May 10, 2024, 08:25:38 AM

Author Topic: 'Star boy' football not working  (Read 2358 times)

'Star boy' football not working
« on: March 10, 2005, 09:36:57 AM »
Letter to the Trinidad Express

I state the obvious when I say that football is a team sport. It is a sport that is played by 11 players that have to be molded into a cohesive unit where players develop a "sixth" sense with the other players on the team ... they can pass the ball knowing that another player will be there to receive it.

This unit/team plays and trains together and then the big day comes and some of these players are dropped from the team because Dwight and Stern and a few others who are professionals in other countries are flying down to play in the big games and the ones who have been training and are part of the team are made to sit on the bench!

What St Clair and coaches before are doing is destroying and demoralising the group by bringing in the "star boys". It has not worked and this will continue.

What player will put his heart into a position when he knows that he will be replaced by a "star boy"?

I say build a team and then let them play as a team and leave the "star boys" out.

Gordon Dalla Costa

via e-mail

Re: 'Star boy' football not working
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2005, 11:37:57 AM »
Is it just or are plenty people writing in to the papers to voice their interest and concern about the football? Or is it that the press have anagenda and are printing everything they receive?

Offline rocwell

« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2005, 11:57:05 AM »
A silly letter.  The 'star boys' are some of our best players.  What's going to happen when you have your all local based team, and inevitably some of them get contracts abroad?  Are you going to stop playing them now?  You have to play your best guys, end of story.  Do you think the US isn't going to play Beasly anymore? Or Donovan after he goes back to Europe?
What would Jamaica in '98 been without the UB40 set?  What would Costa Rica be without Wanchope?

Do people not realize that players from all many countries have to go through the exact same thing?  Watch when Brazil has to play qualifiers, Ronaldo et al will be arriving in South America 3 days before the game.  You won't hear anyone saying "lets not play Ronaldo, Ronaldinho, Kaka, Adriano... "

the problem is global, the large pro clubs would like to play an ever increasing number of games per year, all in the name of revenue, and FIFA needs to do whatever it can to ensure the survival of the International Game.  The unified calendar is a step in the right direction.

« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2005, 01:54:09 PM »
yeah i missing something but all the countries all over God's earth do the same thing and it works most of the time.
and it will always be the case when players get contracts abroad.  only team that is the exception may be mexico.

« Reply #4 on: March 10, 2005, 05:13:55 PM »
Whappenin really is............ we star boys are not stars.

They feel they good but in the big picture none of them besides Shaka right now are Class players.

Latas and Yorke when in prime were class. The rest of men on the squad now are average squad players for their respective European teams. EXCEPT ANDREWS, who is a beast for Rangers.

All ANdrews need is a good partner in the back and that player will make him look good. Its just nobody on his level and nobody there to cover his deficiencies. Besides in Scotland his role is to butt out air ball and he does that job damn good.

So essentially what the TT team need is 11 men to perform 11 specific roles good. So far only Shaka does do he job properly.
The rest of them still struggling, imagine we have a wing back system with men who doe and cyar overlap, and to make matters worse cyar cross a ball to save they life, with no pressure on them.

Our top striker Mr John.....cannot take a ball and run at a defense beat a man one v one or start any form of quick attack. Its a trap and screen specie with he. He good at walking about, holding he waist and Falling down. Right now is a good bench he need in he tail from Bertie..

We have a midfield/defence that cyar mark and who point and shadow and jockey men when they running at us instead of stepping up and breaking down the play.

Lastly I ent mean to cry down our players but really compared to other GOOD National teams.....man for man they shitty, maybe not in terms of skill. But in terms of intelligence, playing simple and executing instructions. They ent have a clue.

This is why USA with they average players could match up and beat nearly every team in the world now with they manufactured robot football.

Lastly nobody respect we or we star boys.....is pure kick and blade, and our star boy doe play better when they get kick like Ronaldinho and Zidane. Our star boy does fold up like roti and shout and argue with they team mates and make excuse in the inteview after.