May 13, 2024, 09:20:49 AM

Author Topic: Thread for the 2009 Gold Cup Games.  (Read 85410 times)

Re: Thread for the 2009 Gold Cup Games.
« Reply #420 on: July 22, 2009, 07:44:18 PM »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #421 on: July 22, 2009, 09:54:02 PM »
8pm tonight - USA vs Canada

So the US playing 2 games back to back??   ???

lol, they did play - but it was US Womens' NT vs Canada Womens' NT ... guess it shows how much I care.  ::)

« Reply #422 on: July 23, 2009, 01:02:39 AM »
When ah went in mih bed last night USA and Panama was tied at 1 -1 in the 90th min....anybody knows how it ended?  I feel the US lose cuz if was the other way around, Zeppo woulda reach already.... :devil: ;D

B your feed keep getting later and later.  That game is US womens.  The guys play on Thursday.

Offline TdotTrini

« Reply #423 on: July 23, 2009, 05:10:59 AM »
Very long layoff between games. from the time group play ended It took a whole week to play the quaterfinals and now 5 days for the semi finals.
Teamwork divides the task and multiplies the success

« Reply #424 on: July 23, 2009, 10:27:11 AM »
Very long layoff between games. from the time group play ended It took a whole week to play the quaterfinals and now 5 days for the semi finals.

Yeah, this tournament real stretch out!
It's seems to be lasting at least 1 week longer than necessary, wonder what's the reason for this?!
Does this allow them to make more money somehow?

« Reply #425 on: July 23, 2009, 10:35:41 AM »
When ah went in mih bed last night USA and Panama was tied at 1 -1 in the 90th min....anybody knows how it ended?  I feel the US lose cuz if was the other way around, Zeppo woulda reach already.... :devil: ;D

So you're saying you missed me then?

;)  ;D

« Reply #426 on: July 23, 2009, 10:38:31 AM »
They want to hold the final on the weekend to get the highest possible ratings.

« Reply #427 on: July 23, 2009, 10:47:41 AM »
Yeah, this tournament real stretch out!
It's seems to be lasting at least 1 week longer than necessary, wonder what's the reason for this?!
Does this allow them to make more money somehow?

I'm sure it does ... think about how much publicity football has gotten in the US since this tournament has started:

Beckham returns
Beckham book
Beckham/ Donovan row
Beckham/ fans confrontation
Beckham vs AC Milan
USMNT Defender debuts with touring AC Milan team
Jose vs Chelsea
Zlatan to Barca, Eto'o to Inter transfer

gives them much more time to spin and promote MLS in the US and in the International Football community.

might seem long to us, but almost ingenious from a marketing perspective

Offline TdotTrini

« Reply #428 on: July 23, 2009, 05:30:44 PM »
USA v Honduras no score 20th minute. No audio from Goltv.
Teamwork divides the task and multiplies the success

« Reply #429 on: July 23, 2009, 05:47:23 PM »
USA v Honduras no score 20th minute. No audio from Goltv.

Try this link, working good for me!

http://www.atdhe.net/8202/watch-honduras-vs-usa

Game showing LIVE now currently 0-0.

« Reply #430 on: July 23, 2009, 05:55:05 PM »
Score now USA 1 - 0 Hon header scored in last minute of the 1st half from a corner kick!

« Reply #431 on: July 23, 2009, 06:01:36 PM »
FSC showing the game

« Reply #432 on: July 23, 2009, 06:11:24 PM »
now realise this is the hater ref from the other night who couldn't give Haiti a bligh

« Reply #433 on: July 23, 2009, 06:19:54 PM »
 :rotfl: The stadium's half empty and it looks like most of the fans there are Mexican fans.  Looks like all the American "fans" got scared off by the earlier rain

« Reply #434 on: July 23, 2009, 06:39:36 PM »
It don't look to me, like Honduras really playing to win this game.  The amount of schoolboy decisions I see them making when in possession is mind-boggling.   

« Reply #435 on: July 23, 2009, 07:02:35 PM »
USA scores again near the end of the 2nd half after dominating most of the 2nd half and game ends Hon 0 - 2 USA!

USA in the final to face either Costa Rica or Mexico!

Well done to the USA, its hard to bet against you winning the 2009 edition of the Gold Cup now!

« Reply #436 on: July 23, 2009, 07:05:39 PM »
time move this tournament outside us. too much home feild advantage knowing the stadiums and less travel strains and fatigue... But concacaf nah go move cuz of the ticket sales they getting from us dollars

« Reply #437 on: July 23, 2009, 07:07:26 PM »
time move this tournament outside us. too much home feild advantage knowing the stadiums and less travel strains and fatigue... But concacaf nah go move cuz of the ticket sales they getting from us dollars

Bring it Trinidad.  New rule if you win it it plays in your country.

« Reply #438 on: July 23, 2009, 07:49:52 PM »
They're playing in Soldier Field though, home of the Bears...none of the bastards play there as the MLS all play in Bridgeview where the T&T game was.  Furthermore, I'm pretty sure Honduran fans (that includes Mexicans rooting against the USA) outnumbered the US fans there.  Maybe they had less travel strains but even that I can't be sure of...if a match is in LA a Honduran or Costa Rican-based player would definitely be closer than an East Coast based American.  I wish it were true because I really can't stand the US team or its "fans" but its not.  If you really want things to be more fair stop the organizers from purposely trying to make a USA vs Mexico final.

Bring it Trinidad.  New rule if you win it it plays in your country.
T&T would have to make it first then  :-[
« Last Edit: July 23, 2009, 07:58:43 PM by theworm2345 »

« Reply #439 on: July 23, 2009, 08:16:46 PM »
why is it these Mexican fans are in US Stadia getting on like wild beast leggo?

It seems no matter where they go, it's the same nastiness with missiles raining down on the field.
You would think that Concacaf/ USSF get the idea from the earlier games and put some National Guard in the stands to buss dey ass for hooliganism.

Thank God in TT we don't have backwater fans like that. Waggonist yeah, but at least all of us have some class and broughtupcy in us.

« Reply #440 on: July 23, 2009, 08:30:46 PM »
The English guys calling the game needs to talk about the game.  And stop talking crud.

« Reply #441 on: July 23, 2009, 08:33:58 PM »
What that Ref doing?  They trying to send of someone.

« Reply #442 on: July 23, 2009, 09:56:12 PM »
it wouldve been so ironic if this game had gone to penalties and Mexico lost the shoot-out after missing that penalty in regulation.

I was watching that penalty hoping for a miss, because I was saying how can the football Gods reward a fan base with such boorish behaviour with a victory.

Ah mean, everytime I see that CR striker with the perm, ah does get vex - but ah does get infuriated when you can't take a corner because these fans have no class.

Well if Mexico hold on for this win, I really don't know who I want to win the final b/c it will be good if Mex beat the US, just for beating the US sake ... but then if the US beat Mex, we could use some of that psychological scarring & Mexican implosion if we are to get 4th place in the Hex.

« Reply #443 on: July 23, 2009, 09:58:10 PM »
Goal Boy..Mexico 1 Costa Rica 1 94 min

« Reply #444 on: July 23, 2009, 09:58:18 PM »
haaaa equaliser 1-1 in injury time 94 minute ... it fleckin good for them Mexicans because if they fans didn't force the ref to put in more added on time because they decided to delay the game with missiles and imbicile antics, the game wouldve been long over.

PKs back on  :devil:
« Last Edit: July 23, 2009, 09:59:51 PM by acb »

« Reply #445 on: July 23, 2009, 10:02:20 PM »
it wouldve been so ironic if this game had gone to penalties and Mexico lost the shoot-out after missing that penalty in regulation.

I was watching that penalty hoping for a miss, because I was saying how can the football Gods reward a fan base with such boorish behaviour with a victory.

Ah mean, everytime I see that CR striker with the perm, ah does get vex - but ah does get infuriated when you can't take a corner because these fans have no class.

Well if Mexico hold on for this win, I really don't know who I want to win the final b/c it will be good if Mex beat the US, just for beating the US sake ... but then if the US beat Mex, we could use some of that psychological scarring & Mexican implosion if we are to get 4th place in the Hex.

I for CR all the way.

« Reply #446 on: July 23, 2009, 10:16:21 PM »

I for CR all the way.

me too ... but CR making it hard with that lazy defence. Just now Mexico bound to get one on target.

« Reply #447 on: July 23, 2009, 10:17:27 PM »
Gio playing good. Should have pass one instead of shooting though

« Reply #448 on: July 23, 2009, 10:31:18 PM »
What wrong with them Mex. fans boy!!!!!!

« Reply #449 on: July 23, 2009, 10:41:44 PM »
¡Vamanos Costa Rica!
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.