but feel sympathy for this fella....4 blood test already....and from d look of it ....is not ah little bit of blood....

what happen dem American an dem want him to lose so bad...steups..... ???
They better make sure none of these athletes dont faint or die for over testing....

Re: Give Asafa Powell Gold Medal Now
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2008, 08:32:52 PM »
He will have to wuk for that!!!

Offline Marlon

• Who the cap fit, let them wear it.
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2008, 08:47:17 PM »
Fair is fair....before ah wanted to see him beaten but after d amount of blood test d fella,OK and other athletes have had to endure ah cant help but feel sympathy for this fella....4 blood test already....and from d look of it ....is not ah little bit of blood....

They better make sure none of these athletes dont faint or die for over testing....

Look Asafa alone eh getting tested. He should stop de whinin and run.

« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2008, 09:11:02 PM »
agreed ..stop whining

« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2008, 09:37:04 PM »
He learn dat from d yanks

« Reply #5 on: August 14, 2008, 11:14:26 PM »
I notice a trend. Franno says the flap with JAAA hurt his sprinters last "10% preparation" so he's not responsible for any bad performances (yes that's a quote) now he weak from blood loss from the tests.

Hmmm. Not good.

« Reply #6 on: August 14, 2008, 11:18:40 PM »
allyuh knoe how them yankee always up to tricks....steups.... >:(

« Reply #7 on: August 15, 2008, 01:20:42 AM »

You know how much 5 ml  of blood is?  I won't minimize it and say 'dat ent nutten'... but enough of the persecution syndrome arready, it ent like they bleeding him dry.

I also don't see what de 'yankee' and dem have to do with anything...

« Reply #8 on: August 15, 2008, 01:27:05 AM »
wha dem yankee does do iz thief.... :o

« Reply #9 on: August 15, 2008, 02:51:46 AM »
Steupsss!!

Offline willi

« Reply #10 on: August 15, 2008, 07:17:30 AM »
I notice a trend. Franno says the flap with JAAA hurt his sprinters last "10% preparation" so he's not responsible for any bad performances (yes that's a quote) now he weak from blood loss from the tests.

Hmmm. Not good.

That was just for the JAAA. Yuh should know that well known spat.

After that he said it would take a superhuman effort to beat Asafa in the finals and Asafa reported that he hit some markers in training that made Franno happier than he ever saw him.

Mills countered a few days later saying Bolt fears no one and if he does what he is supposed to he wont be beaten.

Offline Lionpaw

• Highest Grade.
  • Smoke Weeeeed, under the Jamaican Sky Light.
« Reply #11 on: August 15, 2008, 07:20:15 AM »

Look Asafa alone eh getting tested. He should stop de whinin and run.

Asafa(tested 4 times)
Tyson Fag(Tested once)

Is that fair? Wouldn't you whine if u were in his shoes?
Smoke and Fly

Offline willi

« Reply #12 on: August 15, 2008, 07:21:16 AM »
Bolt tested 6 times in the week and VCB tested 3 times.

« Reply #13 on: August 15, 2008, 09:22:25 AM »
How do you know how many times each athlete was tested?  And how do you know how much blood each lost?  They were all, except Gay who was injured, competing in Europe and had to be tested in competition.  It is the way all athletes are treated.  Let's stop the whining, take a seat, and watch the greatest 100 meter competition in history.  At least ah hope that is what we get.

Offline willi

« Reply #14 on: August 15, 2008, 11:06:58 AM »
How do you know how many times each athlete was tested?  And how do you know how much blood each lost?  They were all, except Gay who was injured, competing in Europe and had to be tested in competition.  It is the way all athletes are treated.  Let's stop the whining, take a seat, and watch the greatest 100 meter competition in history.  At least ah hope that is what we get.

We know because it was reported in the news. They interviewed the athletes and officials and had it confirmed. We are not talking out of turn or making stuff up.

Note, we not talking about regular tests (urine), we talking about the new blood taking for baseline analysis. Yuh know our people nuh like needle! LoL

Apparently, the IAAF, IOC and WADA dont coordinate and they all come independently for blood samples. This is how the number escalates so quickly.

BTW, legally they cant force the blood taking. These athletes all signed up for it in an attempt to prove they are clean.

Oh, BTW, it was reported in Jam that it is onlt a tablespoon woth of blood each time, but I cant confirm. When I do blood tests its more like 5-10 tablespoon they draw.

« Reply #15 on: August 15, 2008, 11:36:21 AM »
iaaf have they blacklist yuh know  :devil: they have people single out or suspect

Offline willi

« Reply #16 on: August 15, 2008, 01:29:17 PM »
Argument done now. Here is what the IAAF bigwig said!

Usain Bolt leads the clash of the dash
Olympic 100 meters sets up as one of the best of all time, with Usain Bolt and Asafa Powell of Jamaica against Tyson Gay of the U.S.
By Philip Hersh
Special to The Times

August 14, 2008

BEIJING -- He had a gold signet ring on his right pinkie, a silver ring on the middle finger of his left hand and a gold watch that looked like a couple ingots from Fort Knox went into it on his wrist.

He sat on a stage next to a European pop singing icon, Paolo Nutini, during a news conference last week. His shoe company sponsor, Puma, presented him with a pair of gilt-colored spikes to wear in the Olympics.

Barely three months ago, no one would have imagined Usain Bolt glittering like this.

In less time than it takes you to read this sentence, Usain Bolt went from a young man whom only track fans knew to the sprinter whom the whole world will focus on when the Olympic track and field competition begins Friday morning with the first of four rounds in the 100 meters.

Call it the flash of the dash.

Never in one Olympics have three men been able to flash the credentials of Bolt, fellow Jamaican Asafa Powell and U.S. champion Tyson Gay.

They are the three fastest men in the sport's history -- the world-record holder (Bolt, 9.72 seconds), former world-record holder (Powell, 9.74) and U.S.-record holder (Gay, 9.77), who also is the reigning world champion.

Not since 1988, when Carl Lewis met Ben Johnson, has there been an Olympic 100 as anticipated as this.

A sport battered by doping scandals can only hope the outcome is different from 1988, when Canada's Johnson won in a world record of 9.79, only to have both the record and gold medal stripped after a positive test for a banned steroid.

Three of the past five 100-meter champions have tested positive for steroids, although Johnson was the only one to whom it happened during the Olympics. Both Linford Christie of Britain (1992) and Justin Gatlin of the U.S. (2004) were caught later.

Suspicions of doping had not become one of the many plot lines leading up to this Olympic 100 until Powell complained Tuesday that he and his Jamaican teammates had undergone several blood tests since arriving in China.

The lack of an independent anti-doping agency in Jamaica has caused concerns that the island's latest generation of sprint stars has not been tested frequently enough at home.

"They have tested me four times and took a lot of blood," Powell said. "I'm saying they are taking so much blood I might be very weak for the [Saturday] finals of the 100 meters."

IAAF general secretary Pierre Weiss was sympathetic to Powell's complaint.

"Four times is too much," he said.

Such is the state of track and field in the wake of the BALCO doping scandal that it is impossible simply to revel in the sudden emergence of the 21-year-old Bolt as the world's fastest man.

When he clocked 9.72 during a May 31 race in New York, beating not only Gay but Powell's world record, it added a new dimension to the Olympic 100.

"Asafa told me I took a lot of pressure off him," Bolt said.

Powell no longer was Jamaica's only hope to reverse the result of the 2007 worlds. He was heavily favored in that meet but, by his own admission, panicked as Gay closed in on him at 70 meters.

Questions about that performance have dogged Powell since. But the pressure has shifted to Bolt, with questions about how he will handle it.

"I'm not nervous," said Bolt, a 200-meter specialist until this season. "I feel ready for the crowd, the stadium and the atmosphere. I am going there to win the gold medal and have been working for this goal so long, now it is all I think about. I won't be fazed when I get there."

Gay has questions of a different sort, about his ability to recover from a hamstring strain that has kept him from racing since pulling up July 5 in the quarterfinals of the 200 at the U.S. Olympic trials.

There hasn't been a recent Olympic 100 champion with less background at the distance than Bolt.

"It's not like he came out of nowhere," said Jon Drummond, who coaches Gay. "You look back, and he did phenomenal things at 14, 15, 16, 17 years old."

Bolt is unusual for another reason: He is 6 feet 5, a height most would consider a detriment in an event where the start is so critical. It usually takes a taller man more time to get moving out of the blocks.

Gay insists his leg is fine. Powell says if he gets ahead of Gay and Bolt, they won't catch him. Bolt says he is ready for a stage a lot bigger than the one he commanded at a news conference here.

Bling it on.

Philip Hersh covers Olympic sports for The Times and the Chicago Tribune.

« Reply #17 on: August 15, 2008, 02:34:18 PM »
Oh, BTW, it was reported in Jam that it is onlt a tablespoon woth of blood each time, but I cant confirm. When I do blood tests its more like 5-10 tablespoon they draw.

Yuh know how allyuh press love exaggerate arready... tuh hear dem tell it de IOC is vampires ;D

Sandrine Tonge, a spokeswoman for the International Olympic Committee, said the group would conduct 4,500 drug tests on Olympic athletes during the Games. She said the committee did not disclose how often it tested individual athletes.

“We reserve the right to test athletes whenever necessary,” Tonge said.

The testers do not take enough blood to affect an athlete’s performance, said Dr. Niels H. Secher, an exercise researcher at the University of Copenhagen. A drug test requires 5 milliliters of blood, Dr. Secher said. But, he explained, “you would have to take several hundred milliliters of blood to have an effect.”

http://www.nytimes.com/2008/08/14/sports/olympics/14doping.html?_r=1&scp=1&sq=athletes%20blood%20testing&st=cse&oref=slogin

Of course de good Dr. could be lying...right?

« Reply #18 on: August 15, 2008, 02:36:56 PM »
Sorry! Asafa go have to work for that!!  Watch the dark horses - Thompson and Burns.  Ah like how the press going goo goo gah gah over the big three - Bolt, Powell and Gay and foretting the two Trinis.  That is exactly how it should be and just what they need.  Go TNT

« Reply #19 on: August 15, 2008, 02:38:03 PM »
Oh, BTW, it was reported in Jam that it is only a tablespoon Worth of blood each time, but I cant confirm. When I do blood tests its more like 5-10 tablespoon they draw.
Yuh know how allyuh press love exaggerate arready... tuh hear dem tell it de IOC is vampires ;D
Sandrine Tonge, a spokeswoman for the International Olympic Committee, said the group would conduct 4,500 drug tests on Olympic athletes during the Games. She said the committee did not disclose how often it tested individual athletes.
The testers do not take enough blood to affect an athlete’s performance, said Dr. Niels H. Secher, an exercise researcher at the University of Copenhagen. A drug test requires 5 milliliters of blood, Dr. Secher said. But, he explained, “you would have to take several hundred milliliters of blood to have an effect.”
http://www.nytimes.com/2008/08/14/sports/olympics/14doping.html?_r=1&scp=1&sq=athletes%20blood%20testing&st=cse&oref=slogin
Bakes, as we all know that Jakans fraid gays
so he just psyche heself out when day tell him the blood test would be a likkle prick :devil: :devil:
« Last Edit: August 15, 2008, 02:41:10 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #20 on: August 15, 2008, 02:40:30 PM »

We know because it was reported in the news. They interviewed the athletes and officials and had it confirmed. We are not talking out of turn or making stuff up.

Note, we not talking about regular tests (urine), we talking about the new blood taking for baseline analysis. Yuh know our people nuh like needle! LoL

Apparently, the IAAF, IOC and WADA dont coordinate and they all come independently for blood samples. This is how the number escalates so quickly.

BTW, legally they cant force the blood taking. These athletes all signed up for it in an attempt to prove they are clean.

Thanks Willli! BUt ah think we need to stop worrying about that and making excuse before the race. I still think that it go take  the loss of a pint ah blood the day of the race to prevent Bolt from winning.

« Reply #21 on: August 15, 2008, 02:56:12 PM »

The good doctor is lying there.  At this level of athletic performance, with the repeated heats leading up to the finals, an athlete WILL be affected by 1) repeated medical intervention like injections, 2) loss of as little as 50 to 100 mls of blood not several hundred as stated.  But the effect may differ with the athlete depending on his personal blood cell count, which can vary between athletes.  That is a medical fact.  Having  said that, it does nt seem that the quantity taken leading up to this event is enough to affect the performances.

« Reply #22 on: August 15, 2008, 03:11:42 PM »

The good doctor is lying there.  At this level of athletic performance, with the repeated heats leading up to the finals, an athlete WILL be affected by 1) repeated medical intervention like injections, 2) loss of as little as 50 to 100 mls of blood not several hundred as stated.  But the effect may differ with the athlete depending on his personal blood cell count, which can vary between athletes.  That is a medical fact.  Having  said that, it does nt seem that the quantity taken leading up to this event is enough to affect the performances.

Well me eh no doctor... if you say yuh know better dan de doctor whey yuh wah mih tell yuh.

Offline willi

« Reply #23 on: August 15, 2008, 04:33:30 PM »

5ml is like a tablespoon, so what is your point???

IOC has NO POWER to force a blood test at this time. It is strictly voluntary for the time being, the elite signed up for it. Ato done tell you that a few days back.

Read what the Gen Secretary of the IAAF said about 4 tests in a week. Or maybe you dont like inconvenient truths.
« Last Edit: August 15, 2008, 04:39:28 PM by willi »

Offline willi

« Reply #24 on: August 15, 2008, 04:37:47 PM »

Thanks Willli! BUt ah think we need to stop worrying about that and making excuse before the race. I still think that it go take  the loss of a pint ah blood the day of the race to prevent Bolt from winning.

I am not worried...just speaking out against athlete abuse. Test them yes, but dont spoil the atmosphere with admin bungling.

Wait till you see Asafa tomorrow in the SF. Nuff people going change their tune.

I know what coming, so...

« Reply #25 on: August 15, 2008, 09:33:51 PM »

5ml is like a tablespoon, so what is your point???

IOC has NO POWER to force a blood test at this time. It is strictly voluntary for the time being, the elite signed up for it. Ato done tell you that a few days back.

Read what the Gen Secretary of the IAAF said about 4 tests in a week. Or maybe you dont like inconvenient truths.

Look here willi, cocolokes or totee...whatever yuh name is, I personally doh care one way or another.  allyuh Jamaicans master cry, whine and complain... everybody alwasy persecuting allyuh.  20-25 tablespoon ah blood eh go kill Powell... especially not since he heself volunteer for it, which I am much aware of.
The Gen. Sec. of the IAAF offered an opinion... his opinion has no bearing on IOC operations and as such is not as dispositive of the issue as you'd like for it to be.  There is no 'inconvenient truth' there for me to acknowledge, let alone 'like'.  So with that, feel free to rock so and calm yuhself.
« Last Edit: August 16, 2008, 05:58:18 PM by Bake n Shark »

« Reply #26 on: August 16, 2008, 03:31:21 PM »
D blood excuse seems like a good one now... this is a shock to no one.....I really saw this since this 10% he wasnt responsible for shit when they and JAAA was fighting...

Offline willi

« Reply #27 on: August 17, 2008, 12:40:31 PM »
D blood excuse seems like a good one now... this is a shock to no one.....I really saw this since this 10% he wasnt responsible for shit when they and JAAA was fighting...

So you believe 7 tests in 1 week is reasonable???

That is what Mills says that Bolt endured.

What is the use of blood test if 1 or 2 is not enough?

To the other fellow, its NOT just the IOC. Did I not say that IAAF AND WADA are also testing too?