May 03, 2024, 09:45:31 PM

Author Topic: 2015 Women's World Cup - Canada  (Read 31409 times)

Re: 2015 Women's World Cup - Canada
« Reply #90 on: June 14, 2015, 10:09:36 AM »
Agony for South Korea as Costa Rica slot late equaliser
The Guardian

Costa Rica scored in the 89th minute to grab a 2-2 draw with South Korea at the women’s World Cup on Saturday, a result which kept alive both teams’ hopes of advancing from Group E.

South Korea had recovered from a goal down to lead 2-1 and looked on the verge of securing their first World Cup win before Karla Villalobos ran onto a fine pass in the box and stroked home the equaliser from eight yards out.

The Montreal match was open, fast and skilful and a big improvement over the poor 1-0 win that Brazil had earlier scraped over Spain to qualify from the group with six points.

Costa Rica are now in second place with two points while South Korea and Spain have one apiece. Costa Rica play Brazil in their final game while South Korea play Spain.

Costa Rica took the lead in the 17th minute when Melissa Herrera latched onto a long free-kick into the box to lob the ball into the net.

The Koreans tied the match in the 21st minute when Ji So-yeon scored from the penalty spot after the Italian referee awarded the kick following an innocuous collision in the box.

Jeon Ga-eul then put South Korea ahead in the 25th minute, meeting a cross from the right with a lovely cushioned header.

Earlier, England defeated Mexico 2-1 to put themselves on course to progress while Brazil and Colombia also posted wins.

Melissa Herrera celebrates scoring

Costa Rica late show denies Korea Republic
FIFA.com

An expertly-taken 89th minute equaliser from Karla Villalobos earned Costa Rica a dramatic 2-2 draw against Korea Republic, denying the east Asians a first win at this level. Though outplayed for periods of the match Las Ticas played with trademark resilience, and their eleventh-hour strike blows the group wide open.

Melissa Herrera opened the scoring on 17 minutes for Costa Rica after prodding the ball goalwards as Korea failed to deal with a long ball, with goal-line technology confirming a clear goal. However, the Taeguk Ladies equalised from the penalty spot just four minutes later as Ji Soyun slotted home.

Just four more minutes on and Korea Republic were in the lead as Kang Yumi delivered a perfect cross from the right allowing Jeon Gaeul to glance home a textbook header.

The second half was an end-to-end affair as both teams sort to press at every opportunity on the Olympic Stadium’s wide open expanses. Both sides had numerous half-chances with the best coming from Costa Rica’s Lixy Rodriguez who fired a long-range effort onto the corner of the frame of the goal.

Korea seemed set for a hard-fought win but Villalobos netted after a well-timed run behind the defence and coolly finished past the exposed Jungmi Kim.

The result leaves Costa Rica second on two points, with Korea Republic and Spain on one apiece. Brazil guaranteed their progression earlier in the day with a 1-0 win over Spain.

Match Highlights

Amelia Valverde, Costa Rica coach
It was a very open and competitive match. Our slow start cost us dearly, and then we conceded two goals. But we made adjustments and got what we wanted, which was to maintain possession of the ball. We dominated the second half and were able to respond – the girls’ achievement was wonderful for our country. We’re very proud of them. At the end of the day, aside from the technical side of things and the tactical changes that we made, the players gave their all, and it was that fundamental aspect that got us the result.

Yoon Dukyeo, Korea Republic coach
Conceding a last-minute equaliser leaves you feeling as though you lost the game. We’re disappointed to not have given our fans a result that their support warranted. But we’ve still picked up a crucial point ahead of the final group game. My players tired towards the end of the match, while our opponents went on the attack fairly aggressively. On top of that, we missed too many chances during the 90 minutes. 

« Reply #91 on: June 15, 2015, 02:22:34 PM »
Nigeria's Ugo Njoku gets ban
BBC Sport

Nigeria's Ugo Njoku has been given a three-match ban for elbowing Australia's Sam Kerr during Friday's Women's World Cup Group D match. The offence by Njoku, who came on as a substitute, went unpunished during the game, which Nigeria lost 2-0. However Fifa's disciplinary committee later examined the video footage and handed the 20-year-old the ban.

With Nigeria unlikely to progress, she will miss the final game against the US plus their next two official matches.

Earlier in the tournament France striker Camille Abily escaped punishment for a similar incident with England defender Laura Bassett.

But the referee did not penalise Abily, Fifa did not review the incident and the Football Association did not contest Fifa's decision.

Super Falcons player Ugo Njoku gets 3 game ban
TV360Nigeria

Super Falcon’s player Ugo Njoku has been banned for three games for hitting Australian midfielder Sam Kerr in the face during a clash at the Women’s World Cup,

Njoku was also fined 3 000 Swiss francs ($3 218) by world football’s governing body FIFA for making contact with Kerr’s face during the Group D clash in Winnipeg on Saturday.

The game eventually ended 2-0 with Nigeria losing.

The substitute escaped the referee’s sanction for the action in the second half but has now been punished after a post-match video assessment.

The Australian striker suffered a broken jaw from the incident.

In a statement issued by FIFA on Monday morning, it said the decision became necessary after asserting the Nigerian’s poor challenge in the game which the Super Falcons lost 2-0 on Friday.

“The FIFA Disciplinary Committee has reached a decision in the case related to Ugo Njoku of Nigeria following an incident that occurred during the FIFA Women’s World Cup Canada 2015 match between Australia and Nigeria played on 12 June 2015,” the statement reads.

“Ugo Njoku has been suspended for three matches and fined CHF 3,000 as well as being issued with a warning by the FIFA Disciplinary Committee after being found to have breached art. 48 par. 1 d) of the FIFA Disciplinary Code.

“Disciplinary proceedings had been opened in accordance with art. 77 a) of the FDC which states that the Disciplinary Committee is responsible for sanctioning serious infringements which have escaped the match officials’ attention.

“The first of the three-match suspension is to be served in the upcoming FIFA Women’s World Cup Canada 2015 fixture between Nigeria and USA on 16 June 2015, with the remaining two to be served either at any subsequent matches within the competition or, in the case that Nigeria would be eliminated, at the next official matches of the Nigerian national team in analogous application of art. 38 par. 2 lit. a) of the FDC,” it concluded.

This development means, Njoku will miss Nigeria’s final group D clash against the USA as Edwin Okon’s ladies hope for a win to reach the round of 16.

Meanwhile, Super Falcons coach Edwin Okon has spoken out against the ban of the Nigerian defender saying the ban was needless because Njoku’s actions were not deliberate.
« Last Edit: June 15, 2015, 02:27:36 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #92 on: June 16, 2015, 04:32:09 PM »
Watching Ecuador play Japan now- ah still doh see how we lost to this team- look nah and I was dey fuh the game. This Ecuadorian team is real pee wee kinda ballers.   

Commentator figure TnT was ah real rag tag team to fall to Ecuador!

« Reply #93 on: June 16, 2015, 04:41:00 PM »
Cameroon is balling vs switzerland.
They move into a next year after halftime.

The hairstyles though... ::)

« Reply #94 on: June 16, 2015, 07:52:59 PM »
Dominant Germany advance despite Thailand resistance
FIFA.com

The Europeans were quick to attack Thailand’s goal, and if it was not for the heroics of goalkeeper Waraporn Boonsing, Siliva Neid’s side could have run away with the game from the early stages. Melanie Behringer took an early shot to test Boonsing, but she safely parried the ball away, and defender Natthakarn Chinwong headed the subsequent corner kick off the line to keep it scoreless.

Thailand nearly broke free at the other end 20 minutes in. Kanjana Sung-Ngoen capitalised on a rare mistake from the German backline and the No21 raced towards goal with a quick counter-attack but she slowed down and was only able to force a corner kick, which did not result in much for the War Elephants.

Melanie Leupolz broke the deadlock four minutes later with a looping header off a corner kick, which snuck past a Thai defender on the far post to give Germany the lead. But Thailand remained resolute in their defending and Boonsing made save after save, including denying Celia Sasic twice just before the break to send Nuengrutai Srathongvian’s team into half-time still very much in the match.

However, the floodgates opened for Germany ten minutes after half-time as Lena Petermann made it 2-0 and then 3-0 in a space of two minutes, both goals coming from the substitute’s head. Sara Daebritz finished the scoring with an easy tap in after she was left unmarked by the Thai defence on the back post.

Match Highlights

Nuengrutai Srathongvian, Thailand coach
We accept Germany's experience made them a better side today. They have great confident in winning the ball in the air, which is one of our weaknesses. We gave our best effort today; their defense was very good. We still have a chance to go through. This has been a great experience for us and we have to continue to develop.

Silvia Neid, Germany coach

We rarely demonstrated superiority. We didn't keep the speed up. At 1-0 we kept worrying but our strategy was implemented better in the second half. We're happy this win means we won the group, but everything starts again in the Round of 16.

« Reply #95 on: June 16, 2015, 07:58:07 PM »
Norway outlast brave Côte d'Ivoire to seal second
FIFA.com

Norway were made to work hard before subduing Côte d'Ivoire 3-1 in Moncton to seal second place in Group B, behind Germany on goal difference.

Norway needed to wrack up a huge score if they were to overhaul Germany at the top of the standings, but despite creating a host of chances they rarely looked like completely running away with the contest.

It was a mixed match for Ada Hegerberg, who scored once in each half but missed a host of goalscoring opportunities.

Hegerberg netted on just six minutes after deftly firing home from an acute angle. Later in the half the 19-year-old saw one notable effort saved by goalkeeper Cynthia Djohore, before then proceeding to mishit her shot with an open net looming.

Norway and Hegerberg doubled their tally on 62 minutes as, while veteran midfielder Solveig Gulbrandsen made the most of a goalmouth scramble to add to her impressive FIFA Women’s World Cup™ record with another goal five minutes later.

The Ivorians, to their credit, battled tirelessly and were soon rewarded as diminutive forward Ange Nguessan produced a great run and shot to set off wild celebrations.

Match Highlights

Clementine Toure, Côte d'Ivoire
I feel very emotional after the performance that my players put in. It’s so pleasing to see how much progress they’ve made in the three matches they’ve played here. I’ve got no regrets; I’m more than satisfied. We lost because of mistakes caused by a lack of experience, but overall, it was a match that taught us a lot.

Even Pellerud, Norway coach
We’re happy to have won and to have gone through in second place. We played well today, but only in patches. I’d like to congratulate Côte d'Ivoire on the progress they’ve made – they’ve got some top-notch players, and they made life difficult for us today. 

« Reply #96 on: June 16, 2015, 08:03:41 PM »
Canada top group despite Netherlands draw
FIFA.com

An early Ashley Lawrence goal seemed enough for Canada to earn victory, only for the Netherlands’ Kirsten van de Ven to equalise with three minutes remaining to leave the hosts topping the group and their opponents awaiting their fate as a likely third-best qualifier.

Canada opened in forceful fashion with Sophie Schmidt looping a header on to the crossbar, but the Canucks didn’t have to wait long for their goal. Lawrence profited as the Netherlands failed to clear their lines, with the young midfielder guiding the ball into the net from 15 yards on the ten-minute mark.

The lively Lawrence was a constant menace, firing in multiple efforts, including one near miss just after the goal. With every permutation in the group standings still possible, the match evened itself out as play invariably switched from end to end. The Dutch forward trio, backed by No10 Danielle van de Donk, always looking likely to do damage.

Despite the endeavour from both teams, genuine goalscoring opportunities were at a premium during the second half, and both defences looked strong in keeping with previous matches in the group.

Canada goalkeeper Erin McLeod, who had been a spectator for large chunks of the match, pulled off a fine save to deny Manon Melis as she bore down on goal with six minutes remaining.

But the Netherlands were not to be denied and substitute Van De Ven drew her side level after being sent free by Melis, as McLeod was finally beaten for the first time at the tournament much to the disappointment of the Montreal crowd.

Match Highlights

Roger Reijners, Netherlands coach
We played well, generally speaking. Although we conceded a goal early on, we recovered, regained our composure and began to play our game. Unfortunately, we just weren’t able to take advantage of the chances we created for ourselves. We did enough to earn a goal, but we just couldn’t get that final touch for the win that we needed, and so now we have to wait.

John Herdman, Canada coach
Top of the group – that’s a job well done. We wanted to finish first so that we could return to BC Place. The team continues to fight hard. The Netherlands were amazing and I’m pretty sure we all put on a great show for the fans here today. I’m very proud of all these young players. But we know that we need to work on a few things, because the games that are coming up will be even harder.

« Reply #97 on: June 16, 2015, 08:09:32 PM »
Chinese, Kiwis draw as Football Ferns say farewell
FIFA.com

A very even battle between China PR and New Zealand ended 2-2 in Winnipeg, which was enough to send the Chinese through to the knockout phase of the FIFA Women’s World Cup Canada 2015™ but sealed their opponents' elimination.

Early on, Wang Shanshan’s flash header surprised goalkeeper Erin Nayler, but the New Zealand No1 managed to keep it out. The game, while leaning in favour of the Football Ferns, stayed fairly balanced throughout the first half.

Rebekah Stott scored first for New Zealand, hammering home following a corner that somehow made its way through a crowd in the middle of the box for the centre-back to hammer home. But after Wang Lisi nearly scored a free-kick in the 34th minute, she equalised for China from the penalty spot – despite Nayler guessing correctly and almost getting and hand to her effort – when Betsy Hassett was judged to have handled the ball in her own area.

The second half once again began quite evenly matched between the two sides, but China pulled ahead with 30 minutes remaining courtesy of great service from captain Wu Haiyan to Wang Shanshan, who scored a brave header after losing her defender, just beating Nayler to the ball. China’s lead would only last four minutes, however, as Hannah Wilkinson equalised for the Football Ferns from a deep cross from the left that was put back into the box by Amber Hearn for the No17 to head past Wang Fei.

China could have earned the three points 15 minutes from time when Wang Lisi found Wang Shanshan alone in the area, but the No9 mishit her shot and it sprayed wide. Shanshan nearly kneed the ball over Nayler in the 84th minute but the goalkeeper showed great ability to tip her effort once again over the bar.

The result, a fair one in the end, earned both sides a point, which was not enough to keep New Zealand in the Great White North for the knockout stages but keeps the Chinese in Canada for at least one more match.

Match Highlights

Chang Weiwei, China PR assistant coach
During the half-time break, I told the team to make faster passes and to find loopholes in their backline. That's why we were able to have the draw. We have been training our players to be faster on the field. I believe our players have improved greatly.

Tony Readings, New Zealand coach
We became more and more attacking as the game went on, but if you can't score more goals than your opposition then you're not going to get the points you need. In terms of overall performance I couldn't any prouder of the players today. They left everything out there. We're going to come back really strong next year for the Olympics.

« Reply #98 on: June 16, 2015, 08:14:29 PM »
Is it ever ok to snub a handshake?
Steven Holloway (The New Zealand Herald).

With millions of dollars, jobs and World Cup progression on the line - common sense can often go out the door. Put yourself in Tony Readings' shoes. The Football Ferns' coach was trying to keep his cool in the biggest game of his coaching career, but had been teetering on the brink after a frustrating week. How did it come to this?

The background

The New Zealand Women's football team had $2.7 million dollars pumped into their buildup over the last three years. The success of High Performance Sport's investment would be judged on their performance, and achievements, at the Women's World Cup.

Progression to the knockout stages would meet HPNZ's key indicators, anything less and the side would risk having their funding slashed for next year's Olympics.

The tournament

In the Ferns' first game against the Netherlands they had a stone-wall penalty turned down and lost 1-0. In their second game against Canada, one of the tournament favourites, NZ missed a penalty in their 0-0 draw. So it all came down to their final group game against China. The Ferns would progress to the knockout stages, along with an estimated million dollars in funding from HPSNZ, with a win. Anything else and the Ferns would head home and some of their six full-time staff's jobs could be in jeopardy.

The game

The Ferns played their best football of the tournament to go 1-0 up. The referee then produced a howler of a decision to award a handball and penalty against Kiwi Betsy Hassett, despite the ball not touching her hand or arm. China converted the penalty, then went 2-1 up, before New Zealand quickly respond, setting up a thrilling final 20 minutes. But China just needed a draw to progress and started pushing the limits of sportsmanship. Both coaches were feeling the stress. There was over-acting with injuries from the Chinese, blatant time wasting and snail-pace recovery when the ball went out of play - all within the bounds of the game. But then the coach got involved.

The incident

Chinese coach Hao Wei was dismissed from the technical area by the referee after he appeared to deliberately obstruct Ria Percival from taking a throw in. He applauded the crowd on his way out of the Stadium with a huge smile on his face.

The aftermath

China progressed after the game finished 2-2 and Wei was glowing in celebration. High fives, double fist pumps, clapping the crowd - he was loving it. Then he approached the NZ bench. But as he went for the standard after-match handshake he was turned down. Readings was ice cold.

Is it ok?

Neither party came away from this looking good, but Readings' actions have been backed by New Zealand Football and will likely be viewed as a 'show of solidarity' among the Ferns squad.

It was an emotional decision to snuff the shake, and the Ferns coach felt Wei's actions did not deserve respect.

The Kiwi public seem split on the decision. After 2000 votes in the NZherald.co.nz online poll, 53 percent agree the handshake snub was the right play, while 46 percent believe he should have 'been the bigger man.'

NZ Football defend handshake snub
The New Zealand Herald.

New Zealand Football are defending the coach of the Football Ferns who snubbed a post-game handshake with an opposing team's coach. The Football Ferns' exit from the women's World Cup in Canada has been overshadowed by Tony Readings' refusal to shake his Chinese counterpart's hand.
NZF High Performance Director Fred de Jong says they understand his frustration and won't be taking further action.

"It's a highly competitive environment round that time and I think that's just one of those things that happens in any top level sport."

De Jong says while there were some questionable refereeing decisions in the draw with China, it's the joys of top level sport.

"Rightly or wrongly there's some things in each of the games where you can point to key moments that either went for them or against them, but in the final analysis, the objective that they set, they haven't got over the line."

De Jong also says they missed a High Performance Sport New Zealand indicator by quite some way and expect their funding to come under heavy scrutiny.

"What you can do and what you can achieve ultimately comes back to money. The support we've been given has been fantastic and you can see the development from this team over the last four to six years."

Ferns coach Tony Readings said he has a good relationship with the Chinese coach but didn't agree with his actions.

"I have always got on very well with the Chinese coach, very well. He's a very good coach," Readings said during his postgame press conference.

"His team is always so organized and we knew they were going to be organized today and they were. Just felt, you know, he obviously got sent to the stands for deliberately stopping our player from taking a quick throw in, and it's just something that I don't agree with.

"I would never go out of my way to do that to an opposition player. You've just got to let the players on the pitch do their business and the last thing we want is to influence things. We should always be backstage, not on stage. And I'm sure we'll meet again because we always play China a lot. We'll get on well again and there will be no problems at all."
« Last Edit: June 16, 2015, 08:21:02 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #99 on: June 16, 2015, 08:27:22 PM »
Cameroonian comeback seals famous win over Swiss
FIFA.com

Gaelle Enganamouit #17 of Cameroon leads her team in a cheer with their fans

Cameroon turned in a dynamic second-half showing to defeat Switzerland 2-1 for their first win over a European opponent at a FIFA Women’s World Cup™.

The result secured second spot in Group C for the Africans behind Japan, and set up a last-16 meeting with China PR.

Both teams pushed forward at every opportunity, allowing for an entertaining contest, with Cameroon dominating the second half after equalising soon after the break.

Early on Swiss captain Martina Moser floated a free-kick over the backline to Ana Maria Crnogorcevic, who narrowly failed to make contact with the goalkeeper exposed.

Cameroon skipper Christine Manie powered in a header directly from a corner, which was perhaps as close as the Africans came to scoring in the first half.

Cameroon then failed to deal with a forward ball, allowing Ramona Bachmann through on goal, but goalkeeper Anette Ngo Ndom just got enough on the block to see it go wide. But Switzerland were not to be denied, and Bachmann burst into the penalty area before pulling the ball back for Crnogorcevic to comfortably slot home from near the penalty spot.

Despite the goal it was Cameroon, backed by a healthy and noisy contingent, who enjoyed a strong passage of play with several half-sights of goal. Cameroon’s Gaelle Enganamouit was, as always, dangerous with her strong running. However, Switzerland could have doubled their advantage with Fabienne Humm’s header blocked by a second excellent save from Ngo Ndon.

Cameroon made a dream restart with Gabrielle Onguene striking two minutes after the interval, with a sweet finish from 18 yards following a pullback from the byline. The goal saw Cameroon find their confidence and they took the lead just past the hour mark, as Madeleine Ngono Mani powered in a close-range header just five minutes after coming on following a dynamic run and cross from Onguene.

The dynamic Onguene could have repeated her feat with yet another amazing run down the right, but Francine Zouga saw her shot blocked on the line by Vanessa Bernauer.

Match Highlights

« Reply #100 on: June 16, 2015, 10:57:49 PM »
Japan edge Ecuador to take top spot
FIFA.com

Japan edged Ecuador 1-0 to clinch top spot in Group C in what was their opponents' final outing at the FIFA Women's World Cup™.

Ecuador can be proud of limiting the reigning world champions to a slim victory, especially after some more lopsided losses against the likes of Cameroon and Switzerland. In fact, after conceding an early goal to Yuki Ogimi, whose final touch off of captain Aya Miyama’s shot crashed off the underside of the crossbar, the South Americans stopped the Nadeshiko from finding much joy in front of goal.

The only clear-cut chance, which was easily saved by goalkeeper Shirley Berruz, came ten minutes after Japan’s goal when Miyama’s downward header was then tipped off the bar by Berruz after some great skill by Saori Ariyoshi to create space and whip in a cross.

Japan continued to press forward with several attempts, but nothing particularly troubling for Berruz. Ecuador rarely troubled the Asians' backline, but if it was not for a sliding tackle from Megumi Kaminobe in the 65th minute to clear the danger, Kerlly Real would have almost certainly leveled matters for Ecuador.

Yuika Sugasawa drew a gasp from the crowd with her acrobatic overhead-kick ten minutes from time, but her effort hit the crossbar. Berruz then saved Mama Iwabuchi’s point-blank shot to keep it 1-0 a few minutes later.

At the final whistle, Ecuador left the field – although eliminated from the Women’s World Cup – proud to have saved their best performance at Canada 2015 until the end.

Match Highlights

Vanessa Arauz, Ecuador coach
Despite the two previous routs we suffered, we showed why we deserved to be here. We earned our qualification and we have defended the honour of our country. We'll take this experience and continue to develop women's football in Ecuador.

Norio Sasaki, Japan coach

Ecuador were very persistent in their defence. But over the 90 minutes, I think it was important that we defended well. We were successful in scoring early and I thought we would be able to score more, but we weren’t able to. On the whole I think we were able to do quite well in terms of our possession, but unfortunately we weren’t able to score more, which was disappointing.

« Reply #101 on: June 16, 2015, 11:05:16 PM »
Stalemate lifts Aussies through at Sweden’s expense
FIFA.com

Australia and Sweden shared early goals in a 1-1 draw that sent the former through to the knockout phase and left the latter facing an anxious wait to see if they will also progress.

Lisa De Vanna netted for the Matildas after just five minutes, and though Sofia Jakobsson equalised just ten minutes later, the Swedes could secure the win they required to beat their opponents to second place in Group D behind USA.

The match was an action-packed affair in the first half, with Sweden coming close on several occasions. Australia nevertheless had the better of a quieter second period, though goalscoring opportunities remained limited.

The contest opened in perfect fashion for Australia as a long ball from Laura Alleway caught Sweden flat-footed, and De Vanna raced away to score with a cool finish.

However, Sweden then dominated for a lengthy period highlighted by an equaliser from Jakobsson, who scored with an inch-perfect low strike from 20 metres that crept inside the post

Sweden, as always, looked very dangerous from corners and Amanda Ilestedt directed a header just inches wide of the far post.

Then goalkeeper Lydia Williams came to the Aussies' rescue twice within a minute. First she tipped Caroline Seger’s volley over with a great finger-tip save, and then denied Jakobsson from point-blank range when she seemed set to score.

The second half in contrast was a tamer affair in terms of goalscoring opportunities, though their were several dangerous Australian attacking forays from the likes of Sam Kerr and Caitlin Foord.

Match Highlights

Alen Stajcic, Australia coach
I’m obviously very proud of the team. I read a lot of reports before the tournament and I don’t think one predicted us to progress. The first ten minutes was fantastic, and then we lost some composure for a while. A tough game and not a pretty one to watch perhaps, but this gives us so much belief that we can take on the best and beat them in the knockout rounds. Any team that comes up against will have a fight on their hands.

Pia Sundhage, Sweden coach
I’m very disappointed that we only got one point. We started badly and although we bounced back it was enough. We didn’t lose (in the group), and we scored four goals but we didn’t do enough to win the group. I said before the matches we have four very good teams and that proved to be the case. We had the hardest group and didn’t lose but at the end of the day it wasn’t enough.

« Reply #102 on: June 16, 2015, 11:16:17 PM »
Wambach volley keeps USA top, sends Nigeria home
FIFA.com

An Abby Wambach volley seconds before half-time earned USA a 1-0 victory over Nigeria in Vancouver, which sent them through as Group D winners and eliminated their opponents.

A well balanced first 45 minutes finally fell in the Americans’ favour when Wambach struck Megan Rapinoe’s corner home at the far post.

Earlier, Julie Johnston thought she gave the Stars and Stripes the lead, but her finish was ruled offside. Asisat Oshoala had the best chance for Nigeria 24 minutes in, but Johnston executed a perfectly timed tackle to interrupt the African's shot.

Rapinoe threatened Dede’s goal twice from long range, and Alex Morgan nearly doubled the Americans’ lead just after the interval but couldn’t lift it over the Super Falcons No1. Dede once again denied the American No13 with 30 minutes remaining.

Things became harder for Nigeria in the 69th minute, when Sarah NNodim picked up her second yellow card as a result of bringing down Sydney Leroux just outside the area. With their numerical advantage intact, USA kept possession well, with smart, experienced play delighting a significant majority of the 52,193 crowd at BC Place.

Match Highlights

Edwin Okon, Nigeria coach
"It was a great experience for us here in Canada. We weren’t focused enough in a few situations today. I wasn’t surprised to see USA make substitutions that were more defensive after our sending off as they knew they were playing a good team. You always have a 50-50 chance in every game. Today USA made the most of one of their chances and we didn’t, even though we had several.”

Jill Ellis, USA coach
“Nigeria gave us a good fight, as expected. They’re a dangerous team. I’m happy with the way we played both with and without the ball. We can attack with confidence if we have a good backline. It’s a shame we only scored one goal but we’re very happy to finish top of a difficult group. Investments in women’s football are constantly increasing worldwide, so I think it’s right to talk of an evolution. In terms of tactics, this is the best tournament I’ve ever seen.”

Spain players call for coach to be sacked
« Reply #103 on: June 20, 2015, 10:51:43 AM »
Spain players call for coach to be sacked
BBC Sport

Spain women have called for their coach Ignacio Quereda to be sacked after they finished bottom of their World Cup group.

Querada has been coach of he national team since 1988 and took Spain to the finals for the first time in Canada.

But his side took just one point from their three group matches, losing to Costa Rica and Brazil.

"We believe an era has come to an end and we need a change," the 23-player squad said in a statement.

The players also criticised the "inadequate" preparation for the tournament.

They added: "This generation has the talent and commitment to have gone a great deal further."

Ranked 14th in the world, Spain's performance in Canada means they will miss out on a place at the Rio 2016 Olympics.

« Reply #104 on: June 20, 2015, 04:28:31 PM »
Germany too strong for Sweden
FIFA.com

Round of 16, Game 1

Germany continued their march towards a third FIFA Women’s World Cup™ title after convincingly beating Sweden 4-1 in the Round of 16 at Ottawa's Lansdowne Stadium.

Despite missing an early slew of chances with woeful accuracy, Germany’s Anja Mittag was the first to find the scoresheet. After intercepting a poor pass out of the back by Sweden, the No11 linked up well with Celia Sasic for a quick give-and-go, enabling Mittag to fire past Hedvig Lindahl, hitting the far post on the way into the side netting.

Ten minutes before the break Sasic scored from the penalty spot after Mittag was dragged down in the box to double the Germans’ advantage. Sofia Jakobsson nearly pulled one back for the Swedes seconds before half-time but she could not manage to keep her header down.

Germany continued to control possession and keep Sweden penned in throughout the second half, and Silvia Neid’s side got their third through Sasic in the 78th minute, who headed into an empty net after Simone Laudher’s initial strike hit a Swedish defender and deflected off the post to leave Lindahl with no chance.

Jakobsson pulled one back for Sweden late on, heading home Therese Sjogran’s free-kick, and Sweden’s No10 nearly pulled level two minutes later but Nadine Angerer did well to stop her.

Dzsenifer Marozsan made the victory safe for Germany with a sliding, looping shot that arced over a diving Lindahl and settled into the top corner.

UPDATE:

Match Highlights

Silvia Neid, Germany coach

We're overjoyed, right from the first minute we worked very well in thirty-eight degree temperatures. I think we were clearly the better team, we played extremely well against (Sweden's) set pieces, you can't (defend) everything against a team that is that skilled at set pieces, but I thought we were good on our set pieces as well. We tried to keep it simple, and pressure their central defenders. Today, it was important to show a good performance in both halves against a strong performance (by Sweden), and we could not let up because they, of course, provoke set pieces that can lead to goals - we learned that in the Algarve Cup. We just denied them opportunities, and that helped us to the final (4-1) score. We played well, but we are not yet world champions, and we now have to focus on likely France.

Pia Sundhage, Sweden coach

Germany's a very good team, and they deserve to advance. They are very good at running at people, they trust their runs, not just 1-v-1 but off the ball as well, and they created chances. If you want to win that kind of game, when Germany plays that well, you have to play very well - and we didn't. We had a chance to make it 3-2 late on a breakaway, and it would have been interesting if the chance had gone in. In this tournament, we ended up in a group of death, with three really hard games before playing Germany. I'm really sad at the fact that we didn't advance to the next round, because it means so much to the women's game in Sweden, that's really tough.
« Last Edit: June 21, 2015, 03:02:18 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #105 on: June 20, 2015, 07:09:43 PM »
Cameroon giving China a fight. Finishing...

« Reply #106 on: June 21, 2015, 01:23:29 PM »
Brazil :banginghead:

« Reply #107 on: June 21, 2015, 01:34:18 PM »

They lacked the final Umph! But give the Aussies credit. They matched the Samba girls toe to toe.

« Reply #108 on: June 21, 2015, 02:05:21 PM »
Excellent goal by France.

« Reply #109 on: June 21, 2015, 02:12:22 PM »
Both goals were excellent

« Reply #110 on: June 21, 2015, 02:17:39 PM »
Both goals were excellent

Absolutely. The second one was scored so quickly, ah was jes coming back to post "ditto".  ;D

« Reply #111 on: June 21, 2015, 02:26:41 PM »

They lacked the final Umph! But give the Aussies credit. They matched the Samba girls toe to toe.

After that game the Matildas played versus the US, they are very deserving of being around for the next round. They bring collective attacking commitment that Brazil didn't really show. Brazil was more individualistic, but even with that, they had the opportunity to rinse the Aussies.

Will be sorry to see Formiga go though ... wonder if she'll be around for Rio?

« Reply #112 on: June 21, 2015, 02:50:49 PM »
Ah gehhin de feelin that South Korea might field a new keeper in the second half ...

« Reply #113 on: June 21, 2015, 02:57:15 PM »
China into quarters as Cameroon odyssey ends
FIFA.com

Round of 16, Game 2

China PR survived a tough examination from Cameroon with a lone early strike from Wang Shanshan enough to end the journey for the FIFA Women’s World Cup™ debutants.

Both teams played with high-tempo and intensity from the opening whistle in Edmonton with chances aplenty at either end, but it was the Chinese who remained resilient at the back to advance into the last-eight.

Cameroon opened where they left off in their famous 2-1 victory over Switzerland with Madeleine Ngono Mani firing over the crossbar inside 20 seconds.

However, it was China who scored on the 12-minute mark as a deep corner reached Li Dongna who found some space and centred to Wang Shanshan who adroitly volleyed home.

Cameroon’s best chance of the opening half was a free-kick from Gaelle Enganamouit which deflected from the wall into the path of Gabrielle Onguene who could only find the side-netting from a 45-degree angle.

The match continued in a similar vein after the break with China notably dangerous on the break with Wang springing the offside trap on several occasions but failing to convert.

The ever-dangerous Enganamouit powered a header wide, and almost immediately from another cross she looped a header onto the crossbar after outjumping Wang Fei.

Then substitute Ajara Nchout volleyed at the back post into the arms of Wang, who was well positioned and looked a solid last line of defence as always.

Match Highlights

Cameroon coach, Enow Ngachu

It was a bad day for the Cameroon national team. We met a very good side, and we expected that. They used their experience to beat us and the Chinese team can create surprises in the future. This was a learning experience as our first appearance. We need to develop women’s football. We need good organisation and we also need to create as many clubs as possible. The day we prepare and organise very well, I think an African nation will one day win the World Cup. Some of players are very talented which is why they play outside of Africa. We just hope that with our performance many things will change things in Cameroon and in Africa.

China PR assistant coach, Weiwei Chang

All the players were wonderful, and put on a spectacular, resilient and brave performance. They fought like warriors for over 90 minutes and want to thank them all. In the second half we strengthened the wide areas to put pressure on Cameroon. Defence is the job of 11 players at times and was impressive, but our attack still needs some work. We [the coaches] believe in our players and they have confidence and motivation. We have made tremendous improvement in the past two or three years. This is a young squad full of energy which can reach higher goals in the future.
« Last Edit: June 21, 2015, 03:11:57 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #114 on: June 21, 2015, 03:08:34 PM »
Simon the history-maker as Matildas progress
FIFA.com

Round of 16, Game 3   

Kyah Simon finally broke Brazil's steadfast defence in Canada to see Australia to a 1-0 win over the South Americans, a first ever knockout game victory for the country at any senior FIFA World Cup™. Simon's goal was the first Brazil had conceded in almost four hours of football at Canada 2015, and despite Formiga hitting the post, both sides were restricted to few chances in a tense match in Moncton.

Australia had the opening opportunity of a subdued first half. Emily van Egmond's corner kick from the Australian left cleared everybody in the penalty area and found its way to Samantha Kerr, lurking at the back post. Her snap volley had the net rippling, but the ball had flown just wide of Luciana's left-hand post and into the side-netting.

Formiga had Brazil's best chance of the opening half, collecting the ball outside the Matildas' penalty area after some slack control in the Australian defence. The Brazilian No20 thumped a vicious curling effort from distance which Lydia Williams did well to tip over the bar.

On the hour mark the game burst into life. Marta worked her way down the Brazilian left and hit a rasping drive towards goal, which Williams did well to turn behind. After a first corner was cleared, Formiga rose highest to meet the second, and her header bounced back off Williams' near post.

The Matildas broke straight up the other end, with Lisa De Vanna teeing up Van Egmond, but her strike was deflected behind.

De Vanna was to play a crucial role in the Matildas finally breaking the deadlock, with just ten minutes remaining. A wonderful piece of play by substitute Katrina Gorry saw her win possession before setting the Australian skipper free with a defence-splitting pass. De Vanna's shot was parried by Luciana into the path of another substitute Simon, who coolly slotted home the historic goal.

Match Highlights

« Reply #115 on: June 21, 2015, 03:10:00 PM »
Reverse passes in the '18' killing South Korea. Excellent goal x ditto. 3-0.
« Last Edit: June 21, 2015, 03:13:19 PM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #116 on: June 21, 2015, 04:34:14 PM »
Fast start sees France past Korea Republic
FIFA.com

Round of 16, Game 4

France will face Germany in a mouth-watering quarter-final of the FIFA Women’s World Cup™ after seeing off Korea Republic 3-0 in the Round of 16 at Canada 2015, courtesy of a blistering start by Les Bleues.

In similar fashion to France’s 5-0 victory over Mexico in their final group stage match, Les Bleues came out flying and took a 2-0 lead within eight minutes. Excellent build-up down the left side with combination play between Camille Abily and Laure Boulleau found Marie Laure Delie to open the scoring.

Minutes later, a similar sequence over on the French right between Elodie Thomis and Eugenie Le Sommer resulted in the No12 firing past Kim Jungmi and into the far corner. France remained on the front foot for the rest of the half, with the Koreans only managing to venture forward on rare occasions as their few efforts on goal sailed high and wide.

Delie and Le Sommer both had chances to further France’s lead before the break, but good saves from Jungmi and a half-volley that missed by mere inches kept the Koreans within reach.

Just minutes after the restart, however, a piece of individual brilliance from Le Sommer helped seal the victory for Les Bleues. Beating three defenders on a dazzling run down the left side of the penalty area, the No9 calmly slotted the ball back to Delie who scored her second with another straightforward finish.

Philippe Bergeroo’s side continued to dominate with the Koreans seemingly outmatched in every instance, despite their never-say-die attitude keeping the Taeguk Ladies’ supporters in Montreal applauding their efforts to the final whistle.

Match Highlights

« Reply #117 on: June 21, 2015, 05:50:31 PM »
This Canada - Switzerland game is just wildness, one setta hard running, hard kicking, and hard tackling.

Offline Michael-j

« Reply #118 on: June 21, 2015, 06:29:18 PM »
This Canada - Switzerland game is just wildness, one setta hard running, hard kicking, and hard tackling.

True...but I'll give Switzerland the advantage. Canada has been pretty disappointing all tournament; I expected a bit more from them, especially since they're at home.

Offline Michael-j

« Reply #119 on: June 21, 2015, 06:32:52 PM »

After that game the Matildas played versus the US, they are very deserving of being around for the next round. They bring collective attacking commitment that Brazil didn't really show. Brazil was more individualistic, but even with that, they had the opportunity to rinse the Aussies.

Will be sorry to see Formiga go though ... wonder if she'll be around for Rio?

The Aussies started off impressively and got  better as the tournament progressed. I wonder if things would have been different if they met the US last in group play rather than first.