May 15, 2024, 09:44:17 AM

Author Topic: Birmingham and Baggies relegated  (Read 2586 times)

Birmingham and Baggies relegated
« on: April 29, 2006, 10:23:43 AM »
Birmingham and Baggies relegated 

Bruce and Robson have struggled for results in their survival battle
Birmingham and West Brom have been relegated from the Premiership after Portsmouth beat Wigan 2-1.
Birmingham could only manage a 0-0 draw against Newcastle and are now four points behind Pompey with both sides having just one game to go.

The Baggies play West Ham on Monday but are nine points behind Portsmouth with only six points available from their final two Premiership games.

Pompey's 20 points from their last nine games assured their survival.

But West Brom and Birmingham have each struggled in the final straight of the race to remain in the top-flight.

The Blues mounted a late surge after they held champions Chelsea to a goalless draw at St Andrews on 1 April.

They went on to beat Bolton and Blackburn while earning a point after draws at Wigan and Everton with their only defeat in the last seven games coming at derby rivals Aston Villa.

But their efforts have proved too late in a season during which their injury problems have had an immensely damaging effect.

West Brom escaped relegation ona dramatic final day of last season but there was no great escape this time around with a lack of goals proving their biggest downfall.

Their last win came against Blackburn on 4 February and they have earned just three points in 10 games since that victory.
« Last Edit: April 29, 2006, 10:41:03 AM by Tallman »

Re: Birmingham and Baggies relegated
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2006, 10:28:13 AM »
Hard luck for West Brom....always liked them

well so it goes

« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2006, 11:07:51 AM »
Well I said portsmouth would stay up ;) well done pompey.

« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2006, 11:57:30 AM »
Redknapp is a real boss. Congrats to Pompey!

« Reply #4 on: April 29, 2006, 12:24:06 PM »
Well this is  good news is if jones has a nice world cup he harry may bring him up.

« Reply #5 on: April 29, 2006, 12:45:12 PM »
Well this is  good news is if jones has a nice world cup he harry may bring him up.

Was it Redknapp who brought in Jones or Sturrock? I want to believe it was Sturrock (who then brought him on loan to Sheff. Wed.). Redknapp didn't show that much faith in him.

« Reply #6 on: April 29, 2006, 01:22:55 PM »
correck jdb

Offline The_Ice

• My band, Red Vellum Razorblades ... enjoy :D
  • RVR guitarist
    • Red Vellum Razorblades
« Reply #7 on: April 29, 2006, 02:40:46 PM »
Damn... and i always found steve bruce to be a pleasant person.... lol... i hope he dont lose his job

« Reply #8 on: April 29, 2006, 03:15:58 PM »
well done pompey i was backing them for survival from day 1

Offline trini supporter

« Reply #9 on: April 29, 2006, 03:30:31 PM »
 Ah wonder if Carlos will still move to West Brom after the world cup?

« Reply #10 on: April 29, 2006, 05:21:40 PM »
haul allyuh ass Birmingham...ah  hope allyuh geh relegated again next season >:(

« Reply #11 on: April 29, 2006, 05:38:30 PM »
Yea, since them leggo Stern, is stress for them.
Jus like Man U with Dwight.
And UNC with Ramesh  ;D

Offline ndookie

« Reply #12 on: April 29, 2006, 05:57:40 PM »
oh gosh , the unc jokes flowing eh..lol
Glory Glory Man Utd !

Offline Pompey

« Reply #13 on: April 29, 2006, 06:36:58 PM »

Was it Redknapp who brought in Jones or Sturrock? I want to believe it was Sturrock (who then brought him on loan to Sheff. Wed.). Redknapp didn't show that much faith in him.

Sturrock brought in Jones, Redkanpp put him out on loan to "Develop" im.

For what it's worth, I feel sorry for Brum and Baggies fans. The baggies have not had the money spent that they needed and Brum have had a terrible injury record.

That said, it's a dog eat dog world and I am sooooo glad we are staying up. hopefully next season will be a lot better and we will be safe with three games to go ;D

Offline 1-868

• Haters love me
« Reply #14 on: April 30, 2006, 01:29:45 AM »
Steve Bruce might try to bring Stern John (Method-Man)  to help him get back in the EPL again I suppose
Phenomenal, lovely atmosphere.

« Reply #15 on: April 30, 2006, 09:02:55 AM »
haul allyuh ass Birmingham...ah  hope allyuh geh relegated again next season >:(

I hope so too!!

Fire fuh Steve Bruce for choosing Emile Heskey over Stern John and Dwight Yorke!!