Sports => Football => Topic started by: marcpurcell on July 12, 2006, 05:17:34 PM

Title: Trinidad and Tobago changes confederations
Post by: marcpurcell on July 12, 2006, 05:17:34 PM
In anouncing that Leo Beenhakker has left to coach Poland yesterday, the fine folks at Fox Sports Canada stated that:"Leo had coached Real Madrid, Holland , the last being Trinidad and Tobago ...THE AFRICAN NATION looked impressive in the World Cup..."

Not only has T&T moved out of Jamaica but moved over into the a whole new continent and confederation all together.

Thanks Fox Sports
Title: Re: Trinidad and Tobago changes confederations
Post by: Organic on July 12, 2006, 05:21:58 PM
lmao......these ppl is just to much......do thye pay these ppl
Post by: kicker on July 12, 2006, 05:23:43 PM
geez !!!!!!!!!  ::)
Post by: Marcos on July 12, 2006, 05:26:06 PM
Just laugh at their ignorance man.
Doh get riled up.
Post by: Lower St. John on July 12, 2006, 05:26:35 PM
Nah, dat one hard to believe but ah believe it.

Blessings.
Post by: weary1969 on July 12, 2006, 06:16:17 PM
Fazeer Mohammed, Andre Baptiste and Anil Roberts could get a job at FOX. the level of stupidity is at an all time high.
Post by: che on July 12, 2006, 06:38:02 PM
Nah boy Mr. Baptiste is the King of stupidity.
Post by: cascabel on July 12, 2006, 06:40:42 PM
Geography is not a strong suit for many people, regardless of their job.   I once spoke with a high-ranking banking officer in Wall Street, New York who, when I said I was calling from the Cayman Islands, got all enthusiastic and asked me how was the weather in South America.   Helloo???

:o
Post by: football prof on July 12, 2006, 07:55:43 PM
Dont get mad at the ignorance. lol. Look at that statement as being half right!
Post by: weary1969 on July 12, 2006, 08:28:42 PM
Geography was not my strong point either that is why I dropped after Form 3. There is no reason why a journalist should be talking such crap. It is worst because the whole world now how much of an idiot he is.
Post by: davidephraim on July 12, 2006, 08:48:20 PM
In anouncing that Leo Beenhakker has left to coach Poland yesterday, the fine folks at Fox Sports Canada stated that:"Leo had coached Real Madrid, Holland , the last being Trinidad and Tobago ...THE AFRICAN NATION looked impressive in the World Cup..."

Not only has T&T moved out of Jamaica but moved over into the a whole new continent and confederation all together.

Thanks Fox Sports

It must be all dat talk bout TnT playing Ghana dat confuse their little minds.
Post by: football prof on July 12, 2006, 09:19:40 PM
Maybe he was speaking in reference to the racial compositon of the players on the field. If not then he must really think Trinidad is physically in the mother land!
Post by: Dutty on July 12, 2006, 09:24:03 PM
Maybe he was speaking in reference to the racial compositon of the players on the field. If not then he must really think Trinidad is physically in the mother land!

I doh tink so..as all sports media outlets dont refer to teams by racial composition....but by region

its a simple case of ignorant reporter/no research...not uncommon
Post by: Midknight on July 13, 2006, 10:00:43 AM

Thanks Fox Sports

Doh study it...he mix us up with Togo...when mih aunt was studying over here all her mail to mih grand parents used to end up there...

you know nah, Tobago/Togo, same damn thing  ::)
Post by: RasIred on July 13, 2006, 10:09:27 AM
I cah believe some of allyuh making excuse for that slip of the Tongue

I at least glad to hear we move out of Jamaica  :rotfl:, but on the real.....When u have a job that in broadcasting it makes alot of sense to be KNOWLEDGEABLE ...........I tired hear commentators misprounounc we name put we in different parts of the world. Nowadays everybody have a computer.......just google it  ;D
Post by: chinee boi on July 13, 2006, 10:19:38 AM
yuh hadda read between de lines

what Fox Sports was really saying is dat cause we making it tuh SA 2010, we should consider weself ah African team cause we dere already :D

Ah going SA 2010 tuh support meh boys
Post by: MEP on July 13, 2006, 10:26:32 AM
Wait what allyuh trinidad not in africa????? you mean I've been deluding myself all my life...aren't we right next to Togo
Post by: sprog on July 13, 2006, 12:05:09 PM
yeah heard dat crap and just sighed they have been talking sh*t since the world cup start.
Post by: Padams on July 13, 2006, 12:12:38 PM
Watch meh people..doh take it personally...Dem Brits and Americans jus dam stupid dats all....U never watch Jay Leno when dey interviewing people on d street..Dem assholes does cyah even name dey own President or Capital......Dats not ignorance..is jus plain stupidity  :beermug: :beermug:

Post by: weary1969 on July 13, 2006, 12:19:45 PM
Whe we in Germany someone ask the guy in the group if he was Togo. I guess it was a fox commentator.
Post by: FLi ! on July 13, 2006, 12:26:50 PM
Watch meh people..doh take it personally...Dem Brits and Americans jus dam stupid dats all....U never watch Jay Leno when dey interviewing people on d street..Dem assholes does cyah even name dey own President or Capital......Dats not ignorance..is jus plain stupidity  :beermug: :beermug:

To classify the Brits on the same level as the Americans, is a lil unfair to them.
Post by: samo on July 13, 2006, 12:35:41 PM
Americans generally know nothing outside of the US...
I saw an interview with Rosie O donnel and she said she never heard of a country called Argentina.... Ah mean ah could understand if it is some obscure country but o gorm..
Most of the Americans I meet outside of where I work, have never been outside the US... A big holiday is to go Florida... They have little or no interest in what is happening outside the United states.
Post by: Padams on July 13, 2006, 12:54:59 PM
I saw an interview with Rosie O donnel and she said she never heard of a country called Argentina.... Ah mean ah could understand if it is some obscure country but o gorm..
Most of the Americans I meet outside of where I work, have never been outside the US... A big holiday is to go Florida... They have little or no interest in what is happening outside the United states.

U see what a talkin bout...........stupideeees  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: davidephraim on July 13, 2006, 02:12:48 PM
yuh hadda read between de lines

what Fox Sports was really saying is dat cause we making it tuh SA 2010, we should consider weself ah African team cause we dere already :D

Ah going SA 2010 tuh support meh boys
For all de man who aint go Germany (like me) we go have to deal wid this ting seriously this time around for 2010 its not too early, trust meh. It have things we could start dealing with from now....... Save 10 a week if  yuh have too, tell yuh boss 4 years in advance for sick leave, From bout 2009 yuh could start fren-ing up de wife or husband so dat aint go be no problem, Start to practice lil African words and finally de SW massive go have to conduct some bake sale and car wash to pay for man like WF, RF and some a dem Bahrain man and dem to go wid we just in case Canada, Jamaica and Barhain doh make it again. Its only 3.5  coming out. Trinidad, Mexico, Cuba and half fuh America.
Post by: Filho on July 13, 2006, 03:03:59 PM
Probably a Freudian slip. Our team is made up primarily of black players and he made a mistake. It was stupid, but not unheard of. Plus, sonds like it was read by an anchorman, not a reporter...so he was likely reading off a teleprompter. His writer is the most likely candidate for that idotic mistake, but most anchors usually check the integrity of stories and/or can apologize and rectify errors on air when they notice one...

what's that now..strike 22?
Post by: Marcos on July 13, 2006, 03:45:40 PM
When you move to the US and have to deal with ignorant questions like, "do Trinidadians live in trees?" you learn to ignore them. Just correct them and move on. It's not worth the time or energy to argue.
Post by: Midknight on July 13, 2006, 03:49:26 PM
Well i know we not alone...When angola qualify a man ask if that is not the little country squeeze between France and Spain...  ;D
Post by: kicker on July 13, 2006, 03:49:59 PM
When you move to the US and have to deal with ignorant questions like, "do Trinidadians live in trees?" you learn to ignore them. Just correct them and move on. It's not worth the time or energy to argue.

whoa I from Santa Cruz boy....wha yuh tryin' tuh say bout livin' in trees ? Something wrong wid dat or ?  ;D
Post by: saga pinto on July 13, 2006, 05:39:30 PM

When I told them I was from trinidad,they ask me is it true you guys use donkeys as your mode of transportation:my reply was "yes and also vines"
Post by: Latent on July 13, 2006, 09:47:27 PM
You know there are many people in the so called developed coutries who do not even know that Trinidad and Tobago exists and to make matters worst even they know of our existence, they think we are still natives living in trees.

>:( >:( >:(
Post by: fishs on July 14, 2006, 12:51:40 AM
 Is Mr Hislop fault.....naming he son Shaka....
Post by: Pompey on July 14, 2006, 07:24:47 AM

The Capital of England is E isn't it  ;D

Think you'll find most Brits will know where Tobago is, we even know it's capital Trinidad and the name of teh President. How is Mr Yorke these days? :rotfl:
Post by: kicker on July 14, 2006, 07:36:30 AM

The Capital of England is E isn't it  ;D

Think you'll find most Brits will know where Tobago is, we even know it's capital Trinidad and the name of teh President. How is Mr Yorke these days? :rotfl:

Good one Pompey: The Capital of Tobago is Trinidad & Dwight Yorke is the president (Cyd Grey is the Prime Minister)
Post by: grskywalker on July 14, 2006, 08:20:02 AM

Most folks in the military would have this opportunity. The general public forget it. I worked with this girl (white)who was always curious to know about Trini, so last year when she was getting married and I suggested to her to honeymoon in Tobago at Grafton or Sandy Point, she looked at me as If I was crazy and ended up in Puerto Rico, which is US territory anyway. At least she got off the continent.
Post by: Filho on July 14, 2006, 08:51:16 AM
whatever...people all over teh world are ignorant about things theat are not important to them. And every country has just plain stupid people. You telling me the average Trini knows much about the Ukraine, Belarus, Moldova....boss, most of us don't even know other nations in the caribbean or central america are located without a map...nor do we know their capitals...Where are the Cape Verde Islands? The average Trini would struggle to find Belize or French Guiana on a map...notice I said the average Trini. Now those that just ask insulting questions on purpose to be antogonistic, well, to hell with them. But I find most people I've met are generally curious in an inoffensive way...

I think we really need to protect our own image as well...Every other postcard of some caribbean destination has a lady carrying a bucket of water on her head on some old path in a run down village, or an old man riding a donkey selling cocounuts with his front teeth missing, or bare foot children playing football on a dirt patch, or fisherman in ripped up clothing in front of a shanty town rising up through the mountains. Boss, if those are the predominant images coming out of the caribbean, supposedly showing the charm and simplicity of life on the islands...that is what people going to think about us and their questions will be formed accordingly.
Post by: Behbehman on July 14, 2006, 08:58:16 AM
As a geographer I could understand Fox Sport's dilemma. Many, many American journalists and news reporters do not have a clue about where anything is located.  In a survey taken by National Geographic, some Americans could not find the USA on a world map and 85% could not find Iraq.  :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: Midknight on July 14, 2006, 08:59:17 AM

if you feel that is bad...over here someone ask me if we have trees... :rotfl:
Post by: superoli on July 14, 2006, 09:05:17 AM
Filho - the difference is Trinidad does not invade other people countries
Post by: Dutty on July 14, 2006, 09:13:51 AM
whatever...people all over teh world are ignorant about things theat are not important to them. And every country has just plain stupid people. You telling me the average Trini knows much about the Ukraine, Belarus, Moldova....boss, most of us don't even know other nations in the caribbean or central america are located without a map...nor do we know their capitals...Where are the Cape Verde Islands? The average Trini would struggle to find Belize or French Guiana on a map...notice I said the average Trini. Now those that just ask insulting questions on purpose to be antogonistic, well, to hell with them. But I find most people I've met are generally curious in an inoffensive way...

I think we really need to protect our own image as well...Every other postcard of some caribbean destination has a lady carrying a bucket of water on her head on some old path in a run down village, or an old man riding a donkey selling cocounuts with his front teeth missing, or bare foot children playing football on a dirt patch, or fisherman in ripped up clothing in front of a shanty town rising up through the mountains. Boss, if those are the predominant images coming out of the caribbean, supposedly showing the charm and simplicity of life on the islands...that is what people going to think about us and their questions will be formed accordingly.
Man. what wrong wit you and kicker

Allyuh does come up with these sobering concise articulate points that make people reflect on the hypocrisy of their posts
All dis setta clear headed, rational accuracy has got to stop

Leh we wallow in we chupidity nah....I for one certainly think we better cause we have ah big blue building in port of spain within walkin distance of de breakfast shed

I no longer wish to drink from the fountain of truth, I want to wash mih draws and bade in de standpipe of condescension
Post by: kicker on July 14, 2006, 09:33:04 AM

Man. what wrong wit you and kicker

Allyuh does come up with these sobering concise articulate points that make people reflect on the hypocrisy of their posts
All dis setta clear headed, rational accuracy has got to stop

Leh we wallow in we chupidity nah....I for one certainly think we better cause we have ah big blue building in port of spain within walkin distance of de breakfast shed

I no longer wish to drink from the fountain of truth, I want to wash mih draws and bade in de standpipe of condescension

Once again. A classic post by the good ole Dutty...... :rotfl: Horse Fridays are not the same without yuh...

Now the hardest decision is which quote to use as my life motto:

"I no longer wish to drink from the fountain of truth, I want to wash mih draws and bade in de standpipe of condescension"

or

"Fluid cognition has no place amongst men who does swing hammer"

yuh killin' meh here  :rotfl: :rotfl:
Post by: marcpurcell on July 14, 2006, 11:33:33 AM
I remember a joke a friend told me. While he was visiting Cuba he ran into two British girls who were all excited that they visited Trinidad. They said that they always wanted to go to Trinidad for Carnival but never got a chance.

He was a little perplexed when they said that they went on a day trip to Trinidad. They said that it was so close to where they were staying only a two hour bus ride from their hotel. They were talking about Trinidad, Cuba
Post by: Filho on July 14, 2006, 11:59:16 AM
Filho - the difference is Trinidad does not invade other people countries

Like you didn't see the invasion in germany this summer  :D
anyhow boss....what that have to do with dis thread?
Post by: weary1969 on July 14, 2006, 10:19:35 PM
the Trins who cyah find Belize etc is not on tv sayin that Belize is not in caricom because they in Central America. That is the difference I thought that was obvious but boy was I wrong.
Post by: Filho on July 15, 2006, 07:23:27 AM
the Trins who cyah find Belize etc is not on tv sayin that Belize is not in caricom because they in Central America. That is the difference I thought that was obvious but boy was I wrong.

once again, a knee jerk reaction from someone who thinks they are defending a dis on Trinis. I don't really agree with your example...that is like saying Americans saying they didn't know Canada is in North America...poor analogy. Also the ignorant statementsof someone on TV does not always represent an entire society. I have heard some Trinis interviewd on the news who are just plain embarassing...but I would not dare say that is the average Trini. Anyhow, I am not trying to make an exact comparison..it is not a competition to measure exact level of ignorance..that is impossible to do. Just a point that there are ignorant people in every society and people tend to focus on what is important to them. If it makes you feel better to think other countries have dumber more ignorant populations than T&T, then go ahead...I don't really care...but yeah, you are probably wrong
Post by: cascabel on July 15, 2006, 07:26:58 AM

Post by: cascabel on July 15, 2006, 07:27:42 AM
All jokes aside, I have to wonder which crab suite some of these people live in.   Have they not seen T&T represented at the Miss Universe Pagean for decades?   Lovely, well educated ladies that do their islands proud?   Sure, they got to compete by living in the bush and swinging from vines, right.    Idiotic.

At least the British make it a right of passage for their young to hitch-hike through the UK and even Europe, therefore picking up some culture and travel savvy along the way; the average american is content to say he has travelled cross country.   It's like (and if an american reads this, please don't take insult because none's intended) the US saying that they are world champions in american football.   I mean, exactly which other countries have they ever had to beat to become World Champions?
Post by: kicker on July 15, 2006, 07:35:17 AM
All jokes aside, I have to wonder which crab suite some of these people live in.   Have they not seen T&T represented at the Miss Universe Pagean for decades?   Lovely, well educated ladies that do their islands proud?   Sure, they got to compete by living in the bush and swinging from vines, right.    Idiotic.

swinging from vines is fun.....doh knock it til yuh try it  ;D

Post by: Toppa on July 15, 2006, 10:08:44 AM

When I told them I was from trinidad,they ask me is it true you guys use donkeys as your mode of transportation:my reply was "yes and also vines"

I made a joke and told some of my co-workers that and they believd me. Ten minutes later ah had to go back and tell them that I was joking.  ::)
Post by: Toppa on July 15, 2006, 10:12:32 AM

Just because you used tuh duck Social Studies and Geography classes dah doh mean nothing. Cos I consider myself to be an avearge Trini and I could answer everyone of those questions with ease.
Post by: Filho on July 15, 2006, 03:05:54 PM

Just because you used tuh duck Social Studies and Geography classes dah doh mean nothing. Cos I consider myself to be an avearge Trini and I could answer everyone of those questions with ease.

If you feel the average Trini really can answer all those questions..then you definitely duck Social Studeis. You probably duck math too, cuz I only ask one question  ;)
Just kiddingToppa.... You really ignoring the point I am trying to make and by average, I really mean the mode in a sample, statistically speaking. Are you really saying the average Trini knows that Mexico is not a Central American country? You really think, that without looking at a map, the average Trini could tell you where Moldova is and what the standard of living is. Look, when someone asks if you live in trees..then they deserve a lash. And many foeigners deserve a lash when it comes to affairs outside of the so-called Industrialized Nations. I too believe it would be difficult to find a Trini who would ask such a stupid question, when trying to attain knowledge. And maybe that is the point people are trying to make..But I have met all kinds of foreigners...stupid, ignorant, obnoxious...but I've also met the intelligent, the curious, etc. Same for trinis. Everyone has a different experience and I am using mine to balance out the argument....Not all Americans are geographically ignorant or obnoxious. Just like not all Trinis are knowledgeable about affairs outside of T&T. People tend to focus on what they consider important in life. I think in almost every nation you go to, you would be surprised the lack of interest in affairs external to their nation that the average person has.
Post by: Filho on July 15, 2006, 03:35:34 PM

At least the British make it a right of passage for their young to hitch-hike through the UK and even Europe, therefore picking up some culture and travel savvy along the way; the average american is content to say he has travelled cross country.   It's like (and if an american reads this, please don't take insult because none's intended) the US saying that they are world champions in american football.   I mean, exactly which other countries have they ever had to beat to become World Champions?

In the scheme of things, Ms Universe is meaningless, and not too many people outside of Latin America really care about it, sorry to say. Have to say though, I always watch to give Ms. T&T some moral support.
I thought football winners were Superbowl Champs. Baseball players win the World Series and Baskbetall players do win the World Champs...the World being a now defunct newpsaper that used to sponsor the Championship. When the paper went out of business, they kept the name in there. The average American knows better....Or else they wouldn't be so obsessed with olympic basketball..the true world Champiionships of Basketball, for example.
Post by: kicker on July 15, 2006, 03:44:32 PM
Trinidad is a tiny country that is barely visible on a World Map, and apart from a few isolated events here and there T&T barely has an impact on World news or mainstream global events, so obviously there will be people who don't know sh*t about us.......and it's not just Americans, I've met people from different parts of Asia & Europe who didn't have a clue that Trinidad & Tobago existed.......

It's a tough pill to swallow for us because we live and die by our country....but to comprehend why it is the way it is should not be too difficult. I think the WC 2006 put us on a map a little more though
Post by: superoli on July 15, 2006, 03:53:26 PM
I agree with your points except I believe as a proportion americans are more ignorant about the outside world.
I have lived in a few countries and travelled a hell of a lot and have found americans to be the most ignorant about matters and places outside their country (in fact their state)
Now of course this is a personal opinion and I could just be unlucky and manged to meet the dumbest of the dumb in my travels in America. But without doubt the dumbest questions I have been asked is in America.
Post by: daryn on July 15, 2006, 04:05:28 PM
I thought football winners were Superbowl Champs. Baseball players win the World Series and Baskbetall players do win the World Champs...the World being a now defunct newpsaper that used to sponsor the Championship. When the paper went out of business, they kept the name in there. The average American knows better....Or else they wouldn't be so obsessed with olympic basketball..the true world Champiionships of Basketball, for example.

just to clear up a few things: 
Basketball has a world championships outside of the Olympics, which are held every 4 years.  the last one was in Indianapolis.  It was big news at the time in the states as it was the first time that a US team of pro-players lost a game (I think the historic loss was to Argentina) in international competition since the advent of the era of "dream-teams".  In fact, they did not even medal in the tournament, after going on to lose at least one other game.

I saw something on tv once saying that the whole thing about the New York World giving the name to the world series is a myth.  The World Series article (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/World_series) on wikipedia corroborates that.  Here is the relevant paragraph (how much faith anyone wants to put in wikipedia is another story) :

A persistent myth is that the "World" in "World Series" came about because the New York World newspaper sponsored it. Baseball researcher Doug Pappas refutes that claim, demonstrating a linear progression from the phrase "World's Championship Series" (used to describe the 1903 series as well as some of the 19th-century postseason series) to "World's Series" (a term first used in the 1880s and which persisted for decades) to "World Series". Furthermore, investigation of the New York World for the relevant years revealed no evidence of the supposed sponsorship.

Also, even if the competitions don't meet the strict definition of world championships, I think a team that wins an NFL, NBA or MLB title can still consider themselves to be de facto world champions (among clubs) because the consensus is that the strongest club teams, and for the most part the strongest players, in those sports compete in those leagues.   

Post by: Filho on July 15, 2006, 05:06:09 PM

just to clear up a few things: 
Basketball has a world championships outside of the Olympics, which are held every 4 years.  the last one was in Indianapolis.  It was big news at the time in the states as it was the first time that a US team of pro-players lost a game (I think the historic loss was to Argentina) in international competition since the advent of the era of "dream-teams".  In fact, they did not even medal in the tournament, after going on to lose at least one other game.

I saw something on tv once saying that the whole thing about the New York World giving the name to the world series is a myth.  The World Series article (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/World_series) on wikipedia corroborates that.  Here is the relevant paragraph (how much faith anyone wants to put in wikipedia is another story) :

A persistent myth is that the "World" in "World Series" came about because the New York World newspaper sponsored it. Baseball researcher Doug Pappas refutes that claim, demonstrating a linear progression from the phrase "World's Championship Series" (used to describe the 1903 series as well as some of the 19th-century postseason series) to "World's Series" (a term first used in the 1880s and which persisted for decades) to "World Series". Furthermore, investigation of the New York World for the relevant years revealed no evidence of the supposed sponsorship.

Also, even if the competitions don't meet the strict definition of world championships, I think a team that wins an NFL, NBA or MLB title can still consider themselves to be de facto world champions (among clubs) because the consensus is that the strongest club teams, and for the most part the strongest players, in those sports compete in those leagues.   

Great post. I guess I was wrong about the World Series misnomer. What I thought I knew did not go beyond the research done to refute the claim. Well, you learn something new every day. respect.

True that about the Basketball World Championships. There is a Baseball World championships now as well, called the World Baseball Classic...I remember the US getting eliminated from that too. It was big news to see they were being outclassed at their national pastime..guess they know how the Brits feel about football  ;) but I beleive in terms of prestige and importance, Olympic basketball  ranks ahead of the basketball world champs...but that may be more an American phenomena...not sure how each ranks among South Americans, Europeans, etc..

Post by: berris on July 15, 2006, 05:36:25 PM
Filho you is de one missing de point here,we talking bout ignorant journalist reporting incorrect information.This eh have nuttin to do wid wedda de average Trini cud say wey Mongolia or Fiji etc is.
Deal wid de topic, it's about de ignorance of de journalist who eh find it fit to do de research becuz  ah far as dem concern is ah smal nobody country,so we cud say anything bout dem.
Yuh explanation for why dey have dah small minded opinion on we is weak.So becuz we have post cards showing how relax and laid back caribbean people are you really feel that is how the America or de world view TnT/ caribbean ppl...rubbish yuh talking dread.Post cards yuh say? come nah man make sense nah,I see post card from Mexico with Donkey cart and coconut wey man have on bussup shot an tear up pants so ah guess that means everybody in Mexico does ride donkey cart right?
You gehin tie up, de average Trini doh have to know wey Bora Bora or Chaing Mai or wey ever is, diaz de journalist wuk, dem is de one wey hah to get it right.Imagine ah country now done play in ah WC, make history,and de same journalist wey covering de WC eh know wey part ah de world dah country in ...steeuuuppps you cud say wey yuh want,the reason why dem journalist cud talk dah shit bout 'African nation' is total arrogance ,because dey feel dey know better,ignorance,becuz dey eh have ah clue and disrespect, becuz dey eh even take the time to get it right regardless becuz TnT is just ah small 3rd country.
Post by: weary1969 on July 15, 2006, 05:38:35 PM
If Trinis doh no where Guyana is is a failure of the education system. No way you can excuse a journalist saying that TNT in Africa.
Post by: kicker on July 15, 2006, 05:42:03 PM
Filho you is de one missing de point here,we talking bout ignorant journalist reporting incorrect information.This eh have nuttin to do wid wedda de average Trini cud say wey Mongolia or Fiji etc is.

You are correct about the original point of the thread, but if you read the other posts, they strayed from the original topic, and people started commenting on their experiences with "average" Americans in every day life- not just journalists.....

I agree that such a mistake made by someone who ought to do some research is pretty shameful.......such seemingly small errors can in fact be perceived as disrespectful......
Post by: superoli on July 15, 2006, 05:43:21 PM
Just the other day I found out California was a state in america I always thought they was talking about a town in central
Post by: Filho on July 15, 2006, 06:15:34 PM
Deal wid de topic, it's about de ignorance of de journalist who eh find it fit to do de research becuz  ah far as dem concern is ah smal nobody country,so we cud say anything bout dem.
Yuh explanation for why dey have dah small minded opinion on we is weak.So becuz we have post cards showing how relax and laid back caribbean people are you really feel that is how the America or de world view TnT/ caribbean ppl...rubbish yuh talking dread.Post cards yuh say? come nah man make sense nah,I see post card from Mexico with Donkey cart and coconut wey man have on bussup shot an tear up pants so ah guess that means everybody in Mexico does ride donkey cart right?
You gehin tie up, de average Trini doh have to know wey Bora Bora or Chaing Mai or wey ever is, diaz de journalist wuk, dem is de one wey hah to get it right.Imagine ah country now done play in ah WC, make history,and de same journalist wey covering de WC eh know wey part ah de world dah country in ...steeuuuppps you cud say wey yuh want,the reason why dem journalist cud talk dah shit bout 'African nation' is total arrogance ,because dey feel dey know better,ignorance,becuz dey eh have ah clue and disrespect, becuz dey eh even take the time to get it right regardless becuz TnT is just ah small 3rd country.

Whatever breds. Like you have an axe to grind. It was others who started extrapolating and talking about how stupid Americans and Brits are in general. Go read my first post..I dealt with the topic directly and nothing else. As the topic changed...people started addressing slightly different issues and so did I. If you actually read the threads you would have easily seen this...I did not change the topic. As for images coming out of the Caribbean, I only suggested that by promoting more positive images of the Caribbean we can give a more well-rounded idea of what  life is like here...I used postcards an example...but just as an example of the images coming out of our region. The same holds true for TV, film, and any form of media.  It seems to me that almost every time a foreign film crew comes to T&T to film some special..the backdrop they show is primarily of poverty and over-simplicity. It was never an an excuse for poor journalism or ignorance, but if these are the predominant images coming out of a region..I do not expect people to have any other view of it. A lot of what people think they know about other countries is based on images and programs from different types of media, since few people can actually travel the world extensively. I think we do not do enough to promote ourselves in a positive light...some would say we do not do enough to promote ourselves period..If you do not think any ignorance stems from this, well OK...but that is an opinion of mine that I think has some merit
Post by: berris on July 15, 2006, 06:51:25 PM
Just the other day I found out California was a state in america I always thought they was talking about a town in central

Superoli doh f@#k meh nah man. yuh forget tuh puh de  :rotfl: next to dah statement.......is serious yuh serious?
Post by: superoli on July 15, 2006, 07:04:53 PM
oh gosh man I joking  :D
Post by: berris on July 15, 2006, 08:09:59 PM

Whatever breds. Like you have an axe to grind. It was others who started extrapolating and talking about how stupid Americans and Brits are in general. Go read my first post..I dealt with the topic directly and nothing else. As the topic changed...people started addressing slightly different issues and so did I. If you actually read the threads you would have easily seen this...I did not change the topic. As for images coming out of the Caribbean, I only suggested that by promoting more positive images of the Caribbean we can give a more well-rounded idea of what  life is like here...I used postcards an example...but just as an example of the images coming out of our region. The same holds true for TV, film, and any form of media.  It seems to me that almost every time a foreign film crew comes to T&T to film some special..the backdrop they show is primarily of poverty and over-simplicity. It was never an an excuse for poor journalism or ignorance, but if these are the predominant images coming out of a region..I do not expect people to have any other view of it. A lot of what people think they know about other countries is based on images and programs from different types of media, since few people can actually travel the world extensively. I think we do not do enough to promote ourselves in a positive light...some would say we do not do enough to promote ourselves period..If you do not think any ignorance stems from this, well OK...but that is an opinion of mine that I think has some merit

Ah right Filho,yuh eh miss de point,de topic change somewhat and yuh answer accordingly ,my bad ..respect !!
But to me de predominant images coming out of de region are more postitve things than the examples you choose.How cud you over look what we do to promote ourselves in a positive way ? what about our universities that already attract thousands to Jamaica, Barbados and TnT ? How cud you over look the fact that year after year thousands and thousands flock TnT for carnival while the rest of the region is ah hot vacation destination and many caribbean countries have  hosted some of the best musicans talents ,events in the world,not to mention we have some of de best musicans in de world.Granted these aren't guarantees that ppl all over de world wud know about us but these are some of the things we do to  continue to 'promote ourselves in a positive light' how cud you choose 'post cards' depicting how laid back and doh care we are in we own back yard off gyard bamsee outside, over the many other positives the region has to offer? and as much as you might think those 'post cards' sends and wrong message is only the ignorant ones wud choose to believe daiz how backward we still is.Dem post cards beautiful.  

p.s I'm not saying you are ignorant I just doh agree wid de examples yuh give .
and me eh have no axe tuh grind meh bredda ....cool !!
Post by: berris on July 15, 2006, 08:11:31 PM

next time puh ah  :rotfl: .....,yuh nearly ketch meh dread,Filho wudda say yuh see wha ah mean  :rotfl:
Post by: E-man on July 15, 2006, 08:37:44 PM
I agree with your points except I believe as a proportion americans are more ignorant about the outside world.
I have lived in a few countries and travelled a hell of a lot and have found americans to be the most ignorant about matters and places outside their country (in fact their state)
Now of course this is a personal opinion and I could just be unlucky and manged to meet the dumbest of the dumb in my travels in America. But without doubt the dumbest questions I have been asked is in America.

In the internet age I would hope this will change more and more, but consider being stuck in the midwest somewhere in Iowa, Kansas, Nebraska or someplace - you're hundreds of miles away from any metropolitan city. Over a thousand miles to any other country and then only Canada or Mexico or the Caribbean - add another few thousand to get most other places.

Now take Germany where you're surrounded by 9 other countries that are less than a day's drive or train ride and you're going to interact with a lot more foreigners.

I'm going to have to chalk up some of the added ignorance to purely geographical considerations.

Think about those distances - and consider there are people in Trini (POS) who never go "south" cause it too far...
Post by: Filho on July 16, 2006, 12:20:11 PM

next time puh ah  :rotfl: .....,yuh nearly ketch meh dread,Filho wudda say yuh see wha ah mean  :rotfl:

ent?  ;D :beermug:
Post by: weary1969 on July 16, 2006, 09:24:00 PM
I see people hear cutting the journalist some slack. Would they do the same thing to a Dr. who make a bad diagnosis? I doubt it? It is the same thing as a professional you are suppose to be competent. Yes people make mistakes but I my late mother said make a beef next. If it was an ocassional thing but these jokers ar Fox eh know nuthin.