May 17, 2024, 09:01:36 PM

Author Topic: Arsenal's Eduardo suffers broken leg from horrific tackle  (Read 32078 times)

Re: Do refs take some blame for Eduardo?
« Reply #90 on: February 25, 2008, 10:25:17 AM »
Hard and rash tackles have been a fundamental characteristic of the English league...

Does any one of you all follow the lower leagues, tackles like these happen all the time minus the media coverage and men career does end... THIS is English Football...

I know man hit meh up for my comments but if you have been following English football, you would know that these tackles are a norm... like Man U fans will remember Peter Bolesław Schmeichel throwing up after he saw the David Busst compound fracture against Dennis Irwin and Brian McClair... or Keano dishing out rash breakfoot challenge on many an opponent... Or the Crazy Gang of Wimbeldon or defenders like Neil Ruddock, Winterburn and Adams, if you saw some of the tackles those men hit back in the days, you would have thought they have loose screws... or something... because they were going to end men careers. What about Gazza stamp on ah man chest... deliberately... What about Pearce break leg, all yuh see that... What about Thatchers deliberate elbow last year... It comes with the territory of being an EPL fan... you expect these things in games, dirty as they may be..

The rough aspect of EPL has been an allure to many a fan, crazy or not, these kinda brash tackles..even though the modern day game has produced quicker, speedier and more skillful players, the EPL will always have these plays... and the refs will dish out a yellow or a red as he sees fit... Managers will complaint or say it's unfortunate, just like fans alike... we praise Keano but look at the tackles that he hit man... and he's a hero, genius, villain, and inspiration...

In my opinion the refs have to satisfy the general public, the players and still make bread in a day... and his means of arbitration is in the form of two colours....
« Last Edit: February 25, 2008, 10:31:38 AM by forever trini »

Re: Wenger retracts call to ban Taylor
« Reply #91 on: February 25, 2008, 10:29:19 AM »
Dah manager really say de sending off was "harsh"?

WTF??  :o :o

« Reply #92 on: February 25, 2008, 10:38:14 AM »
Eduardo foot will heal no problem.

They have bionic foots available now a days.
have no fear.

Loot at Cisse he foot break bad just so and he was back playing.

The only thing is ankle and ligaments which take longer to heal, Bones heal up quite well.

men coming hard and jamming hard it is a sad but true part of the game.

« Reply #93 on: February 25, 2008, 10:39:49 AM »
 I for one think that it was a horrible tackle....they should ban taylor for as long as Eduardo out of the game...That was really nasty .....but ...but... What goes around does come around....When Nani juggle the ball a few times mister Flamini jump in to break his foot with the intent to hurt him and Arsenal try to condone that BS...Not two weeks pass good and this happen to Arsenal...I hope Eduardo get well soon...He is a great player and he will be missed

« Reply #94 on: February 25, 2008, 10:41:34 AM »

They have bionic foots available now a days.
have no fear.

Offline ttcom

• us/trini/jamaican
Re: Arsenal's Eduardo suffers broken leg from horrific tackle
« Reply #95 on: February 25, 2008, 11:12:34 AM »
ESPNsoccernet.com

Specialist claims Eduardo could have lost foot

Eduardo da Silva could have lost his left foot had medical staff not been so prompt in treating his horrific leg break, according to a specialist.

The Arsenal striker is recovering from emergency surgery after a sickening tackle from Birmingham defender Martin Taylor in Saturday's Barclays Premier League match at St Andrews.

Osteopath and physiotherapist Tim Allardyce revealed that any delay in attending to such an injury would likely result in amputation.

He said on BBC Radio Five Live: 'You can lose the foot, simple as. Once the foot dislocates like that, it can badly damage the blood vessels and it's very, very serious.

'The foot needs to be relocated immediately or almost immediately to save it and emergency surgery is completely necessary.'

Allardyce warned Croatia international Eduardo he faces a long road back to fitness and fears he may never fully recover.

'Imagine your worst ankle sprain and make it about 10 times worse and you're getting close to where Eduardo is,' Allardyce said.

'He could be out for several months. We'd expect a normal person to be out for about six months.

'With the level of fitness he'll need to get back to, it could be anywhere around the nine months mark.'

He added: 'Potentially, the bones will heal but there's all the other damage around the area, such as the ligament damage, the tendon damage, the soft tissue damage, the damage to the joint capsule.

'He's going to have to do an awful lot of work to regain full mobility and strength to the ankle to get him up to the standard of playing international football. Whether he can do that or not, I'm not sure.'

Even if Eduardo makes a complete physical recovery, Allardyce is also concerned about any lasting psychological trauma.

'Once you've sustained such a serious injury, you'll always tend to be aware of it before you regain full strength and confidence,' he said.

'It will have a big psychological effect, certainly for the next year, maybe for several months after that.'
Stupidity is an elemental force for which no earthquake is a match."
-Karl Kraus

« Reply #96 on: February 25, 2008, 12:22:16 PM »
Expect it! Yes, I expect it. But dat doh mean I have to like it or even respect it! And because ah dat I will continue to say man should get card and send off fuh dem kinda tackles!!

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #97 on: February 25, 2008, 12:32:37 PM »
that was probably taylors first tackle fo the game

i am certain he did not mean to break his leg but his tackling technique was certainly going to break soemones foot

NO STUDS UP

until reffs send off players EVERY SINGLE TIME thsi shit will continue

thierry got it on the world cup before last, and rigthly so two footed studs up

factors in the break, and most likely common denominators in most breaks; studs were planted foot down 9resistance to incoming force, acute angle, force directed on a small area, eduardo was too fast for taylor,

toe down when yuh tackle ppl

toes down
instep only NO STUDS UP

i have passed my ref course and wont tolerate that tackle at all
depending on the result depends on wether you see red or yellow but you will definately get a yellow even if you miss the man
so until refs put a stamp on the game these tackles will continue to happen

and everyoen knows in recent years to slow arsenal down you have to stick a foot in, we have been kicked about the park, and started to give some back, its not right and only aurhtorities managers and refs can eliminate it

players wil continue to do things until disciplined out of it

« Reply #98 on: February 25, 2008, 05:25:39 PM »
Thinkin it over...

how the hell does Eduardo possibly comeback to any form of football, far less international football, far less specifically one of the most physically brutal leagues, the premiership...

I mean the psychological shadow that would hang over him... haunting him constantly...

Study anytime ah man come tuh tackle him, he must geh ah flash back of that break foot tackle, anytime he prolly beat ah man with the same moves he was usin durin it... it must give him chills... and this is all  fairly optimistic simply to be talkin as if he could even start playin proper football again...

I mean physically... look at cisse, after he break his foot the first time, the second time he barely even seem to get ah really vicious kick and yet...

SNAP.

what happens if the man come back and it happen again... how do you go through that again.

i'm 99.99% sure this post wont get back to the man, thus, I hadda say wuh I feel is de truth...

de man done.

and its more than just a tragedy, not just cuz he played for my Arsenal.

But he played fuh ah country that has so much political strife... tuh take that kinda shining star away from them.

tuh take away that hope... its crushing to ah whole nation...

Imagine if ah man did that to Kenwyne... I literally think i'd cry... literally.

« Reply #99 on: February 25, 2008, 05:50:06 PM »
Thinkin it over...

how the hell does Eduardo possibly comeback to any form of football, far less international football, far less specifically one of the most physically brutal leagues, the premiership...

I mean the psychological shadow that would hang over him... haunting him constantly...

Study anytime ah man come tuh tackle him, he must geh ah flash back of that break foot tackle, anytime he prolly beat ah man with the same moves he was usin durin it... it must give him chills... and this is all  fairly optimistic simply to be talkin as if he could even start playin proper football again...

I mean physically... look at cisse, after he break his foot the first time, the second time he barely even seem to get ah really vicious kick and yet...

SNAP.

what happens if the man come back and it happen again... how do you go through that again.

i'm 99.99% sure this post wont get back to the man, thus, I hadda say wuh I feel is de truth...

de man done.

But he played fuh ah country that has so much political strife... tuh take that kinda shining star away from them.

Imagine if ah man did that to Kenwyne... I literally think i'd cry... literally.

Jefferz....

Think about Henrik Larsson who had a very similar injury and how he come back to the top of his game..

Cisse came back good the first time around too, although i feel that fellah just have brittle bones...

Right now is all about holding onto de positives..

Eduardo go be back man.

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #100 on: February 25, 2008, 05:51:40 PM »
in the mean time i hope ade and bendtner resolve the issues cus van persie about a month away from seeing him play in prem or champs

Taylor receives death threats after horror tackle
« Reply #101 on: February 25, 2008, 06:03:05 PM »
   click to print this page

RivalsDM

Updated: February 25, 2008, 2:07 PM EST

Birmingham defender Martin Taylor has been the subject of death threats after his challenge on Eduardo left the Arsenal star with a broken leg.
Croatian fans, angry at Eduardo being ruled out of the Euro 2008 finals, are among supporters who have posted threatening messages on various internet sites.

One website specifically set up after the incident during Saturday's 2-2 draw at St Andrews has already received 27,000 messages directed at the former Blackburn player.

And security personnel had to restrain Croatian journalists who ran onto the road and tried to get into Taylor's car as he left the club's Wast Hills training complex on Monday.

But Taylor has received many messages of support from people inside the game of football which Blues manager Alex McLeish claimed had helped to limit the psychological damage he could have suffered.

"There has been a furore over the incident which has probably gone too far and we would like to draw a line under it now and let Martin get on with his career and hope Eduardo gets back as soon as possible," McLeish told Sky Sports.

"I've heard about the death threats and you are going to ridiculous proportions if that is the case. You've just got to get on with it and dismiss those things. There are some crazy people in the world.

"I think Martin's wife was upset at the weekend but he has come in this morning and got on with his life again thanks to the support of everyone who knew it wasn't a challenge with malicious intending to injure a player.

"We've had to rally around Martin because he was mentally shattered by the whole experience. I would have been worried about him coming into training today had we not received the support from football people the length and breadth of the country.

"But the fact he has had such magnificent support has helped Martin psychologically because I felt he could be damaged by this incident as well.

"We have shown as a club we are right behind the big fellow. We have rallied around him, got him back into training. It was important he did that as soon as possible."

Gunners boss Arsene Wenger retracted his post-match statement about Taylor whom he claimed "should never play football again."

McLeish said: "The fact Arsene has retracted them tells you the whole story. I did say after the game that maybe Arsene has acted in the heat of the moment and Arsene admitted he had done that.

"We've got to let that lie now, move forward and Martin has got to get on with his football career again and we are all right behind the big fellow 100 per cent and we are very gutted for him and Eduardo."

McLeish admitted that Taylor may have been unable to continue during Saturday's game had he not been given a red card by referee Mike Dean after the third minute incident.

He added: "Martin was horrified and, if the referee had given him only a yellow card rather than a red one, I don't know if he could have played on anyway. You just had to see the look on his face.

"He was horrified and it affected our players as well as the Arsenal ones. You've got to move on but it was certainly an horrendous injury and some of the players were horrified by what they had seen.

"I've seen similar injuries. Henrik Larsson had one for Celtic against Lyon and I could only think it is something similar to that.

"Henrik came back from that and showed he was a world class player. Eduardo is a world class player and he is definitely in the right hands and I am sure he will come back."

Birmingham striker James McFadden is backing Taylor to put behind him the trauma of unintentionally breaking Eduardo's leg.

He said: "Martin is not the type of player to go and deliberately injure someone. He doesn't have a history of being malicious.

"Martin is a gentle giant and to suggest otherwise is ridiculous. Martin has to live with the fact he has broken someone's leg unintentionally.

"Martin is cut up but he is a professional and he will bounce back."

Taylor will have to wait at least a month before he can return to action after he collected an automatic three-match ban for his sending off.

Read this article at:
http://msn.foxsports.com/soccer/story/7839236/Taylor-receives-death-threats-after-horror-tackle   click to print this page

© 2008 Fox Sports Interactive

« Reply #102 on: February 25, 2008, 06:20:38 PM »
Thinkin it over...

SNAP.

de man done.

I think you are getting a little emotional here.

The fact is... his biggest enemy is actually infection. His fracture will heal. Given his age and health status he will most likely heal. The issue with open/compound fractures of the tibia is the high incidence of infection. Actually, the most important factor in success of treatment is getting antibiotics as soon as possible, and i'm sure he got that. The likelyhood is that he may require another operation to washout the wound. Having said that, our success dealing with these injuries has improved drastically in the past 20years. He also has the soft tissue (muscle, nerve etc) component of the injury to deal with. The prognosis there again relates to the bone healing. The faster the bone heals, the faster he gets into rehab, the less atrophy and scarring.

The good thing is that from the pictures/reports he fractured the tibia and fibula without it extending into the ankle joint itself. An injury into the joint would have been much worse. Lots of people have these injuries and recover. I'm sure he'll get the best care available so the odds are in his favor.

Say a little prayer. It helps.

« Reply #103 on: February 25, 2008, 06:56:21 PM »

Exactly, yuh want to break up men foot, then be prepared for men to come lookin for yuh.

« Reply #104 on: February 25, 2008, 06:58:37 PM »
Get well soon Eduardo..God Bless

SM
Man Utd Fan

Eduardo faces nine-month lay-off

Arsenal hope Croatian striker Eduardo will make a full recovery from his horrific leg break in nine months.

The 25-year-old suffered a fractured left fibula and an open dislocation of his left ankle in a challenge with Birmingham's Martin Taylor on Saturday.

Eduardo will have his leg in plaster for the next six to eight weeks before beginning a rehabilitation programme.

Arsenal say the Croatia international, signed for £7.5m in 2007, should be running again in six months.

McLeish reflects on Eduardo injury
Interview: Physio Jim Walker

After sustaining the injury Eduardo was taken to Selly Oak Hospital in Birmingham and underwent surgery on Saturday before being transferred to a London-based hospital on Sunday.

Taylor has been targeted by some angry fans - including from Croatia - who have posted threatening messages on various internet sites.

And security personnel had to restrain Croatian journalists who ran on to the road and tried to get into Taylor's car as he left the club's Wast Hills training complex on Monday.

But Croatia manager Slaven Bilic, who will now be without his prolific striker for the European Championship finals this summer, has been quick to defend the 28-year-old centre-half.

Eduardo's a world class player, he's definitely in the right hands and I'm sure he will come back

Alex McLeish, Birmingham manager

"The injury made the tackle look bad," Billic told BBC Radio 5 Live. "You see many tackles like that, almost every week."

"That's perhaps wrong for football but I'm sure Martin Taylor is a sportsman and he wanted to play the ball.

"On another occasion Eduardo could have received a worse tackle and got away without injury - everything went wrong but Eduardo knows Taylor didn't do it deliberately."

The incident occurred early on in Arsenal's 2-2 draw at St Andrew's and Birmingham manager Alex McLeish says the experience has been difficult for Taylor psychologically.

But McLeish does not believe Taylor's straight red card was warranted.

"The fact that (some commentators were surprised at the red card) tells the story itself - it was seen as just another normal tackle in a game of football where there is contact," he said.

"Martin was horrified. There certainly wasn't a big protest over the red card from him but he's seen the damage that was done to Eduardo and I could see it in his face.

David Busst
I had 20 operations on my right leg, with 10 operations in the first 12 days

Former Coventry defender David Busst

"Even if the referee had given him a yellow card I don't know if he could have played on any way."

"We've had to rally round Martin Taylor because he is mentally shattered by the whole experience."

Former Rangers and Scotland boss McLeish recalled the way ex-Celtic striker Henrik Larsson came back from a horrific leg break in 1999 and is hopeful for Eduardo.

"Henrik Larsson received a bad one a few years ago in Lyon while playing for Celtic and when I saw Eduardo I could think it was something similar.

"The technology and medical treatments nowadays meant Henrik Larsson's was a success and he came back to show he was a world class player.

"Eduardo's a world class player and he's definitely in the right hands and I'm sure he will come back."

Meanwhile former Coventry defender David Busst is confident Eduardo, who has scored 12 goals in his debut season for Arsenal, will play again if there are no complications in his recovery.

Busst's career was ended by a similar injury to Eduardo's which he suffered against Manchester United in 1996.

606: DEBATE
Post your goodwill messages

"If there's no complications, I'm sure he will be back playing again," Busst told BBC Radio 5 Live.

"It wasn't the break that stopped me playing again but the infections I caught after that.

"I suffered a double compound fracture of the tibia and fibula and had 20 operations on my right leg, with 10 operations in the first 12 days.

"I'd like to reassure Eduardo and tell him not to let people compare his injury to mine because I did have to give up.

"It was the infection, muscle and tissue damage that stopped me from playing again.

"They will have closed up where the bone had come out from the skin and pinned the bones.

"If they have done all that without any infection then he will be back playing when the bone has healed in about 12 months."

Offline THETRUFF

« Reply #105 on: February 25, 2008, 08:24:26 PM »
The Truff is....Taylor was late on his tackle....his technique of tackling studs up is not new to the premiership and the sad thing is that Eduardo leg was firmly planted on the ground...he never had the chance to attempt skipping the wildness that unfortunately broke his leg...Im not sure how many forumnites saw the Sky Sports animation of what happened to Eduardo's leg during that tackle....Its sad...more than a footballer these ppl we watch week in and out have families and are normal human beings....Its just terrible...and as mentioned in prior posts...have happened before...and will happen again.....all we can do is wish Eduardo a full recovery...and secondly...he may be able to return to full football at the highest level....The psychological part of his recovery....i think...will go hand in hand with his physical progression....the better and faster his ankle heals...the better he will feel.....remember Chech is currently playing with a metal plate in his skull and he's doing well......the football in the EPL is at 150 mph....and the aggression and intensity is very high....sadly things like this happen

« Reply #106 on: February 25, 2008, 10:23:49 PM »

The fact is... his biggest enemy is actually infection. His fracture will heal. Given his age and health status he will most likely heal. The issue with open/compound fractures of the tibia is the high incidence of infection. Actually, the most important factor in success of treatment is getting antibiotics as soon as possible, and i'm sure he got that. The likelyhood is that he may require another operation to washout the wound. Having said that, our success dealing with these injuries has improved drastically in the past 20years. He also has the soft tissue (muscle, nerve etc) component of the injury to deal with. The prognosis there again relates to the bone healing. The faster the bone heals, the faster he gets into rehab, the less atrophy and scarring.

The good thing is that from the pictures/reports he fractured the tibia and fibula without it extending into the ankle joint itself. An injury into the joint would have been much worse. Lots of people have these injuries and recover. I'm sure he'll get the best care available so the odds are in his favor.

good stuff...I too was a bit skeptical of his prognosis, but good to see that despite the nature of the injury that the double-compound fracture can fully heal.  I also took note of the fact that it was a clean break above the joint and thought that an injury to the actual joint would have been a lot more critical...but in the end I dismissed any real deliberation of that, thinking it would be moot in the end.

Glad to see that I was being pessimistic and that to hear that he has a viable chance to return to form next year.

How strong will the bone be afterwards, will that point of fracture be any structurally weaker than the rest of his tibia/fibula?

« Reply #107 on: February 26, 2008, 07:48:21 AM »
lots of asshole talk about the EPL being 150 mph, how dangerous the tackles are all the time.  how players fly in with studs up, blah blah, blah+shit, shit and more shit talk.

To convince me of thgat asshole theory, I want to see stats that show MANY players suffer dese kinda injuries, in de three top leagues in the UK.

Without dat, jes accept de fact dat it was ah c**tish tackle dat coulda cause ah man to lose he f**king foot and stop trying tuh justify de ka-ka hole shit some ah allyuh talking.

steups

and furthermore if dat league so wild as many promoting why de f**k we glad when we players go dey?

Why we sending youngsters dey tuh learn de game?  why anyone happy Leston Paul goin dey tuh learn de trade?

steups is assness allyuh want tuh talk tuh make allyuh c**tish statements seem ok.

dais all.
« Last Edit: February 26, 2008, 07:50:46 AM by truetrini »

« Reply #108 on: February 26, 2008, 08:17:24 AM »
lots of asshole talk about the EPL being 150 mph, how dangerous the tackles are all the time.  how players fly in with studs up, blah blah, blah+shit, shit and more shit talk.

To convince me of thgat asshole theory, I want to see stats that show MANY players suffer dese kinda injuries, in de three top leagues in the UK.

Without dat, jes accept de fact dat it was ah c**tish tackle dat coulda cause ah man to lose he f**king foot and stop trying tuh justify de ka-ka hole shit some ah allyuh talking.

steups

and furthermore if dat league so wild as many promoting why de f**k we glad when we players go dey?

Why we sending youngsters dey tuh learn de game?  why anyone happy Leston Paul goin dey tuh learn de trade?

steups is assness allyuh want tuh talk tuh make allyuh c**tish statements seem ok.

dais all.

Why don't you tell us how you really feel ?  ;D

« Reply #109 on: February 26, 2008, 12:45:53 PM »

good stuff...I too was a bit skeptical of his prognosis, but good to see that despite the nature of the injury that the double-compound fracture can fully heal.  I also took note of the fact that it was a clean break above the joint and thought that an injury to the actual joint would have been a lot more critical...but in the end I dismissed any real deliberation of that, thinking it would be moot in the end.

Glad to see that I was being pessimistic and that to hear that he has a viable chance to return to form next year.

How strong will the bone be afterwards, will that point of fracture be any structurally weaker than the rest of his tibia/fibula?

this is most of what i was wondering about...

« Reply #110 on: February 26, 2008, 02:07:08 PM »

steups

I can’t talk for anyone else but I don’t subscribe to the notion that the league is much rougher, faster then other big leagues and that these contributed to the injury.

These injuries are so rare that you will never have a sampling big enough o draw correlations between league speed, physicality etc and potential career-ending injuries.

That being said I do believe that tackles that could cause these kinds of injuries happen all the time in England and Spain and Holland etc. It was a bad tackle but bad tackles happen. It just so happen that this was one of the rare cases where a player gets seriously injured, and because the injury is horrific people are getting overly emotional.

I have seen several injuries like that, sometimes the player wasn’t even tackled so the notion that this tackle is such a violent aberration from the norm does not wash with me.

I have less of a problem with this tackle, than players trying to take revenge on each other on the pitch or Ben Thatcher attacking people with his elbow. That stuff has nothing to do with football.

Why we sending youngsters dey tuh learn de game? why anyone happy Leston Paul goin dey tuh learn de trade?

dais all.

We glad that our players are going there because football is their chosen profession and they get a chance to play at a high level. The fact that career –ending injury is a possibility in pro football is a non-issue because it is part of the profession.

If it wasn’t a plausible risk there wouldn’t be insurance. Saying that we shouldn’t be happy for a player to play pro ball in England is like saying that yuh don’t want a big work in the oil industry because yuh could die on a rig. The risk is a part of the job.

« Reply #111 on: February 26, 2008, 02:13:16 PM »

There is not too much evidence because these injuries are rare but if he comes back there is no reason to to be more concerced than any other injury.

Larsson get injured back in 1999 and went on to play his best football afterwards.

Alan Smith still playing two years after his injury, no problem.

Cisse come back and break his foot again but it was the other foot so yuh could make the case the foot actually get stronger (just kidding).

Let's wish the man the best and be optimistic and not wish doom and gloom on him in our desire to be sympathetic.

« Reply #112 on: February 26, 2008, 05:16:36 PM »

There is not too much evidence because these injuries are rare but if he comes back there is no reason to to be more concerced than any other injury.

Larsson get injured back in 1999 and went on to play his best football afterwards.

Cisse come back and break his foot again but it was the other foot so yuh could make the case the foot actually get stronger (just kidding).

Let's wish the man the best and be optimistic and not wish doom and gloom on him in our desire to be sympathetic.

mhm, i understand what you're trying to say and yet, remember i wished him no doom or gloom... while i feel that i see little hope, I certainly wish him nothing less the best.

« Reply #113 on: February 26, 2008, 06:23:42 PM »
LMAO my friend is such an idiot. He know how big an Arsenal fan I am. So he just said my face is in the paper how I'm wanted for sending hate mail to Taylor  :rotfl: :rotfl:
Idiot  :rotfl:

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #114 on: February 26, 2008, 06:27:48 PM »
off the arsenal website, goes with what i have been saying, that type of tackle IS A NO NO < AND SHOULD ALWAYS BE RED CARDED UNTIL PLAYERS STOP IT

By Richard Clarke

Nicklas Bendtner believes Arsenal need to move on quickly from their "terrible" day at Birmingham on Saturday.

The match was overshadowed by Eduardo's injury in the opening few minutes. As suspected on the day, the Croatian striker had suffered a badly broken leg - a huge blow to the Club's chances of winning a trophy this season. However it was to get worse at the end of the game when a debatable penalty saw the visitors pegged back to 2-2 after they had dominated the second half.

Arsenal are still three points clear at the top of the table but Bendtner feels they must try to leave the weekend's unfortunate events at St Andrews and not take them forward.

"Everything went wrong," said the 20-year-old. "We need to recover quickly and start coming out on top again. We can't keep thinking about this day because it has just been terrible.

"We were thinking about everything in the dressing room afterward. There were a lot of disappointments. We had a draw when we have to win and of course what happened to Edu is worse. It's just not the best of days."

Bendtner is in a unique position to assess Saturday's incident having played with Eduardo for Arsenal this year and with Martin Taylor while on loan at Birmingham last season. He was adamant there was no malice in the challenge.

"He's not a player like that," said the Dane. "He's really calm. He's not one who goes in to hurt people, never. But in football things like this happen.

"But, even though he is not one who does bad tackles, it was a bad tackle and he deserved to be sent off," he concluded. "The referee had no choice."

Offline THETRUFF

« Reply #115 on: February 26, 2008, 06:37:37 PM »
In response to truetrini....firstly I am an Arsenal fan and my fiance is Croatian....im going to Zagreb this yr...and I was crying looking at the footage....so take it easy buddy....I am not trying to justify anything....all im saying for those who have ever played in a real football match is that football is a contact sport....i had both my ankle and wrist broken from wild tackles....if you looked at the footage properly you would see that Taylor started sliding into the tackle when the ball was in  front of him....however..Eduardo is a highly technical and skillful player and within a fraction of a second he had moved the ball several feet away from Taylor...but Taylor had already committed to the tackle. The fact that Eduardo foot was planted firmly on the ground...and Taylor completely mistimed his tackle was the reason why his foot got broken. This level of football is not a Sunday sweat in the savanah....these guys play extremely fast...i wonder if you ever saw a premiership or top level game live...i did...the shit moves very very very very quickly.....Its not like Taylor woke up in the morning and said...hmmm let me go and break an Arsenal player foot....do you know as a very large defender..in a 9 yr career he only got 1 red card...my suggestion is that before you talk an emotional bag of nonsense..get your facts right....do some research...learn to write proper statements...then holla at the truff...

Offline GunnerStunner

• Mr Gunner
« Reply #116 on: February 26, 2008, 08:47:58 PM »
taylor just stuck in a tackle

a poorlly timed, terrible technique, and saying it happens all the time but without the break week in week out is a weak arguement

reffs have to crack down EVERY time a tackle like that is shown, yellow or red refs call but everytime

« Reply #117 on: February 26, 2008, 09:24:34 PM »

I dunno where you getting this doom and gloom talk from fella, I ask dumpalewie because he would know better than most and I'm genuinely curious as to the question I asked given the nature of the break.  I definitely wish Eduardo the best  :beermug:

« Reply #118 on: February 26, 2008, 09:32:58 PM »
taylor just stuck in a tackle

a poorlly timed, terrible technique, and saying it happens all the time but without the break week in week out is a weak arguement

reffs have to crack down EVERY time a tackle like that is shown, yellow or red refs call but everytime

Funny that this didn't come up last week when Flamini try to damage Nani in a fit of petulance.

When exactly did this crusade of yours start?

I have been holding back from pointing fingers so far because it is unfair to Eduardo. He is not a dirty player and by no means deserves what happened to him, no Arsenal player does, but the hypocrisy of some Arsenal fans in the wake of this injury is really too much.

Apparently dropping 2 points to Brum is a massive tragedy even though their lead is still larger than is was just two weeks ago and there is still a third of the season to play. All I hearing is weeping and wailing and how the team has been victimized, how the only way to play Arsenal is to kick them. Now opposing players should get indefinite bans when Arsenal players get injured.

« Reply #119 on: February 26, 2008, 09:39:40 PM »
I dunno where you getting this doom and gloom talk from fella, I ask dumpalewie because he would know better than most and I'm genuinely curious as to the question I asked given the nature of the break.  I definitely wish Eduardo the best  :beermug:

Quoted your post because it put Jefferz question in context but I was not referring to you.

Rather was referring to several opinions on this board, other boards and on the radio that express the sentiment that his career is "probably over", so much so that a potentially career ending injury is now a likely career ending injury.