May 07, 2024, 06:31:55 AM

Author Topic: 2014 Concacaf WCQ Thread.  (Read 126228 times)

Offline reggae-fan

Re: 2014 Concacaf WCQ Thread.
« Reply #630 on: February 09, 2013, 03:07:35 PM »
I watch the jamaica game, and it's one of the best games i've seen jamaica played ever!! it was even better than the game they playued against USA in the office where they defeated the yanks. the game wqs so good that i goin and watch it again in a minute.  jamaica coulda win dat game hands down bc they caught mexico on about five counter attack that could have resulted in goal if they had clinical finishers like fuller and shelton.

I think the coaching staff got the tactics right for this game, but perhaps the biggest factor is this: Jamaica now has a very good defensive unit. Keeper Ricketts on his day is one of the better keepers in the region, and has years of experience, having gone to France 98 as Jamaica third string keeper.  Nyron Nosworthy, Adrian Mariappa are solid players, Jermaine Taylor is a mainstay in the Houston Dynamo defence and Demar Philips has also had a good 4 seasons at Aalesuns in Norway. The Midfield also now has two very rugged box-to-box type guys in Rudi Austin from Leeds united and Marvin Elliuot of Bristol City in the championship...very experienced players. Jobi McCanuf of Reading, what a player, very solid on the wings, and although he missed that early rebound off the post in his follow up shot saved by the goalie, he had a very solid game. Perhaps the area where Jamaica needs some reinforcement is in the area of attack. Jermaine Beckford formerly of Everton got injured just prior to the Mexican game and had to be pulled out, he probably is our marquee striker at the moment, although it sounds weird sayinjg that for a guy who has not yet made his debut. But all in all, I still believe this team is two or three players short of being a team that can take one of the 3 automatic spots. We play Panama next, anything but a victory here will put pressure back on the coach and players.

Good Luck with Panama, it will NOT be easy to beat them at all.

That fella Jobi Mc Canuf...is he the number 10?  he is an abortionist!  Real throw away specialist.  Good luck with he too.

Panama is a team that is well respected by Jamaicans in general, and by me in particular. That was a shocking miss from McCanuff, but credit has to also be given to the Goalie who pulled off an incredible save. I would have liked that chnace to have fallen to a player like Shelton...more than likley that would have been in the bag.

« Reply #631 on: February 09, 2013, 04:03:16 PM »
Me..at my age would have scored that!

« Reply #632 on: February 09, 2013, 05:14:45 PM »

« Reply #633 on: February 09, 2013, 08:31:23 PM »
On the subject of ballers, any of the 70s and 80s babies remember this striker? He did not seem to have any special skill, but always found himself in the right place at the right time, a true opportunist.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YKW4ydPW_VA

Salvatore Schillaci came to the rescue of an Italian team that had a hard time scoring goals in the 1990 WC. I remember Vialli spurning many opportunities.

Toto had an amazing 1990 WC, in fact Italy should have gone on to play the Germans in the final, but that's long gone.  In many ways Toto was Italy's 1990 Paolo Rossi, 1 WC wonders, both faded after 82 and 90 respectively.

I think when Elan talks about Ballers it's almost as if he's reserving that description for midfield generals, playmakers who are also lethal goal scorers (well maybe w/the exception of Ronaldo and no, not the macomeh man).  But whatever the definition, you need clinical finishers, these men including Chicharito all fit the bill
« Last Edit: February 09, 2013, 08:33:46 PM by 100% Barataria »

« Reply #634 on: February 10, 2013, 08:11:34 AM »

You at your age, you would have had a heart attack in the warm up at that altitude  ;D

« Reply #635 on: February 10, 2013, 10:22:32 AM »
On the subject of ballers, any of the 70s and 80s babies remember this striker? He did not seem to have any special skill, but always found himself in the right place at the right time, a true opportunist.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YKW4ydPW_VA

Salvatore Schillaci came to the rescue of an Italian team that had a hard time scoring goals in the 1990 WC. I remember Vialli spurning many opportunities.

Toto had an amazing 1990 WC, in fact Italy should have gone on to play the Germans in the final, but that's long gone.  In many ways Toto was Italy's 1990 Paolo Rossi, 1 WC wonders, both faded after 82 and 90 respectively.

I think when Elan talks about Ballers it's almost as if he's reserving that description for midfield generals, playmakers who are also lethal goal scorers (well maybe w/the exception of Ronaldo and no, not the macomeh man).  But whatever the definition, you need clinical finishers, these men including Chicharito all fit the bill

Good point breddo..somehow ah feel if it was used to describe men like say Inzaghi and the aforementioned Toto and Rossi men wouldn't have chimed in (I know I wouldn't have) as much as dey did.
And it have Manu on here to boot, what he expected :)

But on we go wid the hex...Go USA ;)

« Reply #636 on: February 10, 2013, 11:10:03 AM »
Rossi was a more complete (or rounded player) than exclusive reliance on the 1982 WC would suggest.

« Reply #637 on: February 10, 2013, 12:29:54 PM »

You at your age, you would have had a heart attack in the warm up at that altitude  ;D

Only if she dey...only if she dey...and what warm up you talking about?

« Reply #638 on: February 10, 2013, 02:18:39 PM »

Only if she dey...only if she dey...and what warm up you talking about?

:rotfl:  two ah all yuh is kix yes

« Reply #639 on: February 10, 2013, 03:14:08 PM »
If we're talking about a dominant personality on U.S. coaching methodology, no serious conversation can be held without referring to Dettmar Cramer, a German.

Methodology sure! The basis of the methodology still stands today, though it has gone through and obvious evolution and been built upon. But the problem is not methodology, but a philosophy on individual development, how the collective game is played and
player type.

« Reply #640 on: February 24, 2013, 02:25:39 AM »
Reggae Boyz to play Spurs in crucial warm-up
T&T Guardian.

KINGSTON—Jamaica will tackle English Premier League outfit Tottenham Hotspur (Spurs) ahead of their two toughest home games in the ultimate phase of Concacaf World Cup Qualifying (WCQ) for next year’s Fifa World Cup Finals in Brazil.

The Reggae Boyz will battle Spurs on May 23 inside the new Thomas A Robinson National Stadium on Nassau Paradise Island. The match comes just 11 days before the Boyz tackle Mexico inside the National Stadium and three days later will also host the United States of America. “We are going to use that game (against Spurs) as a warm-up because it is just before we play Mexico in Jamaica,” Jamaica Football Federation (JFF) president, Captain Horace Burrell said.

“So we are going to treat the tour as a training camp and the game as a game to fine-tune our preparations going into the game against Mexico.” Spurs currently lie fourth in the Barclays Premier League and its match against Jamaica will be the first featuring an English Premier League Club in the Commonwealth of The Bahamas.

Bahamian authorities will host the Reggae Boyz squad in the island for a week prior to the Spurs encounter, so as to allow the team time to properly prepare for the Mexico match.
“That game could not have come at a better time,” said Burrell.

“So the plan is for all the members of the team to go to Bahamas and train, so at the conclusion of that we will be more than ready for the Mexican encounter in Jamaica.” Burrell says both teams have agreed to field their strongest sides for the fixture putting the Reggae Boyz against such players as Welsh winger Gareth Bale, English forward Jermaine Defoe and his Togolese partner, Emmanuel Adebayor.

“It is a massive game and we have been assured that all of Tottenham Hotspur’s first-string players, their entire team, will be there,” Burrell disclosed. “On the other hand, we have been asked to field our strongest team as well, which fits right into our plans as we tackle Mexico days after. We will have all of our England-based players, because the Premier League season would have ended around the same time.”

The two teams accepted the invitation from the Government of Bahamas to play the match which also marks one of the major events in the new 15,000-seat stadium, as well as the yearlong celebration of The Bahamas’ 40th anniversary of Independence. CMC

« Reply #641 on: February 25, 2013, 02:54:24 PM »

World Cup Qualifiers Thread- CONCACAF
« Reply #642 on: March 22, 2013, 10:32:51 AM »
Up Date On Concacaf W/C qualifiers

Re: World Cup Qualifiers Thread- CONCACAF
« Reply #643 on: March 22, 2013, 01:37:57 PM »
Today- 22/3/2013
Honduras vs Mexico
Jamaica vs Panama
USA vs Costa Rica

26th March/13

Honduras vs Mexico
Jamaica vs Panama
Usa vs Costa Rica

« Reply #644 on: March 22, 2013, 03:53:48 PM »
links plz ?

« Reply #645 on: March 22, 2013, 04:23:35 PM »
Chica 2- Honduras nil. Born tuh score goals! More deadly than any Mexican cartel!

« Reply #646 on: March 22, 2013, 04:39:14 PM »
Chica 2- Honduras nil. Born tuh score goals! More deadly than any Mexican cartel!

link

« Reply #647 on: March 22, 2013, 04:46:23 PM »
Penal!!!!!! look bachannal!!!!

« Reply #648 on: March 22, 2013, 04:50:41 PM »
dos a dos  !!!!!!

« Reply #649 on: March 22, 2013, 04:51:19 PM »

link

Unfortunately I am watching on Telemundo. Sorry.

« Reply #650 on: March 22, 2013, 04:55:09 PM »
Mehico like dey fadin, Honduras comin hard and Chica off. Poor penalty, but unfortunately the keeper dive early made the save and was unable tuh direct the ball away from the penalty taker.

« Reply #651 on: March 22, 2013, 05:08:14 PM »

« Reply #652 on: March 22, 2013, 05:21:16 PM »
Bookmark the links please.

http://www.sportwebz.com/

http://www.streamhunter.eu/football-live-streaming-video.html

Dred why yuh been holding out on us for so long? Yuh know you are the master!  ;D Will need this for April 1, when United play Chelski 7am in the morning. Thanks!

« Reply #653 on: March 22, 2013, 06:59:10 PM »
Any linx for the JA game?

« Reply #654 on: March 22, 2013, 07:33:10 PM »
Any linx for the JA game?

Check Diehard's post.

« Reply #655 on: March 22, 2013, 07:53:20 PM »
Snow in Colorado for the US V Costa Rica match! Ah cold jus watching the conditions.

Offline soccerrama

Offline jr sams

• Every time....all de time....true to form
« Reply #657 on: March 22, 2013, 08:03:17 PM »
eh eh...look Jamaica score oui....nice header but I cyar understand why on defending a corner Panama did not have a man on de post?
1-0 Jamaica.
well yes

« Reply #658 on: March 22, 2013, 08:04:05 PM »

« Reply #659 on: March 22, 2013, 08:18:12 PM »
I hope USA's choice of a venue backfires on them