The Kamasutra (Illustrated Edition) - Annonymous  ;D
« Last Edit: November 12, 2007, 12:07:33 PM by Grande »

Re: Books
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2006, 07:01:12 PM »
Miguel Street- V.S. Naipaul (the book has a simple yet distinct style)
The Autobiography of Malcolm X- I read it again this year and discovered the 'true' Malcom X
anything by Sam Selvon...he is brilliant.
The Simpsons and Philosophy- quirky
The Bible- i see where all those reggae lyrics come from :D
Southside Story-Mark Lee (describes Jamaica in the turbulent 70s, the struggle of the Rastafari, the battle against Communism, drug running, a host of topics in one lil novella)
El alquimista is good, read it in Spanish
El Perfume is another good one

will add more as they come to mind.
« Last Edit: May 01, 2006, 06:55:07 PM by fari »

« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2006, 08:20:18 PM »
I don't like Naipaul the person but yes, Miguel Street is a boss book  :beermug:

everybody should read that

Sam Selvon, haven't read too much from him

I used to work in a bookstore and you'd be surprised at the amount of Trini authors (outside of T&T) that have work published....pity that the people in Trinidad don't even know about them

we've made big strides in the literary scene in the past two decades

« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2006, 11:10:36 PM »
Kamasutra?  Too much of Bois Bande yuh drinking dey boss.  :rotfl:

« Reply #4 on: April 23, 2006, 08:57:04 AM »
"An Ocean to Ourselves" - Harold La Borde...one of the better ones while growing up, ah will come back with some more later. I did read most of Naipaul's and Selvon's but this one was more exciting and inspirational.

"The Power Eaters" - Diana Davenport..this book lead me down the road to Jackie Collins, Danielle Steele and Judith Krantz.  :devil:

Some other authors i read are Robert Ludlum, Sidney Sheldon, Stephen King, Jack Higgins, Fred Forsyth, Harold Robbins and Tom Clancy.

as you can see, I tend to stay more mainstream in buying books..if i do pick up an unknown author is mainly cause someone recommended it or i read a review.

This is my 1000th post btw  ;D
« Last Edit: April 23, 2006, 08:58:47 AM by Feliziano »

« Reply #5 on: April 23, 2006, 04:27:44 PM »
animal farm

millicent

divinchi code

4 steps to business success( study of walmart and kmart and $1 store since its inception)

bible

koran(read it to understand a couple things)

Offline kandi_tt

« Reply #6 on: April 23, 2006, 08:08:25 PM »
The Island of the Blue Dolphin

The Witching Hour
Lasher
Taltos

The Da Vinci Code
Angels and Demons
Deception Point
Digital Fortress

The Bourne Identity
The Bourne Supremacy
The Bourne Ultimatum
The Chancellor Manuscript
The Scarlatti Inheritence

just to nah ah few.........
« Last Edit: April 24, 2006, 06:53:00 AM by kandi_tt »
iNnOcEnT aNd UnInFoRmEd...

« Reply #7 on: April 23, 2006, 09:05:13 PM »
Feliziano, "An Ocean to ourselves" came out in 1962, tell me about it nah, i can't find any reviews on it

nothing wrong with mainstream...Stephen King and Clancy are real good authors...imagination for so

morvant I curious to know what you read the Koran to understand

kandi I assume you're a Dan Brown and Ludlum fan. Island of the Blue Dolphin was a nice book at the time too  :beermug:

Offline kandi_tt

« Reply #8 on: April 24, 2006, 06:57:51 AM »
Feliziano, "An Ocean to ourselves" came out in 1962, tell me about it nah, i can't find any reviews on it

nothing wrong with mainstream...Stephen King and Clancy are real good authors...imagination for so

kandi I assume you're a Dan Brown and Ludlum fan. Island of the Blue Dolphin was a nice book at the time too  :beermug:

I am...but the Anne Rice - Mayfair Chronicles (witching hour, lasher, taltos) as some good books....i read and re - read...
iNnOcEnT aNd UnInFoRmEd...

« Reply #9 on: April 25, 2006, 02:29:06 AM »

well ah couple so called badmen came up to our neck ah de woods and try to make we join muslim by force so i just wanted to know what that religion was all about that cost so much trouble. well after reading it i still didnt get where the violent side came from so i went a little further and found out how it came apart. to make a long story short i was on a long search for the real belief and found out that once your religion has a date it began it doh make sense. like jehavah's witness started in new york city and thats the latest of my search but i just read today that their founder was held in contempt for lying (charles taze russel). to breake it down for you i found out that 90% of these religions started in somebody house or some thing like that and i know the truth is out there and i narrowed it down to like 2 as we speake ;D

« Reply #10 on: April 25, 2006, 04:10:17 AM »
Animal farm (explains de socialist rev)

The Foundation series (science fiction)

ASME CODE B31.3 Piping for Process Plants ( Ah have it almost memorise an ah does shit up rell expat who eh know it )

Mih bank book (ah still cyar understand why dey always writing ting in red in it)

« Reply #11 on: April 25, 2006, 07:17:37 AM »
Miguel Street- V.S. Naipaul (the book has a simple yet distinct style)
The Autobiography of Malcolm X- I read it again this year and discovered the 'true' Malcom X
anything by Sam Selvon...he is brilliant.
The Simpsons and Philosophy- quirky
The Bible- i see where all those reggae lyrics come from :D

will add more as they come to mind.

I can't believe that all the books on your list are things I like.  even simpsons and philosophy.  that's really uncanny. 

Miguel Street is my favourite book of all time, and is also one of the few that I have read multiple times and will probably read again.  Others I put in that category are:
To Kill a mockingbird
Of mice and men
Huckleberry Finn

and recently I've read a nice little novel named "the curious incident of the dog in the night-time", it is funny.

Offline trinindian

• Curried Wild Meat With Plenty Hot Pepper
« Reply #12 on: April 26, 2006, 07:52:01 AM »
The complete sherlock holmes
The Lion witch and the Wardrobe (yes i know it is kids book but i still like it and I still like Enid Blyton)
Chrysalids
Shane
The Vampire Chronicles
Necroscope series
The Vampire World Series

« Reply #13 on: April 26, 2006, 09:40:12 AM »
Judas my brother
The Da Vinci code

Mama Day

The Diamond people

currently reading...when ah ent posting... Holy Blood, Holy Grail.

« Reply #14 on: April 26, 2006, 09:46:39 AM »
in my younger days I read these ;D ;D ;D ;D

and in my teen years
Ayn Rand, especially the Fountainhead and Atlas Shrugged
many of the ones listed here
One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich. - Aleksandr Isayevich Solzhenitsyn, but his others are just as good.
James A. Michener
Ken Follett
Frederick Forsyth
John le Carre
Gore Vidal
Mystic Masseur - VS Naipaul (did not enjoy, Have not read Miguel Street)

Recently anything by the following authors
Dale Carnegie
Stephen Covey
Viktor Frankl
Napoleon Hill
Og Mandino
Norman Vincent Peale
Anthony Robbins 
Zig Ziglar

I'm ah big fan of Frederick Forsyth too. The Fourth Protocol is a great read.

« Reply #15 on: April 26, 2006, 03:14:48 PM »
in my younger days I read these ;D ;D ;D ;D

Recently anything by the following authors
Dale Carnegie
Stephen Covey
Viktor Frankl
Napoleon Hill
Og Mandino
Norman Vincent Peale
Anthony Robbins 
Zig Ziglar

WestCoast yuh big in de self-help thing boy...like de only one missing dey is Deepak Chopra...I always wanted tuh read "Greatest Salesman" by Mandino but never pick it up...I like Norman vicent peale's style of writing too. I only read "Anthem" by Ayn Rand, how was Atlas Shrugged?

Like I am the only one who didn't read Da Vinci code oui
ah feel some of allyuh put de books allyuh do for CXC in here too  ;D

and morvant what is the 2 truths yuh narrow down yuh search for? did we know it all along?

I readin a lot of Buddhist stuff these days....I think I going to switch...well not officially...but dem fellas does look real peaceful and mellow and that is my kinda style

« Reply #16 on: April 26, 2006, 03:16:49 PM »
I readin a lot of Buddhist stuff these days....I think I going to switch...well not officially...but dem fellas does look real peaceful and mellow and that is my kinda style

So yuh going tuh be ah Buddhist Waggonist?  ;D

« Reply #17 on: April 26, 2006, 03:25:20 PM »

So yuh going tuh be ah Buddhist Waggonist?  ;D

It look so  ;D
I does pick and choose
in truth I doh really believe in organized religion...I believe in God / Jah / Allah / Vishnu / Yaweh as one  :beermug:

« Reply #18 on: April 26, 2006, 05:27:47 PM »

well yuh know its about Harold la Borde and his wife Kwai, and also i think one of his childhood friends made the trip also. He built the boat next door to where he used to live in Carenage i think, they used to lime whole night while building the boat and in between people used to pass and heckle him. harold was an architect, ah remember the wedding having some real good Chinese food too  ;D
anyway they get the boat built and made a trip across the Atlantic lol
to me the book was really inspirational and shows that we can make our dreams come through once we make some sacrifices, it was about friendship and love, imagine he take these people on he daredevil journey lol. this was a 'real' local book without the proper english grammar involved like Naipual and them.

« Reply #19 on: April 27, 2006, 07:52:49 AM »
d last book a read ws dan browne di vinci code thought i goin strak ravin mad at a time to wasnt sure bout ups and downs a nuttin not for the unconfirmed or ardent weed smoker

best books so far

lonely londoners selvon

hose for mr biswas niapaul miguel street was good but to lil chirrenish

harrypotter series.......read d book den watch d movie it helps

to many to think of my degree is in english so is level reading all d time

and check out thanathopsis by david thoreau sure to tief yuh hed

« Reply #20 on: April 29, 2006, 12:57:44 AM »

well yuh know its about Harold la Borde and his wife Kwai, and also i think one of his childhood friends made the trip also. He built the boat next door to where he used to live in Carenage i think, they used to lime whole night while building the boat and in between people used to pass and heckle him. harold was an architect, ah remember the wedding having some real good Chinese food too  ;D
to me the book was really inspirational and shows that we can make our dreams come through once we make some sacrifices, it was about friendship and love, imagine he take these people on he daredevil journey lol. this was a 'real' local book without the proper english grammar involved like Naipual and them.

thanks Feliziano, sound like an interesting story, I am into books that give dem similar messages. If you into that too, anything by Paulo Coelho is good.
The LaBorde book will be real hard to find though, it out of print, hope to read it some day.

Shotta I didn't have de patience with House of Mr. Biswas nah....I understand why yuh say Miguel Street too litte chirrenish...when I did it in university here ppl ask me if Trini ppl really like dat...but it is an enjoyable book regardless, considering it is Naipaul

« Reply #21 on: April 29, 2006, 11:27:52 AM »

thanks Feliziano, sound like an interesting story, I am into books that give dem similar messages. If you into that too, anything by Paulo Coelho is good.
The LaBorde book will be real hard to find though, it out of print, hope to read it some day.

Shotta I didn't have de patience with House of Mr. Biswas nah....I understand why yuh say Miguel Street too litte chirrenish...when I did it in university here ppl ask me if Trini ppl really like dat...but it is an enjoyable book regardless, considering it is Naipaul

Yeah, Paulo Coelho's books are very well written...anybody read "The Alchemist".....boss book.......i wish i had more time to read....

« Reply #22 on: April 29, 2006, 11:35:27 PM »
Grande Man, check here
or this is a local company right here in Victoria, BC

thanks WestCoast for de linkup  :beermug:

« Reply #23 on: May 01, 2006, 08:48:33 AM »
Ah jess gh a new one called "The Energy of Money" looks like a real good read. Ah cyar wait.

« Reply #24 on: May 05, 2006, 10:31:55 PM »
Ah jess gh a new one called "The Energy of Money" looks like a real good read. Ah cyar wait.

Pointman yuh start the book yet? Looks like de ideal thing once I get outta school and start making some more dinero. I checked it out on Chapters website, it looking interesting.

« Reply #25 on: May 06, 2006, 12:48:07 PM »

Pointman yuh start the book yet? Looks like de ideal thing once I get outta school and start making some more dinero. I checked it out on Chapters website, it looking interesting.

ah barely started it...I have sooo much going on...it looks rell interesting though. ah reading three books at once(something new for me) and that one getting the least amount of attention.

« Reply #26 on: May 08, 2006, 10:42:16 PM »
The Pearl
Some HG Wells stuff
Miguel Street
To The Ends of the Earth - David Yallop
Angels and Demons - Dan Brown,  it badder dan Da Vinci Code, I could not put it down
The Kon-Tiki Expedition

Next book I want to read is Yallop's "How They Stole The Game".

« Reply #27 on: May 10, 2006, 08:39:33 AM »
peong I find the angels and Demons weak compared to di vinci.....i get vex reading it all kinda thing.

nobody in TT have how they stole the game...I asking them bookstore about that long time.

Dragon cant dance is good.
Miguel Street
Embraced by the light
Conversations with God...plenty heights here
The historic attempt of the Trinidad and Tobago football team to qualify for Italy 1990.
I read a book by Victor headley ...named Yardie nice lil read
Alchemist was decent
Beyond the Boundary
Thank God its Friday....boy B.C Pires could talk shit..fuss he good

« Reply #28 on: May 16, 2006, 06:36:26 PM »
some good ones from when i read more:

i, claudius (robert graves)
  - historical fiction about the madness of rome
steppenwolf, siddartha (herman hesse)
  - both heavy but good
zen and the art of motorcycle of maintenance (robert pirsig)
  - took me three tries to get into this book. it ends better than is starts
the anatomy of power (john kenneth galbraith)
  - great writer of the notoriously dismal science of economics

just finished reading:

beyond the promised land: the movement and the myth (david noble)
  - compares christian with pre-christian beliefs.

ah hear "conversations with God" is good - got it on mp3 to listen to at work :thumbsup:

« Reply #29 on: May 17, 2006, 08:35:15 PM »
another guy supposed to be good is jared diamond. he wrote:

guns, germs and steel
collapse

i heard they were good - anyone read any of these?