Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on February 07, 2006, 03:29:00 PM

Title: T&T Select U21 team to take on American u17s.
Post by: Flex on February 07, 2006, 03:29:00 PM
T&T Select U21 team to take on American U17s.
By: Shaun Fuentes.

A Trinidad and Tobago Select Under 21 team will fly out to Tampa, United States on Sunday for a training camp which includes matches against two Major League Soccer Teams and one against the US National Under 17 team.
According to TTFF technical director Lincoln Phillips, the camp has been arranged in accordance with the Federation’s player development program.
“This type of international exposure against top quality teams will help to prepare our Under 21 players for the upcoming CAC Qualifiers,” Phillips told TTFF Media on Tuesday.
An interim staff will travel with the squad and it includes Ron La Forest (head coach),  Michael McComie (assistant coach), Peter Rampersad (General Manager), Rudy Roberts (assistant manager), Phillip Dore (physio/goalkeeper coach) and Calvin Hughes (equipment manager).
Twenty-two players including thirteen locally-based and nine United States-based players will engage in the camp.  The team will play four training matches, two against the senior teams of MLS outfits Chicago Fire and Kansas City Wizards and one each against the University of South Florida and the US National Under 17 team.
Phillips will also travel with the team which will be based at the Edge which is located at the University of South Florida. A study hall will also be set up for the players to undergo studies relating to their College work during the camp and other training on proper well being and professionalism will also take place.
“This is also in keeping with the overall development of our players also off the field as well,” Phillips added.
Among the players selected who are based in the US include striker Kevon Neaves who was part of the squad which trained under Leo Beenhakker in Fort Lauderdale over the weekend. The other US-based players are Yohance Marshall (University of South Florida), Kareem Smith (University of South Florida), former T&T Under 20 skipper Makan Hislop (University of South Carolina), Ancil Farrier (Southern Connecticut University), Abiola Sandy (Bowling Green University), Kevin Crooks (Clayton State University), Randi Patterson (University of Greensboro) and Colin Kirk.
Among those on the list of home-based players includes former National Under 17 striker Gorian Highley, Under 20 goalie Thorne Holder, Tobago-born goalkeeper Shean Warner, defender Carlon Murray, Superstar Rangers’ Josimar Belgrave, Hayden Tinto of Neal & Massy Caledonia AIA Fire, Shane Calderon of W Connection, Kendall Jagdeosingh of National Quarries North East Stars, Kezi Lara of Princes Town Senior Comprehensive, Kareem Freitas (St Anthony’s College), Aklie Edwards (Defence Force), Kahleem Hyland and Dion Peters.
Following this camp which runs from February 12-22,  the National Under 21 team will be announced to partake in the Caribbean Football Union Central American and Caribbean (CAC) preliminaries. The locals play Dominica on March 31, 2006 and then Haiti on April 4 in Trinidad.

Schedule of matches in Tampa.

T&T Select vs Chicago Fire, February 13, 3pm
T&T Select vs University of South Florida, February 16, 7pm
T&T Select vs Kansas City Wizards, February 19, 4pm
T&T Select vs US U17s, February 22, 4pm

Full Team:

Goalkeepers:
Shean Warner, Thorne Holder.

Defenders:
Yohance Marshall, Kareem Smith, Makan Hislop, Ancil Farrier, Carlon Murray, Aklie Edwards.

Midfielders:
Kevon Neaves, Colin Kirk, Dion Peters, Josimar Belgrave, Hayden Tinto, Kezi Lara, Kareem Freitas, Kahleem Hyland.

Forwards:
Abiola Sandy, Kevin Crooks, Randi Patterson, Gorian Highley, Shane Calderon, Kendall Jagdeosingh.
Title: Re: T&T Select U21 team to take on American u17s.
Post by: Jahyouth on February 07, 2006, 03:31:46 PM
Well done TD Phillips.  keep it coming!   :applause:
Post by: Carib-Briton on February 07, 2006, 03:33:46 PM
thats a big age gap. ??? as long as its good competition.
Post by: Trini _2026 on February 07, 2006, 03:51:41 PM
i see gorian higley is back.  good work well i expect a result againt that US under 17 team fuh surelike devoish in the dog house.

la forest boy well let me optimistic
Post by: trinbago on February 07, 2006, 04:38:18 PM
Ah wonder how wise it is to play the US under 17.....

.what are the repurcussions if we lose to them !!
Post by: royal on February 07, 2006, 04:41:18 PM
Like the preparation.Much more positive than before.However why are we playing US U17 and our guys are U21 ?Would have prefered US U21 also if posibble because we are in the same regional group.We should'nt be playing down,either up or the same level.
Post by: Trini _2026 on February 07, 2006, 04:54:57 PM
Like the preparation.Much more positive than before.However why are we playing US U17 and our guys are U21 ?Would have prefered US U21 also if posibble because we are in the same regional group.We should'nt be playing down,either up or the same level.

same thing i was saying we better dont loose to them
Post by: DeSoWa on February 07, 2006, 05:00:25 PM
Fellas playing the US U17 is part of a development program...the article also said we under 21 playing 2 MLS senior teams...look at the big picture and not just what you want to see...here is the schedule again:

Schedule of matches in Tampa.

T&T Select vs ChicagoFire, February 13, 3pm
T&T Select vs Kansas City Wizards, February 19, 4pm
T&T Selection vs US U17s, February 22, 4pm

Post by: Tenorsaw on February 07, 2006, 05:01:37 PM
Don't know why we playing the U17s.  Maybe it's to act as a confidence builder.  It could be a big demoralizer if we were to lose against them, and it would definitely highlight the gap between our youth programs and theirs.  The preparation and planning leading up to the tournament has been the best that I've seen for a while.  Thank God for Lincoln.  He is using his knowledge of the US landscape to get us some good games, and is showing why we need more than a coach for each team.  You can see that someone is planning and lookng ahead.  Now we have to do it on the field.
Post by: College on February 07, 2006, 05:21:42 PM
I glad for the games, especially since I in Florida, but what was suprising is the disparity in the teams we playing, from an MLS team to and U-17 team. Ah never see that one before, but the TD seems to know what he's doing.
Post by: ANC2 on February 07, 2006, 05:22:59 PM
What the U21 preparing For???
Post by: CK1 on February 07, 2006, 05:37:31 PM
The U-17 team is included because this is how they develop their young players...they play them against older teams. Availability is probably another factor since they are based in Bradenton. They'll be very good competition for our U-21's.
This is what all our teams need...opportunities to get out and compete or bring in teams for friendlies. European teams would love to be in T&T this time of the year.
I loke the direction Lincoln is headed as the TD.
Post by: truetrini on February 07, 2006, 06:20:42 PM
yet some jokers will say is fren fren thing de Technical Department on.

Steups!
Post by: SHOTTA on February 07, 2006, 06:43:24 PM
NICE TEAM MAN 

i think this year i am going to try to go more pro leage games too

tinto playing for calidonia

alot of d u 21 playing pro football dat nice to see
Post by: truetrini on February 07, 2006, 06:47:29 PM

Yow the word is LOSE..not loose!

It is atraining camp..winning and losing is not the main reason fuh dese camps.

ok?

Steeeeeeps.

doh  doh..leeh  mehhhh cu  cu come uppp in Can   Can  a da  and buss yuh  ah  ahh ass

besides why we national team does play against ah brailian U-23 team?
Post by: Toppa on February 07, 2006, 06:49:16 PM

ok?

Steeeeeeps.

doh  doh..leeh  mehhhh cu  cu come uppp in Can   Can  a da  and buss yuh  ah  ahh ass

:D
Post by: Ponnoxx on February 07, 2006, 06:54:55 PM
 This is good to see...I glad to see Gorean Highley is back ...If he was serious all the time he might have been on the national senior team...The competition we playing against is good...One of the problems we always had with youth teams is that they don't play enough high quality friendlies...I hope this is a sign for a change...The US has good youth teams but I think maybe they should have gotten a higher age group to trully test themselves...But it is still a good fixture....Great steps toward progress
Post by: Trini _2026 on February 07, 2006, 07:06:04 PM

ok?

Steeeeeeps.

yeah what eva and you was one ah d men cussing for the senior team results. what eva

plus useless Ron La Forest  could not even get us out of the group stage in the under 17 qualifying some years back and he our olympic team coach. A next granville
Post by: truetrini on February 07, 2006, 07:13:49 PM

ok?

Steeeeeeps.

yeah what eva and you was one ah d men cussing for the senior team results. what eva

plus useless Ron La Forest  could not even get us out of the group stage in the under 17 qualifying some years back and he our olympic team coach. A next granville

I was cussing over the senior team results?

when was dis madman?
Post by: Trini _2026 on February 07, 2006, 07:17:21 PM
the other day i think
Post by: truetrini on February 07, 2006, 07:20:08 PM
the other day i think

Stop thinking it too hard for you!

I never did.  stop telling stories!
Post by: Trini _2026 on February 07, 2006, 07:21:23 PM
the other day i think

Stop thinking it too hard for you!

I never did.  stop telling stories!

if you say so
Post by: royal on February 07, 2006, 07:26:17 PM
Thanx truetrini ah forget yuh ah English teacher... my typo mistake.Anyway, if you believe friendly scrimmages doh have any effect yu never play ball.Plus you miss my point completely dat we are in the same regional group as US.Is Brazil in our group?
Post by: Toppa on February 07, 2006, 07:27:38 PM
So what do you guys think about Josimar Belgrave? I know his brother ripping fuh Fatima, who do you think is better? I went to school with Josh (St James) so I've seen him play, but I haven't seen his brother.
Post by: Trini _2026 on February 07, 2006, 07:28:42 PM
Thanx truetrini ah forget yuh ah English teacher... my typo mistake.Anyway, if you believe friendly scrimmages doh have any effect yu never play ball.Plus you miss my point completely dat we are in the same regional group as US.Is Brazil in our group?

yu eh hear he get fired from he teachin wuk
Post by: Mr Mc on February 07, 2006, 07:52:33 PM

RIF

Following this camp which runs from February 12-22,  the National Under 21 team will be announced to partake in the Caribbean Football Union Central American and Caribbean (CAC) preliminaries. The locals play Dominica on March 31, 2006 and then Haiti on April 4 in Trinidad.
Post by: FF on February 07, 2006, 09:02:34 PM

RIF

Also this is we olympic team for 2008
Post by: truetrini on February 07, 2006, 09:26:14 PM
fella did I correct your spelling?  I was never an english teacher either.

I never said friendlies did not have an effect on ho you play!

I said winning or losing is not the reason we play friendlies in many cases....this is a learning experience.  having the players play away from home in hostile places.  Experience and an opportunity for the coaches to see the players in match situations.

OK?
Post by: Trini _2026 on February 07, 2006, 10:19:12 PM
is colin kirk quavis kirs brother ???
Post by: TrinInfinite on February 07, 2006, 10:41:26 PM
is colin kirk quavis kirs brother ???

i was juss goin 2 ask dat question
Post by: tempo on February 07, 2006, 10:54:36 PM
Yes he is Quavas' brother. Randi Patterson is also another good US-based addition. He just missed making the US u20 team for the worl champiohnships. The US u17 game may include some of their u-20 players as well.
Post by: Trinitim on February 07, 2006, 11:00:14 PM

This is great planning and foresight. There are people working in the background, hats off to them I love the stiff competition from the two MLS sides, that is good exposure, in terms of the under 17's that's fine, when you supposedly get cake is to eat it too not so , so let them fellas big up man, i think is good because they will play the MLS sides and if them put in a good performance they will be thinking like ok cool Under 17's butter on bread bring them on. Complancency could step in and we could lose so I hope they stay positive and keep the momentum going. I would not like us to be be successful in this matches and come and underestimate Dominica and Haiti, you know so. I think it is Right step in the right direction.

Futhur more let me mention this looking like a real balanced team. You got guys, who know the football had exposure at senior level  or were in the National Under Teams and those who are playing professionally in Trinidad now. I expect good results because you have some talented youth men representing the RED WHITE AND BLACK THERE.
Post by: Sam on February 08, 2006, 03:27:36 AM
Good preparations... good job Lincoln...

Gorian is BACK !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Sam on February 08, 2006, 06:28:42 AM
US Under-20 MNT Roster

GOALKEEPERS
Quentin Westberg (ESTAC Troyes, France);
Justin Hughes (UNC)
Andrew Kartunen (Stanford)

DEFENDERS (6):
Greg Dalby (Notre Dame)
Hunter Freeman (Virginia)
Patrick Phelan (Wake Forest)
Nathan Sturgis (Clemson)
Tim Ward (St. Louis)
Marvell Wynne (UCLA);

MIDFIELDERS
Arturo Alvarez (San Jose Earthquakes)
Eddie Gaven (MetroStars)
Robbie Rogers (Manhattan Beach, Calif.)
Benny Feilhaber (UCLA)
Patrick Ianni (UCLA)
Sacha Kljestan (Seton Hall)
Danny Szetela (Columbus Crew)

FORWARDS
Freddy Adu (D.C. United)
Chad Barrett (UCLA)
Charlie Davies (Boston College)
Will John (St. Louis)
Randi Patterson (UNC-Greensboro)
Jacob Peterson (Indiana).

We get Quavas brother Colin Kirk and he is good... Randi Patterson is a BOSS player.
Post by: Trini _2026 on February 08, 2006, 06:36:18 AM
US Under-20 MNT Roster

GOALKEEPERS
Quentin Westberg (ESTAC Troyes, France);
Justin Hughes (UNC)
Andrew Kartunen (Stanford)

DEFENDERS (6):
Greg Dalby (Notre Dame)
Hunter Freeman (Virginia)
Patrick Phelan (Wake Forest)
Nathan Sturgis (Clemson)
Tim Ward (St. Louis)
Marvell Wynne (UCLA);

MIDFIELDERS
Arturo Alvarez (San Jose Earthquakes)
Eddie Gaven (MetroStars)
Robbie Rogers (Manhattan Beach, Calif.)
Benny Feilhaber (UCLA)
Patrick Ianni (UCLA)
Sacha Kljestan (Seton Hall)
Danny Szetela (Columbus Crew)

FORWARDS
Freddy Adu (D.C. United)
Chad Barrett (UCLA)
Charlie Davies (Boston College)
Will John (St. Louis)
Randi Patterson (UNC-Greensboro)
Jacob Peterson (Indiana).

We get Quavas brother Colin Kirk and he is good... Randi Patterson is a BOSS player.

Like the ttff is starting looking to the united states to hell with  england
Post by: royal on February 08, 2006, 07:52:00 AM
Good to know the TD scouting for foreign young players too.We too small to lose dem.
Post by: Flex on February 08, 2006, 07:57:30 AM
Fire shuts out U.S. U-17's 4-0 in preseason opener.
Chicago Fire Media Relations.

CHICAGO, IL - The Chicago Fire received goals from players both rookie and veteran alike as the club handily defeated the U.S. U-17 Men's National Team 4-0 at the IMG Academy earlier today in Bradenton, FL. Head Coach Dave Sarachan blended both recent draftees alongside veteran players, allowing the Fire's deep bench an early chance to show its potential. Rookies Brian Plotkin and Calen Carr would both score for the Fire, followed by second half scores from Diego Gutierrez and Andy Herron to start Chicago off with a 1-0 record in preseason exhibition play.

15 - Fire Midfielder Ivan Guerrero plays a ball to second-year defender Gonzalo Segares who takes it down the left flank. "Gonzo" sends in a low cross to the far post, which rookie midfielder Brian Plotkin runs onto from 10 yards out, hitting a one-time blast past the U-17 keeper to give the Fire an early 1-0 lead.

31- Veteran defender Diego Gutierrez sends another solid ball down the left flank to Fire midfielder Justin Mapp, who plays a through-ball to forward Calen Carr. Carr, left with a 1 v 1 situation with the U-17 goalkeeper, slots the ball low and toward the corner to double the Fire's lead at 2-0 in the 31st minute.

46 - Plotkin plays a square ball to Gutierrez in middle of the field. With a few quick dribbles, Gutierrez tees off a blast of a shot from roughly 28 yards out that rips precisely into the upper right 90, giving the Fire an insurance goal of the highest quality to bring the score to 3-0.

69 - Rookie defender Jordan Russolillo plays a ball to the end line to fellow draftee Jeremy Ashe. Ashe catches up to it at the end line and plays ball back into the box for an onrushing Andy Herron, who scores low and near-post from 15 yards out in the 69th minute, sealing the win for the "Men in Red".

The Chicago Fire will continue to train throughout the week at the IMG Academy, closing out its week of training with a double-header slate of games on Saturday, Feb. 11 versus the USASA Select Team at 10:00 a.m. ET, followed by a second game at 3:30 p.m. against Central Florida University.

Chicago Lineup (4-4-2):
Zach Thornton (Matt Pickens 31, David Mahoney 50, Ryan McIntosh 71), Jeff Curtin (Jordan Russolillo 31), C.J. Brown (Tony Sanneh 31, Ezra Prendergast 61), Gonzalo Segares (Dasan Robinson 31), Ivan Guerrero (Justin Mapp 31, Leonard Griffin 61), Logan Pause (Diego Gutierrez 31, Scott Buete 61), Brian Plotkin (Jared Montz 61), Jack Stewart (John Thorrington 31, Jeremy Ashe 61), Floyd Franks (Will Johnson 31), Calen Carr (Richard Mupfudze 61) Chad Barrett (Andy Herron 31).

Subs Not Used:
Andy Rosenband, Idris Ughiovhe, Jim Curtin, and Craig Capano.

Scoring Summary:
CHI - Brian Plotkin (Gonzalo Segares, Ivan Guerrero) 15
CHI - Calen Carr (Justin Mapp, Diego Gutierrez) 31
CHI - Diego Gutierrez (Brian Plotkin) 46
CHI - Andy Herron (Jeremy Ashe, Jordan Russolillo) 69

Down, But not Out:
Fire forward Nate Jaqua, who as of late had been training with the United States Men's National Team at The Home Depot Center in Carson, CA, has been sidelined for 4-6 weeks with a Grade II MCL Sprain in his right knee. Jaqua suffered the injury on Saturday while playing in a training session against South Korea. The up-and-coming Fire forward has been in camp to demonstrate his skills for U.S. Head Coach Bruce Arena, managing to log 25 minutes in the U.S.'s 5-0 rout of Norway on January 29 to earn his first cap. His involvement in the game's final goal in the 87th minute showed promise for the young forward, but he will now need time off to let his knee recover. Jaqua will undergo rehabilitation in the coming days.
Post by: freakazoid on February 08, 2006, 08:02:28 AM
interesting warner ( u21 keeper) called to me from a car recently and i was wondering what he doing in trini didnt know he make d squad i actually taught d lad. he can b good but lazy i hoped he has overcome that lazyness he kept for bago utd in the last season i believe
Post by: Sando on February 08, 2006, 08:06:48 AM
Is Shean Warner a foreign UK born ? and how good is he really....

To bad because Quanvas Kirk would have been a great addition to this team.... glad to see Gorien back, he is a good striker.

Ricky Shakes could make this team, no ?
Post by: Trini _2026 on February 08, 2006, 08:10:37 AM
Is Shean Warner a foreign UK born ? and how good is he really....

To bad because Quanvas Kirk would have been a great addition to this team.... glad to see Gorien back, he is a good striker.

Ricky Shakes could make this team, no ?

nah man this team have to much quality for shakes  ::) he has no no chance at all of getting into this team yuh mad to even suggest that sando
Post by: Sando on February 08, 2006, 08:16:14 AM
You sure about that Triniman, because Shakes might make we senior team, he cant be that bad, Beenhakker was very impress with him. Maybe they keeping him for the Iceland game, I could bet my last dollar he getting call for that game.

Wonder if Keon Daniel is better now from that broken foot, he would have completed this team nicely and Jason Devonish is another talented midfielder.
Post by: Trini _2026 on February 08, 2006, 08:20:10 AM
i was just joking with yuh dey sando. Shakes could make this team we also have,Mathew Cupid, devoish and keon daniel who is injured . It seems the ttff is still in the screening process. the squad that plays in the cac qualifiers  and the squad that play in the actual cac games would be different for sure.
Post by: freakazoid on February 08, 2006, 08:29:34 AM
You sure about that Triniman, because Shakes might make we senior team, he cant be that bad, Beenhakker was very impress with him. Maybe they keeping him for the Iceland game, I could bet my last dollar he getting call for that game.

Wonder if Keon Daniel is better now from that broken foot, he would have completed this team nicely and Jason Devonish is another talented midfielder.

wait skilla break his foot :o plays like that usually have eyes on the back of their head. can any1 giv more info on how it happened
Post by: Trini _2026 on February 13, 2006, 10:12:05 AM
anyinfo on jason devoish
Post by: DeSoWa on February 13, 2006, 06:48:27 PM
T&T Select vs Chicago Fire, February 13, 3pm

Any word?

Post by: Mr Mc on February 16, 2006, 10:01:56 AM

is this game taking place at USF?