Sports => Football => Topic started by: Flex on April 25, 2008, 05:52:43 AM

Title: Hyland blunder costs Jabloteh.
Post by: Flex on April 25, 2008, 05:52:43 AM
Hyland blunder costs Jabloteh.
By: Lasana Liburd (Express).

There might be mixed feelings from the Clico San Juan Jabloteh football club when 18-year-old midfielder Khaleem Hyland struts out in Trinidad and Tobago's colours on June 1 to face England in an eagerly anticipated friendly in Port of Spain.

Hyland has already caught the eye of heavyweight British clubs such as defending Scotland Premier League team, Celtic, and England Premier League outfit and 2008 FA Cup finalists, Portsmouth. But it is uncertain how much tangible benefit Jabloteh would receive from Hyland's prospective move after a supposed "administrative error" meant the local Pro League champions failed to secure their most prized asset.

The talented teenager is a free agent, at present, and could move to one of Europe's more affluent clubs without any money heading to his former employer. Jabloteh's failure to re-sign Hyland, which an anonymous source blamed on their "administration" rather than the player, is a sore point with the Bourg Mulattrasse team.

Jabloteh coach and former England international, Terry Fenwick, refused to comment on Hyland's present situation although he did wish him well in his future endeavours. He suggested that Portsmouth was the most likely destination for the young Soca Warrior.

Retired Trinidad and Tobago goalkeeper and Football Players Association of Trinidad and Tobago (FPATT) president Shaka Hislop was a key figure in establishing Portsmouth's top flight credentials while Pompey boss Harry Redknapp also coached their compatriot and Sunderland star Kenwyne Jones at Southampton.

"If he plays against England on the first of June and does well," said Fenwick, "it could be bigger and better (things) for him. He is at the right age to go out and Harry Redknapp loves him to death. The England game could throw him right in the spotlight...We knocked the rough edges off him and started the development, which would continue at Portsmouth. We want him to do well and to be a role model for the kids at Jabloteh."

Hyland, a busy and robust holding central midfielder, made his international debut in a 2-2 friendly draw against Puerto Rico on January 26, 2008 and kept his place for outings against Guadeloupe, El Salvador and Jamaica.

There is still hope within Jabloteh's boardroom that compensation could be arranged from either Portsmouth or Hyland's British agent, Steve Davis. In return, Jabloteh are set to offer the first option on future talent to either party.

Although Jabloteh were unable to hold on to their own starlet, they are anxious to unleash poached 2007 Pro League MVP, Marvin Oliver, who is recovering from a pre-season injury. The 32-year-old Oliver, who joined Jabloteh from Neal & Massy Caledonia AIA in the pre-season, played for 30 minutes in their 5-0 win over St Ann's Rangers but is still deemed short of match fitness.
Title: Re: Hyland blunder costs Jabloteh.
Post by: spideybuff on April 25, 2008, 06:21:45 AM
There is a compensation rule in place for clubs who develop players, when the player is under 24, isn't there?

(Football/Championship Manager teaches you these little things  ;D)
Post by: dcs on April 25, 2008, 06:22:12 AM
At first I thought Hyland botch something but he sitting nice....and he young.
Post by: dinho on April 25, 2008, 07:33:59 AM
misleading title to the article
Post by: Midknight on April 25, 2008, 07:41:11 AM

ent? I well say he score an own goal and wondering how come I didn't know they had a midweek game...
Post by: dcs on April 25, 2008, 08:43:12 AM

keith smith is the chief editor of the paper  :devil:
Post by: Fyzoman on April 25, 2008, 09:10:09 AM

ent? I well say he score an own goal and wondering how come I didn't know they had a midweek game...

Right!?!? i and all saying so wha happen if he make a mistake and dey lose, give thx things ok with him.
Post by: Bakes on April 25, 2008, 11:40:08 AM
Midknight yuh right...and dcs you ent easy  ;D

But yeah...I hear saying "juss when de man getting all kinda props, he choose now tuh go fack up...lemmih go see whey he do"....

Nutten wrong from a grammatical standpoint...but Lasana coulda phrase it ah li'l better ("Jabloteh's Hyland blunder may prove costly").  Maybe in the actual column he was up against a word limit in the title or sumting.
Post by: Dinner Mints on April 25, 2008, 11:51:52 AM

But yeah...I hear saying "juss when de man getting all kinda props, he choose now tuh go fack up...lemmih go see whey he do"....

Nutten wrong from a grammatical standpoint...but Lasana coulda phrase it ah li'l better ("Jabloteh's Hyland blunder may prove costly").  Maybe in the actual column he was up against a word limit in the title or sumting.
Nah. De writer of the article doh choose de headline. Daiz editors and sub-editors wuk.
Post by: Bakes on April 25, 2008, 01:09:47 PM

Nah. De writer of the article doh choose de headline. Daiz editors and sub-editors wuk.
True...maybe they had tuh economise b/c of space.
Post by: dwn on April 25, 2008, 01:38:04 PM
There is a compensation rule in place for clubs who develop players, when the player is under 24, isn't there?

(Football/Championship Manager teaches you these little things  ;D)

something so, but hyland is a free agent so that doesn't apply. not even sure if that applies to trini clubs.
think that would apply if he was still a jabloteh player and portsmouth was trying to sign a pre-contract agreement.
Post by: Flex on July 08, 2008, 06:52:04 PM
Crouch is due to have a medical with Pompey on Tuesday or Wednesday after Pompey and Liverpool agreed on a fee said to total around £11m for the England striker. Personal terms are not expected to hold things up.

Talk is increasing that next on Harry Redknapp's hit-list will be Shaun Wright-Phillips, who could take Pompey's spending for the week to £20m.

Spurs defender Younes Kaboul and Trinidad and Tobago international midfielder Khaleem Hyland - who played in his country's recent defeat to England - are also well in the Blues' sights, according to reports.

Kaboul seems favourite to provide the central defensive cover Pompey desperately need.

Hyland, who is just 19, had trials at Arsenal, Pompey, Millwall and Celtic last year. He would need to secure a work permit in order to move here.

It is Crouch's signing that is the talk of the city at present, though, and the one player who remains in the squad from the striker's previous stint at Fratton - Linvoy Primus - is excited by his imminent arrival.

Primus told The News: 'He's going to be an asset. I'm sure a lot of fans would like to see him. I remember him first time around and he was always destined to go on and do well. You don't score 18 goals in a struggling team and not go and push on – and he has.

'Everybody knew about his ability. We used to see it in training every day and it's no surprise seeing him play for England and scoring goals. It was no surprise when Liverpool signed him.'

Crouch's arrival could signal the departure of David Nugent, who is wanted by Hull for £3m.

Pompey have made another signing - Irish under-20 international Marc Wilson has signed a new three-year deal for the club.

Meanwhile, Pompey's 26,000-plus tickets for the Community Shield have gone on sale. Monday was the day for the first section of season ticket holders to call for tickets and early reports came from the usual mixture of fans who got through first time to others who were told there were no tickets on sale all day.
Post by: Jayerson on July 08, 2008, 07:50:19 PM
Wake me up when he signs.
Post by: Sando prince on July 08, 2008, 08:43:20 PM
Mark my words!..Hyland would be signed..the work permit thing will be resolved before the end of the summer
Post by: weary1969 on July 08, 2008, 10:04:02 PM
Jayerson stop stealin meh line lol
Post by: pompey_researcher on July 09, 2008, 04:29:21 AM
Technically now even if fails his Work Permit well still have him

http://www.portsmouthfc.co.uk/?cms_id=78&qs_articleid=1327&qs_media=html

Then loaned out 3 years to a Belgium club to gain EU Nationality
Post by: Diambars on July 09, 2008, 05:46:03 AM
The Jabloeth coach seems coold about the situation ... ah wonder if he is poistioned to be paid personally?
Post by: Sam on July 09, 2008, 06:09:53 AM
How can he get sign and we are 102 on the FIFA ranking, should'nt we be in the 70's and under for a player to get sign ?
Post by: Sando prince on July 09, 2008, 07:02:39 PM
The Jabloeth coach seems coold about the situation ... ah wonder if he is poistioned to be paid personally?
Maybe he is being cool to disguise his true expressions...maybe he is not voicing his opinion to the public but doing it behind closed doors...it can be alot of reasons but why him being paid personally comes first to your mind?
Post by: pompey_researcher on July 10, 2008, 10:05:07 AM
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,12874_3802613,00.html

More on Hyland
Post by: Sam on July 10, 2008, 10:07:26 AM
The 19-year-old's agent, Steve Davies has confirmed Portsmouth have tabled an offer for Hyland and that the move is subject to a work permit.

"Khaleem has been offered a four-year deal by Portsmouth and we are just waiting for a work permit and we don't envisage any problems with that," Davies told skysports.com.
Post by: pompey_researcher on July 10, 2008, 10:10:50 AM
Has anyone got an accurate count on how many Under 20, Under 21 and Full International Caps and goals that Khaleem has?
Post by: Sam on July 10, 2008, 10:13:12 AM
Has anyone got an accurate count on how many Under 20, Under 21 and Full International Caps and goals that Khaleem has?

Go through Flex pages for goals, caps might be hard to find out though...

Here is de under 20, it have under 17, senior and under 23 etc etc, go through all, de goals listed on de right side of de pages......

http://www.socawarriors.net/u20_games_2000_and_up.htm
Post by: pompey_researcher on July 10, 2008, 10:27:42 AM
Cheers
Post by: Tallman on July 10, 2008, 10:38:58 AM
Hyland has 11 full international caps, and 1 goal.
Post by: pompey_researcher on July 10, 2008, 10:42:49 AM
Cheers Tallman, found the link after counting each one  ;D
Post by: weary1969 on July 10, 2008, 10:43:43 AM
Does 2 dreaded words work permit
Post by: pompey_researcher on July 10, 2008, 10:48:46 AM
11 caps since January should be enough
Post by: pompey_researcher on July 10, 2008, 10:53:13 AM
When did Khaleem join San Juan from Mucurapo SC?
Post by: Bakes on July 10, 2008, 12:21:47 PM
When did Khaleem join San Juan from Mucurapo SC?

Mucurapo Senior Comp is a Secondary School... so he would have graduated at age 16 or 17.  Good guess then is that he's only been with the club about 2 yrs.
Post by: pompey_researcher on July 10, 2008, 02:09:48 PM
http://www.mailonsunday.co.uk/sport/football/article-1034183/Pompey-agree-year-deal-Trinidad-Tobago-midfielder-Hyland.html?ITO=1490

Portsmouth are close to signing teenage Trinidad and Tobago international Khaleem Hyland on a free transfer.

Is he not a San Juan player?
Post by: FF on July 10, 2008, 02:40:57 PM
http://www.mailonsunday.co.uk/sport/football/article-1034183/Pompey-agree-year-deal-Trinidad-Tobago-midfielder-Hyland.html?ITO=1490

Portsmouth are close to signing teenage Trinidad and Tobago international Khaleem Hyland on a free transfer.

Is he not a San Juan player?

out of contract...

see the name of the thread... san juan made a blunder with hyland and are losing him on a free transfer
Post by: dwn on July 10, 2008, 02:43:39 PM
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11674_3802613,00.html

hyland offered 4 year deal
Post by: weary1969 on July 10, 2008, 05:35:12 PM
How much caps Jan Michael when he get blank. I wish d brudder luck but wit d radio station rankin I more than a lil worried
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 12, 2008, 07:57:56 AM

i feel real sorry for peltier and guerra
Post by: Sando prince on July 12, 2008, 08:00:44 AM

Peltier and Guerra time will come soon..they are still very young....Hyland is just the first to make the big jump...Guerra and Peltier will follow in the near future...
Post by: spideybuff on July 13, 2008, 07:59:51 AM
They could send him to a club in belgium or something and he will get the permit in a two years. Tha's what Sheffield United doing for Jan Michael
Post by: weary1969 on July 13, 2008, 12:43:21 PM
What side Jan Michael playin 4 in Belgium? Dat is what is being said but me eh know d name of dat Belgium side
Post by: Dinner Mints on July 13, 2008, 02:35:28 PM
What side Jan Michael playin 4 in Belgium? Dat is what is being said but me eh know d name of dat Belgium side

http://www.whitestar.be/equipes/equipe-1/staff_en.htm

He eh have no jersey number, though.
Post by: weary1969 on July 13, 2008, 04:51:09 PM
So is he playin is meh next ?
Post by: Trini _2026 on July 13, 2008, 05:05:51 PM

Peltier and Guerra time will come soon..they are still very young....Hyland is just the first to make the big jump...Guerra and Peltier will follow in the near future...

very young big man peltier turn 20 this year and guerra turning 21 ... man time to get out ....... time fuh this fake ass oach to go
Post by: weary1969 on July 13, 2008, 05:27:39 PM
HE/JACK/CORNMEALS/TTFF all need 2 goooooooooooo
Post by: just cool on July 13, 2008, 06:33:11 PM
You doh give up eh !! get rid of him and replace him with whom @ this late stage ?!!
Post by: Brownsugar on July 13, 2008, 06:39:02 PM
You doh give up eh !! get rid of him and replace him with whom @ this late stage ?!!

Wim.... :idea:  :devil:
Post by: weary1969 on July 13, 2008, 09:26:23 PM
Brudder any body wit a lil bit a sense could take ovah d TTFF u 4get yuh boi JW pull out of d Pro League because he feel it would have died so while it eh in d best of health it alive. So I assure u it have nuff peeps who could take d TTFF foward but we will neva know because JW and his band of croonies fully entrenched
Post by: just cool on July 14, 2008, 01:20:47 AM

Wim.... :idea:  :devil:
Whim ? !! that's like running way from the coffin to meet up wid de jumbie.
Post by: just cool on July 14, 2008, 01:23:28 AM
Brudder any body wit a lil bit a sense could take ovah d TTFF u 4get yuh boi JW pull out of d Pro League because he feel it would have died so while it eh in d best of health it alive. So I assure u it have nuff peeps who could take d TTFF foward but we will neva know because JW and his band of croonies fully entrenched
Sistren , i not talking bout JW & the TTFF, i was refering to the coach.
Post by: Sando prince on July 14, 2008, 01:54:40 AM

very young big man peltier turn 20 this year and guerra turning 21 ... man time to get out ....... time fuh this fake ass oach to go

Hoss and this is why you feeling sorry for Peltier and Guerra?...And I repeat 20 and 21 is still very young !...Wanting Pacho and JW to leave is another issue from what this topic is saying!
Post by: weary1969 on July 14, 2008, 03:14:25 PM
Coach eh hard 2 find obviously we end up wit Pancho. As 4 a good coach do some due diligence and 1 am sure we will find 1 who know we history and d nonesense dat does play off and he go b willin 2 come. He stock go rise after he take we 2 d big dance.

If dey want a good coach I am sure dey can find 1. The ? is do dey want a good coach. I still feel d plan is 2014 so d 2006 team go b dead and buried.
Post by: FireBrand on July 14, 2008, 04:40:57 PM
On Wikipedia Jabloteh is listed as an affiliated club of Portsmouth (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Portsmouth_fc). Ah wonder how credible dat info is...  If dat is really de case there might still be hope for Guerra and Peltier....

Buh wait, dey still need caps...steups!  :frustrated:

Post by: weary1969 on July 14, 2008, 10:27:26 PM
Caps=Work Permit dat is d equation I thought b4 Jan Michael so maths eh meh strong suit so somebody tell me d equation
Post by: just cool on July 15, 2008, 12:41:10 AM
Coach eh hard 2 find obviously we end up wit Pancho. As 4 a good coach do some due diligence and 1 am sure we will find 1 who know we history and d nonesense dat does play off and he go b willin 2 come. He stock go rise after he take we 2 d big dance.

If dey want a good coach I am sure dey can find 1. The ? is do dey want a good coach. I still feel d plan is 2014 so d 2006 team go b dead and buried.
Ah little optimism please ! gosh! you sound like you does work wid the dead, forinstance, in the morgue, a funeral palour or the coroner's office, fuss yuh negative @ times, not to mention jaded, and i don't mean it as ah diss.

we get back most of our WC players, and allyuh still not happy,so what allyuh want ? we are even in ah better position than 2006 BC we have young brand new talent in the mix.

all who running up they mouth about maturana and his coaching tactic have no vision whatsoever. whim never even give half dem youths ah bligh and allyuh saying he's ah better coach, mats bring some young pl;ayers and giving dem experience, not just for 2010 , but beyond, and if he can throw them in the mix and groom them and mold them into a finished product, then why not ?!!

allyuh only looking for instant gratification, don't forget that them same men who allyuh does be rating like they so good didn't even land ah single decent contract after the WC, so how good could they really be ? no disrespect to our WC players, but the same sancho can't even get on a team in the dog leagues but yet still he's so coveted here on this site by many.

but it have some youths on this team with pure potential, the likes of hyland , guerra , tinto, daniels, who could possibly trump the accomplishments of their predecessors, so i say let them play and learn, and allyuh stop rushing the coach, ROME WAS NOT BUILD IN AN HOUR, so why allyuh want pancho to build it in half the time.
Post by: weary1969 on July 15, 2008, 02:29:50 PM
So because after nearly 2 yrs d players are back I should b doin cartwheels on d forum. I blieve in keepin it real. So we get back d players and all I cing with Pancho is BSC. So if u happy like pappy good 4 u I watchin football more than half meh life so when I C crap I callin it crap