General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Bitter on January 20, 2009, 09:25:08 AM

Title: Obama Inauguration
Post by: Bitter on January 20, 2009, 09:25:08 AM
(http://www.alexrossart.com/news/2008/obama_full.jpg)
Title: Re: Obama Inauguration
Post by: dinho on January 20, 2009, 09:28:37 AM
any streaming links?
Post by: Bitter on January 20, 2009, 09:29:13 AM
With alllllll them people out there in the cold, I think they should at least have Machel or Iwer to warm up the crowd.
Post by: Dutty on January 20, 2009, 09:31:45 AM
ah fine it doh have enough media coverage of dis ting, yuh could hardly find any information about what goin on dong dey in the last couple days
Post by: Bitter on January 20, 2009, 09:33:27 AM
You should be able to see it on all the major networks
Audio on NPR.org, Video on CNN, NBC, ABC, Fox(!)

CNN:
http://www.cnn.com/video/fb/facebook.html?stream=stream1

CSPAN:
http://www.c-span.org/Watch/C-SPAN_wm.aspx

MSNBC:
http://www.nbc.com/news/watch-the-inauguration-live-online/

NPR Audio:
http://www.npr.org/?pageDepth=2
(click the 24-hour Program Stream link at the top of the page)
Post by: Bitter on January 20, 2009, 09:33:59 AM
ah fine it doh have enough media coverage of dis ting, yuh could hardly find any information about what goin on dong dey in the last couple days

the reptilians trying to keep it quiet.
Post by: Bitter on January 20, 2009, 10:01:36 AM
(http://media.washingtonpost.com/wp-srv/photo/homepage/hp1-20-09aa.jpg)

(http://media.washingtonpost.com/wp-srv/photo/homepage/hp1-20-09bb.jpg)
Post by: Bitter on January 20, 2009, 10:13:47 AM
I looking hard, but I cyah see Jack and Panday yet.
Post by: Andre on January 20, 2009, 10:15:38 AM
tuskeegee airmen in the house - http://news.yahoo.com/nphotos/Tuskegee-Airmen-invited-inauguration/ss/events/us/011709inaugtuskegee#photoViewer=/090116/480/c9d864e30df74edc81e48e4ae655683a

internet here on work real slow.

i know everybody streaming video.

anyhow, all the best to obama. media love him today. one slip up tomorrow & they will be on him worse than bush.
Post by: Bitter on January 20, 2009, 10:28:48 AM
Bill Clinton looking like he ready to fete, Hillary looking like, "damn, that should have been me!"
Post by: Bitter on January 20, 2009, 10:30:02 AM
Laura Bush in this light and at the angles they showing looking like the Joker. Where she get that hooker lipstick from?
Post by: Bitter on January 20, 2009, 10:33:44 AM
Dubya looking unsure of himself. He usually have that swagger and smirk.
I guess the title of Worst President Ever would weigh on you.
Post by: Bitter on January 20, 2009, 10:40:22 AM
Joe Biden looking like "I'm Joe Biden B****"

The Reptilian looking serious. "Bow before me earthlings!"
Post by: Bitter on January 20, 2009, 10:56:13 AM
Rick Warren didn't say anything controversial.

Sang it Aretha!
Post by: Bitter on January 20, 2009, 11:06:40 AM
Come nah Barack! How yuh go mess up the oath?
Post by: Bakes on January 20, 2009, 11:20:01 AM

I hope you having ah Arrow moment yes...  b/c from de inauguration concert on HBO up to de round-de-clock coverage on CNN all weekend... it's almost been over-saturation.
Post by: Bitter on January 20, 2009, 11:23:31 AM
It really need a sarcasm emoticon.
Post by: rotatopoti3 on January 20, 2009, 11:32:34 AM

He aint mess up d speech though
Post by: pecan on January 20, 2009, 12:06:33 PM

dais because yuh doh read the National Post.  They had a minute by minute agenda of events today on page 3 (in colour to boot).
Post by: pecan on January 20, 2009, 12:10:07 PM
WASHINGTON - Text of President Barack Obama's inaugural address on Tuesday, as prepared for delivery and released by the Presidential Inaugural Committee.

OBAMA: My fellow citizens:

I stand here today humbled by the task before us, grateful for the trust you have bestowed, mindful of the sacrifices borne by our ancestors. I thank President Bush for his service to our nation, as well as the generosity and cooperation he has shown throughout this transition.

Forty-four Americans have now taken the presidential oath. The words have been spoken during rising tides of prosperity and the still waters of peace. Yet, every so often the oath is taken amidst gathering clouds and raging storms. At these moments, America has carried on not simply because of the skill or vision of those in high office, but because we the people have remained faithful to the ideals of our forebears, and true to our founding documents.

So it has been. So it must be with this generation of Americans.

That we are in the midst of crisis is now well understood. Our nation is at war, against a far-reaching network of violence and hatred. Our economy is badly weakened, a consequence of greed and irresponsibility on the part of some, but also our collective failure to make hard choices and prepare the nation for a new age. Homes have been lost; jobs shed; businesses shuttered. Our health care is too costly; our schools fail too many; and each day brings further evidence that the ways we use energy strengthen our adversaries and threaten our planet.

These are the indicators of crisis, subject to data and statistics. Less measurable but no less profound is a sapping of confidence across our land — a nagging fear that America's decline is inevitable, and that the next generation must lower its sights.

Today I say to you that the challenges we face are real. They are serious and they are many. They will not be met easily or in a short span of time. But know this, America — they will be met.

On this day, we gather because we have chosen hope over fear, unity of purpose over conflict and discord.

On this day, we come to proclaim an end to the petty grievances and false promises, the recriminations and worn out dogmas, that for far too long have strangled our politics.

We remain a young nation, but in the words of scripture, the time has come to set aside childish things. The time has come to reaffirm our enduring spirit; to choose our better history; to carry forward that precious gift, that noble idea, passed on from generation to generation: the God-given promise that all are equal, all are free and all deserve a chance to pursue their full measure of happiness.

In reaffirming the greatness of our nation, we understand that greatness is never a given. It must be earned. Our journey has never been one of shortcuts or settling for less. It has not been the path for the faint-hearted — for those who prefer leisure over work, or seek only the pleasures of riches and fame. Rather, it has been the risk-takers, the doers, the makers of things — some celebrated but more often men and women obscure in their labor, who have carried us up the long, rugged path towards prosperity and freedom.

For us, they packed up their few worldly possessions and traveled across oceans in search of a new life.

For us, they toiled in sweatshops and settled the West; endured the lash of the whip and plowed the hard earth.

For us, they fought and died, in places like Concord and Gettysburg; Normandy and Khe Sahn.

Time and again these men and women struggled and sacrificed and worked till their hands were raw so that we might live a better life. They saw America as bigger than the sum of our individual ambitions; greater than all the differences of birth or wealth or faction.

This is the journey we continue today. We remain the most prosperous, powerful nation on Earth. Our workers are no less productive than when this crisis began. Our minds are no less inventive, our goods and services no less needed than they were last week or last month or last year. Our capacity remains undiminished. But our time of standing pat, of protecting narrow interests and putting off unpleasant decisions — that time has surely passed. Starting today, we must pick ourselves up, dust ourselves off, and begin again the work of remaking America.

For everywhere we look, there is work to be done. The state of the economy calls for action, bold and swift, and we will act — not only to create new jobs, but to lay a new foundation for growth. We will build the roads and bridges, the electric grids and digital lines that feed our commerce and bind us together. We will restore science to its rightful place, and wield technology's wonders to raise health care's quality and lower its cost. We will harness the sun and the winds and the soil to fuel our cars and run our factories. And we will transform our schools and colleges and universities to meet the demands of a new age. All this we can do. And all this we will do.

Now, there are some who question the scale of our ambitions — who suggest that our system cannot tolerate too many big plans. Their memories are short. For they have forgotten what this country has already done; what free men and women can achieve when imagination is joined to common purpose, and necessity to courage.

What the cynics fail to understand is that the ground has shifted beneath them — that the stale political arguments that have consumed us for so long no longer apply. The question we ask today is not whether our government is too big or too small, but whether it works — whether it helps families find jobs at a decent wage, care they can afford, a retirement that is dignified. Where the answer is yes, we intend to move forward. Where the answer is no, programs will end. And those of us who manage the public's dollars will be held to account — to spend wisely, reform bad habits, and do our business in the light of day — because only then can we restore the vital trust between a people and their government.

Nor is the question before us whether the market is a force for good or ill. Its power to generate wealth and expand freedom is unmatched, but this crisis has reminded us that without a watchful eye, the market can spin out of control — and that a nation cannot prosper long when it favors only the prosperous. The success of our economy has always depended not just on the size of our gross domestic product, but on the reach of our prosperity; on our ability to extend opportunity to every willing heart — not out of charity, but because it is the surest route to our common good.

As for our common defense, we reject as false the choice between our safety and our ideals. Our founding fathers, faced with perils we can scarcely imagine, drafted a charter to assure the rule of law and the rights of man, a charter expanded by the blood of generations. Those ideals still light the world, and we will not give them up for expedience's sake. And so to all other peoples and governments who are watching today, from the grandest capitals to the small village where my father was born: know that America is a friend of each nation and every man, woman, and child who seeks a future of peace and dignity, and that we are ready to lead once more.

Recall that earlier generations faced down fascism and communism not just with missiles and tanks, but with sturdy alliances and enduring convictions. They understood that our power alone cannot protect us, nor does it entitle us to do as we please. Instead, they knew that our power grows through its prudent use; our security emanates from the justness of our cause, the force of our example, the tempering qualities of humility and restraint.

We are the keepers of this legacy. Guided by these principles once more, we can meet those new threats that demand even greater effort — even greater cooperation and understanding between nations. We will begin to responsibly leave Iraq to its people, and forge a hard-earned peace in Afghanistan. With old friends and former foes, we will work tirelessly to lessen the nuclear threat, and roll back the specter of a warming planet. We will not apologize for our way of life, nor will we waver in its defense, and for those who seek to advance their aims by inducing terror and slaughtering innocents, we say to you now that our spirit is stronger and cannot be broken; you cannot outlast us, and we will defeat you.

For we know that our patchwork heritage is a strength, not a weakness. We are a nation of Christians and Muslims, Jews and Hindus — and non-believers. We are shaped by every language and culture, drawn from every end of this Earth; and because we have tasted the bitter swill of civil war and segregation, and emerged from that dark chapter stronger and more united, we cannot help but believe that the old hatreds shall someday pass; that the lines of tribe shall soon dissolve; that as the world grows smaller, our common humanity shall reveal itself; and that America must play its role in ushering in a new era of peace.

To the Muslim world, we seek a new way forward, based on mutual interest and mutual respect. To those leaders around the globe who seek to sow conflict, or blame their society's ills on the West — know that your people will judge you on what you can build, not what you destroy. To those who cling to power through corruption and deceit and the silencing of dissent, know that you are on the wrong side of history; but that we will extend a hand if you are willing to unclench your fist.

To the people of poor nations, we pledge to work alongside you to make your farms flourish and let clean waters flow; to nourish starved bodies and feed hungry minds. And to those nations like ours that enjoy relative plenty, we say we can no longer afford indifference to suffering outside our borders; nor can we consume the world's resources without regard to effect. For the world has changed, and we must change with it.

As we consider the road that unfolds before us, we remember with humble gratitude those brave Americans who, at this very hour, patrol far-off deserts and distant mountains. They have something to tell us today, just as the fallen heroes who lie in Arlington whisper through the ages. We honor them not only because they are guardians of our liberty, but because they embody the spirit of service; a willingness to find meaning in something greater than themselves. And yet, at this moment — a moment that will define a generation — it is precisely this spirit that must inhabit us all.

For as much as government can do and must do, it is ultimately the faith and determination of the American people upon which this nation relies. It is the kindness to take in a stranger when the levees break, the selflessness of workers who would rather cut their hours than see a friend lose their job which sees us through our darkest hours. It is the firefighter's courage to storm a stairway filled with smoke, but also a parent's willingness to nurture a child, that finally decides our fate.

Our challenges may be new. The instruments with which we meet them may be new. But those values upon which our success depends — hard work and honesty, courage and fair play, tolerance and curiosity, loyalty and patriotism — these things are old. These things are true. They have been the quiet force of progress throughout our history. What is demanded then is a return to these truths. What is required of us now is a new era of responsibility — a recognition, on the part of every American, that we have duties to ourselves, our nation, and the world, duties that we do not grudgingly accept but rather seize gladly, firm in the knowledge that there is nothing so satisfying to the spirit, so defining of our character, than giving our all to a difficult task.

This is the price and the promise of citizenship.

This is the source of our confidence — the knowledge that God calls on us to shape an uncertain destiny.

This is the meaning of our liberty and our creed — why men and women and children of every race and every faith can join in celebration across this magnificent mall, and why a man whose father less than sixty years ago might not have been served at a local restaurant can now stand before you to take a most sacred oath.

So let us mark this day with remembrance, of who we are and how far we have traveled. In the year of America's birth, in the coldest of months, a small band of patriots huddled by dying campfires on the shores of an icy river. The capital was abandoned. The enemy was advancing. The snow was stained with blood. At a moment when the outcome of our revolution was most in doubt, the father of our nation ordered these words be read to the people:

"Let it be told to the future world ... that in the depth of winter, when nothing but hope and virtue could survive...that the city and the country, alarmed at one common danger, came forth to meet (it)."

America, in the face of our common dangers, in this winter of our hardship, let us remember these timeless words. With hope and virtue, let us brave once more the icy currents, and endure what storms may come. Let it be said by our children's children that when we were tested we refused to let this journey end, that we did not turn back nor did we falter; and with eyes fixed on the horizon and God's grace upon us, we carried forth that great gift of freedom and delivered it safely to future generations. - AP
Post by: Bakes on January 20, 2009, 12:18:23 PM

He ent mess up... is Roberts who mess up giving it, Obama was trying tuh recover.

Bitter, I am never one to assume... which is why ah started wid de disclaimer.

-----------

Pecan... I dunno, maybe is juss me but de speech kinda fell flat to me.
Post by: pecan on January 20, 2009, 12:20:25 PM

Look it here.  Look at Michelle mischievous smile.  He will hear about that tonight

http://www.youtube.com/v/274_VdeckAU
Post by: dinho on January 20, 2009, 12:21:50 PM

Look it here

http://www.youtube.com/v/274_VdeckAU

yeah but apparently is the 'oath reader' who set him up.
Post by: pecan on January 20, 2009, 12:24:57 PM

Congrats to the USA on their new President.  I feel that he will be good for the US and the world even though he has huge obstacles ahead of him.  :beermug:
Post by: Bitter on January 20, 2009, 12:53:33 PM
Oath:
Each president recites the following oath, in accordance with Article II, Section I of the U.S. Constitution:

"I do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will faithfully execute the office of President of the United States; and will to the best of my ability, preserve, protect and defend the Constitution of the United States."

Roberts fumble that for real. First he says:
...that I will execute the office of President to the United States faithfully

and then recover with

faithfully the office of President of the United States

Watch it will have people who will say he is not really President b/c he eh say the oath properly.

also note "So help me God" isn't in the oath either.
http://memory.loc.gov/service/rbc/bdsdcc/c0802/0002.jpg
Post by: E-man on January 20, 2009, 12:56:44 PM

Anyone catch the line "a pair of wooden spoons on an oil drum"  ;D
Post by: capodetutticapi on January 20, 2009, 12:58:24 PM
me eh black,me eh american and i get choke up.good day fuh america.
Post by: Observer on January 20, 2009, 01:02:00 PM

Nah CNN expert on dem things say Roberts miss control the pass, but number 44 try to recover it as he read the situation  ;D
Post by: Bitter on January 20, 2009, 01:04:42 PM
Look trouble already:

http://voices.washingtonpost.com/inauguration-watch/2009/01/people_with_tickets_being_turn.html?hpid=topnews

People With Purple, Silver Tickets Turned Away

Even ticket holders had trouble getting into the ceremony today. People with purple and silver tickets in particular reported being shut out of their designated locations.

At 1:05 pm Capitol Police chief Phillip Morse reversed an earlier comment that all tickets were honored, saying that some did not get in especially people with purple tickets.

"We had to cut it off because of overcrowding" he said of the checkpoint. "There was a surge at the end" and they feared people would get hurt.

Despite widespread reports that tickets were not being honored, at 11:50 a.m. Morse said that everyone with a ticket made it through the checkpoints. Morse said an extra checkpoint was opened up last-minute at 3rd street to handle the overflow of purple ticket holders and other ticket holders who faced long lines. Some wound up in an area that wasn't their assigned area, he said.

"There's nobody that didn't get to see the inauguration today who had a ticket," he had said.

Several reader e-mails expressed anger at Morse's earlier comments:

1:28 p.m.: I was a purple ticketholder and was denied entry into the Inauguration. Many other purple ticketholders were also denied entry. I got in line at 8:00 a.m. and am furious with Capitol Police.

1:27 p.m.: Police Chief’s view that all with tix got in to see inauguration is not accurate. My wife and I had purple tix, stood in line within a block or so of purple gates for 5 hours, and left after Obama was sworn in.

Incoming Tweets:

12:21 p.m.: Purple ticket holders are being directed to an overflow check-in at 3rd Street and Constitution Avenue.

9:48 a.m.: Stuck in a purple ticket line in a tunnel for over two hours. Is the gate still open?

Incoming SMS Alerts:

10:20 a.m.: No movement at all for people with tix at Silver gate

10:08 a.m.: Silver gate line stretches 11 blocks

As it became clearer that thousands of people stuck outside the security barriers would miss seeing the inauguration and the parade, excitement changed to frustration and anger with security organzers.

"This is crazy," said Tonita Davis, 42, of Dayton, Oh. She and her family arrived downtown at 6 a.m., but left D and 7th around 11:35 a.m. They had tickets, but said those were of no use. "It's quite a disappointment."

Masses of people are waving their silver invitations in the air but the line is moving slowly as of 11:30 a.m. The silver line screening point is near Independence Avenue SW and 3rd Street SW.

Oakland native Marcus Alexis says, "it is irresponsible to issue all of these tickets and not let the people in."

Those holding tickets for the purple section of the Capitol grounds are also having a hard time getting in for the swearing-in.

Jocelyn and Herbert Thomas of Orlando, Fla. got two standing purple tickets, but the two have been in line and First and Louisiana streets for three hours.

"We give up. How many purple tickets did they issue?" Jocelyn Thomas said. "This was impossible."

D.C. documentary filmmaker Aviva Kempner, a purple ticket holder, also gave up hope at about 10:15 a.m.

"There's absolutely no way we're all getting in," she said. Her voice quavered and she broke down on the phone, "I was on this (the campaign) for a year and a half, and I'm really upset. I don't want to be in a line when they're praying and when he's being sworn in so I'm going to go try to watch it somewhere."

-- Keith Alexander, Nikita Stewart Miranda Spivack, Hamil Harris and Mary Beth Sheridan
Post by: E-man on January 20, 2009, 01:14:12 PM
Look trouble already:

Even ticket holders had trouble getting into the ceremony today. People with purple and silver tickets in particular reported being shut out of their designated locations.

At 1:05 pm Capitol Police chief Phillip Morse reversed an earlier comment that all tickets were honored, saying that some did not get in especially people with purple tickets.

"We had to cut it off because of overcrowding" he said of the checkpoint. "There was a surge at the end" and they feared people would get hurt.

Is Jack who print up some extra tickets for he and Ramesh and sold a 'few' more on the side for a profit.
Post by: 100% Barataria on January 20, 2009, 01:20:59 PM

How yuh mean, ah was like, niceness
Post by: asylumseeker on January 20, 2009, 01:30:53 PM

Ah ketch some nice coverage on CBC ...
Post by: asylumseeker on January 20, 2009, 01:32:36 PM
Look trouble already:

Is Jack who print up some extra tickets for he and Ramesh and sold a 'few' more on the side for a profit.

Ah was waiting fuh dis :) ... dey shouldn't fret ... is a $1.50 dey pay fuh dem purple ones :devil:
Post by: asylumseeker on January 20, 2009, 01:36:08 PM
Oath:
Each president recites the following oath, in accordance with Article II, Section I of the U.S. Constitution:

"I do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will faithfully execute the office of President of the United States; and will to the best of my ability, preserve, protect and defend the Constitution of the United States."

and then recover with

Watch it will have people who will say he is not really President b/c he eh say the oath properly.

Ah sus that right off ... John Roberts will be the subject of all sort of conspiracy ... he's a pretty smart fella so yuh done know ... allyuh ketch he preamble to the oath?
Post by: Brownsugar on January 20, 2009, 01:46:11 PM
Oath:

and then recover with

Steups....damn Chief Justice...I read earlier today that Barack voted against putting him in the Supreme Court when he was nominated....he must be figure "is pay back time!"

Biden said so help me God at the end of his oath....ah didn't realise that Obama didn't say it....but he said Hussein....oh lord dem extreme right wingers must be hanging de self all now...... ::)
Post by: Brownsugar on January 20, 2009, 01:47:19 PM

How yuh mean, ah was like, niceness

Yeeaahhhh ah like it when she said that.... :beermug: :)
Post by: Bitter on January 20, 2009, 01:55:00 PM
Oath:

and then recover with

Steups....damn Chief Justice...I read earlier today that Barack voted against putting him in the Supreme Court when he was nominated....he must be figure "is pay back time!"

Biden said so help me God at the end of his oath....ah didn't realise that Obama didn't say it....but he said Hussein....oh lord dem extreme right wingers must be hanging de self all now...... ::)

Nah, I confuse you there. Obama did say "so help me God." What I was saying was that the Oath itself does not include the words "so help me God."
Post by: E-man on January 20, 2009, 02:28:35 PM
"WASHINGTON (Reuters) - Ailing Senator Edward Kennedy collapsed at an inaugural lunch for Democratic President Barack Obama on Tuesday and was evacuated by medical staff, apparently suffering from convulsions, a congressional aide said."

Robert Byrd also ...
Post by: WestCoast on January 20, 2009, 02:45:00 PM
shit I just woke up
missed it
goin on CNN now fa now
WAIT....no Pope Mobile kinda setup for the Plebs to see him?
as I write this, he and Michelle stepped out of the Limo
Congrats Mr. Obama
all I ask is that you do BETTER than Baby Bush and his peeps

It really need a sarcasm emoticon.

Congrats to the USA on their new President.  I feel that he will be good for the US and the world even though he has huge obstacles ahead of him.  :beermug:
his first visit is to Can Ah Dah  ;D

Nah CNN expert on dem things say Roberts miss control the pass, but number 44 try to recover it as he read the situation  ;D
good one
Post by: Bakes on January 20, 2009, 02:45:22 PM
Look trouble already:

http://voices.washingtonpost.com/inauguration-watch/2009/01/people_with_tickets_being_turn.html?hpid=topnews

D.C. documentary filmmaker Aviva Kempner, a purple ticket holder, also gave up hope at about 10:15 a.m.

"There's absolutely no way we're all getting in," she said. Her voice quavered and she broke down on the phone, "I was on this (the campaign) for a year and a half, and I'm really upset. I don't want to be in a line when they're praying and when he's being sworn in so I'm going to go try to watch it somewhere."

-- Keith Alexander, Nikita Stewart Miranda Spivack, Hamil Harris and Mary Beth Sheridan

I feel for Aviva... don't know her personally but dat gyul been an advocate for change forever... and i know she was crucial to Obama's efforts in the DC Metro area.  Hard luck dey luv.

...on another note, US Capitol Police is some jackasses... speaking from personal experience.
Post by: Bakes on January 20, 2009, 02:49:13 PM
Ah sus that right off ... John Roberts will be the subject of all sort of conspiracy ... he's a pretty smart fella so yuh done know ... allyuh ketch he preamble to the oath?

Lol@ "preamble"...yeah I tort it was ah li'l odd, but doh see anything sinister or significant about it really.  Made for a nice bookend with the "Mr. President" at the end.

-----------

E-man, Byrd as well??  I tort they was confused as to which of them it was... didn't know it was both.

Get better soon gentlemen.
Post by: E-man on January 20, 2009, 03:06:46 PM

Lol@ "preamble"...yeah I tort it was ah li'l odd, but doh see anything sinister or significant about it really.  Made for a nice bookend with the "Mr. President" at the end.

-----------

E-man, Byrd as well??  I tort they was confused as to which of them it was... didn't know it was both.

Get better soon gentlemen.

*UPDATE 2* Senator Byrd's spokeman has announced that contrary to reports the Senator was not sick and did not require medical attention and was simply disturbed by  Ted Kennedy's illness and had to leave.
Post by: Brownsugar on January 20, 2009, 04:15:53 PM
Nah, I confuse you there. Obama did say "so help me God." What I was saying was that the Oath itself does not include the words "so help me God."

oh ho.....I know there was some talk about the phrase before as to whether or not he would say it...I cyar see why he wouldn't...I feel Americans does just look for thing to talk bout yes....how much you want to bet a topic of hot discussion is what the 2 girls were wearing.... ::)
Post by: D.H.W on January 20, 2009, 05:53:55 PM
(http://cache2.asset-cache.net/xc/84366904.jpg?v=1&c=NewsMaker&k=2&d=17A4AD9FDB9CF19346E4C5E9CA073261150F7FAC7833D4FE284831B75F48EF45)

::)
Post by: D.H.W on January 20, 2009, 06:14:15 PM
All hail the chief :notworthy:

(http://cache1.asset-cache.net/xc/84379165.jpg?v=1&c=NewsMaker&k=2&d=17A4AD9FDB9CF19346E4C5E9CA07326165D776812F56EB70284831B75F48EF45)

(http://cache2.asset-cache.net/xc/84378888.jpg?v=1&c=NewsMaker&k=2&d=17A4AD9FDB9CF19346E4C5E9CA0732618E8E9C2810012DC0284831B75F48EF45)

(http://www.blogcdn.com/www.engadget.com/media/2009/01/obamasportrait.jpg)

You're now gazing at President Barack Obama's just-released official portrait -- the first of a U.S. president ever taken with a digital camera. That means we can peek at the EXIF data -- this fine specimen of portraiture was snapped with a Canon EOS 5D Mark II on January 13th, 2009 at 5:38 pm with no flash, using a 105mm lens stopped to f/10 at a 1/125 exposure, with an ISO of 100 by newly crowned official White House photographer Pete Souza. Nice work, Souza -- but we think it could use a few lens flares.

http://www.engadget.com/2009/01/14/president-obamas-official-portrait-the-first-ever-taken-with-a/
Post by: WestCoast on January 20, 2009, 06:17:06 PM
Nice Photo there Mr President
very nice Camera (http://www.engadget.com/2008/09/17/21-1-megapixel-canon-eos-5d-mark-ii-with-full-frame-hd-video-ann/)

and here is good article from Newsweek

Removing the Stain
Lincoln promised a 'new birth of freedom.' With his hand on Lincoln's Bible, Obama fulfills that pledge.

James M. McPherson
NEWSWEEK
From the magazine issue dated Jan 21, 2009
In November 1863 president Abraham Lincoln delivered a brief address at the dedication of the soldiers' cemetery in Gettysburg. The Union dead buried there had given the "last full measure of devotion" in the bloodiest battle of a "great civil war" that would determine whether the nation founded four score and seven years earlier would "long endure" or "perish from the earth." Lincoln urged the audience—which has included millions of Americans who have read these words since 1863—to "highly resolve" that the United States "shall have a new birth of freedom." Barack Obama chose a new birth of freedom as the theme for his Inaugural Address. He took the oath of office with his hand on the same Bible Lincoln used for that purpose in 1861.

Lincoln did not define "a new birth of freedom" at Gettysburg, but his contemporaries knew what he meant. The nation had been founded on a charter of freedom which declared that "all men are created equal" and "endowed by their Creator" with the unalienable right of liberty. Yet the man who wrote these words owned many slaves. African-Americans were enslaved in all 13 states that proclaimed their freedom from British rule in 1776. "How is it that we hear the loudest yelps for liberty among the drivers of negroes?" asked the English littérateur Samuel Johnson in 1775. It was a question that embarrassed the Founding Fathers and continued to plague Americans who liked to boast of their republic as a "beacon of liberty" to the oppressed peoples of other lands. Slavery soon disappeared from the states north of the Mason-Dixon line and was prohibited north of the Ohio River by the Northwest Ordinance. But the institution grew stronger than ever in the states south of these boundaries. By the mid-19th century the United States was the largest slaveholding country in the world. "The monstrous injustice of slavery," said Lincoln in 1854, "deprives our republican example of its just influence in the world—enables the enemies of free institutions, with plausibility, to taunt us as hypocrites."

A growing number of Americans agreed with Lincoln. They decried not only the institution of bondage but also the "slave power" that had dominated the national government since 1789. During two thirds of those years a slaveholder had been president of the United States. Two thirds of the Speakers of the House and presidents pro tem of the Senate, as well as 20 of the 35 justices of the Supreme Court, had been from slave states. The slave power's lock on the federal government was broken by Lincoln's election in 1860 with no electoral votes from any of the 15 slave states. He won on a platform pledging restriction of the future expansion of slavery. Such restriction, Lincoln had said in his "House Divided" speech two years earlier, would place slavery "in the course of ultimate extinction." With Lincoln's victory in 1860, declared Charles Francis Adams (the son and grandson of two previous Northern presidents), "the great revolution has actually taken place ... The country has once and for all thrown off the domination of the Slaveholders."

Precisely. The slaveholders thought the same. That is why they launched a counterrevolution of Confederate independence to protect slavery from the new antislavery majority that had elected Lincoln. This pro-slavery counterrevolution ironically sealed the fate of bondage. When Confederate guns opened fire on Fort Sumter six weeks after Lincoln's inauguration, they set in motion a war that ended four years later with the extinction of slavery as well as of the Confederacy. The Civil War did not begin as a war to abolish slavery. Quite the contrary, the North's initial war aim was to "restore the Union"—a Union in which nearly half of the states were slave states. As late as August 1862—16 months into the war—Lincoln declared that "my paramount object in this struggle is to save the Union, and is not either to save or destroy slavery. If I could save the Union without freeing any slave I would do it, and if I could save it by freeing all the slaves I would do it; and if I could save it by freeing some and leaving others alone I would also do that." Often misinterpreted, (cont.) Lincoln's purpose in this declaration was to prepare public opinion for the proclamation of emancipation he had already decided to issue at the right time. He had concluded that to win a war against an enemy fighting for and sustained by slavery, the North must strike against slavery. "Without slavery the rebellion could never have existed," said Lincoln in 1862. "Without slavery it could not continue ... We [want] the army to strike more vigorous blows. The administration must set an example and strike at the heart of the rebellion."

As commander in chief, Lincoln had the authority to seize enemy property being used to wage war against the United States. Slaves were such property, for their labor sustained the Confederate economy and the logistics of Confederate armies. On Jan. 1, 1863, Lincoln invoked this authority to proclaim freedom for slaves in states and parts of states at war with the United States. To make good on this proclamation, of course, the North would have to win the war. To help Union armies do so, Lincoln included in the Emancipation Proclamation a provision for recruiting freed slaves into the armed forces. During the next two years some 200,000 black soldiers and sailors—most of them former slaves—fought for the Union and freedom. By August 1863 these fighting men had so far proved their value that Lincoln publicly praised them and contrasted them with Copperhead Democrats who opposed the war. When the conflict was won, said Lincoln, "there will be some black men who can remember that, with silent tongue, and clenched teeth, and steady eye, and well-poised bayonet, they have helped mankind on to this great consummation; while, I fear, there will be some white ones, unable to forget that, with malignant heart, and deceitful speech, they have strove to hinder it." A year later, with more than 100,000 black men under arms, Lincoln proclaimed their contribution essential to victory. Without these soldiers, he said, "we can not much longer maintain the contest ... Abandon all the posts now possessed by black men ... & we would be compelled to abandon the war." The fighting of black troops helped to bring the new birth of freedom consummated by Union victory in 1865. It also persuaded Lincoln to take the first step toward equal civil and political rights for freed slaves.

In March 1864 he wrote the new governor of the reconstructed part of Louisiana to urge that literate African-Americans and black soldiers be enfranchised. "They would probably help, in some trying time to come, to keep the jewel of liberty within the family of freedom." Thirteen months later, on April 11, 1865, Lincoln spoke to a crowd on the White House lawn that had come to celebrate the surrender of Robert E. Lee's army at Appomattox. It was time to look to the future, said the president, a future in which the ex-Confederate states would return to the Union on the basis of this enfranchisement of many African-Americans. One of the listeners in the crowd turned to his companion. "That means n––––r citizenship," snarled John Wilkes Booth. "Now, by God, I'll put him through. That is the last speech he will ever make." Three days later Booth carried out his ugly threat. The nation was deprived of Lincoln's leadership during the trying years of Reconstruction.

The 14th and 15th Amendments to the Constitution granted equal civil and political rights to AfricanAmericans—on paper. For a few years these pledges were fitfully fulfilled on the ground as well. But the nation backslid from this commitment in the 1870s. The freed slaves and their descendants fell into the mire of segregation, repression and exploitation. The Pledge of Allegiance to the flag, written in 1892 to celebrate the triumph of American nationalism in the Civil War, spoke of one nation, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all. An indivisible nation and liberty were realities in the 1890s. But justice for all was not. The new birth of freedom was incomplete. Three generations later the civil-rights movement put America on course again toward that new birth—toward justice for all. The election of Barack Obama gives hope for completion of the course. When he took the presidential oath with his hand on the Lincoln Bible, the nation had come a long way toward fulfilling the promise made at Gettysburg a century and a half ago.

McPherson is the author of "Abraham Lincoln," "Tried by War: Abraham Lincoln as Commander in Chief" and "Battle Cry of Freedom," which won the 1989 Pulitzer Prize.

Editor's Note:
This story is from a special commemorative issue of Newsweek on the occasion of Barack Obama's inauguration. On sale Jan. 21, you can order it here.

URL: http://www.newsweek.com/id/180486© 2009

Beyond Words Video (http://www.newsweek.com/id/40211#?l=8324691001&t=8390300001)
Post by: WestCoast on January 20, 2009, 06:38:16 PM
Is true that the "Dixie Chicks" are the Headliners tonight for the "Inauguration Ball" :devil:
Post by: D.H.W on January 20, 2009, 06:54:48 PM
President Barack Obama is sworn in as the President of the United States on the steps of the Capitol in Washington D.C., on Jan. 20, 2009. (John Makely / msnbc.com, Getty Images, Reuters and AP)

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/28661923

360 degree view check it out
Post by: capodetutticapi on January 20, 2009, 07:10:38 PM
Is true that the "Dixie Chicks" are the Headliners tonight for the "Inauguration Ball" :devil:
Post by: D.H.W on January 20, 2009, 07:26:18 PM
(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/02KB4437DVc0m/610x.jpg)

Petty Officer 2nd Class Kim Williams displays newly-printed official photos of President Barack Obama she will distribute around her base, on the day Obama was sworn-in as the 44th President of the United States, at the U.S. Naval Base, in Guantanamo Bay, Cuba, Tuesday, Jan. 20, 2009.

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/01kh42OcrK3iu/610x.jpg)

(http://cache.daylife.com/imageserve/0bfY5XW9jy6Ks/610x.jpg)
Post by: capodetutticapi on January 20, 2009, 07:49:46 PM
obama's salary is now 400k ah year.
Post by: TriniCana on January 20, 2009, 07:54:52 PM
Is dey bump shake ya batty dance I see Obama put down dere juss now ???

Post by: D.H.W on January 20, 2009, 08:07:27 PM

:rotfl: :rotfl:, it better than bush dance doh  :devil:

http://www.youtube.com/v/MygbSxnx_bM

http://www.youtube.com/v/EvxKZRf8k2k

Post by: asylumseeker on January 20, 2009, 08:10:56 PM

Ah miss dat. He bettah go home and fight some zzzzzzz's ... jess now is 3 o'clock in de mornin and Hillary go be rising fuh she first prank call ;) ... iz not like Bill go be home dat time ah mornin  ::) ... I swear I almost see him beg one a dem Bush twins fuh ...
Post by: Queen Macoomeh on January 20, 2009, 08:17:21 PM
pardon an excuse me, ah now catching up with a few things. Anyone has the link to Ms. Franklin's performance?
Post by: STEUPS!! on January 20, 2009, 08:22:15 PM

is dat self he was doin. muh boy lackin in d rhythm department tho.  :D
Post by: D.H.W on January 20, 2009, 08:23:22 PM

nah he could dance a bit, but he off 2nite must be d tiredness lol  :D
Post by: TriniCana on January 20, 2009, 08:34:31 PM
Allyuh really realize how much people was in Washington today ?
Estimated 2 million - which is Trinidad and Tobago twice.

Was there any other President not only in the US I mean in the world has ever accomplish this  ??
Post by: TriniCana on January 20, 2009, 08:45:42 PM
Aretha Franklin

http://ca.youtube.com/v/2gXZCvEC9U0

Post by: Queen Macoomeh on January 20, 2009, 08:57:52 PM
no man, the queen wasn't hearing her music, no monitors near enough..
ow!

thank you Miss Neneh
Post by: TriniCana on January 20, 2009, 09:00:14 PM
Her dress is beautiful but lawd that trail must be was driving her up ah wall boy
The more I look at Barack and Michelle, the more I feel alot of couples would look up to them and learn from them, about committement, love, loyality and communication.
Post by: giggsy11 on January 20, 2009, 09:03:18 PM
He grey hair startin tuh pop out aready and he aint even start the wok yet!
Post by: TriniCana on January 20, 2009, 09:07:52 PM
If allyuh only know how much ah love this man name Rev Dr Joseph Lowery. Ever since Rosa Parks funeral he has me hooked.

http://ca.youtube.com/v/mjTUSDONzvY

Post by: truetrini on January 20, 2009, 10:06:08 PM
 My fellow citizens,

I stand here today humbled by the task before us, grateful for the trust you have bestowed, mindful of the sacrifices borne by our ancestors. I thank President Bush for his service to our nation, as well as the generosity and cooperation he has shown throughout this transition.

Forty-four Americans have now taken the presidential oath. The words have been spoken during rising tides of prosperity and the still waters of peace. Yet, every so often the oath is taken amidst gathering clouds and raging storms. At these moments, America has carried on not simply because of the skill or vision of those in high office, but because We the People have remained faithful to the ideals of our forbearers, and true to our founding documents.

So it has been. So it must be with this generation of Americans.

That we are in the midst of crisis is now well understood. Our nation is at war, against a far-reaching network of violence and hatred. Our economy is badly weakened, a consequence of greed and irresponsibility on the part of some, but also our collective failure to make hard choices and prepare the nation for a new age. Homes have been lost; jobs shed; businesses shuttered. Our health care is too costly; our schools fail too many; and each day brings further evidence that the ways we use energy strengthen our adversaries and threaten our planet.

These are the indicators of crisis, subject to data and statistics. Less measurable but no less profound is a sapping of confidence across our land — a nagging fear that America's decline is inevitable, and that the next generation must lower its sights.

Today I say to you that the challenges we face are real. They are serious and they are many. They will not be met easily or in a short span of time. But know this, America — they will be met.

On this day, we gather because we have chosen hope over fear, unity of purpose over conflict and discord.

On this day, we come to proclaim an end to the petty grievances and false promises, the recriminations and worn out dogmas, that for far too long have strangled our politics.

We remain a young nation, but in the words of Scripture, the time has come to set aside childish things. The time has come to reaffirm our enduring spirit; to choose our better history; to carry forward that precious gift, that noble idea, passed on from generation to generation: the God-given promise that all are equal, all are free, and all deserve a chance to pursue their full measure of happiness.

In reaffirming the greatness of our nation, we understand that greatness is never a given. It must be earned. Our journey has never been one of short-cuts or settling for less. It has not been the path for the faint-hearted — for those who prefer leisure over work, or seek only the pleasures of riches and fame. Rather, it has been the risk-takers, the doers, the makers of things — some celebrated but more often men and women obscure in their labor, who have carried us up the long, rugged path towards prosperity and freedom.

For us, they packed up their few worldly possessions and traveled across oceans in search of a new life.

For us, they toiled in sweatshops and settled the West; endured the lash of the whip and plowed the hard earth.

For us, they fought and died, in places like Concord and Gettysburg; Normandy and Khe Sahn.

Time and again these men and women struggled and sacrificed and worked till their hands were raw so that we might live a better life. They saw America as bigger than the sum of our individual ambitions; greater than all the differences of birth or wealth or faction.

This is the journey we continue today. We remain the most prosperous, powerful nation on Earth. Our workers are no less productive than when this crisis began. Our minds are no less inventive, our goods and services no less needed than they were last week or last month or last year. Our capacity remains undiminished. But our time of standing pat, of protecting narrow interests and putting off unpleasant decisions — that time has surely passed. Starting today, we must pick ourselves up, dust ourselves off, and begin again the work of remaking America.

For everywhere we look, there is work to be done. The state of the economy calls for action, bold and swift, and we will act — not only to create new jobs, but to lay a new foundation for growth. We will build the roads and bridges, the electric grids and digital lines that feed our commerce and bind us together. We will restore science to its rightful place, and wield technology's wonders to raise health care's quality and lower its cost. We will harness the sun and the winds and the soil to fuel our cars and run our factories. And we will transform our schools and colleges and universities to meet the demands of a new age. All this we can do. All this we will do.

Now, there are some who question the scale of our ambitions — who suggest that our system cannot tolerate too many big plans. Their memories are short. For they have forgotten what this country has already done; what free men and women can achieve when imagination is joined to common purpose, and necessity to courage.

What the cynics fail to understand is that the ground has shifted beneath them— that the stale political arguments that have consumed us for so long no longer apply. The question we ask today is not whether our government is too big or too small, but whether it works — whether it helps families find jobs at a decent wage, care they can afford, a retirement that is dignified. Where the answer is yes, we intend to move forward. Where the answer is no, programs will end. And those of us who manage the public's dollars will be held to account — to spend wisely, reform bad habits, and do our business in the light of day — because only then can we restore the vital trust between a people and their government.

Nor is the question before us whether the market is a force for good or ill. Its power to generate wealth and expand freedom is unmatched, but this crisis has reminded us that without a watchful eye, the market can spin out of control — and that a nation cannot prosper long when it favors only the prosperous. The success of our economy has always depended not just on the size of our Gross Domestic Product, but on the reach of our prosperity; on the ability to extend opportunity to every willing heart — not out of charity, but because it is the surest route to our common good.

As for our common defense, we reject as false the choice between our safety and our ideals. Our Founding Fathers, faced with perils we can scarcely imagine, drafted a charter to assure the rule of law and the rights of man, a charter expanded by the blood of generations. Those ideals still light the world, and we will not give them up for expedience's sake. And so to all other peoples and governments who are watching today, from the grandest capitals to the small village where my father was born: know that America is a friend of each nation and every man, woman, and child who seeks a future of peace and dignity, and we are ready to lead once more.

Recall that earlier generations faced down fascism and communism not just with missiles and tanks, but with sturdy alliances and enduring convictions. They understood that our power alone cannot protect us, nor does it entitle us to do as we please. Instead, they knew that our power grows through its prudent use; our security emanates from the justness of our cause, the force of our example, the tempering qualities of humility and restraint.

We are the keepers of this legacy. Guided by these principles once more, we can meet those new threats that demand even greater effort — even greater cooperation and understanding between nations. We will begin to responsibly leave Iraq to its people, and forge a hard-earned peace in Afghanistan. With old friends and former foes, we will work tirelessly to lessen the nuclear threat, and roll back the specter of a warming planet. We will not apologize for our way of life, nor will we waver in its defense, and for those who seek to advance their aims by inducing terror and slaughtering innocents, we say to you now that our spirit is stronger and cannot be broken; you cannot outlast us, and we will defeat you.
Post by: truetrini on January 20, 2009, 10:07:53 PM
For we know that our patchwork heritage is a strength, not a weakness. We are a nation of Christians and Muslims, Jews and Hindus — and non-believers. We are shaped by every language and culture, drawn from every end of this Earth; and because we have tasted the bitter swill of civil war and segregation, and emerged from that dark chapter stronger and more united, we cannot help but believe that the old hatreds shall someday pass; that the lines of tribe shall soon dissolve; that as the world grows smaller, our common humanity shall reveal itself; and that America must play its role in ushering in a new era of peace.

To the Muslim world, we seek a new way forward, based on mutual interest and mutual respect. To those leaders around the globe who seek to sow conflict, or blame their society's ills on the West — know that your people will judge you on what you can build, not what you destroy. To those who cling to power through corruption and deceit and the silencing of dissent, know that you are on the wrong side of history; but that we will extend a hand if you are willing to unclench your fist.

To the people of poor nations, we pledge to work alongside you to make your farms flourish and let clean waters flow; to nourish starved bodies and feed hungry minds. And to those nations like ours that enjoy relative plenty, we say we can no longer afford indifference to suffering outside our borders; nor can we consume the world's resources without regard to effect. For the world has changed, and we must change with it.

As we consider the road that unfolds before us, we remember with humble gratitude those brave Americans who, at this very hour, patrol far-off deserts and distant mountains. They have something to tell us, just as the fallen heroes who lie in Arlington whisper through the ages. We honor them not only because they are guardians of our liberty, but because they embody the spirit of service; a willingness to find meaning in something greater than themselves. And yet, at this moment — a moment that will define a generation — it is precisely this spirit that must inhabit us all.

For as much as government can do and must do, it is ultimately the faith and determination of the American people upon which this nation relies. It is the kindness to take in a stranger when the levees break, the selflessness of workers who would rather cut their hours than see a friend lose their job which sees us through our darkest hours. It is the firefighter's courage to storm a stairway filled with smoke, but also a parent's willingness to nurture a child, that finally decides our fate.

Our challenges may be new. The instruments with which we meet them may be new. But those values upon which our success depends — honesty and hard work, courage and fair play, tolerance and curiosity, loyalty and patriotism — these things are old. These things are true. They have been the quiet force of progress throughout our history. What is demanded then is a return to these truths. What is required of us now is a new era of responsibility — a recognition, on the part of every American, that we have duties to ourselves, our nation, and the world, duties that we do not grudgingly accept but rather seize gladly, firm in the knowledge that there is nothing so satisfying to the spirit, so defining of our character, than giving our all to a difficult task.

This is the price and the promise of citizenship.

This is the source of our confidence— the knowledge that God calls on us to shape an uncertain destiny.

This is the meaning of our liberty and our creed — why men and women and children of every race and every faith can join in celebration across this magnificent mall, and why a man whose father less than sixty years ago might not have been served at a local restaurant can now stand before you to take a most sacred oath.

So let us mark this day with remembrance, of who we are and how far we have traveled. In the year of America's birth, in the coldest of months, a small band of patriots huddled by dying campfires on the shores of an icy river. The capital was abandoned. The enemy was advancing. The snow was stained with blood. At a moment when the outcome of our revolution was most in doubt, the father of our nation ordered these words be read to the people:

"Let it be told to the future world...that in the depth of winter, when nothing but hope and virtue could survive ... that the city and the country, alarmed at one common danger, came forth to meet [it]."

America. In the face of our common dangers, in this winter of our hardship, let us remember these timeless words. With hope and virtue, let us brave once more the icy currents, and endure what storms may come. Let it be said by our children's children that when we were tested we refused to let this journey end, that we did not turn back nor did we falter; and with eyes fixed on the horizon and God's grace upon us, we carried forth that great gift of freedom and delivered it safely to future generations.

Thank you. God bless you. And God bless the United States of America.
Post by: Bakes on January 20, 2009, 10:49:34 PM
Her dress is beautiful but lawd that trail must be was driving her up ah wall boy
The more I look at Barack and Michelle, the more I feel alot of couples would look up to them and learn from them, about committement, love, loyality and communication.

The thing I love about them is that.. Bill and Hilary were the first power couple in the White House, but these two have re-defined the notion by adding traditional elements to the role as well.  Under Billary there was no doubt where her ambitions lay... whereas Michelle is so accomplished in her own right (not that Hilary wasn't before coming to DC) that she don't have try and show the boys that she have cojones too.  And then on the flip side Barack is so cerebral yet so unassuming, the combined confidence they show in themselves and in each other... is truly great to see... experience.
Post by: WestCoast on January 21, 2009, 04:05:43 AM

The thing I love about them is that.. Bill and Hilary were the first power couple in the White House, but these two have re-defined the notion by adding traditional elements to the role as well.  Under Billary there was no doubt where her ambitions lay... whereas Michelle is so accomplished in her own right (not that Hilary wasn't before coming to DC) that she don't have try and show the boys that she have cojones too.  And then on the flip side Barack is so cerebral yet so unassuming, the combined confidence they show in themselves and in each other... is truly great to see... experience.
I was thinking about that at work tonight and how their parenting skills will affect their 2 daughters......I believe that many young people will follow their progress henceforth.
I definitely would like to see them becoming very popular and successful in business.
Post by: Brownsugar on January 21, 2009, 04:58:35 AM

nah, nah he cyar dance.....cyar blame him doh he is half white, so he only half of the ability needed to keep a rythmn.... :devil: ;D
Post by: D.H.W on January 21, 2009, 08:31:37 AM

nah, nah he cyar dance.....cyar blame him doh he is half white, so he only half of the ability needed to keep a rythmn.... :devil: ;D

::) ::) lol
Post by: ribbit on January 21, 2009, 08:56:10 AM
We are a nation of Christians and Muslims, Jews and Hindus — and non-believers.

*TT pores raise* 

Post by: D.H.W on January 21, 2009, 09:17:51 AM
 :devil: :devil:
Post by: Daft Trini on January 21, 2009, 11:11:52 AM
We are a nation of Christians and Muslims, Jews and Hindus — and non-believers.

*TT pores raise* 

TT belongs to Jesus....
Post by: Andre on January 21, 2009, 11:42:58 AM
World voices: Obama's big day

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/talking_point/7841201.stm

There is worldwide optimism that Barack Obama's presidency will improve US relations with the rest of the world, a BBC World Service poll suggests.

In the poll of more than 17,000 people in 17 countries, about 67% said Mr Obama would strengthen US relations abroad.

Many are hopeful that Mr Obama will make the global economic crisis his top priority and will also focus on pulling US troops out of Iraq, tackling climate change and brokering Middle East peace.

Here BBC News website readers from around the world share their views on Obama's inauguration....

SONJA SABITA TEELUCKSINGH, 33, RESEARCHER, VENICE, ITALY, ORIGINALLY FROM TRINIDAD

(http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/45396000/jpg/_45396335_sonja_226_2.jpg)

The inauguration is of immense and special significance, not just to America but to everyone of a minority race across the world.

I myself am of minority race - my ancestors moved from India to the Caribbean several generations ago.

I watched the event online. Italian people seemed less interested than my friends back home. Many friends back home said they would be glued to their TV sets.

It was a brilliant speech. As an international viewer, I was pleased about his references to a common humanity in a shrinking world.

I also like the fact that he referenced his father from a small African village. This surprised me as I know he has tried to play down his racial background. He doesn't want to be defined by his race alone.

No matter how his presidency unfolds, Obama - and the people who voted him into power - have already changed the world for the better. This is a moment of great hope for humanity and for the future. Words cannot express.

Many say don't be too optimistic - wait and see what will happen. But I think they underestimate the true significance of this day which represents a real shift in the world order.

Post by: asylumseeker on January 21, 2009, 12:11:50 PM
Spike Lee deserves kudos for organizing the Howard University event. Wicked. Some of the best economic policy insights I have heard vented in the public sphere for a long time. It was honest, refreshing and possessed a critical dimension. Big up!
Post by: asylumseeker on January 21, 2009, 12:28:39 PM
I also like the fact that he referenced his father from a small African village. This surprised me as I know he has tried to play down his racial background. He doesn't want to be defined by his race alone.

Disagree with this characterisation, Ms. Teelucksingh.

His refusal to be solely defined by his racial make-up didn't equate with a 'playing down' of his racial background. He projected his racial make-up as effusive, as permeating, as transcending, as non-restrictive ... this itself is a defining approach (one identified with by progressive voices like yours :beermug:) ... but he never once balked at it or minimized it ... thereby perhaps, giving it a more elevated platform than if he had come screaming it aloud from the hills.

It was the circus external to the President who alternatingly 'played up' or 'played down' his race. He treated it neutrally, but consciously. With equanimity. As he should, after all he's lived in his skin 40-odd.

These jokers who wonder out loud why he's defined as 'black' when indeed he is not solely of African descent, miss the majestic point he offered: America defined me as such; it is how I self-identify.

(Incidentally, you ARE NOT of minority race. You are part of the majority. Doh let de dominant dialectic contort yuh reality).

One! 
Post by: truetrini on January 21, 2009, 05:39:43 PM

His refusal to be solely defined by his racial make-up didn't equate with a 'playing down' of his racial background. He projected his racial make-up as effusive, as permeating, as transcending, as non-restrictive ... this itself is a defining approach (one identified with by progressive voices like yours :beermug:) ... but he never once balked at it or minimized it ... thereby perhaps, giving it a more elevated platform than if he had come screaming it aloud from the hills.

It was the circus external to the President who alternatingly 'played up' or 'played down' his race. He treated it neutrally, but consciously. With equanimity. As he should, after all he's lived in his skin 40-odd.

These jokers who wonder out loud why he's defined as 'black' when indeed he is not solely of African descent, miss the majestic point he offered: America defined me as such; it is how I self-identify.

(Incidentally, you ARE NOT of minority race. You are part of the majority. Doh let de dominant dialectic contort yuh reality).

One! 

Concur.

Yes d eman know this GREAT land is made up of nun-believers also.  My pores eh raise, de man finally say de trute about America.
Post by: WestCoast on January 21, 2009, 06:00:11 PM
de man finally say de trute about America.
wait.....is that a muted criticism of the greatest country in the world
I going to have to wait for a ruling from the judge, Dutty

I would not want you to be labelled as one who spreads Canadian propaganda (as my step brother claims) about what ails the governing of the USA, the GREATEST country in the world.......so far ;)

I going an start a thread about the Natural wonders that the USA have been blessed with.....Yosemite, Grand Canyon, and such
Post by: weary1969 on January 21, 2009, 06:52:23 PM
If allyuh only know how much ah love this man name Rev Dr Joseph Lowery. Ever since Rosa Parks funeral he has me hooked.

http://ca.youtube.com/v/mjTUSDONzvY

Luv him like hog luv mud.
Post by: WestCoast on January 21, 2009, 07:09:58 PM
Obama has re-taken the Pledge   

(http://www.chicagotribune.com/media/photo/2009-01/44631827.jpg)
He is at HOME 

on a lighter note: (so people doh dig nuttten eh)
did Rev Dr Joseph Lowery say that every woman and man will sit under their own vine or fig tree.....................
he sounding like Wim ;D
Post by: Andre on January 21, 2009, 07:41:54 PM
Obama has re-taken the Pledge   

(http://www.chicagotribune.com/media/photo/2009-01/44631827.jpg)
He is at HOME 

with a jewish butler

Post by: Deeks on January 21, 2009, 07:48:31 PM
You guys are truly coco(nuts)!!!
Post by: Bakes on January 21, 2009, 08:04:16 PM

Agree with the above... I was just coming to post something similar.
Post by: E-man on January 21, 2009, 08:48:29 PM
Obama and Roberts redid the oath today to cover their bases.

Not unprecedented, Coolidge also redid his oath, for a different reason though - his dad who administered it may only have had authority to do so in Vermont and not for national offices.
Post by: Bakes on January 21, 2009, 09:02:13 PM

Not unprecedented, Coolidge also redid his oath, for a different reason though - his dad who administered it may only have had authority to do so in Vermont and not for national offices.

Incidentally Coolidge had to, Obama didn't.
Post by: TriniCana on January 21, 2009, 09:07:31 PM
Americanas, how or what are the feelings over in America on the day after ???

Post by: Bakes on January 21, 2009, 09:35:17 PM

It still cold.
Post by: Babalawo on January 21, 2009, 09:50:09 PM
trust me an American president does get more outside their based salaries to speak at colleges, international conferences, guess appearences for thousands, millions, etc
Post by: WestCoast on January 21, 2009, 09:56:55 PM
It still cold.
(http://i.pbase.com/o5/75/719875/1/69593081.WJRVitYB.rimshot.gif)
Post by: Dutty on January 22, 2009, 07:50:12 AM

fete over..bachac hadda go back to wukk

(http://www.popsci.com/files/DCCM20JAN2009-970.jpg)
Post by: truetrini on January 22, 2009, 07:51:36 AM
trust me an American president does get more outside their based salaries to speak at colleges, international conferences, guess appearences for thousands, millions, etc

Only AFTER they leave office, doh spread propaganda!
Post by: E-man on January 22, 2009, 09:41:28 AM

Incidentally Coolidge had to, Obama didn't.

Either way, if someone had challenged it, it would have ended up in Roberts' court anyway  :D

Another justice, Taft, flubbed the lines, too, but all Hoover said was "I do". There's a story that some school girl called Taft out on it, but it wasn't redone.

Post by: Bakes on January 22, 2009, 01:16:52 PM
Either way, if someone had challenged it, it would have ended up in Roberts' court anyway  :D

Lol true.

(http://www.popsci.com/files/DCCM20JAN2009-970.jpg)

The Potomac river and the Tidal Basin never looked that clean and inviting before, lol.

I actually see mih old neighborhood there... the Holocaust Museum, Dep't of Agriculture... a couple Smithsonian museums... HUD... I-395.

Good memories.

-----
EDIT:  This picture doesn't even show the Lincoln Memorial and Reflecting Pool, where many more people would have been gathered.
Post by: pecan on January 22, 2009, 02:22:42 PM

Lol true.

The Potomac river and the Tidal Basin never looked that clean and inviting before, lol.

I actually see mih old neighborhood there... the Holocaust Museum, Dep't of Agriculture... a couple Smithsonian museums... HUD... I-395.

Good memories.

-----
EDIT:  This picture doesn't even show the Lincoln Memorial and Reflecting Pool, where many more people would have been gathered.

nice shot.  Where did you find it?
Post by: Bakes on January 22, 2009, 03:51:58 PM

Lol true.

Good memories.

-----

nice shot.  Where did you find it?

... on the previous page  ;D
Post by: TriniCana on January 22, 2009, 04:59:18 PM
I hearing on CNN that the threat level towards the new President has increased... :-\
Now not from other countries eh, right dere in dey great US of A.

See how plenty people passionate toward Barack and he family ? Let anything happen to one ah dem nuh - Rodney King riots ain't go have nothing with what would happen.
Post by: WestCoast on January 22, 2009, 05:02:15 PM
anyone seen this ;D
http://politicalirony.com/2008/11/30/robin-williams-on-obamas-election/

I hearing on CNN that the threat level towards the new President has increased... :-\
Now not from other countries eh, right dere in dey great US of A.

See how plenty people passionate toward Barack and he family ? Let anything happen to one ah dem nuh - Rodney King riots ain't go have nothing with what would happen.

EVERY time I see the Obamas on TV, I pray for their long healthy life.....
I would not doubt for a moment that some "real american"  ::) is plottin some shit....lets hope that they are tooo chupid to carry out any thing
Post by: Brownsugar on January 22, 2009, 06:49:37 PM
Always loved Robin Williams......
Post by: weary1969 on January 22, 2009, 07:48:57 PM
Always loved Robin Williams......

Since he was Mork from Ork.
Post by: capodetutticapi on January 22, 2009, 08:03:52 PM
classic
Post by: WestCoast on January 23, 2009, 01:09:09 AM
Fidel Castro hails Obama's 'honesty'

Friday, 23 January , 2009, 08:01

Havana: Ailing Cuban revolutionary leader Fidel Castro has called new US President Barack Obama a "honest" person with good intentions, but expressed doubt whether he could transform those into action.
The former Cuban president said Obama's inaugural speech as "impressive" in a comparative article "Reflection" recounting Castro's conversation on Wednesday with visiting Argentine head of state Cristina Fernandez, EFE news agency reported on Friday.

UN secretary general optimistic about Obama presidency

"I told her (Fernandez) that personally, I did not harbour the slightest doubt about the honesty with which Obama expressed his ideas, but that despite his noble intentions, many questions remain to be answered," Castro said.

The leftist leader also didn't miss the opportunity to rub in that Cuba's half-century-old communist regime has now survived 10 US presidents, despite more than four decades of the US economic embargo.

"By way of example, I wondered: how can a wasteful and consumerist system par excellence preserve the environment," Castro said in his first article since mid-December.

Obama orders closure of Guantanamo Bay

During the election campaign, Obama said he would meet with the Cuban president, Fidel's brother Raul. He has mentioned the possibility of easing restrictions on travel and currency transfers to the Caribbean island.

But Obama has made clear the embargo would stay in place until Cuba adapts democracy.

Raul Castro has also expressed his willingness to meet Obama at a neutral location, perhaps Guantanamo Bay.

For more International news | For more Political news | For more Offbeat news

"© 2004 sify.com India Limited. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed." 
Post by: TriniCana on January 23, 2009, 08:39:43 PM

http://www.boston.com/bigpicture/2009/01/the_inauguration_of_president.html

Enjoy!!! ;D
Post by: WestCoast on January 23, 2009, 08:53:15 PM

Enjoy!!! ;D
Thank You
(http://cache.boston.com/universal/site_graphics/blogs/bigpicture/44_01_21/4406_17680851.jpg)
Ladies and Gentlemen, The 44th First Family.
Post by: weary1969 on January 23, 2009, 08:54:13 PM
I received it in an email amazingggggggggg.
Post by: truetrini on January 23, 2009, 08:59:58 PM

Enjoy!!! ;D

Thanks a million.  That gave me goose bumps.  Never in my did I think th day would ever come...but it has come and gone...and I am richer for it.

Did you read some of the comments.  This man has done extremely well...and he is so loved
Post by: TriniCana on January 23, 2009, 09:03:47 PM

Enjoy!!! ;D

Thanks a million.  That gave me goose bumps.  Never in my did I think th day would ever come...but it has come and gone...and I am richer for it.

Did you read some of the comments.  This man has done extremely well...and he is so loved

Yes he is so loved. So could you imagine one person can destory the hopes and dreams of America and possibly the world in one shot ???
Again this morning on CNN the FBI and secret services are watching a group (dey didn't say which one) closely because there is an increased of threats towards Barack (didn't say family).
Post by: D.H.W on January 23, 2009, 09:31:51 PM

Enjoy!!! ;D

Masterful photography
Post by: Bakes on January 23, 2009, 09:35:48 PM

Enjoy!!! ;D

Thanks luv... lovely pics.  I come was tuh point out more landmarks in mih old neighborhood... could actually see mih building dis time.  But I cyah even do dat now... I eh go lie I hear snorting back all kinda snot... fuss dem pics have tears in mih eyes  :'(

De ones dat does get to me is the pics of the Africans in their remote villages... and the hope that this election gives them... and den de pics of older African Americans, who have endured so much and who never thought they'd live to see dis day.

... ah still sniffling  :-[
Post by: Bakes on January 23, 2009, 09:43:33 PM
Yes he is so loved. So could you imagine one person can destory the hopes and dreams of America and possibly the world in one shot ???
Again this morning on CNN the FBI and secret services are watching a group (dey didn't say which one) closely because there is an increased of threats towards Barack (didn't say family).

Aye... doh study dat... God appoints... man disappoints.

Barack Obama's fate lies in the hands of no man, he is where he is for a purpose and the Lord will use him accordingly.  He ent going nowhere before his time.
Post by: truetrini on January 23, 2009, 09:54:20 PM

Aye... doh study dat... God appoints... man disappoints.

Barack Obama's fate lies in the hands of no man, he is where he is for a purpose and the Lord will use him accordingly.  He ent going nowhere before his time.

So when Obama appointed Hillary Sec. of State..he was playing God?
Post by: Bakes on January 23, 2009, 10:28:58 PM

Your name Sheneneh or you's she maxi pad... anybody talking tuh you?
Post by: truetrini on January 23, 2009, 10:29:52 PM

Your name Sheneneh or you's she maxi pad... anybody talking tuh you?

now yuh know she have to use MAXI pads...go ahead Qaddafi
Post by: Brownsugar on January 24, 2009, 05:29:00 AM
Wow!! those pics were amazing!!...

Bakes is not you alone still sniffling nah.  I would be fine until I see pics like the black lady with tears flowing down her cheeks, or the Olympic fellas hugging, or the people in the remote Kogelo village in Africa....if those images doh get to yuh, yuh heart make outta stone dread....

What struck me too was the people in their little corners of the planet huddle around a lil TV screen and from the looks of things in room you could see is poor people, probably just eeking out an existence but they refuse to be left out of such a momentous occasion...WOW again....it just warms the heart......

p.s. Sasha look like she good mischievous....
Post by: TriniCana on January 24, 2009, 07:55:58 AM
TC and BS leave meh pads alone please and thanks...Plus it's tampx :devil:

Anyhoo like you Bakes I cried - simple reason is that reality hit me. People saying he half black and white - I saying he's a man that have a black wife who I believe would take women's affairs to a new level. She will be the motivator to all these women who were pushed aside for a new promotion, who are educated/qualified but yet still can't get a job or a decent job all because of their color, culture and ethnicity.  Let the games begin.

The old black woman did it for me though. You could have seen her years of toil and hard work in her face. She brought my thoughts right back to slavery days, and seeing the movies and reading books of the cruelty they had to endure during those times. To me those won't tears of seeing a black man become President, those were tears of 'finally, we did it!'

Now listen to the voices of America
http://www.boston.com/interactive/video/inauguration_interviews/?bclid=8326187001

The key word is 'HOPE'
Post by: Bitter on January 27, 2009, 07:36:48 AM
Panorama of the inauguration

http://gigapan.org/viewGigapan.php?id=15374&window_height=674&window_width=1423
Post by: daryn on January 27, 2009, 09:22:05 AM

yuh could get it full screen

http://gigapan.org/viewGigapanFullscreen.php?auth=033ef14483ee899496648c2b4b06233c (http://gigapan.org/viewGigapanFullscreen.php?auth=033ef14483ee899496648c2b4b06233c)
Post by: Quags on January 27, 2009, 09:47:24 AM
Interesting to me the Inauguration was held on that day ,when the Sun moved into the 11th house of the Zodiac ........Also known as the 1st day of what is known as the start of the age of Aquarius  :)

5th dimension  classic http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=toshchjuXR4

+
Post by: WestCoast on January 27, 2009, 11:46:41 AM

That is the best
allya clicked on the smaller pictures along the bottom and watch it Zoom in?
amazing
Post by: E-man on January 27, 2009, 01:14:27 PM

That is the best
amazing

Is this Jack and Ramesh?

(http://img152.imageshack.us/img152/4984/jackrameshhf7.jpg)

sixth row behind the fence.
Post by: WestCoast on January 27, 2009, 01:43:10 PM

That is the best
amazing

Is this Jack and Ramesh?

(http://img152.imageshack.us/img152/4984/jackrameshhf7.jpg)

sixth row behind the fence.

is that TT wid he headphones on ??? :devil: or meh glasses need new glasses :whistling:

easy TT ;D
Post by: Brownsugar on January 27, 2009, 07:37:09 PM

That is the best
amazing

CNN unveiled some thing similar the day of the Inauguration....I coulda swear from the way they behave is DEM ALONE had the technology....steups....apparently CNN tried to unveil some new gadget at the major political events along the way.....well after the "beam mih up scotty" trick they try wid dis, but mih eh think they could top "beam mih up Scotty"
Post by: asylumseeker on January 30, 2009, 09:00:28 PM
Barack Obama ... meet Michael Steele ...  :duel: Republicans iz real head
Post by: Bakes on January 30, 2009, 09:19:27 PM
Barack Obama ... meet Michael Steele ...  :duel: Republicans iz real head

The pandering is so obvious that it's funny.  But like his sister, Steele is ever the opportunist... so more power to that marriage.